Fujifilm FinePix F300EXR Review

4.0
September 15, 2010 | Gavin Stoker |

Your Comments

63 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 Josh

Would you be able to post full size panoramic photos - I can’t seem to click on the examples. Thanks.

9:32 am - Wednesday, September 15, 2010

#2 Paul

You say This is a selection of sample images from the Fujifilm FinePix F300EXR camera, which were all taken using the 12 megapixel Fine JPEG setting.

A lot of those pictures where shot at 6MP so I would guess you where in EXR DR mode some of the time.

11:29 am - Wednesday, September 15, 2010

#3 Joe Kantor

I rushed to buy it from HK.  Packed with features but image quality was a bit of a let down.  Rather soft around edges and lacking in clarity.  I tried all settings.  Macro mode was fine.  Think I’ll sell this and get a panasonic TZ10.

1:08 pm - Wednesday, September 15, 2010

#4 Bernd

Good that some pictures are shot in 6 megapixel mode to see the quality too.it have less noise and less texture loss, thats great,
but picture is very blur and far not so sharp as old 5 megapixel Camera.

Now thanks to your test i see the F300exr is not good enough for me.

I hope you test soon a Nikon S8100

A panasonic TZ10 i do not like because Video is not so good.F300exr also have worse Videoquality.

I like video quality sharp as Casio FH100
Maybe Casio release a new model.the Fh100 do lots texture loss.this can avoid in RAW, but only ISO 100-200 can do,
and when use RAW its extreme slow.

6:44 pm - Wednesday, September 15, 2010

#5 luc

What about the revolutionary autofocus system ????

I have read the entire review and still do not know how the by far most innovative feature of this camera works.  I very much would appreciate some insights. Thanks!

6:50 pm - Wednesday, September 15, 2010

#6 Andy

Agree with the previous request.  This is the first ever camera with on-sensor phase-detect-autofocus.  Does this technology work as well as expected?

10:47 pm - Wednesday, September 15, 2010

#7 SPEDO

Why you don’t use camera rotate 90 degree for panorama height 1024 pixels?

11:01 pm - Wednesday, September 15, 2010

#8 Stuart

Why is the Canon Powershot SX210IS not listed as a “main rival” in this review or those of most other similar cameras?  This is especially peculiar here, given that the review states, “The F300EXR competes directly with Canon’s 14x zoom PowerShot SX210IS.”

2:40 am - Thursday, September 16, 2010

#9 dion

I almost buy f300 exr.. so much new n great feature inside the camera.. and the phase detection makes me drool.. but, i was disappoint with the image quality.. n the phse detection was not good enough like I expected.. mono sound for video?? come on fuji, now 2010!

2:59 pm - Thursday, September 16, 2010

#10 Stuart

Talk about responsive!  Good on you for quickly adding the Canon to the “main rivals” list.

1:56 am - Friday, September 17, 2010

#11 Richard

Spot on review! I bought my 300EXR in Singapore 10 days ago, and as the owner of a 200EXR which I loved (still do) the image quality of its “successor”, especially in poor light, is a big disappointment. But wow, the new camera really does look great, it is fast and responsive and that zoom range provides excellent images at all focal lengths, and the (vertically-held) panorama shots are extraordinarily good, and print extremely well, and everybody and his mother wants to be in one. As you can see, I’m getting to like it, ha ha…..

12:53 pm - Friday, September 17, 2010

#12 Gabi

Why cannot Fuji repeat the big kick of the F30? A big sensor would do the job - they were able to produce a wonderful digicam, if they repeated that but packed with up-to-date features (image stabilisation, wide angle, long zoom, face detection and so on), they could be the winner again. Apparently they just don’t want that, who understands?

8:07 pm - Friday, September 17, 2010

#13 Tim

Thanks for the review. I thought initially that it was unfair hardly touching upon the stand-out feature of the EXR range - the EXR DR mode. I am the proud owner of the F200EXR and leave it in 800% (i.e. 3 stops) EXR DR mode permanently. No other compact camera can boast over 10 EV dynamic range. It easily beats my Oympus E-P1 micro four thirds camera on dynamic range too. The detail it captures in 6M pixels approaches the that of 12M pixels so the lower resolution is a great boon. However, the weakness of the EXR range is that Fuji have over-complicated the interface and given way too many modes that do not exploit the strengths of the camera. Hence Fuji deserve the review here. If they had made it impossible for end users not to benefit from the strengths of the camera, they would have much more positive feedback.

