Fujifilm FinePix S4000 Review

June 6, 2011 | Matt Grayson | |

Your Comments

177 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#101 Laurie

Louise…I’ve had a look at your “portfolio” and I’m definitely not impressed.

This one is a good example of photo-editing abuse:

http://www.louisebrandphotography.co.uk/resources/Lisa and John in Church without Gill bw.jpg

9:23 pm - Sunday, January 8, 2012

#102 Laurie

Apparently it won’t link but the image I tried to link is the first one in the third row.  The one with the happy couple in color (yellow skin) and the rest in black and white with lots of noise.

9:36 pm - Sunday, January 8, 2012

#103 Chris Hodgson

Well I look forward to the correspondence from your legal team Louise. I’m sure they will love to read all the abusive postings you have made over the last week, on this and other sites.
On a personal level, I find it bizarre that you believe all these other people are wrong, as well as myself. I will say again, what I said on Fuji. Your images are amateur level at best, and I would strongly recommend you reconsider taking wedding bookings. Your current portfolio has very poor wedding images, taken with a point and shoot Samsung S85 (according to the exif data on the image). The editing done is also of a very poor standard, in fact I wouldn’t even go as far as calling it editing.

Remember, wedding photography is not about you, or what you believe you can do. It is all about the couple, and recording their day. There is no room what so ever for mistakes. Poor images will land you in court. And that is a best case scenario. Look at this, if you don’t believe it.
http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/newstopics/howaboutthat/6263595/Couple-sue-wedding-photographer.html

And the pictures you have in your portfolio on http://www.louisebrandphotography.co.uk are far worse than the ones he god sued for. Feel free to ridicule and dismiss what others are advising you on. But don’t blame us when things go VERY wrong for you, and the couple you may be shooting for. And PLEASE don’t make up stories, in order to play the victim, as you have done here.

9:47 pm - Sunday, January 8, 2012

#104 SeismicGuy

What do the latest bunch of posts have to do with the S4000?  How about let’s keep it on track and civil.

Just sayin’

Doug

6:22 am - Monday, January 9, 2012

#105 Chris Hodgson

Doug, I’ve Emailed and PM’d the owner of this site, asking for this review to be moderated, and all the posts from #94 onward, that relate to either me, or the fuji UK site, be removed. I expect people felt the need to reply and respond to the nasty, untrue and abusive comments from Mrs Brand about members of the fuji site.
Hopefully the review comments will be looked at, and Mrs Brand’s outbursts stopped. Nobody wants to read her outbursts on a camera review, or the responses to her behaviour. But I think people do have a right to respond to such accusations and profanity.

Chris

8:04 am - Monday, January 9, 2012

#106 Brian McCluskey

Jeezo..worse than a bunch of kids on here!

1:42 pm - Monday, January 9, 2012

#107 Seaton Carew

Dear oh dear, Louise Brand.
If your facebook page was only for your friends to see then fair enough, my mistake. Mind you, maybe you shouldn’t have put a link in your profile on a photography website and stated, in your profile information, that one could access samples of your work from it.

You quote “I know that an S4000 is a bridge camera, but try explaining the difference between a bridge camera and a DSLR to a normal human being?”. Is this a public admission that you deliberately mis-inform potential clients, lie to them even? That is what is appears to me.

As for the S4000 being a “really good camera”, I bought one for my 13 year old daughter last year and, whilst trying it out before giving it to her, was actually quite disappointed with it and considered returning it and buying something better. However I concluded that it was probably adequate for a 13 year old starting out in photography.
Should I ever book a professional photographer and they turned up with a S4000, even as a back up camera (third or fourth back up even) I think I would probably tell them to go home, but that is just my personal opinion.

You claim that you are “damn good at what I do!” but I have seen no proof of this. Some of your photos are quite good, but some are quite shocking. I, myself, take quite good photographs and I also take some quite shocking ones, but I am not trying to pass myself off as a ‘professional’ photographer.

Just for clarity, with regard to your comment about my “greatest mates”, I know all of the above posters as well as I know you, so I would not really class them as my “greatest mates”.

And finally, I do not understand the comment about bullying! Please re-read my post and highlight to me any part of it that could be construed as such behaviour.

