Fujifilm FinePix F200EXR Review

4.5
March 18, 2009 | Mark Goldstein |

Your Comments

71 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 Ramses

Love the review and the new style, but please, please drop the moving menu box in the pages. As you scroll down the page the things keeps on bouncing in the corner of your screen. Quite annoying, really.

11:28 am - Wednesday, March 18, 2009

#2 Thomas

No raw format. :-(

12:15 pm - Wednesday, March 18, 2009

#3 Kelsci

no hi-def video offered.

12:20 pm - Wednesday, March 18, 2009

#4 Igi

the dynamic range samples full picture links only show thumbnails

2:01 pm - Wednesday, March 18, 2009

#5 landale

I think there may have been something wrong with what you received because my F200EXR came with printed manuals in three different languages.  Also when the camera is in the program, aperture priority or manual shooting modes and set to 6MP it can set DR anywhere from 100-400 without raising the ISO, just like in EXR DR mode (DR 800 is not available though).

2:36 pm - Wednesday, March 18, 2009

#6 Gerald

There seems to be a constant clicking noise when it is in EXR (Auto) mode. Seems to be a norm; As seen in the following youtube video—> http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bWLudg7PmKI

I have also noticed a quicker heat build-up when in EXR (Auto) mode… Is that something to worry about?

2:38 pm - Wednesday, March 18, 2009

#7 Anthony

Unfortunately it looks like the F200EXR does not pick up where the F31fd left off.  I really wish I hadn’t sold that camera.

2:56 pm - Wednesday, March 18, 2009

#8 Mark Goldstein

lgi, we’ve fixed the missing dynamic range full-size samples.

3:19 pm - Wednesday, March 18, 2009

#9 Mark Goldstein

landale, our sample was provided by Fujifilm UK, and it definitely only comes with a Basic printed manual (with the full version on a CD).

You’re right about the 6MP mode - so you can either choose 12MP and alter the ISO up to 400, or drop the resolution to 6MP and still shoot at ISO 100.

3:23 pm - Wednesday, March 18, 2009

#10 Mark Goldstein

Check out our F31fd review to compare the two!

http://www.photographyblog.com/reviews_fujifilm_finepix_f31fd.php

3:24 pm - Wednesday, March 18, 2009

#11 landale

I am in the US so I am guessing Fujifilm USA includes printed manuals while in the UK they don’t.  Weird.  Great review though.

4:12 pm - Wednesday, March 18, 2009

#12 Gerd

Gerald mentioned a constant clicking sound an a quick heat up in Auto Mode. Assuming it has the same reason as for my good old FinePix S6500fd - Noise an Heat is generated by constantly focussing and measuring mechanics of the lense. If there is a function called focus-once or similar, noise and heat-up should reduce(if this makes sense)

6:46 pm - Wednesday, March 18, 2009

#13 Cali

I’d say Fuji needs to get a better lens on this thing. I’m not too impressed with the results. I think a better glass would make it really something special, but I think it tries to do too much in-camera.

8:10 pm - Wednesday, March 18, 2009

#14 WS

All are fine in F200EXR, in fact better than my f31fd, except the video is HORRIBLE!! How can a camera be so good in taking photos but so bad in taking videos???

9:48 pm - Wednesday, March 18, 2009

#15 levander

Am I so wrong for wanting RAW in a small camera?  Hopefully that’s not just something stupid I’m hung up on.  But, I’m really thinking if you want to edit pictures heavily to adjust the look, you really need RAW. 

Still waiting to see if the successor to the Nikon P6000 takes better pictures and doesn’t include half-ass GPS support.  Or, if maybe the successor to the Canon G10 gets smaller.

10:07 pm - Wednesday, March 18, 2009

#16 someone

not so-good, i hope DPR does it better

10:49 pm - Wednesday, March 18, 2009

#17 velvia fan

I wonder why the film simulation mode was not reviewed. I saw some samples comparing normal, Velvia and the other modes. As expected the Velvia shows high saturation and contrast. The differences were quite stunning.

