Fujifilm FinePix HS10 Review

4.5
April 14, 2010 | Mark Goldstein |

Your Comments

466 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#401 zebarnabe

cha917,

SX1 is an awesome camera, I wouldn’t buy a new camera if it was a HS10 or SX30 ...

That said and repeating myself:

HS10 is arguably better in low light shots, SX30 allows you to resolve more detail for far (very far) objects ...

HS10 packs impressive manual controls and features, but lacks a bit on image quality department (however it may be more than enough for most people)

SX30 is more balanced and perhaps a better choice if one looks for something with lots of versatility…

Investing on a cheap DSLR and increasing the lens collection with time (and when wallet allows it) is much more wise if you consider photography more seriously… remember you can always get a new camera body when the older becomes obsolete…

8:46 pm - Sunday, December 26, 2010

#402 Chris

Upon closer examination of the test shots in imaging resource between this HS10 and Canaon SX20 I can easily see that the Canon picks out the finer details better (for example the hair on the face or the words on the back cover of the book the model is reading) Also the definition in shadows is better resolved in the Canon. 

If I was to base my camera choice on picture quality I would go with the Canon SX20.  Initially the HS10 looked great, it does have a better zoom but I think the CCD sensor on the Canon picks out the finer details better than the HS10. 

One other thing, Fujifilm takes darker tone pictures and to the eye that is more pleasing which may be one of the reasons this camera is outscoring the Canon SX20 in some reviews.

4:12 pm - Wednesday, December 29, 2010

#403 Malcolm

I have just bought this camera and find that it is very easy to use. The only thing that I have found is that I can’t get the muti-image feature to work, in the adv setting. The camera takes al the shots and seems to process them but only displays the final frame. Anybody have any ideas or do I have to send the camera back?

11:28 am - Sunday, January 2, 2011

#404 mrX

There are 3 modes to choose from under “Adv”. All return only 1 composite image as a final result, unless you opt otherwise in the setup menu.

Perhaps you are actually having the burst mode in mind (they call it “continuous shooting”, but it’s not really). Check out the PDF manual - it’s easy to find things using the search function.

2:17 pm - Sunday, January 2, 2011

#405 Delmar

Malcolm wrote: ...I can’t get the muti-image feature to work, in the Adv setting…

Your subject is probably moving too quickly for the 1/2 second default setting. Turn the Command Deal on the top-right corner of the camera and decrease the speed to 1 to 20 seconds. 1 second usually does the trick. A tripod is not absolutely necessary but is highly recommended. Your main subject will usually be in focus but the background can look really weird without a tripod. This Advanced function can be lots of fun.

3:55 pm - Sunday, January 2, 2011

#406 wiggy

This is a very very poor camera , all the big numbers and gadgets cant solve the shocking picture quality, its poor in ever respect ,most compacts on the market will give you better shots than this .Zoom isnt everything picture quality should be no point in taking a shot if it looks bad,at the money this costs the fuji s200 exr is a far better camera with superb picture quality look on here and see ,if big numbers and bragging about wot it has is your thing then this camera is ok for you,To me i have owned alot of fuji cameras and they allways provided alot of camera for the money this is the worst thing they have ever done, even printed a4 the shots just arnt that good my kodak z950 takes better shots on avaerage.So think on dont be fooled by big numbers £250 is alot of money for something that not upto the job ,panasonic fz100 ,fuji s200exr ,have better picture quality but less zoom and toys.

11:13 pm - Saturday, January 8, 2011

#407 Piti

Yes WIGGY, is a verry verry poor camera, Fujifilm S200EXR is much better!!!

10:54 am - Sunday, January 16, 2011

#408 James

I’ve been using this camera for some months now and am quite happy. With a raynox macro attachment it’s awesome for macros and great for moon shots and wildlife. Great colours and low color aberration.

With the AF the issue is not so much the speed but what it focuses on or rather doesn’t focus on.

It is NOT a good camera indoors/party situation due to the bad low light performance.

The video shooting is ok as long as you use a tripod and don’t move too fast.

