Fujifilm FinePix HS10 Review

4.5
April 14, 2010 | Mark Goldstein |

Your Comments

466 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#101 Eleanor Maw

Before I ever buy a camera I like to go to the shop and have a good look at the camera, I have been trying to find a shop that has this camera, I am told it’s expected in any day, I am going to London next week, does anyone know a dealer that has a HS10 ?

11:03 pm - Friday, April 30, 2010

#102 Walt

luis:
I will always push the camera manufacturers to do better and this forum is as good a place as any.  I am entitled to my opinions. I don’t have to own a camera to know if I would like it.

You seem to take my comments directed towards Fujifilm as a personal attack. Do you work for Fujifilm? If so, I apologize, but I doubt very much that hundreds of professionals use the Fuji S100FS. The reviews were mediocre at best.

I like Fujifilm very much. I know what they can build if they want to. I used to own and use two of their magnificant 120 roll film rangefinder cameras, the Fuji GW670II and the GSW690II. They were without a doubt the best roll film cameras I ever used.  They put my Hasselblads to shame. Now I sound like you.

Your expectations and my expectations as to what a bridge camera should be are obviously worlds apart so lets quit sparring.

I am shooting now with an ailing 4-year-old Konica/Minolta A2 and am looking to buy an improvement. I have my fingers crossed in waiting for the HS10 reviews.  I am in serious need of a new bridge camera. I cannot afford a real DSLR nor do I want to carry the extra gear needed to make up a usable DSLR outfit.

2:40 am - Saturday, May 1, 2010

#103 tara

I am thinking of buying a P & S camera with more than 3X zoom. I was deciding on Nikon l100 or P100. I googled for reviews and somehow stumbled upon HS10 review. After reading your mixed comments about this camera I am really confused wether to go for HS10 or not. I am an amature and buying this camera for fun not professional shooting. But still I want best value for my money.

6:33 am - Saturday, May 1, 2010

#104 yspecial

tara, I recommend Panasonic FZ-38 for less than $350, best camera for the money. I used to own FZ-28 and love it but now I have HS10 with some issues. I uploaded 3 videos on youtube couple of days ago and you can see the problem of jello affect on full zoom. I’ll test this camera with just updated firmware next couple of days and upload more videos soon. Hopefully Fuji fixed the problems on colors of photos and zooming problems of video.

1:11 pm - Saturday, May 1, 2010

#105 tara

I checked for the camera but was’nt able to find it in best buy, future shop or Henrys. If its a really good camera why is it not available anywhere? Also I dont want to order online. I want to chk the camera before buying.

5:04 pm - Saturday, May 1, 2010

#106 Rudy Willis

Tara:  I don’t know where you are located.  I’m in the USA - Midwest.  Here, it is available in photography-only retail establishments and not in department/big box stores like Best Buy.

yspecial:  It is not a DSLR replacement; however, for me, it is a step up from the Canon & Panasonic P&S cameras 15-20x zoom cameras.

Some folks want a DSLR killer P&S for $500.  Ain’t gonna happen. 

I bought it for trips/occasions when I don’t want a heavy DSLR and to change lenses.  From Macro to the end of the zoom at 720x, it has provided good results = equivalent to my G11.  Video is not my thing, I must admit.  I would use a video camera for that.

6:28 pm - Saturday, May 1, 2010

#107 Joey

Does this allow the use of remote shutter release?

6:58 pm - Saturday, May 1, 2010

#108 Rudy Willis

No remote shutter release unfortunately.

Use time delay…also, camera will wait for your face to appear in the frame for group/family shots.

8:08 pm - Saturday, May 1, 2010

#109 anel

Please help!  I have read the reviews and comments here, and am now more confused than ever!
I currently have a 5-year old Panasonic Lumix p&s, and would like to upgrade to a bridge camera.  I mainly take pictures of children, and thus want a camera that will give me exceptional quality images (especially when zoomed in closely on their facial features), and that will allow me to shoot quickly, with very little delay between shots.
The guys at our local photography shops have recommended that I get one of the following three cameras:  the HS10, the Panasonic Lumix DMC-FZ35, or the Sony Cyber-shot DSC-HX1.
I never print photo’s larger than A4 size, so which of these cameras would best suit my needs?
Tx

8:45 pm - Saturday, May 1, 2010

#110 anel

Sorry - I forgot to add that the prices quoted on these 3 models only differed by R300 (South African rands, that is), so price is not an issue

8:51 pm - Saturday, May 1, 2010

#111 Steve

I began reading these posts as I’m considering buying an HS10, but I am confused…why are people that don’t own this camera (& 1 person even says they don’t ANY digital cameras!!) commenting, providing feedback, or criticizing something they have never touched?
I might as well say the EOS 7D is a piece of trash. I’ve never touched one - so I guess I am an expert?

11:32 pm - Saturday, May 1, 2010

#112 Joey

To Rudy: Thanks.  It’s a big help.

11:47 pm - Saturday, May 1, 2010

#113 tara

I am in Toronto, Canada. The price of HS10 here is $499, Panasonic FZ38 is around $399 and Nikon P100 and L110 is $449 and $249 respectively. Its a big difference in price. As I said I am buying the camera only for fun so I have thought of buying L110 first and after that if I feel the need of a better camera then I will go for a DSLR. But for now I think Nikon L110 will suit me.
Thankyou Rudy and yspecial

4:17 am - Sunday, May 2, 2010

#114 Emil

—- HS10 FIRST IMPRESSION—-

My HS10 arrived two days ago.
I ordered it over the Net from B&H in New York for $500 (no tax, $10 shipping).  B&H has always a reliable photo store, and even audio/video.

- I used the 4 supplied alkalines, and loaded a 16GB class 10 HDSC Sandisk memory card, also from B&H Photo.
- I updated the firmware, as advised:
http://www.fujifilm.com/support/digital_cameras/software/firmware/s/finepix_hs10/fupd.html
- I shot several simple single shot JPEGs outside at noon and at dusk (people, churches, foliage, flowers), and a few inside with the built-n flash.  I also did fill-in (natural light + flash) with an external older Metz flash in manual mode (no TTL).  Did not do Video or RAW yet.  P (program) and A (aperture priority) modes with center weighted metering and auto focus.  Never exceeded 400 ASA.  Simple post-processing with Adobe Photoshop Elements 8 on a 18” Toshiba Qosmio X505-Q875.
- I know, it may be subjective, however, for me, with respect to image quality (details, focus, color rendition) – the HS10 did at least as good if not better than my Canon SX10-IS and Canon G11.  Definitely superior to my Nikon P90 (the P100 should behave the same).  Obviously, more details with my Nikon D90 (a good DSLR should always provide a better picture that one can enlarge, crop, etc, because it has a much larger sensor and uses dedicated very good lenses.  Never owned another Fujifilm.  Long ago I used two film-based cameras: a 35mm Canon AE-1 (SLR) and a 6x6 Rolleiflex SL-66. 
- Fast enough for me shot-to-shot time, not exceeding 1sec.
- When fully extending the zoom to 720mm (35mm equivalent) I found out it is easier to compose the picture by using some support for the camera (my own body, a tree, fence), or, if available, a tripod.  Pictures were in focus.  No apparent distortions.
- I got pleasing portraits of my wife with and without fill-in flash (some experimentation was necessary with the external non-TTL flash) extending the zoom to something between 80mm and 120mm.
- So far I like the manual zoom (easier to control than with a small “toggle” button), the on-demand availability of the histogram both before the shot (shooting mode) and after (playback review mode), the direct access buttons for WB, ISO, AE, AF, the tiltable LCD, the auto sensing LCD-EVF switch, the informative menus, the solid deep grip.  Last, but not least I like the AA battery format – rechargeables are a better choice, but, sometimes in a foreign land one may not be able to charge … and AAs are available everywhere.
- Only one negative so far:  no TTL flash, though I will research the new large Metz stock – some of their units might do it …

I say the HS10 is an excellent bridge camera to use on vacation, when one travels light and has to be always ready – a monument suddenly appears, a beautiful gardens, interesting people doing all sorts of things.  Yes, a digital SLR does better, but, after all, it is not the technology that decides – it is what one “creates” with the camera.  Does the picture say something, tells a story … perhaps different that another photographer’s story ?

