Carl Zeiss Sonnar T* FE 55mm F1.8 ZA Review

4.5
December 5, 2013 | Mark Goldstein |

Your Comments

8 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 Yaj

f/1.8 on a 55mm full framed lens is “fast” now?

9:39 pm - Thursday, December 5, 2013

#2 Red

Yaj, f/1.8 was and is fast. Are you trying to troll or just ignorant ?

12:37 am - Friday, December 6, 2013

#3 Ojojo

***Self-appointed Internet Police Alert!!!***

Where have you been? F1.8 has been the normal starting point for standard lenses since the 1970s.

Does expressing an opinion make one a troll now?

9:48 am - Friday, December 6, 2013

#4 Mare

Double troll attack!

3:20 pm - Friday, December 6, 2013

#5 Yaj

@Red:

Try f/1.2 or perhaps f/1.4 for fast on a full framed 55mm. Or O.95, but that’s special.

Hope this information rounds out your understanding of 35mm film lenses a bit—and 35mm film is the basis here.

Clearly there would be further vignetting problems if this lens were indeed fast—like f/1.4. Sony clearly chose that aperture, so then they could sell a reasonably inexpensive “Zeiss” lens without huge vignetting problems.

I wasn’t real impressed with the optical quality of this lens when I tried it, but I’m waiting for Adobe Camera Raw 8.3 to release before making some final judgement.

No. f/1.8 isn’t slow; it’s just not fast either.

@Ojojo:

Right.

4:58 pm - Friday, December 6, 2013

#6 Yaj

@Red:

No, f/1.8 is not particularly fast for a 55mm FF lens, try familiarizing yourself with lenses before spouting off. Sony avoided further vignetting problems by choosing f/1.8, so I understand the choice.

Now, no f/1.8 aint slow for 55mm, would be fast for a 135mm lens.

@Ojojo:

Right, Red seems confused by a disagreement supported by real world lens design and someone who simply disagrees for kicks.

5:04 pm - Friday, December 6, 2013

#7 Abacus

I wouldn’t want to carry a big fat soft expensive fast 50mm all day. Imagine putting the Zeiss Otus on your A7 ha, ha! I prefer this lightweight excellent Zeiss 55mm f/1.8.

Not impressed by this lens? Then the results you get from all of your other lenses must look very bad. Man, I think it rocks! Check DXO mark if you are a pixel peeper type.

8:37 pm - Wednesday, February 5, 2014

#8 barry_r

There is an error on page 1 - the lens, does in fact ship with a soft case - it’s the 35/2.8 which doesn’t.

1:28 pm - Tuesday, March 4, 2014

Entry Tags

review, samples, test, lens, compact system camera, sample images, mirrorless, csc, jpg, jpgs, full frame, 35mm, sample, full-frame, e-mount, 55mm, a7, a7r, sony a7, sony a7r, 35mm full frame, sony fe, Carl Zeiss, FE 55mm, Carl Zeiss Sonnar T* FE 55mm F1.8 ZA Review

Tracker Pixel for Entry