Fujifilm FinePix F80EXR Review

4.5
May 4, 2010 | Mark Goldstein |

Your Comments

28 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 Frank Stanton

Good review. I totally agree with the assesment about the drop in picture quality from the less pixel F70EXR. It was quite noticable. I think I would prefer the 70 over the 80 because of this. Thanks.

4:33 pm - Tuesday, May 4, 2010

#2 used car

I just bought one of these F80EXR cameras as well, and I wish I saw this review sooner. The quality level is worse than an old 4MP camera. No detail at all in the photos, there is what appears to be dithering rather than crisp detail. I also was lucky enough to be able to return this camera before it was too late. If you want a million features this is for you. But if you want some actual quality to your photographs, stay away!

5:53 am - Wednesday, May 5, 2010

#3 MeMyself

4 Stars for Image Quality??? If i look at the example images i would give 2 or maybe 3 stars at most! my mobile-phone have more details!

I had a F31fd and since then the image quality went worse.

8:15 am - Thursday, May 6, 2010

#4 Istvan

The image quality is really horrendous.
I’ve never seen so bad pictures in my life.
Look at the low light picture!
I guess the next EXR will be even more megapixel and even worse.

10:10 pm - Thursday, May 6, 2010

#5 TOBIN ROOS

I have an F80 EXR and think it takes great photo’s.  If you don’t read the manual, and don’t experiment with the settings, then don’t expect great results.  Take the time to learn the camera, and you will get brilliant results like I did. 
The EXR modes produce some of the most amazing photos I have ever seen.  Perhaps you should upgrade your monitor so that you can appreciate the incredible dynamic range that the camera can produce.

12:02 am - Friday, May 7, 2010

#6 Robin

Well, I’m happy there are some other people asking why this sh*t gets 4 out of 5 stars in IQ. I wonder one more time, if the testers looked closely at what they’ve taken ... or not even closely, but at least a little bit!? Man, this cam should be lucky with 2 out of 5 ... But last time I wrote this under a Casio here many others disagreed. So, maybe it’s really a matter of different taste and opinion one more time. But that’s hard to believe - to me!

3:02 pm - Friday, May 7, 2010

#7 paul wong

Just using the auto function , indoor, pictures came out all noisy. Then try focusing at the window to see if it can adjust because of the light, NO.
As is, the camera is useless as P and S. If I want to adjust this or not,I would pick a DSLR.

1:07 am - Monday, May 10, 2010

#8 Rick

Hi Mr Mark Goldstein,

After you had reviewed both the Ricoh CX3 and the Fujifilm FinePix F80EXR, which is the better camera in your personal opinion? Which would you recommend to buy, given both cameras pros and cons. 

I had read all your reviews and had shortlisted these 2 excellent cameras but am unsure which to get. Hope to hear from you soon.

Thank you very much!!!

6:28 pm - Wednesday, May 12, 2010

#9 fiqqer

FOr those commenting on image quality.  The Image quality is way better than any compact camera that has ever been on the market - beating even budget end SLRs.  You probably have experienced out of the box limitations in poor light conditions.  You can easily greatly improve the picture quality with even a basic knowledge of photography and getting to know the range of features on offer with this camera.  I too was shocked at the review phtogrpahs, however having bought the F80exr I get much better photographs than the review samples - I would say amazing compared to my previous, not too shabby camera Ricoh R6, which although produced good photos had shockingly poor build quality.

12:52 pm - Wednesday, May 19, 2010

#10 Rick

Hi fiqqer, hmm can i say that the F80 automatic scene function isn’t that good/accurate unless we manually adjust to the correct scene ourselves?

how does it fare when F80 is being compared to the Ricoh CX3 in terms of:

1) automatic scene function (although i have a dslr myself, I am looking for a compact where i can just point and shoot with accurate results)

2) Noise level for night shots

3) accurate colour reproduction for day shots

I really appreciate anyone’s comment on the above 3 points as I am in a dilemma choosing between F80 & CX3 and I still haven’t make my purchase yet but is going to buy soon for my holiday trip in the first week of June. Thank you everybody!!!

10:19 am - Sunday, May 23, 2010

#11 Fiqqer

I can’t compare the camera to the Ricoh CX3 as I am not familiar with that camera, also that camera is in a different price range.

The F80 has a scene mode (SP) which is optimised for different types of events ie fireworks, parties, sporting events, nighttime, nighttime with tripod etc.  These work fine if you want to use it as a point and shoot camera.  The camera will automatically select the appropriate ISO and Dynamic range.

This is in addition to the EXR mode which is used for standard point and shoot mode in normal daylight/dim light conditions. This mode intelligently analyses the conditions and what image is being taken before automatically choosing the appropriate settings.  The Scene mode has fixed less “intelligent” settings.  They are the same as scene modes in other cameras.