12:52 pm - Sunday, January 16, 2011

#409 Slabs

I have just completed a comprehensive comparison between the HS10 & the Canon SX20 & agree that the Canon’s image detail & resolution is better than that of the HS10.
However, my tests have led me to conslude itmay be more due to shortcomings in Image Stabilisation than straight optics or sensor quality (where Canon does have a clear advantage, being 14 Mpixels to the 10 of the HS10).
Playing around with the HS10’s settings, I discovered that not only does the +D (digital stabilisation) not contribute to image quality, it actually spoils it. Which is to say, the images are actually blurred when the +D feature is selected. Why this should be so is beyond me.
I seem to get the best results with the following settings:
- ISO 200
- Dynamic Range at DR200
- Image stabilisation on Continuous (option 1), without the +D option.
- Exposure compensation +2/3 stop (improves brightness of images overall).

6:16 pm - Sunday, January 23, 2011

#410 Slabs

My main gripes with the HS10 are video-related:
1. The manual zoom is so sticky it’s impossible to zoom smoothly whilst recording video. Has anyone found a cure for this?
2. Incredibly, it doesn’t seem to have image stabilisation whilst recording. Consequently when you’re zoomed in to any significant extent, the image is as shaky as a wet dog. How can this be, or am I missing a setting secret somewhere?

6:23 pm - Sunday, January 23, 2011

#411 hasbeen

Slabs,

IS can be either on or off in the video mode. If you have turned it off in the setup menu (for stills), it will also be off in video. If it is on in one of the 4 available modes for stills, it will be on continuously in video mode.

The thing is, even with IS on the video turns to jelly above 500mm zoom. Maybe it’s better to use a tripod in this case. I haven’t tried.

cheers,

4:24 pm - Monday, January 24, 2011

#412 Miranda

I got this camera for christmas, and I love it. But, Do anyone knows where I can buy separate lens for it?

5:59 pm - Sunday, February 13, 2011

#413 zebarnabe

Miranda,

You can’t change lens on HS10 ...

If you mean filters like close-up or extra tele/wide, there are some from several brands, they usually are sold from 50 to 150€/$

Make sure you get achromatic corrected ones, many others while sharp greatly increase chromatic aberrations…

If you meant the whole lens, you cannot change them, you need an Interchangeable Lens camera (either DSLR or NEX or Micro Four Thirds) for that… Those are bigger and more expensive, not mention lens can cost more that the whole camera :/

10:48 pm - Sunday, February 13, 2011

#414 Sonny

Miranda - zebarnabe is correct. here in asia, i bought a macro / wide lens that you will attach to the unit it cost me S$120.

9:54 am - Monday, February 14, 2011

#415 Start Photography

this camera is looking good.
your review is perfect.
thanks for reviewing it.
:D

4:14 pm - Tuesday, February 15, 2011

#416 zebarnabe

#415,

You should look at HS20 EXR, might be a better camera, but it’s not available yet… once it comes out, reviews should start to appear in the internet (and quite likely PB will have one of the earliest ones) :]

4:50 pm - Tuesday, February 15, 2011

#417 al rotundo

just got my Fujifilm HS10 - now can someone tell me how i can do videos with varying recording speeds like this? is it done in post editing? with what program?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bfN3v4GuG3I

thank you

5:35 am - Wednesday, February 16, 2011

#418 Sonny

@ALL - please enlighten me… In this thread, i read that HS10’s newest firmware is ver 1.03 but when i browsed fujifilm website, 1.03 is not availabe but the 1.04. I have already downloaded the upgrade but i am afraid the install it - is the 1.04 safe? why is there no 1.03 in fujifilm’s website.

Detail of the update
The firmware update Ver.1.04 incorporates the following item.
1. Custom white balance can be set correctly when an external flash is mounted.

2. On slide show mode, sound of movie recording data can be performed on the HDTV which is connected with the camera via HDMI interface.

@415 - yes, HS20 will be available very soon. wait for this model

6:43 am - Wednesday, February 16, 2011

#419 Sonny

BTW - currently the version of my firmware is 1.03

6:45 am - Wednesday, February 16, 2011

#420 Slabs

Hi Sonny
I’ve installed version 1.04 & haven’t had any problems.
May be imagination but the still images seem a bit clearer & sharper than before.
So, I would say go ahead.
Slabs.

7:08 am - Wednesday, February 16, 2011

#421 Vinu

I am a proud owner of HS10 and have been really happy wiht its performance. You can see the pictures taken at http://www.facebook.com/Experiments.with.Shutter

12:58 pm - Wednesday, February 16, 2011

#422 Sonny

@420 Hello Slabs - and may I know how long will it take to upgrade the firmware? This is the 1st time doing this. Please advice.

