Fujifilm FinePix HS10 Review

4.5
April 14, 2010 | Mark Goldstein |

Your Comments

466 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#301 graeme

Doug,

if you hold down the DISP/BACK button while you turn the camera on, it will display the current firmware version. Could you pls do that and report back.

thx a lot!

4:46 pm - Monday, September 6, 2010

#302 Doug Sinnott

Re query today about checking the version of my Firmware.

I have previously confirmed what Firmware is on my HS10,Version 3!
AND it was installed by Fuji at the end of August by their Repair Dept.
AND do know how to check it,thank you all the same!
I have asked them to confirm what it’s designed to improve,so I’ll let you know!

It must be in existence somewhere if Fuji Repair Dept.have installed it,unless it was just a one-off to fix my problem.
Although,unfortunately, the battery “low charge” warning symbol has returned again,after 10 minutes of use,despite installing fully charged batteries!
The camera still goes on functioning for several days despite the warning symbol,so it’s obvious ly still faulty,despite the update.
I dare say some people mightn’t even know there has been a second Firmware update,let alone a possibility of a third!
The Firmware V2 definitely improved the camera,and is well worth installing,although only more experienced users might notice the differences,but the V3 Firmware I have(apart from the battery symbol)has made a good camera even better,especially the focussing!

7:02 pm - Monday, September 6, 2010

#303 Doug Sinnott

Following the query about the exact appearance of the Firmware description on the rear screen of my HS10,I NOW see what you’re getting at!

You’re quite right,although the version now installed indeed seems to be the third Firmware issue for the HS10,(despite,apparently,Fuji UK denying it’s existence!)it is NOT shown as “V3” on my screen,it’s shown as Version 1.03,following on from previous versions V1.01,then,in April, V1.02.
I hope that corrects any misunderstanding!
This might explain why Fuji are denying the existance of a “V3” Firmware update,when asked,but there should be a “V1.03” somewhere,as I have definitely got it!
Apologies again if I’ve misled you!

Remember “V1.03” NOT “V3”!!!

Doug

7:20 pm - Monday, September 6, 2010

#304 graeme

I think what threw us off is your description of your firmware as Version 3. The nomenclature that Fuji uses is:  VERSION: 1.00 (original), upgraded to 1.01, then 1.02 (current)

This is why I am curious what the camera shows when you apply the test procedure. Is it 1.03 ?

7:46 pm - Monday, September 6, 2010

#305 graeme

Thanks Doug,

I didnt refresh my webpage before typing my previous post. Sorry about that!

Fuji Germany told me that version 1.02 was the latest.

7:50 pm - Monday, September 6, 2010

#306 Doug Sinnott

In reply,

Yes, it is Vers 1.03,NOT Vers 1.01 or Vers 1.02!

I don’t care what Fuji say,that’s what’s on my HS10.
If you send me your e-mail address via .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address),I will send you a photo of my LCD confirming this,and you can take it up with Fuji if you like.
I don’t really understand why Fuji are denying that such a version exists,
Doug

8:44 pm - Monday, September 6, 2010

#307 Mick

I have only tried for 3 days and was highly delighted.
One big problem yet to be overcome and I know not where to gain information is what Edit unit to use.  I have a Nero 9 and 10, 10 not impressed with and wont buy but neither will give sound when useing the HS10 and very slow plus other things. I have a full HD camera as in panasonic which I can edit with great acheivements during the last two years.

7:20 pm - Tuesday, September 7, 2010

#308 zebarnabe

@Mick,

High-speed captures doesn’t have sound on HS10…

I don’t own a HS10 but i tried some video samples and they are just simple H.264 in a MOV container…. a very heavy compress algorithm for video editing… You need not only the right software, but hardware as well…

I also have a FullHD Panasonic ... the GH1 ... editing those video streams encoded in H.264 is a pain, mainly because the 60 interlaced frames, I sugest you recode the video into a more edit friendly result ... you’ll lose some quality, but workflow will be a lot faster

10:12 am - Wednesday, September 8, 2010

#309 Mick

Hello Zebarnabe.  Thanks for information.  It does seem a most bazar situation that manufacturers don’t give more information and recomendations regarding editing as without it to me it makes the camera of little value.  I do have clips so will wait regarding purchaseing or not.  The shop I wish to use has also said they will make enquiries.  I will keep in touch.

Mick.

3:34 pm - Wednesday, September 8, 2010

#310 Doug Sinnott

Mick,
Reding Zebarnabe’s comments about editing,(as clear as mud to me)I’m sure i read on the site somewhere from one of his posts,he doesn’t posess either a Fuji HS10,or in fact a digital camera!
I wouldn’t therefore think he could really make informed comments about the HS10,if he’s never used one!
Also,if you’re really into film making,I would think a proper full-blown modern video camera would be a better bet.
The HS10 is surely designed mainly for photos,with the ability to make good quality shortish HD video clips should you wish.
Video has never really interested me,but short clips are quite good fun sometimes!

Also,re the Firmware version installed by Fuji on my camera,following it being returned to their repair department,I have now been told that the version 1.03 is actually Firmware specifically designed by Fuji technicians,to fix a problem on a particular cameraand is NOT available to the general public as a download.

5:42 pm - Wednesday, September 8, 2010

#311 Mick

Hello Doug.
Thank you.
(Also,if you’re really into film making,I would think a proper full-blown modern video camera would be a better bet>
If a camera is capable of takeing Photos and videos of whatever strength then I fail to see why there should not be a editing system to fit and a computer system that can do this.  For me to get slow motion, 30 magnification, View finder etc at the same price I would say is impossible.  I have had for some 2 years a Panasonic HDCSD5 of which I enjoy but has no view finder, the stills are terrible and lacks other things the HS 10 has.I am a pure ametuer but still love the whole picture takeing.  Money of course is a big factor.
Kind Regards
Mick

7:46 pm - Wednesday, September 8, 2010

#312 doug sinnott

Well,Mick,
You’re never going to get everything in any camera,and I think Fuji have tried their best with the HS10,but perhaps there may be an editing programn out there somewhere for your video masterpieces.
Meanwhile,enjoy your HS10,and your photography!
And I suggest zebarnabe goes out and actually takes a few digital photographs(of course he’ll need a camera first!}and then perhaps we’ll take more notice of his comments,once we can work out what he means,as I think he tries to blind us with science!
Good luck Doug

11:55 pm - Wednesday, September 8, 2010

#313 Mick

Thanks Doug.
After takeing some copies on my chip I returned the camera and had a full refund.  I will go back to them should I get my problem solved they were top class with me.  I have been in touch 3 times with Fuji asking if they can help me with this problem and of course at the moment deregistering the returned unit,  as yet no returned ancnowledgement or help,  makes you think doesn’t it about the firm.  I still at the moment like the camera.  Nero had all details given to them on Monday but as yet no reply,  I have asked for return payment on the Nero 10, I still have the 9 from 2 years ago, this morning they asked for another severn days to try and see what can be done.
I hope my information is of help to others when considering purchaseing the HS 10.  I will keep in touch with any progress.