9:37 am - Thursday, March 19, 2009

#18 Gerald

Thanks Gerd for the insight. Fiddled with the camera’s controls and found that the clicking and heat is caused by the Continuous AF mode.

In EXR (Auto), AF mode would be set to Continuous, and you can’t switch it to the other AF modes. Hence, the constant focusing and heat…

I guess this is its way of selecting the correct scene mode for the job…

~

If the film simulation (FS) option is not covered in this review, does that mean that the FS option of the F200EXR is the same as the one in the FinePix S100FS?

I have used the Velvia simulation (F200EXR) and it is pretty amazing. However, it ain’t the same as the real Velvia (film)... Then again, these are two different mediums, I shouldn’t compare…

3:58 pm - Thursday, March 19, 2009

#19 ausGeoff

Hey levander…

You should’ve bought the E900 like I did ‘all’ those years ago!  RAW plus the 9MP 1/1.6” sensor.

4:44 pm - Thursday, March 19, 2009

#20 bvk

i am here for the first time
i liked the review a lot, all the features were covered well
i think it would have been better if there were images from other cameras(rivals and dslr’s) to compare

3:01 pm - Saturday, March 21, 2009

#21 Fadzlan

Its not wrong wanting RAW and hi-def video in a small cam, but I think its not what Fuji intended. It seems, this round is for the masses who just want point and shoot. I think they are not targeting serious compacts, at least not this time around.

Hopefully they come up with a better model featuring the sensor. A good glass would be a huge plus.

5:35 pm - Wednesday, March 25, 2009

#22 Craig

I find it a damn fine shame that there is no high-def video mode. Fujifilm have definately lost a sale here as I would have SNAPPED this up if it could record decent video.

Does anybody know of any other camera that is excellent (or at least half decent) in low light and can record high def video? Preferably being good at low light while recording the video.

2:13 pm - Friday, March 27, 2009

#23 txv611

Panasonic LX3 has good low lights and does Video in HD!

2:47 pm - Sunday, March 29, 2009

#24 Matt

Great review, much appreciated.

While it is useful to show the baseline output at full resolution, it is really a great shame that you don’t have sample images using the 6mp low noise setting which is, after all, one of the features of the camera. You comment that the difference isn’t as great as you ‘would have liked’, but it seems significant to me. When talking about noise, the most significant aspect is the look of the noise, not just how much of it there is. In all the dpreview samples using SN mode, the noise has no almost no pattern and is very granular and filmic. This makes a *tremendous* difference to the look of the photo. I would have loved to see if this was borne out in your review with side-by-side comparisons, whatever your expectations…

However, I just can’t get over how great designs (like the f30) can be dumbed down and diluted with each ‘next generation’ - mind boggling.

Thanks again for your great work.

12:14 pm - Monday, March 30, 2009

#25 Dan

Guys you may want to check out the following link as it compares the Fuji EXR versus the Panasonic LX3 - http://www.rentmydslr.com/index.html

In my opinion, I feel since the days of the F30, Fuji has made very small progress in hiding the noise on photos. In fact, it seemed more obvious in the EXR.. maybe my eyes are playing tricks on me after analyzing tons of photos by the EXR and competition cameras but I guess you can be the judge of that.

Basically, same sentiments as others.. How I wish there was a better lens to the EXR, HD recording and Raw mode to package it all..

And yes, I still love my F30 and I almost sold it on ebay..

4:06 am - Wednesday, April 1, 2009

#26 Matt

Dan,
Thank you very, very much for that link. It is easily the most useful comparison I have seen, and really shows a lot of interesting results from real-world usage and relevant studio shots.

I agree wholeheartedly with you, both about the f30 and the desire just for a better (read ‘faster’!) lens for the EXR. A faster lens alone automatically solves most of your problems with low light photography (duh…). The Lumix is almost 2 stops faster at the wide end, and you don’t have to sacrifice decent telephoto to get 2.8 (the Panasonic DMC-FX580/550 does it, and others). And with RAW, well… But then, why put everything people want in one model, when you can get maybe four or five out of a single idea?

