Canon PowerShot SX50 HS Review

4.5
October 10, 2012 | Mark Goldstein |

Your Comments

342 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#301 Jo Anne

Hi Joe,
I never leave home without my Rebel, it has sort of become attached to me, but I am seriously looking for another camera, The reviews I have read here are very favorable to the SX50 and I love the fact that it has a 50X optical zoom. I am not trying to replace my rebel, I am worried my rebel is going to quit and both lenses have a LOT OF MILAGE ON THEM any way, I am going to go look at the canon SX50 this weekend, also I like filters, I have never had any of my lenses exposed, mainly just like them for protection, though I do use a polarizer on a regular basis.
Thank you for such a speedy response, and I am still going to check into that fuji HS50exr….I am a huge canon fan, and will probably go that way, but at this time not 100% sure.

5:30 am - Thursday, August 15, 2013

#302 Joe Prete

Jo Anne,
First, if this wasn’t a lot of camera for the money we wouldn’t be on the fourth page of comments. You should read through some of them, I’ve probably answered all your questions 3 times over at least. You’ll find my email address, if you want I could give you some of the reviews, but you won’t find a better camera for the money. The reason it’s price goes so low is the entry Rebel Kits start at $449. so one or the other had to move. You can find it for a bit over $350. You just have to watch for the sales.
How much would it cost to put a 1200mm lens on your Rebel? About 10k! Now you see?

I can show you some pictures that will prove it’s capability, and that speaks much louder than the reviews. Really, it is hard to believe.  If you email me from the links on this site though, you’ll get a warning that says it requires a password, of course it does it’s an email account. It’s there because of the high volume of traffic, but coming from another email it will be fine.

The Fujifilm matches this camera quite well, it does sell for about $100. more, and it never goes on sale. The HS50EXR is actually a step ahead of the Canon, it has Phase Detection Focusing, much like a DSLR. That means Contrast Detection & Phase Detection.
The idea was, it would be much faster, and I’ve answered many questions about it for many people, but only a few actually bought it so there was very little feedback. I guess people don’t know that Fuji was right beside Nikon & Canon since the 1930’s and competing quite well since the 1960’s. They never doubted Sony like that, did they?

If the HS50EXR Came out first, I guess I’d be using that one but it is a HDR camera, so it’s EXR mode takes 3 images then fuses them together with the highest possible HDR. That takes time and like the HS20EXR & HS30EXR that I already have, it would be a little overkill. Btw, the Phase Detection didn’t appear on the next generation as we thought, and if it’s not on the next model of Panasonic (FZ250/FZ300) I think their decision will be final.

You might want to wait to see the next model, if Panasonic goes one better than the FZ200 and Canon surpasses their SX50 HS
it may well be worth waiting for. That is, if they actually do make them to the stores in time for you. Reviews will be much later.

Regarding the filters, I can see using the Polarizer, but the others create an extra element for light to bounce of of, and they really only gained popularity due to the salesman’s commission, they always give you that old protection story.

Any element that wasn’t part of the formula is not recommended.
The front element of the lens is coated for protection and it’s the cheapest element to replace. Most are user serviceable. Have any of your filters ever been damaged while mounted on the lens?
Good Luck Jo Anne,
... Joe Prete

7:32 am - Thursday, August 15, 2013

#303 Claude B.

The comparaison now should be done wIth Panasonic FZ72 with also a super zoom of 1200 mm.

http://www.photographyblog.com/reviews/panasonic_lumix_dmc_fz72_review/sample_images/
and
http://snapsort.com/compare/Canon-PowerShot-SX50-HS-vs-Panasonic-Lumix-FZ72

8:44 pm - Monday, August 19, 2013

#304 Mike

Took my SX50 out to a friends Soccer final, and tried out the sports modes/burst settings.

Was very impressed. It is an immensely fun mode and works fantastically well in my opinion. Very good for it’s bridge class, and with it’s small and light body, great lens with stabilisation, I am extremely happy with my choice of camera. I won’t be upgrading anytime soon.

