Fujifilm FinePix HS20 EXR Review

4.0
April 28, 2011 | Mark Goldstein |

Your Comments

188 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#101 Kym Crowley

So. It would appear that a lot of HS10 owners and HS20 owners really did not take the time to learn how to drive these units properly. Two weeks of rather constant testing at many different settings, and I be very happy with my HS20. A damn fine bit of kit for what it is. And it is NOT a DSLR. Do not buy a HS20 if you are not prepared to work at it. Auto, schmauto I say…

6:12 am - Monday, July 11, 2011

#102 Paul Edwards

Andrea:  I don’t think that image you were looking at represents what the HS10 is capable of doing.  It (and the HS20) VERY complicated and sophisticated cameras with a fairly steep learning curve.  That picture you showed us (The right hand one)  Looks to me that it was taken with the wrong settings and maybe set to a very high ISO even if it was on program mode. The rules of physics as regards to photography have not changed since the 35mm days - You STILL have to stop down and use a sensible film speed to get good colour /depth of field depending on the effect you want to achieve. Back in 35m times you would go and get a 200ASA or maybe a 400ASA film and be happy with that.  Modern cameras like the HS10/20 can easily shoot up to 6400ASA and not even tell you!! It may also be that your sample photo was being taken at too lower shutter speed hence the blur.  Most of the time for general photography I use 200ASA (ISO) because I got good results with that when I had my old 35mm gear.

The thing of course, is that with 720mm (my EXIF info shows 763 actually!)  even the slightest movement of the lens will be seriously amplified.  SO we must make sure that the image stabilization is on (it does work!)

3:41 pm - Thursday, July 14, 2011

#103 Paul Edwards

Heres some photos I took the other day at my local lake - all hand held so there is some shake (I’m 58) Nevertheless some of them of the Heron I am very happy with, just wish I could have go closer still!!

https://picasaweb.google.com/itsmepaul57/HeronAtHorleyLake20110711?authuser=0&feat=directlink

3:46 pm - Thursday, July 14, 2011

#104 J

Love the toy!

11:38 am - Thursday, July 21, 2011

#105 Debananda Padhi

Can please explain whether there is a digital zoom option in the HS20EXR or not? if yes then what is
its range that mean whether it is 2x or 4x or what else ?

8:21 am - Thursday, July 28, 2011

#106 Michel

Dear Debananda Padhi:  No digital zoom but with 16megapixel you got plenty of room to zoom in, if you stay in the A4 format naturally!

10:27 am - Thursday, July 28, 2011

#107 Gpar

Hi all, this is a slideshow video I made using some photos I took this summer with my HS20. Hope you like them!

1:10 pm - Thursday, July 28, 2011

#108 Paul Edwards

You can of course go to fujifims website and download any manual in PDF format and study it at leisure. The HS10 manual is 152 pages so I assume that the HS20 manual will be the same or bigger. PE

1:32 pm - Thursday, July 28, 2011

#109 Paul Edwards

GPAR:  No LINK!!!

1:43 pm - Thursday, July 28, 2011

#110 Kym Crowley

The HS20 manual is actually smaller than the 10. Odd.

2:18 pm - Thursday, July 28, 2011

#111 Gpar

Sorry about this, here’s the link to my slideshow: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=k9zEq2VV6AI Thanks again

3:55 pm - Thursday, July 28, 2011

#112 Debananda Padhi

In the comment section ,, lots of people written that fujifilm HS20 is poor quality of picture.. that means is it the camera’s fault or the photographer fault..because a good photographer can take or compose a very good photo even using the simple compact camera.. it is the technique to take the photo and adjust the feature of the camera according to the shooting condition of the frame he/she want to capture.. unless a better idea about the composition and the adjustment of ISO range as well as exposer control, EV +_balance, shutter speed etc.. no one can get the better picture..if the person take the simple advantages of these things and learned about how to take better picture and how to control take the advantages of the options given at the camera , one get a very good picture at any whether condition even at night shoot also..automatically no camera even if the DSLRs are also not giving good picture quality , it is the tricks of the person who taking the picture and knowledge of the person regarding photography gives the better result.. also resolution impact the picture quality..

6:09 pm - Thursday, July 28, 2011

#113 dr_hany

bad camera

Chinese collection

complete freeze after minuets from use and respond by removing batters

this problem is common for many users

1:38 pm - Saturday, August 6, 2011

#114 kp

Agree with last post, this camera is rubbish
Had to resort to using my mobile phone on holiday to take pictures as so frustrated with this piece of junk !!
This camera has a major design flaw in that it
randomly locks up after a short period
Only way to fix is remove battery cover to reset, believe me you soon get fed up with this.

8:14 pm - Tuesday, August 9, 2011

#115 Orin Keplinger

Reply to Post # 105 Debananda

You asked about digital zoom ... one does get it when using the camera in manual focus mode. I seem to notice it only works when the shutter button is not pushed half-way down.  This manual focus ring is very narrow and back at the extreme rear of the lens body. It is somewhat tricky to use, but when, for instance, shooting a bird through intervening leaves and/or branches, I find it quite helpful in spot mode. Best on a tripod, too.
As Ever, Orin near Chicago

12:19 am - Wednesday, August 10, 2011

#116 Helldiver

Regarding the locking up it does help to upgrade the camera software. It did the trick for me. Usually it locked up during very warm afternoon outside.

But generally speaking (after 6000 photos) I have only positive stories about this camera (even bought a second one for my son).

