Epson Artisan 1430 Review

4.0
April 26, 2012 | Mark Goldstein | Printer Reviews |

The Epson Artisan 1430 can handle paper sizes from 4”x6” up to 13”x44” (there is no roll adapter with the 1430, so you would need to precut longer sheets). Borderless printing is supported in common photo sizes from 4”x6” up to 13”x13”, including scrapbook size of 12”x12”. The supported paper types are plain, glossy, luster, semi-gloss, matte, and double sided matte. If you’re printing to plain paper the tray will hold up to 100 sheets, and up to 20 sheets of glossy photo paper.

Actual printing is very straight forward. Within most applications, like Photoshop, Lightroom, and Aperture, you have the option to let the application control color management or let the printer manage the color. Depending on which you choose, you’ll have a different set of features available in the print driver. I typically look at the more pro oriented printers and was pleased at how well Epson laid out the driver options with the 1430.

Regardless of which way you go, you’ll need to select paper type and print quality under the Print Settings panel (Figure 7). If you elect to have the printer manage color, you’ll have options available in the Color Settings panel well. Here you can select what type of image you’re printing to have the driver compensate and make adjustments to the print automatically with the Fix Photo settings (Figure 8), or fine tune the color by selecting Manual Settings (Figure 9). If your operating system doesn’t automatically turn off the color management in the driver when the application manages color, you would do this here by selecting Off (No Color Adjustment).

Epson Artisan 1430Figure 7

Epson Artisan 1430Figure 8

Epson Artisan 1430Figure 9

The Auto Photo Correction features do a nice job of correcting for common problems with images, particularly those taken with point and shoot cameras, but for the best results you are still going to want to make the appropriate adjustments in your image editing software and have the software manage color. But, for the casual user that doesn’t know about color adjustment, and really doesn’t care to learn either, these auto adjustments can make a huge difference in overall image quality, reducing the frustration that many people experience when getting started with their own printing.

The Artisan 1430 does a nice job on a range of media types, including matte papers, but the best results were seen with Epson’s own Premium Glossy paper. Colors are rich and vibrant, and skin tones are reproduced beautifully. There is no straight feed path for thick media though, so heavy fine art materials are not going to be usable with this printer.

If you want to print directly onto inkjet coated CD/DVD media, the included tray and software will handle the job pretty easily. Epson Print CD, included with the printer, lets you create custom labels with images and text. It has a number of features, but the interface feels a little clunky and takes some experimenting to get the results you want (Figure 10)

Epson Artisan 1430Figure 10

If you’re using the Artisan 1430 wirelessly, you can also download Epson’s iPrint software for iOS and Android devices to print directly from your mobile device. I printed a couple of photos from my iPad with good results, as well as a document from EverNote.

Conclusion

The Epson Artisan 1430 is a solid entry level wide format printer. Supporting WiFi, printing on a range of media types, including CD/DVD, and offering borderless printing up to 13”x19”, it’s hard to find fault with the printer at the suggested $299 price. At the time I’m writing this review, it’s available directly from Epson for $219, making it an even better value. If you’re printing in higher volumes, or you need to print on heavier fine art media, you should look into the Epson R2000 instead.

4 stars

Ratings (out of 5)
Design 4
Features 4
Ease-of-use 4
Value for money 4.5

Entry Tags

photo, printer, a3, a3+, epson, dye, Artisan 1430, Epson 1430, dye ink, Epson Artisan 1430, Epson Artisan 1430 Review, 13-inch, artisan

Tracker Pixel for Entry

Your Comments

90 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 Chris

I have a question, I owned a Epson 1400, for colour prints, I have no problem, it can produce excellent colour, but, for black & white prints, I stil cannot make a good ajustment, it is not pure black & white, in greenish colour. Do you have any comment on this issue with the new printer.

5:26 pm - Thursday, April 26, 2012

#2 Jeff

Actually you can get the $219 price at any dealer since it is obtained via a mail in rebate.
http://www.epson.com/cmc_upload/pdf/Artisan1430-80-EA312-C37222.pdf

7:05 pm - Thursday, April 26, 2012

#3 Debbie Borato

Chris, I might have the answer for you.  Same thing I was getting a greenish cast in the whites.  Go to Image - Mode - Select Grayscale in your editing program.  It will ask to discard color info, say yes.  Then when setting up print make you set for Monochromatic inoo the settings.  My picture was perfect!  Oh that’s in Elements top toolbar and printing from Elements.  You’ll just need to look for your tools.

8:59 pm - Thursday, April 26, 2012

#4 Debbie Borato

Thanks Jeff, just printed the rebate.