However, I would urge an update to the review to document the image quality in EXR DR mode - to me the main raison d’etre of the EXR range.

7:27 am - Sunday, September 19, 2010

#14 Karen

I pre-ordered and was looking forward to having a P&S for when I wasn’t using my 7D, BUT I was very disappointed by the IQ and returned it the next day.

4:00 pm - Sunday, September 19, 2010

#15 wolve

Those pictures look pretty crappy compare to S200EXR 1st generation of EXR camera. What’s going on Fujifilm?

12:58 am - Wednesday, September 22, 2010

#16 alan.j

“All of the sample images in this Review were taken using the 12 megapixel Fine JPEG setting, which gives an average image size of around 4Mb.” - Fail! The EXR range from F200 through F70/72/80 & now 300 all reliably demonstrate better image quality & dynamic range at Medium resolution, DR200/400, as this takes advantage of the EXR sensor’s DR pixel-binning. Yes, Medium is better quality than Large! Most reviews miss this and do the EXRs a disservice. Admittedly the UI & manual fail to communicate this and are very confusing. Simply leave it in P mode, M res, Fine, Auto ISO400 (maybe 800 in lower light), Auto DR200/400% (maybe 800% in extreme contrast conditions), adjust EV to suit and you’ve got a great P&S!

4:10 pm - Wednesday, September 22, 2010

#17 Luc

Alan, is there a demonstration of this phenomenon available somewhere?
I was surprised that even low-ISO samples on Fuji’s own website looked somewhat “painterly”.

Thanks in advance!

6:52 am - Thursday, September 23, 2010

#18 Paul

Alan, see post No.2. If you actually bother to download the images they are NOT all 12MP.

10:25 am - Thursday, September 23, 2010

#19 alan.j

Luc - I have seen it for it myself with my F200 which I was about to bin/sell in frustration before discovering the P mode Medium “trick” and now get fantastic results. See what you think of these (mine, with a little PP sharpening & warming up - click twice on pics for large versions):
http://forums.dpreview.com/forums/read.asp?forum=1012&message=35854387

11:58 am - Thursday, September 23, 2010

#20 alan.j

Paul - I didn’t bother to d/l the images in Large because of the “Medium + DR = best” issue, and missed your comment, thanks!


There are many more discussions confirming the issue for F200 & F70 on FujiTalk Forum on DPReview: http://forums.dpreview.com/forums/forum.asp?forum=1012

And also Kim Letkeman’s blog: http://kimletkeman.blogspot.com/2009/10/fuji-f70exr-how-to-shoot-it-mkii.html

12:00 pm - Thursday, September 23, 2010

#21 Paul

Hi Alan, I missed that series I think I was on my dpr ban when you posted those, all are very nice.
I think you might guess who I am from that last statement.

12:10 pm - Thursday, September 23, 2010

#22 JohnnyL

I was excited about this camera due to the high zoom compared to the F200EXR but seeing that its the same number of pixels on a sensor less than half the size I’ll be skipping this one and looking to pick up an F200EXR. I just don’t understand why Fuji produces a quality large sensor and then does not improve it but instead comes out with demonstrably inferior sensors that feed off of the EXR brand name that the F200EXR established. They did it with the F10 through F30. The last good camera in that series was the F30 with everything after that much worse but still playing on the PR from the previous cameras.

3:09 pm - Tuesday, September 28, 2010

#23 Paul

Less than half the size JohnnyL! The 1/2” sensor is only slightly smaller than the 1/1.6” in the F200.

Paul.

3:17 pm - Tuesday, September 28, 2010

#24 luxornet

I think that image quality is awful for this camera.
I don’t recommend it.