10:22 pm - Saturday, September 7, 2013

#305 Hawk

I have had my SX50 for about six months now and as for all the bridge cameras, it holds it’s own. Great pic’s and at the high end of the zoom good quality pic’s. The only gripe I have is the video button is right by the thumb rest and I’ve had several videos of the ground as I was walking. I looked at the Pana FZ70. It’s also seems to be neck and neck with the SX50. The SX50 is a little small for my hands. I checked the FZ70 and it looks great. But I read where Canon is working on an improvement of the SX50. I’m waiting to see what comes next since all the high end bridge cameras seem to be at their peak. Has anyone heard that about the new Canon?
Thanks
Hawk

12:24 pm - Wednesday, September 11, 2013

#306 bobski

anyone who still hangs to the dslr camera being way better than the super zoom cousins should do a side by side comparison there is not much in it rather alarming when you weigh up how much you pay for a good dslr and bag full of lenses i have both a types of cameras nikon D5200 and coolpix p 510 its the p510 that makes me smile most

7:13 am - Wednesday, September 18, 2013

#307 Bruce Caruth

I bought this camera but I don’t understand something.  When I view something through the lens it looks much smaller than in real life.  I need to zoom to about 25 times to get the item to appear as it actually looks in real life. Why is this?  It seems like I lose 25 zoom of power to get it to look normal which seems to defeat the purpose of a zoom???

10:01 pm - Friday, September 20, 2013

#308 Elmer Fudd

Maybe you should turn the camera around, you’re looking through the lens and out the viewfinder. Did you ever have a camera before?
Call 1-800 OK-CANON that is the tech support number listed in the little white booklet that came with the camera. Btw, that little book is the “Owners Guide” You should read it.

10:30 pm - Friday, September 20, 2013

#309 Bruce Caruth

Is the 50x zoom on this camera mean 50x what I see with the naked eye or 50x of what I see through the view finder? If it is 50x of what I see in the view finder what would be the actual zoom factor of what I see with the naked eye?

12:11 am - Saturday, September 21, 2013

#310 Joe Prete

Hi Bruce,
You’re making this much harder than it has to be. Please stop trying to over analyze this, it’s been working like this for many years, and there is so much more to learn. What you have there is one of the hottest cameras in it’s bracket, and you can produce excellent images with it, but if you go on like this, you’re going to wind up dropping it, or damaging it somehow. If you want to email me, I’ll send you some pictures that will amaze you. You can follow the directions and get it ready to start with that basic guide that came with the camera, and you can look at the CD-ROM that has the full guide inside.
Also Canon will send you a paper guide if you call and ask.

If you don’t think you can do that, just leave it in it’s box, email me and I’ll send you some information and links that will help you to learn about Photography. Buying a camera before knowing what to do with it almost never happens, so we’ll assume that you got it as a Gift okay, so treat it like that, but if you don’t want it, you will find there are many people that do, and they will know what to do with it.
Here’s an email address .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address)
I’ll be waiting for your email, so you don’t need to post here for now. You don’t need jokes at this point, believe me!
... Joe Prete

1:51 am - Saturday, September 21, 2013

#311 Jo Anne

@Joe P.

I purchased my new sx50 and I am VERY pleased with it, the only issue I have is I keep pushing some of the buttons inadvertantly, and I am sure after some use I will resolve that. I takes AWESOME photos!! and I still have 8 or 9 months to learn before the Alaska trip. Thank You for all your help, and any others on this site also.
I did a lot of research before purchasing this camera, and the most helpful was this site, also, I didn’t want or need a camera with a GPS OR WI-FI,I wanted a camera, the first thing I did when I got it home after the battery charged was to turn OFF the digital zoom!
Thanks again,

Jo Anne

5:18 pm - Sunday, September 22, 2013

#312 Joe Prete

Hi Jo Anne,
Actually the placement of the controls is quite good on this model compared to the others, especially going in and out of movie mode. A little practice is all it takes. I hope you put the Neck strap on, but there is Wrist Grip made by Case Logic that makes handling and hitting the control buttons easier because it gives you support on the back of your hand. It does make it more comfortable to use. It’s the Quick Grip DHS101 @ $19.99 and you can attach the neck strap to that as well. If you have any other questions, I’d be happy to help you. Good Luck with your new Camera.
... Joe Prete