9:09 pm - Thursday, April 26, 2012

#5 Chris

Hi, Debbie

Thanks for your information, I tried, the medium grey looks a bit blue. In the past, I use manual adjustment, changing the cyan to -4, Magenta to +3 & yellow to -8, the result is very close to black & white, still not pure. From the internet, I saw a lot of issue on the 1400 printer with black & White print. I asked Epson guys, they told me to buy a new model.  Thanks again.

4:17 am - Friday, April 27, 2012

#6 Sluggo

Yes, with just a single black ink tank (compared to printers with multiple black and grey inks) you are much more susceptible to getting tones in b&w prints. It has always been this way and you could have learned about this in reviews and forums. It’s simply what you get with a $200-$300 printer - monochrome results simply won’t match results from more expensive printers with multiple black/grey ink tanks.

You may be able to get best results with your printer by using a limited number or papers specifically recommended by the printer manufacturer for your printer, but otherwise you’re out of luck.

If you’re serious about printing, especially b&w printing, you won’t find a better printer than Canon’s PIXMA 9500 Mark ii. (Unless you’re willing to pay hundres of dollars more.) It came out around 2010 and sells for $500-$600 (down from around $900 originally I think) and comes with 3 types of black ink cartridges. imaging-resource .com and northlight-images .co.uk both have good reviews of this printer.

3:05 am - Monday, April 30, 2012

#7 Chris

Thanks, I know more money, more black inks can have better result. I know Epson higher model with 3 difference black inks can have better result. But, I would like to know if I can use the Epson 1400 or the new 1430 can have the same, as this review did not mention anything about black & White printing.

3:32 am - Monday, April 30, 2012

#8 Catherine

I have a question,
this works with Macs, correct ?
do you also use cover stock or thick paper ?

Cathrine

5:16 pm - Monday, April 30, 2012

#9 Matt

Chris, Thanks for your observation about the greenish tint on the b&w prints.  I thought it was my eyes.  I am also interested in high quality b&w prints without having to pay over $1000 for a printer. I’ll keep watching this conversation to see what folks suggest.  What is the next Epson printer up from the 1400/1430 without going over $1000, do you know?  I can’t find anything between $300 and $1300 on their website.

6:35 pm - Sunday, June 3, 2012

#10 Chris

I know the 1900 is approx.US$500 or less, this one has 3 kinds of black colour, should do B&W better.

Chris

2:14 am - Monday, June 4, 2012

#11 Chris

The following is the R1900 Epson printer link from Epson.

http://www.epson.ca/cgi-bin/ceStore/jsp/Product.do?BV_UseBVCookie=yes&sku=C11C698202#0

4:15 am - Tuesday, June 5, 2012

#12 Geert

Users that want to print a neutral black and white print with the Epson 1400 should try this:
Select plain paper (even if using other papers)
Other settings: grayscale, no bidirectional, best photo.
Using setting for plain paper + grayscale uses black ink only.  Prints are neutral. This may work on a 1430 too, but i have a 1400 only.

2:42 pm - Monday, June 25, 2012

#13 Chris

Hi All,

What I understand is the Epson 1400 printer has a born handicape, the B&W print is always not that good, I don’t think we can use Black ink only, it is auto setting, even if we use grayscale, when the printer works, it uses all the inks together to produce the print. that is the problem. See a 1400 test report I found per the link below. If we follow the instruction, do some small adjustment by ourselve, may have a better results. But I still want the best result, Epson could not give me any best answer even I ask the Epson guy.

http://www.photo-i.co.uk/Reviews/interactive/Epson 1400/Page_7.html

4:39 pm - Monday, June 25, 2012

#14 greg

Hi
this question may seem ludacris.
I often use non-epson inks in my printers for the quick print outs i need.
it’s a massive financial difference.
$7 a cartridge vs $21.
can the 1430 take the aftermarket inks?
cant seem to see anyone talking about it online

thanks

1:48 am - Thursday, August 16, 2012

#15 Leo Bruce

My 1400 BW prints are just fine. I use Epson Premium Presentation Paper, using color print file, with XP Photo Printing Wizard print preferences set to best photo/advanced,photo enhance/tone = neutral gray. I do not set grayscale box! Note that Wizard Print Preview will be in color, however Epson Print Preview, and print, will be B&W. I get really good BW prints this way.

3:41 pm - Thursday, September 6, 2012

#16 Chris

Are you using Windows XP as I am now using Windows 7.  I tried you way, still greenish colour. Also, did you use colour photo & printed it in B&W.  I am using B&W photo for printing.

