Fujifilm FinePix S1500 Review

4.0
June 1, 2009 | Gavin Stoker |

Your Comments

208 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#101 Dave Bailey

Just discovered that there are close-focus limitations. When you get too close to the subject to focus normally you switch to macro, but then you are too far away, so you have to get closer. I might experiment to see just how wide this focus gap is. Damn, I’m learning to hate auto-focus even more than I ever did.

2:44 am - Sunday, December 20, 2009

#102 dean

Jules.
Thanks for your answer. Only prob is, I do not have a slot on my computer. I do it directly from camera via usb. Will I need to get a card reader or do you have another suggestion for usb upload.
Sorry and thanks again.

6:47 pm - Sunday, December 20, 2009

#103 Jules

Dean,

No I don’t. Sorry bud. I’ll fiddle around with the USB and see what I can come up with.

7:22 pm - Sunday, December 20, 2009

#104 Dustin

Can anyone recommend a good camera bag for this camera. I’m looking for one that would fit just the camera and maybe a extra set of batteries as I don’t want it to bulky but one that would fit it and a gorrillapod possibly.
Please link any if you know of them.
Thanks greatly

4:32 am - Tuesday, December 22, 2009

#105 Cynthia

This camera is absolutely terrible.
the flash is way way too bright and when you turn the flash off, the pictures come out blurry.
Im not an idiot, this camera is a piece of crap.

Thanks.

2:54 am - Thursday, December 24, 2009

#106 amelia destefano

i see that everybody has good reviews on this camera. i do not recomend it to anybody. why, because it was working perfectly fine when i got it. i was able to take pictures and download them to my computer the first time. just to let everyone noo, this camera is only less then a week old. the second time i took pictures and treid to download them to my computer and view the on my camera, nothing. witch really sucks because i dont wanna give this camera up for nothing. it keeps reading on the camera read error. i lost alot oof pictures. and if anybody can let me now, is it possible that i can print them at a photo shop store even thought they wont show on my camera or computer? i did test the memory card in someone elses camera and was able to see my pictures but not able to view them on mine. i dont no what im doing wrong, i called fiji and they said that the memry card that i have is not compatible with my camera, witch when i bought it, i was told it was from the seller. it’s a gigaware 4gb memory card and it does go with the camera. i just dont understand how i can view the first batch of pictures and not the second and it just keeps reading me all these errors. im so mad cause this is my first camera and i love to take pictures. if anybody can help me i would appreciate it so much.

7:09 am - Thursday, December 24, 2009

#107 Maxx

I can’t believe all the POSITIVE comments on this camera…  I just returned two of them after taking over 1000 test pictures.. I get maybe 10 good shots… Pictures come out blurry.. Colors are very dark and saturated… Macro settings barely taken an in-focus picture…  I tried every setting on the camera…  Took duplicate pix with my old Fuji S3000… That one still outshines this one by a mile…  A friend in Texas went to a camera shop to inquire about this camera also and was told they don’t even carry it because of all the problems with it… On a scale of one to ten I’d give it a MINUS (-4)...
MAybe I got 2 lemons? :(

11:57 pm - Thursday, December 24, 2009

#108 glimrman

I wonder if anyone else has picked up on this one “glaring” omission in the the S1500 review? 

All of the “Main Rivals” listed have a street price much higher than that of the S1500’s. The difference runs from $36 more to a high of $180 more!

While arguably not tops in any one category, I’d say that makes the S1500 a standout buy.

That “glaring” omission aside (lol), I trust, respect, and appreciate the reviews that I’ve read here. Stellar job! Thanks!

2:21 am - Friday, December 25, 2009

#109 Sydney

I just got this camera for Christmas and it works fabulous. I love it and have already taken many pics on it. I totally recommend this camera to anyone and everyone.

7:28 pm - Friday, December 25, 2009

#110 Ben

Just bought my Dad an S1500 for Christmas (£150 with 4GB SanDisk UltraII & Fuji bag, Jessops). So far very impressed; I use a Canon 400D with Canon & Sigma lenses, total set-up best part of £1000. I’m amazed by the range of features and ability of the Fuji.

Obviously a bridge camera won’t have the power or versatility of a dSLR, but considering what you get for a third of the price of my last lens, it’s a bargain! I’ll try to post again when we’ve got some images to show off…

Ben

5:49 pm - Saturday, December 26, 2009

#111 marvin

The full auto mode in indoor photography even with a flash is useless. A 400 ISO setting produces so much noise the image is unusable. I’m highly sceptical of the ISO 800 statement in the review of receiving a “clean bill of health”. Video is also horrible on this one. Autofocus misses it’s target quite often and sadly there is no way to manually set the focus. The non-standard usb connector is also a bit annoying and there is no rotation sensor in the camera. Otherwise the camera is good. Physical built quality seems solid. The 12x zoom should be enough for most situations. Macro is also good. You have to invest a bit of time to fiddle with the settings to get descent photos out of it but it is possible as far as can be expected from a camera of this price range. If you don’t need the 12x zoom you can get a camera with better image quality for the same or less money unless you intend to take pictures only in bright daylight.