1:31 pm - Tuesday, January 10, 2012

#108 Kev

Louise
I saw your thread you started on Fuji , I am afraid you are very wrong about people hacking your Facebook account as in you’re own profile you had hot linked it with ” if you need to friend me ”
Also you yourself claimed the S4000 to be a DSLR on this subject you quickly changed your tune .
As for Fuji it’s a excellent free site

3:56 pm - Tuesday, January 10, 2012

#109 Laurie

I gave an S3200, which is basically the same camera as the S4000 (they share the same manual) with slightly less zoom, 24x as opposed to 30x, to my 19 year old son’s girlfriend for Christmas.  I believe it is her first “real” camera and she likes it.  She has a natural knack for composition and has a very good eye.  She has the potential to be a very good photographer I think, although I don’t think she aspires to become one as a career choice.  Like most teens she just loves to take photos. She’d been using a camera phone prior to that. 

I won the camera from Fuji as a second place prize for their monthly comp (transport) on their site for my entry.  It is the second camera I won from Fuji.  The other was the s2800 which I won for writing a feature article about portrait photography lighting techniques.

The s3200/s4000 are decent enough cameras for someone just starting to take photography more seriously and moving from a low end camera phone or point and shoot to the next level camera.  The S3200 is very inexpensive too as is the S4000 so it won’t break the budget.

I don’t like the aperture limits and the DOF is lacking but that is pretty normal for a camera with a small sensor. Indoor high ISO performance is also about what I would expect from a camera like this and I wouldn’t use it for serious indoor low light photography which I do a lot of and require a good performer that doesn’t require a lot of post processing to deal with the noise and lets me do a quick turn around for my work. 

The S4000 would be fine for snaps of indoor events to have for memories sake as perhaps a guest at weddings taking snaps of the event. I don’t believe any serious pro would even consider using a camera of this level for an actual wedding commission.

I’m not really a working pro but I do take some freelance work assignments and do get paid for some of my work and stock photos.  Mostly I am just a very passionate photographer who has been doing it for a long time and love it.

4:29 pm - Tuesday, January 10, 2012

#110 Chris Hodgson

Too many people are seeing through the lies now Louise. So just give it a rest!!!

5:12 pm - Tuesday, January 10, 2012

#111 Anna

I think it’s really unprofessional (here we got that word again) to struggle about someone’s professionality on a review of a FinePix S4000. I’m not choosing a site, I’m not saying Louise Brand is a professional neither I am saying she’s not, I’m not saying Chris is right I’m not saying he’s wrong.. I am just saying it is really selfish to fight about who takes the most professional photographs.

7:45 pm - Wednesday, January 11, 2012

#112 g0ne

They are not struggling or even arguing over who takes the more professional photographs. Instead advice was given to have a rethink on performing wedding services as a pro photgrapher based on the examples of her work posted with the dual intention of -
a) preventing someones record of their big day being ruined by the results offered which could potentially tarnish the marriage itself for a very long time
b)saving herself possibly being sued for the end resulting images.
I am on record on the Fuji forum stating i don’t care much for how Chris Hodgson interacts but all he did was proffer sensible advice and advise some caution/rethink on another individuals abilities. This has been met with abusive comment, threats and warnings of legal and later Police action/enquiries. There are to my mind serious doubts on ability, but coupled with these other responses i would ask, where is her professionalism? is this really how professionals behave? Thankfully i think not and as another professional Chris Hodgson has only tried to ensure that the image of the professional photographers of this country does not get tarnished through possibly sub standard work offered to the client by someone who has less ability and equipment than the job requires.

9:30 pm - Wednesday, January 11, 2012

#113 SeismicGuy

BACK TO THE POINT OF THE THREAD:

I just got my S4000 back from Fuji and they replace the lens and adjusted whatever needed adjusting.  The results are dramatically better although oddly there is still a slight bit of softness at the left bottom area of the image compared with other areas of the image.  This is really only noticeable if using widest angle settings and taking a picture of something with lots of edge details (like a hedge with lots of small leaves like my earlier sample image) and only when you know what you are looking for.

So I guess this is the best that they can do and I judge the camera to be pretty decent for the price (I paid about $200 which included a case and 4GB memory card). 

I would just caution those considering this to not expect a silk purse product from a sow’s ear price.  If you are a very serious photographer and really need crystal sharp clarity across the image then I would recommend looking elsewhere.

