Casio EX-FH100 Review

4.0
May 12, 2010 | Mark Goldstein |

Your Comments

22 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 luc

Using the RAW file format (DNG), this Casio produces gorgeous high quality pictures. Yes, they take their time to be written to the card.  But the camera offers a wide range of choices.

4:20 pm - Wednesday, May 12, 2010

#2 dan82

What do you think is better Casio EX-FH100 or Panasonic Lumix TZ7?
Thx.

9:22 pm - Wednesday, May 12, 2010

#3 m3 real

The best thing about any camera is that it capture the most beautiful moments and we can again live them at every moment. For batter photo the camera must be very good. This i great camera for capturing fast-moving subjects. But i think this camera does not allow zoom during video shooting. This helps us not to miss that decisive moment.

7:43 am - Thursday, May 13, 2010

#4 Gunnar

you can zoom during video shooting but its never the best idea. The videos with 240 fps is amazing. Slow motion is always nice.

This is my third compact camera and I`m very impressed of this, and it better than Panasonic tz7.

6:32 pm - Saturday, May 22, 2010

#5 zhu

The zoom is digital and it is available on normale and HD video only. Not on High speed mode.
The burst shoot mode (40im/s) and slowmotion really make the difference with other camera!

2:08 pm - Friday, June 4, 2010

#6 Sarah Joyce Weber

http://www.walmart.com dropped the price of the FH-100 to $(US) 249.99 today (17 June 2010) and this camera came away with top honors in the DPR review on compact /travel zoom cameras. I placed my order for a FH-100 today due to the price drop.

3:01 am - Friday, June 18, 2010

#7 K V P

Hello Guys,

I am looking to buy a camera, I have a budget of £100-£200. So which is better - Lumix Tz7 or Tz10 or casio ex-fh100 or exfh15?

I am looking to have good pictures rather than video. So which is a better choice? I am tempted to have casio, but don’t know about the image quality. Amazon is sellin Tz7 for £180 pounds.

Please help me to choose a digital camera.

Thanks

6:27 pm - Friday, July 16, 2010

#8 fiona

would this camera be suitable to low lighting.say at concerts and nightclub’s.is the video good at night in low lighting? or do you have any suggestions for other camera’s
thanks

9:36 pm - Sunday, July 25, 2010

#9 mh

From the review on IR at http://www.imaging-resource.com/PRODS/EXFH100/EXFH100A.HTM the FH100 has an edge for still photography at night with its High Speed night scene mode.

6:40 am - Wednesday, August 18, 2010

#10 NEd

This Casio beats all competitors:  Canon, Luxix etc

http://www.dpreview.com/reviews/Q210grouptravelzoom/

12:07 am - Friday, August 27, 2010

#11 mail@adwb.freeserve.co.uk

the jepg conversion is very overdone and images are badly degraded especially at high iso settings
Do not expect to be able to crop and zoom images taken in the high speed mode the image quality if you do this is terrible.
Nice little expensive camera does all that is claimed but badly let down by image quality especially when enlarged.

1:33 pm - Wednesday, September 1, 2010

#12 Frodo

umm, yea whats the point? There’s no camera of this size that produces acceptable quality at high isos. Too much zoom, too wide angle, too many MP, too small sensor. If you want that get a DSLR.
However, as far as low iso good lighting conditions are concerned the FH100 easily produces the best image quality in its class. Just take a close look at the samples - hardly any purple fringing, very high detail even near the corners, no noise or software NR visible. Compare to any other cam in this range like the TZ7, SX210 and comment again.

6:22 pm - Friday, September 24, 2010

#13 Dp03

Great review but I have one significant correction. The frames per sec on this camera using the mechanical shutter only IS NOT 1 per sec. It is user definable at 1,3,5,7, or 10 (that’s right, 10!). Amazing for any compact and most dslr’s!!

12:41 am - Saturday, October 2, 2010

#14 Dp03

To clarify the above, this camera can take 10 full res shots per second (not 9mb like the higher speed (40 fps) modes).

