Fujifilm FinePix S1600 Review

4.0
May 17, 2010 | Mark Goldstein |

Your Comments

126 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 Rhinoplasty

In the past, Fuji superzooms have usually delivered some exceptional images, like the S200EXR, which makes us all the more disappointed to report that the S1600 performs way below expectations.

11:50 am - Monday, May 17, 2010

#2 Digital photo studio

You are completely right i have been using somw older version of Fuji camera and found their resolution much better that the FinePix S1600 12.2 MP

12:20 pm - Monday, May 17, 2010

#3 sd card

I bought this unit in December 2009 in a local photo shop, after several months of use I have three words PIECE OF SHIT! Honestly, I really do not know where to start

1:34 pm - Monday, May 17, 2010

#4 Yianni

I agree with the first two posters that older cameras do produce cleaner and sharper images.

The S1600 is actually very good when you compare it to today’s super zooms though. Image quality is very good and noise reduction is under control and images are fairly sharp with lots of detail. ISO 400 also looks usable which is good news.

As for the third poster, sd card, this camera was announced on the 02-Feb-10 so there’s no way you bought one in December 2009.

4:05 pm - Monday, May 17, 2010

#5 Dave

I have to agree, after extensive testing on the S1600 is a big pile of poo!

2:42 pm - Tuesday, May 18, 2010

#6 Alan

Had this camera since March. Very happy with it compared to “point & shoot” cameras I have owned at around the same price.

The S1600 is not perfect, but unless you want to pay loads more for a DSLR, it would be a good choice if you want to have much, much better pictures than P & S camera. Much more versatile too. Have a look at some of my pics here. http://www.myfinepix.co.uk/gallery/88902

I think some of the above comments are not valid as their links take you to their sites to try to sell you something!

5:55 pm - Friday, May 21, 2010

#7 Chris

If you consider the price of this camera (I just bought one for £134) they are excellent.

I am not getting on very well with all the auto features (aimed the camera at a beautiful sunset in scene recognition and it said AUTO which means can’t recognise) but in program mode where you control some of the parameters it produces some great shots.

In comparison to my Canon Powershot SX20 IS it is a complete toy but it was half the price.

These are ideal cameras to ‘learn’ about SLR or as a cheap ‘throw around’ when you don’t want to risk damaging your other equipment.

6:05 pm - Friday, May 21, 2010

#8 lily jones

which one is recommended, the s1600 or the s1500? I’m considering both but would like a second opinion.

8:11 pm - Friday, May 21, 2010

#9 Chris

@lily jones

The main difference is the S1600 can record high definition video. The S1600 also has a slightly more powerful zoom.

Apart from that there are subtle differences but on paper at least the S1600 is just that little bit better in most categories.

8:38 pm - Friday, May 21, 2010

#10 handry

BEST CAMERA OF THE WORLD

8:34 am - Saturday, May 22, 2010

#11 Nigel

There are only two links to UK prices, above - too see the full picture you can visit:

http://www.fujidigitalcameraprices.co.uk/Fujifilm-FinePix-S1600-P10NC02450A.asp

12:23 pm - Sunday, May 23, 2010

#12 jojokyra

I’m from Bulgaria, the price of this camera here is like 229$, I just got it =)

It feels and look really great! Good gripe.
I like: fast startup, panorama feature, that zoom!!!, not bad at all pseudo HD video mode, this battery setup, that EVF make’s me geeky, manual control…

But image quality is clearly jerky. It’s like to take on walk expensive web camera.
Pooor color range, rich details are friends with some artifacts that look like very compressed JPG,(tree leaves look more like snivels) “standard” sharpness settings means that over your image is going to pass some not very talented photoshop user whit two layers of “sharpen effect”, but don’t lower this - will be even worst.

Yep, I’m not suppose to be surprise, as well as you! It is just that design, that mimic some more advanced camera, but is it a toy! If you have little budget there is no good choice - all that cameras are shit! :D

...maybe the better choice for same money is some Sony DSC W3—. Image should be however on “water filter” from our talented photoshop user, with slightly greater colors and wide-lens but I wasn’t ready for no viewfinder, lithium-ion battery, also HD video from S1600 looks better than Sony one.
I was practicing my english, yeah. Take good shoots, have good life :)

11:47 pm - Sunday, May 23, 2010

#13 Guilherme

Hello, which you advise, this machine or the Canon PowerShot SX120 IS? Which one is better?