6:54 pm - Tuesday, September 28, 2010

#25 JohnnyL

Paul,

Unless I am reading and completely misinterpreting the spec sheet the sensor in the F300 is 1/2” and the F200EXR is listed at 1/1.6 inch. Seems to be a big difference in size. Also Kim Letkeman had this to say:

Sensor size and resolution: The F300 uses a new generation of 1/2” sensor, which is the same size as the F80 and a fair bit smaller than that of the F200. It has a pixel density of 39mp per square centimeter, the same as the F80 and 56% higher than the density of the F200, despite all three having the same 12mp resolution. This means that we should expect image quality very close to the F80. This is acceptable, but it will be inferior to both the F200 and the F70 in bad light.
http://kimletkeman.blogspot.com/2010/07/fuji-f300exr-vs-f80exr-vs-f200exr-early.html

The same qty of pixels but crammed into a much smaller space equals lousy low light performance.

8:31 pm - Wednesday, September 29, 2010

#26 Paul

JohnnyL, you said:

I was excited about this camera due to the high zoom compared to the F200EXR but seeing that its the same number of pixels on a sensor less than half the size I’ll be skipping this one and looking to pick up an F200EXR.

I replied to you saying:

The 1/2” sensor is only slightly smaller than the 1/1.6” in the F200.

The F200 sensor is 7.78 x 5.83 mm
The F300 sensor is 6.40 x 4.80 mm

Now that’s hardly half the size is it. If they where put on a table in front of you I bet you would struggle to pick which one was the largest/smallest.

Paul.

10:04 pm - Wednesday, September 29, 2010

#27 Mark

I bought this camera about 3 weeks ago.  Right out of the box, I thought the picture quality was poor.  But I thought it was just me.  But since then, I have had time to play around with different settings in various light settings.  My 5 year old Sony takes far superior pictures ( sharper and more detailed ) doing nothing more than using the automatic setting.  Needless to say, I am disappointed in the overall picture quality.  Also, the focus isn’t as precise as it is marketed.  Overall, for the price, I’d pass if I had the option again.  I am considering writing to Fuji just to see if they respond in any way.  Hey, it’s worth the try.

2:47 am - Thursday, September 30, 2010

#28 lars

Tim is right!! Without looking at the EXR dynamic range extending feature, this is not an expert review, but rather unprofessional!! If you do not add this part or comment on it at all you condem youself to the likes of http://www.cnet.com - fast out with review - but no substance!!!

10:20 am - Saturday, October 2, 2010

#29 steevybee

Having used and loved the F200 since it was introduced and also used the F70 because of its 10 x (28 - 280mm)zoom I couldn’t wait to see the F300 for real.

To start with this camera is a ‘looker’ - been styled away from the chunky look of a few years ago into a slimmer curvier design.  Almost couldn’t take my eyes of it for two days.

Performance wise although the image detail is not quite up to the F200 it gives reasonably sharp noise free images straight from the camera and the 15 x zoom from 24mm to 360mm is a dream. I’m even starting to use the 360mm end for wildlife shots with a degree of success - beats lugging a DSLR kit around.  My entire shooting kit for the day (3 cameras, spare batteries & 12 volt charger, filters) fits into a beltbag!  And its completely silent not like any DSLR I know.

Details of the new shape extend to not catching the now slanted mode dial by accident and even the cord attachment loop is now on the corner where its easier to thread - certainly some thought gone into this camera. 
The only irritation is the permanently popped-up flash which you catch with your left hand - and then the camera shuts down - what a pain in the butt!

Its a great pity that Photoblog along with all the other mags that tested the F200 and F70 chose to test as a 12 meg average camera - did you not have the time to explore the exr DR mode which is where the camera really struts its stuff with high dynamic range and low noise due to the pixel combining technique combining 2 small 12 meg pixels into 1 large 6 meg pixel averaging noise at the same time.  My experience has been that in overall image quality the exr cameras can beat many DSLRs.  Look at some of the more pro shots on Flickr and you will get the picture.

Needless to say from day one of use I decided that this was a ‘keeper’.  Although I still use the F200 and even the F31 for macro use the 24mm landscape and the 360mm tel mode of this incredible lens takes some beating! My DSLRs tend to stay at home. 
I have shot quite a few weddings for money (nerve wracking and not to be recommended) and if I had to shoot one now I would use the F200exr for sheer picture quality.  I would have to carry a large DSLR and raise it to my eye now and again to look like a pro but the F200 would win the day.  Can’t wait to try it out.
Unfortunately it seems to be the poor little F70 which is somewhere in the middle that loses out.