1:06 am - Saturday, October 2, 2010

#15 beverly

http://www.dpreview.com/reviews/Q210grouptravelzoom/page24.asp

Of the 13 cameras in this group, there are a handful that consistently did very well in our tests. One of the best all-round performers (and one of the most popular amongst dpreview.com staff looking for a compact to take out for the weekend) is the Casio Exilim FH100. The Casio combines excellent build quality, a very broad feature set and a versatile 10x zoom lens with sharp, detailed images in a range of situations. It’s video image quality is genuinely outstanding, too, and rivals footage from some DSLRs for detail and clarity.

11:50 pm - Friday, October 8, 2010

#16 Nev

What SDHC card speed is required for this camera the online manual just says ultra fast and what would you suggest for capacity.
This adds a large cost increase and in all reviews this is not mentioned

11:02 pm - Monday, December 6, 2010

#17 Nev

Problem solved as I did not see the recording times at the very back of the manual

1:01 am - Tuesday, December 7, 2010

#18 suziekabloozie

Pictures are way too dark or way too light, even with “best shot” modes. Standard video has stopped working after only 3 months, and will only let me set it manually to 30-120 setting, which makes terrible, grainy, blurry video. I sent it for repair (at my shipping and insurance expense) and it still doesn’t work. I didn’t expect this to take professional grade SLR type pictures and video, but geesh, it would be nice to have the results look sort of okay. Don’t waste your money on this one. Terrible.

5:15 pm - Sunday, December 26, 2010

#19 tycho

Well, I kind was a kind of disappointed with the IQ when I got it, but when I compared with competitors, I realized that this IS the state of the art for these kind of cameras. However, this one takes RAW, which none of the direct competitors have, and I must say they look incredible when converted in PS. I’m happy. The combination of following features makes the FH100 stand out:

* Wonderful hi-speed video (240 fps works best)
* Up to 10 fps full frame pictures!
* RAW picture mode
* 24-240mm: perfect zoom range
* Great low light sensor
* Great HD video quality (but takes space)

- Startup time is not that bad, but you can miss out a picture here. (I haven’t so far).

- I use Transcend 16GB Class 10: Low price, writes consistently 16mbps (tested on windows), which is well above the internal transfer rate for this device. Saves raw at about 12 secs, which is better than what I’ve seen in reviews.

11:53 am - Monday, December 27, 2010

#20 Rookie

Guys, you must bear in mind that the maximum aperture of a lens is one of the key drivers of performance in low light. Smaller f-number -> higher aperture -> more light, all else being equal.

In this respect, the best compacts are those with F2 or F1.8 lens: F2 means twice as much light as f2.8 and ca. 2.5x as much as F3.3

So, if low light is your priority, you should consider Canon s95, Canon sd4000 (Ixus 300HS), a Panasonic I don’t remember right now but which has an f2.2 lens, the new Nikon Psomething with an f1.8 lens, or, nice but bulkier, the Pana LX5 or the Olympus XZ-1

1:10 pm - Sunday, February 13, 2011

#21 Daniel Meyer

I own the Ricoh CX5 and the Casio EX-FH100. I leave the Casio at Home:

Ricoh CX5 more and easy Highspeed Picture Possibilities.
Easy to Use.
Slow Sync Flash.
Much faster Shutter.
Only the High Speed Video is a feature missins at the Ricoh CX5. But I never used it. I Prefare teh High-Speed Pictures from Ricoh CX5.

4:02 pm - Monday, June 6, 2011

#22 Katie Edwards

Hey Mark,

Really helpful post! Your reviews are a must-read before making any big camera purchase.

Thanks for the consistently detailed info! :)

11:48 pm - Tuesday, August 12, 2014

Entry Tags

hd video, hd, 3 inch LCD, wide-angle, 720p, manual, RAW, 24mm, 10 megapixel, 10x zoom, ex-fh100, Casio EX-FH100 Review, casio fh100, fh100, ex fh100

Tracker Pixel for Entry