Fujifilm FinePix F660EXR Review

4.0
June 25, 2012 | Matt Grayson |

Your Comments

15 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 donnie biggs

the image quality is just disgusting
they call it a camera while even a cellphone can take MUCH better shots

this one’s been taken by Nokia 808 @40Mp
http://st.gsmarena.com/vv/reviewsimg/nokia-808-pureview/review/camera/gsmarena_101.jpg
?nd this one @3Mp
http://st.gsmarena.com/vv/reviewsimg/nokia-808-pureview/review/camera/gsmarena_031.jpg

way better than 16Mp “Camera” which takes shots like thisone
http://img.photographyblog.com/reviews/fujifilm_finepix_f660exr/sample_images/fujifilm_finepix_f660exr_15.jpg

9:24 am - Tuesday, June 26, 2012

#2 Jonathan

don’t understand how this gets great review for IQ but the 770EXR which shares same sensor gets ripped for its poor IQ??????? PB whats up with that?

11:28 am - Tuesday, June 26, 2012

#3 JS

Great shots from Nokia 808!

2:05 pm - Tuesday, June 26, 2012

#4 idan

hello Matt

you got yourself a nice UFO/orb pic here at the top of the left cloud
http://img.photographyblog.com/reviews/fujifilm_finepix_f660exr/sample_images/fujifilm_finepix_f660exr_35.jpg

and this wingless whatever here
http://img.photographyblog.com/reviews/fujifilm_finepix_f660exr/sample_images/fujifilm_finepix_f660exr_34.jpg

Have you noticed them during the pictures taking?

4:18 pm - Wednesday, June 27, 2012

#5 Steve

I’m a long time reader of this website and I feel compelled to make my first comment.  I’ve noticed that many of the reviews over the last year or so and particularly the scores just don’t make any sense.  Are you afraid of upsetting the manufactures?  Afraid of NOT getting “hands on” invitations and afraid of them not supplying review samples if you give them an honest score?

To give this camera a 4 for IQ is just staggering.  Not quite as staggering as the blatant favouritism shown in reviews to Canon & Nikon cameras.  I’m afraid I can’t take this website seriously any more as I just don’t trust the reviews as you are deceiving your readers with blatant inaccurate write-ups and scores.

10:12 pm - Wednesday, June 27, 2012

#6 Matt Grayson

Hi guys,
thought I’d pop on and explain how I go through the rating process. First though, I didn’t review the 770 which is why it got two different conclusions.
I look at a camera on a number of levels when rating it. When it comes to image quality, it’s not a simple case of looking at the picture and considering if it looks nice, I look at colour reproduction, noise reduction consequences, exposure, contrast, sharpness and white-balance accuracy. Most important I look at the cost of the camera. I consider how the person buying this camera will view the pictures. Will they be bothered about pixel peeping? Probably not. Do they know what IQ is? Unlikely. Some will, most won’t.
Apart from the flatness of the colour, I thought the pictures looked ok. Certainly no worse than other cameras at the same price point, better than ones cheaper and not as good as more expensive models.
You have to realise this isn’t a DSLR and I won’t test it under the same conditions. It’s going to have noise because it’s a small sensor but that’s because people still want more pixels. The only reason the pixel war ended was because there was no more space on the sensor. ;O)
I take all this into consideration when rating a camera. Other comments elsewhere on the site have accused me of being paid by the manufacturers and that’s pretty hurtful. No-one has said it here which is good but I want to make it clear. I have never and will never take any kind of payment for a favourable review.

I hope that helps. :O)

Ps, Idan, I think that’s a plane. The pictures were taken moments apart and it’s not present on subsequent pictures.

5:16 pm - Thursday, June 28, 2012

#7 Matt Grayson

Hi guys,
thought I’d pop on and explain how I go through the rating process. First though, I didn’t review the 770 which is why it got two different conclusions.
I look at a camera on a number of levels when rating it. When it comes to image quality, it’s not a simple case of looking at the picture and considering if it looks nice, I look at colour reproduction, noise reduction consequences, exposure, contrast, sharpness and white-balance accuracy. Most important I look at the cost of the camera. I consider how the person buying this camera will view the pictures. Will they be bothered about pixel peeping? Probably not. Do they know what IQ is? Unlikely. Some will, most won’t.
Apart from the flatness of the colour, I thought the pictures looked ok. Certainly no worse than other cameras at the same price point, better than ones cheaper and not as good as more expensive models.
You have to realise this isn’t a DSLR and I won’t test it under the same conditions. It’s going to have noise because it’s a small sensor but that’s because people still want more pixels. The only reason the pixel war ended was because there was no more space on the sensor. ;O)
I take all this into consideration when rating a camera.

I hope that helps. :O)

Ps, Idan, I think that’s a plane. The pictures were taken moments apart and it’s not present on subsequent pictures.

5:39 pm - Thursday, June 28, 2012

#8 Johnny Holmgren

hi

very good review,many thanks

cheers
johnny

12:41 am - Thursday, January 10, 2013

#9 luis92

al pelotudo que compara esta camara con el telefono nokia , olvida que esta es una camara compacta y no un telefono que custa 5 veces mas

11:30 pm - Tuesday, May 7, 2013

#10 luis92

now in Inglish :): is stupid compare a phone that costs 5 times more to this compact camera

11:33 pm - Tuesday, May 7, 2013

#11 piton

You can compare 2 cameras shooting the same view and angle.  No sense comparing a building vs nature.

6:57 am - Sunday, May 26, 2013

#12 ROHIT GULATI

Hi I’m choosing between canon ixus 510 Hs Sony wx60 and this Fuji 660
My priorities are
Photographing my 9 month old son
So fast shutter speed, low light performance, also outdoors shots should look natural, currently I’m using Nikon s2300 and feel its a pathetic camer a features looks etc are NOT IMPORTANT TO ME

7:18 am - Friday, November 8, 2013

#13 mt

I wanna choose between the fuji and the canon sx260.
as the reviews are a lot different, I’m so confused !
which one would you recommend and why ? :)
thanks for your help :)

10:30 am - Wednesday, December 11, 2013

#14 Peter Gill

I’ve previously used Nikon compact cameras but chose the EXR660 because of the good reviews and manual control options. Over 12 months it has been an excellent travel camera with consistently accurate focus and overall image quality, quick start-up and shutter and long battery life. The bonus of manual control is occasionally useful but in fact the EXR modes work well in the vast majority of situations.

12:27 pm - Wednesday, February 5, 2014

#15 saeed

Hi
tanks for evreything

9:31 pm - Monday, May 12, 2014

Entry Tags

hd video, hd, 3 inch LCD, compact, 1080p, 16 megapixel, camera, travel-zoom, fujifilm, travel, finepix, 8fps, 15x, 15x zoom, digital camera, f660exr, Fujifilm FinePix F660EXR, Fujifilm FinePix F660EXR Review, f660 exr

Tracker Pixel for Entry