Fujifilm FinePix S4000 Review

June 6, 2011 | Matt Grayson | |

Your Comments

177 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 Seb

Thanks for the review. I have been long waiting for that :)

6:12 pm - Monday, June 6, 2011

#2 Jesper Hansen

What no RAW ???

6:35 pm - Monday, June 6, 2011

#3 fakuryu

wow… IQ was bad.

7:07 pm - Monday, June 6, 2011

#4 WantNewBridgeCam

Those sample images are absolutely horrendous! A score of 3 for image quality is very generous.
Thank you for the review.

2:23 am - Tuesday, June 7, 2011

#5 m husken

Thanks for your review!
I’m still looking for a good replacement
for the S602Z, but can’t find a Fuji
model that satisfies. Too bad, love the
Fuji colors and brightness hope they come
up with something

8:55 am - Tuesday, June 7, 2011

#6 mihalis

i am sorry fuji, but this is worse than mobile phone quality pics….6mb files just to see a painted image with absolutely no detail? My old fz18 is way better than that

9:46 am - Tuesday, June 7, 2011

#7 Bee Jay

Image quality looks poor at anything but low ISO, with the 1600ISO showing large amounts of colour distortion, even at screen size. If anyone wants a 30X zoom Fuji bridge camera, why not go for the HS10? It may have been around a while but as it has a 10MP CMOS censor it handles lower light better, it also has Full HD & a RAW shooting option.

10:23 am - Tuesday, June 7, 2011

#8 zebarnabe

Fujifilm S series were known for the superb image quality for their class… not anymore >_>

Sadly this seems to be a trend among the manufacturers ... all are able to take shots that are printable on a small size, but exactly up to the specs shown :/

Travel Zooms (or super zoom compacts) seem to be much more attractive these days, better image quality and with 12~15x zoom ranges, much more sane as well… not to mention light and small…

3:48 pm - Tuesday, June 7, 2011

#9 Lynx

This is why I bought the HS10 finally. I didn’t find anything better without upscaling to a dslr or csc/evil camera.

The HS10 has decent image quality, maybe the best in the superzoom range.

The next time I change camera if Fuji doesn’t do any better I will go DSLR.

10:36 am - Wednesday, June 8, 2011

#10 clif

I went to Costo and bought this camera with high expectations and it was a real letdown. Every picture I took was kind of washed out looking and blurry on the left 30% of the picture. I took it back and they gave me another that produced the same results. I called Fuji to find out if there was going to be a firmware upgrade available to address these problems and they told me that they are aware of it’s problems and I would have to mail the camera to them to fix it. I went to another store and bought an S3300, low and behold it was just as bad. Fuji has a serious problem with these two new cameras so buyer’s beware, without their fix at the factory these cameras are next to unuseable. I told the Rep on the phone that I wish they would get smart and build these cameras in Japan, not China since there has to be a serious quality control problem where their putting these together. Maybe later on they will address the problem but for now I would steer clear of these new models.

6:59 pm - Wednesday, June 8, 2011

#11 Warren Lyons

After seeing the sample images of this model, it seems that Fuji has really shot itself in the foot, considering that this company is best known for “bridge” cameras, rather than low end compacts or high end DSLRs.  I do hesitate to blame it on being made in China.  For the most part, production of cameras in this price range is fully automated; the overall performance and image quality will depend on the cameras’ design and the quality of the materials used in its manufacture, rather than the country of origin.  For whatever its worth, expect more outsourcing of camera manufacturing to China since the Tsunami, and for this outsourcing to extend even higher up the photographic food chain.  In my opinion, this camera’s poor showing is simply to result of cutting design corners elsewhere to provide that much zoom at such a low price point.  My advice to anyone wanted an extended zoom is to spend $50 to $100 more for something better, and if there budged is stuck at that point, look for an older discontinued model or get any number of compact or travel zoom models which would give far better image quality

6:19 pm - Thursday, June 9, 2011

#12 Lee

I brought this camera last week online, 4 days before reading this review! I couldn’t find any reviews at the time so I just went for it as the reviews on amazon were very good! Purchased it to replace my Canon Ixus 700. As your review states whem zoomed the images look quite soft, I would have to be honest and say I was a little dissapointed with is, I thought it may have been the settings I had it on (never used a camera like this before) but when I seen this review I knew it wasn’t me, however for the price and features I am happy enough to stick with it, for me it doesn’t warrant returning as I am sure other cameras at the price have issues of some sort, hopefully they will release an updated firmware to sort this, though not sure if the issue is hardware related? I have uploaded some pictures, not sure if I can post them here?!

Hope this is OK

http://www.flickr.com/photos/63941886@N03/

9:12 pm - Saturday, June 11, 2011

#13 Kevin

Looks so promising on paper, but the images do look kind of artificial, almost painterly as you noted.  My “old” Olympus SP-565 10 megapixel 20X zoom takes MUCH better photos.  Glad it still works like a charm.