10:05 pm - Tuesday, May 25, 2010

#14 jojokyra

@Guilherme that Canon don’t have viewfinder. I still think S1600 have cheap quality after some tests. However batteries never go down :) Check if you wish some of my best shots: http://www.flickr.com/photos/jojokyra/sets/72157624045336297/

3:58 am - Monday, May 31, 2010

#15 Antonio

I had mine for 3 days and i’m gonna return it. Complete piece of shit, despite not having image stabilization, my 4 year old olympus SP 500 UZ takes better shots.

11:09 am - Friday, June 4, 2010

#16 tina

i got the camera a few months ago and i am dissapointed, i thoulght it was just me being picky but it seems other people have the same problems with the s1600 as i do, although it does zoom in really far, it is no use as the images are not sharp! so then whats the point in zoom if your pics will be crap? also, i have bin through all the different settings trying to make it sharp, but stil nothing.i wanted sharp pictures.also takes to long to take the picture from the point of pressing the button.looks like a fancy top notch camera,but its really dissapointing.anyone no of any actual amazing cameras?

8:26 am - Saturday, June 5, 2010

#17 Fuji

Wonderinf if this camera has image stabilization “non-bluring mode”. I brought it 2 take photos of sport. Will it blur. Is it qyick shor?

9:57 am - Monday, June 14, 2010

#18 Keane Low

Low price camera with powerful zoom and acceptable photo quality.
if you expect more,you will have to throw alot more money for a better one.

9:01 am - Friday, June 18, 2010

#19 Sajed

Please compare it with any general Compact digital Camera, not with SLR. I think S1600 is a kind of little bit uplift from compact ones. What do you think?

10:24 am - Friday, June 18, 2010

#20 Claus Marnix

I also have the Panasonic FZ-35 and Fuji S1600
and the Fuji aslong you use the camera at ISO 64
it produce exelent pictures,however the Pana is alot faster.have more detail,but Fuji have smooter pictures viewing at 100%
cosed by noise reduction,but in good wether the pictures can come out exelent.
The S1600 best picture qalitie is when you use the lens from 30 mm to 300 mm.
It is an good camera,expecial when you compare to the prise.
Also viewfinder and LCD is good.

9:52 pm - Saturday, June 19, 2010

#21 Claus Marnix

Here some pictures with the Fuji S1600

http://demarren.smugmug.com/Other/Fuji-S-1600/12616218_78vme#906392201_STdY6

and here FZ-35 FZ-38
http://demarren.smugmug.com/Other/Panasonic-FZ-38/12552880_MpzoL#900834014_AiS3r

Have fun :)

10:01 pm - Saturday, June 19, 2010

#22 kriss

I like the s1600 at the moment…it takes a pretty good pic…if using zoom I reduce the frame size by pressing down on the pad.
I’m sure though that as I get better at taking pics I will inevitably grow bored of it.
It’s a damb good camera to start off with and I’m
convinced that most of the people who say it’s shit probably will take shit photos with whatever camera they are using.
A bad workman always blames his tools !!!!

7:07 pm - Thursday, June 24, 2010

#23 jef

I think I’m going to have one next month . The price is really good for the beginner.

9:39 am - Friday, June 25, 2010

#24 kk

i also have one recently the camera act quite slow no matter in focus,or taking and saving picture.

wonder would that be the problem of the firmware ?

the image stabilization is a little bit weird ,which not really do the job


in general with that price range u can expect how it does.

4:31 am - Tuesday, June 29, 2010

#25 Furball

Really, guys, which one is a better deal, S1600 or the older S1500? I’m interested mostly in the picture quality & sharpness then in the slightly increased zoom of the S1600 or the (almost)HD movie it can deliver.
I’ve seen that there’s a similar post (#8), but I’d like to know if there is a more detailed comparison of the two cameras.

4:14 pm - Sunday, July 4, 2010

#26 finepixperiod

Furball

If I were you, I would go for the s1600. I own the s1500. I also own a f70exr. My take, the s1600 must have improvements over the s1500. As for pictures, the f70exr takes great instant pictures better than my s1500. However, I find the S1500 so much more fun cuz of all the manual settings plus it feels just great..I love the s1500 even though is nowhere near perfect..go look for examples at flickr..

6:13 pm - Tuesday, July 6, 2010

#27 Furball

Thanks, Finepixperiod

I should probably tell you (and everyone on this site) that I’m planning to move up to S1500/S1600 from a point-and-shoot Pentax Optio L30 (that is, if I may say, an incredible sturdy camera; don’t ask me how I’ve got this piece of knowledge :)), so, probably, any of the Fujifilm cameras that I was talking about would do just great for me.

