Fujifilm FinePix S1 Review

4.0
February 27, 2014 | Mark Goldstein |

Your Comments

81 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 Jim

Why oh why are otherwise great cameras removing GPS from their features? And why oh why are reviewers just telling us its great that we can link to our smartphone to geotag the photos?

Have you tried that? I don’t have a strong enough battery in my phone for it to last long enough to do so. I cannot imagine that many smart phones could do so without either replaceable or external batteries. And whenever you change a battery the smart phone loses Al it’s running apps, and reboots. Incredibly tedious and impractical.

I vote for integral GPS in my camera. Fujifilm - you won’t get me even though the camera is otherwise what I’m looking for.

10:07 am - Sunday, March 2, 2014

#2 Jim

How come your main rivals list does not include the Panasonic Lumix DMC-ZS72? It is very similar in what it offers.

10:15 am - Sunday, March 2, 2014

#3 Ayoub

Thank you very much for this professional informative review.
I was about to buy this cam as I am stunned by its design and features, but was a bit hesitant because there was not enough reviews and sample images/videos of the camera.
And, now, I decided not to buy it because I was put off by the quality of the pictures due to Fujifilm’s sleazy lens.  Seriously, it is a big NO NO to spend too much for such a quality lens.
I will wait for a new Canon or Sony.
Thanks again guys for the great effort. 

6:19 pm - Sunday, March 2, 2014

#4 Sri

@Ayoub
Exactly, coz the specs of this camera were the best among the lot, Panasonic FZ70, Sony HX300, Canon SX50 and Nikon P520 but the according to this review I’m put off quite a lot.
Why on earth the image quality is so low? It’s the most important factor in any camera but they’ve let it down big time. Unbelievable.
I guess we can trust this review
Cheers

6:15 am - Tuesday, March 4, 2014

#5 Nissim ben Avraham

I’ve been waiting for monts until Fuji S1 available on the market. From the early news of CES 2014, some media, photography-base websites, blogs, even on YouTube channels, almost all of them said that this first weather sealed bridge camera is the magic. Aamong the big 50x (with current under or above zoom availibility) mega zoom bridge cameras, this is the best. Some expert tell us that based on the specifications, in comparison Fujifilm S1 is better than Canon SX50 HS or Panasonic FZ200 (two leading camera in it class). Even in YouTube, the experts tell us that they would put their Canon SX50 HS cameras on ebay, wow. I think it’s need for me to wait and raise fund. What a large mount of money I mean, for a 1/2.3” sensor camera, but if it’s worth for a great image quality, well, why not?

Canon SX50 HS and Panasonic FZ200 they’re proven themselves as nice and convenience camera with great image quality produced by them. In theory, if Fujifilm S1 is better than the older, but undisputed champs, then Fujifilm S1 is the new champion ... in theory. But we learn that spec written on the papper isn’t the everything, we need prove too. Personally I like bridge camera because of the convenience and abilities that nearly my DSLRs, with much smaller size, weight, but much larger range stop, respectly. So this quiet compact camera will accompanying my DSLRs on duty (note: not as a back up camera).

In the new year I seek a new megazoom camera, the best one on the date. And now I found that much fancy features in Fujifilm S1, along with ‘specs on the paper’ I told before, more aperture, more ISO stop, WiFi, not to forget the most impressive is weather sealed (I need it for landscape photographs), and finally back to the most question : “How is the image quality?”

Now I realize the noise and grainy thing that exist, even in the lower ISO setting. So, what the lack? If you buy half a grand rate, and full of up-to-date techs, then over all boasting thing finally I got million stars or sand on almost entire the frame, oh my ... this is not a thing that I’ve expected before
My fellows, anyone can give me suggestions? Anyway this is a very good review.

PS: I need mega zoom camera to photographing various object, from landscape, wildlife, sport, and often on wedding as well as conference too. That’s why I need zoom and vey low light ability. Canon XS50 and Panasonic FZ200 has that ability.

7:49 pm - Tuesday, March 4, 2014

#6 Ahmadeen

@Ayoub
I Alreadiy buy new wan of these cameras .is so good is soo good in my haend. I love it alot .With my samsung galaxy s4 is so good remote control app .fromme. Good picture like profesional photo .You must buy it

8:04 pm - Tuesday, March 4, 2014

#7 Kim Jung Oh

@Ahmadeen; This Fuji S1 is horrific, too much published. Just like Panasonic FZ200, too expensive and not too good as pubished. Why you dont buy a Samsung WB2200F SMART, with dual grip, its so professional looks. Korean camera and electronics is always lead the technology. They change the future of camera onto smart camera. Ayoub, you have a Samsung Galaxy S4, its a perfect couple for Samsung WB2200F.
@Nissim Ben Avraham, forget Sony, Panasonic, Olympus, or even Canon and Nikon, buy a Samsung, youre sugested.

9:47 pm - Tuesday, March 4, 2014

#8 Samantha Voigt

Anyone knows what happen if we sink 16 megapixels JPG image (in condition that much noise like that is Fuji S1) into 12 or 8 or 4 megapixels (using Photoshop CS), will it reduce the noise? Maybe at least not much grainy we’ll found? I love this Fuji camera very much and I want it. I still an amateur and need help. Thank you everyone :)

10:00 pm - Tuesday, March 4, 2014

#9 Sri

@ Kim, have you used the S1? Coz from what you say I guess you’re Korean and Canon SX50 was the top of the range when it came to image quality which is what everyone wants. I’ll buy Korean over Chinese any day buddy but when it comes to Japanese stuff, they’re grand.
@Ahmadeen, I guess you’ve got one buddy and any chance of looking at some sample pics you’ve taken. Coz regardless whether it’s Korean or Japanese or any other, what matters is if it takes stellar pics compared to others in the same category.
I was trying to compare this against the Sony HX400, Nikon P600 and Olympus SP100EE but nothing on the web so far.

1:47 am - Wednesday, March 5, 2014

#10 david furlong

i have been waiting for the release of this camera for months !! & very nearly bought it today ( 5/2/14) but was not in stock , i got home & finaly a review !,a great review its a shame the camera is let down by image quality , i have been looking at 4 different cameras as my wife is buying me one a new one for my birthday , i had decided it was going to be this one but not now , it will be something else but what ???? , i want a 50x any suggestions please !, i

3:53 pm - Wednesday, March 5, 2014

#11 Nissim ben Avraham

Still collecting data friends. It’s hard to find over the internet as this Fuji S1 a very fresh stuff in marker.

@Ahmadeen
Well, you’re lucky number one, please tell me how is it going on.

@Kim Jung Oh
I like my Samsung smart phone, it’s very cool, but I talk about camera, not a smart phone or a toy my friend. Since Samsung cameras is just like fancy thing and only parts of the company’s electronic empire, sorry, I thing it just not for me.