5:46 pm - Sunday, June 12, 2011

#14 Nick

WOW! Do you actually get paid to do these reviews because if it so you should consider yourself lucky as this review purely stinks man.
You talk about the image quality being sharp and detailed but exactly which one of your pictures is sharp and shows details? You don’t talk enough about the IS/VR capabilities of this camera and show it’s effectiveness or lack thereof. Your sample images look like they were taken by a 5th grader and my apologies to all the 5th graders out there.
If you are getting paid then plese do a better job and if you are doing this for free then let someone more enthusiastic take over for you.

5:55 pm - Tuesday, June 14, 2011

#15 Jonathon

Why were all of these photos taken on such a low ISO?  Its like someone was trying to take a bad picture on purpose.

2:39 am - Wednesday, June 15, 2011

#16 Girard

I have a Lumix FZ7, 6 years old. The 14,7 zoom magnifies almost as much as the 30 of Fuji. Despite of PC afterworking, no possibility to match the Panasonic raw results…I consider the S4000 as a gadget, a little to expensive…

4:27 am - Saturday, June 18, 2011

#17 Willie

No wonder the quality of sample images are poor, the settings most have been taken at are rediculous.
Agree with Jonathon in comment #15, were you deliberately trying to take bad photos!

11:43 pm - Thursday, June 30, 2011

#18 ollie

The “painted” effect is very noticeable on lawns and tree leaves from a distant when you zoom up after the picture is taken.  Maybe it relates to how the image is processed. A firmware upgrade my fix the problem but unlikely since this is a lower priced camera.

5:56 pm - Monday, July 4, 2011

#19 Jam

I agree,the sample images are pretty horrible, I have the same camera and although the camera is not perfect I can show you far better images taken by than your samples, as with all cameras you have to tweek and learn the cameras weak and strong points.

6:20 pm - Wednesday, July 27, 2011

#20 Frankie

Great, having just ordered this camera, and having done much research according to budget, I feel quite sick.  I have spend ages making a decision on this and only just come across this websites reviews.  Hopefully may be in time to cancel the delivery.

12:05 pm - Thursday, July 28, 2011

#21 Jam

Just keep in mind that it is still the photographer and not the camera which determines results,as I had a panasonic 10x zoom and I was dissapointed with it, I feel the secret is to use the cameras strengths and don’t expect it to do everything for you without any effort. I knew someone who could produce great results from almost any camera.PS I have taken some great shots from the fuji S4000 and am still using it,the 30X zoom is a great asset.

5:32 pm - Thursday, July 28, 2011

#22 Paul

I got the camera and it does take some getting used too. But you have to look at the manual and settings, and play around with it. I took it on a trip to the pacific north west and took some of the best pictures I have ever taken in my life. Took macros that are awesome. It is not an instamatic camera. There are settings involved too. Some of the pics I took remind me of the Ansel Adams type. I have read alot of gripes overall and also by HSN users about the model but have yet to experience any of the issues. I took 48GB worth of digital and maybe 2 of this were video. I am gonna get a tripod for it, used a monopod which really helps for clarity, but have no qualms about using it.

2:52 am - Friday, July 29, 2011

#23 Synde

Glad to have read this first. This camera is being sold on HSN as we speak but prior to purchasing, I wanted to check out th reviews. Thanks to the masses, I am NOT purchasing this camera.

5:53 pm - Saturday, July 30, 2011

#24 John

I just got the camera today!  I’m a creature of habit and I usually investigate toys after I buy them.  This S4000 Fuji is exactly what I bought it for.  30X and High definition video features that I do not have to worry about if I leave it in my truck. I also have a Canon T1i, and assorted lenses that cost on the average of $600 plus each.  I don’t want to bother with all the lenses unless I’m in the “mood” for them.

I’m sure this “piece of @#%” is far better than anything coming out 10 years ago!  I’m not a pro and nor do I care to be.  I want a grab and go camera so I don’t have to carry a full backpack full of toys to include my carbon fiber tripod!  That cost over 500 dollars also.

So I’m going to have fun with it!

J

5:18 am - Sunday, July 31, 2011

#25 nathan

i love this thing, its like a part of me, i no how to use it unlike u guys on here, it takes the best photo that a 200 dollar camera can take, maybe better, i sell my prints in galleries so it must be working

3:52 am - Saturday, August 6, 2011

#26 Robin

Of course it must be working. But nathan should mention that it’s actually photography, not painting ... :D

Well, I’m a little surprised: even photographyblog noticed the pics to be not that good. Congratulations to that! And congratulation for giving an over-average (>2.5) rating as well. Afraid of not getting new cameras any more? *loL*

11:47 am - Sunday, August 7, 2011

#27 Andrew

Just got one Aug 22 2011 at Costco b4 reading this.  Opened the box, inserted batteries, shot 10 pics.  I’m keeping it! Can’t wait to read the manual. For $200 this thing is amazing.  At full 30x zoom (think binoculars or telescope power!) the shake reduction works great and pulls the photo off.  Yes, the colors are not like a $600 camera, but for my all-carry-on trip to China, this is perfect! I really want the wide angle it offers and the zoom. EZ controls. No image problems found.  Very happy with $$ to spare.

9:19 pm - Tuesday, August 23, 2011

#28 Jam

I use the shutter priority setting a lot but I’ve found the SR auto mode is also very good in most situations.