6:01 pm - Sunday, September 22, 2013

#313 Joe Prete

For those of you looking for wireless transfer of you’re image files to computer, phone, printer or the internet, there is another choice available. Eye-Fi SDHC Cards work well with most cameras, and despite being a little expensive, they can give you that quick image transfer option. You most likely will only need one of these cards for those occasions anyhow. Manufacturers can not confirm their compatibility, but they do work with most cameras. Contact them at http://support.eye.fi/ and enter your camera into their search field to find out and if they will work in your camera. You can purchase them at most camera shops or on line at http://www.eye.fi/buy-now
... Joe Prete
Naturally, all that small print stuff does apply here too!

6:44 pm - Sunday, September 22, 2013

#314 Janice

Hi Joe .... I’ve really enjoyed reading your posts! I am looking to purchase a camera for my daughter who is studying acting in college and needs a camera to take good stills as well as audition videos, monologues, etc.  She is new to photography, so I wouldn’t want to get her anything too complicated to start, albeit, I would like to get something that will give her really good results. Can you tell me if you think the Canon SX50 HS would suit her needs?

2:28 am - Wednesday, November 27, 2013

#315 J.P.

Janice,
I’m wondering if she needs all that Zoom. is this like a Theater or Auditorium?  If she’s not very far from what she’s photographing, and it’s indoors, she may find that a faster lens will give her better images in low light conditions. The Panasonic DMC-FZ200
has a constant* F2.8 Aperture with a 25-600mm Leica lens. That
is half the focal length, but it might suite her needs better. Please
note that this is *when in Aperture Priority or Manual Mode. Those modes are fine, and just so you understand, a fast lens lets more light into the camera, so shorter exposures are very possible. They may not allow flash in theater type conditions.
The Canon SX50 HS performs very well when there’s a great distance to the subject, and outside, it excels. So let’s see what the actual conditions are, and we can choose the best camera for the application. Be sure to ask if flash is allowed. … Joe Prete

10:03 am - Wednesday, November 27, 2013

#316 J.P.

Janice,
I feel that I should add this, one of the best low light performers is so often ignored. The Panasonic DMC-LX7 is still among the fastest of the compact cameras. The reason, it’s F1.4-2.3 lens is a short 24-90mm Now that covers the wide, normal and short telephoto range, which is what a Photographer would want, but with all the emphasis on Super Zooms, it easily gets forgotten. It is at an extremely low price right now, at $299.00 it’s one of the best deals available. I’ll name mine Janice, because if I don’t order one now, they’ll sell out, now that we wrote about it. If there’s ever a Camera Hall of Fame, the Panasonic DMC FZ200 and the
DMC LX7 along with the Canon SX50 HS will all be on the first list of inductee’s.* Mark, I call dibs on the Hall of Fame!
… Joe Prete

10:45 am - Wednesday, November 27, 2013

#317 Janice

Wow - such great info!! Thanks so much Joe - I am so excited!!
The other camera I was looking at is the Nikon Coolpix P520 (as you can tell - I’m aiming at cameras within a specific price range, at least starting out ... would that camera make it as a Camera Hall of Fame runner-up? :)
Thanks so much for sharing your expertise!

10:26 pm - Wednesday, November 27, 2013

#318 J.P.

Hi Janice,
I Just want you to understand, I’m not Brand Specific, as I use Nikon DSLR’s every day. They have few problems and their performance is outstanding. The Canon SX50 HS was the first, and still the best 50X Zoom to reach 1200mm and I’m wondering if even Panasonic can top their own DMC-FZ200. Sales still continue to show it as easily the best in it’s class, mostly due to it’s F2.8 Leica lens. If you tell us more about your Daughter’s Photographic needs, I’m sure that we can see what will Suit Her the Best. I’m only answering a few questions now, to help out with the Holiday traffic. ...  Joe Prete

11:23 pm - Wednesday, November 27, 2013

#319 Janice

Thanks so much Joe ... she would be using it for stills and mostly indoor action photography, i.e. vignettes, self tape auditions and monologues but as this is her first semester in her college acting classes I’m not totally sure what the other requirements would be. I do think it would be a requirement that it can offer a great picture/video under low light conditions.