4:36 am - Sunday, May 2, 2010

#115 tara

Panasonic FZ35 is $449…sorry about that.

4:38 am - Sunday, May 2, 2010

#116 Emil

Tara:

Here’s a suggestion.
Instead of the Nikon Coolpix L110, consider the Nikon Coolpix P90.  Why ?  P100 offers images as good as P90.  P90 is clearly better than L110, and, since P100 is the latest model, the price for the P90 must have dropped.

4:52 am - Sunday, May 2, 2010

#117 Emil

Tara:

Here’s one more suggestion.

If the P90 is unavailable or too expensive consider Canon Powershot SX120 priced 285 CAN at Vistek in Toronto (vistek.ca) and 243 CAN at Amazion Canada (amazon.ca).
The SX120 produces better pictures than the L110:

reviews.cnet.com/digital-cameras/canon-powershot-sx120-is/4505-6501_7-33765882.html?tag=mncol;lst;1

6:23 am - Sunday, May 2, 2010

#118 Ruedi

Steve:
If you’ve got two women, one did only cook good and one was only a good soul, and you’re reading about a new fad coming up on good souls to also learning cooking, you can discuss the topic - why not? Perhaps somebody profits from your viewpoints. Experts don’t exist, nobody really knows what’s good for you. But you can learn it for yourself from other’s viewpoints where you have no own experience, the LOT of them. Based on experience or just data or even expectations, wishes, visions.

2:58 pm - Sunday, May 2, 2010

#119 tara

Very true. First it was just to buy a camera with a good zoom. But slowly its like the camera should have certain features…which nobody can find in one single camera. no camera is perfect. there is something missing. Always. So I think go for what you like. But the reviews also help a lot to choose and also they confuse you. If you read the reviews there is no single camera with which every user is satisfied. There is always something wrong or they are not satisfied..!! I have 3 cameras in my mind and I will end all of this today. Will post tomorrow which camera I bought and some photos….
Thanks a lot for your suggestions..
this blog is great..!!
:)

3:37 pm - Sunday, May 2, 2010

#120 tzzumbi

thanks zebarnabe and all of you. I’m smaller then a novice (if there is such a thing) in this domain. so I have a question. I heard that there are some lenses that can be attached to cameras from the super zoom category. .. if I want to take a picture of a bee, for example, I have to use a macro lens that can be attached to the camera. Can some one tell me if there is such kind of lenses for Fuji Finepix HS10? Thanks.

3:45 pm - Sunday, May 2, 2010

#121 Walt

Hi tzzumbi,

According to the specs for “distance from the front of the lens” on the HS, published in the review above, the macro capabilities for photographing a bee is built into the lens. You would probably never need to add any optical attachments other than filters to the HS10 lens.  See macro specs below….....

  Focus distance….. (from the lens front   surface to the object you are photographing)   

Normal:
* Wide: Approx. 50cm / 1.6ft. to infinity
* Telephoto: Approx. 3.0m / 9.8ft. to infinity

Macro:
* Wide: Approx. 10cm - 3.0m / 0.3ft. - 9.8ft.
* Telephoto: Approx. 2.0m - 5.0m / 6.5ft. - 16.4ft.

Super Macro:
* Approx. 1cm - 1.0m / 0.4in. - 3.2ft.

7:00 pm - Sunday, May 2, 2010

#122 tzzumbi

thanks a lot walt. but for example if I would like a picture in wich you can see the bees eyes ... do I have to attach a nother special lens or is it enough the cameras capabilities. with the filters you were saying can I have such pictures?

8:11 pm - Sunday, May 2, 2010

#123 Walt

tzzumbi: Did you want both eyes or just the right or left eye?

To the early bird owners of the HS10:

Will one of you go out to the Rose bush in your back yard and photograph the eyes of a bee using the HS10 Super Macro setting.
Post your results here for Tzzlumbi to read. Thanks.

Actually the filters I had in mind were just for image enhancement such as a UV or a Pola-screen filter.  However, you can buy screw in Close-up Filters in powers of +1,+2, and +3, which will allow for even closer macro photos.

8:44 pm - Sunday, May 2, 2010

#124 Joerg

After having this camera for 3 days, I must say, I really hate it! Many pictures get unsharp, the focus is quite slow, and the most irritating ting: saving a RAW-jpeg combo on a class 6 card takes 3-4 seconds - in the meantime the camera freezes! I’m sending it back!

12:01 pm - Monday, May 3, 2010

#125 Emil

“After having this camera for 3 days ...”

If the camera freezes, or/and it is impossible to focus, you must return it.

With respect to shot-to-shot times, the limiting factor, I believe, is the sensor size, much less than the sensor type, CMOS, BSI-CMOS, or CCD.
I shot several RAW+JPEG with my new HS10 loaded with a class 10 card yesterday: approx 3sec.  The size of the BSI-CMOS sensor of the HS10 is 28.5mm2.  The size of the CCD sensor of the Canon G11 is 43.3mm2.  My G11 also loaded with a class 10 card saves a RAW+JPEG combination in approx 2.5sec.
The size of the CMOS sensor of my Nikon D90 is about 370mm2.  The D90 loaded with a class 6 card saves a RAW+JPEG duo in approx 0.5sec.

In conclusion:  knowing the limitations of each camera may help one chooses how to use it.

2:40 pm - Monday, May 3, 2010

#126 graeme

Joerg,

have you done a reset yet to see if that fixes your problems?

WIZZARD0003 wrote:
>
> Pixelizer wrote:
> > For those of us who don’t know, how do you reset it? Is it a menu item?
>
> In your camera settings in the “Set” menu (the one with the little “wrench” symbol)  reset is on the first page, second from the bottom… Highlight “Reset” and click on it, then highlight “OK” and click on that…
>
> Takes about 1 second…
>
> After, you may have to go back through your settings and reset them to your liking… ;)
>
> W_

2:59 pm - Monday, May 3, 2010

#127 graeme

forgot to ask if you had upgraded to the latest firmware also ....

3:06 pm - Monday, May 3, 2010

#128 yspecial

Updated firmware on my HS10 and tested the photo function only. What a difference it made, colors and contrast look nicer. I’ll be testing the video function later today and will upload on my youtube soon. So much to learn how to use this camera efficiently compare to my old FZ-28.

4:09 pm - Monday, May 3, 2010

#129 Joerg

Thanks a lot for all your answers/suggestions. I updated the FW to 1.1 immediately. It didn’t make much difference. No matter what the reason is, a 5 second lag when saving RAW+jpeg is a total deal breaker for me…

9:19 pm - Monday, May 3, 2010

#130 Emil

Regarding RAW files created with the HS10:

The major issue at the moment seems to be not the fact it takes several seconds for the camera to write such a file, but the fact major photo editing programs, such as Adobe Photoshop do not yet support the RAF files created by the HS10 !

Adobe informs me it’s working on this ...

3:45 pm - Tuesday, May 4, 2010

#131 Wes

I was waiting for this camera to arrive, thinking that I would give my P90 to my wife, and add this as a backup to my existing system… I carry two Nikon D200 bodies, one with an 18-105 VR and the other with a 70-300 VR, but when I am out in the kayak or tromping through the swamp, I prefer to take a lighter, less expensive camera.  After reading this review and the comments, however, I believe I am going to stick with the P90.

Thanks for the heads up.

3:41 am - Wednesday, May 5, 2010

#132 Paula

I have been reading reviews for a while now and was
considering buying this camera. I want it to take photos of my son at motocross. I’m not really interested in the movie side as I have a video camera. Has anyone tried it out on sports action shots, would love to see some photos. This would be my deciding factor, weather to buy or not. I don’t want to have to lug around a slr and lences, and also the price of them.

Look forward to someone getting back to me on this.
Thanks.