2. The indoor photos surprised friends with the detail in the darker areas. I used EXR mode rather than the Scene modes as I can adjust the ISO settings manually in EXR mode - the camera selected 800 and 1600 iso levels for these photos.  The 800 appeared darker but had more detail.  Noise reduction is noticable in dim light photos, in EXR mode, when viewing the photos on a large screen or zooming in.  The images are much better than I have been used to though.

The Pro Low Light mode produces great low light photos as it takes up to 4 photos at lower resolution then combines the images to produce 1 clear image.

3.  Colour reproduction is faithful.  For daylight shots the images are very clear and colour reproduction, to my eye is perfecet.  A plant taken in bright light will show the transluscent leaves.  A bright red london bus is a bright red london bus.  For most of the photos I have not noticed fringing - however at the weekend I took some photos with bright sunlights and dark shadows and noticed some pinkish fringing.  My other cameras would not have coped with such a phhotograph.

3:00 pm - Tuesday, May 25, 2010

#12 salvador

I was disappointed to discover that the 80EXR has only the same size sensor as the 70EXR but with an increase from to 10 to 12 MP, and the inevitable drop in image quality.

Fuji would have done better to have kept to the same spec. as the 70EXR for this model but with a better video mode and LCD screen. A drop back to 6MP would have resulted in even better image quality but unfortunately such a model would have been unlikely to sell except to the more discerning purchaser.

I have the 70EXR but it cannot compete on image quality with a decent budget SLR. Like any other compact camera, it more convenient to carry around than a DSLR but if you want decent low light photos with minimum noise you really need the larger sensors of the DSLRs.

1:04 am - Wednesday, May 26, 2010

#13 Fiqqer

Your comments are spot of Salvador.  The limitations are due to the compact nature of the camera and these are the same problems with all compact cameras (with small sensors).  The Fuji does have a few tricks though to even up the score with budget DSLRs.

EXR and Pro Low Light mode allow the camera to drop its resolution to 6mp.  The camera then takes 2 x 6mp photos at different exposures and combines them into one to produce one photo with a clearer photo with less noise.  The Pro low light mode combines 4 photos into one.

The images with the 12mp F80 are different to the 10mp F70 - some will say less sharp, but I dont think they are worse, they do have a bit more detail but the picture comes out more “vague”.  I hope that a future firmware upgrade may correct some of the anomolies of the F80 compared to the F70 - well that and the extra functions are what I based my purchase on the F80 rather than the F70.

5:18 pm - Wednesday, May 26, 2010

#14 Fiqqer

I have now had a chance to view photos produced with the Ricoh CX3.

Having scrutinised the photos and compared them with those of the Fuji F80, my summary is this: 

DAYLIGHT
In normal daylight the Ricoh photos seem to have more detail than the Fuji and are a bit sharper.  Colours are very good on both, with the Fuji showing deeper colours.

With very bright light the Ricoh shows the picture as you see it - with strong glare off reflective surfaces.  The Fuji dampens the glare so that much more of the image can be seen.  The Fuji shows more detail in very bright scenes.

Both control purple fringing very well.  Surprisingly so for the Fuji F80 as the F70 doesn’t do too well in this area.

MACRO
Macro mode is significantly better on the Ricoh, with better colours and more detail.

DIM LIGHTING
The Ricoh shows better images where it lighting is not too bad.  As the lighting becomes dimmer the difference becomes increasingly better with the Fuji. The Fuji shows much more details and much less noise.

FLASH
With the Ricoh it is notecable whenever flash is used. The colours become faded and thre is a lot of light reflection.  With the Fuji the light is more dispersed (less strong) and the scenes still seem to have natural lighting.

CONCLUSION
In normal dalight the Ricoh scenes are sharper and show more detail

In Dim lighting the Fuji scenes show more detail and have less noise.

I already purchased the Fuji, but I have tried to be as evenhanded as I can.  For an alround camera I would easily choose the Fuji.

7:10 pm - Monday, June 7, 2010

#15 K V P

Hello Guys,

I am looking to buy a camera, I have a budget of £100-£200. So which is better - Lumix Tz7 or Tz10 or casio ex-fh100 or exfh15 or fuji F80EXR?

I am looking to have good pictures rather than video. So which is a better choice? I am tempted to have casio, but don’t know about the image quality. Amazon is sellin Tz7 for £180 pounds.

Please help me to choose a digital camera.

Thanks

6:29 pm - Friday, July 16, 2010

#16 Dee

I bought a Panasonic TX10 and the noise levels are really bad on this camera. The TZ10 takes really good video’s but the Photos are not that great. It’s very slow to take a landscape photo and needs the shutter open for quite some time.

Just ordered the Fuji F80EXR and hope it’s an improvement ...