@Sri
You’re right, Korean stuff are better than Chinese one, although most of Korean electronics are made in China. But if we talk about good camera, Japan and Germany are in the bussiness since the beginning of the last century, and still lead the professional market today.

Today I’ve met an information about the image quality of Fuji S1. As I browse in ephotozine site, then download full resolution images of the Fuji S1. So I make comparison between Fuji S1, Canon SX50, and Panasonic FZ200. With larger resolution at 16 mega pixels Fuji is suspected for down it’s quality, so I must downsize it to 12 mega pixels for a better result theoretically.
In the case of most critical ISO setting is at ISO 800, a stop that we can use in real world. From 100% crops Fuji S1 at ISO 800 has noise level comparable to Panasonic FZ200 at ISO 1600 and Canon SX50 at ISO 3200. The photos taken from their largest aperture at wide angle, it means 2.8 both for Fuji S1 and Panasonic FZ200, anf 3.4 for Canon SX50. Shutter speed I thing at the best setting as the reviewed decision. From the case albeit Canon SX50 has the lowest aperture, as I can see Fuji S1 at larger aperture is hard beaten.
Thus I collect information about videos on YouTube, I found that Fuji S1 has relative same result as Canon SX50 at full telephoto zoom, with a little lose for in fact Fuji S1 is only has 2x digital zoom (up to 100x), while Canon SX50 has 4x digital zoom (up to 200x).
Another downside of Fuji S1 is wind cut filter that seems not work, so thar the wind noise clearly heard, just like Canon SX50, same problem. Furthermore, beside the wind noise is the lens electric motor that made noisy sound during zoom in and zoom out, it is very annoying.
I don’t know what will I found tomorrow, I hope for a better result my friends. Thank you.

6:42 pm - Wednesday, March 5, 2014

#12 Sri

@ Nissim
Thanks buddy and how about the results comparison at ISO 100-400 range? Does S1 do better than Canon and Fuji or worse?
I’m eyeing up Olympus SP-100EE and Nikon P600 too but nothing comprehensive on the web as yet.

5:36 am - Thursday, March 6, 2014

#13 Nissim ben Avraham

@ Sri
I found very little amount of noise on Canon SX50 from ISO 400, but you’ll not notice that, then from ISO 800 it’s quiet viewable, but still not a problem for me, and then ISO 1600 get worse but still usable. It means from ISO 80-400 it’s excellent, then ISO 800 is good, and ISO 1600 is average with other competitor.
On Fuji S1 at ISO 100 it’s OK, from ISO 200 grainy is viewable, getting worse at ISO 400, and ISO 800 I think is the limit of usable image.
From this ISO’s issue of course Canon SX50 much better than Fuji S1. But remember that Fuji S1 larger aperture will allow it to use lower ISO too, at least for the same light condition example, if you shot with Canon SX50 at F/3.4 and it needs ISO 800, then if you shot with Fuji S1 at F/2.8 it only needs ISO 400 regardless.
Aye, Olympus SP-1000EE main selling point is the red dot sight applied to shot moving target, i.e. soccer players. That is a similar optical sight device usually mounted in assault rifle rail. But Olympus SP1000 lack of swivel tilting LCD,  furthermore it doesn’t have 5 axial image stabilization used in E-MD model, while Fuji S1 using this technology.
Nikon is one of two biggest player in DSLR, but in the bridge camera world it seems not successful. I can see none of Nikon bridge camera series gain top popularity or highly recommended.

3:41 am - Friday, March 7, 2014

#14 Sri

@ Nissim
Dude, you should really consider having your own website for camera reviews just like this website.
Thanks for the detailed description buddy.
As you said I really like the larger aperture of Fuji and the brighter EVF at 920k compared to Canon’s abysmal 201k. It has two zoom controls which is grand when shooting videos.
How come this web has given 4 for SL1000?

5:26 am - Friday, March 7, 2014

#15 Nissim ben Avraham

@ Sri
Thank you my friend, for consider me to write my own review, but I just tell you what the other guy job. The problem is my English, it’s average, that’s why I don’t write. I just doing photography while still critical my friend.
Mark Goldstein himself is an outstanding reviewer, one of the best I think. Of course if you write a review it’s always going to be objective view and not bias, but at the same time you write it based on your subjective experience too. So at this point sometimes people who don’t understand the matter will be easily judge upon the review writer or even other comment too. I still think that Mark doing it well done, as we can see this is the first full rewiew of the world about Fuji S1.
I don’t really know about Fuji S1000, but as you see it’s not easy to get 4.5 or 5 stars, the market is so crowded here. If you look for a better EVF, Fuji X-S1 is better than Fuji S1000. Panasonic FZ200 has a good EVF too, a 1.3 million dots at the EVF window, and indeed FZ200 still the best bridge camera around, and F/2.8 constant aperture from 25mm wide angle up to 600mm telephoto zoom (equiv. to 35mm) will please everyone.
While it’s EVF is not so good, in the other hand Canon SX50 has the best sharp, crisp, noise handling ability in the it’s image quality. And if we talk about zoom ability, Canon SX50 optical zoom is 50x, combine with digital zoom is 100x up to 200x, while still produce good image, none of bridge camera even the new cameras in 2014 can compare Canon SX50 on that point. It makes Canon SX50 in the second position as the best bridge camera after Panasonic FZ200.
As I say before, the market is so crowded, so for myself, it’s hard to choice. I hope very much in this new Fuji S1, then but there’s a problem in the noise, what can we do now?

10:46 pm - Saturday, March 8, 2014

#16 Eon

in the end it’s all about the image your camera can produce. If it can produce crisp, clean & natural looking pictures with minimal noise in low light, bright light weather sealed is great if it is not to the detriment to the pictures it can produce, love my canon sx50. ( if people pay you for your pictures you are a professional no matter what camera you took it )

6:18 pm - Monday, March 10, 2014

#17 Joe Prete

As much as I like Fujifilm, what I see here is an SL1000 in a semi- Weatherproof shell. All their specs are very close, and there were only few SL1000’s sold, so repackaging it was the logical move.
Fujifilm boasted about Phase Detection focusing, but they seem to have forgotten about it here. They also gave up on their larger sensors, like the 1/2 inch CMOS, and CMOS II sensors used in the HS20EXR, HS25EXR, HS28EXR, HS30EXR, HS35EXR, HS50EXR and the 2/3 inch sensor in the XS-1 It’s no secret that using a smaller sensor allows for a boost in focal length (an ironic 200mm boost)  I hadn’t noticed that there was a need for a Weather Proof long zoom camera, since most people use these Cameras to shoot Birds, and I don’t really think that wet birds will make better images.