Still, I’m concerned if anyone tested the both Fuji cameras and was satisfied or dissatisfied with them. I’ve read the posts from all the guys and I still don’t know what’s it gonna be.

C’mon, guys, give me some real clues in terms of sharpness and picture quality… Pleeeeaaaase!

7:26 pm - Tuesday, July 6, 2010

#28 finepixperiod

Furball,

have you tried people reviews on amazon.com or buzillions.com??

7:43 pm - Tuesday, July 6, 2010

#29 Jim

Just got my S1600 , Great camera , I think the negative people on this comments page are expecting too much of a camera at this level, Its a great mid range camera if you dont need a Slr level camera for lots of money. Once again , well chuffed with mine….

10:20 pm - Friday, July 9, 2010

#30 john killey

well after reading all these reviews on here reguarding this camera I have to dissagree with the majority of people who say this is a crap camera.

I am not a professional photographer, but this is without doubt the best Camera I have owned it does exactly what it says on the tin, the zoom is outstanding, the picture quality is good not had chance to try out the HD Recording mode.

but for me this is a great little camera

9:03 pm - Tuesday, August 3, 2010

#31 Liv

Can anyone tell me if this camera has the application where you can take a black and white photo and have some objects that stay coloured?

6:50 am - Tuesday, August 10, 2010

#32 Alan

You will need to manipulate your pics in a photo editing program on the computer such as Gimp (free) or if you are serious - then Photoshop.  There are other programs that are free on the net.  I don’t know of any camera that can do what you ask.  Go here to find many answers to questions like yours. http://www.myfinepix.co.uk/

7:56 am - Tuesday, August 10, 2010

#33 Chris

The Canon Powershot SX20 IS has a standard feature in the camera called color accent which allows you to select a color in the viewfinder and make everything else black and white. It also has a color swapping feature as well. This camera costs a lot more than the S1600 though.

11:27 am - Tuesday, August 10, 2010

#34 Adama

I think most comments on here are very unfair on the Finepix S1600. I have been using it for a number of weeks now and have to admit that it delivers a lot more than you pay for.

Low light situations are handled pretty well. The camera has an effective “burst shoot” feature that allows you to take multiple photos in succession at full resolution. The Electronic viewfinder (which you don’t usually find at this price tag) is very effective and useful when light conditions outdoors make the LCD screen hard to see.

Picture quality is good and can be improved even more with manual tweaking rather than using the Auto modes which are aimed at absolute beginners. The camera offers several options for manual user intervention up to a mode that is fully manual, allowing you to set shutter speed as well as aperture - alongside with exposure compensation. This affords ample room for creativity.

Its use of pencil batteries is an advantage - they are cheap to replace and readily available - should you run out of juice while on holiday.

My only complaint is the lens cover - I would have liked it to have a tighter fit.

10:41 pm - Friday, August 13, 2010

#35 Matteo

Yesterday I got it from a webshop. This is my first digital camera, I had a reflex analog camera before buying this one, but it was beginning to have several troubles. What I can say at the moment is that the zoom is sursprising, the image quality is absolutely satisfying and that it’s quite easy to use. I agree with Adama: working with auto settings is good for beginners or when still learning to use the camera, but with a small effort you can use manual settings to get even better performance. I hope to post another review in a short time, after testing it accurately.

10:29 am - Tuesday, August 17, 2010

#36 fujifine

i got the s1600 for my b day and would say it’s one of the best fuji’s around!

10:51 am - Tuesday, August 31, 2010

#37 Matteo

After using it longer, I am very satisfied. It’s not that easy to be used, but with a small effort I managed to obtain very good results. Obviously, as this is a super zoom, obtaining perfect pictures at full zoom is quite hard without a stand, but anyway the double stabilizer works very fine. The panorama mode is great! I have the feeling that I’m using this camera at 20%... I believe that in a short time my familiarity with it will grow very well

11:05 am - Tuesday, August 31, 2010

#38 fujifine

right now im in portugal and i just took a lush panarama by the sea i’ve had a lot of fujifilms but this is in my top three.but can be a bit sharp

2:03 pm - Tuesday, August 31, 2010

#39 Matteo

At the link below you can find a photo taken with my S1600 with the Panorama mode:

http://www.panoramio.com/photo/40197968

4:18 pm - Thursday, September 2, 2010

#40 salvador

A remarkable camera for the price. Pity there weren’t more sample pictures at ISOs above 800
to show low light performance.