3:59 am - Wednesday, May 5, 2010

#133 Anat

” After reading this review and the comments, however, I believe I am going to stick with the P90 “

The Nikon P90 is lighter, little bit smaller, well designed, easy to use, and ... fast (saves a JPEG “right away”), but when it comes to image quality, I believe the HS10 does better.
I’ve been using the P90 for about 1 year now, and recently bought the HS10.  When comparing two JPEGs shot almost in the same conditions (100ASA, A-priority), say flowers (Holmdel Park NJ), or the complicated Neo-Gothic ornaments of St.Patrick Cathedral in New York, I see more details in the pics coming out of the HS10.  The HS10 is slightly heavier, but you have “the feel” of a DSLR (on the lens zoom control, direct access buttons for ISO, WB, AF, AE , on demand histogram ***before*** taking the shot (to my knowledge, the P90 does not offer this).
The HS10 “borrows” certain elements from the P90:  auto100, auto200, auto400, something no non-DSLR Canon has ...  An external flash (in manual mode) can be attached to the HS10, but not to the P90.  For those instances when you want RAW, and have time (say, shooting in a garden or a monument), the HS10 does have it, while the P90 does not.

4:43 am - Wednesday, May 5, 2010

#134 tara

After month of research and reading about the camera reviews the last fight is between Nikon P100 and Panasonic FZ35. I am going to buy the camera this Friday.Definitly HS10 is not in the view.Although for some its a great camera but I dont want to take any risk.

12:17 pm - Wednesday, May 5, 2010

#135 Barbara

Had this camera for two days. I was very happy with the results, even before I looked further at the menu and it wasn’t even set to the highest quality! Looking forward to shooting some more.

I wanted great pictures, but I did not want to carry around an SLR and change lenses.

Thank you FUJI!!!!

4:22 pm - Wednesday, May 5, 2010

#136 Barbara

To answer a question on the posts; I got my camera from Dell. It was supposed to be available April 15th, but did not ship until the end of April. Can’t wait to shoot some more!

4:28 pm - Wednesday, May 5, 2010

#137 ashif

My camera will get tomorrow ...

really “I was waiting for her arrival “.

5:43 pm - Thursday, May 6, 2010

#138 john

i just got this last week and today took
a photo across the lake 3 miles away hand held no tri pod .... all i can say is wow ... john

5:50 am - Friday, May 7, 2010

#139 student696

HI ALL,
i am a student and cant afford all the different lenses which i would want wich go with a DSLR camera so am looking for an all round good substitute bridge camera instead which can preform all most just aswell with the same features… can anyone tell me if they think the HS10 (roughly in my price range) is the one to get as i dont want to buy it and then find i have to replace it at a later date. thanx

9:13 pm - Friday, May 7, 2010

#140 zebarnabe

@student696:
There is currently no compact/bridge camera that can reach image quality of a DSLR….

However, if you don’t mind the softness of wide angles, the sluggishness of writing times, and can live with a little noticeable noise at ISO 800, HS10 might be a good choice (specially if you won’t be printing above A5-A4 sizes)... ...but if you don’t need the massive zoom, there are better choices.

For the best wide angle shots compact i would rather go with a Panasonic LX3 (that is also a good low light performer)

For the overall camera, the S90 is quite something…

For a raw comparison (and more scientific approach) of the cameras: http://www.dxomark.com/index.php/eng/DxOMark-Sensor
As a note, the HS10 is not there…

I do not own an HS10 or any camera… i just read too much º~º

10:46 pm - Friday, May 7, 2010

#141 Dave

The sample images do not appear to be very sharp, but the one thing that concerns me is that the focal setting of the lens is not shown for each shot (or have I missed it?)  This would give those downloading the full size shots a chance to assess the lens at varying lengths.  For example, if Tower Bridge was at 700mm, the photo would probably be acceptable.  If it’s at 100mm, the lens is pretty “soft”.

Nice-looking camera, all the same.

11:25 pm - Friday, May 7, 2010

#142 Falstaff

” ... i would rather go with a Panasonic LX3 ... the S90 is quite something ... dxomark ... HS10 is not there ... I do not own a,n HS10 or any camera… i just read too much º~º “

If you do not own any camera, how do you know what the Panasonic LX3, or the Canon S90, or the Fujifilm HS10 can really do ?  Just by reading - the intellectual approach to Technology ... and Photography (smile !) ?  That’s how we take pictures these days, by reading about them (smile !) ?

10:18 am - Saturday, May 8, 2010

#143 Walt

Falstaff,
You seem to miss the point here. What is read by myself and others who may not own the camera in question, is the reviews by pro photographers who do take pictures with the camera in question and lots of them.
This is how an intelligent decision is reached as to what would be the next camera to buy.

Does it not make sense to read the results of a respected camera reviewer rather than buying the camera and discovering the camera doesn’t do what the manufacturer claims it will do?

It is not just “the intellectual approach to technology”, it is the sensible approach.
I use this same approach before buying a car.  Don’t you?

6:41 pm - Saturday, May 8, 2010

#144 Falstaff

Walt, zebarnabe:

The only Fuji Finepix non-DSLR listed by DXOMARK is the s100fs – position 93.  Unfortunately it is priced at about $1000.  At this price most folks ***would*** buy a real DSLR, one from the top positions of DXOMARK.  Also, keep in mind the parameters (limitations) of the DXOMARK research – what it does and what it does not (they are listed there).

PhotographyBlog published the current HS10 review of the HS10 on April 14th 2010.  Later, on April 30th 2010 the same PhotographyBlog informed us of a Fujifilm Firmware update, which resolves certain image – related issues.  Another review taking in consideration this update would be in order

Here are some results:
http://www.pbase.com/middlehill/fujifilm_finepix_hs10_review
and
http://www.photographybay.com/2010/04/17/fuji-hs10-sample-photos/

By the way, I own a HS10 as well as a Nikon D300.  I did perform the Firmware update.  As a replacement camera, when traveling light across some foreign lands this HS10 does for me what I want.  I tried to discover the camera’s own limitations, and shall avoid using it in complicated and unsuitable situations, when I would take pictures with the D300 (a wealth of details, extended dynamic range, low natural light).  People in general, each individual, in particular has its own limitations.  The same is true about the machine they build.  I shot a few RAWs so far, not so much because the HS10 is slow at writing these files, but because Adobe Photoshop does not yet support them.

Are the pics displayed on the websites above not good enough for a camera in this class ?

10:14 pm - Saturday, May 8, 2010

#145 luci

Hi all,
I just bought this camera and it arrived a few days ago. Overall I’m happy with my purchase but I’d like to talk a little about the things that are advertised for this camera, so you know exactly what you get when you buy this camera.

Overall picture quality - Quality of photos is pretty good, but don’t expect dslr quality. You’ll be disappointed if you do that. Also, the camera handles quite good in low-light situations, but again, don’t expect dslr quality.
30x zoom - The quality of the pictures taken with full zoom is good. Be sure you have a tripod if you want to use the full zoom and get good photos.
Manual control - Changing the ISO, aperture and shutter speed is done quite easy. You can view the histogram of the photo before and after taking the photo, also you can view the exposure before taking the photo. You can also use manual focus if you want or if the camera can’t focus.
EVF - The quality of the viewfinder is not so good and it’s quite small. And it would definitely need a small rubber frame, cause you can’t reach it very easy. You’ll probably use the EVF only when it’s absolutely necessary. So you’ll want to turn off the feature that is advertised for this camera that automagically changes the view from LCD to EVF using a sensor.
1000 fps movies - You’re not going to use this feature. The video will have very low resolution, so you’ll try it once and then forget about it. The max value of fps that will create a usable video would be 120 fps / 640x480. Upper value than this.. don’t bother.
Video overall - You can shoot full HD video. But keep in mind that for all videos, there’s a sound made when the camera is focusing. And sometimes that sound is continuous (you can search for some vids on youtube and see what I’m talking about). When zooming in video mode, the camera has a “wable” effect and at full zoom it has a hard time focusing. Also it’s quite hard to have smooth zoom.. so keep that in mind also.