Regardless of what the review above says, Mark used the camera, and I always look to see what cameras he compares it to, or what he calls “Main Rivals” so let’s take a look at those cameras-

Canon SX510 HS- a 24-720mm $189.00 Point & Shoot, w/o a viewfinder-no comparison -X

Fuji HS50EXR- a $365.00 Super Zoom, w/24-1000mm -Shorter range, but close enough for comparison- OK

KODAK PIXPRO AZ521 A $149.99 Point & Shoot 24-1248mm w/o a viewfinder- a joke?  Discontinued camera, no comparison-X

Nikon P520-A $335.00 a Bridge w/24-1000mm short, but- OK

Olympus SP-820UZ A $180.00 P & S 22-896mm w/o Viewfinder
No comparison-X

Samsung WB500 P & S Discontinued Years ago! No comparison-X

Sony DSC-HX50V A $325.00 a Good Compact camera, 24-720mm but it’s the Wrong type for a comparison-X

Sony DMC-RX10 at $1,498.00 A Premium Compact w/24-200mm with Zeiss 2.8 T* lens, and a 1 inch sensor. A Great camera, one of the finest compact cameras, but not even close to a comparison-X

So he missed the obvious comparisons, all three of them. They are

Fujifilm SL1000 24-1200mm $250.00 (But Discontinued)
Canon SX50HS 24-1200mm $329.00
Sony HX3000 $398.00
These three are good comparisons for the Finepix S1
The S1 is a good looking camera, and to be fair, the SL1000 was a decent shooter too, but there just weren’t enough buyers for it.
There are many new releases that will soon be available, I suggest holding off on this purchases until the new group of Super Zoom cameras are reviewed.  The $499.00 price on this FINEPIX S1 will drop within months, and also consider if you really will take your camera out during rain and snow, and despite the picture on the Fujifilm site of the camera laying on the beach, they do not call it sand proof. By mid Summer, reviews will be out for the new group.
… Joe Prete

12:59 am - Tuesday, March 11, 2014

#18 Joe Prete

Guys,
Here’s a new camera to add to the Comparison list, the new Sony
DSC-HX400 is now available for pre-order at B&H Photo it does have the same combination, 24-1200mm and a 1/2.3 inch sensor
just like the three on my list above.  The price is $498.00
Expected delivery, Mid March- so, soon!
… Joe Prete

2:20 am - Tuesday, March 11, 2014

#19 tk

Guys, price of Fuji X-S1 has dropped a lot. Comparatively a way better than most of (may be the best) the bridge cameras. Grab it before it goes out of stock.

5:55 am - Tuesday, March 11, 2014

#20 Joe Prete

I just received an email from a friend,
here is his words, just the way he wrote them to me:
” Joe, Your buddy Mark had also listed the Panasonic FZ200, a nice camera, but it’s a 24-600mm also way off, & NOT comparable to the new Fujifilm S1 in any way. Maybe Mark made a mistake”
I agree, I do hope that it was a mistake, but I can’t make excuses for Mark, he is the boss. I’ll have to wait to hear it from him. But for now, you have the list of comparable cameras, and the HX400 may be the one to beat this time around.
… Joe Prete

6:23 am - Tuesday, March 11, 2014

#21 Joe Prete

TK,
The XS-1 is a very rugged camera, and it has a large 2/3 inch sensor, it is a couple of years old now, and the Zoom is 24-624mm
Tk, where did you find that price?

There are others yet to be released, The longest zoom may be the Nikon P600, but Panasonic has a few surprises of their own.
Thanks for the input, anything you guys have to contribute, will help us to get the full picture (no pun intended)
… Joe Prete

6:36 am - Tuesday, March 11, 2014

#22 Marius

Hi,

Which is the best camera, in this range, in terms of image quality and ability to take low light photos?

I am really disappointed when trying to take low light photos and dealing with a camera incapable of taking decent photos.

Cheers

7:41 pm - Tuesday, March 11, 2014

#23 tk

Joe,
Price referred from Amazon.com, Amazon.uk

And why FZ200 shouldn’t be in the comparison, coz it doesn’t sport 50x/60x zoom? It has some special set of features and it’s one of the highest rated bridge cameras. Comparing with the best can’t be called a “mistake”
Just because S1 is weather resistant, will we compare it with rugged cameras like Fuji XP series or Nikon AWxxx…

Maurius,
In my view, there won’t be any massive difference in image quality from one bridge camera to another as long as it is equipped with a typical small sensor. Move on to large sensor and you will see the difference esp. low light. Yes, you have to trade off the zoom.

6:19 am - Wednesday, March 12, 2014

#24 Nissim ben Avraham

@Joe Prete
I’m very glad that you’re give response here, I’ve read your usefull (and educate too) comments in other camera review specially on Canon SX50 HS and Panasonic FZ200.
I think you’re right, consider to wait the other -same super zoom class- cameras reviewed. But mid-summer is quiet long time to wait.
We know that commercials are always introduce their products as the best, with specific superiority among the others, but in the real world that claims must be proven. Canon SX50 HS is already proven, as long as I can see. Then Fuji S1 is a big question, is it really weatherproof camera? Those 70 point of seals must be tested on the field, out from promotional division’s studio. I’ve already download the brochure in PDF format, it’s interesting. I found two guys: one in the rainy jungle, wear raincoat, the other one looks like in the beach or desert maybe, wear sunglass and hat; both are handle Fuji S1 in their hand. But wait, we know that they are in studio, not in real jungle or desert. Nice try.
Joe, wherever a camera come from, is that a crucial aspect to consider too, if we want to buy? Most of Fujifilm P&S and super zoom cameras are made in China (except Fuji X-1, made in Japan); then Canon super zoom cameras are made in Japan, while other camera could be made in Taiwan, Vietnam, or Indonesia. Is that so important?
Thank you Joe .....

2:39 pm - Wednesday, March 12, 2014

#25 Sri

Hi Joe
What about Olympus SP100EE and Nikon P600 (even though Nikon been pretty abysmal when it comes to Super zooms)?
What have we got from Panasonic?

4:32 am - Thursday, March 13, 2014

#26 Joe Prete

Sri,
Those two are definitely top contenders, the Olympus at $399.00 utilizes the same 24-1200mm on the 1/2.3 inch sensor, while the Nikon P600 stretches it to 60X Zoom (24-1440mm) with the same sensor, but at $499.00 U.S.  I just heard from Mark, he added a few of the current contenders in the “Main Rivals” but I assume the that the prices will follow Canon’s and be cut to the $325-$350 range.

To be fair, this year has had many new Cameras released, way more than in recent years. You may not know that Panasonic has released the GH4, a DSLM (Digital Single Lens Mirrorless) Camera that shoots Stills, and 4K Motion Pictures! This is a first, and it’s affordable too. They’ve got the FZ70K 60X Super Zoom camera that’s 20-1200mm on the same 1/2.3 inch sensor, at $279.00 this is an excellent buy!