6:58 am - Wednesday, August 24, 2011

#29 Jam

Some of my sample pics most of them taken with the S4000.
http://www.myfinepix.co.uk/gallery/768

7:01 am - Wednesday, August 24, 2011

#30 salvador

I’m not surprised at the seemingly poor image quality. 14mp on such a small sensor is expecting too much. The in-camera processing to disguise this has only seemed to make things worse.

How much better it would have been to have used only 10mp, as on the HS10.

2:39 am - Saturday, August 27, 2011

#31 K. Pace

The lens and controls of this camera are quite good and very user friendly.

The image quality is another story. Like described on this review the photos are a bit strange in certain conditions. Especially when there is a tree in the frame they have a weird painted effect sometimes. I haven’t experimented much with its settings yet, and I doubt it has an option to switch off its Noise Reduction setting. An experienced friend of mine told me to look for that setting because most probably that is making the photos look the way they look. With other brands this setting can be switched off, apparently with the S4000 it can’t.

Otherwise the 30x zoom is good, although in most case either a very steady hand or tripod is needed. But that’s with every brand.

CONCLUSION: I have not tried it much yet so I can not really say. I had a Finepix S5700 with 10x opt zoom and every picture I took was spot on, even on Auto. So I know how to use a camera properly. I think that considering that this camera is cheaper then its 30x rivals, have a look at other brands. Spending a 100 to 150 € $ or whatever can make you more satisfied especially considering we keep our cameras for a couple of years.

5:46 am - Wednesday, August 31, 2011

#32 Fred

I have no idea why Fuji even bothered releasing the s4000 and s33oo cameras since none of them are capable of producing a half-decent photo.
These shots look like they’ve been processed using one of those cartoon-ising software packages. They just do not look real or life-like at all, in fact they are a joke, but Fuji will have to act quickly if they are to stay in the business of photography. This is just not what we have come to expect from a company like Fuji.

6:27 pm - Friday, September 2, 2011

#33 morfeus333

Hey, try this! ...
Set the camera to fine quality and in the definition section to select the lowest.
wala! paint effect on the images reduced by 90%

for me is a very good camera for the money to pay

and those who made this review, I recommend taking photography lessons, samples are terrible photo quality! not show the true potential of this camera.

I apologize for my bad English.

3:41 pm - Wednesday, September 7, 2011

#34 zebarnabe

morfeus333,

While the camera is not the best of the segment, if you can indeed reduce sharpness/NR strength (definition?) pictures might be more tolerable (it depends on the noise you end up with though).

Yes, for the price I really doubt any other camera can deliver the 30x zoom while still being useable.

This is a bridge camera on a budget, ideal for recording those family moments and making small prints, in the end is the photographer that makes the shot, not the camera.

However if one doesn’t need all that zoom, nor video features, a Canon A800 might be better :P

9:37 am - Thursday, September 8, 2011

#35 hegy

Agreed,

it’s just a family-type camera. Pictures are really low-quality even it’s my first ultrazoom i can compare to 70$ compact and unzoomed photos are really similiar. And it has really big problem with autofocusing sometimes. Also It’s pretty slow. The main pro is price around 250$ (bought for 208€ in central europe).
For example Nikon Coolpix P100 (approx. 350$) is much faster and image quality is (imho) 30% better.

8:01 pm - Sunday, September 18, 2011

#36 alexander

hello
i have his camera it doing very bad pictures, i wayt for a firmware maibe will help

1:46 pm - Wednesday, September 21, 2011

#37 Mikhail Kandel

DON’T BUY THIS.
THE IMAGE QUALITY IS UNUSABLE.
Everything looks like a poor quality painting.

3:11 am - Saturday, September 24, 2011

#38 Christy

I wish I had found your blog BEFORE I went out and bought this horrendous camera.  With three children running around I have yet to actually capture any moment with any degree of success.  It took really nice pictures of some rocks outside, but if anything actually moves…forget it.  The only two features I like are the panoramic thing with the cross and the three in one pictures that progressively zoom in.  Horrible, camera and it is going back!

3:41 am - Saturday, September 24, 2011

#39 Paul

After reading a lot of the comments look like some don’t have a clue how to use the camera or about photography. People are expecting for the camera to do it all and have instant gratification. Read the manual, take a photography class, and use the setting in the camera itself. When taking macros you will have a blur in the background because it not focusing on the foreground. I have taken great pictures with this camera, some of my best work and in process of putting a portfolio together for a show. Yeah it $200, so what it does what its supposed to do if you have a clue.

10:52 am - Saturday, September 24, 2011

#40 Kevin

Hi Paul,

Either your camera has not got the defect that is mentioned by this review and many others, or you have not came across the problem yet.

I have noticed that the worst cartoon effect comes when there is black on white on the image. Lets say a pair of black glasses on a pale face. In fact I took a photo of a friend with what I mentioned and I was almost too embarrassed to email it to him. The glasses looked like I pasted them from another photo unprofessionally !!!