Mick.

9:46 am - Thursday, September 9, 2010

#314 zebarnabe

@Doug Sinnott,

I only tried HS10 on store… I’ve seen many samples of what it can do… regarding video, i don’t have much experience with it, but i know enough to understand that codecs like H.264 are a pain to edit… recoding the video stream is a good idea if one’s PC is not fast enough for live edit…

I do own a Panasonic Lumix DMC-GH1 with both 14-140mm kit lens and 20mm f/1.7 (and before that i owned both an analog era Glitt 35mm and Nikon F401x - any of those from the 80’s - and a 3MP digital camera - from the 90’s :/)...
While i don’t own GH1 for a long time, perhaps why you read that, i’ve taken more than 10K photos with it and made several hours of video footage…

My flickr photostream:
http://www.flickr.com/photos/41967279@N05/

I do agree that a dedicated camcorder is better for video… but when one is in a budget or simply doesn’t seek the quality one offers, cameras like HS10 are more than enough… specially if there is some interest in hi-speed video footage

10:05 am - Thursday, September 9, 2010

#315 Raj N

Doug, any chance you can check if they fixed the bug where the camera forgets the BSS and Top-7 settings when toggling between photo and preview?

Thanks

5:00 pm - Sunday, September 12, 2010

#316 dougsinnott

I don’t know what BSS means!

Once “top 7” is selected,and you’ve taken your pictures,the camera will automatically return to single mode.
This is not a “bug” the camera is working correctly.

As regards my “low battery” symbol,this only happened when I set battery type to “lithium” in the set up menu,when I had fitted lithium rechargeables.
Now,I’ve found,when using lithium rechargeables,if I then select “NiMh” instead,the symbol disappears!

9:33 pm - Sunday, September 12, 2010

#317 Raj N

By BSS, I was referring to the Best Shot Selector or Best Frame Capture.

The Top-7 and Best Frame Capture are buggy because the camera should remember the setting when switching back from the Preview mode to Photo mode. There are many members on the Fuji Forum on DPReview who agree.

When you shoot in one of these modes, you would typically want to preview what you you’ve shot than go back and shoot some more. It doesn’t make much sense to have to go through and re-select all the settings.

Thanks

10:39 pm - Sunday, September 12, 2010

#318 dougsinnott

I don’t agree.

I think it’s perfectly normal to revert back to single shot,as all my previous Fuji’s have worked like this,and stops you leaving it in “top 7”,etc,in error.
It’s Not a “bug”,despite what the navel gazers on DP Review might think.
As these multi frame pictures take a while to process,if left in this mode by default,you can’t then use the camera,until processing finishes.
You could then miss an important shot.
It only takes a moment to revert back to a multi
Shot mode,if you still need it.

10:56 pm - Sunday, September 12, 2010

#319 Capt haridasan

From the review I did not see any comments on battery. Is it using alkaline rechargeable batteries? Is it then a disadvantage?

7:00 am - Thursday, September 16, 2010

#320 dougsinnott

You can’t get alkaline rechargeable,only standard type(not very good in cameras),but NiMH are fine,and should last about 300 shots,

9:00 am - Thursday, September 16, 2010

#321 T0nt0b0b

@ dougsinnott

Check out Sanyo Eneloops - got them in my HS10 and they are good at holding charge when the camera’s not in use (I’m not a techy but they do me fine!).  Pretty reasonable on price too from Amazon UK but remember to order the correct adapter for your country ;)

(http://www.amazon.co.uk/Sanyo-Eneloop-Charger-Inc-Batteries/dp/B000N64EL2/ref=sr_1_6?ie=UTF8&s=electronics&qid=1284673869&sr=8-6)

10:54 pm - Thursday, September 16, 2010

#322 al.zippo

I’m using Sanyo Eneloops 2000mAh Ni-MH(about 700 photos and 30% of them with lamp). I’m also using charger BC 700 http://cgi.ebay.com/Crosse-BC-700-AlphaPower-Battery-Charger-Analyzer-/320587654949?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item4aa4836725

10:03 pm - Thursday, September 23, 2010

#323 Wyn

As a beginner interested in bird phitigraphy ( the feathered kind) could I ask someone what this firmware upgrade for the HS10 ia all about and whether new cameras will have this upgrade and whether downloading it could go wrong

5:26 pm - Saturday, September 25, 2010

#324 Doug Sinnott

You should have firmware version v1.02 on your HS10.
It improved certain features on the camera.

To check your version,turn your camera off,hold down the “display” button,and turn it on again.
It will show you then what version you have.
If you need to update your HS10,go to the Fuji UK website,click on digital cameras/downloads and manuals,enter your camera details,and click on HS10 firmware update 1.02.
Then follow the intructions.
Or you can return the camera to Fuji UK (ring their helpline)

10:46 pm - Sunday, September 26, 2010

#325 clif

I’ve had a lot of digital cameras over the years including the canon sx5,sx10 and sx20. I’ve also had the fuji s5000, 5100, 5200 and the very nice s6000fd. I bought the s100fs fuji but it was a load to carry around and had horrible video so I sold it. I liked the canons, last one being the sx20 but do not like a power zoom lens and the camera is heavy for it’s size and is a little awkward to hold, needs the small hands of a child. I just received my new hs10 and am looking forward to using it. Just looking at it and handling it, lighter than the canon and a much better grip and that great looking manual zoom.