So without moving from the 1/2.3 inch sensor, we do have a very decent selection. BTW, I really don’t think the SX50 HS needs to be updated, it is a solid contender, and it’s in the $325.00 range now.
While most of you may be looking for more range,  some of us are still looking for a fast lens, the FZ200 is still selling at $389.00
Thanks for fixing the “Main Rivals” Mark, I know you’ve been busy.
… Joe Prete

12:01 am - Saturday, March 15, 2014

#27 Lawrence Reid

Another fantastic blog post

9:23 am - Saturday, March 15, 2014

#28 Peter

I was waiting for this review because I was going to buy a new camera and I was not decided between HS50 or S1. After this review it’s decided - I’m going to HS50. Many thanks!

11:39 am - Monday, March 17, 2014

#29 Nissim ben Avraham

Me and my friend Michael Mackmore (he’s on the Canon SX50 side) we’re discuss to compare those super zoom, Canon SX50 and Fuji S1. After a little debate he decided to buy Canon SX50 for the reason of image quality. As we know Canon SX50 has good noise handling, even at ISO 1600 there’s less grainy compare to all camera in the same class, all of them. About the suck EVF is not a big problem for him, he just use LCD. Well, I think that is best for him. For myself I think it still hard to decide. If I buy Fuji S1 it give extra protection, then I would not always keep it in the bag in whatever weather condition, this is something that I can’t get from other bridge cameras.
Okay, I’ll wait until Michael buy Canon SX50 next week or so, and of course I must test it guys :)

4:21 pm - Monday, March 17, 2014

#30 Sri

@ Nissim
Try and compare the pics of Canon and Fuji side by side.
Then you can decide and maybe I too can decide :)
Saw some good pics on flickr of Nikon P600 but very doubtful when it comes to Nikon Point and shoots.

11:26 am - Tuesday, March 18, 2014

#31 Nissim ben Avraham

@Sri
Yes my friend, I’ve compared both, for image quality in noise handling Canon SX50 is much much better than Fuji S1 also rest of all bridge cameras. At the same ISO setting, 100% crop them all, and Canon SX50 is second to none. Thus Panasonic FZ200, it just a little grainy. In this noise case I think it’s only DSLR or micro four third better than Canon SX50; but of course we don’t compare different type of cameras. So, by this way it’s clear that Canon SX50 still unbeatable.
Nikon? never consider Nikon bridge cameras untill now. Low speed in AF, bad appearing (like a toy) ... nah! It’s not for me. Nikon DSLR cameras are great, on the other hand in this bridge camera range, they have big NO. But, hey! Who knows Nikon will read this and make a better one next day?

9:05 am - Wednesday, March 19, 2014

#32 Sri

Guys
Found this video from Fuji Guys.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=svTWX_gUUK0
Check it out

10:01 am - Saturday, March 22, 2014

#33 CB

HELP!
I have the Fuji S1 - and I’m not so sure about the camera—The focus is SLOOOOW to actually get into focus onto the item that you WANT to photograph. I tried super zoom, in “auto mode” to let the camera figure it out, but it takes 6-7 zooms in and out before it figures out what you are trying to focus onto.
Next up, I tried a Macro shot onto a flower - and only 2 of the 8 pictures came out in focus—
I haven’t gotten a chance to try a burst mode (one of the reasons why I got it for sport shooting shots). But, the camera can’t seem to “think” fast enough.
Now I also sent back a Panasonic Z70 because it lacked the tilt screen, and had somewhat noisy pictures, (I’m short and the tilt screen of my Panasonic Z100, became a huge helper for different shots), so I need a tilt screen.
The Fuji FEELS nice but - that goes out the window if I can’t get it to focus quickly. Should I be sending this package back to the store, and looking at something else? If so, WHAT other camera should I be looking at? I need a super zoom bridge camera for many reasons.
I’m pretty sad about the Fuji—especially after sending back the Panasonic Z70.
Any suggestions?

5:08 pm - Sunday, March 23, 2014

#34 JOE PRETE

CB,
A few questions… You asked for help? Please answer these…
Where are you located? Is mail order your only possibility?
What camera have you used extensively, the FZ100?
Have you followed the guide with the S1,
or were you fast to start shooting with it?
Pull the battery power for about a half hour, while you read the
basic guide (or basic part of the guide)
Your return of the Z70 will not make you look good!
You knew the LCD didn’t tilt before you bought it, right?
I’m just telling you what the store will be thinking.
When you put the battery back in, go out into daylight,
and take one picture at a time. A car, a house, it doesn’t matter
But use the guide, and get to know the camera. Slooowly!
If you send this back, they won’t want to sell you another!
Think about their side of it, they’re losing money, and the Z70
was not defective was it? Did you read Mark’s review?
Did you read my comments? Do you have my email address?
If this step doesn’t help you….
you may want to take this conversation private.
Don’t forget, leave the battery out, for at least 1/2 hour…
While you CAREFULLY read the guide. Don’t bend the pages!
... Joe Prete

8:23 pm - Sunday, March 23, 2014

#35 CB

Thank you for the answer - I must answer first to your response about the Z70,,, it was not working correctly. The pictures were noisy and out of focus - the camera itself, would focus fast - but the pictures (even on a tripod) were blurry. It was my third of the Panasonic DMC - FZ series and I love my FZ100, I just felt that it was time for an upgrade. I’ve always liked my Panasonic cameras, but that one was a disappointment to me. What I meant, about the tilt screen, was that, it was the final nail in the coffin, so to speak, for the Z70, if the pictures themselves were not coming out correctly, there was no point in keeping it.
I love the Fuji camera - but I am worried about it not being able to focus into an object, when needed. Scenes with rapid moving action, are needed for me, and I am worried that if I can’t get a bird sitting on a feeder to focus, what will the reaction be if I’m trying to catch a fast moving object?
I will take your advice tomorrow - as I just got the message. But like I said, I am worried about the ability of this camera to focus. This is the first time that I have tried any camera, and had problems with them. Please do not think that I am the type that tries things out, only to act like Goldilocks, and return everything unless it is just right - I understand consumerism - and I also know that I myself would not want to get a used product - however, at $500, I also want a camera that works as it is supposed to. My comments about the tilt screen were meant for any new possible suggestions for a different model.
A disability keeps me from using a camera that has to have lens changes, this is why I must stay with the bridge cameras.

12:23 am - Monday, March 24, 2014

#36 Joe Prete

CB,
Well leave the battery out overnight, and be sure it’s fully charged when you put it back in. (This resets many electronic components).
There is a Troubleshooting guide at http://www.Fujifilm.com  and there are FAQ’s along with “What can go wrong” and if you still need help, call their toll free tech support. You didn’t answer many questions, but maybe the Dealer is part of the problem! Troubleshooting won’t be easy with poor communication, but if it is defective, you’ll want to know, and the sooner the better. I didn’t care for this model, you’ll see that in my comments, and Mark’s comments about the noise level in low ISO should have been a warning. BUT, it should function as it was designed to. (or at least as good as the SL1000).