9:05 pm - Tuesday, October 12, 2010

#30 Bam

I am torn between buying this camera or the Sony Cybershot DSC-HX5. I like this camera because of its great features like fast AF, 15x optical zoom, 360 panorama.  Though I don’t care much for the GPS feature, Sony however, have far better videos, have panoramic features as well and great burst mode. The F300EXR though, have more versatile manual mode and I think I will have greater fun in experimenting with it as I’m just trying to learn photography.

Features aside, which do you think takes better over-all picture quality? Which is better in low light. Which is better in capturing fast moving object/people(is it HX5 because of its continuous shooting feature)?

5:43 pm - Friday, October 29, 2010

#31 amatuer

I tested out the Sony HX5, Fuji F70, and finally Fuji F300.  I also really liked the Sony features on paper.  We shot various photos - people, outside in dull and bright light, inside shots, closeups of flowers etc…  By far the best results were Fuji F300.  The Sony photos all have a yellow tinge, and one outside shot of a building against sky had a magnenta (purple) tinge.  Very disappointing.  Sony just haven’t got the image qualiy right yet.  Fuji was the best.  We printed the photos to 6x8 inches.  Fuji have also just bought out a 3D camera! almost worth waiting for to see competitors versions? Technology is amazing

10:28 am - Thursday, November 4, 2010

#32 hayati

hi
can u tell me witch one is better
Panasonic Lumix DMC or F300EXR ?
thanks

2:09 am - Monday, November 29, 2010

#33 Dani

I am torn between buying F70EXR and F80EXR…. Please give me piece of advice.
Thanks

7:18 pm - Tuesday, December 7, 2010

#34 Scred

A test picture on the LCD looked wrong - the image, a picture of me, looked squeezed, as though I was taller and thinner. Have not seen the actual picture to know how it is actually rendered.

Had waited for this camera as my next pocketable P&S with a long zoom, which I need.

But a lot of negative reviews here and elsewhere have me wary of this camera.

1:19 am - Friday, December 10, 2010

#35 Chris

I purchased the F80exr for my wife for Christmas.  Compared side by side you might notice the difference with other cameras but by itself I’d say it won’t matter.  If you’re going to nitpick about the quality of your images you’ll never have the best.  As for quality.  Fuji’s are made in Japan where quality is just a step up from anything made in China. 

I suppose I may be justifying my purchase, but I am wondering if maybe I should have purchased the F70exr instead of the f80exr.  The Sony cybershot is much better in dim light, and this f300exr has the flash right where the finger goes - I don’t particularily like that however the dial is in a right spot.  I’ll stick with my f80exr.

12:57 pm - Wednesday, December 22, 2010

#36 ong

bought it when it first launch, highly unstable camera when comes to flash photography. send it back for service and parts not available. my first and last Fuji product for sure. no worth the hassle. brand new huh!!

2:43 am - Thursday, December 23, 2010

#37 Chris

The f80exr is made in China sadly.

I tested it out today.  The noise is not as bad as people say.  I was about to send the camera back because the pictures were terrible.  Turns out I had the ISO settings wrong, perhaps even the auto ISO doesn’t work but setting it to ISO 100 and 200 works nicely.  Although the pictures are a tone darker than the Canon SD1100.  Also turning sound off doesn’t allow you access to flash settings until you turn the sound back on.

2:50 am - Sunday, December 26, 2010

#38 Mark

Posted here comments before about this camera.  Sent it back to Fuji for evaluation because of crappy pictures/image quality.  Returned to me: functioning normally. 
I am going to sell it on Ebay.  What a pathetic camera..nice package, crappy images.  I will take the loss on it and forget about Fuji in the future.  Have had 8 other digital cameras…never had a bad thing to say about image quality.  Good luck to those that defend the F300exr.  I hope you aren’t taking pictures of things you care about.