5:48 pm - Thursday, September 6, 2012

#17 Leo Bruce

I am using XP print wizard with a color file.

7:12 pm - Thursday, September 6, 2012

#18 Linda

I’m not happy with the color printing of my 1430…what am I doing wrong?

2:51 am - Tuesday, October 2, 2012

#19 donald yorke-goldney

I have had no end of problems with my 1430. the first one was replaced as it would not recognise the ink cartridges, Epson replaced the unit.
Second one arrives and i set up to go, great works wonderful print out approx 15 A3 sheets in ultra glossy, and its fantastic.
ink now low needs replaced,I replace the cartridges and hey presto i have the same issue, wont recognise the ink.
is this a common issue or am i the monly idiot in the world having this issue

4:04 am - Saturday, November 10, 2012

#20 Leo Bruce

I started up my 1430 first using cartridges from my old 1400, then replacing with new cartridges. I have had no problems so far with cartridges. BTW, I think B&W prints are better with 1430.

2:17 pm - Saturday, November 10, 2012

#21 Hetti

Has anyone had experience using this printer with matt non-Epson papers around 250, 300gsm such as Hahnehuhle Bamboo Paper 290?

6:26 am - Tuesday, November 20, 2012

#22 Leo Bruce

My 1430 doesn’t like Inkpress Dou Matte 80 (215 gsm). Prints fine with “Presentation Matte” setting, but rejects a lot of blank sheets unless I keep cleaning the feed roller. I think the printer thickness gauge (if there is one)doesnn’t like the extra paper thickness, and perhaps a bit of dust puts it over the limit? Had same problem with retired 1400.

4:59 pm - Tuesday, November 20, 2012

#23 Hetti

Thanks Leo, what matte/semi matte stocks (and weights) do you find best through the 1430?
Have you used RedRiver’s GreenPix (232sgm / 62lb), a recycled inkjet stock ... it’s not archival but has an alkaline pH so for greeting cards it sounds like a nice alternative.

3:35 am - Thursday, November 22, 2012

#24 Leo Bruce

Hetti . . .I have only used Epson Ultra Premium Presentation Matte (192 gsm)for A3 and 8.5 x 11 prints. The Duo Matte 80 I use only for postcards because Epson doesn’t sell the former in 4 x 6.

8:47 pm - Monday, November 26, 2012

#25 Rod Price

I bought the 1430 three days ago and I am have problems with the reds fading. Anyone have this problem.Thanks

12:54 am - Wednesday, November 28, 2012

#26 Leo Bruce

Is the red fading after printing, or faded during printing? If during printing then cartridge ink is weak (not Epson Ink?), or something wrong with red feed?

4:43 pm - Thursday, November 29, 2012

#27 Rod

Hey leo thanks for your help. The ink is what epson sent with the printer. As soon as the picture comes out of the printer it is faded. So do I just buy a new magenta and try that or would I replace both magentas. Its so close to making a really nice print I hate to take it back. Thanks Again.

3:32 am - Friday, November 30, 2012

#28 Leo Bruce

could also be a clogged nozzle or cartridge, or feed. Is it banding? (lines of missing ink). Nozzle Check or Head Cleaning (see maintenance)might help? So many possibilities . . .

4:42 am - Friday, November 30, 2012

#29 donald yorke-goldney

new problem with this bloody crap epson 1430. it now only prints on the last 3rd of the A3 sheet the printing is poor and there are fine white lines through ti
maybe time to demand my money back

9:01 am - Monday, December 3, 2012

#30 Leo Bruce

My 1430 once printed all except the last 2 inches of an A3. I’m suspecting that it was because of a clump of something that fell into paper feed, causing a paper jam response?  I have only experienced this once. Otherwise excellent prints.

3:08 pm - Tuesday, December 4, 2012

#31 tawnyareid

My 1430 Artisan is also not recognizing it’s own ink at times. Complelty locks me out when it does that.  I have to shut it down and reboot it hoping it will regcognize it’s own Epson ink again.  I am guessing this means that it won’t accept aftermarket inks?

8:55 pm - Friday, December 7, 2012

#32 Chris

You have to follow the changing ink instruction provided by the software, one by one, cannot just unplug the used ink from the printer, then you should change inks or even aftermarket inks too.

11:06 pm - Friday, December 7, 2012

#33 mark

Compatible inks work perfectly with my epson 1400 so I’m not going to upgrade and wait for the next modle

9:46 pm - Wednesday, December 26, 2012

#34 Claire

@Chris

I have a question, I owned a Epson 1400, for colour prints, I have no problem, it can produce excellent colour, but, for black & white prints, I stil cannot make a good ajustment, it is not pure black & white, in greenish colour. Do you have any comment on this issue with the new printer.