The Canon SX50 HS has already proved itself for almost two cycles now. My comments regarding the sensor size were due to the success of the EXR models, You could have bought the 1/2 inch sensor HS50EXR for a hundred dollars less! If you needed more than 1000mm, just use the Digital Zoom, although I doubt that many people would even see the difference between 1000 and 1200mm unless it’s a side by side comparison!

The point of the comments, is to have other opinions, and if you don’t know my name you must be new to the internet. I’m usually the one promoting Fujifilm products, and most of the time, there’s good cause, but not here. If it turns out to be defective, return it, and find another dealer. Next time, read the comments, not just the review. Here, or on any other site, they are here to help you!
… Joe Prete

1:59 am - Monday, March 24, 2014

#37 DESFORM

I am far from being the best photographer in the world…... but the LUMIX FZ 200 (panasonic) is a real good value for money….It has many possibles, that other cameras don"t have, all in a single litle body, that fits well in the hands….and the PHOTO/VIDEO quality (not an expert talking here) is of the best I have seen so far…and I can tell you that I have seen lots of the cameras you mentionned, and more others…..Not one come close to the LUMIX FZ200…it’s LEICA lens, is up to the reputation of LEICA…....

I was waiting for the FINEPIX S1, thought it was a great idea the long zoom and the waterproofing….but seeing videos here and there (not the compagny manufactored ones), compared to the SHARPNESS n CLEARNESS of my LUMIX….has had it sorted in the NO GO cameras…..I’ll wait for a good long zoom bridge that will beat the quality of my LUMIX….untill then I stick to the LUMIX…..it’s simply a brilliant camera over all…so far…..

LICHELM-TUMBLR will get you there to see the pics it takes with only the Intelligent Auto mode on…Just think what it can do, if you like to fiddle the setting knowing what you do…..No better cam so far than this LUMIX…..even the Canon, that have a weak colorimetry according to my eyes sensible standart…..

Thanks for this review….but next time try to take better pictures, (getting out of BRIXTON heheheheeeheeeee)

3:16 pm - Saturday, March 29, 2014

#38 Vivian

How does the Fujim S1 compare with the Nikon P600? In terms of image quality…

9:20 am - Monday, March 31, 2014

#39 Hank

Hey Desform,
You know, it’s not too late to read the DMC-FZ200 Manual, even though it’s technology is a few cycles back now, it is still a very capable camera. You shouldn’t give up on it just based on those images that you’ve taken so far. Yes, your very first sentence is so correct, but about the cost, that is debatable. Even Panasonic’s own technology is far ahead of the now aging FZ200. As far as the S1 goes, just look at the specs of the SL1000 and read the comments above, so you won’t be left in the dark. Good luck with your new endeavor, I’m sure you’ll get better with practice.

10:10 am - Monday, March 31, 2014

#40 P. Gregory

Set the Fuji S1 on SR Auto pictures I’ve taken at that setting are OK. Video is also fine. I can only talk about my experience of this camera which was good at that setting.

2:11 pm - Monday, March 31, 2014

#41 CB

Update - the camera was confirmed to be defective by Crutchfield. The Sensor was not working correctly. At least I didn’t turn out to be a nut job! (of course this is a matter of opinion! LOL)

Well with ALL of the suggestions and ALL of the available options, out there - I decided to take a HUGE leap away from my comfort zone, in a Super Zoom Bridge—and purchased a Sony Alpha 77. The price point was/is more than I planned on spending, but, I do believe that, as far as having options, this camera will give a LOT of those!

I purchased it new w/o a kit for $719.00 shipped. ( I didn’t need all of the weird things that they were adding to the kits). And I can slowly build up lenses as time and budget allows.

Thanks for ALL of your help!

8:09 pm - Monday, March 31, 2014

#42 CB

Sorry that is a Sony A77—I have Alpha on the brain today from reading up on lenses,,,

8:12 pm - Monday, March 31, 2014

#43 CB

*** Sony A77
I must have “alpha” stuck in my head today,,,

8:14 pm - Monday, March 31, 2014

#44 Joe Prete

CB,
I’m glad they took it back, but what made you go for a DSLR from a Super Zoom? The A77 is a good camera, it’s an APS-C, but I think I know how they sold it that cheap! You do know that you’‘ll need a lens right? That is just a body. You could have gotten it with the Battery Grip “Vertical Grip” directly from Sony, or with the Grip and 16GB class 10 card and Shoulder bag from B&H for $798.00 (The Vertical Grip alone is $298.00) and you will spend at least $170.00 on a 50mm lens (or $500.00 for an 18-135mm lens) either way, you’re on the hook for twice the price of the body, just to get started. Sony has MAP pricing, so the deals are on their site as well as authorized dealers like Adorama or B&H. This is quite a turn of events, I can’t understand why you didn’t just ask us first.  Also, Crutchfield? We buy Speakers from them, nice place, but Dell & Sears also sell cameras. I don’t get it dude, we offered you help!
Check Sony’s site, and B&H too, and see what you could have had.
Man, I’m feeling the Buyers Remorse and I don’t even know you.
To reach that 1200mm of the S1 is now a $10,000 obstacle!
… Joe Prete

9:57 pm - Monday, March 31, 2014

#45 Joe Prete

CB,
If there is still time, try to learn about the high cost of lenses and other accessories & what is involved with owning and using a DSLR camera, and why they are the fastest Dying breed. There is quite a bit to know beforehand, it is not something to get pulled into at the last minute by a fast talking salesman! And buy cameras at camera shops. Is that so hard to understand? Even the Manufacturer is a better choice to buy from. They have similar offers as the dealers.

You know, first call Speaker store, then the Credit Card companies, then get yourself a pair of heavy duty scissors, and all your credit cards, … Need I go on?

Outlet Products, Great Deals, Scratch & Dent, “Low Stock”, Open Box
People, Remember…  “Caveat emptor”
… Joe Prete

10:58 pm - Monday, March 31, 2014

#46 Joe Prete

CB,
If you need some help, just say so, or write to my email if you want to. It seems like you’ve jumped out of the frying pan, and into the fire. I’d hate to see you make another mistake. You’ve had two bad experiences, and now you are giving them a third shot? (3 strikes?)
We’re here to help you buddy, not watch you go down swinging.
Nobody’s judging you, we’re just trying to help you. Write back, ok?
… Joe Prete

2:06 pm - Tuesday, April 1, 2014

#47 DESFORM

Hanks….I do not know how to read manuals in anything…to me, I click n it must do the job…if one has to do mechanics before driving a car, it takes of the cherrie on top of the cake hey ? heheheheeeeee

No…I do not want to be a Pro Photograph….just doing decent photos is good enough to me….

