Fujifilm FinePix JZ500 Review

4.0
May 21, 2010 | Mark Goldstein |

Your Comments

12 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 m3i zero

Wow, very nice review. I really like this camera and planning to buy this. Fuji makes a pretty good camera it could easily act as the poster child for this new class of digital camera.The best thing i like about this camera is is not only well protected from bumps and scrapes, but give a simple. really very nice camera.

6:53 am - Saturday, May 22, 2010

#2 Rob

It seems that this cheap 14Mpx Fuji outperforms the recent Fuji superzoom previously reviewed: S1600 and S1800. Resolution is better, and also better noise handling.
Anyway, it would be great to have a standard home made scene setup for testing iso and color reproduction, as seen in other sites, like steve’s digicam.

10:17 am - Saturday, May 22, 2010

#3 zebarnabe

This camera seems to handle high ISO values quite well for a compact :3

12:58 am - Sunday, May 23, 2010

#4 jonem

Note that last year’s F70 is available for £150ish and is a superior camera, according to your own review!

3:47 pm - Sunday, May 23, 2010

#5 luxornet

I hopped to see few macro shot here.
Image quality seems to be good for such a cheap camera.

5:35 am - Thursday, May 27, 2010

#6 Mario

What a fantastically in-depth review.  Shame I didn’t find this blog while I was researching a new camera (I previously had a Panasonic Lumix DMC-TZ3).

I whittled down the choice to:
- Nikon Coolpix S8000
- Fuji Finepix F80EXR
- Canon Powershot SX200 IS / SX210 IS
- Panasonic Lumix TZ8 / TZ7

And then a trip to Jessops brought the JZ510 camera into the picture (no pun intended) and, as you imply, the price won me over most easily though I was pleased to note that it is the lightest and smallest amongst the choice I listed.

It also helped that they bundled in a spare battery, memory card and LowePro carry case for £180 :o)

12:23 pm - Thursday, June 3, 2010

#7 Federico

I dont understand i compared many picture of jz500 with other compacts and these was always best, so why the vote of image quality is only 2.5?
ps sorry for my english…

6:57 pm - Sunday, October 3, 2010

#8 João

I don’t agree with the 3.5 image quality score, I’ve red so many reviews, and this camera seems to have really good noise control at higher ISO settings, the 100% crops in this review, shows a grain noise very well controled at ISO 400 and 800, even at 1600 seems pretty usefull(to watch on a computer screen and 15x10cm printings), I saw Steve’s digicams samples too and they look very good to me… The downsides of this camera seems to be the indoor pictures without flash, night pictures, and the lens noise wile zooming during video recording, it’s too loud and irritating.
I think that Photography Blog should show in they’re reviews, in the video samples, the zoom capabilities, when available of course, on all cameras, no exceptions.

Thank you, bye.

6:31 pm - Wednesday, October 20, 2010

#9 Michael McGrath

Now offered for 155 Euro in Argos Ireland, I’ve decided to go and buy it tomorrow.
I own the Fuji S2 Pro DSLR, the Sony Alpha a2330 DSLR, and the Panasonic Lumix Leica FZ7 12X which is too big for the pocket( but still LOVELY) .
This Fuji seems perfect for my requirement of smallest and lightest for the pocket, 10X excellent fujinon lens starting at wide 28mm and very sharp at 280mm telephoto.
Those Fujinon lenses were always good in the good old days, seems they’ve lost none of it!
It’s also got HD video eminently suitable for youtube. 
Then a full metal jacket!
I might even pay for it with one shot published from it in a national newspaper or magazine, when I wouldn’t have my DSLRs and lenses with me.

I also agree with those looking at the photos here and on Steve’s Digicam that it deserves more than 3.5 for image quality. That’s why I’m reserving it online at the local Argos soon as I’ve completed this comment.

Don’t think I’ll load or use the software, though, as I read that it’e buggy on Vista, probably why the camera is going at such reduced price at Argos Ireland- down from 200 Euro!

Hey , it even looks GOOD too :-)

1:29 am - Monday, December 27, 2010

#10 Leonardo

Hello to all,
I bought this camera 2 months ago and Im not so happy about the quality pics.
I have a sony 12mp with a 3x zoom and the quality is better….I don’t know why the JZ500 give me pics with more noises and when I zoom the pic on my pc,look like when you use a big compression file… but I use the best quality resolution! the same with movies….Sony work a little better. I tested a Canon 14 mp with the same image sensor… I think Canon is better but I found similar problems… maybe this Cmos sensor is not so good… I prefer the old fuji with ccd sensor 10mp!!!  I hope in a new firmware for see if something happen…or I have to sell it.

5:18 pm - Saturday, January 1, 2011

#11 adnan

I don’t know what made me decide to buy this camera.. but I can say after one year of use that a compact camera cannot be any worse.. daylight pictures are awful, the night pictures ?? ashamed to show them to anyone.. if you try to enlargen the photos you shot with the best resolution, they seem like the pictures taken 40-50 years ago.. so, at the first opportunity, I will throw it to the ashcan and will buy another brand. My rating is (*)out of five !...

10:59 pm - Tuesday, July 10, 2012

#12 Jenney

I bought this camera after I fell and broke my camera in Barcelona.  I then toured for 4 days and look lots of wonderful pictures.  I was fooling around and wanted to delete the numbers of the dates so I could look at my pix without the writing on the frame. It looks like I accidentally deleted all of the pictures that I took.  tell me there is a way to retrieve them!

6:39 pm - Thursday, June 12, 2014

Entry Tags

hd video, hd, wide-angle, 720p, beginner, 2.7 inch LCD, 14 megapixel, fujifilm, 28mm, 10x zoom, finepix, Fujifilm FinePix JZ500 Review, fujifilm jz500, jz500

Tracker Pixel for Entry