11:20 pm - Sunday, December 27, 2009

#112 Ian

Sorry Marvin, don’t recognise that description. Had this 2 days as a Christmas present, so still fiddling around and taking random shots.  Decided to give the 15 high speed 2MP shots a go.  Below is a link to flickr.

Before clicking remember these were taken on full Auto, with NO FLASH at night.  The light sources are the 7W energy saving lamp you can see top right (approx 40w incandescent equivalent), similar 13 feet to its right, a low wattage bulb in the side board (again 4 meters away), the TV (CRT) and various LED christmas lights (inc behind the curtain)- the room is a little too dark to read comfortably in. 

I’m sitting approx 1m from my son, and the shelf is about 1m50 past him. Camera settings are f/2.8, 1/5 sec, ISO-800.

http://www.flickr.com/photos/lasthussar/sets/72157623083741212/

Note that while there is noise on his face, and obvious motion blur (these pics really did only take a few seconds), it is the grain of the leather you can see on the sofa.  I’m using an old 1mb card, and am getting about 6fps.  On the continuous as long as you press I get approx 1fps, but am hoping this will improve when my 4gb SCHC Class 6 card arrives.

Shutter lag- there is a ‘fast shot’ mode that supposedly helps, at increased power use.

4:49 am - Monday, December 28, 2009

#113 christina

Jules,
your advice has been super helpful. My Canon Powershot S5IS was stolen 3 weeks ago. *crys* So we have just gone out and bought the Fuji S1500. I have looked at your photos you posted and think they are lovely. I cant wait to take mine for a test drive. Im not a professional but im not an amature either, i think for the price of this camera.. how can i go wrong.

Again thanks for the tips and advice you made my decission alot easier then i thought it was gonna be.
ill be back with future coments once i try her out.

5:29 am - Monday, December 28, 2009

#114 Jules

You are welcome

5:56 am - Monday, December 28, 2009

#115 Mike

A complete HOMERUN!!  My wife loves this camera!  AND, the pictures are all looking amazing!  She is having a blast fiddling with all the setting variations.  To all of you who seem to have a complaint about this camera, I say:  go piss up a rope!  Our old P.O.S. Sony, which cost about $100 MORE, is garbage compared to this one!  I couldn’t be happier with how this thing performs!

4:13 pm - Monday, December 28, 2009

#116 Sydney

to Marvin:

on this camera, I say change your outlook. It has been wonderful to me and love the way it works. Of course, everyone is entitled to their own opinion, and I am saying it is amazing.

8:37 pm - Monday, December 28, 2009

#117 Slam

Hello Jules,

I’m interested to get this camera. But there’s one question I need to ask.

Since S1500 got image stabilizer, does this feature will work with Manual/Program setting? Or only work with Auto setting? My friend camera got image stablizer feature but only work when evertying is in auto mode (auto ISO, AV, WB, etc).
I don’t wanna go everywhere in lowlight/indoor condition carrying a tripod >.<

Thank you :)

7:47 pm - Wednesday, December 30, 2009

#118 Jules

Slam,

The image stabilizer(when activated) works in all modes.

Comes in real handy when your hands are a shaky as mine are.

10:10 pm - Wednesday, December 30, 2009

#119 Maggie

so I got the Nikon Coolpix l100 and I’m not too please nor too dissapointed. One thing that I dislike is that whenever I half press the shutter button down it automatically UNFOCUSES on the image. I’m not sure if that is just me or how the camera is…the nikon is suppose to do everything for you, but I dont think I want just about everything done for me…
Can some one tell me what they think of this camera? Does it take decent shots inside, in somewhat low light? What do you think about the macro?

6:48 am - Thursday, December 31, 2009

#120 missy

Can someone plz email me at .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address)

I need to know what settings the s1500 needs to be on while taking pics outside at night. Mine r coming out black. Thanks

1:34 am - Friday, January 1, 2010

#121 Darrin

Hi, I got this camera for christmas, however the pictures are coming out grainy when on “auto” and also when on “SR Auto”, how can i fix this? i don’t want to return it as it was a gift from my mom, but the picture quality seems rather poor.. i thought it was “smart” enough to auto adjust to conditions? i am shooting in low-light, it picks “night”, but still grainy images result.. :-(

9:15 am - Friday, January 1, 2010

#122 Mike

I am completely at a loss when people say they have “grainy” images on the auto setting.  Ours are turning out awesome…no matter what the lighting is like.  The only thing I can figure is that some people have higher standards than me because I love our pics.