Can’t fault the rest of your review.

1:56 am - Friday, September 10, 2010

#41 eNdEmiOn

I bought this camera. It was slightly more expensive than the older HD2000 but has almost the same specs.

During the day you can shoot some nice pictures but when there is little light it gets hard to get decent pictures. Mainly because there is no manual focus option. Auto focus is really lacking.

I now wonder if I should have gone for the HD2000 as that one was a more profi camera at the time (2008).

My main 2 problems with the camera is the lack of manual focus and HD video only goes up to 9min (says 15 max in the manual). Now I get the 2GB FAT restriction but why not let the camera keep on filming and auto cutting up the peaces.

2:54 pm - Saturday, September 11, 2010

#42 Paul Edwards

I have just purchased this camera and I am very pleased with it.  Its a whole lot better then I expected . Have a look at Claus Marnix’s picture link - outstanding!  I dont know how anyone can criticise this little camera - and so cheap too. I remember 35mm SLRS I had in past - some costing £300 +  The fuji pix are far superior and such atomation!

12:54 pm - Friday, October 1, 2010

#43 Anthony Harman

LCD display look fall apart when I use this cam in low light condition.
How can I take a good picture, if what I see in the viewer look bad…

Any suggestion?

12:52 am - Monday, October 4, 2010

#44 Paul Edwards

I think all you have to do is go look at Mr Marnix’s photos - esp the Audi car - amazing. A lot of pros would like to have taken that picture.

3:52 pm - Monday, October 4, 2010

#45 b1

Looks like a great camera so i will start saving. Really good in-depth reveiw.

2:47 pm - Tuesday, October 5, 2010

#46 Paul Edwards

These pix (hope you can see them) were taken today using the s1600 all without a tripod - at least of them was taken at max zoom WITHOUT A TRIPOD!!

5:03 pm - Thursday, October 7, 2010

#47 Sarah Love

Hi Paul,
I can’t see you photos can you please post the link again? cheers

3:23 am - Saturday, October 9, 2010

#48 Paul Edwards

Sarah - my name was the link - did you try it?  Here it is again anyway - a link to my Picasa album.

http://picasaweb.google.co.uk/itsmepaul57/Testing_TIME?feat=directlink

Juts hope it reaches you as a link! Paul

9:55 am - Saturday, October 9, 2010

#49 Paul Edwards

Here are some test shots I took last night mostly with flash also some macro or close up shots too.

http://picasaweb.google.co.uk/itsmepaul57/S1600TestShots?feat=directlink

1:49 pm - Saturday, October 9, 2010

#50 martin

It works fine if you just use it for taking pictures.In the video mode,it has static in the background,like a hissing. Also when the zoom is used, it is very audible. And lastly, when recording sound that is a bit loud,it comes out distorted.

9:48 pm - Saturday, October 23, 2010

#51 Dmitriy

which camera buy - Fujifilm s1600 or Nikon Coolpix L110?

10:35 am - Sunday, October 31, 2010

#52 Kristina

Does ne one know about the battery if its rechargable and wha bout the S1800 how is the camera?

12:11 am - Tuesday, November 9, 2010

#53 Matteo

Standard batteries. Anyway you can use rechargeable ones and set the camera to work with them. What I know about S1800 is that the only difference with S1600 is the zoom.

4:47 pm - Tuesday, November 9, 2010

#54 Paul Edwards

I think the little s1600 takes great pix

- and here are some more!

http://picasaweb.google.com/itsmepaul57/InAndAroundTheEnvironsOfLondonGatwickAirport?feat=directlink

6:47 pm - Tuesday, November 9, 2010

#55 E

hi i just bought one it sreally good except for when you download pictures on to the pc because i inserted the cd rom and went through the paces but then it was meant to come up with save image wizard and it said I/O error instead theni had to click ok and nothing happened and i dont know what to do any help would be much appreciated??????? x

10:32 pm - Sunday, November 14, 2010

#56 Paul Ewards

‘E’  Forget about program with your camera. GOTO http://picasa.google.com/  and download Picasa 3 which is a very good free program and will import your pictures too

4:30 am - Monday, November 15, 2010

#57 Paul Edwards

‘E’ dont forget when you connect your camera to your PC/Laptop via the USB cable it automatically creates a ‘removable disc’  which you can double click on to see your pictures and videos then just highlite and drag to ‘pictures’ on your PC.

