Corel PaintShop Pro X7 Review

August 28, 2014 | Matt Grayson | Software Reviews | |

Introduction

Less than 12 months on and Corel have launched PaintShop Pro X7 - the 17th instalment of the extensive photo editing suite. Featuring new tools such as Magic Fill, Shape/Text cutters and XMP support for raw files, other new or improved features include a New Image dialogue box, Drag & Drop layers and Smart Edge technology for brushes. Most importantly, Corel say that the performance has been improved which is really the only thing that has been letting the program down in the past. In this full test, we’ll be testing that performance improvement – and other features. Paintshop Pro X7 is available as a standard version for £59.99 or the Ultimate version (which we tested) for £79.99.

Installation and Use

Installation of PaintShop Pro X7 was tricky, however this wasn't on the part of the program. The desktop computer we used on Windows 7 Ultimate got an error code that we couldn't fix, so we tried it on a laptop running Vista. We also got an Error code from that and had to repair .NET framework but it eventually worked. It's unlikely that you'll come across this problem, but if you do, there are solutions online available to follow.

Corel PaintShop Pro X7New Project

Installation took around 8 minutes after downloading from the Corel website. That's not including the time it takes to read the Terms & Conditions. Registering the product will allow you to download some free products. We had three selections of a KPT Collection which is a range of plug-ins, a PaintShop Scripting guide and finally Creative Content which increases your range of brushes, gradients, line styles etc. They're pretty small with the largest file only 135Mb.

Corel PaintShop Pro X7Main Screen

If you've used Corel PaintShop Pro X7 before then you'll be familiar with the controls. If not, then it shouldn't take too long to get used to them. The program is split into three main sections which are tabbed at the top of the window. Interestingly, the third Edit page is defaulted to open first. Edit is accompanied by Manage and Adjust. Manage allows you to tag and amend information about the photographs you import. Tagging images takes a while to do and can be tedious, but is more convenient in the future when you need to find a certain picture. You can also rate images, add dates and people to them for easier searching later.

Corel PaintShop Pro X7Adjust Screen

In Adjust, you can change basic qualities to the pictures you have open such as white-balance, contrast or clarity. You can also tone map, reduce noise and high pass sharpen. To the right of the picture, there's also a number of creative effects.

Corel PaintShop Pro X7Importing

There are a number of new features available on Corel PaintShop Pro X7, so let's take a look at some of those. Magic Fill is a new feature that has a similar end game to content aware rescaling which was introduced to Photoshop on CS4. It's extremely easy to use by simply selecting the item you wish to have filled and clicking the Magic Fill button in the Tool palette. It's similar to the Patch tool but seems to work a lot better. The great thing is that you don't have to be precise with your selection. In fact, Corel recommend including areas of background so it can decipher between what it needs to remove and keep.

Corel PaintShop Pro X7Text Cut-out

The Text Cutout is an interesting feature that allows you to place text over an image and cut it out so that the backing image serves as a pattern on the text. Corel have managed to make this process immensely easy as well by placing the text over the image and clicking the Text Cutter in the Tool palette when you're ready. The new text image is created as a new layer with a clear background which can be saved ready to place over other projects.

Another notable improvement is XMP support for raw files. These files hold metadata and allow you to embed this information directly into your raw files.

Entry Tags

photo, software, image, photoshop, editing, processing, editor, program, post-processing, image editor, psp, psp x7, PaintShop X7 Review, PaintShop Pro X7, Corel PaintShop Pro X7 Review, Corel PaintShop Pro X7, orel

Tracker Pixel for Entry

Your Comments

33 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 lonnations77

Awesome photo edit software, I use Corel PaintShop but old vertion software, thanks for share this.

7:47 am - Friday, August 29, 2014

#2 Lipsa Amin

I’m with lonnations77. And thanks for the sharing

1:09 pm - Friday, August 29, 2014

#3 Lipsa Amin

Great post Dude!