Before this camera I had a Fuji S5700. Its exactly like the S4000 we are talking about, but with a 10x zoom only. I never ever had picture quality issues with it. Its certainly not me who does not know how to use a camera.. because otherwise I would have had the same problem with the S5700. But the S4000 has a good 30x zoom, but very poor picture quality in certain conditions.

5:33 am - Monday, September 26, 2011

#41 Rosie Stout

I am having problems with my FujiFilm Finepix S4000 and its Mode Dial. Every time I turn the dial it delays in registering with the LED with the camera, or on the LED screen it switches on its own. Sometimes it does not register at all. Can anyone help?
Thanks

1:51 am - Tuesday, September 27, 2011

#42 SeismicGuy

I bought the camera in August before going on a vacation to Canada.  I was not really looking for another camera since I have been very pleased with my Fuji S9000.  However, the S4000 was $199 at Costco and came with a case and the 4GB memory card.  I also like the fact that it had 24mm at the low end of the zoom.  Just before going on vacation I read this and other forums about the left-side-of-image problem but decided to take a chance anyway.

Sure enough, while my photos overall look pretty decent, there is a slight blurriness along the left 20% or more of every image.  The average person would not notice this if you were not looking for it but, since I know it is there it is glaring to me. 

I have contacted Fuji to see if they have some fix or replacement and sent them some sample images.

Doug

6:32 pm - Saturday, October 1, 2011

#43 Mitch McKenzie

Thanks for the review!

I wonder if Fuji realise that their 3mp Fuji 602 zoom from 2002-2003 takes much better photos than this.

I don’t know if I am allowed to mention another review site so I won’t, but this other site has sample photos from the S602 Zoom that just blow these current Fuji models away.

9:57 am - Tuesday, October 18, 2011

#44 Rex

I just ordered this camera and am looking forward to using it. I had the S1500 and I expect this camera to take the same quality photos…which to me seemed very good. I agree with the one statement about people needing to take the time to learn how to use their camera, you can’t expect to give a fair and honest assessment after only using it for a few days…I don’t care who you are.

10:48 am - Monday, October 31, 2011

#45 SeismicGuy

I did continue to use the camera to try and see if there were certain conditions under which the blurriness along the left of the image would show up.  I have determined it is pretty much always there and contacted Fuji (and emailed them some images). The asked me to send the camera to them for repair/adjustment.  I have done so and will report on what they decide to do.

Doug

11:50 pm - Friday, November 4, 2011

#46 Tom

I am considerng getting this camera for christmas because I feel like I need a little more than a point and shoot in my life and the DSLR is abit too overkill outside of a studio. I’m not sure whether to let the negative reviews put me off. Many people are saying theres a fault on the left 20/30% of the produced picture of which I am yet to see an example of on my quest for truth. The only painted effect pictured I have seen are on the photos on this review in which I’m sure the photographer the camera drew like a six shooter to take! Only the sadly rare, but positive reviews have offered photo evidence of there finindgs which are a frankly pleasant photograph.

Many people are tryng to compare this model with the performance of a point and shoot or a DSLR, of which it is neither? I agree with other people who consider that its the person who takes the photo,not the camera- with consideration of natural lighting and surroundings before the hardware settings.

I have heard personal anecdotes of people struggling with taking photo’s of moving objects due to poor exposure and shutter speed, then seing marvellous arishow photography of ‘very fast’ moving planes in over cast conditions.

I think I’ll go ahead, although I hope I dont eat my words…...

3:14 pm - Saturday, November 12, 2011

#47 Algabbani

I bought this camera 1 month ago, i hate it for the first time cause I always use (the Auto Mode). when I talked to a professional photographer, he told me that I have to learn how to use it properly and urged me to read the manual. Now, I liked my s4000 much better more than before cause I use the(M) mode and how to use the shutter speed and apreture and the ISO.

By the way, i dont think these pectures were taken by a professional photographer.

8:56 pm - Sunday, November 13, 2011

#48 SeismicGuy

For those that think unhappy folks are just exaggerating, here is a sample (notice left portion of photo).  I have many more like this.

http://i463.photobucket.com/albums/qq357/SeismicGuy/DSCF0395.jpg

4:31 am - Monday, November 14, 2011

#49 SeismicGuy

Here is a sample of what I am talking about (image sharp except for left portion0:

http://i463.photobucket.com/albums/qq357/SeismicGuy/DSCF0395.jpg

4:54 am - Monday, November 14, 2011

#50 Fred

Well, seismicguy’s photo says a lot I’d say. This shows possibly a faulty lens or an unevenly charged sensor imho. Not even an experienced pro will find a ‘fix’ for a shot like that. For those who have bought or are about to buy, you are looking for a bargain and most will shrug off it’s shortcomings coz of the low pricetag. Personally, I’d rather pay a wee but more than take an inferior camera out with me into the field. There are better deals out there, so best get looking. Don’t forget second-hand models on ebay, the ones folks sell when they’ve bought the more up to date model! :) For this amount of cash, you could do well on ebay buying a previous model, and it might just be a whole lot better too! For myself, I am looking at the opposition now as there really are a lot of nice cameras around at the moment. No need to live with uncertainty, or worry about a camera that just might be your worst nightmare.