Before buying this camera I thought of buying a Panasonic Lumix dmc-fz35 and the only thing that influenced me in buying this one was the full HD video feature. I wanted a camera that had it all. I don’t have and don’t intend to have a cam recorder, so this camera is all I need. If it hadn’t been for the video feature, I definitely would have bought the lumix dmc-fz35 as I’ve read great things about it. So, for all amateurs (like me) out there trying to buy a camera, be sure you know what you expect from your camera and choose the one that suits your needs. Peace.

11:43 pm - Saturday, May 8, 2010

#146 Anat

> Be sure you have a tripod if you want to use the full zoom and get good photos <

A tripod, or another object: tree, parapet, or with your elbows right against your own body.

> You can view the histogram of the photo before and after taking the photo, also you can view the exposure before taking the photo <

Very few P&S or bridge cameras can do this simple, but very useful thing.

> You’ll probably use the EVF only when it’s absolutely necessary <

If you were shooting 35mm film before the digital era, when they only had optical viewfinders, you’ll use the EVF a lot.

> 1000 fps movies - You’re not going to use this feature. The video will have very low resolution, so you’ll try it once and then forget about it <

Why would one shoot at 1000fps with a photo camera anyway ? Shoot 1080p at 30fps. Comes out very nice.

> Also it’s quite hard to have smooth zoom.. <

Much less harder than with a small toggle button most competitors (Canon, Nikon, Panasonic) offer.

> I wanted a camera that had it all <

It has “all”, but, as someone on this site said, we should be aware of the limits of the camera, and use it for what it can do well. Each camera maker, including Panasonic, Sony, Canon, Nikon advertises a lot and praises their products. Find out what is true and what is hype.

I wanted something that feels more like an SLR, that’t the reason I bought it. Not as a replacement for a DSLR or a camcorder, but as a companion to such items. It does a very good job for me.

12:29 am - Sunday, May 9, 2010

#147 Walt

Falstaff,
Not sure how you could ever be content to capture an image on your HS10 if you owned a Nikon D300. 
Do you have a different viewing audience in mind for each camera?

If I could afford a D300 I would not be participating in this forum – period!

1:07 am - Sunday, May 9, 2010

#148 Falstaff

Touche, mais pas tue, Walt !
You do understand French, don’t you (smile !) ?

As you said in a previous message: “you’re missing the point” (of the sword ... smile !)

The sword / discussion here is about the Fujifilm Finepix HS10. ‘Some very recent and rather interesting posts ... about the HS10. Have you read them ... or the only thing you’re after is “the elusive” Nikon D300 ?

4:05 am - Sunday, May 9, 2010

#149 daniel

Walt, i wonder, is it not a little arrogant to say that you would participate in this forum about fujifilm hs10 if you had nikon D300 ?

1:42 pm - Sunday, May 9, 2010

#150 Walt

Daniel,
You have misquoted me.  I said I would not be participating in this forum if I owned a professional DSLR such as the Nikon D300.

I am in this forum because I will never be able to afford a professional DSLR.
I am hoping that the HS10 will be my alternative to owning a DSLR. 

falstaff,
I have read all the reviews on this camera that I can find and have read all the comments in this HS10 forum.

Are you related to Snidely Whiplash?

2:39 pm - Sunday, May 9, 2010

#151 Eddie Bray

I suppose I should exchange my Canon 1DsMk3 and plethora of L lenses for a D300 and some lenses then.

The HS10 is my holiday camera and great for trips and family occasions where I do not want to carry a very large and heavy DSLR and assorted lenses. It makes snapshots easier to take and to be honest I do not find the IQ for net shots and small prints more than adequate.

2:47 pm - Sunday, May 9, 2010

#152 Eddie Bray

Sorry, above post should have read, I find the IQ for web shots and small prints more than adequate.

2:51 pm - Sunday, May 9, 2010

#153 Delmar

Over a year ago I returned Canon’s SX10 and Pano’s FX35 because of the really poor flash capabilities (internal and external with the SX10 and internal with the FX35).

Much of my shooting is of speakers and civic activities in poorly lit ballrooms and at distances of 15’-35’. My old (top-rated in 2003) Fuji S5000 with ‘intelligent’ flash does the deed almost every time. Vastly superior to either the SX10 or FX35.

Fuji’s ‘intelligent’ flash may sound like hype but it works for me. I often use forced flash for fill light, even outdoors. Can’t wait ‘til my new HS10 arrives next week to see if it’s as ‘intelligent’ as the 7-year old S5000. Meanwhile, would any of you HS10 actual users share comments?

3:15 pm - Sunday, May 9, 2010

#154 zebarnabe

@Falstaff:
On the digital realm… i own my mobile phone and a mustek 5MP camera (both of those have 3MP sensors), but i hardly consider any of them a camera…

And in analog realm… i do own a camera… two actually… a 20 year old Nikon SLR F401x and a 25 year old Glitt 35 :) both still working…

Like i said before…. HS10 is not perfect, i just don’t like to see it bashed with the “it doesn’t provide IQ of a DSLR”... That is obvious…

There are plenty of reviews and sample images of most of the cameras spread all over the internet… one just have to know what to look for… i know LX3 and S90 are better cameras, but they belong to a different market segment… For one HS10 might be more than enough (ex.: a family person, a tourist, etc) but for others it may be lacking some stuff…

My recommendation for anyone is one: Stay sharp and choose wisely…

4:52 pm - Sunday, May 9, 2010

#155 Emil

—Comments about comments ... and about HS10—-

- As mentioned earlier ***I do own*** and use the HS10 with the firmware updated.  I said a few things about this.
- Other real HS10 owners also shared their experiences, even emphasizing the unique and valuable features of this camera.
- It does take very good picture and videos, but, as is the case with any camera in this class, do not compare with specialized camcorders or DSLRs.  DSLRs are faster (e.g. RAW shot-to-shot times) and offer better pictures because they have much larger sensors and use dedicated lenses.
- As was already mentioned repeatedly on this forum, understand and accept the limitations, not the hype or the adds, e.g. 1000fps ... why would you do this with this camera ?  Do it with a good video camera.  HS10 will produce pleasant 1080p videos at, say 30fps.
- Understand and accept what a camera is good for and what it is not good for.  When used properly HS10 is an excellent vacation camera and more.
- Knowing the write times are more than 1sec for RAW (all cameras in this class behave like this), decide wisely when to shoot JPEGs and when to shoot RAW.  It makes little sense to shoot both simultaneously, since RAW can always be converted to JPEG. 3 JPEG shots AE-bracketing can be used.
- If you absolutely must have wait write times of a fraction of a second, consider only a DSLR.
- When fully extending the zoom at 720mm use a tripod or some other form of support - do not let the camera “stabilize” everything for you.
- Google “picasa HS10” or “panoramio HS10” or “flickr HS10” and shall find beautiful pics taken with this camera:  stills, action, sport, nature, mountains, monuments, flowers, people, morning, night, ...
- The above mentioned links (post #144) also show very interesting things.
- iTTL (“intelligent flash” is something Nikon uses, and Fujifilm used to share with Nikon this flash system.  It works well.  Need more flash power ?  Attach an external flash - know the limitation:  manual, no TTL.  A good photographer knows when and how to use a flash in manual mode.
- IMO HS10 is the only currently bridge camera with a good DSLR feel:  on the lens manual zoom, solid grip, dedicated buttons to access specific key functions (ISO, WB, AE, AF), histogram ***before*** taking the shot, separate compartment for the memory card, tiltable 3” LCD.  Also useful are the LCD/EVF auto sensing switch, various AE and AF locks, auto ISO intervals.  Can the often mentioned here Panasonic Lumix DMC-FZ35 do all these ?  FZ35 is less ambitious, and my only reason to have it would be its Leica famous lens name.  Panasonic uses someone else’s glass and optics, Fujifilm seems to make its own.
- Last but not least:  AA battery format - a format available anywhere on this planet.

5:22 pm - Sunday, May 9, 2010

#156 zebarnabe

@Emil:
That pretty much says it all, thanks for such extensive share of thoughts ^_^

7:48 pm - Sunday, May 9, 2010

#157 Emil

Walt, zebarnabe,
By now you must have realized one and the same person posted here using various more or less appealing usernames and writing styles, I hope. I take it all posts were respectful, and quite supportive of the HS10 in particular and photography in general.