It takes time to know all the functions and I believe I still have 20% or more to discover or use.

11:41 pm - Wednesday, August 10, 2011

#117 junpinoy

the HS20 Still ..still STINKS… i want to return it, but i bought it overseas.. too bad for me..focusing is really a nightmare..still overheating… photos are soooo lame.. my old fujifilm point and shoot A210 makes better much better photos…and its 2.1MP to boot!

1:30 am - Thursday, August 11, 2011

#118 Helldiver

junpinoy :  did you upgrade your firmware?

6:34 am - Thursday, August 11, 2011

#119 junpinoy

Helldiver, the firmware that i downloaded does not work , i have tried several times, srictly following the instructions from step 1.  i did downloaded in 2 different computers using XP and Win7 , but none worked.  the service center in my country does not have the firmware.

The focusing is really a headache, specially if the outdoor shoot is gloomy..the picture becomes super gloomy , bleed,  poor light, noise.

I had been on DSLR for 4 years,  with SLR (Film) for 25 years…. my first digital camera , a Fuji A210 point and shoot does a lot of great job.  but this HS20 is such a pain in the neck and my ass… how i want to return it, but the seller in HongKong does not accept returns, so i learned the hard way..never ..never buy in Hong Kong..and never buy fuji digital camera again..specially if the camera is a DSLR “wannabe”

2:01 pm - Thursday, August 11, 2011

#120 junpinoy

and another thing…HS20 is a real mess using Indoors…better use the Camera of the mobile phone, does the job better

2:04 pm - Thursday, August 11, 2011

#121 Fabio

It seems that camera makers are in the same kind of race as cell phones makers are. They launch products without all the tests and quality control, Fuji and Nikon are having a lot of problems and that scares customers away. In this race Sony was the last to launch a bridge camera and they did it right, the HX100 is an amost perfect camera and I never saw a complaint in the internet. I had the Fuji and never had a malfunction, very good pictures, but like the review says it’s a Jekyll an Hide camera. Even with that it beats the Canon SX30 and the Nikon P500 ( I owned them too) but not the new Sony. The Fuji is not a camera for point and shoot photographers, it is full of misteries, but that can be very entertaining. Sony’s HX100 is a camera that has 2 AUTO modes, leave it in AUTO plus and forget, great pictures and amazing movies, a perfect travel camera,  if size matters, the HX9 is the pocket version, virtually the same camera and if you are an explorer they have a huge amount of settings and scene modes, but not slow motion movies ( I miss that). So if you are new to photography the HS20 may be not the best choice.

3:29 pm - Thursday, August 11, 2011

#122 junpinoy

Are there some “avid fans” of this HS20 ?  i am willing to sell this at half the price.. US$200 , please let me know.

I only shot less than a hundred clicks to test this product on different scenes, indoor and outdoor.

unfortunately, i seem to have a hard time adjusting myself to this technology. so i am selling this FujiHS20 with a bargain price..

1:31 am - Friday, August 12, 2011

#123 Helldiver

Regarding the EXR tech it’s really amazing! I used to avoid trying to get shoots in churches and other “dark” places but since the HS20 I can only recommend to try it there. All my photos from churches are quiet amazing to the point that some friends with SLRs are choked when we compare photos made at the same place, me with my HS20 (without flash) and other with by example a DSLR from Nikon or Canon.

I am not a pro but am really impress by the EXR technology (even after 6000 photos)

1:24 pm - Friday, August 12, 2011

#124 Rod Plinston

OK ... I have a 3 month-old HS20EXR, when switched on with the error message “FOCUS ERROR” on screen. The zoom works OK and magnifies on screen, but it stays blurred. Nor is it possible to take a photo. Sounds like a major error in connecting the auto-focus to the camera. Advise please !!! I’v had a string of digital cameras, but this type of problem - never! I could go on with many other idiosyncracies of this camera - but that can wait !!

6:44 pm - Tuesday, August 30, 2011

#125 Kes T Fal

I have a HS20 and the best that I would say is it’s not for beginners, I have had to work at it to achieve best performance. The other thing I would say is that the standard of english on here is appalling and I cant understand half of you.

2:48 pm - Saturday, September 17, 2011

#126 Jayne McCall

Hi everyone,….I’ve been doing photography some 50 years now so I have much experience & witnessed many changes.

After much deliberation over the pros & cons of HS20 & the many online reviews that I’ve spent hours pondering over, It appeared that there was a mixed bag of views,…a bit like Marmite…”you love it or hate it!”

I had several cameras in mind namely Canon SX30 IS with ½.3” sensor, which I have handled….AMAZING zoom & Image Stabilizer……Best stabilizer EVER!!!! But images were not as good (in my opinion) as HS20. Low light images not as good & no filter thread.

The other option was a Sony HX100v but images & noise figures were not as impressive as HS20. I love Sony gear but the lenses they use do suffer from a little chromatic aberration (purple fringing) in high contrast shots. Nice camera though!

And finally an entry level DSLR (due to expense) with a poultry 3X zoom lens at wide angle. I knew that this would give me the low noise figures I desired.
Although only 10 megapixel, there is 16 times more light available per pixel with a “C” size sensor. Therefore I could achieve noise figures at an ISO of 1600 that could be achieved at ISO 100 with a bridge camera (theoretically)….worth having!

Anyway, at last I “pushed the boat out” and bought the Fuji HS20 EXR & after two weeks & 4 sets of batts…approx 1200 shots I still love it!