7:35 am - Saturday, October 2, 2010

#326 crowing high

All i can say is im glad i sold my fuji on ebay.
My sons $90 compact dose a much much better job at 4x optical zoom as far as image quality goes.

10:30 pm - Saturday, October 2, 2010

#327 Water Man Brett

I think i agree with crowing high.I bought my HS10 last month and prefer not to use it anymore.My cheap lumix dmc with 4x optical does a better overall job on photo quality.
Tested the fuji over and over to see if im at fault for not using it properly but my conclusion is i did my best with it.Taken 2500 photos with it so far and not one is to my expectation.I rate this cam 3/10..

10:39 pm - Saturday, October 2, 2010

#328 adi moerti

i bought my HS10 3 month ago, until now so far so good, im satisfied with 30x optical zoom n video full HD, not bad

3:31 pm - Sunday, October 3, 2010

#329 Doug Sinnott

Re Waterman Brett
I can’t really see anybody taking 2500 photos in a month,or 600 a week,nearly 100 images a day!
And no decent images at the end of it all!
Slight exaggeration,surely! `I think you may be right,perhaps you’re not using the camera properly!
Perhaps you should sit down with the manual again!
You’re rating of 3/10 is not a fair asessment of a camera like the HS10,perhaps it’s best you stick to a simpler compact(horses for courses perhaps!)

4:56 pm - Sunday, October 3, 2010

#330 adi moerti

yes ! i agree with Doug Sinnott, my rating for Finepix HS10, 8/10 , awesome superzoom n excellent for low light

5:21 pm - Sunday, October 3, 2010

#331 Doug Sinnott

Reading some of these comments can be a revelation!
Some commentators have not even used the HS10,just read about it,and yet give it disparaging reviews,others bang on about the dreaded “noise” in pictures,although hardly noticeable below 800 ISO anyway on my A4 pictures.
With some people,because it’s not a Canon,or Nikon,it’s not even worth considering the HS10,which is a very shortsighted attitude.
Others seem complete novices,and seem all too ready to think the camera’s at fault,instead of their own inability to take their time to learn how to use the HS10 properly.

10:07 pm - Sunday, October 3, 2010

#332 Gian Karlo

I just bought this camera, FINEPIX HS10…

I am satisfied! Very satisfied.

3:46 pm - Monday, October 4, 2010

#333 ke grant

I bought this camera and I really hate it. It dont take picture even at 100 iso with out noise. It is so bad I want to run it over with a car so my wife buys me a new one.

1:47 am - Wednesday, October 6, 2010

#334 byeyeeet

wow. Your wife’s an insurance agent? Suggest you check the millions of sample pics online before you rush into buying your next camera.

Or just stop making facile contributions to this thread. Your call.

9:53 am - Wednesday, October 6, 2010

#335 Doug Sinnott

Re ke grant’s comments

What a plonker!Is this man real?
To say he gets noise at 100iso is a rubbish statement!
I would say noise is starting to creep in a bit on the HS10 at 400iso and above,BUT unless you’re doing prints over A4 it’s not really an issue,so “ke grant’s” comment is just stupid.
Noise on the HS10 is better than some other superzooms,but it will happen at higher isos due to the smaller sensor,as been well documented on various reviews.
This is not a problem for the vast majority of owners of superzooms.who,I suggest,rarely make poster prints at high iso settings,sticking to A4 and below.
Of course,lots of people rarely print anything,being content to just view their efforts on the PC screen,and,sometimes,even though some noise may be visible on your computer,on a print,it’s practically invisible.
In my view,the noise “problem” at high ISOs on superzooms is overstated,and will not be a problem for most users.
If,however,you like massive prints,buy a DSLR,and lose all the other benefits the new breed of superzooms can offer.
It’s depends on your priorities.

Please no more wildly inaccurate comments!

11:08 am - Wednesday, October 6, 2010

#336 Anky

i m confused with these cameras….

PowerShot SX20 is, Nikon p100, fuji HS10, Sony DSC HX-1
someone please help…!!!

Thnx…

12:01 pm - Wednesday, October 6, 2010

#337 yeshusai

hiii everyone…some one plzz dop tell me about firmware update…how can it be done…plzz do explain in detail
thank you

5:51 pm - Thursday, October 7, 2010

#338 doug sinnott

Dear Yeshusai,

Just read previous comments about the firmware updates,there’s enough of them!
You should have version 1.02 on your HS10.
Turn off your camera,press down the “display” button,hold it down,then turn your camera on again.
The firmware type will be displayed in your rear lcd.
If you don’t have V1.02 installed,ring the Fuji Helpdesk,and they will help you,or go to the Fuji UK website,and follow the instructions,it’s easy to do.
The firmware update did correct a few minor problems with the HS10,and ALL manufacturers issue these updates from time to time,following feedback from buyers and Internet sites(like this one!)
PS its “please”,not"PLZZ”

9:16 pm - Thursday, October 7, 2010

#339 clif

I’ve had a chance to use the camera now and have been pleased with it’s easy handling and great shots, clear and sharp. Camera is well designed and easy to grip and use. It sure beats the canon sx20 I sold to purchase this one. I’ve read a few of the negative reviews on this camera and don’t know what these people are doing with the camera but sure doesn’t sound like the same camera I have. We live in an instant satisfaction point and shoot, don’t bother me with an owners manual world, but like all high end cameras, sit down take your time and make a little effort to learn how to properly set the camera up for the way you intend to use it. If a lot of the nay sayers had been around in the late 50s and early 60s and had to learn how to use a manual 35mm SLR, and think about what their doing they would probably have taken the cameras back and given up. This is a nice camera and beats any other bridge camera out there that I’ve seen and used. I’ve had about 12 digital cameras and I know what I’m talking about. If anyone out there has ever found the perfect do it all no fault digital camera, let me know. So lets quit complaining and learn how to properly use the camera and if the camera is not functioning right, bad lens ect take it back and have them replace it, I’ve done that with a couple of cameras, other brands, over the years and always came away satisfied.