8:17 pm - Sunday, May 9, 2010

#158 Kiril

Can someone more professional help me choosing between fuji finepih hs 10;nikon coolpih p100 and pentax x90,I should mention that I’am a beginner.What I was able to read from reviews is too much info for me and my first pick is hs10 then p100,but please help me more.Thanks in advance

11:35 pm - Sunday, May 9, 2010

#159 tara

I went to 3 stores yesterday to buy Panasonic FZ35 but it was sold out. I dont know it was good or bad but it definitely gave me some more time to think. Is it necessary for beginners to get a manual control camera or an automatic camera can also serve the purpose like Nikon L110 which is automatic and the picture quality is also good. I have these two cameras in my mind and I am wondering if going for a manual would be a big jump for a beginner like me? Please advise.

11:36 pm - Sunday, May 9, 2010

#160 Kiril

forget pentax x90 only between fujifilm finepih hs10 and nikon coolpx p100 help me choose

12:22 am - Monday, May 10, 2010

#161 Emil

Kiril, tara:

I now have both Fujifilm HS10 and Nikon P90 (P100 is the more complex version of P90).

COMMENTS
P90 (therefore P100) is fast (save JPEG files in less than 1sec), shoots well in A (automatic) mode in many situations, and is easy to handle (buttons, menus).  Both P90 and P100 should produce slightly better images than Nikon L110, but, IMO less detailed than HS10 (which borrows some ideas from these Nikon cameras).  But they use a proprietary rechargeable Nikon battery, not the easy to find everywhere in the world AA format.  P100 can recharge this battery in (I believe, not sure) and off camera, despite the fact the P100 is not sold (not sure, verify) with the external charger (P90 is, but does not recharge in camera).

CONCLUSION
If you can find it, buy a Nikon P90 (not P100) with an extra battery (charge overnight, have them both with you).  If the P90 cannot be found, buy a P100, and , in addition, the external charger (if not provided, verify) and an extra battery.
If you feel you must have the Panasonic, buy it from Amazon (Canada or USA) - lower prices on Amazon then in stores, but have in mind:  proprietary battery, not AA.  Also, based on what you say, you may never use the RAW file format offered by the Panasonic FZ35 (but not by Nikon P90/P100).  Both P100 and FZ35 shoot HD videos - you may like this.  I would choose Nikon over Panasonic simply because the LCD is larger (3” compared with 2.8”) and it is tiltable (can be oriented), and because of the larger zoom:  26X over 18X.
Last choice for you:  Canon SX10IS (I and my wife own it) or its successor SX20IS.  AA-batteries, 20X zoom, shoots very well in A mode.  Quite smooth and silent zoom.  Good pictures.  HD video on the SX20IS.

FINAL THOUGHT
Taking into consideration, your needs, I would buy a Nikon P100 with the following extras:  external charger MH-61 (if not supplied, verify !), extra battery (EN-EL5), carrying case.  Amazon or other online stores will almost always offer lower prices.  Good manual (in the box, not just PDF), excellent customer support, good pics !
I bought the HS10 simply because I wanted a non-DSLR that feels like a DSLR, and for some other features, which you may not need.

2:42 pm - Monday, May 10, 2010

#162 Kiril

Emil
Thank you for your detailed explanation,but anyway your first choice is fuji hs10.Finally the price difference between this two cameras is about 150 us$.Because I want the best non DSLR camera tell me hs10 or p100,or may be something else.Thank you very much

10:03 pm - Monday, May 10, 2010

#163 Emil

Kirik:

My first choice (between HS10 and P100) is neither camera, exactly.

I have the Canon Powershot SX10IS since 2008.  Also in 2008 I acquired a DSLR: the Nikon D90.
I have the Nikon Coolpix P90 since 2009.
I bought the Fujifilm Finepix HS10 recently, not because SX10IS and Nikon P90 cannot take good pictures, and even video in standard resolution.
I got the HS10 because of the DSLR feel.

I and my family use all of them depending on needs, which means photographic situation.
For vacations, we only used the P90 and the SX10IS.  Now we / I might take the HS10 in vacation.

P90 (consequently P100) is the lightest of them all.  SX10IS looks “more robust” compared with P90.  HS10IS is the biggest and more complicated of them all.

The correct so called “1st choice” for you (not for anyone else !) is not an absolute concept. It is something relative / connected to your personal needs.

Since, in a previous post you indicate you are a beginner, and, I assume you want some zoom power (more than 5X, if not, then the Canon G11 is the absolute best choice !), and something that can be handled properly (smaller and cheaper cameras do not even have a grip), I say:  with respect to ***your needs*** HS10 offers too much - too many options.  That is the reason I suggest P90 or P100.  Just make sure it comes with an external charger (or get one, as mentioned in my previous message) and, also, an additional battery (see previous post).

So,
- if 5X zoom is enough for you, choose Canon G11 (not S90).
- if you want more than 5x zoom, choose P100.
- if, right away you want (though not necessary) more, choose HS10.

10:56 pm - Monday, May 10, 2010

#164 Kiril

Emil
Thank you again for detailed answer.Best regards

11:11 pm - Monday, May 10, 2010

#165 tara

Emil-
only one question. If you read reviews for Nikon P100 in this forum you will not find anyone satisfied with this camera and mainly the picture quality. Have you used P100? Did you find any difference between P90 and P100?
Thanks

3:09 am - Tuesday, May 11, 2010

#166 luci

Kiril:

It depends what you expect from your camera. I bought this camera for the following reasons: good quality of images, high zoom, manual control and full hd video. I’m also a beginner like you. But I wanted a camera that I can “play” with, you know, touch all the “buttons”, learn how to use in manual mode… not just shoot automatic. And also wanted the full HD video feature. If you’re into that kind of stuff, this camera would be a good option for the beginning. Also, before buying this camera I read lots of reviews about cameras, but I also learned a little about the basics of photography. Here’s a link about some basic stuff: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Dt6AvJ7WZSI It’s the first result that comes out if you search for “photography tutorial” on youtube. This guy has a very nice way of explaining. For me it was very helpful.. hope it helps you. Peace.

4:14 am - Tuesday, May 11, 2010

#167 Kiril

Emil
Every product has buyers,even the worst one.Like I said I’am a beginner and I was just looking for an opinion from more professional photographers because every product has “pros” and “cons”, and finally 500 US$ is not a small sum for me.Best regards

9:19 am - Tuesday, May 11, 2010

#168 Kiril

Luci
Thank you for the link you send me I will watch all the tutorials.Also like you I want to learn but I was afraid of being lost in more complicated camera but with help from you and some other people I will take a chance with HS10.I was also thinking of Nikon P100.At last no one have learned to fly a plane from the first time.
Best regards

9:30 am - Tuesday, May 11, 2010

#169 Emil

- It is not possible to recommend one single camera for everybody.
- Some do not want to go beyond a certain $$$ threshold, others want something simple, easy to use - beginners.  Also, some, when they find out that not spending enough may lead them into buying a camera which may perform well, they decide to make a financial effort in order to get something better.
- I learnt photo basics by using 35mm SLRs and 6x6cm film based cameras, mostly without automatic exposure or focus.
- I do not have the Nikon P100, but, reading the specs from Nikon I concluded P100 is not expected to offer improved image quality over P90.  Why ?  Same sensor size, though upgraded from CCD to BSI-CMOS, similar lens, though more zoom (26X instead of 24X), and identical EXPEED image processor.
For a beginner, P90 offers enough.  P100 offers more features, but is not expected to improve the image quality.  P90 (and P100) is easy to use and handle, well designed, and performs fast, maybe faster than HS10.
- Panasonic FX35 received good reviews, I know.  Despite a similarly sized sensor, it is possible that their famous Leica optics conservatively limited to 18X helps deliver higher image quality, but the LCD is smaller:  non-adjustable 2.7” vs adjustable 3”, which may present an inconvenient to a beginner ...
- In terms of image quality and design, I say Canon G11 offers the highest possible image quality in this class, due a slightly larger sensor size and top image processor, DIGIC IV, but is limited to 5X zoom, and is priced higher, close to HS10.  In addition to the fully movable (rotating) LCD, the G11 has a true optical viewfinder (different from EVF), which professional like.  Pros also like direct access control buttons, not controls accessed via menus, and Histograms when composing (before they take) the shot.  G11 offers this.
- HS10 attempts to incorporate a lot from the above mentioned cameras and more, such as manual zoom and more direct access buttons to key functions (most DSLRs are like this). I am using it now, and I like it in terms of image quality (again, do not compare with a DSLR).
- So, if the price is acceptable, and the apparent complexity does not scare, then, go with HS10.  I only wish this HS10 had a larger sensor, similar to the G11 ... though this might have upped the price ...
- Speaking of the Panasonic FX35 - if I wanted Leica;s legendary optics, I would consider a Leica camera.  Unfortunately, these Leicas are priced higher than many good DSLRs ...