Maybe somedays will come a bridge camera better than the FZ200 LUMIX, in the same price range, then I’ll sell my Lumix for this new camera….but at the time being….I did not see any of them that beats it so far…So I’ll stick with it for a little while more…Mind you, may be I do not know of all Bridge Cameras on the market ??? that is a possible….but those I had seen, made me choose the LUMIX FZ200…mostly comparing photo/video quality on Youtube was part of my choice for the Lumix….Cannon, was too weak in colors…Nikon is no good in bridge camera, Olympus seems to have lost the sacred fire, etc… etc ..... Only LUMIX FZ200 appealed to me, and it’s not the FUJI S1 that will be an Ace over it…...

6:00 pm - Tuesday, April 1, 2014

#48 Leandro

im looking for a new bridge camera, im between sony Hx400v or this one…. can anyone help me .. (I never had a camera before)

6:20 pm - Friday, April 11, 2014

#49 Joe Prete

Leandro,
Once in a while Fujifilm creates a blunder, this is one of them!
It’s hard to believe that the S1 and the HX400v are in the same
price range, but the Sony HX400v is the clear winner here.
If money is a concern, there are some excellent cameras for less
money, BUT prices are on the upswing right now. I would suggest that you make a list of your “wants” and “can get by without” items and features, and narrow your selection, then look at prices. Don’t forget that many Camera Shops observe major holidays, between April 14 to April 22, and they will take a few days to catch up after that. You should be aware of this, depending on where you live.
If you have any other questions, don’t hesitate to write back.
… Joe Prete

6:50 pm - Friday, April 11, 2014

#50 Leandro

Joe Prete
thanks for the answer, i live in spain, i dont know if we will have some of those discounts… i was looking something between 300€ and 440€ euros…  i want to start with a bridge camera then maybe in a future try a reflex

thank you very much

8:07 pm - Friday, April 11, 2014

#51 Joe Prete

DESFORM,
I’m not too sure what you’re talking about, but if you currently own a Panasonic DMC-FZ200, it is an excellent camera, and it has the capability to shoot at F2.8 in Manual, and Aperture Priority modes.
It has been out close to two years, but it is still a current production model, and it still sells for about $500.00 While it doesn’t have the Optical Zoom range of the Fujifilm S1, it does have a 25-600mm 24X Zoom lens that can be increased to 48X via Digital Zoom, and it’s quality will still be as good as many of it’s competitors. We don’t normally recommend using digital zoom, but you can with the DMC -FZ200 If you don’t have a manual for it, there is a PDF version at panasonic.com > Support> Consumer>Model>DMC-FZ200 or thru their toll free (US) Phone at 1-800-211-PANA 7 Days a week.
… Joe Prete

8:28 pm - Friday, April 11, 2014

#52 Joe Prete

Leandro,
If you can send me the URL (internet address) for the camera shop or online supplier? I will see what they have to offer in your price range. I did this once before, and I used amazon.com.es Does that sound right? Is it “Electronica cameras digitales”?  Anyone want to help out here, just jump in anytime! Leandro, I’ll give that a try, but are there any you can recommend? Also, were you looking for a “Partially weatherproof” camera?  I looked over the specifications, and this seems like a Fujifilm SL1000 inside of the weatherproof case. The SL1000 wasn’t a bad camera, but it was discontinued at about $315.00 so that’s a steep price for the weatherproofing, and it’s not even a very good weatherproofing anyhow. I think it was the Zoom lens that you were looking for, but please fill me in and we’ll see what’s available in your area. Okay?
… Joe Prete

9:01 pm - Friday, April 11, 2014

#53 Joe Prete

Leandro,
Sorry, the comments are going extremely slow today, but if you not get my last message, I found a Sony HX400v in Spain (I think) at Amazon.com.es > Electronica >Camera digitales for EUR 429,00 but if that is too much, or not the right camera for you, contact me here or at .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address) and we’ll find something closer to what you need. I commented earlier, that this Fujifilm S1 seems to be the discontinued SL1000 in a “Partially weatherproof” case, and if it’s weatherproofing that you need, there are other cameras to look at (Sorry Fuji, I can’t recommend this one!) hey, how about the Fujifilm HS35EXR for EUR 286,22 That I can definitely recommend, and it’s a Solid camera with a 1/2” Sensor and HDR.
Of course, I hope I’m at the right site for you, but this one has worked in the past, so get back to me here or via email and we will be sure about the camera we find for you. Sorry about the lost messages Leandro, I don’t know why that happens If there’s another
store, just send me the URL and we’ll take a look for you…
… Joe Prete

10:02 pm - Friday, April 11, 2014

#54 Leandro

Joe Prete

I cannot be more thankful for your help and time, again my idea is buy a new Bridge camera for me and my girlfriend, I don’t wanna buy something old, I’d in Amazon and I’m looking something with good quality photos and super zoom 50x 2013-2014 Sony seems the best but maybe is too much for a newbie like me what would you recommend me now?

11:24 pm - Friday, April 11, 2014

#55 Joe Prete

Hi Leandro,
They are new, the HS35EXR/HS50EXR are current production, and the Sony is just being released. The EXR’s are Solid, Rubberized cameras, I love them, but they may not be right for small hands. The Sony is lighter, but it’s on the large size as well. I think you should email me because I know Women, and Girls that use them, but they are Photographers, they expect that. If it’s a woman with small hands, these cameras may not feel right to her. I can try to show you with a point of reference, so you’ll have a better understanding, also, this should not be a surprise! The camera should fit like a glove (OJ) I’ve got some stock on hand to photograph and email to you. Once you have the right type, it will be easier to choose. There doesn’t seem to be a lack of cameras. I’ve helped people all over the world, and you’ve got a nice selection there. Search the Larger Camera shops in your area, so you’ll be ready. It seems the messages have come through all at once, and an email address is there for you.
... Joe Prete

12:59 am - Saturday, April 12, 2014

#56 Mark Goldstein

The S1 doesn’t have a distance scale, what you’re referring to is an exposure meter in manual mode.

“There’s a handy distance scale along the bottom of the LCD screen with a white bar indicating the the focusing distance.”

2:32 am - Thursday, April 17, 2014

#57 Alan

I actually have this camera.  I spent hours if not days researching on the web and tried all the bridge models available. I actually bought it because it is best to hold and use. Output wise, I have been printing A3s alongside images from my OMD with its 45 f1.8. In practice, the difference to the eye is negligible. Limitations in my ability and equipment negate the slight improvement in the Olympus kit.

I don’t understand the fuss with hooking up to a phone. I use a 5S. I have had the camera and phone hooked up, taking tagged images for 7 hours plus. No problem. The camera gave up first. (Tip - because this use an in-camera charge you can use a Powermonkey Discovery to charge either the camera or phone if you run short of juice).