Thanks… SOnny

3:24 am - Saturday, February 19, 2011

#423 Slabs

@422 Hi Sonny
It’s a quick process, well under a minute.
Cheers,
Slabs

7:00 am - Saturday, February 19, 2011

#424 Sonny

@423 Slabs - thanks man - it is a brezze… I am just afraid that I might fail… I DID NOT… thanks again

11:19 am - Sunday, February 20, 2011

#425 al rotundo

I want to make movies with varying frame rates like this one -
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bfN3v4GuG3I
Can anyone recommend a good editing program?  Extra points if it’s freeware.

3:52 pm - Monday, February 21, 2011

#426 zebarnabe

al rotundo,

Freeware:
Wax 2.0 has lots of features and it’s easy to use, but it usually crashes with me using it, IDK if it’s able of playing with framerates like that :/

AVIdemux 2.5 has lots of plugins, IDK if there is one that fills your needs, but it’s a bit tricky to use, some codecs present sound sincronization issues (but high-speed movies don’t have sound anyway)

Commercial:
Sony Vegas
Adobe Premiere
(there are lots of them, some better other worse, those 2 are widely used and should do what you want - there is another one whose name I forgot, check their features on their websites)

Happy shooting and good luck :]

4:14 pm - Monday, February 21, 2011

#427 clif

I bought this camera last summer and enjoyed using it but used it so little felt I could not justify keeping for the money. Sold it on ebay and got a hell of a deal on a Fuji s1800, $129 brand new. Believe it or not the 1800 runs rings around the HS10 when it comes to picture sharpness on full zoom. On full zoom the HS10 was not good at all. Video mode is not as good but the pictures are just as good. Goes to show that more money doesn’t always mean better pictures.

8:33 am - Saturday, February 26, 2011

#428 louise

hi i have just bought a second hand fujifilm hs10 with a 3 month guarantee, but have just noticed on the lens there is 3 scratches which you can feel with your fingernail is there any chance it can be repaired i.e. having the lens replaced?

would really like some advice if your able to thanks
louise

8:24 pm - Thursday, March 10, 2011

#429 zebarnabe

louise,

Talk with a Fujifilm representative.

Also, never, but never use your fingernails to check if the scratches are scratches or dirt.

Use circular/spiral movements from the center to outwards of the lens with a micro fiber cloth (same as the one used on eye glasses) slightly wet (do not drop water on the lens)... Do not force or press the front element, hopefully that is just dust and will come out, if not, and the coating it’s coming out (and it’s not from a scratch) you can execute your warranty and get it repaired.

If it’s really scratched see what you can do by talking with a fujifilm representative….

Hope it helps..

9:17 pm - Thursday, March 10, 2011

#430 Manish Khapare

No one should buy this camera.. for, my own experience with it-

worst operations,
worst quality
worst service

Lured by its promising features , i bought this camera in Mid December & this brand new camera broke down in 2 months, failing to focus and jerky in zooming operation
i gave it back to service centre with complaint about its focus, mechanism, and erratic behavier on 12 th of APRIL 2011 and till today i dint get my camera back neither i know what is the status of my complaint.

To know about my authority to comment on any camera, have a look at my clicks from this camera and other cameras (kodak & Nikon) put on my facebook profile .

link -
http://www.facebook.com/media/set/fbx/?set=a.378791161187.162208.590456187

&

http://www.facebook.com/media/set/fbx/?set=a.498771971187.268299.590456187

10:57 am - Saturday, April 23, 2011

#431 zebarnabe

Manish Khapare,

Sorry to hear about that, I didn’t hear about so many bad luck cases with this camera, even though there are some issues with it regarding DR modes and image quality (that you can circumvent by shooting in RAW, increasing the already long shot-to-shot time) and battery indicator. It doesn’t deliver DSLR quality like claimed, but the manual controls are quite awesome to use (only tried it in store though) :]

I tried the Olympus SP800, it was a joke, it couldn’t focus in infinite, I was within the 15 days store return policy so it went back to where it came. However I know it was a case of bad luck and many users are happy with it (I liked the size of it compared with HS10 for example)

Zoom is manual, so it can’t be jerky (it can be sticky, require you to be quite careful if you’re shooting video). Manual focus is a bit hopeless, but is there… of course, in your case it’s most likely a misaligned lens element…

Support sadly isn’t the same in all countries, I don’t know if there are consumer protective legislation in your country, in mine, after 2 months they have to give me the money back or a new camera (identical or with identical value).

