Fujifilm FinePix HS10 Review

4.5
April 14, 2010 | Mark Goldstein |

Your Comments

466 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 zebarnabe

This camera looks very promising ... looking at available reviews and feature wise this camera is quite amazing… the only drawbacks are the underspec’d screen and the extra cromatic aberrations…

1080p video (with hdmi output), 10fps burst, 1000fps video (at 240fps is quite usable for web or SD view) 30x zoom, ISO quite usable at 400, full manual modes, AE bracketing ... more the extra goodies of multi-exposure tricks ... is there anything the camera doesn’t have?

Oh… a low price (~500$) and a light weight (~700g).... that’s it… lol….

For the ones who want a all-around camera, i think this is the one…

4:50 pm - Wednesday, April 14, 2010

#2 Akhilesh Singh

Thanks for posting this review so early.

After reading the initial feedbacks it seemed the its slow speed will be a deal breaker. But after reading through this one it feels that it will be usable in JPEG mode.

This camera will compliment well with my full HD LCD tv.

5:35 pm - Wednesday, April 14, 2010

#3 Ben

Awesome camera must have for my birthday.
Are there any bad features I should know about?

9:22 pm - Wednesday, April 14, 2010

#4 JaX

You might as well have posted a Motion Remover example picture as well….

9:23 pm - Wednesday, April 14, 2010

#5 Albert Johnson

Thanks for such a complete early review. I appreciate your listing of rivals for this camera with the opportunity to compare.

Al

10:05 pm - Wednesday, April 14, 2010

#6 zebarnabe

@Ben: Bad features compared to what? ...

Taking price in consideration, one could buy an entry level DSLR with some kit lens for the same price… it would have better low light quality (ISO noise), dynamic range, etc, etc.

But it wouldn’t be has small as this camera, or have the reach (720mm is insane, but not every day shot is taken at this focal distance) that this camera has… However DSLRs can have several lens, and then we go back to the price, weight and convinience…

Considering it as a bridge compact (that is something between a DSLR and a small compact) i would say that comparing it to a ordinary compact, image quality is quite good, but cromatic aberration while not out of scale might be noticeable higher, then you have the price issue (this camera is a lot more expensive that you basic - or even good - compact) and the weight issue… is a lot more heavier that a compact…

In comparison with other bridge cameras, it has quite some nice features and performance… it kinda ‘borrows’ the high speed video from casio’s exilim FH25, the sweep panorama from sony, the full HD from Canon SX1 ... etc… etc… It’s like a jack of all trades… but it does the job quite well…

To sumarise… it may be considered expensive, heavy and not for low light (unless you like tripods) ... but i would say that i gives quite a nice photo/video camera for the family.

Ah! yes… the LCD and the EVF while not bad are not the best available out there.

I think if one want a good camera without going into lens hassle on DSLR world, or a camera to replace a DSLR for some moments where taking a bag with lens is not possible, this camera is pretty much the one to get…

Disclamer: I don’t own this camera, nor a DSLR… not even a compact, but i kinda love cameras, so i read a lot about them… hope this info helps (and i’m seriously thinking in buying this camera - i’ll just wait 2-3 months to see if price goes down a bit and save money for it)

12:39 am - Thursday, April 15, 2010

#7 alex

i’ve been waiting for this review of hs10 for the past few weeks. I’ve decided to go for superzoom instead of entry level dslr.  The choice are canon sx20is, panasonics fz35, sony hx1 and not yet reviewed fuji hs10. Thanks very much for this review… definitely fujifilm hs 10 !

1:00 am - Thursday, April 15, 2010

#8 pritam

you have not show a comparison with its closest rival the P100

6:57 am - Thursday, April 15, 2010

#9 CSPoole

Good Review! Out in the real world?http://forums.dpreview.com/forums/read.asp?forum=1012&message=35064998

8:14 am - Thursday, April 15, 2010

#10 X

This camera has a great feature set, image quality looks OK, I was just unable to find any info about how fast is the autofocus - could anyone with experience comment please?

9:03 am - Thursday, April 15, 2010

#11 memory stick

Since when does 1080p @30fps equal 1080i ? The top of the line Canon DSLRs shoot 1080p @30fps or inferior and they are 1080p,I thought the AF speed was pretty quick for a point and shoot camera. I didn’t undergo some AF hunting during my short instance with the camera. It’s looking to be a pretty solidified camera

9:49 am - Thursday, April 15, 2010

#12 Bogdan NICOLAE

I think this is a fair review and i like it. Good job, as always!

11:07 am - Thursday, April 15, 2010

#13 ian lang

Has any of you actually looked at the sample photos full-size on a decent screen? Most of them are awful. How does that rate 4.5 for image quality? It makes me wonder what sort of equipment the reviewers are using to look at them.

12:24 pm - Thursday, April 15, 2010

#14 sisqo

Even i’ve got the same opinion, the sample images are not upto the mark, lot of noise. Im really not convinced even though I was badly waiting for its launch. Will the noise & speed be enhanced with possible future firmware updates? Can these flaws be rectified with firmware upgrades?

1:23 pm - Thursday, April 15, 2010

#15 Jose garcia

Fortunately i have one so soon, unfortunately im dissatisfied with the image quality, i was so waiting for its release, it sounded perfect as a back up camera but with the lack of image quality and ugly RAW output im almost considering returning it for a G11, its a safe bet. I made a solid comparison with my wifes Sony HX1, and the sony blew it out of the water, in Jpeg mode of course, and the panarama motion sweep id far superior on the sony, all this with the consideration that my HS10 is a good sample.

1:53 pm - Thursday, April 15, 2010

#16 fuji image shooter

This review really just touches the surface and does not really go into depth or provide any hard data.  For current user’s thoughts on this camera, you should check the ‘Fujifilm Talk Forum’ at dpreview, especially before buying this camera.  A handful have some good to say, most have bad to say and are returning their new cameras.

2:45 pm - Thursday, April 15, 2010

#17 Cary

Just a general question, not specific to this camera, has Photographyblog ever encountered a camera whose images it didn’t consider “a little soft straight out of the camera at the default sharpen setting and require some further sharpening in an application like Adobe Photoshop”? This phrase seems to reappear in virtually every camera review on your site. The examples you show of the benefits of further sharpening seem to introduce sharpening artifacts.