4:22 pm - Tuesday, May 11, 2010

#170 Emil

Suggested reading for a beginner:

“Digital Photography - The Missing Manual” by David Pogue, c2009 O’Reilly Media.

David Pogue, an Emmy winning CBS News reporter, is the weekly tech columnist for the New York Times.

4:37 pm - Tuesday, May 11, 2010

#171 Emil

tara,

The short answer is:  I have not used P100.  IMO P90 is not a disappointment, but P100 could be (different object).

5:54 pm - Tuesday, May 11, 2010

#172 Kim

I’ve read every comment on this blog, but still I hesitate.  I’m torn between the HS-10 and the S200 EXR.  I’ve used mid-range P&S’s in the past, but I’ve outgrown my old Olympus and really want to expand and explore. I was set to buy the Panasonic FX35 but stumbled upon these 2 Fuji’s and the manual options swayed me immediately.  The zoom capabilities of the HS10 really appeal to me, but I’m wondering if the S200 doesn’t produce a higher quality image - especially with it’s D-Range priority mode - of which I know only what I’ve read.  Any guidance would be much appreciated.

8:44 pm - Tuesday, May 11, 2010

#173 Emil

” I’ve read every comment on this blog, but still I hesitate ... “

I own neither the S200EXR or the FX35, but have inspecetd their manuals.  I own the HS10.

S200EXR offers Dynamic Range Bracketing: 100%, 200%, 400%.  HS10 offers other kinds of bracketing (see manual), however it implements this feature “discretized”: it allows the user to select either of the 3 ranges: 100%, 200%, 400%.

While inspecting the manual for S200EXR I could not find what you refer to as “D-range priority mode”.  Is this a shooting mode like “Aperture priority” or “Shutter priority”, or, in fact it is what I indicate above, namely Dynamic Range Bracketing, as described by the manual ?

In term of image quality, I suspect the quality is similar, ... but you want to be close to 100% sure, I understand.  I could offer you several web-links (see, for instance the 2 links at message #144 for HS10), however, you may find everything if you Google “Panoramio HS10”, or “Picasa HS10”, or “HS10 image quality”, or “S200EXR sport images…”, or “S200EXR vs HS10”, or, ...  Try Google in several languages, as I did, not only in English.  Photographers are everywhere !

2:26 am - Wednesday, May 12, 2010

#174 Kim

Emil - Thanks.  Yes, I did mean the Dynamic Range Bracketing.  I am browsing various Google searches as we speak. . .  in English, which, sadly, is all I speak.  :)

3:17 am - Wednesday, May 12, 2010

#175 tara

Thankyou all for your replies and reviews that helped me a lotin chosing my camera. I bought Nikon P90 today. And as Emil suggested I checked for the proprietary battery,external battery charger etc. As I had already made up my mind for P90 it took not more than 15 mins in the store. Cant wait to start clicking my camera tomorrow….

3:26 am - Wednesday, May 12, 2010

#176 Emil

” Thankyou all for your replies and reviews ... “

Sugestions:

- Get an additional battery (use one - charge one, or charge them both overnight), a memory card (say, Sandisk 8GB class 4 or 6 - these numbers are written on the card), and a (Lowepro ...) protective case.
- Use the manual in the box (Nikon does better here than Canon), and ... David Pogue’ book (see post #170) - an excellent introduction to digital photography (explains most critical concepts).

- Some good settings, to begin with:  set the ISO (“film” / sensor sensitivity to 64-400, the image quality to “Fine”, the image size to “4000x3000”, the white balance to “auto”, the metering to “center-weighted”, the auto-focus to “single”, and, perhaps, the auto-bracketing to “+/-0.3)”.  Bracketing will “tell” the camera to take 3 shots each time you press the shutter: normal exposure, under exposure, overexposure - once on screen, on your computer, choose the best image.  All these settings may be changed later on.
- Try full auto shooting mode (“the green” pictogram), P (program mode), A (aperture priority), ...
- Compose the picture with the zoom using the LCD or EVF (which I prefer), half-press the shutter to establish and lock-in the exposure and focus (you’ll hear a short signal), then, gently full-press the shutter.

  - Enjoy !

4:23 am - Wednesday, May 12, 2010

#177 Emil

... Sorry for revisiting the previous post:

Basic stuff:  Before using the camera (any camera), attach the camera strap AND the lens cap strap, as shown in the manual.

4:47 am - Wednesday, May 12, 2010

#178 Momo King

Dear all
I have read most of the comments that are posted here.  Some of them are very positive but at the same time, some are very negative.
I live in HK and I want to buy this camera.  In HK, we can not return the camera after 1 week.  I have to be sure if this is the right camera for me or not.
Many of you have suggested that don’t compare this camera with a DSLR camera, you will be very happy.
But HS10 look and feel like a DSLR camera in many ways.  It is quite hard for me not to compare it with a DSLR camera.
My main concern is also SPEED. I have tried HS10 in a shop once with a normal SD card.  I think I will go to the shop and try the camera with a 30X SD card.  If I am happy with the saving time, I will buy this for sure.  Have anyone try HS10 with a 20X or a 30X SD card?
I will let you guys know the result later this month.

8:25 am - Wednesday, May 12, 2010

#179 Delmar

For those who might compare Fuji’s HS10 with a DSLR, I suggest checking prices at http://Canon.com. A good DSLR body + 2-3 lenses (up to 800mm) costs around $15,000. That’s enough to get any pixel counter’s attention! You might also add the cost of a wheelbarrow to lug around 10-12 pounds of that DSLR equipment. (The HS10 weighs approximately 1 1/2 pounds).

I just received my new HS10 (less than $500) and am absolutely delighted! “Quick” is the operative word to describe the BSI-CMOS sensor,compared with any CCD sensor. The quality of photos, using only factory default settings, seems outstanding! No one has yet mentioned the 24mm wide angle. It’s really great and seems to be almost completely distortion-free.

In post #153 I described my needs for an internal flash which produced as excellent results as my old Fuji S5000 ‘intelligent’ flash. Fuji’s HS10 flash is not just ‘intelligent’ it’s INCREDIBLE—close-up or zoomed-out, at night or in poorly lit ballrooms, full flash or fill—flash is not only fast-fcocusing, it seems almost foolproof.

An earlier post urged putting on the strap and lens cover right out-of-the box. Good advice. Honestly, the hardest thing about setting up my new HS10 was putting on the strap. Using the default and SP Auto settings produced some really great photos and should work really well for beginners, novices and professionals alike.

While the Electronic Viewfinder (EVF) is mighty small compared with the Canon SX1 (which also has a BSI CMOS sensor), I can live with it for about $150 less than the Canon. Also, having the EVF turn on and the LCD turn off when you put the camera to your eye is really a neat trick.

After 7 years since Consumer Reports gave Fuji (S5000) it’s top rating for super-zooms, I’ll be surprised if the HS10 doesn’t beat out all competitors this fall.  :-)

5:53 pm - Wednesday, May 12, 2010

#180 Emil

Delmar,

I agree with most of what you say, and have a few Qs:

1.
Which of the photos/albums of your large Picasa collection were taken with your HS10 ?

2.
In his recent post Momo King from HK says something about speed (shot-to-shot times). i.e. how fast is the HS10 writing its files.  Based on your experience, how fast is this camera writing a single maximum size-resolution JPEG, a triplet JPEG (AE bracketing), one RAW, several RAWS ?  Assume a class 4 or 6 or 10 memory card.