It’s not for the point & shoot brigade at all!….forget it! There are far too many choices and variables for the casual user. It is for the “creative” user that wants a light but sophisticated large zoom lens that will cater for just about any shot you can imagine.

All the HS20 lacks is a large sensor,…BUT that would mean a massive hike in price & bigger glassware to boot! It’s a compromise (and life is full of them).

The HS20 has a slightly larger sensor than any other bridge camera to cover for those extra few pixels, combined with CMOS technology for lower power/faster & better noise figures.
Plus If you want to do natural low light photography you have the EXR function which combines 2 pixels together to double the light and half the noise,.. but leave only 8 megapixels. (A3 size?).

So now you have choices “good light” Resolution(16mpx), Increased Dynamic range (16mpx) & Low Light capability (8mpx) in one camera.
I agree with most people’s objections about increasing megapixel count.
All it appears to do is increase the cropping possibilities, noise & reduce low light capabilities.

For those who think that megapixels count, check out my photos of my 1 megapixel camera, Sony PC105E camcorder.
I have sold my Lumix fz38 on ebay because I was disappointed with the noise figures it produced in low light. I owned it for 3 month & didn’t like it much. It took great photos in good light and video was superb even at 720p.

Check example photos of HS20, Lumix fz38 & Sony PC105E at link below. Click on “Sets”.

http://www.flickr.com/photos/lesjay2011/

Pros:

Best images for its class.
Veratility.
Best low light capability in its class.
Great build quality
Filter thread.
Portability Vs Capability.
Uses AA batts.

Cons:
Sensor shift Image Stabilizer is ok but not best (creates a little “frame wave”) on movies.
Zoom is juddery, but you barely notice it (unless videoing).
Tripod thread appears to be plastic, probably ok, but It’s a 1st for me and an unknown.

Would I change anything? Tripod thread, Image stabilizer effect.

NB It is primarily a “Stills” camera! If you want great movies this isn’t for you….Buy a video camera instead.

The Fuji HS20,…..”Does exactly what it says on the tin”.
For around £300 GBP it’s unbelievable! The lens equivalent DSLR will cost around £1200 GBP.

So, get “Real” people…prepare to make compromises, enjoy photography, stop looking focussing on ultimate quality of image. The HS20 is not a DSLR, but it’s the next best thing in handling & picture quality.
I have had to ask myself “How good do I want or need a photo to be?”
I do not regret it at all. The HS20 comes highly recommended by myself.

6:56 pm - Wednesday, September 21, 2011

#127 Helldiver

As a HS20 user (6 months now) I totally agree with Jayne McCall.

Nothing else to add. A real “Marmite” case! :-)

12:32 pm - Thursday, September 22, 2011

#128 Fabio

I had the Fuji HS20 for some months and my initial impressions were very good. It can produce better pictures than Canon SX30 and Nikon P500 in some ocasions ( I had them too) but no better than the Sony HX100V. Jayne McCall mentioned that Sony have purple fringing issues, but comparing pictures that I took in the same spot with it and the HX100 shows no PF at all with the Sony and heavy PF with the Fuji and overall better quality. Another comment is that if you want to shoot movies buy a camcorder, that’s true with the Fuji, with very poor stabilization and the stiff zoom ring, but the Sony model can make better movies than my Sony HD camcorder. Focus is better with Sony, the zoom ring is smooth and precise with an extra auto zoom control, the optical zoom is very good and at least doubles the range with very good quality and stabilization is superb.
Another point, the Fuji does not have a filter thread, it’s not mentioned in the user manual or specs, there are some grooves that can hold a 58 mm filter if you are very carefull, I tried to attach a ring light and it could’nt hold it. There are filter adaptors for Sony, I use them.
  The Fuji is a camera that can be compared to a DSLR in terms of size ,controls and poor movies, but not image quality, the Sony can be compared in terms of image quality with a Cheap DSLR with cheap lenses, it beats my Canon T3 with the kit lens , a 50 1.8 lens and a 70 300 zoom, except in portraits and fast shooting, but beats it in low light shooting of still objects.
  My intention here is to help those who are choosing a camera, for those who already have it I’m sure that it can make you happy, I liked it very much when I finally managed to set it correctly. For those who are choosing a camera take a look at the new Sony HX100V or even it’s little brother the pocketable HX9V.

5:36 pm - Thursday, September 22, 2011

#129 agnes

so i worth buy this camera or not?i would like to but a new camera and i think this is quite good,or not?thx

8:16 pm - Monday, September 26, 2011

#130 Helldiver

agnes:  If you find a nice low priced HS20 I would not hesitate.
To be honest if I had to buy a camera now I would still go for the HS20 because if you look at price/quality/performance nothing is better for the moment.
I hope it helps!

10:12 am - Tuesday, September 27, 2011

#131 Tom Macriel

After 5 months using of This crazy camera as Press photographer and my education was on Fine Art College Photography department and after 20 years of experience i think the HS20 Would be more convenient to use for professional and the some one who use it for trips or friends photography and lacks for knowledge about the essentials of photography will face extremely difficult to control all the advantages with that and in my opinion considered the most advanced techniques in this class so far

And finally im agree with
“Kym Crowley” so much really All these tchniques must be used perfectly with professional work on your shots this is the professionality i think ..


you can follow my gallery with HS20 EXR here :

http://www.flickr.com/photos/67536347@N08/

12:51 am - Thursday, October 6, 2011

#132 Taylor

I had this one for a while now and it is really great.