——

I studied printing intensively in college (commercial photography) and we used the 1400. You basically want to set your white and black points. I found for me personally, going into curves in photoshop and adding 10 points to my whites and brightening my blacks by 5 or 10 points helped alot. Next you want to go into selective colour on an adjustment layer, go into neutrals and add 1 or 2 magenta. Sometimes I had to add about 5 points. It will look super pink on your computer but it should print out lovely.

1:33 am - Wednesday, January 30, 2013

#35 STEVE

I silk screen onto Glasses, mugs, pilsners etc using epoxy & hi fire ceramic inks. I am looking for a INK Jet Printer that I can print out onto CLEAR VELLUM IN BLACK INK only with a strong opacity. I use this FILM to shoot my screens. DO I need na RIP since I am using Corel Draw for my art file? or can I just print direct from my computerr since I only need SOLID BLACK images & or lettering??  Helppppp

6:03 pm - Friday, February 1, 2013

#36 Chris

Hi, Claire, thanks for your advice, I did increase the Neutrals by 1 or 2 with magenta using Photoshop, now I can print very close to Black & White prints using my 1400, a lot better than before, one more question, you said using Cures with Photoshop, how can I increase the curves white & black. Thanks.

Chris

7:37 pm - Friday, February 1, 2013

#37 geert

To do black and white prints that are truly neutral without tints:
I already described one method in an earlier post.  That method uses the Epson driver, set for plain paper, grayscale, no bidirectional, best photo.
Smoother results that are also neutral can be obtained using the QTR software instead of the Epson driver.  You will need to combine that with the ink profiles for claria ink available on Paul Roark’s site.

1:38 pm - Sunday, February 10, 2013

#38 Geert De Prest

About making neutral prints:
About making neutral black and white prints:
See my prior post (#12). 
You can also print with the QTR software instead of the epson driver, using paul Roark’s ink profiles. This will give the best result.
Using the 1400 printer instead of the epson models that are set up for black and white (1900, 2880, 3000 ETC) has the advantage that you are using dye inks.  They look better on gloss paper and metallic paper.  Look it up Paul Roark’s site.
Geert

2:16 pm - Sunday, February 10, 2013

#39 von

Having out gassing issues using 1430 using epson Ultra Premium glossy and Premium glossy papers.  I’ve tried allot to resolve this issue including : plain paper blotting ( for weeks ), exposing to sun ( for days ), hair dryer, etc. I’m wondering if Claria inks really ever dry.  The prints look great though… if they only didn’t fog the glass when framed after three weeks I’d be happy.

8:39 pm - Tuesday, April 16, 2013

#40 Roy

With Epson printers using aftermarket inks,when the message comes up that the ink is not Epson all you have to do is press the ” J ” button on your keyboard and it works perfectly. I use only aftermarket inks for all my prints and nobody can tell me which it is. At $2.90 Aftermarket or Epson for $24.98 / cartridge who is kidding who ?
Plus the aftermarket cartidges are really FULL not like Epson 3/4 full.
I don’t buy refilled cartridges only new compatables.

6:33 am - Friday, April 26, 2013

#41 Roy

Von,,something must be wrong with the printer to have to blot your prints or the paper is not right. I use that paper everyday and never have to go through what you are.
I would email Epson and ask them why it is happening. My guess is the paper but I am not an expert. Does it do the same with matte papers ?

6:39 am - Friday, April 26, 2013

#42 Von

Roy, No problems with out gassing with matte papers but they’re too flat (no Dmax). I’ve switched to Epson Exhibition Fiber - scratches easily but yields beautiful prints.  Tested Epson Luster and Ilford pearl papers… no problems.  I have an Epson 837 printer which also uses Claria ink. The framed glossy prints have the same issues as the 1430.

4:03 am - Saturday, April 27, 2013

#43 chris

Yes, I tried QTR software, it is perfect for black & white printing,  just go Google, search for QTR software, using it’s driver instead of Epson, can print perfect black & whtie prints, need small adjustment to make it perfect. Remember, have to change to TIFF format for Windows.  I understand if you are using Apple, Jpeg is OK.

3:13 am - Tuesday, April 30, 2013

#44 TK

is this printer good for transfer paper and how good is the picture once you place them ona t-shirt

5:42 pm - Wednesday, May 1, 2013

#45 Price gouger

Interesting. $199
Now exactly 12 months later $399.
With the $ where it is it should be a lot cheaper not more expensive. I also note that the r2000 and the r2880 are both available for US$499 direct from epson in the US ($100 off ) but $1100 and $1300 here.
What gives epson? not making money on ink? try reducing the cost.