1:10 pm - Friday, August 29, 2014

#4 arturo

Trouble with X7 is…
If you have X6 then the additions to X7 are quite trivial and really not worth the amount of lolly required to upgrade X6 to X7.
So they’ll have to do a lot more to get me to part with my hard earned…

Arturo

6:24 am - Monday, September 8, 2014

#5 Omaans

I am not totally enthiousastic about PSPX7. Because the beautiful plug-in Super Blade Pro doesn’t work in PSPX7 64bits, therefore i am using PSPX7 32bits. I contacted already Corel because in PSPX6 64bits SBP was working. So it’s a step backwords for me. I am so sorry, because i work with PSP for many years and i am always happy when a new version is released.

9:17 am - Monday, September 8, 2014

#6 Mac Jackson

For this price, it should be compared Ithaca Photoshop elements, not cc.
I wonder why magazines only give advice on photo editing with Photoshop, never Paintshop.  I use Paintshop Pro x4. I also do not like the auto save.

7:48 pm - Monday, September 8, 2014

#7 Matt Grayson

Hi Mac,
I compared PSP X7 to Adobe CC because it’s a like for like product in terms of features.

With regards to why they always use Ps as the basis for techniques, I’ve often wondered that myself. ;-)

6:39 pm - Tuesday, September 16, 2014

#8 Dragon

Been using this program for years - in fact I’m still running X2 on Windows 7 as it’s still one of the better versions!

PS: Could have used a much cuter woman on the image used for the Adjust Screen - she looks like a nightmare!

1:21 pm - Thursday, October 2, 2014

#9 wyocntry

In regards to the comparision comments above, that is very frustrating for me.  My budget allows me to use the Corel products and therefore I can spend more on camera equipment and offer more reasonable client sessions.  However, it is nearly impossible to find compatible presents (aka the lovely fall overlays) and plug-ins!  I would love to see some more articles and reviews all about PSP add ons!!!Thanks for contributing!

1:34 pm - Friday, October 17, 2014

#10 Tilton

I use Nikon D800 raw photos.  I have 8 GB and an i7 quad processor for PSP X6…I get a shortage of memory warning when I try and load photos for creating a panorama image. Not sure what my problem is, but I really would like to know the type and file size limitations on what can be shoved through panorama processing.  Thanks…

11:34 pm - Saturday, November 15, 2014

#11 Mack

I’m interested to know if they have corrected the use if American English in the menus and help.  If they haven’t they won’t get money from me anymore.  I’ll use 12 and 13 and GIMP.  There’s no excuse when asking for cash not to have them display with correct spelling.  If Open Source software can do it then anything that takes ones money should do it.  JASC always has a UK version.

1:26 am - Thursday, November 20, 2014

#12 Gary Walmer

Buy this program at your own risk! I have been using PaintShop Pro for several years. I also use AfterShot Pro. I have always been happy with these programs, but…

I now have a problem with the functionality of the program. Keyboard shortcuts do not work, even though they are shown in the Keyboard Map. There is NO WAY to get any support from Corel unless you are willing to purchase a support contract. So unless you are willing to use a program that may or may not work, and be unable to get any support for the program when it is defective, I would suggest you purchase another program.

7:36 pm - Wednesday, November 26, 2014

#13 Don

I’ve got X7 and always use it. I did NOT download the ScriptGuide and was wondering now what I’m missing. What does it do, can’t seem to find it anywhere on the NET. Do you know?

5:31 am - Friday, December 19, 2014

#14 Mac

Considering price, should we buy paint shop pro or photoshop elements?

10:36 pm - Thursday, January 8, 2015

#15 David Petty

I am a recent purchaser and novice of Paintshop Pro 7 and raised an issue with Corel soon after I had installed it when, following the instructions of one of their videos to add colour to a black and white photo, I found the blend option to be selected after creating a new raster layer was not available.
I have been trying for the past four weeks to get help in resolving this issue without success.
I have asked for written instructions on how to carry out the procedure so I can check if the video instructions are incorrect or I have a software issue but they refuse to help.
I would be really greatful if anyone has tried to turn a black and white photo to colour who could help me out with instructions.
I have found out that if a colour photo is edited all the blend options are available which seems crazy when the one blend need for a black and white photo is missing.

6:51 pm - Friday, January 9, 2015

#16 Jan

Hi
I can’t find info, have PSP X7 focus stacking funcion?