Thats basic with most cameras and mobile phones these days

4:03 pm - Monday, November 15, 2010

#58 judy

simple n easy, good camera. I like it.

4:51 am - Monday, November 22, 2010

#59 lonny

would this camera (s1600) take good action sports pictures?  Football, baseball ??

4:52 am - Tuesday, November 23, 2010

#60 Jessica

Would this camera take good night shots?
I’m looking at a new camera, I currently have a Canon SD1000 and it takes terrible night shots.

4:53 am - Saturday, November 27, 2010

#61 littlejohn

Hi all..
I’m new to the s1600.. When I press the shutter in single shot mode, there is a blank display for around a second or so before the taken image appears.. This is something that didn’t happen on my Kodak Z612 Bridge.. Is there a problem with my camera, or is this a characteristic of the s1600..

Feedback would be appreciated.

Many thanks

1:45 pm - Tuesday, November 30, 2010

#62 Paul Edwards

I think any camera when used for takign night shots would need either a tripod or flash OR both.

I do believe if you look trough the menu’s you will find a Night scene setting (still need tripod though)

I had not really noticed LITTLEJOHN the blank display when takign picture - but I don’t think its a problem or fault - just concentrate on taking great pix - like these of my home town of Brighton south coast UK.

http://picasaweb.google.com/itsmepaul57/VisitToTheSouthCoastCityofBrightonHove?feat=directlink

3:48 pm - Tuesday, November 30, 2010

#63 eNdEmiOn

@Jessica
The problem I’m having with night shots is that focusing hardly ever gets it right. As there is no manual focus I would have to say no not very well suited for night photography.

This is one of the better night shots. Still pretty bad. The rest is even worse (approx 30 shots taken).
http://www.plaatjesupload.nl/bekijken/3268009.html

4:39 pm - Tuesday, November 30, 2010

#64 Kristy

Has anyone used this camera at a concert? Are the shots really grainy?

8:40 pm - Thursday, December 2, 2010

#65 Paul Edwards

Only one way to find out….....

9:53 pm - Thursday, December 2, 2010

#66 Paul Edwards

It is actually possible to increase flash output (ie More illumination) - I believe the menu is accessible when the flash is in up position - that might help.

make sure you return to normal position when finished as it naturally use up more power. Use Lithium batts anyway they last fro ages and are worth the extra.

9:57 pm - Thursday, December 2, 2010

#67 Dave G

Hey guys, i use my current sony v1 for the occasional trophy shots when fishing in all light conditions but am thinking of upgrading. Im no expert and the sony has to many options for my liking, with ease of use and picture quality in mind what do you think regarding the fuji???

10:14 pm - Tuesday, December 14, 2010

#68 Paul Edwards

Dave G:  The little s1600 is a very sophisticated little device and amazing for the price.  It can take pictures an all sorts of lighting conditions. A lot depends on things like how high an ISO its using - remember back in 35mm times we rarely went up past ISO 200…

But you do have TOTAL MANUAL CONTROL with this camera. And there are also two night modes too one needing a tripod. You can also increase the flash output too. The pictures I have taken at night were fine with just one a bit blurry.

At night always use a tripod…

6:08 pm - Wednesday, December 15, 2010

#69 Dave G

Thanks Paul and i do have a tripod so it seems to tick the boxes and certainly sounds value for money!
Thanks again.

7:23 pm - Thursday, December 16, 2010

#70 Miranda

Hey, im thinking about buying this camera, does it take black and white pictures without using editing software on the computer? is this a good camera to buy? Thanks.

7:58 pm - Monday, January 3, 2011

#71 Paul Edwards

Yes it does take B&W images in Auto mode hit the little ‘F’ Function button top right of main menu control you will see a menu to set:1)Normal 2) Chrome (Hi color)  3) B&W

I think this little camera is very good value for money - esp as the price has recently dropped a lot (around £102!!!)  I paid £148 GBPs for mine (bummer) It has very sophisticated manual controls and even read eye removal HD Video, Panoramic and total manual control over all functions - a very good macro setting too and a zoom lens that is the equivalent to 28 - 420 mm!

amazing!  If you have more money though I would probably recommend the Panasonic Lumix F38 its better at capturing action shots and the s1600 does have a bit of a problem with zoom motor noise when recording video - its not a problem though.