Just a thought.

2:45 pm - Thursday, April 15, 2010

#18 Cornelius

Less good than fuji s200exr

4:56 pm - Thursday, April 15, 2010

#19 Iwantagoodcamera

I agree with fuji image shooter: this is not a real review. It doesn’t go into any detail. For instance, I have noticed in some video samples at youtube that the zooming is not smooth at all. If it’s true, zooming while shooting video would not be possible. It may not be important for everyone but, if you don’t consider this little things you might as well be disapointed buying it.
I have Canon SX20 and use it for wildlife. Of course, this zoom would be incredible but, as for now, I am not sold at all. A cameralabs review would to it.
By the way, was it really necessary to shoot that so big girl licking the ice-cream? Really? Was not anything else to shoot? Please…

5:17 pm - Thursday, April 15, 2010

#20 zebarnabe

@Cornelius,
In image quality department i couldn’t agree more…

@Iwantagoodcamera,
Zooming is mechanic… is as smooth as your fingers are… but i did read some complains about ergonomics when compared with FZ38…

Not only zooming can be troublesome on video… but when you zoom there is a bit of focus hunt, although i was pleased to see it doesn’t take a awful amount of time to get focus (but it could be a lot better)

Maybe the biggest drawback to most of people is low light performance and chromatic aberration… i saw a full HD video, and i didn’t like to see all the color fringe in the trees’ branches…

s200exr handles this issues quite better ... but the video features are lacking :/

I think a bridge camera with 24-480mm (20x zoom with good wide end) from f/1.8-4.0, with a s200exr sized backlighted sensor (good at ISO800 in noise department) and video features similar to hs10 would be the perfect camera :3 ... dynamic range and focus time would need to be good as well

Let’s wait for negative refraction materials (i guess not in my lifetime) and get pancakes with 500mm ...

8:23 pm - Thursday, April 15, 2010

#21 ontheweb

Hmmm.  Some scathing comments and unhappy owners over at dpreview forums.

From what I read there about usability issues(nothing like this review) it would give me serious pause before buying this camera.

8:57 pm - Thursday, April 15, 2010

#22 Cookies

I think you are looking for negative comments there then. Most people that have it like it. People that don’t are more likely to post negative comments about it. And people that work for other company’s might post bad things just to shoot it down. I have seen many beautiful pictures made with hs10 and i think it’s a great all in one..

9:37 am - Friday, April 16, 2010

#23 Hepfm

I ‘ve seen many HS10 pictures now on dpreview, on picasa, on flickr. Some are bad, but many more are rather great.

The informations of this review were a perfect addition, finally I have ordered.

1:07 pm - Friday, April 16, 2010

#24 Chris

Just got mine a couple of days ago. I can see a beautiful relationship happening here. So far so good. Everyone with your negative vibes should try it before slamming it. It’s a bridge camera not a high priced SLR. Please keep that in mind.

1:12 pm - Friday, April 16, 2010

#25 Randy

I got mine a few days ago and so far I like it. It has its quirks, but for a superzoom P&S you can’t beat it. The image quality looks really good to me…just don’t pixel peep. I briefly owned the Sony HX1 and the Pano FZ28..sent them both back. The build quality and IQ are far better than the others. Focus times are fast and the screen looks surprisingly good for only 230k pixels. I looked at the review for the P100 and the IQ is not what is should be…lots of noise at low ISOs. Glad I didn’t order that one.

I don’t understand people who don’t like it becacause it’s not as good as a DSLR…. I agree it’s no DSLR… but it sure beats lugging all those lenses and extra weight around. Besides, this thing is light enough that I can carry my monopod which converts to a simple tripod and set the camera up on it with no problem. My DSLR is too heavy for the little monpod/tripod to hold.

If you want to see some sample pics, check out my flickr site: http://www.flickr.com/photos/habfam

3:13 pm - Friday, April 16, 2010

#26 Rudy Willis

Just received my HS-10 last week and made some comparison photos to a Canon Digital Rebel with 200 f/2.8 L lens w/2x tele-extender at a nearby park.  I hand held the HS10, using in-camera IS, and used a monopod as well 1/500 or higher shutter speeds with the Canon to avoid shake.

The Canon lens is very sharp, but the HS10 results were quite satisfactory.  I bought it as a backup and walk-around and am very satisfied with the HS10.

4:34 pm - Friday, April 16, 2010

#27 Ummm...

Kudos to Fujifilm for building what other companies can’t/won’t. Everyone, go down the check list of the features you have been wishing for (realistically) in a P&S. Has the HS10 not nailed most of those points with authority? Sure, it may not be “perfect enough” but I’d say, after reading this review, that you have the most compelling cameras on the market here. It even uses AA batteries, for crying-out-loud, someone at Fujifilm was listening to the photographers.
Images at high iso are good, serviceable and generally better than 90% of the available SZ P&S on the market. RAW speeds are faster on some other cameras. How many non-DSLR cameras in the 30x zoom range have RAW capability?
My point being, stop the whining for a minute and look at what we have here. I think we are looking at a very good camera that shows what a company can do when they are not protecting their top line from their bottom.
I enjoyed the review. I think I have found my next new camera.

4:55 pm - Friday, April 16, 2010

#28 Ron

Image Quality: 2,5. Poor camera!!!

8:05 am - Saturday, April 17, 2010

#29 Cookies

Ron: Look here: http://www.pbase.com/middlehill/hs10_night_shots ... I don’t think alot of people will say that is bad picture quality.

3:03 pm - Saturday, April 17, 2010

#30 Jan Duine

Fuji Image Shooter is suggesting that quite a lot of owners/comments on the Fuji DPREVIEW are quite disappointed and are sending back their cameras: “A handfull have some good to say, most have bad to say and are returning their cameras”
I have been reading the reviews/comments on DPREVIEW quite intensively the last couple of weeks and what F.I.S. is stating is far beyond the truth. A very small number is (partly) dissatisfied. But sofar the overall majority is quite to ver]y positive on the quality of the pictures and the camera features. And that’s what I’m reading on other forums as well…....

4:23 pm - Saturday, April 17, 2010

#31 Ron

Cookies:Look EXIF:Software-Adobe Photoshop CS2!!!