3:36 am - Friday, October 8, 2010

#340 dougsinnott

Clif,
You’re spot on!
Some of these comments about the HS10 are ludicrous,probably written by absolute beginners,or people who don’t even bother to read the manual.
None of the superzooms are perfect,but the HS10 is better than most,in my view.
These contributors would be better off with a good compact,rather than a serious camera like the HS10.
A fast 4 MB SDHC card helps to improve write times,preferably 20 or 30 mb/sec,as write times on the HS10 are it’s only Achilles heel,being that bit slower than some of the competition.
Portraits,landscapes,and macro are the HS10s real strengths,but it’s not so good at capturing fast moving action in single shot mode,you need to select continuous shot,then wait a couple of seconds while the pictures are written on the card.
It’s only a minor drawback,unless you’re a sports photographer,when a DSLR would be better,but you wouldn’t have a 30x zoom attached (it would cost too much!)

10:40 am - Friday, October 8, 2010

#341 Joe

I just purchased the HS10 and I can definitely confirm that Firmware 1.03 is in existence. I checked the firmware version on the camera and it is 1.03.

However, as stated by another individual here, the battery status message is broken and comes on too early. I checked the condition of my batteries by using a battery meter and the batteries were still fully charged although the warning signal came on.

As a side note, I called up Fuji USA to alert them of the battery meter/ battery capacity problem. The service techs were either lying or were totally in denial as they said, “We’ve never heard of a battery problem with the HS10.” Complete idiocy.

He then went on to say it was probably user error. I refuted him by saying I completely discharged the NiMh batteries in the camera per instructions in the manual and also set the battery type to “N” for NiMh batteries after recharging them.

However one service tech may have slipped up by telling me something that he wasn’t supposed to after I continued pressing the issue with him about the battery problem.

“It sounds like there’s a bad board that is draining your battery…”

He then went on to say that I needed at least 2700mah NiMh batteries in my camera for it to work properly. No where in the manual does it state this. Perhaps another slip up by the service tech?

But anyway, I am still taking the HS10 through its paces before I decide to keep or return it. I’ll provide a follow up in about a week or so.

7:44 pm - Friday, October 8, 2010

#342 Doug Sinnott

If it’s only the battery problem,send the camera back to Fuji Repairs,they’ll fix it,as they fixed mine.
It’s not worth giving up on a camera like the HS10 the minute you hit a minor snag.

I have found Fuji UK excellent,and very helpful.

8:02 pm - Friday, October 8, 2010

#343 ke grant

ok you dont believe me that`s fine but it is true taking it back tomorrow to see if it has a malfunction in it because i read lostd about it and all sound great that why i bought it in the first place i have photo`s if you want me to send you to prove it thank you for your kind comments
i read on the net that there has been a handfull of these camera`s returned with the same problem so when i find out more i will post to let you know i am not trying to put the cam down i love it just dont take piture unless you use it up closs with macro

10:57 am - Saturday, October 9, 2010

#344 Doug Sinnott

kegrant

I just find all a bit hard to believe,that anyone can not produce a decent picture with the HS10,after a month or so,unless they’re a complete plonker,and theres a few out there on the Internet!
Unless,of course,the cameras F——-d completely,which would be possible I suppose,but in all my years in owning and using cameras,including a few Fujis,any bad photos taken have been down to me,not using the camera properly.
The trouble has been,I think, that people have bought the HS10,after moving up from a simple compact,and,as the camera doesn’t come with a printer User’s Manual,meaning they would have to r load one up on their PC from the Fuji CD in the box,and some owners just can’t be bothered,so they are not really getting to grips with the camera.
They then think the camera’s at fault,when they are just not using it properly.
Fuji will now send out a free Manual now if you ring them,or you can now print out a shortened version from their website. 
Let me know how you get on!

7:14 pm - Saturday, October 9, 2010

#345 Joe

Doug Sinnot said: “If it’s only the battery problem,send the camera back to Fuji Repairs,they’ll fix it,as they fixed mine.
It’s not worth giving up on a camera like the HS10 the minute you hit a minor snag. I have found Fuji UK excellent,and very helpful.”

Unfortunately the battery problem is not minor in scope as the camera totally shuts down and will not allow further operation because of the errant low battery problem. I am in the midst of trying out other solutions to get around this readout error and hopefully this will help my situation short of returning it back to Fuji.

I am from “across the pond” over in the States and Fuji USA is horribly lacking in customer service. They don’t seem to care at all what their customers are experiencing. Too bad that the UK service isn’t as good here.

As a side note, I am getting quite fantastic pictures with the HS10 after several days of experimenting with it. After setting up the camera correctly via the extensive menu options, the image quality is quite good. I’ll post more about this in a few more days.

8:19 pm - Saturday, October 9, 2010

#346 Les

Thanks for everyones input into this thread, + and -, it hasd helped a lot in my decision whether to go for new Canon SX30IS or the HS10.

Well, I went for the HS10, just couldn’t resist the speed and flexibility of the manual zoom.

Picked it up this morning, this arvo have taken ~ 100 photos, and I am absolutely wrapped with the results !

Beautiful hand held zoom results, crisp and very fine detail macros, really incredible for a bridge with a fairly small sensor size.

Am taking an intro course in digital photography starting next week, just to learn properly how to use the manual settings etc.

I do a lot of bushwalking, and am keen to get the zoom capability to get more wildlife (particualy bird) photos.

If you are undecided as to what zoom bridge to get, I would say go for the HS10, you won’t be dissappointed.

Cheers,
Les

9:59 am - Sunday, October 10, 2010

#347 Les

Sorry for the typos !

Just wanted to mention, I went for bricks and mortar store to purchase from (Teds), got a great deal with SDHC ultimate 4gig cards (2) and a perfect Lowepro case (Adventura TLZ 25).

There is a basic manual with the camera, but nothing in depth :/
Ah well, will download from the CD.
I might just try local Fuji tomorrow and see if they can get one to me for later in the week with this course.

Cheers again,
Les

10:06 am - Sunday, October 10, 2010

#348 dougsinnott

Joe,
As your HS10 is under Fuji’s warranty,just ask the shop to exchange it,or speak to Fuji US,who’ll ask you to return it to them for replair,or replacement.
That’s what the Warranty’s for,and it does cover you for 12 months,regardless where you bought your camera.
I bought mine from Hong Kong,and it was fine with Fuji.
Make sure your cameras registered online with Fuji first.