1:26 am - Thursday, May 2, 2013

#46 Price gouger

That last comment was for EPSON AUSTRALIA. Sorry should have made that clear.

1:31 am - Thursday, May 2, 2013

#47 Innah | Inkjet

If you are after quality, smudge-free and flawless results, the Epson Artisan 1430 seems to be the right choice. It will let you print without the inconvenience. It’s definitely a great buy!

7:04 am - Thursday, May 9, 2013

#48 Anton

I’ve had not ends of problems with the 1430. I have a Mac and it just is not well compatible with this printer. I’ve had it for 13 months, and I get a message the ink pads needs changing. Epson does not offer software to reset for Mac, I’m supposed to pay $185 to have it serviced. Help! Any alternatives? Paid $9.99 onliine to WIC/2manual for software & reset number: doesn’t work. Aaargh!

6:49 pm - Wednesday, May 15, 2013

#49 leo bruce

“Ink pad full” was why I switched up to 1430 from 1400, instead of paying service to replace the nickel sponge pad, about the same cost. A really stupid design, that I can’t replace the pad myself. I have chewed out Epson for this, but they ignore me, as they do for all my comments so far. They know better, to hell with the customer. You can bet this feature is “on purpose” to give the service depots a reason for their existence.It backfired with me . . . I bought a new one instead and stopped printing borderless. Borderless is what fills the pad (from printing past the paper edge).

11:56 pm - Wednesday, May 15, 2013

#50 Margarita

I, too, have had problems with the 1430. It was banding straight out of the box. I use sublimation ink & the driver for it. All the nozzle checks & head cleanings only wasted ink without improving prints. I was instructed to try the Epson ink for comparison. It was the same. I found a manual head cleaning video on YouTube which helped, but still not picture perfect. The problem remains with the light cyan. Now I get a paper jam, clear it, but can’t get the 1430 to recognize that it is clear. Turned it off, unplugged it, inspected inside for a small piece of paper or something, but it’s clear. Epson instructs to contact them for everything. Make a disposable product & can’t fix a thing.

6:47 pm - Tuesday, June 4, 2013

#51 Heloisa

You know what I did? I went back to the !400, bought a refurbished on efor $170 because it was so much less hassle than the 1430 even if the quality of the printing is not as good - and the minute it tells me its pads are full or whatever b-shit, I get rid of it. That’s the idea, right?

2:41 am - Wednesday, June 5, 2013

#52 Linda

I replaced my waste ink pad when I first got my Epson 1400.  That way I never get a mess of ink inside my printer. 

There are several waste ink tanks that you can purchase and your ink counter can be reset with a program also—-just google it.

Here is a link for utube showing the installation of a waste ink tank into an Epson 1400.  That printer should last a long time with this installed.  All ink jet printers have a waste ink pad that gets full after lots of usuage.

12:33 pm - Sunday, June 9, 2013

#53 Linda

OOPS I forgot the link.  Here it is for the installation of the waste ink tank into the Epson 1400 printer:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WcIOmKBmCsQ

12:35 pm - Sunday, June 9, 2013

#54 Linda

Here is the link for the waste ink tank installation for the Epson 1400:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WcIOmKBmCsQ

Sorry about that

12:38 pm - Sunday, June 9, 2013

#55 Bernie

I have not had any problems with my 1430 at all.  Sometimes I forget to put the proper paper size and what paper I am using and it has the kind of problems I am seeing from the complaints from you guys.

11:20 pm - Tuesday, July 30, 2013

#56 Chris

Did you ever print any pure black & white photos. Black & white, just black & white.

3:50 am - Wednesday, July 31, 2013

#57 Bernie

I print black and white on Staples photo supreme matte paper set on ultra premium presentation matte.  The results are to my liking.  I use the same paper and setting for greeting cards.

10:27 am - Wednesday, July 31, 2013

#58 Matt no black

The 1430 insists that my black ink is empty.  I’m not sure it has anything to do with it being the black cartridge, but while running 72,000 nozzle checks and cleanings, multiple other cartridges erroneously showed empty and were easily corrected by re-seating them.  I am using a non-epson refillable cartridges and have filled, drained and re-filled, shaken, rotated while shaking, ran with and without the fill plug, re-booted, retested, re-..... I’m starting to lose it. Is there a means of cleaning contacts, or is it realistic to think the minute circuit board on the cartridge is shot?