12:46 pm - Wednesday, April 1, 2009

#27 Matt

Folks, another fascinating comparison here:
http://www.dkamera.de/testberichte/fujifilm/finepix-f200exr/bildqualitaet

The review is in German, but this interactive comparison allows you to compare the Fuji with a host of other cameras (including DSLRs - try the E-3 for a surprise), or with itself in different modes and ISOs. Test photos in day and night light levels. Terrific tool. Canon fans should check it out…

2:02 am - Sunday, April 5, 2009

#28 Gil

This German site is great. It looks like the 200EXR is the best compact by this comparison, even better than LX3 and G10 - but I wonder if it was just in this specific studio scene or will the difference be the same in real life? Cause in photography blog’s reviews for example, it doesn’t seem to be much better than, say, TZ7 (which is my other option…).

Does anyone know if the F200’s HD output requires a proprietary cable, or does it have a mini hdmi connector?

Shame they didn’t put any effort to the movie mode

8:31 am - Monday, April 13, 2009

#29 Matt

Gil, I think the EXR will handle noise better than the TZ7, which seems very similar to the LX3, but smudging more detail away. In all the shots I’ve seen, the Fuji leaves much more detail (meaning you have more to work with if you want to do the NR yourself) and the noise is much more grainy and attractive than the more blotchy TZ7. What the LX3 has going for it is its sharp and fast lens, whereas the EXR and TZ7 have the same max aperture. In most cases, the Fuji will be better even one stop slower than the LX3 (but I hope Fuji improves the lens…).

The TZ7 has no manual controls, either, so maybe doesn’t really compare with either of the others. I think you need to buy a component cable for the f200EXR.

4:35 pm - Tuesday, April 14, 2009

#30 Gil

How about F200’s image stabilization? I think I read that CCD shift is less effective than lens shift which most other manufacturers use. Is it true?
Unfortunately most reviews don’t really try to estimate the performance of the image stabilization, but just mention it in a copy-paste way.

5:12 pm - Wednesday, April 15, 2009

#31 Matt

I don’t know which works better, but dcresource always shows examples in practice, so have a look there. It seems the Fuji’s can’t be used in movie mode, whereas you can’t turn it off in the TZ7’s movie mode. I think they will all give a reasonably good result, though. A heavier camera will tend to shake less, btw.

4:14 pm - Thursday, April 16, 2009

#32 Luca

Guys this F200 EXR is just a great marketing efforts don’t be disguised.

I owned F10 and owning the F31 and I don’t understand what the F200 can do that the F31 can’t.

The F200 in High Sensitivity mode is the old F31.
The F200 in DR mode: you can have the same result with the F31 if you play with the compensation settings.
The Velvia simulation is what is called Chrome on the F31.
At 12 MP the F200 is an average camera, you are much better off buying the Panasonic LX-3 in terms of high iso performances (@12MP) and video (HD) and last but not least you have a superb fast Leica lens…..

5:31 am - Wednesday, April 29, 2009

#33 Mike

@ Luca:

You’re right about the better lens of the LX3. I was pondering about the choice between the two of them fot quite a while.
I think I’ll soon the the Fuji, though. In my opinion, the colours taken by the Fuji look more natural than those taken by the LX3.
I’ll also only be using the 6MP mode and mostly taking taking pictures during the day so I won’t depend on the excellently fast lens of the LX3 but will probably be fine with the still decent features of the Fuji’s lens.
I’ve found a good comparison of photos taken with the Fuji and the Panasonic:
http://www.rentmydslr.com/dayshots.html

The LX3 really feels better and more valuable. But the Fuji offers a at least an little flash for an occasional silly photo taken at night.

I’m just waiting for the Fuji to become a little cheaper. The LX3 is more than a hundred pounds more expensive which I regard as ridiculous as it is way too much for a simple compact camera.