10:50 am - Sunday, October 10, 2010

#349 kegrant

ok just returned from Fuji Repairs today and they refunded my money because the camera was not working the way it was supose to on the pixel setting for the size of picture you want to take it would only give me 248 no matter what size of picture you were trying to take so i ask if this was the only camera that did this and the reply to me was no there has been 6 other`s return this week now maybe because i am working over sea`s right now in another country that why you have not herd of this problem but facts are you guys dish me when i was right sorry to inform you we are not all noob now i bought myself the nikon D90 and from what i can see i know i will love it . and by the way when i was at the repair place i looked at another camera and it had the 1.03 update on it but i told them i did not want the same camera because of the fu—up they put me thou good day all sorry for any spelling erro if there are any as i am riped from spending 14 hours traveling to and from the city i got the camera from .

2:59 pm - Sunday, October 10, 2010

#350 jose inaki

I have been a user of old SLR (canon ae, ae1, ae1 black, also have some canon AF and a vintage like te russian made) and i am looking for a camera similar to DSLR and i think this HS 10 is a superb one…but i will keep in mind the negative feedbacks like the firmware and the battery indicator problem

4:18 am - Monday, October 11, 2010

#351 bankshot

I am ignorant.. Do the firmware upgrades improve image quality. I am looking at alternatives to digiscoping and impossibly expensive dslrs with giant lenses. I’m not selling the images. I just view on a PC.

4:53 am - Saturday, October 16, 2010

#352 zebarnabe

@bankshot,

If you use RAW, firmware upgrades will not give you any extra quality ... RAW is basically what sensor gets without any ‘damage’ by JPEG processor…

If you use DCRaw to extract the image from the RAW file, distortion will not be corrected, this avoids interpolation that may cause some bluriness of details… but, obviously, distortion will be present..

Firmware upgrades may change compression, noise reduction or other parameters that may improve quality on JPEG… ... On HS10, avoid use DR200 or DR400 as they are just different quantization curves applied to the image, not an hardware enhancement like in S200 EXR :) - also, since noise reduction algorithm in HS10 seems bugged in some way, smudging stuff when it shouldn’t, a firmware upgrade could possibly solve that…

Hope it helps…

10:54 am - Saturday, October 16, 2010

#353 Slabs

Re: “There are also three other continuous shooting speeds where the Fujifilm HS10 shoots at slower speeds of 7, 5 or 3 frames per second.”
Can anyone tell me what effect the reduction in frame rate has on:
1. The number of frames one can capture in a burst;
2. The time it takes to save it (& hence, the dwell before you can resume taking photos)?
Thanks.

7:44 pm - Wednesday, October 27, 2010

#354 zebarnabe

Slabs,
According to specification on PB,

Continuous shooting: max. 7 frames (3 ,5, 7 and 10 frames/sec.)

so ... 7 frames at any speed, and i kinda suspect it is right since, at 10fps it doesn’t seem to be writing to the card while taking the burst… quite a shame on that point… and that it’s one of the reasons why camera is regarded as slugish…

You can stop taking the burst, let’s say, you’ve set it to 3 fps, took 4 photos and stop it, you have room for 3 more on buffer, however, camera will simply lock up and make you wait till all the 4 are written in the card… of course, being able to stop the burst is quite nice (most cameras are able to do so anyway) since will prevent the write time of all the 7 photos…

With the buffer filled it takes quite some time to write the buffer to the cards… since photo size varies according to detail, compression and such and card speed affects it as well, it should take something between 7 to 15 secs to write them all…

10:31 pm - Wednesday, October 27, 2010

#355 Gandofly

i want to take a design either HS 10 or FX 100, please help me in taking this design.

9:35 am - Thursday, October 28, 2010

#356 Joe

Sad to say that I had to return the HS10 after extensively testing of it for several weeks. The deal breakers for me had to do with the AF not working properly. It was erratic and I had to struggle with it to get it to properly focus especially when the scene was busy. I finally had to use the manual focus for shots I knew the AF couldn’t handle.

No user error here. I have worked as a professional photographer and a computer consultant so electronics and cameras have been a fun part of my working life. I read the manual from beginning to end. I like reading manuals, lol.

In certain situations the camera works well, but this is only a small percentage when compared to the overall picture. I really loved the 28-720 zoom feature but this was a small reward for fussing with the AF and the high noise seen at 800 ISO.

The camera is a solid camera and perhaps under different circumstances it could have been the right one for me, but the deal breakers were the false battery readings, inability to properly lock on focus in AF, and the relatively high noise at higher ISO.

This is not to say it is not a fine camera, and I am sure many are quite satisfied with it, but it just didn’t turn out for me. I would say that it would make a good backup camera in the future as the 28-720 is very enticing and cost effective considering you get a whole camera for the price of the lenses it replaces! But for now, I am moving on to another camera.

My experience with the customer service at Fuji was the last nail in the coffin as they were entirely in denial about the battery issues with the camera. If they were so obstinate in helping a customer with a widely known issue in the camera community, how could they ever help me with another issue?

But all in all, the HS10 certainly fills a need for a bridge camera. To all those who own one, congratulations and keep on shooting!

8:59 pm - Thursday, October 28, 2010

#357 Gerry

I’m going to keep this as simple and as short as possible.
The HS10 is a brilliant camera in all fields of photography.Be it super macro or full zoom,low light or panoramic I’ve not been disappointed yet.I’d even go as far as to say it’s taken pictures that have easily matched that of friends with entry level DSLR’s.Now that’s impressive considering it’s buget price and the fact it is only digital.
Complaint if I had any at all would be aimed at the manufactuer and not at the camera as Fuji as yet don’t make a dedicated flash but even this is easily rectified by the use of a Metz 36 C-2.
Anyone that calls this camera iether doesn’t own one or is incapable of reading the instructions.

9:53 pm - Friday, October 29, 2010

#358 Mike

I am considering the Nikon CoolPix P100 or the HS10, I like the specs on the HS10.  I’ve been a point and shoot guy and now I want do a little more.
What say you?