Good luck :)

12:07 pm - Saturday, April 23, 2011

#432 hards

i ve an in issue in my fuji HS10 which i bought it 4 days ago , its a sudden hang , the camera suddenly stucks no button is able to response even the ON/OFF power button doesnt work, unless u open the bottom cover of the battery and put it back again to power on.

and it does happen when am changing mood ,run playback or focusing on something using either manual or auto focus .

what is the issue u think plz help me in order to return it
am using NiMA batteries with 2700 capacity and am doubting about it

wat u think guys

11:07 am - Sunday, May 8, 2011

#433 Lynx

I just got mine yesterday.
I actually think it could be better than the HS20EXR.

Today i’ll try to take some photos and I just might post them somewhere.

I’ve been reserching over this and many other cameras. My conclusion is that this is the camera with the best quality/price relation out there for someone looking for a broad zoom range, good image quality and relatively decent videos.

I bought mine for 280€, yes you read correctly 280€ from the 460 or 500€ i’ve seen in some places it is the best price I have found, the problem is that since the HS20EXR came out the HS10 is a bit more difficult to find.

11:53 am - Sunday, May 8, 2011

#434 hards

i ve an in issue in my fuji HS10 which i bought it 4 days ago , its a sudden hang , the camera suddenly stucks no button is able to response even the ON/OFF power button doesnt work, unless u open the bottom cover of the battery and put it back again to power on.

and it does happen when am changing mood ,run playback or focusing on something using either manual or auto focus .

what is the issue u think plz help me in order to return it
am using NiMA batteries with 2700 capacity and am doubting about it

wat u think guys

4:31 pm - Sunday, May 8, 2011

#435 Nigel

I am somewhat amazed at some of the comments concerning the HS 10 and image quality, I just replace my Fuji S5800 with one and really the Hs 10 is phenomenal, if you can’t take excellent photo’s with an HS10 then you probably need to get assistance, the quality is excellent and its features are great, it’s simply not possible to NOT take great photo’s, a poor tradesman ALWAYS blames his tools

8:34 am - Wednesday, May 11, 2011

#436 Doug

My third superzoom after a Canon S1/IS (sensor failed), Olympus SP550 UZ - poor focus lock on telephoto.  So far I am delighted with the HS10, focus is excellent and zoom is incredible.  Cost at £219 from Jessops online is less than a lens for a DSLR.

As and all round camera it is an excellent buy

12:22 pm - Saturday, May 14, 2011

#437 sophie01

This camera has a great feature set - 10.3 Megapixel - 3” Color LCD - Black (30x Optical Zoom - 2x)image quality is very nice.

11:57 am - Friday, May 20, 2011

#438 Peter Bower

After a year with the HS10 I can say in all honesty that if you set up the menu for best picture quality, don’t go above ISO 400 and do some post air brushing in Photo Shop, the picures in my view are actually more colourful, dynamic and sharper than my friends entry level Canon DSLR fitted with kit lens, so there!

I really don’t understand some of these reviewers. Camera.uk gave it a glowing report as did a couple of others, may be because they weren’t affected by the Nikon/Canon disease as some reviewers undoubtedly are.

Peter

3:44 pm - Thursday, May 26, 2011

#439 Eddie Bray

I have a Canon 5DMk2, a couple of V series Hasselblads with a Phase One Digital Back and I still enjoy using my HS10. Is the image quality as good as the MF cameras or 5DMk2 of course not, but for what you get for your money and with a little care some fantastic images can be captured.

9:23 pm - Thursday, May 26, 2011

#440 oren ovadia

yeah so i got one of these to use as a “gate to DSLR” for a pocket cam (loympus fe-300) and at first it was very good but to soon it started acting up wont turn on sometimes manuel focus has a touch of auto the focus ring is a pain it will turn indefently and the screen jumps with purplr flashes still when it works IT WOKRS but mostly it doesnt ive had it for about 2 months and i had a five day desert hike and it was treated like a god so i think its just it…

8:05 pm - Saturday, June 4, 2011

#441 mrB

@oren   5 days in the desert eh!  According to the operating specs the HS10 should work properly between 0 and 40 degrees C (32 to 104 F). Is there any chance the camera was exposed to temperatures outside this range? Might account for some strange behaviour.