11:04 am - Wednesday, April 29, 2009

#34 Mike

You’re right about the better lens of the LX3. I was pondering on the choice between the two of them for quite a while.
However, I think I’ll soon buy the Fuji. In my opinion, the colours taken by the Fuji look more natural than those taken by the LX3.
I’ll also only be using the 6MP mode and mostly taking pictures during the day so I won’t depend on the excellently fast lens of the LX3 but will probably be fine with the still decent features of the Fuji’s.
I’ve found a good comparison of photos taken with the Fuji and the Panasonic:
http://www.rentmydslr.com/dayshots.html

The LX3 really feels better and more valuablem though.
The Fuji offers at least a little flash for an occasional silly photo taken at night.

I’m just waiting for the Fuji to become a little cheaper. The LX3 is more than a hundred pounds more expensive which I regard as ridiculous as it is way too much for a simple compact camera.

11:07 am - Wednesday, April 29, 2009

#35 Maz

I’m looking for something which is an improvement on the very poor lowlight performance of my Panasonic TZ5. I guess this is not it.  I too wish I hadn’t sold my Fuji F31fd!!!

12:08 pm - Thursday, April 30, 2009

#36 Matt

Well, then, you might be waiting for a while. Yes, the f30/31 is unsurpassed for low light performance, but the f200 is the best current model. The LX3 has a faster lens, giving it a one and a half stop advantage. Even so, the f200 is better at ISO1600 than the LX3 at ISO800, in my opinion. It’s noise is much more granular with far less colour blotching and pattern noise. The LX3 is really quite average, despite a slightly larger sensor than an average compact. It’s advantage is the fast lens. This is where fuji must improve. But the f200 gives you the choice of 12mpp in good light (or up to ISO400), where it resolves more detail than the LX3, or better noise at 6mp in low light, allowing for larger prints than the LX3 at 10mp. At low light, many things can affect sharpness and low contrast detail. First, you need as much light as possible - here, the LX3 has the advantage, but loses it at higher ISOs. In all the samples I have seen, both can suffer from camera shake, which naturally affects sharpness. Download as many samples as you can and look at them closely.

The LX3 looks like a real camera, the f200 looks like a compact. Neither has a viewfinder like a real camera should. Both are capable of great photos. The LX3 can use an external flash that syncs at ANY speed. The f200 has a good zoom and the D Range really does work. It is small and you won’t think twice about putting it in your pocket, and it can be used one-handed. The LX3 can’t, but has great manual controls. Neither can match the battery life of the f30. Both can out-resolve the f30.

It will depend entirely on how you want to use it. I have the f200 and love it. If they put a viewfinder and built-in lens cap on the ‘LX4’, I’ll buy it.

12:42 pm - Thursday, April 30, 2009

#37 Luca

Hi Matt and Mike

you want look at this detailed 23 pages report about the F200 (compared also to the LX-3)

http://www.dpreview.com/reviews/fujifilmf200exr/

Now I am more than ever convinced to buy the LX-3…

3:55 am - Monday, May 4, 2009

#38 Matt

Yes, good review, though I wish they would do high ISO tests in low light, rather than 8 stops brighter than I would normally use for 400 and above… I think you can’t go wrong with either camera. In my opinion, they both represent the best of the compacts, no question. Which one you go for will (should) depend on the way you will use it, as they are on par with regards to image quality.

matt

12:22 pm - Monday, May 4, 2009

#39 Gil

Actually, from this review it looks like the F200 has an advantage - noise is more or less the same ,even in HR mode, yet it has 12 megapixels instead of LX3’s 9. And in SN mode it’s even better than LX3 regarding noise.

I also prefer the color of the F200 on that of LX3, which is more pale.

Maybe on daily usage, LX3’s lense would give it some advantage though.

Note that F200 is also pretty significantly ligher and smaller than the LX3, which can barely fit to a pocket, and has this annoying lense cover.

They do mention that F200’s image stabilization isn’t as effective as most other compacts, as I suspected… shame.