6:57 am - Monday, October 10, 2011

#133 Gary

Read with interest the negative comments about this camera which is a shame considering the price and this shot that I took in my garden a few days ago speaks volumes on what this camera is capable of

http://tinypic.com/r/be7s6t/7

10:26 am - Monday, October 17, 2011

#134 tonysturn

I’ve had my HS20 for about 3 months now and I have to say ‘at first’ I was not over impressed with it,but after trying all the various settings, and ready to accept it as just average ,I discovered manual mode,and it was one of those ‘eureka moments’. Ever since then I love this camera.I’ve had none of the problems with overheating(maybe mine is a later model) and the focusing is fine.I think the 30x barrel zoom is just so versatile and I’ve had some stunning images even at full zoom.Here’s a link to my Flickr page to take a look.
http://www.flickr.com/photos/66428333@N06/6216511855/in/set-72157627438645162.
I would suggest anyone who has this camera and is not happy, to try the manual mode and with some trial and error you will be surprised..

10:12 pm - Wednesday, October 19, 2011

#135 Steven

After many months of using, Fuji hs20exr is camera that produce very good images, using EXR whith tripode. No more caring lenses,no more heavy equipment. Best amateur camera, great A3 prints. Is not DSLR, is travel camera, rechargeable batteries and 700-800 shots. No overheating after firmware 1.03. Site: akiwi retrospective and you can find nice settings. If you do not know how to use this camera, buy point and shot camera, or phone.

5:13 pm - Thursday, October 20, 2011

#136 Iruwen

Since there are cameras like the HX100V, DMC-FZ150 and eventually SX40 which is still to be reviewed I just don’t see a reason to get a HS20 EXR which needs a lot of manual intervention to produce the same results one can get by simply using the intelligent auto modes the competitors offer. Which produce even better results with manual settings too. The HS20 EXR is obsolete and I think many people just try to warrant their mispurchase. Only argument for it is the low price (which is low for a reson). I wouldn’t recommend it considering the competitor’s products.

1:10 pm - Friday, October 21, 2011

#137 Sharon

tonysturn, when you say you went to manual mode, did you go to manual settings for exposure or focus or both?

Sorry, I still like the camera.  It’s just what I wanted.  I wanted to learn how to take pictures, not just push a botton, and I didn’t want to carry around a lot of heavy lenses.  I still wonder if the camera doesn’t almost always take the same picture.  I.e., if I change one parameter, then it automatically adjusts the other parameters. I do find it has a tendency toward overexposure so I keep the exposure compensation button set at least one step down.  I’ve only had trouble with over heating on macro when I fail to turn it off while moving around looking for my nextg shot.  It keeps trying to focus and take a picture and therefore overheats.

6:20 pm - Friday, October 21, 2011

#138 tonysturn

Hi Sharon,
regarding your question
I use only manual exposure now,I tried manual focus but I couldn’t get on with it,but I think auto focus does the job just fine.
This was taken with auto focus,handheld 30x zoom and 1/80th sec- (take a look)
http://www.flickr.com/photos/66428333@N06/6283880980/sizes/l/in/set-72157627438645162/ this camera still amazes me ..
Like you I wanted to learn how to take pictures and not just push a button.
If your camera keeps trying to focus and over heats, why not set your focus to “single shot” focus and not continuous only use continuous for moving subjects.
Hope I’ve been of some help Tony ..

7:04 pm - Thursday, October 27, 2011

#139 Cliff Occo

For some while I’ve been debating whether to buy an HS10 or HS20, but have been waiting the necessary funds. I’m a pensioner, approaching 70 and have been taking photographs for 50 years, most of the time with a (D)SLR. However, carrying a kit of lenses, and sometimes a video camera as well, is proving a bit much so kit such as the HS20 seemed like a dream come true.

I have read the reviews here, and the large number of comments, with a great deal of interest, therefore, particularly bearing in mind that this could very well be my last camera purchase. Users remarks were particularly of great interest.

I bear in mind that with cameras, like most things in life, one man’s meat is another man’s poison. I was swayed by the number of positive comments and in particular the remarks that this is more than a simple point and shoot compact - I think I am old enough, but still with enough wits about me,to come to grips with the machine. I had to chuckle when I read the comments that there is a 5 second lag when shooting RAW. Oh dear, oh dear children! Once upon a time we used something called ‘film’ which came in ‘cassettes’ which allowed 36 shots and when one was finished the cassette had to have the film rewound into it, then the back of the camera opened, the cassette taken out, another inserted, the leader of the film attached to the take up spool, wound on, and then we were ready to begin shooting again. I calculate that to take 36 shots with a 5 sec lag will take just over 3 minutes. In the days of film a rolls of 36 might last a day or more. We were far more careful with the shots that we took as every one was an irrevocable use of the medium.

So 5 seconds lag does not bother me. I assume the overheating problem will have been cured in my model - if not I shall have to download the firmware fix.

So, holding my hard earned lolly in my grubby mitts I have taken the plunge and ordered my HS20 from Messrs Amazon’s emporium. When it arrives I shall test drive it and post the results in Flickr or Picasa.