8:50 pm - Monday, January 3, 2011

#72 Paul Edwards

2 recommendations: 

1) DO use Lithium batteries - they are a bit dearer but last for ages. - or rechargeable. Standard batteries dont last 2 minutes.

2) Dont bother to install the software on the CD that comes with this camera - I recommend the Free Google Picasa 3 its a great free prog and when you put yr cameras SD card or USB connection it will sync automatically and download yr pix/Videos It also makes it very easy to upload your pix online also to youtube.

9:08 pm - Monday, January 3, 2011

#73 Miranda

Thanks, really helped. Is the focus good on it? I currently have a little fujifilm compact camera but want to get into photography more without spending loads on the proper big cameras so this is perfect. Thanks again for your help.

10:17 pm - Monday, January 3, 2011

#74 Paul Edwards

I would award the focusing 9 and a bit out of 10.  It does miss sometimes.

I have noticed occasional Out of focus with the video mode.

When taking photos just refocus, also make sure image stabilisation is ON and use a tripod/flash in low light conditions and ‘Sport’ setting for action shots. If you go to the fujifilm finepix website you can download the instruction manual as a Pdf file so you can check it our before you buy.

Paul

10:38 pm - Monday, January 3, 2011

#75 CourtneyP

Hi Guys,
Have been looking at buying the fuji s1600 for a couple of months now but am still undecided on the comments and reviews that i have read.

I have previously just had standard point and shoot cameras - olympus & canon. Never a fuji.

im a very basic beginner and would just love a decent camera to take sharp photos with a little more life to them, also something with great pigmentation of colour you could say?

i am from Australia and are able to buy this camera for around $180 but dont want to buy and be disapointed that the shots will be the same as my other cameras.
Would love for someone to give me a novice a great insight to if i am expecting a bit much of such a cheap camera?

thanks guys.

CourtneyP

3:59 am - Tuesday, January 11, 2011

#76 Paul Edwards

Well, I suggest you read the comments and inwardly digest - also look at the photograph links and decide from that. Over here in UK you an get this camera for £107 GBP (VERY CHEAP)  I would however suggest you go for the s1800 which has 18 x magnification but is otherwise identical but with a much more powerful zoom lens - eqivelent too 600mm!

  Only fault with these cameras is the there is some noise form zoom motor when recording in the HD video - annoys soempeople but for the price its worth disregarding. After that you need to look at the Panasonic Lumix cameras which ARE superior - but dearer.  the F38   and the new F45 have stonkign good write-ups - the Lumix F45 is best with a 24 X zoom and 14 MP sensor!!!

4:53 am - Tuesday, January 11, 2011

#77 Paul Milhouse

Hello, i already have the fujifilm j30 but not sure whether to get this fujifilm s1600. Is there much difference between them?

5:59 pm - Wednesday, January 12, 2011

#78 phoebe

i have been thinking about getting this camera (fuji finepix s1600) for a while and have received very contrasting reviews; it seems like a love/hate product.
i use cameras mainly for macro or action shots (i know they are very different) mainly animal subjects. this camera seems to have good macro reviews, and some sample macro images are amazing, but i was wondering what action shots were like? Such as flying birds, moving pets or just general moving animals. does it blur or become grainy? thanks for the help :)
and are there any other bad points about it?

4:48 pm - Friday, January 28, 2011

#79 eNdEmiOn

@phoebe
Action shots are quite decent but that’s more a question of finding the right settings and how fast ur subject is moving. Getting a still non blurry image that isn’t to dark or anything from a car moving on the high way (over 60Mph/100kmh) isn’t exactly easy but to a certain degree doable.

Lets see if I can upload some useful sample pics.

Swans “running” of (50% otherwise file was to big for upload).
http://www.plaatjesupload.nl/bekijk/2011/01/28/1296221842-020.jpg

Hope this helps.

7:06 pm - Friday, January 28, 2011

#80 eNdEmiOn

Aparently I can only add 1 or maybe 2 links per reply. So here are the others.