1:42 pm - Friday, January 1, 2010

#123 Dustin

For the questions about the night pictures.  My guess is that the night setting turns up the iso to much which makes it grainy. Instead go on manual and make the aperature the smallest number you can and the change the shutter speed to a really slow one. Also make sure you use a tripod because any movement will turn out blurry with such a slow shutter speed. Hope this helps :)

4:34 pm - Friday, January 1, 2010

#124 Ian

I am at a loss over the ‘grainy’ comments. I’m getting acceptable quality indoor night, no flash.  If you zoom in close, then yes, sooner or later it’s going to be grainy, no matter what the Digital Cam, but full screen (15” CRT monitor) there is no detectable grain.  Once printed at 7x5” I cant see how you would get any.  Try a few test shots on a tripod- 2 sec shutter delay, subject 15 feet away, and use the flash on auto. See what happens.

5:54 pm - Saturday, January 2, 2010

#125 Tanshanomi

Ian: Perhaps a side-by-side comparison with a similar image from Canon’s excellent (and cheaper!) Powershot A1100iS will illustrate the S1500’s image problems. (I’m not able to embed an image into these comments, so you’ll have to click on the link):

http://www.tanshanomi.com/temp/CanonVSFuji.jpg

I pulled these two detail snippets from the standard test shots published over at steves-digicams.com. These are not rescaled or retouched, I just cut and pasted them into the same image and saved them as a high-quality (85%) JPEG. Look at the details and tell me if you can’t see a dramatic difference.

12:16 am - Tuesday, January 5, 2010

#126 Maxx

It STILL boggles my mind that anyone can think that this Fuji S1500 can take pictures.. Unless eveyone has very low standards about what a good picture is…. I’ve taken about 2000 test shots with the Fuji S1500 and compared them to my old Fuji S3000.. Can’t get an acceptable picture ... I returned two S1500 cameras to the dealer, and purchased a brand new older S3000 on ebay….See a couple of comparaison pictures below:


http://media6.dropshots.com/photos/537819/20100104/b_160329.jpg

http://media6.dropshots.com/photos/537819/20100104/b_160317.jpg

1:28 am - Tuesday, January 5, 2010

#127 Ian

Maxx- those S3000 pictures look like what I get with no flash.  The flash does seem to make everything look like daylight- a little too strong.

1:34 am - Tuesday, January 5, 2010

#128 Mike

It all boils down to what looks good to each individual.  Simple enough to make adjustments when the photos wash out like that.  The s3000 pics look like they were taken in the dark.  I do not find that appealing in the least.  I’ll take my s1500 any day of the week…and some yahoo on a message board isn’t gonna tell me otherwise.

2:05 pm - Tuesday, January 5, 2010

#129 Jules

lmfao. Yahoo. I was staying out of this but Mike’s right. To each his or her own.

4:48 pm - Tuesday, January 5, 2010

#130 eleanor

maybe it´s just a brazilian thing, but there we don’t expect too much when we buy a product for a low price. If i expected greatness I’d buy a M-8 just like my belgian friend Philippe did. I haven’t bought the Fuji camera yet, but it surely will be better than the one I have been using so far (sony w-50). And I’m happy with the results i’ve gotten so ...

9:25 pm - Tuesday, January 5, 2010

#131 Jules

Ahh the Brazilian. South America’s collective contribution to world of pubic aesthetics. Delightful.

9:37 pm - Tuesday, January 5, 2010

#132 dandan

I got this camera after people telling me not to get it. To make a long story short, this camera is a bang for your buck. I love it! and wish I could spend all days taking pictures with it. I have taken very very nice pictures. I use mostly the manual feature with the chrome color setting. I hardly HARDLY use the flash..Is just great stuff

4:15 am - Monday, January 11, 2010

#133 Tanshanomi

Mike, no “yahoo” is telling you you can’t like your S1500. It’s cheap, has lots of nice features, and the image quality is, well…“passable” is probably a good word. If you think it’s good enough, bully for you! But your satisfaction with it doesn’t mean that it performs as well or is as good a value as other cameras of similar price. When it comes to image quality, there are clearly better choices out there…even if you’re happy enough with what you have to ignore those other options.

8:26 pm - Monday, January 11, 2010

#134 Mike

I’m just a regular “joe” who considers this a massive upgrade to my old piece of garbage Cybershot point and shoot.  I can pretty much guarantee that my judgement of photo quality is very weak.  Therefore, it probably doesn’t take much to impress me.  HA…lucky me.  I’ll never see 2 of my pics side by side taken with different cameras, so I’m none the wiser.

8:48 pm - Monday, January 11, 2010

#135 dandan

There you go Mike!  Thats how I see it as well.

Tanshanomi
I must say that I had a Panasonic TZ24 and this Fuji has much more features than the Panasonic and I can take better pics with it as well. The way I see it is like this, “the best camera is the one that you own”. Like Mike, I am a regular joe. But to give you some technical insight on what I was able to accomplish with this camera, I took a night shot at 64 ISO 8 sec shutter speed, no flash and the image came out BRILLIANT!! and the chrome effect made it even better. My point, you can MAKE this camera take really great pics as well as with others.

