Fujifilm FinePix S3200 Review

3.5
September 8, 2011 | Matt Grayson |

Your Comments

28 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 Bee Jay

Image quality is pretty average, even at 200-400 ISO, and the drop off on the higher setting is not so good. But I credit Fuji with giving us a camera that actually has some manual settings. When many other bridge and compact cameras, many in a far higher price bracket, fail to have any.

10:23 am - Wednesday, September 14, 2011

#2 Warren Lyons

Bee Jay, I don’t think the presence of manual features will help this Turkey stay off the carving board.  Anyone caring enough about photography to use manual features will demand better image quality and be willing to pay more for it.  Those buying this model will probably put in in auto and enjoy the high zoom for what it is.  Kind of reminds me of the Fuji s1500 I had recently.  Packed as many manual features as an entry DSLR in a compact package and good build quality as well.  Did everything well except for taking good pictures.  Guess what? I gave it away

6:16 pm - Thursday, September 15, 2011

#3 bent toe

Hi future buyers.
I would just like to add my opinion on this camera as there are not many comments on this specific one.

The S3200 is plain awesome, for entihuasts and beginners it’s a perfect bridegcamera.
I’m no pro and it’s wrong of people who been into photographing and use the best of the best to even leave a comment on here, it’s not justified. I got friends who use Nikon and Canon EOS and D whatever the nemaes are on those cameras.. and they are impressed with my camera, for real.

The zoom, all the features, easy to use and so on.

For me, i fell in love right away, i read every review i could find on this modell, and they all were a bit “meh”, but i still wanted it.. and belive me i’m not dissatisfied.

I take B&W, cool lightpictures with low iso and high shutter from freeways, moving objects etc and get a REALLY good quality (got it on L 14mp and Fine). I’m really proud to own this camera and when the real photagrephers try it and actually like it.. it’s a big plus.

I dident buy it for the zoom though, mainly for a easy to use camera but with the added features of a SLR. But the zoom is incredible and the pictures look really good at 24x zoom. I don’t know about the reviewers on this site and what settings they used, but with a little help from my friends (the pros) we get nothing but VERY good pictures from this camera, it’s all about ISO, shutter speed and aperture.. and ofcourse, a good camerastand.

Buy it.. you wont regret it (unless your a snobb who thinks that anything below a $800 pricetag is shit).

9:38 pm - Monday, October 17, 2011

#4 Srinivasan

Bent Toe so truely said this is an amazing piece of masterpiece it has got many things tht even an dslr or an slr doesnt have its really amazing camera according to me very user friendly
and the flaws mentioned out here in the site r never been noticed by me even on doing what they said idk why but i love this camera

5:41 pm - Sunday, October 30, 2011

#5 james

Does s3200 better than s4000. Please for help.I’m a bit confused.

5:52 pm - Monday, December 26, 2011

#6 Srinivasan

james u can buy S4000 or better buy a nikon P500

6:05 am - Tuesday, December 27, 2011

#7 Pete

I bought this camera just this month after being away from photography for nearly 30 yrs. This is a lovely little camera for its type and i am enjoying using it soo much, and even after all that time all my previous experience was still there in the back of my mind. Please remember this…A camera is a Tool, But it is the person behind the viewfinder that composes the outcome You may have the latest thing in the market costing mega bucks but can you use it [ My first camera was a Cannon A1 and I still have it ]

10:03 pm - Saturday, January 14, 2012

#8 george kar

hi i want to buy this camera is it so good?i want to know because i want a camera like an dslr by i dont want to spend a lot.Is it good for night modes such as night sky and freeways for bluring lights>?please let me know here:http://george-photoworld.blogspot.com/ now i have a litle compact sony cybershot bu i want something more with manual settings and manual shutter speeds thank alot

8:48 pm - Tuesday, January 17, 2012

#9 george karas

hi i want to by this camera is it so good?is it good enough for night modes such as night sky or bluring lights?let me now please

8:50 pm - Tuesday, January 17, 2012

#10 Srinivasan

George Karas the problem with this camera is that over ISO 200 the pictures start to pixilate i would highly recommend you to go for the HX or HS series of Fujifilm they are similarly priced with more amazing quality

3:34 pm - Wednesday, January 18, 2012

#11 fciancio

Hi! I want to buy a “superzoom” camera, without spending so much, and i’m between this one and the Nikon L120. According to the reviews i’ve read, this one has a lot more manual controls, but the image quality is not that good (I saw the pictures, and I noticed the painted on look they have, but i don’t know if they have it always, or just with some sort of combination of the options). Please, can you advise me on this?