Anyone else got photographic evidence? Put ‘em up!

12:33 pm - Monday, November 14, 2011

#51 Fred

Hey Louise….‘pictures say more than a 1,000 words, so get ‘em up!

12:35 pm - Monday, November 14, 2011

#52 Fred

Upload your photos here, FOR FREE!

http://tinypic.com/

Then post a link here. :)

Then we ‘can’ talk!

12:38 pm - Monday, November 14, 2011

#53 SeismicGuy

Fred—obviously you can see what I am talking about.  I have been a fan of Fuji cameras since you get pretty good bang-for-the-buck.  However, that does come at a price which, for one thing, is less quality control than say Canon or Nikon.  For example, the very first serious digital camera I bought was a Fuji S7000.  It had great features for the price and blew away the competition at the time.  However, I noticed greyish blobs on the images of the first S7000 I bought (in retrospect it was probably dust on the sensor).  The camera shop where I bought it sent it back to Fuji and when I got the camera back, the same blobs were there.  So we sent back again and they finally sent another camera—this one being fine.  However, after a few years the flash stopped working (probably the ribbon cable needed replacing) but repairing the camera would have not been worth it.  So I replaced that with an S1000FD which has been a worthy replacement expect for the cheap tabs on the battery compartment that break easily (had that camera replaced twice for that problem).  I also have an S9000 which has been the best of the bunch—NO problems and great images.

I think if Fuji can satisfactorily solve the image problem with my S4000 (apparently this problem is not isolated to just my camera) then they have a pretty good product for the price.  I am waiting to see what they send me as a fix/replacement.

Doug

5:18 pm - Monday, November 14, 2011

#54 SeismicGuy

I am trying to post another comment but the system keeps telling me my post might be a spam and needs to be moderated—what the heck does that mean?

Doug

4:31 am - Tuesday, November 15, 2011

#55 SeismicGuy

My impression is that you get pretty good bang-for-the-buck value with Fuji cameras but perhaps not the same type of quality control you get from a Canon or Nikon.

My first decent digital camera was a Fuji S7000 that was a great bargain at the time compared to others.  It was one of the first so-called “prosumer” models and had great features.  However, the first one I bought had flaws that resulted in greyish blobs showing up on images (most noticeable when shooting a blue sky).  The camera store sent it in to Fuji for repair and it came back the same way.  So they sent it a second time an I received a new camera which was fine.  However after a few years the flash stopped working (probably a bad ribbon cable) and it would not be worth fixing so I bought an S1000FD.

The S1000FD is nicely sized and has great features but the lousy battery compartment cover tabs keep breaking (had the camera replaced twice now.

The most perfect Fuji is my S9000 which has been flawless with great images.  The S4000 would be a good camera if they can correct the obvious image defect—we’ll see as it is currently still with Fuji for evaluation.

4:40 am - Tuesday, November 15, 2011

#56 Mohamed

Hello , I bought this cam yesterday,, when I take pics the size is not 6 mb it is always 850 : 950 kb so it effects on the pics quality . plz if anyone can tell me how to use best options send me on .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address)

7:12 pm - Tuesday, November 15, 2011

#57 SeismicGuy

Sorry about any of my double posts. I do not get a confirmation about the first post being posted but a day later it shows up.  In the meantime I post again, hence there are suddenly 2.


Doug

10:57 pm - Tuesday, November 15, 2011

#58 Mark

I got an absurdly great deal on this camera (work at the shop) and paid $120.  I used it last weekend to take wedding pictures…didn’t use the flash….

I’ve been much better than your average user for sometime and still have several 35mm cameras in use….this one worked just fine and the pics were much appreciated by the happy couple…sorry, I don’t agree with the review and agree that your settings are a bit off….
Pic quality is between 4 and 5.

Thanks
Mark

4:20 am - Monday, November 21, 2011

#59 SeismicGuy

Mark,

It appears that you had better luck with your buy than some of us. I also have been taking photos for umpteen years going back to 35mm slr (which I still own) and never have had a camera where the results are so obviously flawed as the photo I posted.  I took several hundred photos during the first few weeks of ownership and the problem (blurriness along the left side of the image) is noticeable to a greater or lesser extent in virtually ALL of the images I shot.  It is obvious from googling that this problem is common to at least a number of these cameras.

Doug

6:51 am - Monday, November 21, 2011

#60 ivan

I had to return by the poor quality of the image of the photo and video camera is very bad

2:27 am - Thursday, December 15, 2011

#61 ivan

I had to return the camera for the poor quality (very dark) photo and video,cost me 212.97 euros
 

thank you so much

2:37 am - Thursday, December 15, 2011

#62 Fred

Louise - That’s a great photo you took, and I can find nothing negative to say about it whatsoever, but you ‘are’ a professional, yes? Everything about that photo smacks of professionalism, right down to the posing, positioning and attitude of the subject. The flash worked well for you I must say! Obviously you’re very happy with the camera, and your’s doesn’t seem to be exhibiting the same problems as many of the others. Now I have to wonder about Fuji’s consistency of reliability on this particualr model.

