Epson Stylus Photo R2000 Review

4.5
March 20, 2012 | Jon Canfield | Printer Reviews |

Introduction

The Epson Stylus Photo R2000 is an A3+ / 13-inch high-gloss photo printer. The 8-colour R2000 printer uses Epson's UltraChrome Hi-Gloss pigment inks and features Wi-Fi, USB and Ethernet connectivity. Read our expert review of the Epson Stylus Photo R2000.

When it comes to photo quality inkjet printers, Epson is usually the first name that comes to mind. While there are a number of options available for the casual to serious user in the desktop size, once you hit 13” wide, the number of choices is much more restricted. Currently, Epson and Canon own this market, and of these two, only Epson offers a true range of printers in this size.


There are two pigment printers from Epson, the $849 / £699 R3000, and the new $499 / £419 R2000 that replaces the popular R1900. Although both printers look similar at first glance, and both use pigment inks, under the hood they are very different products and will appeal to a different type of photographer.

Ease of Use

Tiffen Dfx 3

What's New

To be clear, the Epson Stylus Photo R2000 isn't a ground breaking product. It uses the same ink as the R1900 it replaces, but with the AccuPhoto HG technology, print quality is improved with better tonal gradations. Both Ethernet and WiFi are new and welcome options, but perhaps the most welcome new feature from my perspective is the larger capacity ink tanks. With about 50% more ink than the R1900, the cost per print is less, and you'll be replacing expensive cartridges less frequently.

Setup

Setup of the Epson Stylus Photo R2000 is straight forward enough. Unpack the printer, remove the seemingly endless pieces of tape, and plug it in to charge the ink lines.

Tiffen Dfx 3Unboxing the Epson R2000

Tiffen Dfx 3Epson R2000 Front Panel

Tiffen Dfx 3Epson R2000 Inkset

Tiffen Dfx 3Installing the Epson R2000 Inks

Once the inks are charged, you'll run through the software setup, deciding whether to operate via USB or networked. The Epson Stylus Photo R2000 adds both wired Ethernet and WiFi connections, so you have plenty of options to choose from.

Tiffen Dfx 3Selecting the Connection

I setup via WiFi, the process going smoothly, and the printer available in just a couple of minutes across my network. After the basic driver install, Epson adds in a few utilities, and the Print CD program to use the provided CD/DVD print feature.

Ink

The Epson R2000 features eight individual ink cartridges - Photo Black, Matte Black, Cyan, Magenta, Yellow, Red, Orange, and Gloss Optimizer. Missing are the typical light cyan and light magenta inks found in many other printers. Dropping these inks in favor or red and orange allows the R2000 to print more accurate skin tones and more saturated colors than might otherwise be possible. When I compared the color gamut of the R2000 to the R3000 using Epson Ultra Premium Luster, I was impressed at how well the R2000 did

Tiffen Dfx 3Epson R2000 Colour Gamut

In this chart, the R2000 is shown in true color, while the R3000 is shown in red. As you can see, the R2000 is significantly wider in the oranges while losing a bit in the greens.

You're going to go through more Gloss Optimizer than anything, so when you buy ink, I'd suggest doubling up here. Epson obviously recognizes this, as they supply two cartridges in the box. Ink runs about $22 per cartridge.

Entry Tags

review, photos, test, photo, professional, printer, a3, a3+, 13 inch, stylus photo, UltraChrome K3, Epson Stylus Photo R2000, pigment, r2000.epson

Tracker Pixel for Entry

Your Comments

19 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 Martin Kay

Quote: This is a printer that will give you years of quality output :End Quote
I’d like a good printer that would give weeks of trouble free output… Lol! It seems that now printers are printing so fine a dot they seem more prone to heads blocking up which, to me, seem not as reliable as printers from years gone by.
I used a Epson R800 (I think it was) which gave really good A4 prints which I could sell to customers- however that petered out after the usual two year span or so. After that I never bothered with a quality printer, but got a cheap ‘office’ stlye Canon 2700 (£25 or so) which printed low quality photos (no decent blacks) and the usual letters etc. This printer would reliably print even if it had stood for a few months without blocking up. I though, hmm, I’ll get a slightly better Canon (about £70) and see how that goes… result after one letter and about four days the heads are blocked and still after three attempts to clean. Printer into the skip and back to a cheap office style Canon, which again prints reliably. Having worked in darkrooms for years I would like to print my own stuff but I’m seriously thinking of using one of the better online printing companies. The perception is that inkjets are expensive to produce because of ink cost- actually compared to professional hand printing costs (£15.00 for an A4) inkjets are cheap. The expense is when you are constantly trying to unblock heads- I’m not going to be printing every day or even every week so I don’t know if one of these printers is a practical proposition.