5:01 pm - Saturday, April 17, 2010

#32 Ron

Shame Mr. Jacky Lee!

5:09 pm - Saturday, April 17, 2010

#33 P. G.

I have been watching DP Review for several weeks and the statement that quite a few are returning their cameras is just wrong. A few are it is true just as those that had Canon 5D mkII and 7D cameras have done when they first came out. Nothing new there.
These are mainly people have not taken the time to learn the camera and use proper exposue and settings. These are also people who expect dSLR quality in images from a camera that has a termendous zoom range and sells for $500. 
Look around at some of the excellent images posted at DPR by people who know how to use this camera and you will see the potential there. Yes, there are a few minor glitches that firmware will fix, but don’t blame the camera for user error.
Yes, I have a Fuji HS10. It will keep me from lugging a bag of lenses when just going fun shooting and for those times I just don’t want to get one of my dSLR cams out. I have gotten quite good image quality from the camera using RAW. One place I feel Fuji messed up is with the RAW converter they supply, they could have chosen something better I feel. 
P.G.

5:53 pm - Saturday, April 17, 2010

#34 Rudy Willis

I couldn’t agree with P.G. more.  I sold a Canon SX20, with which I was extremely satisfied, to help pay for the HS10.  I worried that I had made a mistake, until the HS10 arrived and I had a chance to try it.  After another day of shooting, my DSLR (and all my lenses)will remain at home, unless I’m doing some special photography and the SX20 is a fading..fading..memory.

For what it purports to be the HS10 exceeds my expectations.  Though, I sure would like a better manual and a Photoshop RAW plugin for it!

6:17 pm - Saturday, April 17, 2010

#35 Akhilesh Singh

Most are comparing with DSLR, which is not the case atleast for me. I’ll compare it with other P&S camera with good zoom and HD Movie.

The compromise has come on the following three parameters:

1. Image Quality - Lower to Same as other Cameras
2. Speed of shooting - This has the slowest speed
3. Good feature set and Full HD movie - A plus for this camera.

I am coming from Canon S2IS, which broke recently with its lens stuck (the dreaded E18 error). With manual zoom I guess that should never happen with this camera.

IQ of this camera looks soft and with lot of noise, if you see the original full image posted on web.

Cookie/Mr. Jacky Le posted image above is scaled down or shot at lower res. I would like to see the full original image.

Still waiting for more reviews before deciding. The camera has started to appear in Indian store at around Rs. 27.5k to 30k price range.

9:03 pm - Saturday, April 17, 2010

#36 Mike

I have posted comments on the Z981 review section and looked at the HS10 as a replacement. But I see here that there is a lag time issue with this one too, at least with RAW files. WHat I’d like to know is if I’m shooting JPEG only, what lag time can I expect. For me, having a low shot-to-shot spped is important. Anyone?

9:13 pm - Saturday, April 17, 2010

#37 Randy

From what I’ve noticed, it takes about 1-2 seconds for the camera to write the jpeg image and be ready for the next shot. There is no true continuous mode that I can tell, where you press and hold the exposure button and keep on shooting. You can set it to continuous..but is will only take 7 shots max, either 3,5,10 frames/second. I don’t understand why they didn’t include a true continuous mode. Is that normal for Fuji…. I don’t know?

11:41 pm - Saturday, April 17, 2010

#38 Max

Noise and loss of fine detail.

8:06 am - Sunday, April 18, 2010

#39 Will

Is this better than the Panasonic FZ-35?

8:29 am - Sunday, April 18, 2010

#40 hari

if you are a wildlife/sports photographer you need these zoom range as the subject is very far away.for normal shooting a 4xto 8x optical zoom range is enough . even for travel a 10x is enough.
higher the zoom range, autofocus will be slow as the sensor is small.everytime you may not need a
30x zoom and with poor image quality i won’t choose it.nobody’s going to comment on which zoom range you take, only the image quality ,as any person you show your photograph will only look
for overall image quality rather than zoom range.
there’s no point taking a photo miles away with poor image quality , rather you can take a photo fairly near you with excellent quality on a dslr .
with this 30x zoom lens you need not go to any
place , everything will be near you, but not usable.you can’t get excellent image quality   no matter what you edit in photoshop,
as it doesn’t change the original image but it only makes adjustments in the original image and you will return disappointed.in a camera two things are important , lens quality and imaging
sensor.assume that lens on fuji hs 10 is very
good. the sensor is small allowing less photosites
for less quality and more noise.morover the image
processor on any compact or superzoom is slow and
doesn’t leave detail in the image.you can confirm
this by taking a print say upto normal size on a insert type album and anything big than that is pathetic.i would advise you to go for a cheap dslr
with 4x or 5x zoom and will be worth it.

9:58 am - Sunday, April 18, 2010

#41 Iwantagoodcamera

zebarnabe: don’t matter if zooming is manual when the mechanism is not properly designed, which is what I suspect; not even the smoothest fingers will get decent results. Take a look at this:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6HpAhBNFwMw

So, zooming while filming with HS10 doesn’t seem good.

11:42 am - Sunday, April 18, 2010

#42 Iwantagoodcamera

And why did they put a tiny 0,2” EVF when they could have built a 0,44” like SX20? Why only 200.000 dots when it could be easyly doubled? Fuji is not protecting DSLR line like Canon or Nikon, right?
I would pay extra 100 bucks for a product that had the best quality possible, and not this kind of shortcomings, but nooooo, they will keep upgrading little by little, year after year, so we will continue to buy products that are only a little better than previous.

11:49 am - Sunday, April 18, 2010

#43 RobG

Everything involves a trade-off right? The HS10 does pretty well technically but you pay for this compared with rival compacts which are not so well featured or well-behaved.

However, one thing the review didn’t point out is that this baby is not actually very compact.

My Pentax K100 SLR with the default 18-50mm lens is basically the same dimensions as the HS10 (130.6 x 90.7 x 126.0mm). It also weighs 820g without batteries compared with 636g for the HS10. Of course, it doesn’t feature the big zoom and the video.

On the other hand, the Olympus SP800UZ compact’s dimensions at 107.3 x 73.4 x 84.7mm and weighing in at 416g (including battery and memory card) are more what I’d call compact. Pricing is not bad either but it sacrifices a view finder - and perhaps more quality than one would like.