Doug

8:45 pm - Saturday, January 14, 2012

#114 Paolo B

why nobody say that is impossible to use the camera on APERTURE Priority?
When you put A you can choose only on two diffirent aperture for example 3,1 and 8 (is depending on position of the zoom)
No intermediate aperture is possible (also using speed priority the camera propose only two aperture)
This is, for me, a BIG LIMITATION
F3.1 / F8(Wide) F5.9 / F8 / F20(Telephoto)

5:45 pm - Saturday, January 21, 2012

#115 Laurie

Paolo…I did mention it in my previous comment.  I believe all of the “S” series Fuji Bridge cameras have that limitation which is a real problem for a serious photographer who needs true control over the camera and better DOF creativity. It is a bridge camera and a very inexpensive and entry level one at that.  I do not think this camera is aimed at the more advanced amateur but more toward the beginner.  It does make a decent enough toss in your handbag and go camera for when one doesn’t want to carry something larger and heavier. 

Oh as for this comment from another poster here:

“I know that an S4000 is a bridge camera, but try explaining the difference between a bridge camera and a DSLR to a normal human being?”

The statements this person made incorrectly calling the s4000 a DSLR had been made on more than one photography forum and people participating in such forums either already understand the difference or would at least want to know that there is difference, especially when you consider that the s4000 is on the very low end of the bridge camera spectrum.

3:28 pm - Monday, January 23, 2012

#116 Paolo B

Luoise, you are rigth, but I had a Kodak 7590, 7 years old, and with this if I put f/5,6 or f/8 or f/11 it was not a problem ... it was possible. Now, unfortunatly, I lost my old camera and I have decide to buy this new one (I have a Nikon reflex to make “serious” photo) and I find this Fukifilm camera with very limited possibility. Now I’ll try to change this camera with a Kodak z990, and I hope to find better possibility with similar low price.

11:34 pm - Monday, January 23, 2012

#117 Terry

My opinion is this review sounds like it was written by someone with a vendetta against fuji. While the camera may not be the best choice for the professional market it is perfect for someone that wants to improve their photography from a simple point and shoot but doesn’t want the commitment of paying £600+. Also, if those sample pictures are the best you could take with this camera then you have NO buisness writing a photography blog! You have to read the manual to get the right idea of how to use this camera. It is not a simple point and shoot disposable and should not be treated as such.

10:09 am - Tuesday, January 24, 2012

#118 Paolo B

Terry, I do not undestand why you think i’am a professional or some one that have some interest against Fuji I’am an engineer and I work in the plastics industry. I take photos for pleasure with Nikon DSLR (D5000, so NOT a full frame!) or bridge or compact camera. I am convinced that a interesting picture is made ??especially by the photographer, a good picture even by the camera. My opinion only concerns the indication, wrong for me, that Fuji write
Exposure modes: Programmed AE, Shutter Priority AE, Aperture Priority AE, Manual exposure
Aperture priority means that I can choose. if the choice is between only two, is a limited choice, and I think a blog should really tell. I do not discuss the quality of the pictures or the capability or price. But when someone buys an object needs to know what he buys. Kodak Z990 in any case costs an extra € 30, so we are in the same price range.
Might have other problems, but probably the choice of aperture will be possible.

2:28 pm - Tuesday, January 24, 2012

#119 SeismicGuy

Terry,

I am not sure who you are directing your comment to (I don’t believe it was me) but have to disagree on your support of this camera.  I have been a real Fuji fan for years going back to some of their film cameras.  When I bought their S7000 is was my first serious foray into digital and I loved that camera.  It was one of the first so-called bridge cameras that offered huge bang-for-the-buck.  I used that camera both for business and personal use.  I replaced that with the S1000fd for business and S9000 for personal and love both of those cameras. 

However, the S4000 was the first digital camera I have owned where I was disappointed with the quality of the images.  It’s big pluses are extreme versatility (huge zoom range), fairly portable size, and great price.  The images are probably fine for the casual photographer and, overall, the images from my obviously defective S4000 that I used for my last big vacation were still basically okay unless you start looking closely at them and notice the blurry area. And of course there are those weird painted effects you see on some images. 

Again, I really didn’t need this camera and just bought it on a spur-of-the-moment and will still rely on my S9000 for important vacations or when I don’t want to take a chance on the quality of the images.  But if I did not have a fallback high quality model that I could rely on (S9000) I would have regretted the S4000 purchase more and probably would return it to get something like the HS20 (of course more expensive though).

Doug

5:15 pm - Tuesday, January 24, 2012

#120 Mal Neill

Well, that was interesting reading to say the least!
I came on here looking for some advice on whether this camera is for me or not. I am not a professional in any way but just want to take some better photos than my Olympus compact. The bridge cameras seem to be the way forward but there are so many to choose from but i dont want to get to the really expensive end. Or would someone recommend a cheapish DSLR.