7:59 am - Sunday, June 5, 2011

#442 eyoung

i am going on holiday to Canada and I will be doing activities that range from sight seeing to whale watching and I want a camera that is able to catch those all important shots quickly before they are gone !

I have been recommend the Nikon 3000, Fujifilm finepix HS10 and the Nikon p100.

could someone please suggest the best one for a beginner interested in photography.

1:02 pm - Friday, June 10, 2011

#443 al rotundo

NO WAY would i but this camera again!  Image quality is CRAP and the special effects and high speed video don’t work for shit!  And it’s a FLIMSY build to boot!  I threw mine away and bought a REAL camera - an Olympus PEN E-PL1.  WAAAAY better performer, runs rings around the Fujifilm HS10 in every category.

10:36 pm - Wednesday, June 15, 2011

#444 zebarnabe

al rotundo,
If it suits you better then congrats, finding a match for your photographic needs is what buying a camera is.

E-PL1 is in a different category of cameras… And unless you brought something like Lumix 100-300mm lens and a macro lens/filter, HS10 can still beat E-PL1 when comes to bird shooting and macro photography… Also video in HS10 is pretty impressive when compared with the competition, the only downside is the ‘sticky’ lens.

Briges cameras like HS10 appeal for their versatility, image quality will always suffer, this is evident when comparing them with travel zoom cameras.

High speed video of the HS10 is at Casio level on their high speed camera (I think the sensor is the same and/or made by Sony), E-PL1 doesn’t even have high speed video.

E-PL1 is also more expensive (even more if you add the lens) ... Yes, it’s a better camera, that is for sure.

If you wanted a real camera you had got a Pentax K-x with a dual kit lens (probably for the same price as a E-PL1), a Canon 600D (or the 550D as it should be cheaper now) or a Nikon D5100 ... E-PL1 is a good camera alright… but is not a ‘real’ camera like those 3 are… price goes up as quality goes up :/

Oh… I own a Panasonic GH1 + 14-140mm lens… and the 20mm f/1.7 lens as well ... a lot more expensive ...

I strongly suggest you get a fast lens (20mm is a nice one, but you have other options like the 14mm and the new and bigger 25mm from Leica) they are great for street photography with low light ... price is not so great and you could buy 2 HS10 with it…

BTW… I never used ‘special effects’ on any camera, that’s what imaging software on the PC is for.

11:15 pm - Wednesday, June 15, 2011

#445 al rotundo

I own the Fujifilm S7000, the Fujifilm S6000fd, and the Fujifilm S100FS - they ALL take better pictures than my Fujifilm HS10.  What’s more, the “multi-frame” technology needs work and the slo-mo video was always choppy.  I have moved up to the Olympus PEN E-PL1 and could not be happier.

12:07 am - Thursday, June 16, 2011

#446 al rotundo

I own the Fujifilm S7000, the S6000FD and the FS100FS - they ALL take better pictures than my HS10.  In addition, the “multi-frame technology” needs work and the slo-mo video is choppy.  I have moved on to an Olympus PEN E-PL1 and am very happy to have done so.

12:13 am - Thursday, June 16, 2011

#447 Shailesh

I have read many reviews here-some good, some bad about the HS 10. The one thread increasingly common in all negative reviews is the average image quality of this camera.

I saw some images taken with HS10 on this forum (http://www.flickr.com/groups/1326104@N20/pool/)and they look as good or as bad as that by any other camera in this range.

One thing to note is all cameras will have their limitations and it is up to the user to use the machine to its strength

I have bought the HS10 6 days back and while comparing it with my 7 years old Minolta Dimage Z1, the shots are not as sharp, I put it down to my learning curve. With Minolta I was an expert in the settings. I still need to get hang of HS10. One thing though, the low light performance of HS10 is better than my previous camera with better illumination of the subject in focus, so I am not complaining.

I paid $400 which is a lot for me for a camera and I need to live with it & make the best of it. Also, I reviewed all cameras in this price range and I can safely say that this is the best model in that group. Comparing this with DSLR is like comparing apples and oranges. Right comparison is Nikon P500(crap) or Canon SX 30 (good but much more expensive)

3:02 am - Saturday, June 18, 2011

#448 Shailesh

For those you want to check the image quality of HS10, you can check this gallery -http://www.flickr.com/groups/1326104@N20/

3:30 am - Saturday, June 18, 2011

#449 Eddie Bray

al rotundo

We got your message the first time, there is no need to keep repeating it, we understand, you do not like the HS10, and you are pleased with your new Olympus.