2:11 pm - Sunday, April 18, 2010

#44 zebarnabe

Hmmm .... i don’t know what to choose… FZ38 seems a more wise choice right now .... but i think it’s best to wait for more reviews… HS10 has some nice extra features, but FZ38 is well known and a good bet… time will tell ... 1080p, 30x zoom, a 10MP sensor with good iso 400, manual zoom and focus ring or 720p, 18x zoom, a 12MP sensor with better iso 400, motorized zoom .... if i’m not mistaken both focus fast, but HS10 drive modes are a slower…

I’ve seen FullHD videos of HS10 with smooth zooming (but there is always a little focus hunt when zooming)...  guess is not as easy (or pratical) as a motorized zoom ...

4:06 pm - Sunday, April 18, 2010

#45 Eddie Bray

I have a large Canon DSLR outfit inc a 1DsMk3, 6 ‘L’ lenses and a couple of Tilt/Shift lenses.

I have just bought a HS10. Is it as good as the Canon? of course not, but as a camera for general use and holidays, it’s more useful, lighter, smaller and the image quality isn’t half bad for a small sensored camera, it is the best I have seen to date. The zoom length is amazing and covers more than many would ever need.

If you want to pixel peep, don’t buy a small sensored camera, either buy a FF DSLR or better st
ill buy a MF format DSLR.

If you want to have fun taking pictures without too much equipment but having your options covered, the HS10 will do very nicely!

4:34 pm - Sunday, April 18, 2010

#46 Rick Woo

It would have been really nice had the focal range been posted with the sample images. I am sure some were taken at full zoom, and it would be handy to know which ones.

6:12 pm - Sunday, April 18, 2010

#47 Coolsiggy

A very honest and helpful review, thanks.
From what I’ve seen and read so far the HS10 looks to be solid value and is certainly an alternative to a dslr with kit lenses… especally if you want a travel camera, are happy with prints less then A4 and do not belong to a DSLR camera club.
P.S. The later production runs may be both cheaper and better.

6:38 am - Monday, April 19, 2010

#48 fuji image shooter

I had previously posted here recommending that people check out the Fujifilm Forum in DPReview…  that would have been a great idea up until last night.  Apparently, negative threads about the HS10 are disappearing on that forum now.  Now I am not only disappointed with Fuji because of this poor quality camera, but I am disappointed with DPReview for deleting negative threads about a poor camera.  I think I am done with Fuji and DPReview!

1:43 pm - Tuesday, April 20, 2010

#49 Mike

I was surprised there were only three comments on that board for the HS10.

1:49 pm - Tuesday, April 20, 2010

#50 João Bosco

Bad quality in this US$500 24-720 bridge camera? See this and be honest please:

http://www.pbase.com/middlehill/fujifilm_finepix_hs10_review

where do you get this quality and zoom with US$500?

4:03 pm - Tuesday, April 20, 2010

#51 Emil

Questios !

When shooting JPEG max rez, (and RAW, JPEG/RAW), how good are:
1. The shutter lag time (the time between you pressing the shutter release button and the camera actually taking the shot);
2. The shot-to-shot times ?
Is is possible to zoom when shooting video, while maintaining focus ?

1:52 am - Wednesday, April 21, 2010

#52 Bob

Although I have no experience with the Fujifilm HS10 I have used both the Canon SX10 IS and their SX20IS. Both cameras in my opinion do not render accurate color reproduction. The SX10 is especially noisy in low light conditions and actually, not really worth a darn outdoors at dusk or in similar low light conditions. Both cameras are a bit “slow” and because the zoom feature is electronically controlled rather than manually as in the HS10, your subject, especially if it’s wildlife, may have moved on to greener pastures long before you are able to zoom in on it and focus.

Additionally, the two Canon models have a serious “plastic” feeling and they look like they are made of plastic. They also have an annoying rattle when the lens is fully retracted. It sounds like something is loose inside the cameras—probably the telescoping barrel slapping around inside the camera body as the noise disappears once the lens is extended.

You will also find, if you have the opportunity to try either Canon model that their photos are just as grainy, when cropped and enlarged, as those of the HS10.  And to make matters worse—much worse in my opinion—the SX20 which supercedes the SX10 does not come with a paper version of owner’s/instruction manual!You have to use a CD which is a royal pain—you can’t take it with you when you need it.

That being said, if you’re not too “physical” with the Canon’s they do what they’re intended to do fairly well. But if you buy one take care: they scratch easily, are somewhat fragile, and are not weather resistant.

3:56 am - Wednesday, April 21, 2010

#53 Akhilesh Singh

Problem is that if you want the almost equivalent in DSLR for this then it will cost double.

Option is:
Nikon D5000 + Tamron 18-270mm lens (27-405mm equivalent)

This will give almost equal in terms of focal length on the telephoto side if we factor in the PQ by cropping. For the rest of the range you will get much better PQ.

8:44 pm - Wednesday, April 21, 2010

#54 g7star

Well, that’s very interesting yet rough assumption.  Here I found one shot taken at 270mm (405mm eqv) with the Tamron.  Really want to see some comparison shot (with cropping) though.

Many people compare it with DSLRs and that already means it’s good enough for what it is.

9:37 pm - Wednesday, April 21, 2010

#55 Emil

Comp w Canon SX10IS/SX20IS/G11 !

Bob:

You mention the Canon SX10IS.

- In terms of picture quality, could you compare the new Fuji HS10 with the Canon SX10IS, and, perhaps, with Canon G11 ?

- What about shot-to-shot and shooter lag times ?
In other words, assuming you are using a fast SD Card, say SanDisk II or III class 6, how long does it take the Fuji HS10 to write a max rez JPEG or/and RAW file ?

10:29 pm - Wednesday, April 21, 2010

#56 peter

Just bought the thing and looks great so far apart from the weight I’m not used to but if you want less bulk with lenses and still zoom ability with good photo quality go for this master peace of compact camera. You may find this is enough or you go further next time you buy a DSLR (do not compare it with a DSLR and you will be happy).