9:03 pm - Monday, January 11, 2010

#136 Dave Bailey

As with any camera you have to understand its limitations and work within them. This camera is not capable of focusing on rapidly moving objects such as flying aircraft or birds, so for those I’ll stick to my OM-2N with Fujichrome. But for scenics and people I’ll be using this one, the quality is fine for that.

9:17 pm - Monday, January 11, 2010

#137 Mike

dandan…
    What’s up with the “chrome” effect?  Forgive me, I’m at work and my manual isn’t in front of me.  It sounds like something I should play with.

9:27 pm - Monday, January 11, 2010

#138 dandan

Mike the camera has a little button denoted as f, if you press on that, you will see the option FinePix COLOR, change it to chrome. You can do that in manual, A, S, Auto. Not in SRAuto nor SP. makes colors look brighter and give a nice little touch..regards

2:22 am - Tuesday, January 12, 2010

#139 Rex

I have found the discussions quite interesting, I bought the S1500 after dropping my Kodak ZD710, and have found the photos taken with the S1500 nowhere near as good. The Kodak was a much cheaper camera, but had very sharp and good colour images, unlike the S1500. The Kodak ZD710 was very slow and a pain sometimes, but the photos were always very good. Even the video mode was very good. It had a Schneider lens, 7.1mp, 10X zoom. So unlike other comments, hear we have a 1/3 cheaper camera with exceptional photos.
Someone said put it on 10mp fine, instead of normal, would not this only mean can enlarge prints to greater size?
Also the chrome setting does improve colour, but sometimes seems false.

12:37 pm - Wednesday, January 13, 2010

#140 FujiFan

Rex
does the ZD710 has manual mode? have you tried all the s1500 manual modes? I am very pleased with the fuji. In flickr you can see really nice pics with it.

2:50 am - Thursday, January 14, 2010

#141 Rex

Hi Fujifan, yes the ZD710 did have manual modes, but not any where near as comprehensive as the s1500. The one I used the most, was the one like SRAUTO on the s1500.
However with the Kodak the Auto mode was very good and for most of the time left it on Auto.
What do you think of leaving the s1500 on 10meg fine, is it worth les storage space.
I also have found the Auto on the s1500 a bit hit and miss, is this why you suggest manual settings.

3:45 am - Thursday, January 14, 2010

#142 FujiFan

Hey Rex,

Totally, I was very VERY dissapointed using the SRAuto. But you know what, the Auto (not the SRAuto) does a better job. Dunno why!!??  In low light, go manual. I really dont get the 10MP cuz my images are really small in size. I got my girl the F70EXR and it is a very good camera but it has to go on manual. I think both cameras pre adjust a high ISO in auto mode when it is actually not needed. I also tried auto while zooming into a sports event and it was a failure, meanwhile I did manual and zooming and it did a great job. I see a lot of Kodaks as being underrated by some and loved by others. Interesting to see that the price on the one you mention is kinda high due to the fact is an older model prob. no longer in production.

12:16 am - Friday, January 15, 2010

#143 Rex

Hello Fujifan,
Thankyou for the good advise, I have come to the same conclusion about the SRAuto. Good advice on the ISO issue.
I also wondered what you think of the chrome colour setting, as to me this seems more realistic mostly, but then sometimes it seems a little false.

3:57 am - Friday, January 15, 2010

#144 FujiFan

Hi Rex,

I agree about the chrome setting. It works on some situations. In low light, it does not do the job properly. It put things yellowish. The flash is too strong too and you can dim that in the menu. Blurry pics are common with this cam, it needs a bit of patience. I use the long shot feature a lot. The Auto (not the SRAuto) can be mixed with the chrome setting and sometimes works very well.

Cheers

d

12:11 am - Saturday, January 16, 2010

#145 scottishwilliam

Thanks to the reviewers of the cameras. I have an old GAF 35mm SLR that is still clicking but I am intrigued by these new point & shoot ones. I looked around the internet for ideas. I finally narrowed it down to the Nikon L100 and the Fujifilm S1500. The overall and in-depth review of both these by Photography blog has shown me where I want to spend my researched money. I will return after some use of the Fujifilm S1500 and give my review of the “workability” of it. Happy clicking.

6:12 am - Sunday, January 17, 2010

#146 Allen

Love the camera so far but the Fuji Fine pix software is so so. Does anyone know if you can download only one picture off camera instead of all pics on camera as ours does every time. Sometimes we do not want to erase pictures off camera, but also do not want to have pictures downloaded again from the camera that we have downloaded already. I have tried all kinds of settings and can not figure it out. HELP. I have latest version already.

2:29 am - Sunday, January 24, 2010

#147 Rex

We have the same problem, do not think the soft ware is set up for it. We had a Kodak ZD710, and the Kodak shareware software, was great and always checked for photos already saved and only added new ones. Perhaps if can get Kodak software to recognise the Fuji camera, this would work.

12:13 pm - Sunday, January 24, 2010

#148 Jules

One question. Are you guys downloading from your memory cards or directly from your cameras?