9:44 pm - Saturday, August 10, 2013

#59 Lynn

Has anyone had success using refillable cartridges on the epson artisan 1430. If so what brand. I have one and can’t get it to work no matter what. The cartridges will not even click in to seat properly to recognize the cartridge. It seams that the cartridges are slightly larger then the originals and a softer plastic.the ink is so expensive is it better to use remanufactured Epson cartridges. Help!

4:08 am - Thursday, August 29, 2013

#60 uberto

I use an epson 1430 w and my prints are ALWAYS too dark, any advice?. Thank you!

2:37 pm - Friday, September 6, 2013

#61 marty goldsmith

I have 3 1430 I use in photo booths, we use re ink able cartridges.  I get messages all the time that cartridge is not compatable,  Someone on the board said it hit J when this comes up.  I have used orginal Epson cartridges and had the same problems.  Epson customer service pretends like they have never heard of this.  Any help welcome   .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address)

2:03 pm - Sunday, September 8, 2013

#62 Graham

Best results on Black and white -Greyscale-Hi speed off-Plain papers-PLUS GAMMA 1.8 not 2.2.
I like the results -seems to minimise colour cast.
Thanks to earlier poster-just followed their advice with a small tweak.

11:14 pm - Thursday, September 19, 2013

#63 gymnast46

I’ve had very good luck with a 1430 for a year with after market inks.  This evening the ink levels showed that all but the Yellow and Black were very low so I replaced the other four.  Every print since then has had excessive red in the print on glossy paper.  I’ve tried printing from Photoshop and from Windows Photo Viewer with the same result.  I’ve rebooted the machine, PC, and printer, and replaced the full T0973 Magenta cartridge with no difference.  It’s really getting frustrating.  Any suggestions?

3:19 am - Wednesday, October 16, 2013

#64 gymnast46

I thought it would be helpful to show what I’m talking about in the post above.  I uploaded a before and after photo.  The top one is the original digital image.  The bottom one is a scan of the print produced by the printer.  What do I need to do?

http://mtlski.com/images/beforeafter.jpg

12:14 pm - Wednesday, October 16, 2013

#65 gymnast46

I tried to post a link to an example of the problem but I guess this site doesn’t allow URLs in the body of the comments.  I inserted one in the URL field above.  Hopefully that will work.  I took an original image and then compared it with a scan of what the printer is producing.  The blacks are mostly replaced with an overpowering red.

12:31 pm - Wednesday, October 16, 2013

#66 Leo Bruce

Looks to me that black is missing.

1:56 pm - Wednesday, October 16, 2013

#67 gymnast46

I was also thinking the black cartridge was bad but it’s showing half full.  Printing a Word document in black works fine.  This is really getting frustrating. 

One other question.  After you replace cartridges, the directions say to press the ink button and the ink will be primed after a couple of minutes.  Do you need to hold down the button until the flashing light goes out or only tap it once?

2:47 pm - Wednesday, October 16, 2013

#68 Leo Bruce

Just one tap is enough on mine. Try also a Nozzle Check (see Maintenance Tab)to make sure all 6 colors are printing.

3:28 pm - Wednesday, October 16, 2013

#69 Leo Bruce

Have you tried a Nozzle Check (see under Maintenance Tab)to make sure all 6 inks are flowing?

Only a tap needed to start priming after cartridge replacement.

3:42 pm - Wednesday, October 16, 2013

#70 gymnast46

Nozzle check and head cleaning cured the problem.  Much obliged!

8:27 pm - Wednesday, October 16, 2013

#71 guglielmo

I have a mythical stylus photo 925. I can not do without cutter ... Qunado Epson photo printer will make a cutter?

9:47 pm - Monday, November 25, 2013

#72 Ernie

Hi All, Just bought the 1400 about a week ago. First print was full of lines & very washed out/faded colour. Have spent hours adjusting, printing & reloading drivers etc. I actually used windows to print a sample Picture (the lillies). On my dirt cheap basic HP with just a black & a multicolour cartridge the pic comes out OK. But on the Epson 1400 it still prints all washed out.
Anyone got any ideas? I will be ringing Epson in a few days & see what response I get.

5:31 am - Saturday, February 1, 2014

#73 JimD

Ernie,
Check you are not set for plain paper printing. The ink density on the plain paper setting is very low. Setting for best photo gives maximum ink density.
Lines usually means heads clogged and fixed by a head clean. Do not over do head cleaning. Leaving overnight after a head clean is better than constant head cleaning. Is this a new printer or or a used one?