12:28 am - Thursday, April 22, 2010

#57 Walt

It is reviews like yours that perpetuate the production of cameras such as the HS10, which continue to be embellished with a multitude of useless features which obscure the real purpose of a truly useful Pro Consumer camera. You praise Fuji for adding the almost never used features found on the new HS10. I fear that when Fuji reads reviews such as this one, they think they have done well. They have not; the HS10 is just one more Fuji camera that misses the mark.

It would be more helpful if you were to chastise Fuji for not using a bigger sensor to allow it to function in low light and for not having a more efficient raw processing system. This camera has no real advantage over their last super zoom, the FinePix S200EXR. Fuji continues to produce bridge cameras that almost make it and this is so disappointing to me.

If Fuji were to produce a camera just like the S200EXR or the HS10 and simply keep their wonderful zoom ring on the lens feature, their image stabilization on the sensor, have only the necessary shooting modes, white balance, macro capability, etc. at the same time cut the zoom range to 28 to 400, not have any video capability, drop a bigger sensor in, and speed up the raw processing, they would totally capture the bridge camera market. Even a few pros would consider this camera as a suitable backup to their DSLR’s.

5:16 pm - Friday, April 23, 2010

#58 zebarnabe

@Walt:
While i agree with most of what you said, HS10 is not exacly bad, it’s just as you said: “(it) misses the mark”.

For a family camera this is a very nice camera… but with manual zoom it looks and feels more oriented to a pro consumer…

What i don’t agree is that it is bad at low light… it’s quite good compared with other compact cameras and specially considering the 1/2,33” sensor… it’s quite amazing.

By the way… 28-400mm (14,3x) with a 1/1,7” sensor would be wiser yes…

PS: Again… i don’t own a hs10…

5:30 pm - Friday, April 23, 2010

#59 Emil

Walt:
I agree with you.

I ask questions since I am tempted to acquire the new Fuji HS10 as a quality Point-and-Shoot camera, companion to a DSLR (I have the Nikon D90), not so much due to its 30X Optical Zoom and Video capabilities, but more due to its manual zoom ring control and direct access buttons to essential controls.
A slightly larger sensor (greater than the current 28.5mm2), say at least 43.3mm2 (Canon G11) would easily ensure better pictures !
I am a little worried about the true performance of such a very long zoom lens (is it really possible to focus properly at maximum extension ?), and, also about the fact several users indicated on this forum that it takes about 3sec to write a JPEG file to the memory card (too long !)...
I am waiting for some (qualitative and quantitative) professional reviews from DPREVIEWS and CNET. It’s not easy to decide to pay $500 for a Point-and-Shot ...

5:35 pm - Friday, April 23, 2010

#60 Walt

I too will await the “good reviews”.  I am just looking for a pro consumer camera designed like a SLR that will make usable images at ISO 800 or 1600 when the occasion arises. 

I currently am using the old Konica/Minolta A2,  which is an amazingly fine and easy to use camera, but is useless at anything over ISO 200.

Maybe I was overly harsh with my comments, but I already have a video camera and how often does one need a 700mm lens?

6:23 pm - Friday, April 23, 2010

#61 richard

I have had my Fuji HS10 for two weeks now and it is clearly the best superzoom camera.I have taken over 2000 photos and not had a problem.I can handhold the camera at the 720mm position and get very clear pictures.I also use the 24mm lens quite often,( about 30% of the time at reguler setting and at the super macro position)The results are outstanding,All of pictures are of animals,flowers And landscapes.This camera has exceeded my expectations.I am selling my Nikon P90 and my Panasonic FZ35 as they are obsolete.With the money I am going to buy another Fuji HS10,need I say more!

9:00 pm - Friday, April 23, 2010

#62 Rudy Willis

My 3rd post:  I have not taken as many pictures as richard, but have taken very many wide, super-zoomed and normal range photos and find nothing to complain about.  The other day, I took over 670 shots at our local zoo and was very pleased with the results.  I concentrated on the animal’s heads and needed hand-held @ 720mm to get up close and to keep the moving animals framed.  In printing, most photos still required a 100% crop to fill the frame.  I set the ISO to be between 100 and 400 - no noise - sharp whiskers on tigers and cheetahs as well as eyelashes on elephants convinced me that I don’t have to lug a 2x extender, 200mm f/2.8 Lens and DSLR to get great results.  Macro and super-macro results were really superb as well.  Maybe I got an HS10 that was “best of the litter,” but I bet it was not.

9:27 pm - Friday, April 23, 2010

#63 Emil

Richard and Rudy:

I understand you are both very satisfied with the camera.
Please, tell us how long it takes to save a maximum resolution JPEG, in other simple words, about how long do you have to wait between shots ?

10:46 pm - Friday, April 23, 2010

#64 Rudy Willis

Emil:

Unscientific and ithout a stopwatch….

I have my HS10 set up for JPEG images size L @ 4:3 ratio which produces 402 frames on a 8GB Class 10 SDHC, image size 3648x2736 with IMAGE DISPLAY set to OFF.  In single shot mode, it cycles just as quickly as my Canon DSLR.  I set it up that way because I don’t review photos while I am shooting, AND it makes shooting faster.

RAW and RAW+JPEG are much slower = about 5-6 seconds still with IMAGE DISPLAY OFF.

IMAGE DISPLAY ON slows the shooting cycle down by 1.5 or 3 seconds, depending on which is selected.

1:30 am - Saturday, April 24, 2010

#65 Emil

*** SHOT-to-SHOT TIMES

” ... RAW and RAW+JPEG are much slower ... “

Thank you, Rudy:
Finally, some valuable (and somehow expected) informations !

Writing a 10MP (3-5MB in size) file should not take more than 1sec, either on a DSLR or on an Advanced non-DSLSR (such as the HS10), even when a Class 4 HDSC Card (4GB/sec = 32Gb/sec), not Class 10 is used, however, in the case of RAW files (10MP of about 10GB) it is normal for the writing time to be longer.  The 10MP RAW Shot-to-Shot time for Canon G11 is 2.5sec, while the 12.3MP RAW Shot-to-Shot time for a Nikon D90 is just 0.9sec. 
With respect to writing times the limiting factors
are sensor size and memory card speed.
When taking one shot at a time (not burst, multiples in quick succession) the decising factor seems to be only the sensor size.  The size of D90’s CMOS sensor is much larger than the size of the G11’s CCD sensor, which is just slightly larger than the size of the BSI-CMOS HS10’s sensor.  Therefore, the expected (and experimentally confirmed by you)  RAW Shot-to-Shot time for a Fuji HS10 is about 3sec.
Of course, when taking multiple shots in quick succession, this time is expected to increase to, say 5 - 8 sec.
When shooting video, which creates large files (hundreds of MB) one should use SDHC Class 6 memory cards or better.