Thanks for repeatedly sharing!

9:18 am - Saturday, June 18, 2011

#450 Paul Edwards

Hi youall.  I got the HS10 about 3 days ago, second hand from Amazon.  And yesterday was the first sunny day Ive had since getting it.  I am including a link to some photos I shot mainly at full max zoom range. Now, I know the photo subject here is very mundane and boring - taken from around my house - sorry in advance. But what I want YOU to look at is the pictures themselves. I think they are pretty good esp as I am still getting to grips with the various menus. These are hand-held unsupported images from the HS10 - NO tripod.  I also made an interesting discovery after uploading the pictures to Picasa 3 (Google) The Exif info contained in most digital images says that the max zoom is 763mm - not 720 eqive . I don’t now why but I’m not complaining!  So have a look at these pix of mine and see what you can do. There is no shake and I think the images are pretty sharp even at full screen - see what you think anyway

PE
https://picasaweb.google.com/itsmepaul57/ExperimentsWithHS1020110626?feat=directlink

3:42 am - Monday, June 27, 2011

#451 Paul Ewards

Some more HS10 pix taken today around Gatwick airport where I live.  It was a cloudy day with intermittent sun shine.  I am pretty pleased with these pix esp the last dozen or so of the geese and ducks , lilly pads etc.  Still on the learning curve and I have discovered that the HS10 is a camera you have to get to know and learn about..

https://picasaweb.google.com/itsmepaul57/HS10TestShots20110629?feat=directlink

1:15 am - Thursday, June 30, 2011

#452 Paul Ewards

An edited version of the post above , this time of some pix uploaded to FB - but edited.  Have a look at these, the light has got into some of them as I don’t yet have a lens-hood. If you still think this camera is rubbish - don’t buy it!


http://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.10150369790227575.436073.643777574&l=dc196d4daf

2:40 am - Sunday, July 3, 2011

#453 Volney Andriolli

Olá Paulo Eswards,gostei bastante de seu trabalho e suas afirmações,lindas fotos.
Eu moro em Florianopolis,SC-Brasil e tenho HS10 um ano estou muito satisfeito,seus comentários são os meus,obrigado.
HS10= o menor dinheiro para ter na sacola uma grande angular/tele 30X montado pronto para disparar e com facilidade de energia disponivel com suas pilhas recarregáveis,só isso.

5:29 pm - Saturday, July 9, 2011

#454 Paul Edwards

Here are some pix from a recent trip out to my old home town of Brighton, Sussex, Uk.

Weather not fantastic, strong wind was main problem - cloudy sunny intervals.

Some nice shots I think (click and enlarge)

http://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.10150376917792575.438682.643777574&l=377962d44a

12:52 pm - Sunday, July 10, 2011

#455 charlie

i have both the hs10 and hs20. the hs20 hangs up after turning it on for about 1 minute (and 1 or 2 shots). i tried downgrading the photoquality thinking that processing of the images is the problem but the trouble still persists. what should i do? are there any upgrades?

12:35 am - Thursday, July 14, 2011

#456 zebarnabe

charlie,
Could be a malfunction, but I would check the memory card for errors, also, check if you’re shooting in RAW/RAW+JPEG (it takes up to 15 secs, that looks like an eternity, but never a minute)

Also ... if your card class is 2 or an old standard SD card you may be better betting in a faster card.

If it’s really a minute (given or taken some seconds) I would say that there is a malfunction on the camera.

However, If the air temperature is very high, the camera might overheat and turn itself off, try it in a cooler environment. If it still happens then it might really be an malfunction.

In any case, take it to the store/specialized house/Fujifilm store, if it’s new and you didn’t physically damaged it, it should be covered by warranty (depends on country I guess).

12:45 am - Thursday, July 14, 2011

#457 Paul Edwards

Charlie/HS20 Hard to say what your problem is. I have the HS10 and I am well pleased with it and have not had any operating problems so far.  IF Its still under warranty I suggest you take it back get it exchanged if you can. I have heard stories that Some vendors are sending out cameras that have been returned by other dissatisfied owners - so always make sure you get a BRAND NEW one (you never know it might have been dropped)! Do some trouble-shooting. Go to the menu in ‘setup’ and click the ‘reset’ button see if that helps. 2 Check that the battery menu is set for your current batteries. I use lithium myself they seem to last a long time. Goto fujifilms website see if there is a firmware up date as they did with the HS10.I have also heard stories of overheating (its a software bug)

Take your card out and try it with just the (very small) internal memory - you can copy them to your card later. You can get a good quality series 10 Transcend card off amazon.co.uk for about £15.

