Fujifilm FinePix F770EXR Review

4.0
May 8, 2012 | Mark Goldstein |

Your Comments

16 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 David

But of course 16MP on a 1/2” sensor will give you noise! You have completely overlooked the 8MP DR and SN modes which is exactly the point of this camera and has been since the F500EXR. Very disappointing review.

11:51 am - Tuesday, May 8, 2012

#2 David

But of course 16MP on a 1/2” sensor will give you noise! You have completely ignored the 8MP DR and SN modes that are exactly the strengths of this camera and have been since the F500EXR. Very disappointing review.

12:08 pm - Tuesday, May 8, 2012

#3 Jeff

It is hard to understand how a camera with only one “5” and a “3” for image quality can receive such a high recommendation, i.e. 4 stars. What good are all those features if the final product is only average?

2:56 pm - Tuesday, May 8, 2012

#4 photographer

In the test is say that when save RAW, the Camera look up after the 2. picture.

it is important to use a fast card
I use a SDHC 8 gb 45mb/sec sandisk extreme pro card. here the lookup time is 1 sec in HR 16 mp mode. but on a normal cheap card with 6 mb/sec lookup time is 6 sec. 

The Camera produce normaly 26 megabyte RAW, but in SN 8 mp Mode with ISO 200 and more it produce a 13 mb RAW. this can save even more faster.

3:47 pm - Tuesday, May 8, 2012

#5 DPRiot

Bad Review . Mark really did’nt do their homework fully or use the camera to its full stength before reaching their conclusion.
Not up the usual PB standard

5:20 pm - Tuesday, May 8, 2012

#6 zebarnabe

I’m just looking at the sample images… even with EXR modes being used I really doubt it will fare better than the panny TZ30 - specially in US at the current price.

I say this, because watching the sample images reduced at 1MP using a bilinear filter (that usually blurs things a bit) still show some noise and sharpening artifacts, and I’m talking at ISO 400 ... When comes to noise, EXR can’t do much (except, perhaps for shadow noise).

There is some odd blur/lack of sharpness disparity on RAW crops, is this a RAW processor fault on the PC (EXR photosites layout can be tricky to deal with…)? or the lens are not that sharp and the entire image is sharpened quite a lot in JPEG? (I’m assuming the cropped area is in focus)

As usual EXR modes are briefly analyzed, also I think D-Range Priority crops are vertically compressed, the drink can changes shape. The crop only shows the behavior in highlights, how is the noise looking in the door frame?

7:54 pm - Tuesday, May 8, 2012

#7 Paul Haverson

I owned one of these cameras and although I found the image quality to be pretty good, the battery life was awful. I was lucky to get 30 shots before it needed recharging. A right royal pain

4:35 pm - Wednesday, May 9, 2012

#8 Slapo

It looks like the first 16 raw shots are missing from the server - I’m getting error 404 when I try downloading them.

7:32 am - Saturday, May 12, 2012

#9 benedict

only photographyblog has no review on olympus omd dont know why.

10:09 am - Sunday, May 13, 2012

#10 Matt

@Paul Haverson:

In a forum I read of someone else having this battery life issue.

But my blue F770EXR from UK (there is no blue model in Germany) reached 520 photos before showing a red battery symbol. About 50 of these photos were taken as high speed series.

Matt

11:20 am - Wednesday, May 30, 2012

#11 Howard

Bought on may 1st 2012 for holiday. Camera small & light. Flimsy flash.Constantly overexposed images. Very good GPS.Developed a lens fault within 2 weeks. Camera replaced, new camera would intermittantly recognise the Sandisk Extreme III cards, 4g, 8g, & 16g. Zoom button poor on this replacement camera, button would stick, the camera would fail 3 out of 5 times to go into movie mode.Battery life was good on the f77exr. Replaced the camera for a Lumix TZ30,before the end of May, what a nice camera this Lumix is.

10:12 am - Sunday, June 3, 2012

#12 Howard

Bought this camera 1st May 2012. Camera would constantly overexpose by 2/3 of a stop.Very flimsy flash. Yes.. if you leave all the bells & whistles “ON”, ie “GPS”, then the battery life will be less. GPS was great. 2 weeks into owning the camera, it developed a lens fault. Camera replaced, new camera would not always recognise my Sandisk SDHC Extreme cards, 4g, 8g & 16g. The zoom control was rough & would jam, the camera would not always go into Movie mode, I would have to power down then power up.Before the end of May, the shop replaced the camera for a Panasonic Lumix TZ30, what a camera, I should have bought this TZ30 first. Will not look at a Fuji again.

10:29 am - Sunday, June 3, 2012

#13 BAY_CITY_ROLLER

What do you mean by “noise?”

3:52 pm - Thursday, December 13, 2012

#14 zebarnabe

What do you mean by “noise?”

Noise is a term used regarding the visual granular artifacts that appears in the image.

They are the result of the randomness in the photons hitting the sensor photo sites with added electric interferences on the readout of them.

Signal-to-noise ratio is a measure of noise regarding how much noise affects the actual read signal (read: number of light photons), this relates to shadow noise: as there is more shadow, less light and thus less signal will be received, hence noise value might take over the signal value.

Noise can have several proprieties and categories, luma and chroma noise regard the YUV, HSL or HSV color space, basically distinguishing B&W noise from color grains in the image.

There is also the grain size and pattern, one very common in digital cameras is a fixed pattern noise, where some strikes or persistent patern in noise is visible in shots (specially in low light video shooting).

To end this encyclopedic information, sometimes artifacts associated to noise appear from Noise Reduction mechanisms and not from the raw sensor reading values themselves.

Hope it helps in understanding it, and apologies for such an extended commentary over noise.

5:03 pm - Thursday, December 13, 2012

#15 brunetot

you have not spoken of gps integrated

11:02 am - Monday, June 17, 2013

#16 Solveig

I am definitely not a pro,but I do love taking pictures and wish to know if it’s an ideal buy. Anyone can comment back and tell me if it’s worth buying it? Also,can I correct the red eye before uploading them to my pc? Thanks.

3:21 pm - Monday, March 3, 2014

Entry Tags

hd video, hd, 3 inch LCD, compact, 1080p, 16 megapixel, camera, fujifilm, travel-zoom, travel, GPS, finepix, 8fps, 20x zoom, 20x, digital camera, Fujifilm FinePix F770EXR, f770 exr, f770exr, Fujifilm FinePix F770EXR Review

Tracker Pixel for Entry