11:24 pm - Friday, October 29, 2010

#359 Gerry

I was point and shoot with a Canon 8 megapixel and soon worked out I needed a little more.
The Canon is great for the pocket but if I want to get adventurous the HS10 certainly comes into it’s own.
Seriously good alternative to expensive and often overated SLR’s by those that often don’t know what they’re doing.
Take some time to get used to the camera and it’s million settings and you won’t be disappointed.This camera rocks if you’re serious about taking a leap into more advanced photography without the expense and inconvenience of swapping lenses etc etc…....Nikon not bad but HS10 better (in my opinion)

11:43 pm - Friday, October 29, 2010

#360 Gerry

Digital
http://i370.photobucket.com/albums/oo141/Chong-1/Seiko.jpg
Now show me your SLR £600 Shots
:)

1:44 am - Saturday, October 30, 2010

#361 Joe

Gerry or perhaps “someone” in disguise said:
“Anyone that calls this camera iether doesn’t own one or is incapable of reading the instructions.”

You know, cameras are like religion for some people. They will insult others who do not prescribe to their particular doctrines and beliefs and are intolerant of any who feel otherwise.

The HS10 is just a camera. The occurrence of fanboyism or fanaticism regarding the HS10 by certain members of this forum is childish at best and slanderous at worst.

The facts are that some users of the HS10 do not find it as excellent as some members of this forum state It is not an attack on the individuals who own the HS10 camera, although there are some who actually take it quite personally, sad to say.

What I *am* saying is that the best camera for any individual is the one that works best for him or her. It’s about time we understand this basic tenet of owning cameras and refrain from idiotic pronouncements and character attacks on people who don’t like the HS10.

I support anyone who chooses the HS10 as their camera of choice. But I also expect those who do not agree with my personal choice of camera to have this same respect for my decision. Evidently, this concept is beyond some on this forum.

One more thing, “Gerry,” your photo is out of focus and blurry, lol.

3:13 am - Saturday, October 30, 2010

#362 Akshay

The manual zooming like SLR camera does it has manual focus like SLR camera.
Compared to Nikon D3100 is Fujifilm HS10 better if I have a fix budget of 650$ only.

8:04 am - Wednesday, November 3, 2010

#363 Gerry

The HS10 does indeed have manual focus like the SLR.
The Nikon D3100 is an SLR the Fuji digital so it’s probably unfair to try and compare the two.I live in the UK so not sure how much your dollar works out at but would imagine you do have enough to buy the SLR.Just remember though that if you want the same focal range on the Nikon you’re going to have to spend the same amount again on a lens and thus doubling your buget.
Whichever you choose I’m sure you won’t be disappointed.

11:26 am - Wednesday, November 3, 2010

#364 Slabs

Further to my previous question on the time it takes to save a burst of shots (& hence, the dwell before you can resume taking photos):
1.Does the image resolution &/or the JPG compression settings have any effect on the dwell?
I would expect it to, since the amount of data required to be written to the memory card would be less? On the other hand, the writing time may be determined entirely by the in-camera writing speed limitations (hardware/firmware) & not the card at all. Has anyone actually tried & measured this?
2.Is the dwell less when one uses a higher speed class SDHC card (e.g. class 6 or 8)? Has anyone actually tried & measured this?
3.In the interests of perspective versus its competitors, one should bear in mind that the Canon SX30IS for instance would take all of 7 seconds just to capture a burst of 7 shots anyway (although at 14MP/shot), so you should discount this against the saving dwell of the HS10 to be fair.
Thanks.

3:33 pm - Wednesday, November 3, 2010

#365 zebarnabe

Slabs,
There are people who tested that and the card speed vs. camera speed… i can only recall that someone at dpreview foruns pointed to 5MB/s write speeds (at best)... so… above class 6 it will be a waste to make it speedier.

The number of shots is always 7… no matter the fps, no matter the size… but in RAW or RAW+JPEG this changes…

The fastest camera in this department it’s the Casio one… (FH25 if i’m not mistaken)

6:36 pm - Wednesday, November 3, 2010

#366 lnhi3thfg9wy732

I just ordered this camera based on the review. I had another manufacturers super zoom and upgraded to a dslr and when I compared the image quality of a 300mm lens on the dslr, I saw the super zoom had better resolution. I talked to some experienced photographers: to get better telephoto resolution than a super zoom point and shoot you need to spend about $3000 including a 500mm lens and a $500+ tripod. I like my slr w 300mm lens but for long telephoto a superzoom point and shoot is much cheaper and the comprimises are woth it for me.

I chose to order this camera because it has more magnification than my old super zoom and this one also has raw mode, and because it uses aa batteries, and because of the good review here.

10:24 am - Sunday, November 7, 2010

#367 lnhi3thfg9wy732

Does any one know, does this camera have auto iso in manual mode?

Also, not as criticism of this camera in particular but, of point and shoot in general compared to dslr, for the information of the readers here, the drawbacks of the point and shoot are: slow rate of writing files and small buffer, the electronic view finder makes manual focus harder than an optical through the lens view finder in a slr. For nature photography, for example, a bird diving for fish and flying off with it, you need to take a lot of pictures quickly. For a bird sitting in a bush you need manual focus because the auto focus will lock on the front of the bush.

But for the price and performance and magnification I think this camera is worth the trade off’s particularly because it has raw mode.

Jpeg artifacts that ruined image quality were one of the worst features of my previous super zoom so this camera should be a big improvement.

10:34 am - Sunday, November 7, 2010

#368 osiskars

Hy!

I own this camera for about a week ,and I am overall satisfied.

I wanted to ask does somebody know anyway I could do a time lapse with this specific camera? Is there any PC software or external hardware I could use to remotely make time lapse images( video) . Cuz I can’t find any for Fuji cameras . Please help. I hope if there isn’t any out there then maybe in the future there will be made that kind of software..

8:46 pm - Sunday, November 7, 2010

#369 gorigonzalez

Mi opinión personal en Español y muestras:
http://gorigonzalez.wordpress.com/

8:18 pm - Sunday, November 14, 2010

#370 david

just bought the hs10, can anyone tell me the benefits of an external flash please.

11:20 pm - Sunday, November 14, 2010

#371 urido

After using the HS10 for 40 days with shooting of 100s of pictures every day I can conclude :
pros :
1. Great zoom, good stabilizer. Not a DSL quality though,  but who really needs a DSL quality. I have just printed 2 photo books, size A4 and all pictures look great. Not many of us will need larger prints than that.
2. The camera has some great modes. Was really impressed with the “sunset” mode. It gets colors close to reality. I loved the mode so much that I have used it in most poor light conditions and got great results.
3. Unlike my previous Olympus bridge cameras you can use filters on the lens.
4. HD video in very high quality with only one button press.

cons :
1. The buttons placement over the back is horrible. Many times wrong buttons were pressed accidently and disturbed the process of photo shooting.
2. What i thought as an advantage turned out to be a great disadvantage. The auto turn off of the LCD monitor is very problematic. It does not recover fast enough and sometimes it stays in the EVF mode. Mostly it happens when you need a quick shot.
3. The zoom movement is sticky and not smooth as a Video zoom should be.