6:39 pm - Thursday, December 30, 2010

#39 Camilla

Bought the F300 EXR to replace an Olympus Stylus 1020 that was great for me.  I tried and tried this Fuji, even went back to the camera store yest. w/ questions/complaints (ie no flash in silent mode-he changed volume settings somewhere else).  I kept finding myself pulling out the old Olympus.  Finally I decided I would use only the new Fuji on Christmas and later pictures…..BAD IDEA!  I lost/missed out on a lot of what would have been great shots because of this camera-no matter what settings I tried!  It didn’t focus fast enough for some pictures, the flash doesn’t light up things like I think it should, I don’t like the colors, most pictures are too dark for me-I don’t want to have to “fix” every photo I take.  I think I still have a few days to return it, and that’s what I plan to do.  Do your homework before you buy this!

6:01 am - Sunday, January 2, 2011

#40 James

Pro’s
    Nice color reproduction,
    24 mm wide-angle,
    Design,
    Features,
    Excellent outdoor image quality,
    Very good indoor image quality using proper settings,
    excellent image stabilization,
    fast focus on subjects

    Con’s
    Ease Of Use “But not an issue for me read on”
    flash pops up even if not in use,
    location of flash
    Video quality a weakness for most people

When I first purchased this camera I began shooting pictures indoors because I always arrived home from work during the late evening. This is a terrible way to start since like most compacts shooting indoors is not one of its strong points. However I did manage to get a few nice low-light pictures by using a feature called pro low-light. Many of these pictures printed very well even at 8x10 and also the pro low-light ones.

At first I didn’t give this camera a chance because I was too busy reading reviews. I felt that those reviews were discouraging and immediately started looking for another camera. I tested the Sony DSC WX5 and the DSC H55 which were both very good cameras with better image quality in terms of noise. They only offered better indoor pictures without fussing with the settings, but like I mentioned you can achieve nice indoor pictures with the F300.

In this camera’s defense getting pretty decent quality pictures is quite simple when you begin to explore it’s features and what they all mean. FYI I never use auto mode for anything as I have observed that it locks down too many options for me. So a clear understanding of the cameras limitations help you achieve your picture taking goals.

So up to this point I would have to give this camera good review with indoor image quality being a minor negative for me. Indoor picture taking can be corrected well enough for me to find them acceptable. Everything else about this camera is ideal for my needs as I have accepted its limitations.

Video recording quality is somewhat of a letdown so don’t try to use this as your only video camera. The actual video quality isn’t terrible but the camera has a problem focusing on the subject while zooming in and out. Also you can hear the sound of the motor as the camera is focusing. I just wanted to mention that but this is not a problem for me since I rarely shoot video. We do however have a dedicated video camcorder for that.

Ease Of Use would be a con but not for me. The problem that the some people would have is understanding how to use this camera outside of the auto modes. I don’t personally think this camera is a good choice for someone who is impatient and doesn’t want to learn. While the auto modes still produce good results, it’s my experience that better image quality is achieved with more manual control.

So overall I would recommend this camera to the user who wishes to learn more about it. It is not the average point-and-shoot so if all you do is shoot in auto you will be pleased under certain conditions. Using a combination of the cameras other features will please you with even better details resulting in higher picture quality.

10:13 pm - Monday, January 3, 2011

#41 Christina

I bought the F300exr about 3 weeks ago and was so excited to use it because of multiple great reviews I read about it. The features are great, it has a ton of settings and shooting modes which I like, but the image quality is the worst I’ve EVER see from a compact digital camera. Every picture I take has soft edges, nothing is sharp or even in clear focus, and a lot of pictures look like a bad paint-by-number. I am very disappointed with this camera. Who cares if it has a ton of features? If it doesn’t deliver quality images, then what’s the point in having it? There are plenty of other great cameras, I just got fooled by “good reviews” and bought it anyway. I wrote to Fuji and sent sample pictures a week ago and am still waiting for a reply. In the mean time, I’ll just look for another new one; one that DOES take great pictures. Any suggestions?