Plane flying over head (cropped otherwise file was to big for upload).
http://www.plaatjesupload.nl/bekijk/2011/01/28/1296221902-290.jpg

7:08 pm - Friday, January 28, 2011

#81 eNdEmiOn

120mm fans mounted on plexiglass (50%, flash may have been used, not sure)
- Motion blur
http://www.plaatjesupload.nl/bekijk/2011/01/28/1296222567-960.jpg

7:09 pm - Friday, January 28, 2011

#82 eNdEmiOn

120mm fans mounted on plexiglass (50%, flash may have been used, not sure)
- No blur
http://www.plaatjesupload.nl/bekijk/2011/01/28/1296222900-80.jpg

7:11 pm - Friday, January 28, 2011

#83 Paul

I dont really think that this little camera’s forte is action photography. I live right next to London Gatwick airport and getting any kind of sharp clear images of aircraft taking off is largely down to luck, light and settings. Obviously you need to select the sport mode to get fastest shutter speed - the problem with doing this on Auto is that the camera can select up to and above 800 ISO/ASA and this is where the rot sets in with this kind of bridge camera - noise, pixelation, speckling and blurring of detail.

The thing to remember is that the physical laws of photography have NOT changed since the old 35mm days…...  Back then we mostly all used 200ISO/ASA film although of course you could buy 400 if you wanted action shots…most of us stuck to 200 for general photography.  But even with 400 film there was some degradation of the images with so called ‘faster’ film.

If you zoom out with the s1600/1800/1900’s 410mm lens within the ground effect THE SHUTTER SPEED WILL DROP! So without a tripod or support you can expect shake and blur.  But in auto mode as I said above - the camera will try to compensate for the lack of light coming in by upping the ISO. Pointing your camera up at the sky causes diffent problems with a bright cloudy sky you will of course get silhouetting.  The little s1600 series of cameras are very sophisticated in manual - you can switch to P for program and program your camera to act just as if it was a 35mm camera using 200 ISO film!  You can even save it as a personal profile using 200ISO to be used again and again.

If you are trying to target moving objects/action shots you have to develop the skill of tracking the object, focusing and and bracketing the exposure - there are better camera for this of course, and dearer ones too. The Panasonic Lumix FZ100 is a very good example.

No doubt about it though, this particular camera does have a very good close-focus/macro mode.

Good luck

12:53 am - Saturday, January 29, 2011

#84 phoebe

@eNdEmiOn
thanks for the help and the sample shots. the swan one especailly helped as i will mainly be photographing large swans, or the faster movign seagulls. they seem to be decent shots with not too many faults.

@Paul
thankyou as well for the advice, and for being truthful. i am still considering it, although i understand that action shots may not be it’s strong point.
the panasonic looks beautiful but the hard truth is, i can’t afford a camera like that. maybe one day, but for now i think the fuji will hopefully suit my needs.
thanks again for the help everyone, more advice is appreciated :)

3:00 pm - Saturday, January 29, 2011

#85 Paul Milhouse

Hello, sorry just wondering if anyone can answer my question. I have a fujifilm j30 but not sure whether to get this fujifilm s1600. Is there much difference between them?
Thanks :)

2:53 pm - Sunday, January 30, 2011

#86 eNdEmiOn

@Paul Milhouse
That really depends on what you’re missing in the J30/what you want to do with it.

I would say yes they are quite different.
big - small
zoom lens - not really
EVF - no EVF
HD video - lower res
Quite advanced features - little less advanced

Think those are things ur interested in. Picture quality is probably quite similar.

3:04 am - Monday, January 31, 2011

#87 E Andreas

I have had this camera since Oct…took it to Japan. At first was a little disappointed, but as i become more familiar with it i am really enjoying it. I think for the price, you are getting a pretty nice little camera. Of course it’s not up to snuff with a DSlr, but really….come on….how can you compare?? We are looking at hundreds of dollars difference in price. For me this is the perfect camera to get familiar with before taking the big jump to a DSLR. It’s great that is has manual settings; the zoom is nice’; and by and large the quality of the pics is very acceptable, sometimes even very very good.

5:45 am - Monday, January 31, 2011

#88 Keisha

I’ve had this camera since September 2010 and i’m fairly happy with it. If you want to see some of the pictures if taken, you can look here: http://s1091.photobucket.com/albums/i391/keishaDWW/

I just have one question. I’m going to an indoor concert, and i’ll be using manual settings. what should I set the ISO & shutter speed to?

8:01 am - Saturday, February 5, 2011

#89 Alibaby

Does anyone know how I can get my images off the internal memory?
Please help!

2:17 am - Monday, February 7, 2011

#90 Paul Edwards

Alibaby:  I have not tried this as I put in an SD card straight away, you cant take many pix using internal mem anyway. 

Have you tried simply connecting up to your PC/Lappy via the USB cable?? This should create a ‘removable storage device’ Click on ‘Computer’ in your start menu (This being the cameras internal memory. CLICK on that. Or - Get an SD card say 2GB (4 is better) you should be able to copy your pix to it I think the s1600 has a menu.