If you have memory cards and use the slots:

Here’s what I do…although I’m sure there is an easier way but nonetheless:

When you stick your memory card into the slot, a dialogue box appears asking you to import pictures.

I just exit out of that and then I go and right-click on Start, click on Explore. That’ll bring you to your root.

Now, right-click on Pictures, and create a New Folder for your shiny new pics.

Now scroll down until you find the drive that’s been allocated for your memory card. In my case it’s N:

It’ll look like this…Removable Disk (N:) about 3/4 of the way down. In your case it’ll probably be another letter.

If you click on that drive it will read your memory card’s contents and display your pics in the right hand side pane. From there you can just drag and drop the pics you want into the new folder that you created.

But remember this will only copy your pics to that new folder and not remove them. If you want to delete the ones that you uploaded or ones you don’t like, you have to go back to your memory card’s drive and delete them manually.

If you have no slots, I haven’t found a solution to that yet. Sunday might be a good day to do that so let us know.

5:10 pm - Sunday, January 24, 2010

#149 fujifan

Fujis software is sooo outdated.. I do as Jules mentions and Picasa to view them there after.

2:43 am - Monday, January 25, 2010

#150 Ilene

Could someone please tell me their opinion of the electronic viewfinder on this camera?  I’m looking for a camera with one -  but most of the lower priced cameras either don’t have one or it is like looking out a gopher hole.  Thank you!!

7:35 pm - Monday, February 1, 2010

#151 Jules

The view finder is fine. It’s basically a micro version of the LCD. I hardly ever take any pictures using the LCD.

Check it out:

http://www.juliusmullerdesign.com/photography.html

7:48 pm - Monday, February 1, 2010

#152 Ron

To Jules, I just bought this S1500 and came across this site hoping to gather some info on the camera, I just want to say thanks for all your valuable info and it seems i made a pretty good choice in a bridge camera, again thanks..i know where to come if i have a problem.

2:16 am - Friday, February 5, 2010

#153 weare

I bought an s1500 6 months ago, as I have a great f40fd and wanted more zoom. It has always been stored in a padded case and has been looked after and never dropped. The picture quality is fine for my needs but now I have an issue where the on/off switch no longer works and its function has been transferred to the pic preview button. To turn the camera on & off I have to press the button on the rear which used 2b the pic preview button, I have no pic preview button now, its just become the on/off switch. When I turn the camera off it turns itself on again within 5 minutes, and when I replace batteries it turns itself on as soon as I close the battery door - this means if I store it overnight the batteries are flat in the morning so I’ve begun taking out one battery if I won’t be using the camera for a while. I purchased the s1500 online and have been advised that this means there is no warranty, can any advise me of a fix please?

4:14 am - Sunday, February 7, 2010

#154 Jules

First of all, thanks Ron and you’re welcome.

Secondly, @werae…

Sounds like you got the Frankenstein Fuji. Have you tried to reset all the settings?

Apart from that, I would suggest that you try to contact fuji directly and ask about the warranty.

Here’s the link if you are in the USA:

http://www.fujifilmusa.com/support/ServiceSupportContact.do

I didn’t want to assume that you were, so here’s the link for elsewhere:

http://www.fujifilm.com/worldwide/

Beyond that I don’t know. It sounds like an internal processor problem and something that went wrong with the circuit board. One thing’s for sure:

Something that shouldn’t have moved did. There’s no other reasonable explination for what you describe.

Let us know what happened. Sounds like a nightmare.

3:52 am - Monday, February 8, 2010

#155 weare

Thanks Jules, I followed your link and rang fuji, I was hoping a firmware flash might be the fix but its a physical failure as you surmised, they’ll honour the warranty so I’ll pack it off to them. I ordered an f70exr when the s1500 started acting up, it arrived from hong kong today and it fills the gap very nicely indeed, hopefully its not frankenstein’s brother

3:33 pm - Monday, February 8, 2010

#156 Jules

Glad I could help.

5:41 pm - Monday, February 8, 2010

#157 Matt

Hi

I have recently purchased an S1500 and I am delighted with it’s performance.

Just a quick question, is the slowest shutter time 8 seconds? Is this good for lots of low light photography?

I was hoping to experiment with light painting and the such but was unsure whether the shutter could be held open longer?

1:39 am - Friday, February 12, 2010

#158 Rex

I was wondering has any one else found that you have to hold the S1500 very steady not to get blurry shots, even with the stabiliser system turned on.
Also is there any real advantage having the 10M fine setting on, when 10M normal setting can store a much greater No. of photos.

12:12 pm - Friday, February 12, 2010

#159 house of nutrition coupon

I recently purchased the Fujifil Finepix S1500 10 mp camera. This is a great camera even for ametuers such as myself, easy to use, great stabalizer for the shaky hands.I was able to use the camera straight out of the box!
Lesson learned when taking a video try not to zoom, this causes blurring as the cmaera readjusts its focus.