6:33 pm - Sunday, April 5, 2015

#17 Bob

• COREL Users Beware !!!! :
I purchased a “download” of Corel Painter 11 back in August
of 2010 from Corel. As a warning to
anyone considering buying a new download product from Corel,…. BE AWARE !!!! Corel will purge or delete your account information
after a few years and will no longer just give you a replacement download of
your product. I just experienced this
lack of customer support when I bought a new computer and needed a replacement download
of the Corel Painter 11 I bought back in 2010.
They told me if I had purchased an “insurance” add-on at the time I made
my purchase,… maybe they would have kept my information longer. But then even
the insurance add on would only last a year or two at the most. I asked to speak with a manager and I was told
that there was nothing they could do and I would have to be put on hold for an
hour. Really? To make matters worse,
the only thing they would do for me is to try to sell me the new 2015 version
of Painter. Good luck getting your older version replaced. Very Poor customer support for previous purchases. !!!

4:53 pm - Tuesday, April 7, 2015

#18 Mack

That’s a bummer Bob.. BUT..  Why did you not back it up when it was downloaded. Do you have your serial number anywhere?  You may find that you can get a copy elsewhere and if you have a serial number it should all be hunky dory.

I agree though, that it is bad not to have a reserve download option (or allow a number of downloads).  But the warning here is clear if you use download versions of any software.  Burn them to optical media, store them on an external hard drive or memory stick.  Make several copies and you will always be able to put your hand on one.

11:17 am - Wednesday, April 8, 2015

#19 Bob Blakeslee

Hello Mack,
Thank you for your feedback.  Truly you are correct,…  I should have exercised “due diligence”  in saving some sort of copy of the original download when I made the purchase way back when.  My bad.  And certainly in the future when making online download purchases of software, I will always store a copy of that download somewhere for safe keeping. 
However, my main disappointment is this case was the apparent lack of support Corel seems give previous purchasers of their downloaded software.  Some end users of software like me are not always the most savvy when it comes to on-line purchasing experience.  My big mistake here was I gave too much faith in Corel in thinking that as long as I maintained an account with them, that they would always honor a replacement backup of Corel Painter 11 software for me as long as I had an account with them.  Wrong.  Corel apparently “purges” information after a given number of years and they are not willing to go the extra mile to help you retrieve it.  They will however, pitch you on the purchase of their latest version of that software.  My lesson has been learned,…  and thanks again for valuable feedback.
Cheers, Bob    

5:30 pm - Wednesday, April 8, 2015

#20 Javier

Frustrating nightmare.
I’ve been using Paintshop for years, and I must say that version VII is really painful to use.
I have a powerful computer running on Intel Core I7-4790 CPU, 3.60GH 64bits, AMD Radeon with over 2 gigs of dedicated ram, + 24 Gigs of ram +  120G SSD + 2 Terabyte HD.
Simple stuff that I used to do with Jascs’s paintshop 9 (!!), PSX7 takes AGES to do. It crashes often (yes, I do have the latest updates), I load pretty tiny file (normally less than 1 MB files!). When it loads more than 10 files, it warns you that things could slow down (Travel back in time to Paintshop 9, where I often had +30 open files, never had any of these issues). The warnings are for a reason: things DO slow down. Sometimes the computer gets stuck on the program for over 1 minute (I’m not kidding). It’s just RIDICULOUS. I don’t do any complex stuff, just simple things like cutting and pasting. This was the worst version of Paintshop I’ve ever used in my whole life.
I tried that Xara´s Photo and Graphic designer 10 and what can I say? it was flawless. I loaded over 30 files, big ones, no issues whatsoever, lightning speed. I tried serif´s programs, same thing, no issues at all, lightning speed. 

Why can’t they just make a program that simply works?

12:20 am - Friday, April 17, 2015

#21 Don

We’ve used all the Corel software and I can’t say that we honestly had any problems at all. Loading a lot of images into the program has never been a problem Javier. And we always have a lot of images to work on from out trips in the desert. One thing you might try, un-install and download the program again and make sure you have nothing else running especially a virus program. We had problems with the VideoStudio because of Microsoft Essentials while downloading, after doing the above it worked fine. Maybe thatl’s the problem? Hope you get it solved as it’s a great software Here’s a link https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iFAmJ7qVu-k

3:36 am - Friday, April 17, 2015

#22 Javier

I’ve purchased PSX2, x4, x7… I’ve always had issues with ALL version on all my different computers.
I do admit that Paintshop is (would be?) a wonderful program if you’re lucky enough to make it work like it should on your system. In my case, I’ve had enough of the nonsense and money+time wasting.