Failing that you could try installing the software that comes on the CD I assume you got that. OR. Download Google Picasa 3 which is an excellent FREE photo editing organizing prog from Google http://picasa.google.com/  I use it all the time. Good luck!!

4:15 am - Monday, February 7, 2011

#91 eNdEmiOn

Transferring internal pics to sd. Turn on cam, press green “play” buton, press the menu button, go to copy and press “right”. Rest is child’s play.

1:54 am - Tuesday, February 8, 2011

#92 Alibaby

Thank you so much Paul Edwards and eNdEmiOn. :)

2:01 am - Tuesday, February 8, 2011

#93 grace

well i got the camera for my birthday, and tbh i dont find it very good the images are not deatailed i might aswell have a digital camera and i cant take it back :(

7:24 pm - Tuesday, February 15, 2011

#94 phoebe96

@grace how bad are the images? have you had any other cameras that are better?
also the fuji finepix s1600 is a digital camera as far as i know, but i understand what you mean :)

8:39 pm - Tuesday, February 15, 2011

#95 Alan

If you’ve read this far and you are still undecided, have a look at some shots that I’ve posted on Flickr
http://www.flickr.com/photos/alan_d_harley/4560799186/in/set-72157623559618732/

For the money - highly recommended!

12:18 am - Wednesday, February 16, 2011

#96 Paul Edwards

I agree totally - this is a very neat little camera and I think the pictures I take these days are far better then anything I took with 35mm camera’s I had 15 years or so ago ( I had some good ones). With the big advantage of course that you never need to put up with the odd bum image (just delete it!) Click on the links on this page and look at various, often very good, images taken by s1600/s1800 owners - after all the whole point is to take photographs = to capture a moment in time - we are not professional photographers are we?  IF you really want to take excellent images then you must buy a DSLR probably costing GB £300 + then another 2 or 3 hundred $/£ for a lens (you will probably need more then one) ......get the picture?? IF in doubt set the s1600 to auto and bang away at anything that takes your fancy ...... I cant believe you wont get some nice pictures.
Paul Edwards

11:44 am - Friday, February 25, 2011

#97 Paul Ewards

SOME CLOSE UP PIX I TOOK THIS AFTERNOON 9TH MARCH 11

https://picasaweb.google.com/itsmepaul57/SomeMacroAndCloseUpPhotography20110309?feat=directlink

7:31 pm - Wednesday, March 9, 2011

#98 Howie Mudge

I’ve decided to order one of these cameras as I want a point and shoot camera that takes decent photos, has a bit of video on family days out.  It’s cost me £99 from Amazon and for £99 I can’t see a better camera on the market.  I recently sent back a Panasonic FZ100 because the image quality was awful.  I then did some research and found this camera to be one of the best value cameras available on the market.

I’ve downloaded a few sample photos taken on this site and done some ‘curve correction/sharpening’ and they look damn good for a point and shoot camera.  I’ve also checked some of the posts on flickr and other photo sites and I think this will do me as a walkabout snap shot camera for the foreseeable future.

I also own 2 DSLRs a Nikon D300 and a Fuji S3 Pro but want something thats light, decent zoom, decent snap shots for when I’m down the beach with the kids and the dog and I don’t want to lug 25+kg’s of camera equipment about with me.  Coming from the world of a DSLR where I generally have to post process virtually all my photographs. For £99 I think this camera is hard to beat :)

8:35 pm - Tuesday, April 5, 2011

#99 Cate

I’ve had this camera since November and have had very few issues with it. The panorama feature took a little getting used to (had some pretty interesting double bridges and what not,) but overall a great buy for only $160US. It’s perfect for me because I wanted a camera that felt like a real camera but I’m not quite so dedicated that I need a dSLR.

Here’s a night panorama shot that I took back in January:
http://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=10150120602736083&set=a.269759036082.184894.672951082&theater;

4:01 pm - Saturday, April 9, 2011

#100 Liz

I bought a finepix s1600 last week and cannot get a sharp image on the lcd unless I have used the zoom. Has anybody else had this problem or is there a fault with the camera?

4:57 pm - Wednesday, April 13, 2011

Entry Tags

hd video, hd, 3 inch LCD, 720p, wide-angle, 12 megapixel, super-zoom, manual, fujifilm, finepix, fuji, EVF, 15x, s1600, Fujifilm FinePix S1600 Review

Tracker Pixel for Entry