9:50 am - Monday, February 15, 2010

#160 Shelby

Hi, I’m planning on buying this sometime soon, and I really want a fisheye lens to go along with it. If someone could point me in the direction of a link as to where I can buy it, that’d be great! Thanks!

2:33 am - Tuesday, February 23, 2010

#161 Stevo

UGH! I wanted to like this camera soooo much. I’m stuck with mine because I’ve had it for 6 months, but it is a dog. I have an aging Canon Power Shot A720 IS - which is vastly superior. I guess if I did not have my 3 year old Canon, this S1500 would be acceptable.

The color reproduction is lackluster, the quality only so-so, and the video is just plain bad in comparison.

Simply put - the S1500 has a $500 camera look, that only takes a $50 camera picture. Oh, and I did I mention my USB cable just quit working??? Sigh ... I’m sticking with Canon.

8:56 pm - Friday, March 5, 2010

#162 Rex

Stevo, I have to agree, I have had a S1500 for 2 months, and had a Kodak ZD710, really a cheap camera, looked like a $50 camera and did take $500 camera photos.
Sadly I dropped the Kodak, and bought the more expensive S1500, and it is a dog, If I really work hard with it I can get some not to bad photos now, and but the Kodak was a breeze, sharp great colour, and over all quality, even video was better.
I to am now stuck with the S1500

10:50 am - Sunday, March 7, 2010

#163 Mike

ha ha…sucks to be you.  Mine works perfectly!

1:42 pm - Sunday, March 7, 2010

#164 Stevo

@Mike: Probably because you have had nothing better to compare it to.

It’s a real shame. I really, really wanted to like this S1500.

10:47 pm - Sunday, March 7, 2010

#165 Mike

You are correct!  Since I don’t seem to know what I’m missing, I find this camera to be the best I’ve ever owned.  Fabulous pictures!!

1:57 pm - Monday, March 8, 2010

#166 Jojo

Hi,
i’m trying to decide between buying the s1500 new or a used s7000. How do these two compare besides the difference in mp? I know that the the s7000 is old but it seems that it used to be a highend camera when it came out. Right now im favouring the s7000 as the used one is cheaper, comes with a nice box of accesories and also features a manual focus. Has anyone owned both of these and can give me some advice.
Anything would be helpful.
Thanks.

11:07 pm - Tuesday, March 16, 2010

#167 debbie

Bought this camera around Christmas time.  Loved the look and feel, but am disappointed with the the blurry face photos??? I tried different settings and am really unhappy.  I had an old fuji e550, that took much clearer photos…is there anything I can do so I don’t have to take closeups of people in Protrait mode???  I hate to really give up on this camera, but it is not giving me the quality that I had with my old Fuji…any suggestions..

3:44 pm - Thursday, March 18, 2010

#168 Steve

Debating whether to buy this camera.  Looking like a strong no.  To all those who put in effort and posted comparison pictures, thanks. 

Mike, your behavior is unacceptable.  Remember that you are also “some yahoo on the internet” and you’re degrading the experience for everyone.  A polite disagreement regarding the quality of one product or another is not a license for ad-hominem insults.

11:17 pm - Saturday, March 20, 2010

#169 Mike

Hey genius…my comments are purely replies.  The beauty of the internet is I don’t NEED a license.  Thanks for playing, Steve.

3:36 pm - Sunday, March 21, 2010

#170 Juan

Well

Ive had this camera since december and i liked it and all but i had one MAJOR problem.

In the battery compartment, there are little hooks that hold the little door or whatever it is shut.
Unfortunately, all of them eventually gave out and broke except for one. Now i have to watch how i handle it while recording video cause itll automatically turn off cause the battteries werent held in place and THEN ill lose my video.
(Same thing with pictures.)

The only thing i realy liked was super macro mode. It takes clear vivid shots.

On A Scale from 1-10 i give it a good 6.9
.

All out from this experience, I think im just going to stick to SLRs. Im stillthinkng about getting a D90


Oh wait. The video quality is pretty good for a camera. I Expected it to be fuzzy and kinda pixelated.

For sample pics and videos cheack out my accounts

Flickr: http://www.flickr.com/

YouTube: http://www.youtube.com/user/JSkating2

4:57 pm - Sunday, March 21, 2010

#171 Rex

Steve,
I agree with your comments, regarding Mike, No need for being a smart aleck.
He wont be so smart, when his battery door clips break. etc.
My S1500 with a very steady hand ( so as not to get blurry photos, and working with shutter speeds plus getting extra colour with chrome setting when needed, am getting reasonble photos.
Just more work then my old Kodak ZD710.

3:35 am - Monday, March 22, 2010

#172 Mike

I LOVE MY CAMERA.  This was an interesting thread a few months ago…Now I choose to unsubscribe.  The cheese is old and moldy.

1:18 pm - Tuesday, March 23, 2010

#173 John

I went from a Panasonic Lumix, to the Fujifilm s1500.