11:02 am - Saturday, February 1, 2014

#74 Ernie

JimD,
Thanks for the advice, I have followed same. New Printer 5 days old but only just started using/testing.I would have thought that straight out of box it would be OK. Anyhow it seems to be getting a wee bit better - no lines - but still get washed-out pix. The Epson software is rubbish. I tried my Corel Paintshop Pro & printing from there it is a lot better but still not up to my expectations. I have used at least half tanks of ink in the process - so it’s costly, since I don’t have any useful Pix as yet. I plan to try some after market inks - seems there may not be an issue this area - wiil find out anyway.
In an earlier post above someone was having issues of too dark (opposite to my prob. Seems like there is no quality control at Sieko/Epson.
Anyhow I have 15 months warranty so will persist for a while.
Sorry if this post has turned into a novel but I just like to keep all informed.
GREAT & USEFUL SITE.

4:50 am - Sunday, February 2, 2014

#75 JimD

Ernie. I would suggest there may be something wrong with the printer. You also risk a problem with the service life of the ink drain collector, meaning the printer will shutdown before its life is over. There should be no problems with epson drivers, they change little from printer to printer over the past twenty years and are well sorted out. I had a 1400 but messed up the ink cartridge contacts (my fault) I now use a T50 with pigment ink (rihac) and an XP950 that lets me do A3.
Printing to dark is common and can be adjusted in the advanced properties. Or as I have done by making my own profiles.

I have also cleared blocked heads by using windex in the ink receptors after removing the cartridges. A drinking straw fits over them. But you need to fold absorbent paper towels and slide them under the print head. Do this with the head in the centre and the power off. Leave it over night and repeat next day, replacing the paper towels they will be soaked and dirty. Dry off everything and re insert cartridges.  Do not do it in warranty. Send it back.

7:01 am - Sunday, February 2, 2014

#76 Raghu

The improvement in technology has made work easier for mankind. Wireless printer for me is a great invention, because in offices where lot of printing has to be done, this will be the best.

12:39 pm - Monday, February 3, 2014

#77 Ernie

JIMD,
Many thanks for the advice - rang Epson this morning, tried to explain problem but the guy just said “Take it back to the retailer for a replacement unit, here is your Ref No. xxxxxxxxxx - DOA”.
Umm - is that Dead On arrival?
  Rang retailer new one is being freighted out & will pick-up old. No hidden costs PLUS 1 Extra years replacement warranty.
No Prob’s - but have got my fingers crossed on the new unit.
Will keep you all Posted.
PS. I’m in Australia & retailer is Officeworks if anyone is interested.

2:08 am - Tuesday, February 4, 2014

#78 Ernie

Hi all,
Received replacement printer - it is 100% better than the first one - Thanks to JimD for the advise.
So - it is 100% better but overall not as good as I would have expected from Epson. I guess one can’t expect the best for $400.
The issue I find is that it doesn’t print the Black areas too well in a multi colour print.
But I note in previous URL’s others have had issues with printing B&W Pic.s - will follow up.
THANKS ALL & EPSON.

11:52 pm - Saturday, February 8, 2014

#79 apple

Featuring one more committed data channel, known as your apple HDMI Ethernet Route, pertaining to gadget network. HDMI Ethernet Route functionality is just offered in case both equally connected devices are HDMI Ethernet Channel-enabled.
http://www.dueltek.com.au/collections/hdmi-cables

2:50 am - Sunday, February 9, 2014

#80 Chris

Download the QTR
http://www.quadtonerip.com/html/QTRoverview.html, remember when printing black & white, they only support TIFF format.  You can have perfect colour for black & white.

6:34 am - Sunday, February 9, 2014

#81 Gilbert

Someone asked about aftermarket ink.  I have two Epsons and both use CIS from cobra ink Google them.  Their systems while not completely trouble free are 98% and the extra 2% gets fixed with a call to them.  You actually can talk to a technician that will help you. 

I’m looking for an upgrade from my 730 and I want it to be capable of wide paper so the 1430 or 2000 series are some of what I’m looking at.  Price is secondary but I’m not going to spend fortune as this is a hobby printer.

I have re-felled all types of cartridges for Epson, HP and Canon printers that I have owned.  I would never go back to doing that.  A CIS system is the only way to go.  Yes it will cost you an extra +$200 but filling them is easy, fast and cheap. 

My workhorse printer is WF7520 I have print mostly for work but it does a nice job on pictures for a 3 color printer. Especially for home and family photo printing. 