The thing is that I wanted to give it to her as a present, so don’t really want to query her. :)

Thanks again for your time .... much appreiated!

2:40 am - Thursday, November 28, 2013

#320 christina

can anyone help me with this , im wanting a good allrounder, close ups , but also shots of moving subjects ( wildlife birds etc.) whats this camera like for that ?? any surgestions welcome

10:39 pm - Wednesday, December 25, 2013

#321 Mike

@Christina

Hi Christina, there are far more experienced people here who can advise than myself, but I have had this camera for a few months now and will say this is the best bridge camera I have ever had and am delighted with it.
Joe steered me towards this camera over a couple of other models I was looking at, and so pleased he did.
Of course, all cameras are compromises in one way or another, but your ‘tick list’ of what you are looking for in a camera is basically the same as mine: Even as a point and shoot for all lifes everyday stuff it is wonderful; but for wildlife it excels with the fantastic lens and sports mode. I personally love the compact size of the camera as well, nice and compact.
I was coming back from the West Coast yesterday from Xmas and stopped in the alps for a bit of a photo shoot. I got some great shots of our native Kea (mountain parrots)-This camera made it so easy, great zoom and fast (for it’s class).
I have the full manual from Canon and am only just starting the learn all the fantastic features now.
I think most of todays bridge cameras are mighty impressive, but for features, quality of shot and value for money this camera is close to unbeatable.

Merry Xmas! :-)

6:18 pm - Friday, December 27, 2013

#322 Indranil Mukherjee

which is best camera for low light photography canon sx50 or sony hx 300… please reply…

9:18 am - Sunday, January 12, 2014

#323 tez65

Superzooms v DSLR
Usage: Travel, wildlife, flora.
Have a superzoom (Nikon P500), was going to buy sx50is but for about same price,
purchased Canon EOS1100D (Rebel3?) with EF-S 55-250 + EFS 18-55 kit lens’.

Travel
Normally use 55-250 lens, swop to 18-55 for market and landscape scenes

Wildlife
. Use 55-250 lens exclusively & found I could crop pics to match superzoom with better quality results
. Focusing with dslr is much faster and very accurate.
. Can take multiple focused shots v 1 every 2 seconds
. Can focus & snap wildlife plus take a few extra shots before superzoom has started/focused
. The DSlR works in low light eg rainforests & at dusk in woodlands

Flora
. Use 55-250 lens exclusively
. Previously went on hands & knees to take pics of flowers & insects with superzoom as you can focus down to 1cm from lens
Now stand (3 feet minimum focal distance of 55-250 lens) & take much better quality pics even with cropping

other factors
. battery life on 1100D is 800 shots v 200 on P500
. For most of our pics, do post processing using Picasa to crop and add comments, GPS & other info into Exif data.
. Re cropping, besides making the flora/fauna object in the pic bigger, its very useful to improve item placement.
. with dslr, have practically 100% “keepers”.

Conclusion: Has Joe & others keep stating, its what you use the camera for, determines which one to buy.

5:31 am - Monday, January 13, 2014

#324 Art Benson

Why did amazon.com pull the sx50?  I was ready to purchase it but now I don’t know.  Does anyone know why amazon pulled the canon sx50?  Thanks

5:16 am - Wednesday, January 15, 2014

#325 Joe Prete

Art,
The demand is still extremely high, that’s why the price is back up to $385.00 B&H has stock at that price, and Amazon will be getting more in. The Camera “Price Watch” email showed the demand back up again, this past Monday. I assume because there was no news of a replacement at CES (why fix what isn’t broken) Anyhow, if you’re considering waiting for a lower price, “Price watch” also showed that the latest changes were in $10.00 increments. If you want a copy, leave an email address, and I’ll send you one. Btw IMO, it’s still worth every penny. ... Joe Prete

7:37 am - Wednesday, January 15, 2014

#326 chadderz

Joe Et all thanks for an interesting 4 pages of comments I have read them all taken on board the pros cons do’s and don’ts and have finally bought this camera for a good price UK £259. Its delivered next week and I will report back on my 1st impressions. I am upgrading from point and click this is my 1st bridge camera.