I’m quite disappointed, as the colours are not as good as they should be.  I don’t see the point of the extreme zoom, as the camera can’t focus very well at that distanced and the pictures are mediocre at best.

The worst part…when you use the video recorder and upon playback, you can clearly hear the whirring of what I can only imagine is the near constant auto focus….very distracting, very annoying and it takes away from the video.

I’m going to trade it in today and go back to a Lumix.

5:20 pm - Saturday, April 17, 2010

#174 Aki

Can anyone help? I am not sure if I do anything wrong, or if my S1500 is faulty, or if this is how things are with this camera, which I have just bought. I do not get any visual feedback on the LCD screen when I change the aperture and speed values either in S, A or Manual mode. I can see a change on the brightness on the screen only when I play with the exposure compensation + or -. Is there no real-time visual feedback on the screen, apart from the exposure indicator and the histogram? Also, the pictures I take do not always correspond to what I see on the screen before shooting (with shutter button either half-pressed or not); brightness and sometimes colours change. Is my camera faulty?

10:44 pm - Saturday, April 17, 2010

#175 Dave Bailey

Aki, the viewfinder will only show you the pre-focus, not the exposure of the final picture.

11:00 pm - Saturday, April 17, 2010

#176 Aki

Many thanks Dave for clarifying this. It is a shame, as my old Canon Powershot A610 could do that; and I also loved the swivel screen. Unfortunately, the shutter stuck and I decided to get a new camera instead of paying £120 for repair. I’ll see if I can get used to this, or return my S1500 to the shop.

11:50 am - Sunday, April 18, 2010

#177 Mickie

After using film cameras for years I decided to try the craze of a digital..first with an small HP - not bad - well then I bought my 1500 and love the majority of the features.  Just a couple of problems that could just be specific to me.
When shooting videos and then playing back on the computer I hear the noise of the lens focus in the sound. Not impressed with that…also find the panoramic feature is hard to line up picture to picture.  My small camera had the right idea by giving complete pictures instead of a hazed partial to line up with… sorry don’t like to say bad things about a camera that otherwise works great for me for the price. 
Hope to see these problems corrected when I purchase my next Fuji camera

5:34 am - Monday, April 26, 2010

#178 Kayleigh

I was given this as a christmas presant this year and can say i find it a joy to work with.The only thing i do find difficult is that when i upload my pictures onto my laptop that they are to big to post on anything, so any suggestions as to how to compress the file ? xxx

9:19 pm - Friday, April 30, 2010

#179 Dave Bailey

Kayleigh, I use a free program called Irfanview, which is available online. Easy to work with and good results.

10:49 pm - Friday, April 30, 2010

#180 glenn fitzpatrick

i am just wondering if this would be good as a starting off camera for the professional photography world ?

2:18 pm - Tuesday, May 4, 2010

#181 Phil

Just picked one of these from Jessops camera shop for £99. Haven’t had time to play with it yet, but it is gonna get a real workout soon. I hope it lives up to the reviews !

7:48 pm - Wednesday, June 9, 2010

#182 Lori

I noticed that my pictures I take with my Fuji S1500 doesnt turn out well when printing them. I finally used my Adobe Bridge to check out the dpi and they all say 72 dpi. I thought all digital cameras took higher res images at around at least 300. 72 dpi images are only good for viewing on screen. Is there a way to change this within the settings? I cant seem to find it if there is.

5:09 am - Friday, June 25, 2010

#183 Jules

Lori,

In Photoshop go to Edit>>>Preferences>>>>File Handling and select “Prefer Adobe Camera RAW for JPG Images.”

That’s just a tip.

As for a setting on the camera I don’t think there’s one that will change the actual display resolution from the shot.

Although, when I open mine with RAW the intitial resolution is at 240dpi.

May or may not have something to do with that.

8:13 am - Friday, June 25, 2010

#184 Furball

Hello everyone!

Guys, I want to buy a super-zoom camera from Fuji (a friend of mine told me some time ago that they came out with really great colors, compared to what the competitors had to offer), but I can’t decide what will it be.

I’m considering either the S1500 or the S1600. I’ve read some disappointing comments related to the S1600’s review on this website and I don’t know what to say. I don’t really care about the S1600’s capability of filming in HD quality or its slightly increased zoom range; I’m interested rather into taking sharp and non-blurry images.
On the other hand, the S1500 is older than the S1600 (although, from what I’ve read, they share the same CCD and the S1600’s 12 m pixel capability is done by tweaking the software).

Last but not least, there is the price: S1500 costs (in Romania) some 185 euros and the S1600 is sightly cheaper - 162 euros. Why the difference? (Of course, excluding the commercial interests). Does it reflects some differences in picture quality?

Oh, something else: what rival cameras would you recommend under the 200 euros price? (Of course, in terms of image quality, sharpness and whatever other characteristics you may think of).