7:30 pm - Saturday, January 21, 2012

#12 Josh Clark

Hi,
Im doing photography at school and i need a camera but it dont know which one to get, i dont know weather to get the Nikon Coolpix L120, Fujifilm FinePix S3200 or the Fujifilm FinePix S2950, i need a camera which is good for the night pictures as i do night fishing so want a good photo for my prized catch at night.
Let me know which one to get and contact me through my email .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address)

3:44 pm - Monday, January 23, 2012

#13 AnTony2207

Can this camera shoot time lapse ? I mean can you combine 10 seconds shutter delay with burst mode to take each photography after 10 seconds, if anyone has this camera, please try it, i need the info, i am a time lapse photographer, and i need that info, thanks.

12:52 pm - Tuesday, January 24, 2012

#14 AnTony2207

Can this camera take time lapse photos ? If not, is it possible to combine camera delay - 10 seconds with burst mode for shooting one photo after 10 seconds and so on, i am a time lapse photographer, and i need the info, thanks.

12:54 pm - Tuesday, January 24, 2012

#15 george karas

hi this cam has 8 second time lapse i bought it 4 days ago but i did not have much time to search the cam more

3:10 pm - Tuesday, January 24, 2012

#16 AnTony2207

Thanks George, appreciate it, i want to make a movie with a lots of time lapse photos and this camera seemed like the best one, its not expensive, and it has a great quality… not like a real DSLR but its great…

4:33 pm - Tuesday, January 24, 2012

#17 george karas

because i am so busy this time if you buy this cam can you send some time lapse photos to see them ?i have exams this period and i have not time to find what this cam can do and if you can of course can you tell me when you use it is it good enough for night sky shot with a tripod?

7:16 pm - Tuesday, January 24, 2012

#18 Martin Murray

Just bought one of these for my nephew as he is just getting into photography.  I paid £80 from Asda.  Frankly, looking at the spec and having used its little borther, the S1500 for the past 2-years, I think its a belting little camara for a beginner.

9:01 pm - Monday, April 16, 2012

#19 pat

I loved mine until the LCD screen wouldn’t come on any more and it’s only a few months old. I pushed the evf button and still no LCD screen. I just hope this part is covered in the warranty.

12:02 am - Thursday, May 17, 2012

#20 Marian

I have a S3200 camera bought together with a 4Gb Transcend class 2 card. Going for HD 1280 movie recording it shows 9m41s available. I bought 2 8Gb 10 class cards:SDHC-Serioux and micro SDHC-Kingmax. When I go for the same HD 1280 movie recording it shows the same 9m41s available. What can I do?

12:18 pm - Monday, June 18, 2012

#21 Amy

Hi there, I need some advice. If you had to choose between the Fuji S3200, S1800 or the S1500 which would you pick? I need to take photos of small gold nuggets, and I’m confused! Cheers.

9:28 am - Saturday, June 30, 2012

#22 george karas

take the s3200 is better and the price difference is small and also take a filter tube to be able to put macro filter for better results .I already have the s3200 and i love it for my level in photographhy

9:56 pm - Saturday, June 30, 2012

#23 maisoon

hello guys i have a question

well, there is an offer in a market near by for s3200 and its 120$
and at the same market they have another offer for s4300 and s4000 and its 135$

what shall i get??

4:54 am - Friday, August 24, 2012

#24 Manos

Hi,
does it has date stamp?

5:04 am - Sunday, October 7, 2012

#25 pat

I had this camera less than a month when the lcd screen went out. Then the usb cord prongs bent and wouldn’t go in camera. Always had trouble with this. They said it was not covered by warranty. So I bought a 4500 from them at a very good price. Love it. Takes great pictures. You won’t be disapointed with 4300 or 4500.

5:20 pm - Sunday, October 7, 2012

#26 Roberto Badini Italy

i have finepix s3200 but the photos are beautiful with sun only. In the night the photos are ugly….

4:00 pm - Monday, January 7, 2013

#27 Heather

I’m looking for a camera to take pictures of my kids during their basketball season.  The camera I have now can’t do it because it’s “low light” so it all just ends up a blurry mess (same for their school programs).  When I look through the samples of photos there is no motion shots so I’m curious as to how it does with them? also, if someone can tell me about the continuous mode? I love to get the kids actually playing :)

9:30 pm - Wednesday, January 16, 2013

#28 jjfdlshfl

like what, the other comments say, it’s a good camera if you’re starting off and the manual setting is a plus if you’re looking into getting deeper into photography. Otherwise the “SP Auto” is what you’re going to be using (0% of the time. The video doesnt re-focus after you hit record and there is a high-pitched mosquito ring that’s prominent in the audio, unless there is other noise covering it up.zxf

1:34 pm - Monday, June 10, 2013

Entry Tags

hd video, hd, 3 inch LCD, 720p, hdmi, super-zoom, 14 megapixel, fujifilm, super zoom, finepix, 24x, finepix s3200, s3200, Fujifilm FinePix S3200 Review, fujifilm s3200

Tracker Pixel for Entry