Chad

7:33 pm - Friday, January 24, 2014

#327 Joe Prete

Chad,
You can view the “Quick Guide” and the “Full Users Guide” on line at
http://www.canon.com  in the “Support” section, and after you get your camera, we’ll be here to answer any questions you may have.
Good Luck,
... Joe Prete

7:47 pm - Friday, January 24, 2014

#328 John

I have this camera.  And those are not RAW samples on the “Image Quality” page

6:30 am - Tuesday, January 28, 2014

#329 Joe Prete

John,
I own this camera too, and I know Mark very well. Be clear about what you are claiming and I will look into your concern. Are you not satisfied with your RAW images? Did you attempt to match an image
Be clear, and I will help you, but that is a very broad claim.
Regards,
… Joe Prete

6:49 am - Tuesday, January 28, 2014

#330 lago

Can someone tell me whaT IS LONGEST EXPOSURE PLEASE

12:02 pm - Saturday, February 1, 2014

#331 Joe Prete

lago,
Longest exposure is 15 seconds.
… Joe Prete

7:26 pm - Saturday, February 1, 2014

#332 Eon

Quite frankly this camera is very good. it takes good pictures first and foremost, that’s what we all want right ? I tried the Panasonic FZ150 having loved the Panasonic FZ35. not so good pictures I was very surprised. Its a very good camera period, full stop..

12:12 am - Monday, February 3, 2014

#333 Abhishek

Dear Sir/Madam,

I am relatively new in this field but I have an interest in bird photography. I dont have sufficient fund for DSLRs, so which camera should fit my needs??? Plz help me.

5:52 am - Tuesday, February 18, 2014

#334 Michael Makmore

Dear Joe Prete
I need camera with long zoom range for landscape, sport, and wildlife. I like Canon SX50 and want it, but as last Christmas I heard about CES 2014, then I’ve to wait it, hope that Canon release SX60 maybe. So I keep my eyes over the big 50x zoom class (or longer), we got Sony HX400, Olympus SP-1000EE, Fujifilm S1 (not that old S1 DSLR), and Samsung EWB200F here. No new one from Canon, it seems they’ll release it soon.
Shortly, by researching through sites, I will chose between Canon SX50 and Fuji S1. As we know, Canon SX50 is a very good camera, while it’s only downside is it’s small EVF resolution and wind filter that seems not to effective, only that. Some previewer said that Fuji S1 is much better than Canon SX50 in many aspects, like better LCD and EVF resolution, 5 axis image stabilizer, more ISO stop, slightly faster aperture, and most of all is it does have weather resistant ability. By the review from this site about Fuji S1 (This is the first site who have review it), I found that Fuji S1 has downsides too. Despite of it’s higher ISO stop, it’s so clearly visible noise since ISO 200, I think we only can use maximal setting at ISO 800. On the other side, Canon SX50 still better in this noise handling, the noise is comparable to 2 ISO stop under Fuji S1. For video work, I found that Fuji S1 also failed to cut the wind noise, plus audible optical motor sound.
I need your help. I used camera for my activity for youth community, mountaineering, sport, and photography club too. For in mountaineering I don’t used shock resistant or water resistant camera, I ussually borrow my friend DSLR cameras. It’s often rainy and dusty in our journey, sometimes we’ve walk in dark tropical forest too, so Fuji S1 that has weather resistant as same as DSLR camera. But if we look in to it’s noise, I can’t wonder how about my image quality then? On the other side Canon SX50 has well known for it’s good image quality, but minus weather sealed. The reason why I have to chose benween two because they both are the best among their class. Why I need them because I want to own relative compact and lightweight camera with ultra power zoom ability, with good image quality nearly DSLR camera (which has bigger sensor, but heavy and more expensive). In community I used camera to potographing activies. I learn camera since the film era, this super zoom camera at first I underestimate them, I think how a camera with such little sensor like pocket camera can produce good image. After I used a friend’s Canon SX500 IS, then I realize that they can produce great image too. So I have to buy one. At this time I keep raising money for the camera. Fuji S1 is around $500, it’s pretty expensive, but it’s okay, if it’s better than Canon SX50. I don’t need WiFi or geotaging, I just want to hike mountain and take serious pictures.
Please give me advise Joe. Many thanks :)