One final thought. A camera is only a machine and the results from it are usually only as good as the idiot or genius behind the viewfinder. However, just as I don’t expect the same results from little Micra as I would from a Porsche, I won’[t be surprised if the HS20 doesn’t perform as well as the latest DSLR offering from Messrs CanKon (making Hex sign)

7:02 pm - Tuesday, November 15, 2011

#140 Photoboy

See this photostream who works with the great Fujifilm HS20EXR !!!! Amazing really very professional work

http://www.flickr.com/photos/macfudge/

Regards

7:22 pm - Monday, November 21, 2011

#141 Paul Edwards

I think Mr Sturns photos on Flickr are hard to beat and show just what is possible with a little care - these are some of the best photos Ive ever seen from a bridge camera. Inspirational!  I have a HS10 which is just as good. P Edwards

1:27 pm - Monday, November 28, 2011

#142 tonysturn

Thank you very much Paul,
That’s a nice thing to say.and I’m very flattered.
Think I’m just lucky to have such a great camera,and too much time on my hands ..

Tony
http://www.flickr.com/photos/tonysturn/sets/72157627438645162/

8:38 pm - Monday, November 28, 2011

#143 tonysturn

Thanks very much Paul,that’s a nice thing to say.
I’m very flattered.
Think I’m just lucky to have such a great camera and too much time on my hands ...

Tony
http://www.flickr.com/photos/tonysturn

8:52 pm - Monday, November 28, 2011

#144 tonysturn

Thanks very much Paul,that’s a really nice thing to say.I’m very flattered .
Think I’m just lucky to have such a great camera and too much time on my hands ..

Tony
http://www.flickr.com/photos/tonysturn

8:56 pm - Monday, November 28, 2011

#145 <u>tonysturn</u>

Thanks very much Paul,that’s a really nice thing to say,I’m very flattered.
Think I’m just lucky to have such a great camera and too much time on my hands ..

Tony
http://www.flickr.com/photos/tonysturn

9:03 pm - Monday, November 28, 2011

#146 Paul Edwards

I hope all the nay-sayers and negatives on here will take a good look and realize its (sometimes) their fault and not that of the camera. I grew up with 35mm cameras having been interested in photography for nearly 40 years - the modern cameras of today are light years ahead of the Pentaxes and canons and Nikons we had back then. Such things as auto-focus,auto programming and large ISO ranges where unheard of then and where a distant dream. If you took a load of shots at an airshow or similar a lot of them would have been scrap = and you still had to pay for them!

These moaners of here dont know their born!

9:55 pm - Monday, November 28, 2011

#147 Tonysturn

Don’t know what happened there,
My post seems to be repeating itself ..

10:16 pm - Monday, November 28, 2011

#148 Cliff Occo

Paul Edwards said:-

‘I hope all the nay-sayers and negatives on here will take a good look and realize its (sometimes) their fault and not that of the camera. I grew up with 35mm cameras having been interested in photography for nearly 40 years - the modern cameras of today are light years ahead of the Pentaxes and canons and Nikons we had back then. Such things as auto-focus,auto programming and large ISO ranges where unheard of then and where a distant dream. If you took a load of shots at an airshow or similar a lot of them would have been scrap = and you still had to pay for them!

These moaners of here dont know their born!’

Amen to all that! 50 years in the game and stillable to remember having to close down manually after taking exposure reading…

11:45 pm - Monday, November 28, 2011

#149 Paul Edwards

MT First ever camera I had was the Russian Zenith E absolutely NO automation whatsoever!!! Things like the light meter and aperture , shutter speeds were totally unrelated to each other (I have to laugh)

I think it was made out of old T-34 tank parts and the technology was roughly contemporaneous to the Austin 7 or Model T Ford!  I still managed to take some quite nice photos/slides with it - if one even got a descent image out of it you would party for a week!

1:36 am - Tuesday, November 29, 2011

#150 Cliff Occo

Paul, I also had a Zenith - an even earlier model than yours in that it had no exposure meter and in my earlier post I should have said I had to close down manually after FOCUSING.

I even had a Zenith made standard 8 movie camera. About 5 minutes of filming on one roll which had, in any event, to be turned over mid way through. No cassette, of course, so fogging was an ever present possibility.

11:30 am - Tuesday, November 29, 2011

#151 Johntushar

I am damn impressed with the DSLR looks of the camera but as read in the reviews about picture quality feeling sad for it.
May be fujifilm needs to work on stronger processor and picture quality with refreshed outer looks.

Thanks

12:05 pm - Thursday, December 1, 2011

#152 Paul Edwards

Johntushar:‘I am damn impressed with the DSLR looks of the camera but as read in the reviews about picture quality feeling sad for it.
May be fujifilm needs to work on stronger processor and picture quality with refreshed outer looks.’

‘Thanks’

WHAT the hell have the reviews got to do with anything?? Hmm?  Have a look at the images produced by people like Tony Sturn ,myself and others here.

http://www.flickr.com/photos/tonysturn/page2/

The images speak for themselves!  Amazing images a lot of professionals would be happy with. As Ive said before if you’d grown up with some of the 35mm SLRs Ive had pre digital you would realize how amazing modern cameras like the HS10 and HS20 really are and how incredibly flexible and sophisticated they are too. The other day I decided to take a load of Black and White images - years ago I would have had to go buy special film for this and we were limited to either 100 or 200ASA 400ASA tops - now we can select any setting we want AND have HD1080 video too if we wish!!!

Then we have the absolute luxury and convenience of a built in lens with 24mm - 720mm ZOOM! AND 1cm HQ Macro!

I can also go out and take 400 shots (I often do) and the only cost is charging the reusable batteries up at home!!

And how many lens/camera combinations do you know that can take high quality macro images of insects and flowers AND take photos of the Moon showing great detail HAND HELD for under £200??????