11:27 pm - Sunday, November 14, 2010

#372 Amy

I have used the fuji s5000 for years with great success and have loved it since the first day.  It has stopped working, probably a simple repair but I think I want to upgrade, something with great pictures but that I can play with and learn more about manual operations… Am I going to be happy with the HS10?  It looks impressive but I worry about all the high brow tech. critiques I’ve read. Primarily, I enjoy taking pictures of family/friends/wildlife… let me know what you think.

1:15 am - Tuesday, November 16, 2010

#373 Delmar

Amy,
Condolences on the demise of your Finepix S5000. In my not so humble opinion, the S5000 was one of the greatest point & shoot cameras Fuji ever made. It’s simple to use, has fantastic flash capabilities and controls dynamic range unbelievably well. My first recommendation is to buy a used S5000 on e-bay for about $100. I bought 7 last year for friends who wanted to take pictures as good as mine. ;-) I bought the HS10 two weeks after it came out and I LOVE IT. I’m still trying to learn all the things the HS10 will do but, when I want to be absolutely sure my photos will be really good (especially at club meetings and parties where forced flash is needed), I rely solely on my 7 year old S5000.

5:31 pm - Tuesday, November 16, 2010

#374 Gerry

Had my HS10 for a few months now and cannot sing its praises loud enough.
If you want to advance into more creative photography without the expense of much dearer and complicated DSLR’s then you can’t get much better.
I’ve been so impressed with the results I’ve even taken to copyrighting my work and am thinking of putting together a portfolio in the near future.Something I wouldn’t have dreamt of not too long ago.
A random choice taken from a recent walk for you to judge for yourself:
http://i370.photobucket.com/albums/oo141/Chong-1/Personal Favourites-2010/BarrowBridge.jpg

7:02 pm - Tuesday, November 16, 2010

#375 Amy

Delmar,

Thanks you for the advice! As much as I want to get my hands on a ‘new’ camera I just feel like I will end up being disappointed.  The ebay route might be an option, maybe another s5000 and the HS10 before I am done but at least I would have something to use over the holidays!

9:48 pm - Tuesday, November 16, 2010

#376 seci

Hi,

Can you tell me if you can turn off the “auto turn off of the LCD monitor” funtionality? I cannot find any information on it.

I most of the time prefer to use the viewfinder.

Not to mention that powering the LCD all the time will dry the batteries quite fast - as I usually walk with turned on camera in my hand.

TiA
Peter

12:58 pm - Thursday, November 18, 2010

#377 seci

I was stupid :)
Downloaded the manual and it is in there that you can switch off this auto-LCD stuff. At least that’s what is written there :)
Should I trust it?
BR,
Peter

1:11 pm - Thursday, November 18, 2010

#378 gorigonzalez

Yes Peter, it’s true, you can trust what the manual says.
I have done so and only turn on the LCD screen when I want.
Regards
http://gorigonzalez.wordpress.com/

4:58 pm - Thursday, November 18, 2010

#379 TonyBerry

Is it not about time that you updated section 7 “Main Rivals”. As this seems to be somewhat lacking.

6:32 am - Sunday, November 21, 2010

#380 imarkcasti

due to many rivals, if the price stays at more than $200 this will make selling a painful enterprise.

2:00 pm - Thursday, November 25, 2010

#381 otropogo

This is the closest thing I’ve seen to a possible upgrade to my Lumix FZ30. The FZ50 was botched with noise reduction, and the subsequent versions dropped the most important mechanical features.

Since then, no one seems to have picked up the idea of an internally zooming lens, for a much more robust system (and the opportunity to attach sunshades) But at least the HS10 has manual zoom and focus.Two other absences give me pause, however:

1. the reported lack of software to convert the RAW files into Tiff has apparently not been addressed (please correct me if I’m mistaken), and

2. I can’t find any sign or mention of a remote, either wired or wireless. I can’t imagine buying a megazoom without a remote shutter release.

Which brings me to a complaint about the site’s search engine - why is it impossible to do a simple word search of either the review itself or the comments? I tried searching on “remote control” and got a list of hits totally unrelated to the review. Can I assume that means the review contained none - or are they just hidden in the list somewhere?

My apologies to anyone who may have addressed any of the above questions here. I’m going to try to copy all the four pages of comments into a WP now and then search for the answers.

7:37 am - Tuesday, November 30, 2010

#382 pavel

good value for money.

1:21 pm - Tuesday, November 30, 2010

#383 Gandofly

Hi
I want to Buy either HS 10 or S200EXR , can someone help me ?

2:04 pm - Tuesday, November 30, 2010

#384 thezeronumber

I’m trying to find a Camera/Camcorder with a high-speed/slow-motion function of 240fps or more that lasts for a minimum of 30 seconds. Likewise it would be a nice bonus to have a great photography or videography unit included, or even both! I’m a very creative person, dabbling in the likes of CG art and animation.

The [Fuji HS10] looks to tick several boxes: High-speed mode, HD video, 10 Megapixel sensor, etc. Likewise, the [Casio EX-FH25] does the same. In fact, both are pretty similar Cameras aside from a few key differences which i am having trouble over.

In good light, the Fuji and Casio look identical for photo quality. But once the light starts getting worse, there is a ton of noise to be noticed with the Casio. However, the Casio seems to have better quality 240fps recording; the Fuji seems a tad sharp and harsh. And despite the Fuji being 1080p, i swear the Casio (with 720p) looks the exact same, if not better.

I am really lost here. Not sure which one i should go for, if any at all! I mean, are there other options for high-speed recording? My budget is anything leading up to the £600 mark so with these two cameras being around the £250-300 point, there might be something else in between for all i know.

Can anybody offer advice/their suggestions?