3:50 pm - Thursday, March 6, 2014

#335 Michael Makmore

I’m apologize, there’s typo. I mean Canon SX50 ISO handling is far better than Fuji S1. It’s comparable up to 2 ISO stop. As I found out there, grainy noise on Fuji S1 at ISO 800 is similar with Canon SX50 at ISO 3200. Thank you.

4:04 pm - Thursday, March 6, 2014

#336 SilentDreams

@Joe Prete and others

Many thanks for all your contribution on SX50. I’ve read through the 4 pages and found most of the info very useful.
As for me: I’m a Canon fan and have always been satisfied with my Canon cameras. 

As my first digital camera, I had used Canon PS A70 for about 4 years when it was unforetunatelly stolen during a holiday with some amazing photos on the memory card.
Then I used my father’s small Fuji compact camera for some months, which I liked but “I had to” get a Canon again because I really missed its user friendly menu, its powerful features and the quality of the images.
So after some consideration I bought a Canon PS A650 IS with 12 MP, 6x optical zoom and full manual settings. I used it on a daily basis and loved the many possibilities I had using this wonderful camera…. until about some weeks ago when after more than 6 years it stopped working. It might just be an LCD problem but I decided to look for a new modern camera, preferably Canon of course (still a compact camera though).

After some weeks of research I found that the Powershot “A” series is not the one for me any more. There are much better possibilities by far.

The PS “G” series if image quality is most important with G1 X at the top.

The “S” series when small size is most important with still a reasonable image quality. S110 being one of the best in this group.

And last but not least the “SX” series with compact superzoom cameras. E.g:
SX280 HS with a powerful 20x optical zoom but still small size and modern features.
SX50 HS with an even more powerful 50x optical zoom and a significantly bigger size.

If I could wish for a camera, it would be one with G1 X’s image quality, SX280 HS’ modern features like WLAN, GPS, 60fps videos and SX50 HS’ superzoom and many manual settings and features.

Of course, Such a camera doesn’t exist and possibly will not exist even in the near future. Regarding my needs and my past of learning more and more with Canon Powershot cameras, I think that the SX50 HS would be best for me as the next step.

The only concern I have about SX50 HS that it came out more than 1,5 years ago and a new camera from canon could follow “any minute”. I would be willing to pay for the improvments if these are real improvements.
However, I could not find anything more than just a rumor on that.

So my main question is whether to wait for the SX50’s follow-up from Canon and to use e.g. SX280 in the meantime (which is much cheaper than SX50 in Europe right now) or to go ahead for the SX50 right now….

4:11 pm - Sunday, March 9, 2014

#337 Frank

Hi, guys.  Certainly a lot of pages of comments!  My story, quickly. I have a Panasonic Lumix LX5, nothing wrong with it. It takes great photos, much better than those taken by a “proffessional” with a DSLR at a wedding recently. Scoff if you wish but the proffessinal got no re-orders and they produced 3 albums from my photos. Back to the SX50.

Like many others who have glanced at these pages I hunted high and low for a replacement camera. A step up if you will.  Spent weeks reading the reviews etc and came to the conclusion that after reading the review the best source of info was on these comment pages.  Briefly it boiled down to the panasonic, FZ200?, a Nikon P520 and this SX50.  I bought the Nikon P520.  Mainly because I wanted time lapse photos, a good zoom and GPS. There were comments made about slow and unreliable auto focus but it takes great photos. I bought one.