3:14 pm - Sunday, January 16, 2011

#42 James

Christina,

Before I purchased the F300EXR I was looking at the Samsung WB600 with a 24 mm ultra-wide,15x super-zoom Schneider-KREUZNACH lens and 12 megapixels, also the Canon SX130 IS at 12 megapixels, 28 mm lens and 12X optical zoom. Of these three the Samsung comes closest to the F300 EXR and should also give you better image quality because of the larger sensor.
I believe the Samsung and the Canon are both excellent alternatives to the F300 in terms of image quality. You should really do your reviewing and if possible find someone who owns the camera that you’re looking at. What I would do is bring an SD card with you to the camera store and snapped a few pictures with it. Then go to another store take that same SD card and try a different brand. Return home and compare the results. Truthfully this is the only way you’ll know for sure because I agree a lot of these reviews can be misleading. Your the only who’s knows what you want :-)
As of today I still own the F300EXR which has been a great camera for me. I have some really good pictures that I’ve taken if you’d like me to post you a link. I have seen the smearing and poor quality pictures that this camera can produce, but for the most part I’ve managed to eliminate that for me.

regards,
James

3:26 am - Monday, January 17, 2011

#43 mark

Christina,

Don’t waste your time waiting for Fuji.  I did the same…even sent the camera back to them per their request to check it.  They sent it back under warranty…“operating normally” is what they said.  Took a few pictures to see if they actually did anything.  Nope.  Still the same crappy pictures.  Why someone that knows an attorney hasn’t sued them yet for false advertising is beyond me.  Those on here that claim that they are able to shoot good pictures with this camera puzzles me..either they have an extremely low threshold for picture quality, or perhaps Fuji has changed things in newer models to correct the problems they have, or they are Fuji afficinados and will never write a negative comment about Fuji products.
Either way, sell the camera ( like I am ) and take the bath now before more people learn how crappy this camera is and the value drops to door knob levels.
As for a new camera..I too am looking.  Someone’s advice on here rings true…I am definitiely going to Best Buy and take lots of my own pictures there with my own SD card and then compare them.  Reading reviews is what got me into what you and I are trying to get out of.  Good luck.
Mark

3:33 am - Tuesday, January 18, 2011

#44 James

Mark,

I wrote to Christina and suggested to her that she take an SD card to the shops to try each individual camera. I’ve had it happen that a shop would refuse that I try my own SD card because for some reason I might put it in the wrong way and damage the camera. Haha… So this was a strong indication that they were hiding a problem I might discover with the camera.
I’m not referring to the F300 EXR and I do still own it and I’m relatively happy. What I’m not happy about is how much I paid and the camera isn’t worth the money. If this was $150 it would’ve been reasonable.
That doesn’t mean you can’t get good pictures with it because I can give you a link to my gallery. Every one of those pictures turned out really well and especially on print.
I’m not arguing that this camera always takes good pictures because at times for me it doesn’t. The question being what I purchased this camera again after what I know? Never with a $300 plus price tag but at $100 plus I would probably consider it again.

4:07 am - Tuesday, January 18, 2011

#45 SherlinDukes

When I first purchased this camera I began shooting pictures indoors because I always arrived home from work during the late evening. This is a terrible way to start since like most compacts shooting indoors is not one of its strong points. However I did manage to get a few nice low-light pictures by using a feature called pro low-light. Many of these pictures printed very well even at 8x10 and also the pro low-light ones.

10:25 am - Tuesday, January 18, 2011

#46 Christina

James, I like your idea of taking an SD card with me when looking at cameras. It’s hard to tell on an average screen of 2.5” to see how your picture will really turn out. I’ll use my Fuji for now, but I’ll continue to look for a new one. I’ll look into the ones you suggested as well. I’m not really stuck on one particular brand of camera; I’ve had Pentax, Nikon, Canon & Fuji in the past, and was pretty satisfied with them all; so I have a lot of options. Thankfully I didn’t pay too too much for the F300exr, I got it on amazon.com for $199, as compared to Best Buy’s $299. I never bought a camera before for so much, so I guess the price drew me in as well…I figured higher price, higher quality. Oh well, you live and learn. Thank you James & Mark for your responses.

7:15 pm - Tuesday, January 18, 2011

#47 Michael

I’ve bounced back and forth trying to find a P&S with a long zoom and good all around features, and I’m currently trying the Coolpix s8100. It’s been a long time since I last purchased (my current camera is a Nikon Coolpix 880 so anything will be a big step up, but I was used to great optics with my old Leicas, so I know good image quality).  Interesting that so many people seem to love the features of the 300EXR but not the image quality, and while the Fuji’s panorama option is unbeatable for convenience and it’s zoom is longer, panorama isn’t everything and the zoom differential is not much (max 360mm vs 300mm on normal lense equivalence).