I know it would not stack up against gallery prints but it does a really good job for what it is. Besides if you are printing 12 by 18 or less Hanging your pictures in a home under normal lighting conditions or putting them in a photo book you really are not doing gallery images anyways.

I keep reminding myself most prints are 8 by 10 or less put in frames then placed on tables with glass over them or put in a photo book. Just keep in mind does the end use justify what you are doing?

11:15 pm - Wednesday, April 16, 2014

#82 Ernie

Gilbert,
My second (replacement)Artisan 1430 is working fine -it too is a hobby printer.
I find that the aftermarket inks I get from Ebay are working as well as original Epsons (of course I don’t know if they will fade after time though. They are costing me about a tenth of the cost of originals, so i feel that I’m getting value.
A friend has tried a system whereby the ink tanks are external & refillable but after a while the sponges in the tanks deteriorate & give major prob’s.

12:08 am - Thursday, April 17, 2014

#83 mike

These wide format replacement ink cartridges are pretty expensive.  I found recycled ones at Castle Ink http://www.castleink.com/category/6379/Epson-ARTISAN-1430-Wide-Format-Printer.html that have been working pretty well for me.

9:46 pm - Wednesday, April 30, 2014

#84 Darryl Nicholas

For a long time I have wanted an 6-color pigmented ink machine in the 8.5x11 inch size. Epson doesn’t make one. So, I got an old Epson 280 and filled it with PIGMENTED ink and a CIS system. The printer worked great, but of course the color was way off.

I then went to http://www.ddisoftware.com/prism/ and bought (about $79.00) their Photo Prism profiling kit.

The next step is to READ THE DIRECTIONS… then re-read them… 2 or 3 more times.

After that it was super easy to create a profile for the printer that produced PERFECT color and PERFECT neutral gray-scale (B&W prints).

You’ll need a decent scanner… Epson scanners are OK… I bought a Canon LiDE 700F scanner for about $95.00. IT works best with VueScan software.

The profiling kit comes with a CD utility that you install on your computer. Also included is a color target reference print and two electronic files of printing targets… a “lite” version and a regular version.

You print out the printer target using the free Adobe Printing Utility (allows you to print the test file with ZERO color management. Then you put both the target that you just printed and the color reference print on the scanner at the same time and scan both of them at the same time. Import the resulting file into the Photo Prism profiling utility and the utility will create the “profile”. The utility has provisions for tweaking the profile if it is a tad “off”...

If you have problems send me an Email and I’ll help!! By the way, when I set up the 6-color printer, I used the same pigmented ink set that was used on the old Epson 2200 printers, but I suspect that almost any pigmented ink set would work.

2:53 pm - Tuesday, June 10, 2014

#85 DA

the Epson 1400 can do excellent B&W. set the print box for plain paper hi resolution

5:39 pm - Thursday, September 11, 2014

#86 MikeRoss

I really like the quality of this printer. I think I can do many things with this printer. Maybe I should use a good toner cartridges on this to make the best copies possible. The vibe of this printer is really good.

4:34 am - Thursday, October 2, 2014

#87 Eve

Just bought the 1430 and first prints have lines all over them plus the blacks look green on mono went to trouble shooting and it recomemended cleaning the head for banding on prints, cannot understand why I would have to clean the print heads on a brand new printer when it has, nt even been used! Any ideas anyone

11:56 am - Sunday, November 2, 2014

#88 Ernie

Keep all your spare inks upright so the ink settles to the outlet. When your printer arrived the inks were probably lying flat and had no time to “run” down to the outlet.
In regard to “green” B&W - I took the advice of DA in URL #85 it works wonders - green tint all gone.
Also, stay away from CIS Ink systems - the sponges in the tanks eventually fall apart, similarly you can only do a few self refills for the same reason.
I also use aftermarket inks @ 10% of the cost (plenty on Ebay)of originals & they work fine but as someone said in an earlier post we don’t know if they will eventually fade - if they do I think it may be many years.
Also, sometimes when fitting aftermarket inks you have to go thru whole set-up process, print head clean & alignment, etc to get them recognized- a bit frustrating but it sure saves a lot of cash.

8:55 pm - Sunday, November 2, 2014

#89 Eve

Thank you for your help Ernie, I have since contacted Epson and it appears I have a faulty one and so it is being returned to an agent to be checked as we haven’t been able to print one picture yet!

3:44 am - Wednesday, November 5, 2014

#90 Ernie

Yes - I guess they are not all perfect. Epson replaced my first one too. My second (replacement) works wonderfully once I got used to it. Even after 12 months I’m learning new tricks not described in “Help”.

9:51 pm - Wednesday, November 5, 2014