The slow auto focus turned out to be very irritating.  Sometimes it was great, sometimes not. But it did take good photos. Then the mode button stopped working.  This was after less than a week.  So much for Nikon build quality.

So now I have a SX50 on order.  But what about GPS and time lapse?  Turns out I can use my “SatMap” navigator.  I just switch it on then it has software to match up the time on the satmaps log to the timestamps on the camera.  A couple of clicks on they all display on Google earth.  Dead easy.  Apparently there is an iphone app that does the same. You need to google it.
Time lapse?  I have found the CHDK software looks like I can use that on my new Cannon to take time lapse photos.  Problems solved?  I hope so. 

Looking forward to using my new SX50 and reporting back.

So if you are hunting around for a good bridge camera I hope this helps.  Believe me I have looked at practically every camera review on the net!

10:41 am - Wednesday, June 4, 2014

#338 Joe Prete

Frank,
It’s not really the camera, so much as the guy behind it. True, the Nikon does not respond fast enough for catching action and Sports, but if you use the SX50 HS but fail to understand the Focus Bracket Tracking, or the Focus Zoom, Follow Seek and Lock features, you will also have trouble, and no doubt complaints about that model too. You should obtain, or have the Full or Advanced User’s guide PRINTED for any camera, if you plan to succeed with it. The Lens on Canon is marginally faster than the Nikon (A Faster Lens means that it has a wider Aperture i.e.. Lets in more light) The SX50 HS makes up for this with image Stabilizers and “Smart” Software. The Fastest of the Affordable compact Cameras are the Panasonic DMC-LX7 and the Panasonic DMC-FZ200, (Both are due to be replaced very soon)

It does sounds like you were on track with the LX5, but failed to keep up with the current model. If you have the money to spend, there is the new Sony RX100 III or the Bridge cameras like the Fujifilm X20 but you should have first obtained a bit of education, then wrote in, hoping to get someone to ask you what you plan on shooting, to see what camera suits your needs better. Many people do succeed with the SX50 HS, but you wrote us 5 paragraphs about what cameras can and can’t do the job for you, but not even two words were devoted to the subjects you plan on taking pictures of. I hope that you buy from stores that have easy return policies, because you are just poking around in the dark, hoping to find a camera that suits your needs. At the very least, you should have called Nikon, or Canon, and asked them for some help. They all have toll free numbers, and customer service reps there to help you.

$20.00 spent on a book wouldn’t hurt either. Don’t take offense here, but some books are named like “Digital Photography for Dummies” by Wiley Publishing, and that would have been money well spent! If you don’t have that money to spend, try a Public Library. They usually have several copies of the “For Dummies” series. Again, I didn’t name these books! Frank, are you understanding why there are “Pages of Comments” here NOW? I hope that you learned something from them. Take a look at http://www.photographybay.com for a review of the basics, it was just re-released yesterday, so you shouldn’t have any trouble finding it. Good Luck to you Frank, and…..  thanks for writing!

Guys, when someone tells you that the Camera takes beautiful pictures, set it up on a Tripod, and just wait. After a day or two, take a look at how well the camera did! Never give any thought to the settings on your Nikon, or even what to FOCUS ON, just leave it up to the camera to take the picture for you. It will be fine, all by itself. 

Here’s a tip: Mark has very similar “Learning Pages” right here on this site, but you will need to search for them. Eric re-released the Basic’s for comments just like this one. Yes, I am sending you to a competing web site, http://www.photographybay.com sounds a lot like this site,  we are not afraid of losing people to another site, when you are REALLY READY to buy a camera,  we have no doubt that you’ll be back. Learn what you can first, you’ll do so much better! 
… Joe Prete … The outspoken one!