I’ve also used an Fuji F40 FD for the last 2 years and you can get great results but it takes a lot of practise.

9:12 am - Tuesday, July 20, 2010

#17 Colin Bridger

Has anyone use this camera with the underwater housing yet? What were the results like.
I have the Fuji F100fd and have been getting good results but now need to renew the housing, had thought about upgrading to this camera…!

6:38 pm - Wednesday, July 28, 2010

#18 Irfan

Hi all,

Same as Colin, I’m looking to get a general use big zoom compact camera, but definitely need it to go with an underwater housing. Not too many cameras have these available, but this one does (also Canon, etc.). Does anyone have expereince with this camera underwater?

Thanks…..

4:37 pm - Thursday, September 9, 2010

#19 Chris

I have been happy with this camera and after owning 4 different point and shoots this is definitely an upgrade. It takes great pics but does not like low light.I had 2 weeks to use it before return policy expired and I played around with it and took A LOT of pics trying to figure out what it is capable of and not capable of and which settings worked best in different situations. I have taken some amazing pics with this camera and use it every day, have taken thousands of pics with it. I have taken some amazing pics with the zoom and have had professional photographers compliment my photos. Can it do everything? no, but what it does do it does very well.

2:14 pm - Monday, September 20, 2010

#20 Chris

I bought this camera for my wife for Christmas and I must say it’s not as bad as people say it is.  I’ve played around with it all day today and here’s my quick synopsis. 

At first I was about to return the thing as the pictures were terrible (lots of noise in low light, as many people complain about) and I was about to pack up the camera and head it back to the store, but then I realized you must force the camera to work in ISO setting of 100 or 200 and you’ll get nice crisp clean pictures, phew!  At least I don’t have to return it now. 

I find one of the downsides is the pictures are a much darker tone than the canon SD1100 at a similar ISO setting.  But if you’re looking for a great budget compact camera not too many settings but at least some manual control go and get yourself a canon SD1300 when the price falls below $100cdn.  Now back to this fuji f80exr.  One quirk I found was that when you silence the sound you can’t access the flash settings (probably a bug) you must first turn the sound back on and then you can reliably access the flash settings. 

As for the darker tone to the pictures, just set a higher ISO value, but then you run into the noise.  And as you know canons pictures usually seem to wash out a bit.  But just for fun I compared the resolution picture of my old Canon A80 vs. Fujifilm f80 and surprisingly the A80 was sharper, not as much blur on the edges but that probably has to do with the wide angle lens fuji has in it’s camera.  But also I’m going to have to point out that the quality of products are declining over the years, sadly to say.  But the 10x zoom is great!  I must add that to get the same field of view as most normal cameras you must zoom the fuji f80exr to 1.8x to get roughly the same field of view as a standard view on the canon SD1100. 

All in all, I am keeping my f80exr camera and although most people say it’s terrible in low light, it’s not really that bad.  Play with the settings a little.  I nitpick quite a bit, but I hate the hastle of taking things back.  After all switching or returning cameras with another product has always backfired on me in the past, always for the worse.

2:35 am - Sunday, December 26, 2010

#21 Chris

After playing around a little more I’m finding sometimes my finger gets in the way of the flash and am thinking it would be better on the other side of the camera. 

The other thing I notice is that in dark settings such as a living room at night time with lights, at a 3m distance from subject/subjects the picture is not as bright or the flash just doesn’t reach that far resulting in an underlit scene.  As compared to my A80 which completely lights up the scene, of course on comparing the flash sizes in both cameras the fujifilms f80exr is much smaller as also is the sensor.

4:45 pm - Tuesday, December 28, 2010

#22 Chris

update:  It has come to my attention that users have complained the battery runs down quickly.  I believe this can be cured by changing the stabalization of the image from 1(continuous which is the default) to 2(shooting only).  This way the camera isn’t constantly draining power from the battery as you’re waving the camera around.

3:52 pm - Wednesday, December 29, 2010

#23 bren

why do I get a clicking sound on video playback on my F80 EXR

3:58 pm - Thursday, December 30, 2010

#24 JR

I´m so disapointed with the F80 EXR and poor image quality. I have an old 6.3MP that have so much more image definition. It has a larger sensor, a 1/1.8’‘. Most compact cameras today have very small sensors, like 1/2.5’’ that produce noisy fotos. Compact cameras today are a wast off money, they produce bad quality fotos compared with the entry level SLRs with much larger sensors.