PE

2:22 pm - Thursday, December 1, 2011

#153 HS

I’m no professional photographer, in fact the HS20 is my first “real” camera.
I didn’t know much about it when I bought it 4 months ago. But, now I find I can’t go anywhere without it.
For it’s price it’s versatility and IQ are unmatched, for the non-pro who’s budget doesn’t extend to the equivalent performance in tems of lens range to a DSLR, (how many shots does the average amateur DSLR lose because the wrong lens is on his camera?), I catch everything every time!
This camera is not a DSLR, but in a practical ssense, presents a far better package.
I don’t know what the reviewer actually did to produce such crap results at 16 MP, when even a rookie with 4 months experience in photography can do so much better.
You need to nurse the best out of it. AND USE MANUAL SETTINGS!
This is a fantastic highly reccommended camera, which is more than I can say for the cut and paster who wrote this drivvel.

7:42 am - Friday, December 2, 2011

#154 Tushar John

Hi Guys, I am not pro photographer but really love to take good pictures of my kiddo and outdoors pictures. I want to buy a good ultra zoom camera (not DSLR) of ranging between 700mm to 800mm. I am really confused between following options, I am putting the list my preference wise:
1.  Canon PowerShot SX30 IS
2.  Fujifilm FinePix HS20 EXR
3.  Panasonic Lumix DMC-FZ150
Can any of my professional photographer friends help me out in making the final decision. One more thing I would like to request, I live in India and not able to get online price for the 2nd and 3rd option in Indian currency (Rupees). Please help me.

Thanks in Advance.

Johntushar

6:58 am - Saturday, December 3, 2011

#155 izzy Bush

it is difficult to download photos off of because the computer acts like it isnt there

10:57 pm - Saturday, December 3, 2011

#156 Paul Edwards

Izzy:  You have a memory card in your camera right??  So you take the card out and put it in the card slot of either your PC/laptop or Printer (Some have a card slot too). If you dont have that you need to get a cheap card reader that connects to your computer via a USB connection. As soon as you insert your card the computer software will read it and download your images.

I use and recommend Picasa 3 its a very good free photo software from Google http://picasa.google.com/  I cant recommend the software that comes with the camera there are so many other better ones including windows photo gallery found on most windows computers. PE

11:17 pm - Saturday, December 3, 2011

#157 Paul Edwards

Izzy+2 Just had another thought. You might need to check ‘Autoplay’ which is in the ‘Control panel’ (press start then Control panel)  double click Autoplay and check the dropdown menus and look at PICTURES to see what its set to do when importing pictures/images/media. Click THAT drop down menu to select whatever your picture playing softwares is - for example Picasa if you have it. Paul

11:33 pm - Saturday, December 3, 2011

#158 Cliff Occo

Surprising computer doesn’t recognise it, especially if you’ve installed the Fuji software, My FinePix Studio. However, I never, ever connect a camera to the computer - it wastes too much battery. I always use a card reader, and have been doing so for over 10 years now.

12:31 am - Sunday, December 4, 2011

#159 Paul Edwards

Like I said - you may need to check out AUTORUN In the Control panel and select which program is to run in the drop down menu PICTURES. basic computing. unless there is some other fault with yr Pc/laptop.

12:43 am - Sunday, December 4, 2011

#160 Paul Edwards

I think that as far as best super-zooms are concerned there are two favorites just now as well as the HS10 and HS20- the cannon Powershot SX40Se (Good reviews)  35 X Zoom but it doesn’t use RAW images.

And, if you can do with a smaller zoom range the Panasonic Lumix DMC-FZ150 has been having rave reviews has a fast shutter - little lag and can use RAW files (higher details) The Fujifilm HS10/20 are a good start to esp as you can get them cheap on amazon.com . P Edwards

2:37 pm - Monday, December 5, 2011

#161 Malcolm

I found the review very useful and bought one.  Thanks for doing the reviews.  I use mine for product photography and general use. Moved up from a Finepix S8000. 

For product photography the obvious difference to me is way more dynamic range, better colour, and less of that blue around the edges.  I’m still learning the new camera but have best results on the max resolution.

It’s general messing around where I’ve found the differences stunning.  I took some pictures on the EXR setting in bad light and they look like someone spent time on them and had good lighting. 

I’m very happy with the thing and should have upgraded earlier.  Though my take is from an old and lower spec camera.

8:11 pm - Saturday, December 10, 2011

#162 Mehran

I wanted to know more about taking portrait shots with background defocusing (so called bokeh). Can we capture such tele photos with hs20? If so how well it is?

11:32 am - Tuesday, December 20, 2011

#163 Paul Edwards

I wouldn’t take too much notice of the negative remarks on here from other contributors regarding the HS10/20. I Have been wining photo competitions with THIS camera!  Its all you need to know.  This camera can do anything that any other camera can do, often better - this includes taking crap pictures sometimes (expensive cameras do this too) Its nearly always involves the person behind the lens - this includes me too!PE

2:22 pm - Tuesday, December 20, 2011

#164 Menasin

Chris Bryant said…

Looks like a fantastic camera for paedophiles and terrorists who can sit at a very discreet distance and photograph the objects of their twisted desire. Perhaps they can get together and call themselves Paedo-terrorist. Having a lens this long makes a mockery of ‘little Hitler’s’ in the form of security guards harassing and abusing the rights of photographers.

Chris, in my opinion, you are truly a sick man.

