Fujifilm FinePix F900EXR Review

4.0
January 7, 2014 | Matt Grayson |

Your Comments

9 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 Nikola

After examining the sample pictures I find 3.5 for image quality a nonsense. Compared to sample pictures you did with other travel zooms that got 4.5 . . . still nonsense. I am not FUJI user,I use TZ7 but you people have issues . . .

7:35 pm - Tuesday, January 7, 2014

#2 Sammy

This camera’s IQ is 2.0 in my book. Look at full resolution, pointilist watercolor paintings.

10:20 am - Wednesday, January 8, 2014

#3 Cesare

I own this camera since 6 months. Frankly is not the better nor the worse in the market.During my Summer holy I had this camera and my Sony XV9 . Many picture same place, same light , same time. Printed up to 15x20 cm any visible difference between the 2 cameras. So for me the Fuji 900 EXR image quality is worthy of 4.0

11:32 am - Wednesday, January 8, 2014

#4 Tina Edwards

I’ve often wondered why Fuji don’t simply focus all this EXR technology into a superzoom with a single, sensible resolution of 12MP. This would make more sense to me than the dual resolution 16MP/8MP currently available in this series of cameras.

I own the F550EXR and never use the 16MP settings. The 8MP settings produce more detailed images and, in my opinion, are good for small to medium size prints e.g up to 8 x 10”.

Interestingly very few reviewers pay much attention to the 8MP output of any of these F series cameras which is a pity. Perhaps they think their readers aren’t interested.

3:32 pm - Wednesday, January 8, 2014

#5 Danny Pawnes

As for the image quality, you are joking with the “recommended” rating, right? I thought first it has some waterpaint effect mode… such bad image quality and such extreme loss of detail is unforgivable in 2014, even cheapest compacts and many smartphones can do better with their tiny sensors out of the box.

2:20 am - Friday, January 10, 2014

#6 kathy

I’ve received the F900EXR by Fuji as a gift.  I’m not very sophisticated with camera technology.  It takes good pictures except when I try to do any action photo.  I’ve tried the sports mode and the grandkids are always still blurry.  Other than going to photography classes, does anyone have a suggestion?

5:38 pm - Monday, January 13, 2014

#7 Tan68

Kathy, I don’t know where and what time of day you took your pictures, of course, but always try to take pictures when it is as light/bright as possible.  Simple advice, really…  Sports Modes just favor faster shutter speeds.  Shutter speeds can be only so fast, though, depending on ambient light.  Brighter ambient light, faster shutter.  Should help with blur.  Sunny days versus cloudy days make for harsh shadows, so it is a trade-off…  If it is sunny, keep the light behind you; don’t shoot into the sun.  Brighter light makes focus easier/faster.  Things coming toward you are more difficult for the camera to focus on.  Things moving across in front of you are easier.

4:03 pm - Sunday, March 9, 2014

#8 Tan68

I mentioned the bit about focusing because blur can be from either subject movement (so tray for faster shutter via more light) or improper focusing (so try to make the camera’s live easier).  Blur can also come from camera shake.  Sometimes a photographer might jerk the camera when taking a picture.  Get excited, get in a hurry, fail to hold the camera steady.  Now, for good results with kids running, shutter speeds should be fast enough to minimize any camera shake…  or the kids will be blurry anyway!  Camera shake is mostly an issue when there is less light and the camera is zoomed in…  Longer focal lengths / more zoom make camera shake more likely to be an issue.  So, be relaxed.  One other point is that zooming in has the effect to make shutter speeds slower (just does for technical reasons) So, to try for faster shutters, don’t use any more zoom than you feel you need.

4:16 pm - Sunday, March 9, 2014

#9 JC31

The review should include some sample RAW files, as usually available in your reviews of RAW capable cameras, an odd omission.

7:12 pm - Thursday, March 27, 2014

Entry Tags

hd video, hd, 3 inch LCD, compact, 1080p, 16 megapixel, camera, wi-fi, wireless, fujifilm, travel-zoom, travel, GPS, finepix, smartphone, 8fps, 20x zoom, 20x, digital camera, Fujifilm FinePix F900EXR Review, f900 exr, f900exr, Fujifilm FinePix F900EXR

Tracker Pixel for Entry