10:25 am - Monday, June 4, 2012

#2 Dashi

Hello,

Can anybody tell me what details are changed or repaired by Refurbished printers in case by epson r 2000,

Dashi

7:28 am - Tuesday, October 16, 2012

#3 Wendy McDougall

hello,

I am having trouble getting my R2000 to print using thick paper in the rear loader. The instruction manual is not clear and I cant find any tutorials to show me.

I have the printer settings as the paper ICC profile says, choosing A4 manual rear, and velvet fine art paper selected.

I am wondering if there is a trick as to how to load the paper exactly? I found I had to push the paper down a lot into the printer but it then reads that it is jammed

I’m using Hahnemuehler Photo Rag 308gsm paper

Help!

Wendy

11:44 pm - Monday, November 5, 2012

#4 Ron Thomas

Hi Firstly the info on the R2000 has given me more confidence in going to purchase this A3 Printer.at present I have the Epson Stylus Photo RX 700 of which I have had for some years,what is so good about it that I can clean the inkjet heads,a good alround printer which I will stilluse after I have tha A3.
What your info does not say what means there is to clean the heads,to me this is very inportant,I am told the Canon Printers self clean after using the printer,which tend to use lots of ink,
my 700 is manual to this so saves ink,I only clean when required.
Hopefully the R2000 has a simular device, as this will convince me this is the right one to buy.
Also what about a manual is there one in the kit as lots of things you buy today dont seem to have.
Regards
Ron

6:43 pm - Tuesday, November 6, 2012

#5 Guy

I have recently bought a r2000 after the print heads blocked on my r1900 with the r1900 I had trouble printing onto (uncoated)watercolour paper( which I would later paint over). Can anyone advise what are the best settings for printing onto thick watercolour paper?

11:35 am - Friday, November 9, 2012

#6 Eric Burger

Epson Printers will not last more than about two years now. We spent top $$$ for a large format printer that is “no longer supported”, meaning “we don’t stand by any product that wasn’t purchased yesterday”. If you want a printer that lasts, do your research first, and stay away from epson. They are just cheap.

7:26 pm - Wednesday, January 2, 2013

#7 JJ

Have a HP Z3100 for most of my printing, and decided to buy the R2000 for smaller prints. All I can say is its not worth the cash, the inks run out so quickly not to mention the heads clog if you dont use printer ever few days. And quality wise is not much better then the Z3100. (and B&W suck big time on the R2000).  Even with the R2000’s Gloss ink, the bronzing on prints is horrible. Now, I barely use it.  And do to the ink cost I would rather waste the extra paper rolls on my Z3100 as its cheaper to toss paper then pay the price for the minuscule Epson inks. Now im going to look into using a CIS for the R2000 to keep the price down, if not ill toss it up on craigslist. :(

Ink Price:
*Epson inks: $22 for 17ml
*HP inks $60 for 130ml

4:06 pm - Wednesday, January 9, 2013

#8 JJ

“I have the printer settings as the paper ICC profile says, choosing A4 manual rear, and velvet fine art paper selected.

I am wondering if there is a trick as to how to load the paper exactly? I found I had to push the paper down a lot into the printer but it then reads that it is jammed

I’m using Hahnemuehler Photo Rag 308gsm paper”

Wendy, there really isnt a special way, you do have to “force” it a little bit, but to much and it will jam, to little and it wont load, you just have to find the sweet spot. If you are having to many problems with the rear feed, you should then try to use the front load as its what Epson recommends for fine art paper. :)

4:09 pm - Wednesday, January 9, 2013

#9 JeRust

I never knew that the chosen printer of the year would come from Epson. I mean honestly I’m not a huge fan of Epson printers especially their ink types, as I’ve got a lot of not so good experiences with those. After having two to three printers from Epson I decided to switch for an HP printer and so far there are less problems from which I had encountered with my latest printer buddy. But based from this review, well it kinda tells me that I should have given Epson another chance, probably for the nth time. Anyway I guess I’ll stick with this one that i have for now.