I got very caught in the rain last week. The camera survived -very wet but still happy. I would not like to think about the problems I would have had with any other bridge camera.

I bought this camera with my eyes open. In practice, the images are ok. I would use my main kit if image quality was paramount but in practice, images from this are very acceptable. I needed the very long lens and could not afford or find a kit lens for my Olympus.

Try before you make up your mind.

9:55 am - Saturday, April 19, 2014

#58 Sri

Hi Alan
Any pics you can share buddy?
Either on flickr or some other place coz I too like this camera’s specs but not sure what to buy after some negative comments on image quality.
cheers

6:01 am - Tuesday, April 22, 2014

#59 Joe Prete

I’ve gotten caught in the rain with the SX50 HS several times, but I found a quick and easy workaround. I dried it off with a rag! Not too techie, I admit, but it works out fine every time!
… Joe Prete

6:47 am - Tuesday, April 22, 2014

#60 Nissim ben Avraham

@ Alan:
Eeryone can say that their camera produce good images. Some versatile bridge camera -like Canon SX50 and Panasonic FZ200- have proved by time, that we can see the sample images from everywhere.
For this Fuji S1 camera we are lack of sample images source. So far we only got it from review websites. May you show us how good is it? Please share with us.

@ Sri:
Yes my friend, you are right, we need sample images. Every shared image from this camera is apreciated. Perhaps it can blow away any negative view from other comment, maybe.

* FYI only.
After months searching, now I’ve found clear photo of this product that show where Fuji S1 made in ... Fujifilm Finepix S1 cameras are made in Indonesia. At least we’ve found some bridge cameras are made in Indonesia, they are Pentax X-5, Olympus SP820UZ, and this Fuji S1.
Maybe you can buy this camera from Indonesian online camera shop with cheaper price. Pentax X-5 price in Indonesia is significanly cheaper than in UK or in US and HK, even if it plus with shipping cost. Of course buying security must be safely concern first if you want to buy stuff from a third-world country.

7:23 am - Sunday, April 27, 2014

#61 CNH

I have a wish list for bridge camera features that I am having a difficult time finding and thought someone might have a recommendation…. great image quality, high zoom, can add a polarized filter, wifi, and RAW, although I think I could compromise on the RAW.  Any suggestions?

11:14 pm - Monday, May 5, 2014

#62 Joe Prete

CNH,
First, Have you read the other comments, and
Second, How can Raw be a compromise?
… Joe

11:50 pm - Monday, May 5, 2014

#63 CNH

I’ve read all the comments on all the cameras I have been researching.  I’ve spent weeks trying to decide.  I already own a nikon D90 with multiple lenses but I get tired of carrying it around and changing lenses.  I was looking for something in between.  I spend a lot of time in the Caribbean so the polarized lens is a love of mine.  I just can’t seem to find a bridge camera with all the features I want….

1:21 am - Tuesday, May 6, 2014

#64 Joe Prete

CNH,
Okay, I guess you’ve considered an 18-200mm and the similar all purpose zoom lenses, maybe a Super Zoom is for you. The Fujifilm cameras can be fantastic, but this one is an SL1000 inside the shell.
The X-S1 is down to about $350.00, but the technology is old now.
Their HDR cameras are great, the HS50EXR is the top of the line, but if you need something longer, the SX50 HS has proved itself (it’s a bit small for my hands) The new Sony’s and Nikon’s are out. I think that both have worked out all their bugs, but all the reviews will take time.  I can understand, you want a still front element for the Cir. Polarizer, but with or without RAW threw me. Do you want to Post Process? If it’s a possibility, it’s better to get it, just in case. can you list your requirements? That way we can make a full list for you to choose from. Just so you know, the HS50EXR has a 1/2” CMOS II sensor and 24-1000mm lens, it shoots JPEG, RAW or JPEG+RAW so you’ll have the full combination. It shoots Macro, and the ISO range is decent because of the large sensor. It feels a lot like a DSLR, and it is a very comfortable, rugged camera, and it’s only $349.00 now!

I can’t really complain about the cameras that are available now, this is an excellent time to be a Photographer, but it is a matter of you choosing correctly. If you make a list of what you must have, and what you don’t need, we can sort this out. Coming from a D90 I do think you’ll want something substantial, so lets get this right. The more I think of it, the XS-1 is probably too heavy. I should mention a new development, the Samsung WB2200F has a DUAL GRIP, with two Shutter Releases, so if you shoot Portrait Mode, it’s very capable
with it’s 60X Zoom it’s 20-1200mm, a lot like the Panasonic FZ70
But, Samsung has made a statement, their image stabilization will work vertical, & horizontal. The likelihood of camera shake is higher in Portrait mode, and that is a useful position for wildlife as much as for people. If you post your list here, we’ll sort this out. Spending weeks trying to decide is counterproductive, but by listing what you need, and what you don’t need, we can do this in a short while.
You’ve got some help now, okay!
… Joe Prete

2:40 am - Tuesday, May 6, 2014

#65 CNH

Thanks Joe…I’m an amateur photographer; love the images from the D90 but don’t like carrying lenses. I mostly shoot pics of my kids, both action and stills. Lots of beach pics and water pics so I love a polarized filter (not a setting change). I honestly don’t do much post processing as I don’t have time, but I will do a quick auto enhance if needed. I also shoot indoor pics of the kids during school ceremonies (stage lighting).  I really like a great zoom.  The Nikon 520 zoom and image capture seemed very slow compared to the Canon SX50. Want video, wifi, ability to add filter, great images, would love to stay under or around 400$.  Your picks?

2:20 am - Monday, May 12, 2014

#66 Joe Prete

CNH,
I’d like to help you, but I will need some consistency on your part.
Whether it’s once a day, or once a week it doesn’t much matter to me, but I was waiting to hear from you on May 6th, and your reply came on May 12th. It’s not that difficult, or complex a situation, in fact, it is so common that we get the same questions over and over.
I have email addresses posted throughout these Review Comments, of many cameras, if you need it, I will post one again, but even through email, if you try to be consistent, we can try to help you.
… Joe Prete

10:54 pm - Tuesday, May 13, 2014

#67 Joe Prete

CNH,
I’m not sure of the length of Zoom that you seek, but the Panasonic FZ200 is at the lowest price that I can recall. It’s under $450.00 in the US right now. True, the SX50 HS has twice the focal length, the FZ200 is more likely to disappear, causing the used market to sky -rocket. Take this example, the FZ100, and FZ150 are fetching more than their original cost on ebay right now. While they are both fine cameras, they lack the Constant F2.8 Aperture of the FZ200.  While the SX50 HS has excellent Image Stabilization, there is no element equal to a wide Aperture. You mentioned School Ceremonies and the Stage, so I assume that an LX7 would be too short, and to get both fast, and long in Photography is one of the most difficult tasks
… Joe Prete