4:07 pm - Thursday, December 15, 2011

#63 SeismicGuy

The camera has been with Fuji repair for the last month, but I will finally be getting it back today.  I will try and play around with it this weekend to see if they resolved the blurriness problem and report back.

Doug

5:11 pm - Thursday, December 15, 2011

#64 Fred

Doug - Looking forward to reading your report.

8:02 pm - Thursday, December 15, 2011

#65 Fred

Louise - There are many places where you can post your photos. Try these…

http://www.pbase.com - Free trial account.

http://www.flickr.com - First 200 pics are free.

I’d recommend PBase though as it’s fast and reliable. You get to read comments by other photographers and also comment on their work. I find the site invaluable and I learn loads about taking photos from simply studying the composition and reading the exif so I know exactly what model and which setting were used.

Flickr is free for the first 200 shots, but it can be a touch lethargic at times.

Hope to see you post a link soon to the photos you’ve described here.

8:10 pm - Thursday, December 15, 2011

#66 clif

After my bad experience with the 4000 I bought the fuji 3280. This camera is much better, not as big a zoom lens but sharper pictures and the lens is and big enough 24x. The cameras look almost the same just a different lens I suppose. Maybe that’s the problem with the 4000, the lens.

8:33 pm - Thursday, December 15, 2011

#67 Fred

Louise - Nice shot! The bras’ a bit naughty, but yes, I like it! :) Is this a pic of you? I do hope so!

10:10 pm - Thursday, December 15, 2011

#68 Fred

Having probs posting more than a sentence here, so anyone wishing to contact me please feel free to do so.

.(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address)

10:18 pm - Thursday, December 15, 2011

#69 Fred

My email : .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address)

10:42 pm - Thursday, December 15, 2011

#70 SeismicGuy

Well—I got the camera back and, as far as I can tell, the Fuji repair folks did NOTHING for the month they had it.

http://i463.photobucket.com/albums/qq357/SeismicGuy/DSCF0408.jpg

http://i463.photobucket.com/albums/qq357/SeismicGuy/DSCF0450.jpg

The first image is prior to sending it to them and the second I just took.  SAME BLURRINESS at left side particular towards the lower portion of the image.

FUJI will be hearing from me on Monday—want it fixed right or a new camera without defects!!!

Doug

11:11 pm - Saturday, December 17, 2011

#71 SeismicGuy

I tried posting but hasn’t shown up yet.  Got the camera back from FUJI and there was NO improvement.  Frankly, I don’t think they actually did anything.

Doug

11:39 pm - Saturday, December 17, 2011

#72 Fred

Doug - Those photos are really badly blurred in the corners. It could be the lens causing this or the sensor itself. I think Fuji have shown little concern here and should have sorted the problem out for you. Maybe you should put a vid on youtube describing the problem then make them aware of it, that might make them listen a bit more. Hope you get some joy out of them eventually, it’s hardly fair on you.

1:22 am - Sunday, December 18, 2011

#73 SeismicGuy

I have had similar spotty Fuji repair service with the first serious camera I bought from them (S7000).  I will ask them to either fix it right or offer a replacement that is right.  I would love to get a proven decent model like HS20 (even a refurb) but will see what they offer to do.  Worst scenario is that I could return it to Costco (they have a great return policy).  I am on the phone with Fuji now so will update as I get info.

Doug

7:26 pm - Monday, December 19, 2011

#74 Jamie Gainyard

I’ve bought this camera a few months ago to finally upgrade from a Minolta Dimage 304 that is at least 13 years old & still works to this day. Consider myself above average amateur photographer & learned allot over the years, how to use manual settings on a camera as well as how to position shots, etc, etc. That being said I would recommend this camera for anyone. A professional would know how to utilize the camera to it’s best ability & on the other end of the spectrum I think someone who has no experience at all can take good to excellent pictures (Not superb or outstanding for magazine ops etc,.) with most of the settings on the unit right out the box. In short most things depend on the user. For the price & with a little research anyone can take great pictures with this unit.

11:48 pm - Friday, December 23, 2011

#75 Sjoukje

I just got this camera, and I am very satisfied with it. I only have the problem, the camera sometimes saves the pictures as 900kB instead of +/- 6MB. Can somebody please help me with that?
This is my site, and all the photographs on there are taken with the FinePix S4000.
http://sarcasticalism.tumblr.com/
Thanks.

12:31 am - Monday, December 26, 2011

#76 Lebron

I really don’t know what to do. I thought that Fujifilm Finepix s4000 is my camera, but now I’m not so sure. This camera is all I need - big zoom, manual options, HD video. Do you think I should better buy Nikon L120 which is with smaller zoom and no manual. What to do ? Some of you said that fuji is an excellent camera other said that it’s a rubbish. Please HELP me to decide ?

4:52 pm - Monday, December 26, 2011

#77 Lebron

Also Fujifilm has a viewfinder. And check this pictures http://www.myfinepix.co.uk/gallery/search?page=6&keys=s4000&op;=

4:55 pm - Monday, December 26, 2011

#78 Roney

Please check this one:http://www.flickr.com/photos/katell_photography/6537717055/ .Which camera is better Nikon L120 ot Fujifilm S4000. Fuji has a viewfinder and manual, also better zoom.Please help.