6:15 pm - Wednesday, May 12, 2010

#181 graeme

Momo King,

My HS10 was bought in HK. Chung Yuen had a good deal going where I got the camera plus 8GB Transcend Class 6 SDHC card plus Fuji camera case for HKD 3560.

I have just measured the shot processing times between 1/2 pressed shutter ‘til when the LCD comes back to life for a JPEG only = about 1.5 secs, plus another 1 sec until it is fully saved to the card.

Before you buy I would suggest to you that you take some photos of grass, trees, foliage etc in JPEG-only mode in the 24-135mm range and see if you are happy with the detail you get (needs to be viewed on a computer screen). I am seeing quite some smearing of the detail with my camera, and this is after the firmware 1.01 update. I hope this will be corrected in later updates, otherwise I may have a faulty camera, but other users have reported this effect also.

More processing times below:

Emil,

More details about processing times (from 1/2 pressed shutter to fully saved):

JPEG only AE bracket (3 shots) = 9 secs
1 RAW = 5 secs
RAW AE bracket = 17 secs
RAW burst shooting (6 shots) = 23 secs

This is for my camera. I don’t know if this is typical or not.

9:16 pm - Wednesday, May 12, 2010

#182 Emil

Using my HS10 I timed about 1sec for 1 JPEG and about 3sec for 3 JPEGs (AE bracketing).  3-4sec for 1 RAW.

As I have already said, I do like the camera, because of the DSLR feel.  I see enough details both in the shadows and in the highlights.  I only used 100% dynamic range.  I’ll do a comparison shooting sequence:  10%, 200%, 400%.  I expected longer writing times, and I do not consider this a negative.  The only “negatives”, which could have been eliminated: allow for external iTTL flash, and make sure Adobe Photoshop supports the RAW files as soon as the camera hits the market.
—-
http://www.pbase.com/middlehill/hs10_sample_photos_of_snapshot
http://www.pbase.com/middlehill/hs10_night_shots

12:21 am - Thursday, May 13, 2010

#183 Emil

For those who hate the Nikon P100 solely based on its its reviews, here’s “a comparison”:  Nikon D3 vs Nikon P100:
http://www.digitalcamerareview.com/default.asp?newsID=4348

12:31 am - Thursday, May 13, 2010

#184 zebarnabe

About prices for equivalent DSLR system offering more quality…

I select Canon 550D, it has full HD, 18MP sensor… and ends up being quite cheap when compared with 7D… costs around 700€ body only

About lens… Canon EF-S 15-85mm IS USM (around 800€) for general usage, has a good wide equivalent to 24mm… and tele goes to an equivalent of 136mm, has estabilisation and a silent and fast USM to focus, quality wise this is one of the best canon non L lens

For macro… Canon EF 100mm f/2.8 MACRO USM (around 520€) ... prime (equivalent to 160mm), good max aperture f/2.8, macro 1:1 (minimum focal distance of 30cm) and USM again, not stabilized though…

For Tele ... Canon EF-S 70-200mm f/4L USM (around 700€) ... constant maximum aperture of f/4, L lens, equivalent to 112-320mm ... a tripod is very recomended… a version with stabilization costs 1100€, a version with f/2.8 withou stabilization 1250€ and the old f/2.8 and stabilization are 1800€, the last version with f/2.8 and new optical stabilized system costs 2500€ *ouch*

Tele converter ... Canon EF 1.4X II ... around 400€, good quality, you loose 1-stop tele-zoom of 70-200mm goes to 98-280mm (equivalent of 157-448mm)

Cheap low light… Canon EF 50mm f/1,8 II (around 120€) .... prime, equivalent to 80mm on 550D aperture f/1,8, it’s a bit noisy, but not very slow at focusing…

If i’ve not made the math wrong and selecting the cheapest stuff the total is… 3240€ .... *ouch*

What does this setup offers?
- Macro 1:1
- Wide 24mm
- Telezoom of 806mm (when image is cropped to 10MP)
- f/1.8 for low light
- FullHD Videos with external micro
- +3fps shooting
- Suberb image quality (but quite dependant of the lens you use)
- Very detailed LCD image
- Excelent exposure metering system

The question is .... HS10 offers a lot of this for quite less… it costs 380€ around here. For many HS10 is more than enough… but ... when one wants a litte more, be ready to spend a lot more…

Now…. I would love a compact camera with all the features of the DSLR system above xD - except for image quality (that could be lower… and cheaper)

12:46 pm - Thursday, May 13, 2010

#185 Jack

I have purchased this camera for my recent New Zealand trip and I am very satisfied with its performance,(apart from its short battery life of course). I guess whether one takes good pictures depends a lot on ones photo skills.  Tiger Woods can still beat me even if he uses broomsticks instead of golf clubs!!

3:12 pm - Thursday, May 13, 2010

#186 Emil

” If i’ve not made the math wrong and selecting the cheapest stuff the total is… 3240€ ....”

Do not forget the VAT !  In Portugal the VAT is 20%, therefore the amount you actually pay for this package is about 3888 EUR, but, as you said, sometimes when you pay more you get more;  indeed, in terms of image quality Canon 550D (T2i) is similar with the more expensive Canon 7D.

4:21 pm - Thursday, May 13, 2010

#187 zebarnabe

Well… i DID account for VAT… however since my country is ‘near’ bankruptcy VAT will be increased to 22% ... and income will remain the same (if not reduced!) for the next years… so ... i think the 380€ (370€ in the cheapest store ... a bit far from my town) HS10 will have to do it… all things considered it costs less than most lens for a DSLR…

Fun times this ones…. i think i’ll move to another country >_>

10:57 pm - Thursday, May 13, 2010

#188 Emil

” 380€ (370€ in the cheapest store ... HS10 “

380 EUR (VAT included) looks nice !  Can you really get it at this price ?

FNAC, the famous store in Paris lists the HS10 for 429 EUR.  AMAZON DE (Deutschland) sells it for 479 EUR, and AMAZON FR (France) sells it for 429 EUR.  VAT included, I hope.  Converted at today’s exchange rate, 429 EUR = 538 USD.  In the US you can buy the HS10 now for 459 USD from the reputable B&H in Manhattan, New York City.  If you buy it online from another state you avoid the 8.875% sales tax.  The shipping charge is around 10 USD.

2:34 am - Friday, May 14, 2010

#189 zebarnabe

2 online stores have it listed at 368.40€ and 383.40€ ... they don’t have stock information (and they both have the same front-end website)... and i don’t know how reliable they are with online selling… luckily for me Portugal is a small country, so i may pass by near one and go check them…

More reliable stores (at least that can be call reliable) have it listed around 410€ (a little less and a litte more for some) ... the more expensive one has it at 474€ >_> that same store has Canon 550D priced at a average market price and lens at a good price…

My country has lots of issues with selling electronic products ... you can find them cheap or… very, VERY expensive - it’s almost impossible to find a panasonic seller with good prices - GH1 at 1800€ >_> now at 1600€ with some stores at 1390€ ... some less reliable stores have it cheaper… but i would avoid them…

PS: ironically my captcha for this post is ‘waiting’ and that’s exactly what i’m doing..