5:17 pm - Thursday, December 22, 2011

#165 Tezz

We are about to buy our 5th superzoom as we find the convenience of all in 1 lens so convenient. We currently use a Canon SX20IS, we are very pleased with its pictures.
However, we find the camera weight of 700g (with batteries) a major drawback as we go bush walking with camera ready. Four NIMH AA batteries weigh 120g. All this does not sound much til after walking an hour or more….
So we are looking for a replacement camera which is lighter & looks like we will need to move to li-on batteries. This camera is similar weight to Canon so looks like we exclude it. Any alternative cameras with superzoom & viewfinder?

6:27 am - Wednesday, January 4, 2012

#166 Paul Edwards

I know this is obviously the HS20 review but in my opinion I would deffo suggest the Canon Powershot SX40HS - its one hell of a camera for the money (average about £360)  It has been getting rave reviews and has a 24 - 840mm zoom lens, apparently much sharper then the previous SX30 and a faster shutter speed it also has very good low light abilities and an all singing all dancing rear viewing monitor 1080 video and the ability to take still images while making a vid!  Its certainly my next purchase. Whenever I am interested in any camera I always go to youtube and type in; ‘Canon SX40HS ’ or whatever.  I dont think you can do much about the weight unless you buy a lens kit Camera (Like the small Fuji G2/G3 system and share the weight of lens(s) and Camera.  PE

1:15 pm - Wednesday, January 4, 2012

#167 Simon

Paul- I can attest to the qualities of the SX40HS- a very capable camera,in nigh on all lighting conditions.
And here’s a thought- you can actually use it utilising the full resolution it was marketed with… ;)

6:24 pm - Sunday, January 15, 2012

#168 Paul Edwards

What happened to rest of your post Simon???

6:42 pm - Sunday, January 15, 2012

#169 Tony

I just found this review site, and I will make sure I never come to it again. The reviewer is an idiot. A moron. A complete asshole, in fact.

11:39 am - Monday, February 6, 2012

#170 Cliff Occo

Tony said:- ‘I just found this review site, and I will make sure I never come to it again. The reviewer is an idiot. A moron. A complete asshole, in fact.’

Don’t you just love constructive criticism?

12:40 pm - Monday, February 6, 2012

#171 mbonk

resourceful discussion

i guess i will buy this camera as it powered by AA batteries, will use it in remote areas where electricity is not available at all.

mbonk

8:51 am - Thursday, February 16, 2012

#172 Bill

I own a HS20 and very happy with it. The reviewer is a jerk. He did not take his pictures at the resolutions most people use and are satisfied with ( 5-10)MP. Who needs 16MP unless they are shooting pictures for roadside billboards. His review is similar to reviewing the handling characteristics of a car at its maxim speed or the resolution of a lens at its widest aperture instead or two f stops above which will give its best resolving power. I am perfectly satisfied with 7MP unless I want a life size picture of myself to paste on the wall. The HS20’s Pictures at 16MP aren’t all that bad with a few tweaks in Photoshop

Remind me to find a different reviewer when I am looking for an intelligent review.

8:08 am - Sunday, March 4, 2012

#173 Paul Edwards

It seems the new fuji HS30 is new kid on the block,a lot of complaints have been addressed there. That’s the one to buy, much improved esp the digital zoom.PE

12:55 pm - Sunday, March 4, 2012

#174 Pinuz

I completely disagree with the 90% of reviews that i read on this blog. Sorry for the english! :-) But in my opinion after about 1000 clicks this is a very good camera, superlative lenses (if you think this is a very long zoom) with f2.8 minimum aperture!!!! Produces a very acceptable jpeg output until 3200 ISO, you need to consider that this camera is not for professionals, i have also the Oly E-P1 very good camera, and i prefer the output generated by t
he HS20 that have the sensor significant smaller!
Camera is very fast except in low light conditions that is normal for bridge cameras, my oly and nikon p7000 are rubbish in low light!
Regards
Pino

1:50 pm - Thursday, March 8, 2012

#175 Karen Miller

I am looking for a larger print copy of the manual.  Can anyone help me.  I tried changing the font size but my laptop won’t keep the bigger font.  Any help would be gratefully appreciated.

5:00 am - Thursday, March 15, 2012

#176 Re

Great camera, great pictures. And a little price to pay!I tested Sony Alpha 350 vs this camera. Sony? LOST! The only point Sony is better… Continues shooting (at daylight).
Macro: Outstanding, 10 out of 10! Zoom: 8 out of 10 if used full zoom. Panorama: 9 out of 10 (and yes picture looks smal. But hello - it`s panorama up to 360 deg.! Large enough even for a 42 inc TV! Video 7 out of 10 Is acceptable for home use.  Low light: Stunning if free hand… I give 10 out of 10. Night and flash used: 10 out of 10 (Sony not even 2 out of 10!) Overall Rating: 9 out of 10! (Manco: continues shooting)

7:53 pm - Tuesday, April 10, 2012

#177 Eagle2k

I am an amateur photographer and have recently purchased the Fujifilm Finepix HS20 EXR camera and have read the manual and used the camera correctly.

I am not sure why people have put a damper on this camera as the quality of the pictures are amazing when you actually KNOW what you are doing and KNOW how to use the camera, I also believe if anyone just simply says this camera is not very good, they obviously have no idea how to use the camera to its full potential.

I have used this camera for photo shoots, portraits and landscapes using the features as advertised in the manual, and in my opinion it has produced some of the best pictures for its price and range.

I have used close up shots without using a tripod and have still produced lovely photos.

My only criticism with the camera is sometimes it can take a fraction longer to save photos depending on the mode used, but I am still impressed with this camera.

I hope this has helped, this is recommended to purchase in my opinion.