8:52 am - Thursday, January 10, 2013

#10 Maharg

How does the Epson R2000 printer compare with the R2880. I have had an R2880 14months and it is done for. The ribbons attached to the print head fractured and it was going to be very expensive to repair. I am an amateur Photographer and do a small amount of Photo printing. I don’t want a repeat performance with the new printer

5:23 pm - Friday, January 11, 2013

#11 Maharg

sorry typed in the wrong e-mail address

5:25 pm - Friday, January 11, 2013

#12 Epson R2000

Epson R2000 do excellent work,I really like it.I always use the compatible ink ,and save a lot of money.

5:35 am - Wednesday, March 20, 2013

#13 qqq

Here is a list of epson Stylus Photo Series Printers

http://www.britanniainks.co.uk/categories/Ink-Cartridges/Epson-Ink-Cartridges/Epson-Stylus-Photo-Series-Printers/

5:38 am - Wednesday, March 20, 2013

#14 anwar abdalla mohammed

iwant to ask if it print master log which we are use in oil field which the the paper length about 250inch’and the width about 9.5 inch
and also the print printing from infront and back

if like this where ican find it

sudan khartoum

thanks

7:51 am - Sunday, April 14, 2013

#15 bernadette

Hi there,
I just set up my R2000 and i cannot access the printer settings from any of my programs. Here is the scene from every app i have tried: Photoshop CS4, Indesign CS5, iPhoto and Preview:

There is a pull down option for printer settings, but when i click it, nothing happens and often the application crashes. When I click the next setting (can’t remember the name, but it brings up options for roll feed, which i also cannot select), and then click back to Printer Settings, I can actually see the options (4 dropdowns, none clickable, and 4 radio button fields, (gloss setting, etc.) - all unclicked. The names of these dropdowns are illegible, like “iiplc;”, and the first one looks garbled, like the software is corrupt.). Usually by this point whatever program i am in crashes. By the way, none of these printer dialog boxes look like what is on the setup guide for Mac from Epson. They don’t look like what you have posted here. Their dialog box looks like you can Choose Media Type, Color, Color Settings, and Print Quality. I should also be able to see radio buttons for High Speed, Mirror Image and Gloss Optimizer.

I am running an iMac 10.6.8, all the software is up to date. I’ve reinstalled the epson driver several times (both from disk and from online). I’ve cleared all printer settings in my Print/fax system preferences using the control–click (did this with help of Epson tech support)—but still, nothing works.

They are sending me a new printer but honestly I cannot use the printer if i cannot control printer settings, especially the ability to turn off that damn glossy overlay. I am trying to print artwork on matte paper… so i do not want any glossy booster. When i print with just the Canon settings, on the SPR2000 watercolor paper setting, the printout is dull and lifeless. I need to be able to adjust these things or the printer is just a complete loss.

Please, any help or advice would be greatly appreciated. Thank you so much.

9:34 pm - Saturday, June 8, 2013

#16 Jools

Just paid out for Epson R2000 & having huge difficulties. Loading fine art paper to therear& error message tells me I’ve loaded a roll of paper & settings don’t correspond. An hour online chat with Epson still hasn’t resolved it.

11:13 am - Friday, July 19, 2013

#17 Renee

I’m having the exact same issue as bernadette. The printed worked fine for two weeks. I was able to adjust all my settings as necessary and now it crashes every time I try to adjust the settings. Doesn’t matter what program. I’m operating Mac OS X 10.8.5 and everything is up to date. I’m wondering if anyone was able to fix the issue. Thanks!

2:19 am - Saturday, October 5, 2013

#18 bernadette

hi renee, someone on another forum was very helpful and suggested this, which worked…
“Sounds like the driver installation is damaged.
Removing and reinstalling the driver might help. If not, contact Epson for help fixing their driver.”
good luck!

1:16 pm - Sunday, October 6, 2013

#19 Jack Hon

We are interested Epson R2000
Do you have 1K sets

1:23 am - Thursday, April 24, 2014