PS: sorry if my English was a little bit poor :)

7:13 pm - Monday, July 5, 2010

#185 Maxx

Hello Furball
See my comment #107 and #126 to compare pictures with the S1500 and my old S3000…. I returned TWO of the S1500’s to the dealer as they both took horrible pictures…. Save your Euros on this one..
PS Your English is excellent.
Maxx

7:31 pm - Monday, July 5, 2010

#186 Furball

Maxx

Thanks for your appreciation of my English :)

Now, regarding the S3000: I didn’t even know that there was such a model until a few moments ago (maybe it was better to tell everyone that I’m moving up from a Pentax Optio L30 - which, by the way, was a really sturdy point-and-shoot camera (an extremely sturdy one, if I may say that :) ).

I don’t think that I have any chance of finding a S3000 on the market, but I want to take clear pictures with something affordable, like the Fuji models I was talking about (or with a camera made some other firm, but with more-or-less the same characteristics.

7:43 pm - Monday, July 5, 2010

#187 Furball

* made by some other manufacturer, sorry!

7:45 pm - Monday, July 5, 2010

#188 naman25

@jules:

Iam stuck between FinePix S1500 and nikon coolpix L110… could you please help me out.. how is the point and shoot capability of S1500? apart from the problems with its audio during video recording does the S1500 have any other problems?
And to be specific… im a Novice in this field but hope to capture some awesome pics vth practice..! lol

11:58 am - Tuesday, July 13, 2010

#189 KD

I Bought the S1500 in Feb 2010. Since the day I bought it I have had card read & write errors and now the camera freezes altogether and I have to remove the batteries to turn the camera off. I have had to send it to Fuji to get repaired, I would expect to do this if I had the camera for years but I have only had it a few months. I wonder what’ll happen if I have the same issues when the warranty has ran out. I am really annoyed because I lost 200 good photos before I sent it off.

I will say that when the camera worked it is brilliant for night shots. Macro shots are ok, but looking at all the photos I took with the S1500 none are pin sharp.

12:19 am - Sunday, July 18, 2010

#190 Matt

I bought this camera less than year a go. I’m quite satisfied with the pictures. But, now my lens is problem with ‘focus error’.. I can’t shoot anything or record anything. This turned me off….. Does anyone had experiencing this problem?

4:37 am - Sunday, August 1, 2010

#191 Taryn

Fujifilm has once again perfected the digital camera. With a crystal clear 12x zoom, amazing flash, great choice of black and white, or colour, huge LCD and awesome EFV, the Fujifilm S1500 is easily the best camera I’ve ever owned.

2:38 pm - Tuesday, August 10, 2010

#192 Tejinder Singh

Dear friends,

I have zeroed in on Nikon CoolPix L110 Digital & FujiFinePix S1500, Which one would You Guys suggest ???

Best Regards

9:29 am - Saturday, August 21, 2010

#193 Lori

@Jules…..Thank you sooooo much. I can now edit my images in higher quality. You a life saver. I almost thought I wasted my money on this camera.

7:37 pm - Sunday, August 22, 2010

#194 Marc Girouard

My camera has white vertical lines on the left side of the viewing screen.  What has caused this?

2:11 pm - Thursday, October 7, 2010

#195 sECRETARIAT

I have a Fujifilm s1500 that i enjoy. My problem is that i would like to take night pictures of beautiful Christmas lights in our park but i can’t seem to get the right settings so that the pictures are not blurred. Can anyone help. Thank you and Happy Holidays.

10:16 pm - Sunday, December 19, 2010

#196 david

Nice camera,but batteries are always flat. Costing me a fortune

5:47 pm - Tuesday, January 18, 2011

#197 Nicki

I received this camera for Christmas in 2009(having asked for it specifically!) and have taken some terrific pictures with it.  However, it started to get blurry a few days ago and now the zoom has got stuck while fully extended and simply won’t go back to the normal setting and is now unusable.  Having read so many great reviews, I was really disappointed that three weeks out of its warranty it broke. I have just purchased, and received, a S1800 and the image on the viewing screen is just AWFUL - grainy with pixels clearly visible.  Sad end to such a promising start with Fijifilm!

8:51 pm - Thursday, January 20, 2011

#198 Joe Elsey

Hey

don’t get me wrong but this camera is great for a beginner like myself. But whenever I use to pro settings ie manual, I still keep getting blurry photos. I’m also holding the camera correctly acording to the manual. Is there something I’m missing? Can anyone help please?

Thanks

9:38 pm - Thursday, February 3, 2011

#199 Rex

This camera has to be held very still, only way you will be able to stop getting blurry photos, The stability button does nothing.
I have had mine quite a while now, once you get use to its faults, and work around them it is ok.

12:29 am - Monday, February 7, 2011

#200 Superga

Is it the manual exposure feature that I need to use to stop the background going really light when the focus is on something dark and vice-versa?

7:08 pm - Saturday, April 9, 2011

Entry Tags

compact, beginner, 2.7 inch LCD, super-zoom, fujifilm, 10 megapixel, finepix, bridge, 12x zoom, s1500

Tracker Pixel for Entry