Hope u get it sorted!  PE

2:27 am - Thursday, July 14, 2011

#458 Paul Edwards

I accidentally discovered something the other day while playing around with my HS10 in the living room - you folks may already have found it it and Im last to know - But if you set the AF lock , the button below the vid button, I discovered that in MANUAL Auto focus , if you press the AF Lock button it focuses and locks automatically on your target and pretty fast too.  You have to go to the internal menu first and make the correct setting which in this case is just for AF Auto focus lock. Good luck.PE

1:41 pm - Thursday, July 28, 2011

#459 Paul Edwards

I recently purchased a ‘Transcend’ media card from Amazon.co.uk   16GB class 10 £15 UK pounds - amazing!  value for money!PE

1:49 am - Sunday, July 31, 2011

#460 Francis MacDonald

Had this camera for over a year and I love it!

Takes amazing photos but there is a learning curve to get the most out of it.

The price should have dropped by now, the HS10 has been replaced I think by the HS30.

Grab one if you can find it.

Francis - Canada

5:50 pm - Wednesday, October 5, 2011

#461 Paul Edwards

I think there are people out there who couldn’t take a good picture if the had £10,000 of camera.
If the moaners can find a camera with this ones flexibility (and value for money) in the DSLR range Ill eat it and the lenscap…

Anyone know a camera out there in DSLR land that can go from 1cm macro right out to 720mm equive at the press of a button?
  I have included a link to some pictures I took in London a few days ago when we had that rather nice spell of unseasonable weather - I am perfectly happy with them . They are all snapshots in the true sense of the word and are taken without a tripod - this includes the shot of the wheel hub of the London eye which was at max zoom/hand held.  Actually I don’t even posses a tripod and am not planning to buy one.

I agree with what others have said here. The HS10/20 are very sophisticated cameras which involve a leaning curve and which somebody should write a book about - because the so called manual is nowhere good enough!

PE

http://tinyurl.com/6xut8qk

2:33 am - Thursday, October 6, 2011

#462 John

Thanks for the extensive review of this excellent value for money camera.
During the next 24 hours you can get this desirable camera for 25% off the already discounted price by using my link.
Webmaster of http://www.fujifilmfinepixdigitalcamera.net

12:51 pm - Thursday, December 15, 2011

#463 Fabian Sanhueza

Les dejo mi galeria de flickr donde encontraran mas de 50 fotos tomadas con esta càmara…

Saludos:

http://www.flickr.com/photos/fsanhuezav/collections/72157628410813081/

8:44 pm - Sunday, December 18, 2011

#464 jeff stevenson

My images come out distorted when using maximum ‘zoom’. EG the horizon reveals appears a concave curve completely ruining the image. Similarly, on Macro images are distorted and show a convex curve.

Any suggestions / reasons??

11:13 pm - Monday, March 19, 2012

#465 zebarnabe

jeff stevenson,

With massive zooms that is normal in modern cameras, some correct it on camera itself, HS10 corrects it partially, but you can correct the lens distortion in post, there are some free software packages that allows you to do that, GIMP and some of its’ filters, Hugin, etc.

There are some RAW converters that correct distortion as well.

Usually you can use distortion to your own advantage as well, at wide angle the RAW image on HS10 is really distorted, almost fisheye looking, if you use a RAW converter that doesn’t correct distortion you get an almost fisheye lens (albeit not as wide) for free.

Happy shooting :]

6:18 pm - Tuesday, March 20, 2012

#466 Phillius

I love good photos. When you have a photo with just a small portion that doesn’t turn out quite right, the entire picture is junk. But taken correctly, it can turn out twice as good as the eye can see.

8:39 pm - Thursday, March 13, 2014

Entry Tags

hd video, hd, 3 inch LCD, 1080p, wide-angle, super-zoom, manual, RAW, fujifilm, 24mm, 10fps, finepix, fuji, 30x zoom, Fujifilm FinePix HS10 Review, hs 10, hs10

Tracker Pixel for Entry