2:28 pm - Monday, May 4, 2009

#40 Matt

The IS is still pretty effective, though - and practice makes perfect…

As for the noise, there is actually a difference between the quality of noise in HR and other modes. In HR it is pretty much like the LX3 (which is to say, not very attractive). In SN (or any non-HR 6mp mode) the noise is much more granular. I like it better, but it’s a matter of taste. I have also found it easier to treat in NR software. The LX3 does retain more low contrast detail, but only really in better light, and will lose that advantage when the noise becomes intrusive. It will never lose the advantage of a fast lens, however.

Yes, the size of the f200 was the decider for me, but only because that’s what I needed, so it depends how you will use it. I must say, though, that it only leaves my pocket to take pictures, and I have not regretted getting it for that alone. I just don’t hesitate to take it everywhere with me.

You can change the colours of both cameras easily, and i think both are very good. I will still look out for the ‘LX4’, though - and who knows what Fuji will do with this sensor? :-)

matt

5:19 pm - Monday, May 4, 2009

#41 William McKain

See comment No 35 by Maz.
I thought this camera would be of interest to me because it claims to have high pixels but low noise at low light or where flash was required; but the reviews don’t help much.
Don’t these professional reviewers realise that most people buy a camera to take photos of their friends and family; often indoors at parties.
One well know reviewer had 35 samples but only three had people and only poor head and shoulders at that. Same with another 38 samples. Sample after sample had shots of blue sky, and landcapes and not one full length shot of a person.
The reason is, and I know from trying a few cameras recently (Sony W and T series and Lumix TZ5), these cameras can only get a decent shot of a person if they are up close: if you stand back to get a full length shot it comes out dark because the flash can’t cope.

7:03 pm - Monday, June 1, 2009

#42 Matt

Yes, I think you’re right, and that’s also why it will default to ISO800 with flash. The dpreview site does do flash samples, though, but not full length from a decent distance. Reviews also often don’t do high ISO tests in low light, but in good light, and that really does make a difference when comparing cameras. Again, dpreview does at least provide samples of this kind, but its tests usually don’t do this, which is a pity.

8:08 am - Tuesday, June 2, 2009

#43 William McKain

Alan posted a lot of samples taken at a dog show on lakemercedphoto.smugmug.com
Most of them are nothing special and many are just not sharp at all. Not a good advert for the camera for taking photos inside.This has probably saved me from buying another camera which is not suitable for taking photos in a well lit room. My 5 year old Sony W1 (5 megapix) takes excellent photos: the Sony W150 (8 megapix) was rubbish for the same situation. I then bought the Lumix TZ5 after having eventualy found a few samples of ‘people’ which looked good. When I first took photos of a girl, full length, it was so grainy and dark I put the camera in a drawer and never looked at it for more than a week.OK for up close-up head and shoulders but full length, very disappointing.
Looks like the Fuji is not much better unless someone can point me to some proper samples.

1:50 pm - Tuesday, June 2, 2009

#44 Gil

But from what I saw, there doesn’t seem to be any new compact camera (I mean, not F31 for example) that does a really good job with indoor photos. This Fuji actually seems to be one of the best, comparable (or even better) to Panasonic Lx3 / Canon G10.

I’ll be happy to hear of a compact that does a better job than the F200 with indoors. It’s a shame that the top models of all manufactures produce this mediocre results.

There’s this Sigma (DP2, I think) camera which I heard of, but it looks to odd and expensive…

2:49 pm - Tuesday, June 2, 2009

#45 William McKain

Several people referred to a link comparing samples from the Fuji and the LX3.Very useful for people who take photos of rubbish bins and fire hydrants.
Absolutely no help if you want to take photos of your family and friends, especially indoors.

8:06 pm - Tuesday, June 2, 2009

#46 Matt

Yes, except it does show LOTS of night shots and studio shots with different light levels which is at least good for comparing performance in low/natural light. However, not flash in normal situations.