All these should not worry users, just make them be aware of the inherent limitations of a camera such as the HS10, and use it appropriately.

Someone suggested that a firmware update may shorten the writing times.  I doubt that playing with software will do it, because the limiting decisive factor is the hardware (the size of the photoelectric sensor).  I am thinking of a buffer memory (hardware) that might allow the user to continue shooting while the camera writes already acquired information.  Approximate analogy - a computer - ‘want a faster computer, use a faster chip.  ‘Want multi-tasking, use more memory.

4:34 am - Saturday, April 24, 2010

#66 Jamil Sayed

It is horrible that the persons who have not yet touched the HS10 are expressing worthless comments about it.

Plz users only post valuable comments.

8:28 am - Saturday, April 24, 2010

#67 Chris

I’ve had my HS 10 for about 10 days now and have taken 1500 or so pics and can tell everyone that Fuji really has filled the niche for those people who want a superior point and shoot. I am an amateur wildlife photographer and use the 720 mm zoom quite often and am amazed that almost all of my pictures are clear with no camera shake blur. I have not been using a tripod yet and it seems that I won’t be “required” for every shot.I wish the EVF was a little better but I can work around that and am very satisfied.

12:05 pm - Saturday, April 24, 2010

#68 Anat

Jamil, how long you spend waiting from one shot to another is important, is it not ? Rudy owns the HS10 and said it takes about 3 seconds to save a RAW file (read his post). Emil did not contradict Rudy, he only further discussed the issue.

3:03 pm - Saturday, April 24, 2010

#69 Jamil Sayed

In India, the price is Rs. 23,000 INR only.

3:42 pm - Saturday, April 24, 2010

#70 Jamil Sayed

I am sorry. The price in India is Rs. 33,000 only (NOT 23,000).

4:00 pm - Saturday, April 24, 2010

#71 yspecial

I can’t hardly wait for this camera to arrive from BH. I have been using Panasonic FZ-28 for an year and like it very much therefore this camera will be the upgrade. My FZ-28 is still joy to use but there is bit of hiccup on video department and hope HS10 will perform much better.  No one can stop me now, just couple of more days, come on time fly.

6:19 am - Sunday, April 25, 2010

#72 graeme

I don’t understand how this camera can shoot at 10 fps and be slow between single shots, as some commenters are saying. Also, you can shoot movies at 1000 fps (albeit at low resolution) so the sensor has to be fast, no?

It seems that in the Shooting Mode Menu you can enable High Speed Shooting which is off by default, and this gives a quick shutter response.


has anyone tried out the HD video on this camera?
some Qs in my mind are:

1) does continuous IS kick in automatically when you use movie mode, or do you have to go to settings each time you switch between stills and movie mode?
2) does your 1080p movie play back faultlessly on your computer using standard players, like QT and VLC, or do you need to use Fuji’s own player (if provided) to get a proper result?

10:39 am - Sunday, April 25, 2010

#73 Chris

Quick time is installed with the Fuji software. When I playback the HD movies it hiccups through the video. It only plays back at 18 fps when it was recorded at 30. If you upload to youtube it plays back fantastically. Regular lower quality VGA movies playback just fine. Could just be my computer. The camera remembers which mode you are in and saves settings according to which shooting mode you are in.

11:27 am - Sunday, April 25, 2010

#74 manix

un forum foto din thailanda are deschis un topic numai pt. fuji HS10 , unde impatimitii, lui HS10 ,
posteaza zilnic foto sau comentarii pro sau contra

(puneti pe google sa va traduca si n-o sa regretatii)

http://www.fujifilm.co.th/forum/showthread.php?t=11809&page=240

6:26 pm - Sunday, April 25, 2010

#75 Anat

” ... un forum foto din thailand ... “

Here’s manix’ post in English:

<<A >>

The pics posted there look good !

7:13 pm - Sunday, April 25, 2010

#76 Anat

” ... un forum foto din thailand ... “

Here’s manix’ post in English:

“A Photo Forum from Thailand offers a discussion thread dedicate exclusively to Fuji HS10, where HS10 aficionados post daily pros and cons ... use Google to help you translate from Thai into English, you won’t regret you did it”

I went there. The pics posted there look good !

7:20 pm - Sunday, April 25, 2010

#77 Emil

OK, users here indicate the HS10 performs well, takes good pictures and good videos across the whole zoom spectrum, just spends a few seconds from one RAW shot to the next, but, since no “expert” qualitative and quantitative review exist yet (CNET, DPREVIEWS), I wonder: in terms of image quality, is HS10 as good as a Canon G11 or SX10IS ?  When we shed $500 we want the best “bridge”, “super-zoom”, “advanced P&P” there is today.

7:43 pm - Sunday, April 25, 2010

#78 Ruedi

There has been asked, what’s not good? What is not good is the same which is not good with most digital compacts - that one can’t turn down the measuring preflash to use simply and without problems the built-in flash as starter for simple slave flashes. That one cannot in manual mode fixedly determinate the build-in flash power, p.e. to 2/3, 1/2, 1/3, 1/4 or 80, 60, 40, 20 %. But while this doesn’t surprise with other cameras, it’s surprising with this camera which has so much goodies - but not these simple ones ...

4:26 am - Monday, April 26, 2010

#79 manix

thanks   anat

8:43 am - Monday, April 26, 2010

#80 Emil

—External Flash—

- Regarding external flash options, Fuji does not seem to offer dedicated flash units.  Metz and Sunpak might be used - I checked the compatibility charts there - not clear, just a few Fuji cameras are mentioned, not the HS10; Canon and Nikon cameras fill the page, of course ... but Canon and Nikon have their own dedicated flashes.
- HS10’s manual says: “... the built-in flash will fire once to provide a signal for the optional flash unit to fire ... the camera can be used with flash units that provide aperture adjustment, external metering, and sensitivity control ... adjust flash settings as described in the manual provided with the optional flash unit. TTL mode is not supported; chose external flash sync mode and set sensitivity and aperture to the values selected with the camera”.
- I know how to and have used flashes in manual mode with older SLRs years ago, but ... should we conclude that, when we attach an external flash to the HS10, we have to setup that flash manually ?
- A Canon SX10IS or G11 can use Canon Speedlites flashes ... a Nikon P100 cannot use external flashes at all ...