2:51 pm - Wednesday, June 4, 2014

#339 Frank

I looked at ALL the cameras you mentioned.  Discounted them all for personal reasons. Buying a camera is like buying a car. You decide what you want. As for not mentioning “two words” about what I want it for.  Actually, well I wont say it :)  I use my camera for just about anything you can think of. I photograph weddings, but not for a living. For Websites.  Racehorses. Micro. Panorama’s. Animals, countryside, buildings.  You name it if it stands still or moves I photograph it or video it. Why limit yourself?  Can you tell me in two words what you photograph?  Apart from anything and everything :)

As for focusing please give me credit. Even my little LX5 has tracking focus. I have in the past had everything from a twin lens reflex Yashica Max. Practica cameras and Sony cameras. It has been a life long hobby. Just because I like the point-and-shoot doesnt mean to say I do not know what I am doing.  I like the point and shoot because I can stick it in my pocket and take it everywhere.  Just as important no one takes it seriously so you can take lots of candid photos.

Books?  Only time I use those is when I wonder how to use something new or how something works. Personally Id rather watch a demo on Youtube. If you do not experiment and fail you never learn, and sometimes you get a wonderful photograph by mistake.  So please dont make assumptions because someone is willing to listen and take advice that we are idiots or dont know anything. These comment pages give a great insight into a camera. There are some very knowlegeable people in here and give a perspective, even if its wrong sometimes, on a subject that a professional takes for granted.

I get very annoyed when people say “thats a great photo, what sort of camera do you have?”  Would you say to a writer “thats a great story, what sort of pen do you use?”

Rant over.  Still getting my SX50.

3:49 pm - Wednesday, June 4, 2014

#340 man with long dress n raghead

I bought sx50 in albania and lost it in myanmar. This morning i purchased canon eos m in colorado and tomorrow morning i’ll take a trip to dearborn MI to take pictures of raghead bro’hood, and then i will upload/submit ragheady photographs to major microstock agencies

9:23 am - Sunday, June 22, 2014

#341 Sandy Murray

Hi Joe,

I am looking at the Canon sx50hs and have been reading some of the comments.  You offered to make suggestions to someone on a good camera.  I am in a camera club (very basic from beginners to professionals).  I am interested in a camera that does macro plus everything else.  I would like to be able to change the aperture sometimes.  I would also like a good zoom on it.  My price range unfortunately is $300. Someone recommended the Lumix ZS35 but I didn’t think the reviews I read were good so I am shying away from it.  Also the Olympus Stylus 1 (way out of my price range)  any help you can give me would be appreciated.  Thank you

12:15 am - Thursday, July 17, 2014

#342 Joe Prete

Sandy Murray,
$300.00 is about 3/4 of the price of an SX50 HS. The price should drop later this year, when the SX60 HS comes out. I think that might be in September. This camera has Focus Tracking, is that something you will need? I’d need to know were are you located, to know what is available to you. Are you in the US, or are you converting to US $? Do you have a camera supplier in mind? Aside from macro images, what subjects are you planning to photograph? You will most likely be needing a Tripod to shoot in Macro, I hope you know that. The Panasonic ZS35 is a 20x Zoom, and the Canon SX50 HS is a 50x Zoom. A Compact Camera and a Super Zoom are very different,  both to carry and to shoot with. One can fit in a pocket, the other needs a Camera Bag. Aside from the price, you need to know what direction you want to go, especially if this is your first camera. If that’s the case, a Super Zoom would do more to hurt you, than to help you. What are you learning from the Camera Club? If you will be learning with this camera, you should look into a conventional camera, like the Fujifilm X20, or the Panasonic LX7. I hate to give you more questions than you already have, but if you fill in some of the blanks, we’l try to sort this out for you. You know, If you take good care of a camera, and you want to trade up, it will retain a good part of it’s value, so it is very common to sell one camera to buy another. If you’ve been reading through the reviews here, you must have one of my email addresses. You can write me here or through email, I will remember your name.
… Joe Prete

2:09 am - Thursday, July 17, 2014

Entry Tags

hd video, hd, compact, review, 1080p, 12 megapixel, hdmi, jpeg, super-zoom, RAW, 10fps, super zoom, tilting, Canon, 2.8 inch LCD, PowerShot, 50x zoom, 50x, 24-1200mm, Canon PowerShot SX50 HS, Canon PowerShot SX50 HS Review, sx50, sx50HS, SX50 HS, 2.8 inch

Tracker Pixel for Entry