One thing to point out about the LX3 - you can use an external flash that will sync at ANY shutter speed, which is amazing. I haven’t seen this in any review. Not much good for when you just want to take casual indoor shots, though…:-(

5:17 am - Wednesday, June 3, 2009

#47 William McKain

My post above referred to : http://www.rentmydsir.com/dayshots.htm

I was referring to dpreview when I originally mentioned over 70 samples and only a handful of head and shoulders (and nothing special they were) and not one full lenghth shot of a person in low light or with flash.
I thought the publicity about the Fuji was they has solved the problem of high pixels=high noise at low light.
Perhaps the manufactures should start putting better flash into their compacts.The TZ5 is ok at 1.5/2 M. but hopeless at 2.5/3 M. in a well lit room.If Sony could do it 5 years ago with the W1 why can’t they do it now.

11:23 am - Wednesday, June 3, 2009

#48 Matt

If you look through the site you mention, you will find a lot of nigh and low light studio shots as well.

The Fuji is very good for *medium* pixels (6mp) in low light. At 12mp it is average, though not terrible. The LX3 has the advantage of a very fast lens.

Later models of almost all cameras seem to go backwards in many areas. I don’t understand it either. Agree about the flash situation. It is not much better in SLRs, considering what they could so easily do.

11:52 am - Wednesday, June 3, 2009

#49 William McKain

Yes i did look at the night shots but dismissed them because they have no people in them.
When I saw “Indoors” I thought now we are getting something usefull. But NO! pics of toys taken at close range using a tripod.Did not notice any with Flash.

Really, I despair of getting some practical samples of the kind most people who buy P&S cameras take.
There is another professional reviewer who seems to stick to the same set of samples for every camera he reviews and the nearest he comes to a living person is a black bronze statue.

1:54 pm - Wednesday, June 3, 2009

#50 Matt

Couldn’t agree more. Reviewers often show remarkable ignorance of what users really need, and would like, to know. Instead, they obsess with things that are not even relevant to pro photographers in reality. Most people who do obsess about them take lousy pictures (did I say that?). :-0

The above site is really for those interested in natural/low light shots.

2:15 pm - Wednesday, June 3, 2009

#51 David Richards

I bought this camera for two reasons, firstly it had excellent reviews and secondly because the underwater case available is excellent, goes to a depth of 40m. 

I already have a canon350d but wanted something that I could take underwater whilst diving and also something that you can just slip in your pocket.

Most has been covered already on this blog but the underwater capability is excellent, colours are vivid and pictures clear, a great package!

I bought mine for £204.98 at Amazon, well chuffed.

1:00 pm - Wednesday, June 10, 2009

#52 F200EXR

What a great camera.  Slip it into my pocket and go.  Im not very technical with gadgets which makes this camera perfect.  It was recommended on the basis that the camera does all the balancing etc for you which in inherently bad at, dark images, too bright etc. 

The F200EXR does all this perfectly for me.  Found it at http://www.f200exr.co.uk for £204.98, that was their cheapest price at the time.

1:04 pm - Wednesday, June 10, 2009

#53 Christina

Hi there. Please forgive my ignorance, but I am getting quite confused with all this talk about speed in terms of “faster lenses”. Does this refer to shooting in low-light conditions or are you talking about the time it takes to actually take a photo?
I am looking for a camera which will take nice in- and outdoor photos of children in play/action and which can also capture a decent series of shots where you can afterwards pick-out the best for printing (for when kids go down-hill skiing for example). Would the F200EXR in your opinion will be fast enough to do this?
Thanks

10:24 pm - Sunday, June 14, 2009

#54 Matt

The term ‘fast’ when it refers to lenses is a measure of the lens’s maximum brightness, or how much light it is able to pass to the sensor (or film). Specifically, it refers to its maximum aperture, the widest opening that the diaphragm can achieve, and it is represented as the ratio of the focal length of the lens to its aperture. In other words, the smaller the number, the wider and ‘faster’ the lens can be. So, f2 is faster than f2.8, which is faster than f3.5, etc. In fact, an f2 lens is twice as fast (twice as bright) as an f2.8 lens.

It only affects the speed of the camera indirectly, for example, by making it easier or harder for the camera to focus quickly.