8:04 am - Friday, April 17, 2015

#23 omaans

On september 8th off 2014 I wrote a comment on this forum. Because Super Blade Pro didn’t work on the 64 bits version of PSP X7. And after all those negative comments, today I tried PSP X7 64bit again and guess what? Super Blade Pro works on the 64 bits program. So i think that de makers of PSP are really working hard to get PSP X7 working for all of us. I am so happy with PSP, because it’s payable and it works great for me. I am making digital art, so I mix and match with several software to make my art. So that’s why I have to make a positive comment for the developers of this program. Thanks!

12:19 pm - Friday, April 17, 2015

#24 Anna

I think it’s offensive to women to use a picture showing a woman’s breasts, even if it is partial.

Please remove that picture.

9:05 am - Thursday, May 7, 2015

#25 Ernie Goulding

Can any one tell me if Pro X7 or X7 Ultimate has a “Focus Stacking” function?

I’ve looked eveywhere for an answer even retailers have no idea.

Elements 13 has it - but I have been using Pro X2 & X4 and am used to it I also have Elements 8 But I’m not too fussed on the adobe stuff.
I also agree with others above, regarding people comparing to PS (I think Adobe price their products on the brand name).

5:01 am - Tuesday, May 12, 2015

#26 En anna

I think it’s offensive to women to use a picture showing a woman.

Please remove that picture.

11:26 am - Thursday, June 11, 2015

#27 Ernie Goulding

So you would also prefer men to advertise ladies beauty products?
Get a life instead of messing with a serious subject.

9:37 pm - Thursday, June 11, 2015

#28 Bharathi Baskar.B

Thanks For Your valuable posting, it was very informative. Am working inErp Development In Chennai

12:29 pm - Saturday, June 27, 2015

#29 JenMT

I really wanted to read your review, but the anyclip ad would NEVER EVER LEAVE the page.  Ever.  4 videos played.  I won’t be back to read the blog, which is a shame because I wanted to read this review!  Ditch the anyclip ad!

2:28 pm - Wednesday, July 8, 2015

#30 Robert

I’ we never liked Corel products though I keep checking out their latest stuff. For PSPro, I still use Jasc ver. 9.1 as I like the UI and speed is so much faster. After years of using the older Jasc program, I can dance circle around all the hoop-la features of the latest versions. The simplicity and SPEED of the old program is so much better. Seems every program Corel buys out and upgrades, they ruin it with slower speed, features that are superficial or don’t work. So many so called improvements are just scripts combining what the original program does so much better. I admit there are a few good improvements but the SPEED, cluttered interface AND really poor customer service has and is typical of Coral products. Really wish Jasc had held out and was still improving PSP. They knew how do do things right, possibly because they are users, not just sellers.

10:32 am - Tuesday, July 14, 2015

#31 Sean Kennedy

Corel A software company bought out the product Avid Studios 3 years ago, A product that cost me $150. They immediately quit supporting it. Instead of update support that I paid for with my original i get nothing. Literally weeks after I bought this product, it was bought by Corel and dumped. I paid for support by purchasing this product.
Good luck getting real support, They will tell you about a ‘new’ Inferior upgrade/product they will offer you at a reduced rate because they no longer ‘support’ your current programs. Bait and switch. Illegal.
https://www.facebook.com/Corel?fref=ts

6:08 pm - Tuesday, August 11, 2015

#32 PNR Status

Thanks for the share

How to check`

11:58 am - Monday, August 24, 2015

#33 Robert

Just another review of why Corel is not on my list of software purchases. They are just financial managers who hunt down and buy out upcoming software companies. They don’t care or understand the products, only the manipulation of promoting sales. The upgrades, (you’ll notice I didn’t say improvements), are not so much to improve the products as to get more money out of existing customer base. Back when Jasc developed the PSP, they loved what they were creating and developed it out of self enjoyment. Big busiiness often does this to good products and Corel’s REALLY POOR support only proves it further.

8:51 pm - Monday, August 24, 2015