5:02 pm - Monday, December 26, 2011

#79 Roney

Sorry LEBRON I didn’t saw your post. We are in the same situations. :P

5:18 pm - Monday, December 26, 2011

#80 James

Is Finepix S3200 better than s4000 ?

5:51 pm - Monday, December 26, 2011

#81 Sjoukje

I got this camera a few days ago, and I’m really happy with it. The first time taking pictures, I thought the camera was rubbish and my expectations were not too high, considering all the reactions on the camera - but overall, I’m very happy with it. I took a close look on the User’s Manual, and if you understand your camera and know how to work with it, it’s excellent.

11:22 pm - Monday, December 26, 2011

#82 SeismicGuy

Louise—I believe there is a setting for complete manual control—it is explained in the manual.  Keep in mind that these bridge-type cameras do not permit the range of manual control that you would find in any cheapo slr or higher end so-called prosumer model.  What I really miss on this camera (which my S7000 had) is some manual focus control.

By the way, don’t complain about your photos being in focus as I have yet to take an image with my S4000 where something is not blurry.  I have been having strong words and communications with the head tech guy at Fuji (Dan Scarola)and emailed him a number of images showing the defect (still present after the first so-called repair).  The camera was shipped back to his attention yesterday—let’s see if they can get it right this time.

Doug

5:17 pm - Thursday, December 29, 2011

#83 Sjoukje

Here I am again, and I got a question - I was checking out the taken photographs on my computer, and the results are not too bad, but the size is just around 2kB, instead of 6mB. Can anybody explain me how to put my settings right, so the pictures are being saved as 6mB? Thank you!
Sjoukje

11:19 pm - Friday, December 30, 2011

#84 Tulio

Fujifilm FinePix S4000
Remove paint effect: Sharpness: Of the three options to choose lower and select Image Quality Fine (90% effect paint removed). The credit of this data is a forum in Spanish, I do not remember.

For me it is an excellent machine, very happy with it, manual controls, image quality, keep up the 400 iso and above all incredible price for all the fun and creativity guaranteed. (Google translation)

6:57 pm - Tuesday, January 3, 2012

#85 SeismicGuy

What Fuji forum are you talking about?  If there is any fuming to be done it should be how the quality of their cameras has gone steadily downhill since the days of the S5000 and S7000 models.

Doug

12:31 am - Wednesday, January 4, 2012

#86 clif

I finally got smart and bought a Fuji HS10. Now thats a camera! The 4000 was terrible, the 3280 was OK but the HS10 is awsome. I might eventually trade up to the HS20, I thinks these two cameras are the best bridge cameras out there, even better that the Canon SX30 I used to own.

1:37 am - Wednesday, January 4, 2012

#87 Sjoukje

Louise Brand - Thank you, it helped! The photographs are of much better quality right now.
By the way, I was scrolling through all the comments, and I really liked your portrait photographs!

Sjoukje

1:00 pm - Wednesday, January 4, 2012

#88 Sjoukje

Here I am again - and I have got a question again.
Louise Brand told me to put my camera on L, 16:9, but why wouldn’t you put it on 4:3, because those images turn out to be bigger?
Thank you, and I am sorry if this is a dumb question

9:11 pm - Wednesday, January 4, 2012

#89 Sjoukje

Louise Brand - thank you very much for your help! I really appreciate it, and I understand it now!
Some time ago I was just taking photographs with a 10mp 3x zoom terrible camera and I was not that interested in cameras yet, so there’s much to learn for me - and I’m still a 13-years old girl, so I don’t have any experience at all.. So I’m really thankful for comments like yours!
Good luck with the wedding! I think it’s great for you that you have been booked!
Sjoukje

1:25 am - Thursday, January 5, 2012

#90 Sjoukje

Louise Brand - Thank you for the compliment! And that’s a nice thing your grandparents did! And thank you for the advice - I will save your e-mail adress, so I can send you an e-mail when I get stuck!
Sjoukje

1:24 pm - Thursday, January 5, 2012

#91 Brian McCluskey

Just got myself a s4000 for christmas as I enjoy taking photos and wanted to upgrade from my wee olympus digi camera, which I have taken some nice pics with. The features of the s 4000 really appealled to me. I have taken some photos already, some good some not so good, but I put that down to my limited knowledge of the camera. Even a novice like myself knows that you need to learn how to properly use the equipment to get the best out of it. I have been rading the manual as advised by some of the posters on here. Hope to upload some photos soon

6:35 pm - Thursday, January 5, 2012

#92 Chris Hodgson

I would just like to correct some comments made here, seen as I seem to be the target of Mrs Brands accusations. Nobody stole her information off facebook, and to say so is a lie. She posted her professional portfolio up on her fuji profile, and it was not of a professional standard. She was not forced to close her facebook page down, she did it of her own accord. Other members had also seen her portfolio in her profile, that was posted in public view, for all to see.
So Mrs Brand, please get your facts straight, before you try flaming and abusing others on this site. If people would like to read it for themselves, they are free to do so http://www.myfinepix.co.uk/forum/4/393577

Chris Hodgsom (the person claimed to have accessed Mrs Brand’s facebook account)

1:32 pm - Saturday, January 7, 2012

#93 Photographer

Louise, to be fair your images are no more than amateur at best, I’ve been in the business for a lot of years and see this time and time again. Grab a camera and suddenly your David bailey.  The gear you use and the quotes I read about your time in business seemed very unprofessional. The questions about why your fireplace was showing through your backdrop was actually laughable considering your meant to he a “pro”!!!