11:13 pm - Monday, April 16, 2012

#178 boogie

would you recommend this or olympus E-PL1?

i like the E-PL1 better, but my concern is that it was announced in 2010 or something like that… is it kind of an old camera to get in mid 2012?

i found a couple of HS20 and E-PL1 cameras going for the similar price second hand and i can’t decide which one to get…

i can’t tell you what the camera would be used for specifically… every day camera… when i’m on a concert, when i hike, when i shoot some small scale catalogs for local businesses, when i post some guitar videos on youtube…

i’m familiar with manual shooting, so most of the stuff will be done on M mode.

any help would be appreciated!!!

thanks in advance

11:11 am - Saturday, June 23, 2012

#179 john n

keeps locking up and freezing only way to use after is to remove batteries. waste of good money get an instamatic

2:58 pm - Sunday, October 21, 2012

#180 LindaMarie

I LOVE this camera. I spent hours experimenting with the settings to LEARN and get a feel for the technology. I have won photo contests with this camera. I have friends always asking…“What kind of camera do you use?” because they want to buy one.  This is my experience. 8-}

6:02 am - Friday, November 2, 2012

#181 Orin Keplinger

@ #179-john n
  Hi, John:
  You might try doing a firmware update, if you can get at that section of the menu.  If not, I’d suggest sending it back for an exchange, as a first choice.

  I echo linda’s comment.  This camera, especially in manual focus mode, is tack-sharp, and well worth your while to practice-up on for all types of photography.  The Hoofer Sailing set on my Flickr photostream was taken with the the Fugi HS20.  http://www.flickr.com/photos/orink3/
As Ever, Orin

9:50 am - Friday, November 2, 2012

#182 HS

Having used my HS20EXR for over a year now, I am still finding ways to improve IQ at 16MP. The capabilities of EXR are astounding, leading me to believe that the sensor was designed for EXR modes using half full sensor resolution. This also supports intelligent discussion that the sensor out resolves the lens. The lens has to compromise in some areas to achieve the focal range it does.
This review, when I first read it made me feel I’d bought the wrong camera, it turns out I just read the wrong review! A cut and paste effort proof read by a Pipistrel with Ray-Bans on.

3:18 pm - Sunday, November 11, 2012

#183 Bart.ie

Howdy,
I have this camera since AUg’11 and I am absolutly amazed but the photo it can take. Tru is I very rarely use 16M res, mainly EXR modes. Shots in low-light are much better of quality than any competitors. Not sure how PB did this review, maybe they were in a hurry and didnt apreciate what this camera has to offer.

Good Luck

9:49 pm - Saturday, December 1, 2012

#184 PedroKV

Hi everybody,

I bought HS20EXR last year from second hand as camera of my dreams. I love it, except of two things:
-zooming in video is not smooth, due to not smooth moving of zoom ring.
-on some photos and movies I can see a purple spot or patch in centre of the photo/movie.

In both cases (zoom and purple spots) I’m not sure if my camera is wrong, or simple it is a “feature”. Please look at pictures of my roof a tell:
http://img207.imagevenue.com/img.php?image=212379539_1194_small_122_84lo.jpg
(around lower roof window)

http://img254.imagevenue.com
/img.php?image=123801103_1189_small_122_192lo.jpg
(here under chimney)

9:01 am - Friday, March 1, 2013

#185 Eagle2k

Hi Pedro, I have checked the photos you produced and think its either one of two issues:

1) The lense is faulty or need cleaning somehow
2) Camera may be faulty or need a complete factory reset

I hope this helps as my friends camera had the same issue and unfortunately needed up be replaced

3:45 pm - Saturday, March 2, 2013

#186 PedroKV

Hi Eagle2k,

your friend has the same camera? And information, tha his camera needed to be replaced has from his service?

It doesn’t make everytime, so I’m not sure when camera or lenses are faulty. It makes when direct light goes into lenses (-sun, sun reflection by snow). Seller told me, that it could be “normal” with ultrazooms. I contacted also Fuji service, they told nothing, just I have to fullfill service form and send my camera.

5:09 pm - Saturday, March 2, 2013

#187 Eagle2k

Hi Pedro,

My friends camera was the same as mine and yes it was faulty, however, I would suggest taking the camera to your local camera shop, asking them for further advice as quite often they will give free advice, before looking into an issue, if there is one.

But, as you say, if you had the camera on full zoom and was at an angle enough to collect some light then it might be possible for the glare to occur, therefore, if you are considering taking more shots like this, maybe purchasing a flower lens cap as can be seen here will help prevent light getting into the lense.

1)
http://www.digitaltoyshop.co.uk/LENS_HOOD_FLOWER_Fuji_FinePix_HS20EXR_t2304_4841

or

2)http://www.digitaltoyshop.co.uk/Lens_hood_LH-JHS10__Fuji_FinePix_HS20EXR_t2304_6714

Hope this helps.

8:57 am - Thursday, March 7, 2013

#188 wira

can HS20exr used external flash with mode AUTO or EXR ?
i try with sunblis flash, but can not activate in mode AUTO or EXR, please explain , thank you

4:55 am - Friday, March 22, 2013

Entry Tags

hd video, hd, 3 inch LCD, 1080p, wide-angle, manual, super-zoom, RAW, fujifilm, cmos, 24mm, finepix, fuji, 8fps, 30x zoom, bsi, sensor, exr, hs 20, hs20, Fujifilm FinePix HS20 Review

Tracker Pixel for Entry