Has anyone out there tested/compared the coolpix s8100 vs. the F300EXR?  I’d be interested in those comments before I finalized my decision.

12:40 am - Thursday, January 20, 2011

#48 Luc

If I would be buying a compact now, I would go with a Casio or a Samsung. Both offer very clever features and better image quality than the F300exr.

8:58 am - Thursday, January 20, 2011

#49 Gustau

Pros: Beautiful colors, amazing range, and excellent image quality in daylight.

Cons: Generally poor performance in indoor/low light, unless you fiddle around with the manual settings. The flash is pretty weak too.

Overall, if you are willing to learn how to use the camera, you can get excellent pictures, including some that you would not get with any other camera, thanks to the unique combination of big zoom, good image staiblisation, fast focus and EXR technology.

BUT, if it is just point and shoot you are after, with a lot of indoor work, it is not the best choice. I have the camera and overall I like it, but do be aware of its limitations.

7:14 pm - Saturday, February 5, 2011

#50 Mikepix

I love Fuji and I’m looking for a new cam to replace my old lovely F30. The F300 looked very promising, almost perfect… on the paper. But image quality is SO bad !!! It seems unreal ! Looks like a phone camera ! Come on Fuji, is it impossible to reach the quality of my old F30 (nearly 5 years old).

I just want a F30 with a wide angle, 5x or + zoom and optical stabilisation. Is that too much 5 years later ???

3:54 pm - Sunday, February 6, 2011

#51 Sabrina

I bought F300 on 4Mar2011 in Taipei. Use it for half a day on 5Mar2011.  Put inside my handbag, so happen drop some water on it, didn’t realise also. After an hour take it out for photography, it jam and couldn’t switch on anymore. Return it to the shop.  What I wonder is how come I used few camera, e.g canon, olympus, panasonic lumix , even it have frost inside the len during winter, never got problem. This is my first fuji camera, very dissapointed.

1:58 pm - Wednesday, March 30, 2011

#52 mel

I have been reading through the comments and it appears that a lot of people either have not read the manual or are being paid to say bad things about the F300exr.

I have an Olympus e-pl1 and use it most of the time with a Panasonic 20mm f1.7 prime lens on it.  In order to take advantage of shots requiring a wide angle or telephoto I bought this
camera.  Keep in mind that it has a relatively small sensor and only an f3.5 lens and obviously
is not the equal of a DSLR. I have yet to get a blurry photo and even in low light I find the results quite good. The shots are sharp and even when viewed at 100% I find little noise and the results are quite acceptable to me.

I can keep this camera in any pocket and it has never let me down. I have published several photo books and would advise people to not pay much attention to the “fanboys” who hawk other brands of cameras. A lot of them have never used them.

12:58 am - Saturday, April 30, 2011

#53 Micky S.

I bought an F80EXR to take on a family holiday to Dubai, (together with my new LX5). My plan being to take Fuji to beach/desert where if it was ruined with sand, it would not be a disaster.

I read the forum (mentioned above) and used the settings recommended. Took some amazing photos and enjoyed shooting the F80EXR so much that I sold the LX5 on ebay as I was hardly using it.

I was gutted when there was a problem with the memory card slot on the F80 and sent it back to Fuji under warranty. They were excellent btw, didn’t have any replacements in stock, so I got a full refund.

So I got an F300 EXR, (to use with my Ricoh GRD) and Olympus PEN EPL-1.

I sold my much loved Ricoh on ebay as I am using the F300EXR so much, it’s pocketable, sturdy, the 15X Optical Zoom is amazing, on such a small body. Using EXR mode is great, it could do with auto EV bracketing, for HDR shots but that is my only complaint.

Today I shot the same scenes with the EPL-1 and F300EXR, I expected the EPL-1 with its much larger sensor to blow the 300EXR out of the water, (BTW the LCD on the 300 is fantastic, far better to the 230K on the Oly).