3:09 pm - Saturday, January 7, 2012

#94 Kenneth Partington

I saw the particular comments on Fuji forum from Chris Hodgson and others and can say that they were fair and honest. The only way this poster could be considered professional is in the capacity of being paid to do the work. It is not a measure of her ability as a photographer.

As for information being stolen off her account, her account was a public one with no restrictions so anyone could have seen all her information on facebook. Has she had any concerns about the safety of her information she should have made her account private for the viewing of friends only.

If you wish to provide a professional service -as in superb imagery of a professional standard you should produce that kind of work. The words and advice given to you on fuji forum was valid. You shoot with a bridge camera which is NOT a DSLR and your work is NOT of a professional standard. if you doubt it, try to submit your work to any of the professional wedding and portrait bodies and see if they would accept you.I doubt that they would. they have strict standards of what they deem professional. the images you had on your facebook page didnt even come close.

And Ms Brand, the laws of libel stand in this country so please do not accuse people of things they didnt do or else one of these days, you may find yourself defending your words in a court of law.

6:16 pm - Saturday, January 7, 2012

#95 Seaton Carew

@Louise Brand, being a contributor to the Fuji forums, I have to agree with Chris Hodgson. I know neither of you therefore have no bias, but what you are talking about is complete dross.
You claim to be a professional but then ask basic questions that a novice would ask. You have, in the past, claimed that the S4000 is one of the best DSLRs you have used even though it is a bridge camera. The Facebook information Chris Hodgson linked to on the Fuji forum was that of your “Business Page” not your personal page, therefore any information on there would be there to be promoted surely?

I don’t get your problem here. Maybe you are simply just not as good as you think you are?!?

Sjoukje, if you are going to take advice from this woman then be very wary, she may not be all she appears to be…

1:49 am - Sunday, January 8, 2012

#96 Laurie

I respect Chris as a knowledgeable photographer.  I am not a friend of Chris’ and he and I have had our disagreements on the Fuji forums to be sure, but the only thing he is guilty of is being brutally honest.

3:31 am - Sunday, January 8, 2012

#97 Chris Hodgson

You are in no way being harassed by me. I gave you a blunt an honest assessment of your work as a “professional”, and in one post I hot linked to one of your business promotional images (it was like a business card). That is all, nothing more, nothing less. I have no idea where you get this “travelling photographer” harassment story from, but I’d love to see it (link please). At no point have I been abusive or harassing in any way. You chose to air your views about me on here, and bend the truth about what was said on another site. I then found it, and gave a single reply, correcting the errors in your story.
At no point have I been abusive, used bad language, said anything untrue, made threats, lied or done anything legally or morally wrong. And just to be clear, I am not a member of this site, and have no intentions of joining. I simply subscribed to this review, and replied to the accusations and claims being made against me.
Your outbursts and replies on here paint a completely different picture of you, and the way you conduct yourself. I look forward to your legal advisor’s contacting me, as it will be met with an evidential reply, a counter suit for defamation, and the police matter of threats being made (which is a criminal offence).
The ball is in your court now. You can either stop the false claims, abuse and defamation, and that will be the end of it. Or I will simply drop copies of these replies in to the local police station, report the misuse/abuse of your internet services to your ISP and phone company, and vigorously defend against any civil action you may wish to take.

10:35 am - Sunday, January 8, 2012

#98 griffin

@louisebrand. You really need to take a reality check my dear! You falsely accuse respected Fuji forum members of stealing and publishing private information when that information was taken from a link in your profile that invited people to view it. As for you claiming to be a professional, well IMHO you give amateurs a bad name with the standard of photos that are associated with your website. Reading your comments on here ( re the finger marks on the lens story) and your FAILIURE to grasp that the S4000 is NOT a dslr only reinforces my and many others aspersions that you are NOT a true Professional Photographer by any stretch of the imagination. I suggest you do yourself a favour by deleting the myfinepix thread you started. Anyone searching for louisebrandphotography will be taken to that and I gaurantee your “professional” workdays will be over. Think on!

11:11 am - Sunday, January 8, 2012

#99 Paul

Confucus say ” if you can’t stand the heat it’s time to get out of the kitchen “

7:23 pm - Sunday, January 8, 2012

#100 Paul

I tend to agree with them from what I’ve been reading lol

9:22 pm - Sunday, January 8, 2012

Entry Tags

hd video, hd, 3 inch LCD, 720p, hdmi, super-zoom, fujifilm, 14 megapixel, super zoom, finepix, 30x, s4000, finepix s4000, Fujifilm FinePix S4000 Review, fujifilm s4000

Tracker Pixel for Entry