11:44 pm - Tuesday, May 13, 2014

#68 robero

My mom recently bought this camera for me as a graduation present. I think it is a pretty awesome camera. The first photo I took was a flower and it was on the side of the road and it looked beautiful. We went to the beach before graduation and I took some pictures of my kids inside with standard light(dark outside) with the camera zoomed in. The pictures came out super, I was surprised that a camera could take such great pictures inside. It also does well when zoomed in. I will never look at my photos that closely so I see every imperfection. I have shared a lot of photos on Facebook and everyone thinks they are great photos. I say this is a great camera and the details and colors in my photos are excellent. I am very happy with it. I have had a cyber shot and it absolutely sucked. I had Nikon SLR’s before that and I find this one to be so much easier to use. I did buy a Nikon D3300 before I got this one but took it back because it took so long to take a picture when you are in live view from the screen on the back. I am really not a fan of DSLR’s. I am an amateur that wants amazing photos and the Fuji film s1 gives me that.

6:15 pm - Thursday, May 22, 2014

#69 roberto

I posted earlier as robero but missed it before I posted.

This should be a link to some pictures I have taken with my Fuji s1

https://www.flickr.com/photos/124114250@N08/

6:54 pm - Thursday, May 22, 2014

#70 Sri

@ Roberto
These pics are superb. I always wanted to see some pics taken with this camera before coming to any conclustions and this helps a lot…
Keep firing away and uploading more so that it’d be easy to make the choice…
Those two flowers taken at 130+mm looks simply amazing…
Keep them coming
Cheers

8:44 am - Friday, May 23, 2014

#71 roberto

@Sri Thanks for the compliments. I have uploaded some more pics. I will upload some more soon.

5:15 pm - Friday, May 23, 2014

#72 roberto

I figured I would comment on this camera a little more, after having this camera for 2 weeks I think it is pretty awesome. I am not printing any pictures from it, only using it for Facebook and flickr. So far think it is a pretty awesome camera. I love the android app that you can use to control the zoom, shutter and a couple of other things. Great feature. I also like the wi-fi transfer of pictures to my phone. It works flawlessly, from camera to computer takes a little longer and I would rather just hook up the cable. I think most of my pictures are very detailed and very colorful but sometimes the camera has a hard time recording bright sunlight and darker images so you get a washout of the brightly lit image and clarity on the dimmer image. I have to zoom in to get a better shot. I have only used SRAuto and P with supermacro. If you would like to see some of my pics you can see them here,  https://www.flickr.com/photos/roberto-awesome-pics/
I would be more than happy to post some of my bad pictures also.

6:28 am - Sunday, May 25, 2014

#73 Joe Prete

Roberto,
Your images look pretty good. Are these older images you are now posting? I saw them the other day, 7 or 8 photos, and the numbers were close to 1,400 on the image count, but the new ones are just over 1000. Is that the correct number? Did the camera start on 001? If so, why didn’t you post your first images? The Macro images are very nice! What kind of camera settings are you using?
… Joe Prete

7:20 am - Sunday, May 25, 2014

#74 roberto

Hey Joe these are all new images, I started posting pretty much a week after I got the camera. I have taken about 900 pictures so far. The camera started the count at 1000. For all of my regular shooting I have been using SRAuto and for the macro I have been using P mode with super macro(up to 1 cm close)and macro(5 cm close)no zoom and then some cropping afterwards on some pictures. Thanks for the compliments.

2:22 pm - Sunday, May 25, 2014

#75 roberto

Hey Joe, Thanks for the compliments. I pretty much started posting about a week after I got the camera. These are all new images. I did post one picture that I took the first day I had the camera last night which was of Virginia beach(city) at night to show how the camera takes pictures at 1600 iso with no no tripod. The count started at 1000. For regular shooting I use the SRAuto mode and for the close in shots I used P mode with super macro(up to 1 cm close) and macro(up to 5 cm close) with no zoom and some cropping on some images afterwards.

2:32 pm - Sunday, May 25, 2014

#76 Joe Prete

Roberto,
I saw the internal copy, you are off to a great start. I hope that you continue to progress at this rate!  Good Luck Roberto,
… Joe Prete

2:38 pm - Sunday, May 25, 2014

#77 CNH

Joe, See above conversations with you….I am still trying to find a bridge camera with a bit of guidance from you. I spend much time in Haiti and my internet connection is terrible there, so consistent replies on my part are not always possible. 

I looked at the FZ200, but it lacks the wifi that I want. Any other ones I should look at that fit my needs? Great zoom and image quality, wifi, ? Thanks again

1:42 am - Monday, May 26, 2014

#78 Hamengkubuwono

Roberto,
You’re good photographer. Even with this -not so good- camera, you can take nice photographs. Wonder if you made it with Canon SX50HS or that Panasonic FZ200.

6:59 am - Tuesday, June 3, 2014

#79 roberto

@ Hamengkubuwono Thank you for compliments, do you think my photos would be better with a different camera? I was going to buy the canon SX50HS but the Fuji came out and all the reviews prior to the S1 coming out said they would sell their Canon and buy the Fuji. The last time I went out I did notice some purple lines in a few of my photos. I think it happens when there is a big contrast in light and dark, this was the first time I noticed it to this degree. I think overall it is a decent camera. I got my love for photography back with it. I haven’t taken pictures in about 7 years due to a loss of interest because my last camera wasn’t that good. I haven’t tried the Canon or the Panasonic out and it is really hard to get a good feel for a camera until you take in to the field.

11:24 am - Tuesday, June 3, 2014

#80 Verne

Hi all, I personally have found the Fuji a great “little” camera with so much versatility and options and fun to use, admittedly some shots are not perfect but digital storage these days I just discard the rejects and experiment and still end up with plenty of photos ,  For real Luddites like me I looked at all the cameras around and in spite of my bias toward top brand I still went with the Fuji , the others collectively were very plasticky and had average to poor interface thru viewfinders and just didn’t stack up in spite of the cost of the Fuji, If I wanted a brilliant photo I know the reality is a DSLR or similarly sized capture sensor is required.

5:56 am - Tuesday, September 16, 2014

#81 Joe Prete

Verne,
Fujifim is a Top Brand!
… Joe

6:29 am - Tuesday, September 16, 2014

Entry Tags

hd video, hd, 3 inch LCD, review, 1080p, photos, samples, images, wide-angle, hdmi, test, wi-fi, super-zoom, manual, RAW, fujifilm, cmos, 24mm, 10fps, finepix, waterproof, fuji, dustproof, bridge, 60fps, bsi, sensor, 50x zoom, exr, 1200mm, remote, s1, interval, dust, water, Fujifilm FinePix S1 Review

Tracker Pixel for Entry