Many modern compact cameras have fast auto focus and can take reasonable pictures of moving subjects. However, none of them are as good at this as more expensive and bigger digital Single Lens Reflex (SLR) cameras. That said, the Fuji f200 EXR has a pretty fast focus system with short times between when you press the shutter and when the picture is taken. There are also faster compact cameras out there. If this is your priority, then you should look at figures for ‘shutter lag’ in reviews.

The speed of the lens has more impact on taking pictures in low light conditions without flash. Here, the f200 and the Panasonic LX3 (with an f2 lens) are very good. The f200 would be the king if it had a ‘faster’ lens, such as f2.

I hope that answers some of your questions.

matt

1:14 pm - Tuesday, June 16, 2009

#55 Christina

@Matt: Thank you SO much for sharing all this info! So kind of you…

1:42 pm - Tuesday, June 16, 2009

#56 Matt

No problem Christina. Not sure I really answered your question, though. I’m afraid I don’t know enough about all the cameras on the market to make a recommendation. But perhaps someone else will be able to be more specific.

matt

4:10 pm - Tuesday, June 16, 2009

#57 rufus

Guys, to be honest, the F200 takes great pics judging by all the comparisons out there and my own experience of using one. I’ve just bought one and I normally hate digital cameras - (first one in 5 years). The lens on it is mainly above average but with pretty horrific distortion at 28mm, just avoid 28mm, but the clarity and lack of noise from the sensor is great from a budget pocket camera and better than any others i have seen or used, combine this with the great dynamic range and you get much smother images. I shoot film mainly so I’m very fussy about image quality: Using ‘fast lens’ on budget designs is never a good idea, even more pin cushioning and distortion. Is it any wonder that fast zooms (2.8s) cost £100s to £1000s of pounds on SLRs systems and the like. Unless the F200 or any of the other cameras mentioned here were fixed focal length, say 28mm (equiv), could a budget camera afford to be ‘fast’. The best lens I own is an om zuiko 50mm 1.2 which is mega fast, but unless you really need that low light performance you are always best choosing a smaller aperture with this lens or any others; Mid range apertures always perform better no matter how expensive the optics are. Its just about tolerance; large apertures will always reveal any minute imperfections in lens design compared to more moderate ones.

12:04 am - Saturday, August 15, 2009

#58 Mohammad

Great, well-written review. Made my decision much easier.  Very helpful user comments too.

4:21 am - Sunday, August 30, 2009

#59 Compact fan

@ #43 William McKain,

I agree this camera is nothing special, just well rounded. If you want absolutely stunning pictures. look at the Sigma DP2 which is also featured here amd thumb through the sample shots.

I assure you will be blown away. The sharpness is way above most other cameras, including most of the ultra expensive DSLRs.

My dream camera = Sigma DP3 or DP 4, when and if they ever come out with it. I’d sell the Canons, Olympus, Fujifilms, Lumix’s and Ricohs for that one….:)

7:02 am - Sunday, September 13, 2009

#60 Compact fan

A little comparison:

http://img.photographyblog.com/reviews/sigma_dp2/sample_images/sigma_dp2_36.jpg

and

http://img.photographyblog.com/reviews/fujifilm_finepix_f200exr/sample_images/fujifilm_finepix_f200exr_29.jpg

I can’t read the words “Pizza Express” (around the center of the picture in the Fujifilm sample….but in the Sigma sample…it is clear.

I think the high end DSLRs cannot do better than the Fuji F200 either, but maybe it’s just my eyes lol.

7:22 am - Sunday, September 13, 2009

#61 Matt

You may be right, but it is not really a comparison. The DP2 has a fixed focal length of 41mm (35mm equivalent) whereas the Fuji has 28 - 140mm zoom (which, of course, may be one advantage of the Fuji). The sample is taken at the wide end on the Fuji and wide open where it will be softest even at the centre. I’m not contradicting your conclusion, merely pointing out that the sample photos are not equivalent. Unfortunately, there are no real comparison shots, which is a pity. If you look at Pic No. 23 (DP2 41mm) and No. 20 (Fuji 70mm), you can see lots more detail in the Fuji when viewed at the same size as the DP2. Fair comparison? Not really, no.