1:56 am - Tuesday, September 20, 2011

#25 Chris

This Fuji F80EXR is the most disappointing camera we’ve owned. Purchase was based on it’s good reviews, and was made to replace my wife’s - wait for it - Kodak M753. The highly portable Kodak had been used roughly on MANY long hikes (500mi+) and bike tours. From the 1000’s of images taken, it very rarely produced something poor and then usually in light conditions that challenged its spec. The Fuji was to have been a big step up. It is not. It over- or under-exposes at random. Landscapes oriented towards the sun are usually awful.  Focus is often far from sharp and images often dull as in general, a blue/green colour bias is over emphasised. The Fuji is more capable in low light or indoors where suddenly it produces good, sharp, correctly exposed images.
Being a keen photographer, my wife had became very depressed with her work using the Fuji. So, under a purist’s protest from me, she replaced the Fuji with a Kodak M583 (Schneider-Kreuznach lens). Each picture taken is now duplicated using the Fuji and a copy severely cropped to study focus and sharpness. To keep a level playing field, comparative photos are always taken utilising AUTO mode only. Not once yet has the Fuji matched this Kodak which gives superior sharpness, always correct exposure and well-balanced bright colours. On completion of the testing - for presentation at our photography club - the Fuji will probably be binned.

4:12 pm - Tuesday, November 29, 2011

#26 Nick Trop

This camera replaces my aging Fuji F20, same sensor as the coveted F30/31.  I’m a life-long “semi-pro” (different profession, but have made a few bucks on the side over the years).  I have been shooting over 30 years and have owned countless cameras - film and digital, including medium format.  I teach Photoshop and have a Master-level cert in it, and just gave away my darkroom equipment. I currently own 9 cameras, film and digital and countless lenses. Truthfully? This is a fair review.  I didn’t own the F70, but I wanted a compact super zoom, and in the P&S category, I am brand-loyal to Fuji.  Their cameras are reasonably priced and they’re the only manufacturer to address real issues with small sensor digitals - dynamic range, noise (well others address this too), and lack of “bokeh” (through their “pro focus” mode).  Pro Focus is only partially successful but I’d rather have it than not. Picked up a display model F80 for a song.  I might have preferred one of the other EXR models, but I get pocket PnS cameras as cheap as possible.  No matter how many bells and whistles and other features (fast lenses lately) the great equalizer is the sensor size - and they’re all tiny.  That said?  The pic quality out of these things is decent - not bad at all.  These are largely disposable cameras with a life and/or obsolescence capacity of a few years, get a small one for grab shots and to carry around in your pocket. And here, zoom is what you’re wanting. Might as well leverage that small sensor for something useful - its ginormous crop factor, where you can get a ridiculous zoom out of a tine retractable lens that enables a pocketable form factor.  Given the near identical parity in IQ out of these things - very good, but not DSLR-level “great”... Why spend the money?  Get’em after they’ve been out a while cheap, cheap (like, $50 cheap in my case…)  Back to the F80.  Image quality? Very good.  Low light image quality?  Very good overall, great for a point and shoot.  Beats the F20 in low light, not due to noise (and I shoot black and white or convert with digicams anyway to control noise… don’t even notice it, and I love a nice black and white anyway… especially people shots.)  Don’t go by the posted photos.  Color, dynamic range, and your skills at composition.  Review shots where they zoom in 1000% are frankly ridiculous.  Your eye-brain does a remarkable job of putting this all together.  Look at that famous photo of the sailor kissing his girl at the end of WWII, and you’ll see a bunch of dots… F80?  Great little pocketable point and shoot.  Fuji leads this category both for the value proposition of their cameras and their useful/unique EXR sensors.  This puts them ahead of the pack.

6:52 pm - Saturday, December 17, 2011

#27 Thomas watson

hi friends this is Thomas watson and i want to share my feeling.Fujifilm Finepix F80EXR 12MP Digital Camera has advance features.
I purchase Fujifilm Finepix F80EXR 12MP Digital Camera from Electronic Bazaar NZ and that’s a nice deal.

7:50 am - Saturday, March 24, 2012

#28 Jack

I bought this camera and a previous Fuji Camera and just want to warn people that the zoom control on Fuji Cameras does not last - Both cameras of mine have trouble with zooming switch now.

The switch Fuji uses to zoom in and out of photos does not last. Never had this problem with any other make of camera.

If you want to buy a Fuji Camera with a similar Zoom Control then I’d have 2nd thoughts.

Also the firmware built into the camera isn’t great it struggles to assess the correct lighting. Fuji cameras seem to have to have some of the best hardware for sensors combined with awful software.

I now have a Samsung Camera which costs less, is smaller, has a built in Touch Screen, GPS, WiFi and BlueTooth and takes better photos in almost all conditions.

3:36 pm - Monday, March 26, 2012

Entry Tags

hd video, hd, 3 inch LCD, 720p, wide-angle, 12 megapixel, fujifilm, 10x zoom, f80 exr, f80exr, Fujifilm FinePix F80EXR Review, f85exr, f80

Tracker Pixel for Entry