12:00 am - Wednesday, December 1, 2010

#385 Sandro

firmware 1.04 is out !  I just installed it ....
Check here :
http://www.fujifilm.com/support/digital_cameras/software/firmware/s/finepix_hs10/fupd.html

7:32 pm - Monday, December 6, 2010

#386 Eyal Gurevitch

So what’s the bottom line?
If someone asks me - SX30 Vs. HS10, what should I say? (people ask me. it happens all the time).

11:28 pm - Tuesday, December 7, 2010

#387 zebarnabe

Eyal Gurevitch,

None of them is perfect…. SX30 resolves more detail and has a more versatile focal range… but HS10 is like a baby DSLR with glued lens… packs an impressive feature set, behaves a bit better in low light and has more manual controls than most, but it’s more sluggish than most as well..

I would say SX30 is more suitable to someone who doesn’t understand about photography, but is willing to learn the basics

HS10 is more to someone who wants to learn more about photography - given the DSLR-like interface, manual controls and lens rings…

Obviously in the case of HS10, perhaps a full fledged DSLR would be more suitable, unless the massive zoom or high speed video are really needed and/or one is on a budget…

Canon Rebel T2i / 550D, Pentax K-x, Nikon D5000 and a few others, are good alternatives… but they have a price…

2:06 am - Wednesday, December 8, 2010

#388 gorigonzalez

Well, I have the camera Fujifilm HS10 and i’m very happy with it.

My photos much better than the previous camera Canon SX20 IS.

My Gallery: http://www.flickr.com/photos/oghy/

5:13 pm - Wednesday, December 8, 2010

#389 time-rabbit

HS10? Hmm…

JPG IQ - bad
RAW IQ - not quite good
optics - bad (insane CA and soft)
features - good (on paper)
price/performance - seen better

7:27 pm - Friday, December 10, 2010

#390 zebarnabe

time-rabbit,

I would put it like this:

JPG IQ - Impredictable, from OK to really mushy;

RAW IQ - Because lens have an insane distortion, if RAW converter corrects it, you’ll get some ‘nice’ soft edges (specially at wide angle) if does not corrects it, fisheye at wide angle :]

Optics - Soft focus is perhaps the biggest issue, increased by massive distortion correction, CA is not that bad, but compared with FZ38 it’s beaten badly…

Features - Good package, panorama stitcher of Sony is better, high speed modes from Casio are better, LCD screen resolution is a bit lacking, button layout is nice (but may not fit all hands)

price/performance - seen better indeed, but S200EXR aside, manual lens are an unique perk :]

11:32 pm - Friday, December 10, 2010

#391 Paulenco

Hello guys,
I was wondering if some one can tell me what slave flash to use for fuji hs10.

Thanks

4:25 am - Saturday, December 11, 2010

#392 zebarnabe

Paulenco,

Last time i posted an answer here regarding that it was deleted…

So, search for “Fuji HS10 External Flash Tips and Advice” on google, you should find what you need ...

2:08 pm - Saturday, December 11, 2010

#393 time-rabbit

zebarnabe,
thanks for the detailed expression of my comment :), our experience with this camera seems to be very similar. I was really disappointed by this product. JPGs are horrible, most of the details are gone, washed out even at lowest ISOs. Badly overexposed highlights. RAW output is unsatisfying too. However, it may be a good enough for someone who has a low resolution monitor, likes to post-process all his images and prints only small size photos. Despite the really impressive feature set of HS10, Panasonic FZ35(FZ38) or FZ40(FZ45) provides better output for less money. Just something to think about…

3:16 pm - Saturday, December 18, 2010

#394 rakesh

Just one thing I want to know. I have purchased this camera and in film age I had Nikon FM10 (poor guy’s SLR), which I still have.
The problem with HS10 is how to use the cable release so that I can shoot the camera without shake as at 30X no matter how carefully u release the shutter, the camera shakes slightly and in time delay mode the shot alters.
The birds too dont like the manual release!

4:40 pm - Monday, December 20, 2010

#395 rakesh

If some friend has a practical solution, I will be gratefull for sharing.

4:42 pm - Monday, December 20, 2010

#396 zebarnabe

rakesh,

You can use tripod and timed shutter… however sometimes space from camera is required or the timing must be controlled, for that a digital shutter release does not exist for HS10.

You can however use something like this:
http://www.srb-griturn.com/ekmps/shops/srbgriturn/images/angled-bracket-onlyekm]371x300ekm].jpg

There are other choices, like air belt shapped one, or simply a DIY project :]

Well ... search a bit on the interwebs and you shall find what you’re looking for :]

7:51 pm - Monday, December 20, 2010

#397 zebarnabe

Hmm…. link was eaten by PB processing…

Here goes google search link:
http://www.google.com/images?hl=en&q=shutter+release+bracket+cable+air&um=1&ie=UTF-8&source=og&sa=N&tab=wi&biw=1280&bih=632

7:55 pm - Monday, December 20, 2010

#398 Lee-Jamez

I have got this camera after read many reviews and have to say its definatly worth its money.

Easy to use, Brilliant quality indoors and out.

Having some brilliant results and the zoom is to the quality of some DLSR’s I’ve used.

9:44 pm - Friday, December 24, 2010

#399 cha917

I currently own a canon sx1 is. is the sx 30 a significant upgrade to it or am i better off with switching to the hs10? I am planning on giving the sx1 to my wife. (i love ultrazooms)
i do not use a tripod, mostly handheld and indoor shooting of people and some sport and school activities of my kids and sometimes sceneries when we travel. understandably my shots are often blurred. would the hs10 help me with this problem? limited photography experience but would like to learn if time permits.
to all the gurus here. please give me some advice and explanation on which camera sx30 or hs10 would suit me better.
thank you very much in advance and happy holidays!

7:04 pm - Sunday, December 26, 2010

#400 cha917

p.s. stupid question but does image quality get better with bigger MP (hs10 has 10MP but sx30 has 14MP). i’d love to have more crisp pictures better than my sx1. thanks again

7:16 pm - Sunday, December 26, 2010

Entry Tags

hd video, hd, 3 inch LCD, 1080p, wide-angle, manual, super-zoom, RAW, fujifilm, 24mm, 10fps, finepix, fuji, 30x zoom, Fujifilm FinePix HS10 Review, hs 10, hs10

Tracker Pixel for Entry