Overall, I think the DP2 has a better sensor than the Fuji, but somewhat less flexibility. Horses for courses…

3:42 am - Monday, September 14, 2009

#62 gary

Very impressive little camera, the low light shots are so, so good even hand held, no matter what ridiculous limits I push this handy camera to it nearly always delivers very respectable results, it’s rarely worth carrying my slr nowadays….

6:43 pm - Wednesday, December 23, 2009

#63 Bart Nouwen

Hi all,

Only one question for a camera in this price range: Fuji F200 or Nikon S640?

Thanks
Bart

5:21 pm - Monday, December 28, 2009

#64 Glen

in reply to comment 15… you can open jpg images in the CS4 raw editor and do pretty much everything you can with a real raw file.    http://www.photographyblog.com/reviews/fujifilm_finepix_f200exr_review/comments/#15

12:51 pm - Saturday, January 2, 2010

#65 Liz

Please help,
I have worked out how to get my camera to shoot the two shots, one with flash, one without, but cannot work out how to combine the images, do I need to do this manually in Photoshop or is there a setting to do this on the camera itself which I haven’t enabled? For such a complicated piece of kit I have to say the manual is useless! Have you any recommendations on where I can get better help than the manual which came with the camera?

thanks very much, any help is much appreciated

Liz

7:00 pm - Sunday, January 17, 2010

#66 cheap r4ds

The Finepix F200-EXR is more or less like any other compact point-and-shoot camera except for one amazing feature—the EXR mode. Using this mode, you can specify for the sensor to change how it generates an image to work optimally for three different conditions—(1) High resolution and detail; (2) Low light/high ISO; (3) High contrast/dynamic range. Once you manually specify the conditions to optimize for, the camera automatically changes the way the sensor responds to best handle the situation. The EXR system really does work. One caveat however: there is an “Auto” EXR setting that is supposed to pick the best between the three different EXR settings for any given picture. Using this feature is not advised because (1) the camera makes tons of clicking noises while framing your picture and (2) the camera tends to go to super-high ISO (1600) way too quickly.

11:00 am - Tuesday, February 2, 2010

#67 suavek

I have bpught this camera after reading so great reviews and some amazing pictures taken with it. But my goal was to get a camera that would perform well in Auto mode, but this is a part where I was very dissapointed. It often takes pictures in much higher ISO then necessary, what results in much higher noise. Also Auto Focus has a lot of problems when in indoor situations. The camera however takes very good shots outside, but that was not good enough, and even though I’ve got a really good deal on the camera I returned it after 30 days. Considering Canon S90 now.

4:32 am - Sunday, February 7, 2010

#68 Manfred

My F200EXR has got a problem with the Monitor
All I can see are stripes , black lines and spots
It happen with no special reason.
I didnt drop it, all I did change the Battery
It still takes photos as good as before this happend
The camera is 14 month old
Anyone any idea ?????

5:44 pm - Saturday, August 14, 2010

#69 Sunshine

After 5000+ plus shots taken using every possible setting there is only 1 word to describe this camera, ‘crap’.  Even when the photos come out usuable, I have to put them through significant post processing to get them good enough to share.

8:41 am - Thursday, August 26, 2010

#70 Matt

Well, all I can say is that after a similar number of shots, I have found the exact opposite, with many being indistinguishable from good shots from an SLR. Of course, depends on your processing and the end result you are after. Horses for courses.

Matt

9:58 am - Thursday, August 26, 2010

#71 Bob

Took 10 pictures with my new F200EXR and the sensor packed up! so I have no pictures from my last holiday. Fuji UK have had my camera for over a month and have still not returned it. should have bought a nikon!!

10:15 pm - Sunday, September 19, 2010

Entry Tags

3 inch LCD, compact, wide-angle, 12 megapixel, 5x zoom

Tracker Pixel for Entry