9:40 am - Friday, May 14, 2010

#190 Taras

hi,
I’ve really read most of the posted comments here,and i am interested of buying this camera.But i have already 3 questions:
1)whats the saving speed of 1 JPEG file to transcend 10 class.
2)how long does the battery life?and which batterys you prefer from all that stuff.
3)Contunious mode?how does it looks like….i mean you push shoot button,and it already takes 7 photos….or its diffrent

thanks)

5:12 pm - Friday, May 21, 2010

#191 zebarnabe

I ordered the camera yesterday, i still don’t have it because stock is very limited, but from what i’ve read in some foruns i’ll try to answer your questions:
1) Class 10 card will give you none advantage when compared with a proper Class 6 card, user measurements show a top recording speed of a bit more than 5MB/s (usually around 4MB/s) ... that’s less than a Class 6 card… taking in consideration how much each file takes one can easily see that a fine JPEG takes around a second to record, and a normal JPEG takes a bit under that time. It’s a sluggish camera, but i don’t mind… it would be great if it had an buffering option that allowed one to continue shooting until buffer fills (after all continuous mode can be cancelled, but sadly you can’t take more shots until the ones taken are recorded), but i doubt any firmware upgrade will enable that…

2) Battery life is heavily dependent of batteries
you use, i would use the standard NiMH with 2100-2500mAh, if you use the camera for unexpected moments some Hybrio’s from uniross or Eneloop’s from Sanyo are quite nice since they will hold the charge even when stored for months. Depending of batteries capacity and camera usage you can get more than 500 shots per charge (but most users report around 300)... however video features eat batteries quite fast… Another good idea is to spend some money in a good charger, will be a bit costly but will charge the batteries properly and will make them give the cycles stated, effectively cutting the costs in new batteries. (Also, some rapid chargers might damage your batteries - or even blow them up)

3) There are several modes to my understanding, there is the standard continuous mode, where you press the shutter and it starts taking the photos at 7,5 or 3 fps (i don’t know if there are more speed selections) - it won’t refocus at each shot, so… stuff moving away or towards you may not come in proper focus. There are another 2 continuous shotting methods, i believe they are called Best 7 and Top 7, in one of them (i don’t know which) it starts taking shots when you half press the shutter button, but it will erase the older ones taken until you fully press… i think it is customizable in how many are taken after the full press…

I hope it helps…. for any technical stuff about the camera check the manual available in fujifilm’s website… i had read it more than a week ago.

Another thing to have in mind, firmware 1.0.2 will come soon, some users that sent cameras to support had them back with it… currently only 1.0.1 is available…

11:25 pm - Friday, May 21, 2010

#192 Kiril

where can I find this camera in Europe?

11:45 pm - Saturday, May 22, 2010

#193 Emil

” where can I find this camera in Europe? “

Buying, in general (in Europe in particular) depends on shopping preferences: in the store only, online (where prices are expected to be lower), but it also depends on your location: Eastern Europe (European Union or not), very Eastern Europe (where the HS10 may not be available at all), Southern Eastern Europe (same comment as before), Central-Western Europe, Northern Europe, very Western Europe.

If buying online is no object (why not, since you already know what you want), consider reputable places, such as Amazon FR (France), Amazon DE (Deutschland), Amazon UK (United Kingdom).  If you find yourself in Paris, consider Fnaq - the store that closes at midnight is conveniently located on Les Champs Elysees not far away from L’Arc de Triomphe.  Reliable !  They also sell online.

Any major European city should have a reliable store offering the HS10.

2:31 am - Sunday, May 23, 2010

#194 bobolink

I bought this a month ago and have yet to get one good photo. Do not buy this camera.

Bob

7:08 pm - Sunday, May 23, 2010

#195 odense

- Do not buy this camera -

Instead, buy Panasonic Lumix FZ8, 35, etc, right ?

7:24 pm - Sunday, May 23, 2010

#196 Eleanor Maw

I have been looking everywhere for a HS-10 and no one has this camera in stock, I am now looking for an alternative camera, maybe someone can recommend an alternative.

9:07 am - Monday, May 24, 2010

#197 zebarnabe

It’s available in Portugal, however, most of the stores report limited stock or re-stocking….

For prices and availability i use kuantokusta.com ... it has european prices for Portugal, Spain, France, UK and Italy… usually countries have other less international websites.

I ordered mine and the seller told me to count with a week of waiting…

If one likes to check image at a pixel level, this might not be the best camera… ...for me images at 6MP are more than enough, so reduced images look better…

In a bit more nerdy and technical point, the reason why HS10 looks so soft at some focal lengths it’s because lens suffer from severe distortion and in camera corrections have to stretch quite a bit in some zones… this is specially evident at wide angle…

However, color reproduction and ISO noise are quite good on this camera (considering the sensor size)

9:28 am - Monday, May 24, 2010

#198 George Benedek

I’ve been using my HS 10 for about a month now, and I’m very pleased with it.
I also own and use a Canon D50, as well as the cute Pentax K-x in white, but the HS 10 was bought as an all-around camera that is easy to carry and has lots of features.
The huge zoom range is great to have, and once you have it, you’ll use the extreme zoom quite often.
How many times have you seen a great shot, only to not bother because it’s too far away?
No such problems with the HS-10.
Using the anti-shake, even at extreme zoom, hand-held photos still come out much better than you would expect.
I must admit that my first few photos weren’t as good as I had hoped for, but now having gotten the adjustments just right, the photos are superb.
But even better than the photos, are the HD videos.
They are mouth watering with fantastic detail and glorious colour, and are almost as good to my eye as my much more expensive Sony HD video camera, but with a lot less hassle to watch and download onto the computer.
I use the HS 10 to take a lot of product shots for my business, which are mainly used on the web, as well as printed catalogues, and the shots look great giving lots of good details.
I used to use the Canon for these shots, but I find the HS 10 shots look almost identitcal on the screen, so I’m now using the Fuji almost exclusively for these shots.
It’s obvious that extreme zoom lenses like this one will not work at their very best at their extremes, but if you back it off just a little from either of the extremes, the photos are gorgeous.
We have been using cheap Fuji cameras here at work for many years, and one of the cameras has taken over 200,000 shots, and is still working perfectly, so Fujis are very tough and reliable cameras - at least that is my experience with them.
Obviously you can’t compare a good SLR with this camera, although as I said earlier, on the screen, the results are very similar.
An SLR is really only required if you are going to print them in a very large size, and how often do you print posters?

In my humble opinion, this is a great camera for everyday use, and the features are really good and easy to use too.
I’ve even used the slow motion video (120fps)for explanatery movies for work, and although the quality is certainly not HD, it is quite sufficient to give you a reasonable result.

I give it a 9 out of 10.

7:41 am - Thursday, May 27, 2010

#199 Emil

A second firmware update is available now:

http://www.fujifilm.com/support/digital_cameras/software/firmware/s/finepix_hs10/fupd.html

Also, read (with extreme caution !) the review on CNET (which seems to like, by definition, Canon):
http://reviews.cnet.com/digital-cameras/fujifilm-finepix-hs10/4505-6501_7-33966391.html?tag=mncol;lst;1

As mentioned before, for me, the only real minus of the HS10 is the absence of external TTL flash support - the hot-shoe accepts flash units working in manual mode only.  As is the case with some other Fujifilm cameras in the past, the company should not have forgotten to install a hot-shoe allowing iTTT SB flash units from Nikon.

12:06 pm - Friday, May 28, 2010

#200 Tony

HS10 formatting of SDHC card ... dangerous?

A new SDHC card had been used before, but only by the HS10 to store its own images. And of course the camera could read the card and display the stored images.

Yesterday I used the HS10 to format that same SDHC card.The few images already there were just test shots. No attempt at that time had been made to transfer images to a computer.

After the camera performed the format I took a few more pictures and then tried to transfer the images from the card to the computer. Big surprise! Neither my Windows XP system nor my iMac OS X (10.6) would read the data. Both operating systems are “up to date”, by the way.

The Apple just refused to recognize what it apparently to be something unknown on a usb port, and didn’t open it .  The Windows system “saw” the usb device but then froze (went into an unending “loop) when it attempted to open the SDHC “drive”

Today I took pictures with the HS10, using a brand new memory card. No format was performed on that card. Camera works fine with the card and the computers both happily load data from it.

SO ... looks like having the HS10 format a memory card may be a serious error.

If any of you have had a similar experience, OR have had a camera=formatted card readable by your computer, please say so.

At this point I have no idea what went wrong.

11:24 pm - Sunday, May 30, 2010

Entry Tags

hd video, hd, 3 inch LCD, 1080p, wide-angle, manual, super-zoom, RAW, fujifilm, 24mm, 10fps, finepix, fuji, 30x zoom, Fujifilm FinePix HS10 Review, hs 10, hs10

Tracker Pixel for Entry