I get home, fire up Aperture and compare the shots and find that, the F300EXR produces shots that to my admittedly untutored eye are the match and in a few cases superior to the Oly. In one shot both at equivalent zoom. (The revamped Victoria Circus, in Southend-on-Sea), in good light, the F300EXR resolved the detail on distant posters on a bus stop better than the Oly. (I shot the Oly in JPEG Fine to ensure fairness, in iAuto mode)

My advice is to get an F300, set it as Alan J. suggests:
“Simply leave it in P mode, M res, Fine, Auto ISO400 (maybe 800 in lower light), Auto DR200/400% (maybe 800% in extreme contrast conditions), adjust EV to suit and you’ve got a great P&S!”

Pros:
Small, light, pocketable.
15x Optical zoom in a small package
Great IQ (when you set it up right).
Good build quality
Great ergonomics, (you soon get used to the flash).
Fast focusing
It’s fun to shoot. -Some of my favourite shots have been on the F300EXR
Wide lens


Cons
Video quality is a bit disappointing.
No RAW mode.
Slow to start up.

Overall, buy the F300EXR especially at its current price, it’s a steal (Fujifilm.co.uk) is a good source of bargain prices, especially on the refurbished cameras. For those people who are serious about “pixel peeping” then its not the camera for you, for those of us who want a camera that makes photography fun, with great results that make friends and families go “oooh” and “aaaaah”, or who need a pocketable zoom, then go for it.


You can take my F300EXR when you prise it from my cold dead hands ;-)

12:33 am - Friday, May 13, 2011

#54 annguyen

i’ve a F300exr too,
i’m from Viet Nam
disappointed about images & videos quality
video has poor quality and image too

now, i try to take a lot of pics to learn how to make more beautiful pics with him….

if not, i’ll save money to buy nikon D3100 :D
here are some example of my F300exr:

https://picasaweb.google.com/nguyenxuanan84/DamHoiBeTrang22052011#

https://picasaweb.google.com/nguyenxuanan84/QueHuongHiden#

10:58 am - Monday, May 30, 2011

#55 Ingemar

I really would wanted more information about the AF. We can note that Ricoh’s CX5 also uses phase-detect, although not on-sensor, so a comparison between these would be interesting.

12:43 pm - Monday, September 12, 2011

#56 shai

how can you tell when a picture was taking, only if you have the negatives, and not the picture.

5:58 pm - Tuesday, September 27, 2011

#57 shai

the camera is a disposable on and i need to know the date in the negative, how would i be able to find that out,

6:04 pm - Tuesday, September 27, 2011

#58 annguyen

another gallary of my f300exr outdoor:
https://picasaweb.google.com/115136301431578197581/VeQueEm

10:31 am - Tuesday, November 29, 2011

#59 Rich

The Cameras zoom is brilliant and the picture quality is better than my old Cyber shot however I am buying a new camera today! I’m fed up of the F300XR when taking pictures of buildings, vehicles etc you always get a distorted image which does not look right if you take the same picture further away and zoom in the picture is not distorted but then you loose the quality end have a picture with more background.

Other annoyances:
Stupid flash pops up everytime and where you usually hold it
Very slow start-up
Battery not brilliant

9:49 am - Monday, July 23, 2012

#60 Christina

I ended up buying the Nikon Coolpix S9100…and LOVE it! It’s everything I was hoping for with the Fuji F300EXR, except it actually delivered the quality photos I was looking for. I’ve had this camera for over a year now and I wouldn’t trade it for anything

2:38 am - Sunday, August 12, 2012

#61 Carrie

I have the FinePix300EXR and hate, hate, hate it. Image quality is so bad, and you never know what you will get when shooting the same shot over and over again. Very frustrating. I may look into that Nikon Coolpix S9100.

6:57 pm - Wednesday, September 5, 2012

#62 Bob Strong

The new Nikon Coolpix camera has certainly grabbed my attention. It is incredible how much innovations come up with each new camera. I feel like my current Nikon is extremely outdated, even though it is merely two years old.  http://www.tulipgiftsandmore.com

1:00 am - Friday, March 14, 2014

#63 asdf

This camera is shit. Not even possible to get decent pictures in perfect conditions. I miss my F30 which was lost in the sand…

7:49 am - Tuesday, December 2, 2014

Entry Tags

hd video, hd, 3 inch LCD, 720p, 12 megapixel, fujifilm, finepix, 15x, 15x zoom, Fujifilm FinePix F300EXR, Fujifilm FinePix F300EXR Review, f300 exr, f300exr

Tracker Pixel for Entry