4:48 pm - Monday, April 26, 2010

#81 Emil

—External flash—

... also, it seems impossible to have the HS10’s built-in flash pop up while an external unit is mounted atop of the HS10 ... because, physically, the external unit will prevent this.  Of course, an adapter, such the one offered by Sunpak could be used, thus, possible allowing for “a master-slave” tandem (the internal triggers the external), but, it seems to me, the external has to be manually set up ...

5:23 pm - Monday, April 26, 2010

#82 Rudy Willis

Well, intrigued by Emil’s post, I tried an external flash with the internal flash popped up.  Neither functioned.  As Emil thought, the internal flash was somewhat blocked by the external flash in the hot shoe and did not reach its full extension. 

So, without internal flash and with the external in the hot shoe, at 1/30 f:/4, overexposed.  At 1/30, f:/8 perfect.  This performance reminds me of the old film days using a Thyrister-flash.  Set shutter speed and f-stop and shoot away!

The external (Sunpak) flash will also slave.  With both flashes, slave worked fine on “P” and the exposures were correct.  I even moved the slave to within 18 inches of the subject, holding the camera 10 feet away and zooming in.  Slave quenched fine, did not overexpose the subject and the exposures were good.

I will probably use the slave on a bracket and trigger it with the internal flash, or by itself in the hot shoe and set f-stop and shutter stop manually.

Note:  The other day, I spent over six hours in fairly continuous shooting.  With a set of new alkalines in the camera, the low battery warning came on ofter two hours.  I kept shooting and they worked fine another two hours.  So, the warning can apparently be ignored for a while…

6:35 pm - Monday, April 26, 2010

#83 Dave

I was wondering what would be the best memory card to use with this camera, considering HD video
ie: size SDHC ultra II or III extreme etc
I have only used p&s cameras, any advise
Thanks
Also best batteries?,never had to use AA

11:20 pm - Monday, April 26, 2010

#84 Ruedi

@Emil: What you write in yr 1st post re flash sounds good. I just read the general technical description which doesn’t sound so good. If it really is possible to make the integrated flash fire only once, that’s already more than other Fujis and most digital compacts offer. You usually have a mess with slaves because of the measuring preflash which can’t be suppressed and starts the slave too early. So you need sophisticated adapters for the slave, or a sophisticated slave - all complicated stuff. While if it’s possible to have the built-in flash “pure” only once, that’s already better than most.

According to the description I have the shoe is just an X-Synchro, nothing else. Means in fact that no coordination between camera and flash takes place except the synchro for flash firing. The good thing of it - you can work with ANY flash on it, and, honestly said, I like this much more than a dedication which binds you to a very small choice of dedicated flashes. Can use the auto of the flash and just choose manually the correct f-stop on the camera, for example - or use your experience and knowledge of flash photography, if you have any. If it’s true that the built-in flash fires once for external SLAVES (not in the shoe!) in a special mode, that’s for me fairly good news - but I don’t really believe it till I see it ...

3:19 am - Tuesday, April 27, 2010

#85 Ruedi

@Dave: For akkus (batteries), be shure to take good ones (traditional brand or tested by yourself, not no names if you don’t want to risk that they don’t reach by far the printed on values). I had AA akkus for my Pentax *istD and of a good brand they were very good with 2400, 2500, 2700 MAh. Then bought, a bit cheaper, not known or no name ones with claimed 3600 MAh, and they were for shit - some didn’t even spend the needed power to work, and some which did were very fast below this power.

3:35 am - Tuesday, April 27, 2010

#86 Ruedi

@Rudy Willis: You make my day, probably - if the Sunpak slave you used is a simple flash, and you didn’t need to “put it right on the 1st, 2nd, 3rd or 4th flash”, and it right away worked, that’s really good news - seems you really get a single flash firing of the built-in flash. Means you can really work simple with outside cableless flashes directly with the built-in as master - just need a simple slave device, or if you’ve got whatever flash which can be a slave, it will simply work and not depend on over-sophisticated possibilities to ignore one or more preflashes.

3:54 am - Tuesday, April 27, 2010

#87 Emil

—External Flash for HS10—

Sadly (or not !) no TTL, because Fuji does not seem to offer dedicated flashed for its own cameras, and other flash makers (Sunpak, Metz, Vivitar) do not care too much about ... Fuji cameras (they care, of course, about Canon and Nikon).
Interestingly Metz (a well established German flash maker) has a selector on its website, and claims that the following units will work well with HS10:

Metz SCA Flash Units -  mecablitz 44 MZ-2 digital, mecablitz 45 CL-4 digital,  mecablitz 54 MZ-4i digital, mecablitz 76 MZ-5 digital;

Metz Automatic Flash Units -  mecablitz 20 C-2, mecablitz 36 C-2.

Metz claims the SCA flashes mentioned above offer what is called iTTL (“intelligent through the lens”) compatible with Nikon and Fujifilm.  I have not tried any of them, but I intend to buy a Metz flash (high guide number) that I may use with other cameras (specifically with my Nikon D90), and ... I also feel close to getting the HS10 now.

Here’s the website:
http://www.metz.de/en/home.html

4:49 am - Tuesday, April 27, 2010

#88 graeme

Ruedi (#78)

if you look at the Shooting Menu options in the PDF manual it looks like all those things you were concerned about are possible ....

3:06 pm - Tuesday, April 27, 2010

#89 manix

friends watching, and waiting your comments here
http://www.pbase.com/middlehill/fujifilm_finepix_hs10_review

6:18 am - Wednesday, April 28, 2010

#90 Lori

There is a firmware update for the HS10. It improves picture quality and clarity/sharpness by leaps and bounds. Also addressed the delete bug that plagued some.
Just FYI

5:55 pm - Wednesday, April 28, 2010

#91 Emil

” There is a firmware update for the HS10 ... “

http://www.imaging-resource.com/NEWS/1272408391.html

11:13 pm - Wednesday, April 28, 2010

#92 Ruedi

@graeme - thanks for the hint, I looked now, and yes, it can! Someone told me that it is not even the first Fuji that can do a single master flash shot with internal flash up and shooting mode external flash, but they didn’t even write it in the manuals of the former models which could do it ... development is faster than writing clean manuals seems to be possible, lol.

12:04 am - Thursday, April 29, 2010

#93 andres

Pésima para retratos artisticos

3:59 am - Thursday, April 29, 2010

#94 Emil

“Pesima para restrtratos artisticos”

You mean “Bad for artistic portraits”, right ?

Can you not achieve a good portrait if you shoot in good natural light avoiding high contrasts (e.g. against the sun for special effects on the hair, unless intended, of course) at an ISO of 100 with the lens set at a 35mm equivalent of 80-100mm to slightly blur the background ?

12:14 pm - Thursday, April 29, 2010

#95 tzzumbi

is it better then olympus sp-800uz?

10:01 am - Friday, April 30, 2010

#96 zebarnabe

From what i could see (i don’t own any digital camera), feature and performance wise, HS10 is a better camera…. but it is more expensive, and for the classic point and shooter there are better cameras… panasonic FZ38 is a good model to look at, it’s auto mode is quite eficient…

HS10 is a do-it-all… so it doesn’t excel in any area (but at 720mm the lens are incredibly sharp), all things considered, it as a fair low light behaviour, video is nice but don’t expect too much, panorama stitch is better done in computer, low light modes are quirky (but provide some nice solutions in some situations), 10fps burst is not too shabby (but with 7 frames taken in 0.7secs it’s not very useful), high speed movies are fun, specially if you like to see how stuff is moving, 10MP is not the best out there, optical stabilization does its job well, at 720mm image is quite sharp, but a tripod or a rest base is quite recommended, at wide angle it’s only sharp in center, getting soft to very soft at corners… ...with the latest firmware update the only quirk that remains is the 1sec write time of jpeg that doesn’t allow one to take more shots during that time… even if buffer has space for queuing :(

The biggest question is: Is all this acceptable and enough or just too much? One could buy a cheaper and smaller P&S camera and be happy with it, or buy a DSLR with a bunch of lens with to IQ and be happy with it… it all depends of how much you’re willing to spend and what are your needs…

If you’re looking for a photographic camera with fullHD movie recording, Panasonic GH1 or Canon 550D are much better choices ... but they cost 3 times more… and to have the 720 reach you’ll have to spend around 500€-600€ extra on some lens ... but you have a lot more quality and they are quite faster (they can’t do 10fps… but at around 4fps they can take lots of photos instead of just 7)

For this price range (around 400€) it’s quite hard to beat in bridge segment ...

10:28 am - Friday, April 30, 2010

#97 Walt

zebarnabe:
I agree with all you have said. The HS10 is trying to be the “be all, end all” camera for too many photographers each having different skill levels and different needs.

Personally I prefer to shoot with natural light only, so I wish it had a bigger chip. I have a video camera just for video so I could care less about the HS10 video capabilities.  I only shoot in manual mode so I would never use any of the many program modes.  I never shoot multiple frames; I believe careful observation and timing will do better in action photography. I edit my images in Photoshop Elements so I will never put a panorama together in camera or convert an image to B&W in camera. And my list of HS10 features I know I would never use goes on.

I do wish Fuji had put their efforts into a bigger sized sensor (even if they would have to cut back on the zoom range), into making the camera process and save images faster especially in raw. I also wish the camera came with a lens shade. I wish the camera had an electronic cable release. (It may be able to Fuji’s RR-80 release; I have an unanswered inquiry into Fuji Support.) Not being able to make exposures with an electronic release would be a deal breaker for me as I enjoy still life indoor photography.

You failed to mention the one feature which puts the HS10 (and all of the recent Fuji bridge cameras) way above the rest of the super zoom bridge cameras by Olympus, Nikon, Canon, etc. and closer in feel to a real SLR.  That feature is the having the zoom ring on the lens. Once you have used a film SLR or a digital SLR you can never go back to using a camera that zooms with a button on the body. Zooming and composing with a lens ring is fast and precise, no in/out trial/error seeking for what looks best to your eye.

I am still waiting a review that evaluates what is really important in this HS10 Pro Consumer camera to a retired photographer who is tired of lugging extra lenses about, but wants his images to approach the quality of a DSLR.

5:28 pm - Friday, April 30, 2010

#98 luis valentim

Hi to everyone around here specially to the one`s that did really have used hS10 like about two years ago when s100fs came up at that time almost every single person as write bad things about her ,but for some reason has sold by the tens of 1000s and to find one in second hand and in good price even in Ebay its hard so for the ones that never had the chance to put their hands in the HS10 please refrain your comments and do not compare something that costs £400 with others that cost £1000 or even more than that cos no canons or nikons or sonys are offering something like that so stop moaning about ...

9:31 pm - Friday, April 30, 2010

#99 Walt

luis:
Have you never heard of constructive criticism?  If more people were more critical about their camera purchases we probably would get better bridge cameras from Fuji. But why should they even try to make a better camera when lesser quality cameras sell like hotcakes.

The only moaning is from your computer……………

9:56 pm - Friday, April 30, 2010

#100 luis valentim

Walt:
do you won one HS 10 OR S100FS ?If no please don`t` came with constructive criticism ,after all hundreds of professionals do they use the S100FS as their Back up camera…even after some people carry on complain about her two years on ....and yes I DO WON A S100FS FROM THE FIRST DAY THEY CAME OUT AND NO REGREATS AFTER ALL THAT WAS JUST £399 AND NOT £2000 OR MORE…

10:26 pm - Friday, April 30, 2010

Entry Tags

hd video, hd, 3 inch LCD, 1080p, wide-angle, super-zoom, manual, RAW, fujifilm, 24mm, 10fps, finepix, fuji, 30x zoom, Fujifilm FinePix HS10 Review, hs 10, hs10

Tracker Pixel for Entry