5:17 pm - Tuesday, January 24, 2012

#121 Seaton Carew

Mal, I would highly recommend the Fuji HS10, or HS20, over the S4000 any day of the week.
I have a HS10 (only 10mp, so slightly less than the S4000) but it does so much more than the S4000.

7:20 pm - Tuesday, January 24, 2012

#122 Chris Hodgson

Canon 500D
http://www.jessops.com/online.store/products/80640/show.html

Can be found on many other sites for about £150 less than the above, so worth shopping around ;-)

7:47 pm - Tuesday, January 24, 2012

#123 BetaSchmitz

oh, guys… I am satisfied with my s4000, I’m not a professional but there are some pictures:

http://www.flickr.com/photos/betaschmitz/

3:00 am - Saturday, January 28, 2012

#124 BetaSchmitz

Oh guys… I’m satisfied with my s4000. I’m not a professional, but I took some photos and posted here… http://www.flickr.com/photos/betaschmitz/

sorry for my english, I’m brazilian. :)

3:07 am - Saturday, January 28, 2012

#125 Michael

All things considered, I think I’ll end up purchasing this camera.  But I find the personal attacks in these posts in poor taste and unhelpful in understanding the equipment - it almost made me nix the idea.  While the reviewer’s sample shots may not expose the full capabilities of the camera, I for one appreciate the reviewer standardizing the test methodology such as always using the highest quality for all cameras.  Together with the key setting information we are offered a ‘baseline’ for other equipment comparisons.  I think the accompanying narrative is detailed and unemotional and positions the camera fairly.  Certainly, some of the additional posts and example shots help showing the range of capabilities and several have contained really useful information.  I have no issue with exposing equipment problems such as partial blurring and poor customer service.  It appears available light and settings are two important considerations to good photos on the S4000.  The camera prematurely going to a high ISO looks to be one area to examine for better results although this is probably in the pre-programmed modes.  I have an older Fuji and it offers a range of ISO ceilings for Auto in P,S, M, C modes.  This is probably included in S4000 and could be a good way of controlling noise without having to resort to manual setting for every shot – a bit tiring when travelling and chasing the quick opportunity shot.  I hope I’m not repeating advice here.  Thanks to those who have shared their work – some examples show good capability that I find encouraging.  In the end, it’s an inexpensive bridge camera with some niggling limitations but some nice features that lend itself to being a very good travelling companion.  I just wish the HS 20 was smaller…

6:19 am - Saturday, January 28, 2012

#126 SeismicGuy

Hey Michael,

You are approaching the purchase in the correct spirit.  Considering the size, features, and versatility it is a decent buy for no more than $200.  The downside is that this is the first camera of ANY I have owned (film or digital) where getting a bad image was the fault of the camera rather than my fault.  The thing is that for most folks where you are quickly showing the images on a computer screen or even a large flat screen nobody will really notice the quirks.  It is not until you are doing some more serious looking at the images or touching up using Photoshop, etc. when you really start seeing some of the weirdness the camera might deliver.  The painted effect that everyone talks about is the primary weird problem and I have yet to be able to predict how or when this will appear (some images look fine while others look clearly painted—ALL taken with the same camera setting but under different conditions or differing subject matter).

Again, I think what sums it up best is that with this camera, blame for a bad image will more often go to the camera rather than the photographer.

Doug

5:26 pm - Monday, January 30, 2012

#127 Mal Neill

I plumbed for this one and bought it today. Had an hour reading the booklet and playing with the camera and think i have got most of it off already. Seems ok to me but i am no way a pro photographer. I like the scene selection for portrait etc and the snow settings etc. I will let you know a bit more when i have actually used it.
Thanks for the advice.

10:19 pm - Friday, February 3, 2012

#128 SeismicGuy

Mal,

I advise taking some pictures of subject matter like the ones I posted previously.  For example if you can find a group of trees or hedges nearby or a brick wall or something else with a repetitive pattern, try taking a straight-on photo from 20’ to 30’ and then look at the image on your monitor and pay close attention to the left portion of the image.  If things look less clear or fuzzy towards the left, that is one of the defects that plagues at least some S4000’s.  If everything looks uniformly crisp and clear, consider yourself a winner.

Doug

12:42 am - Saturday, February 4, 2012

#129 Norman

Fuji S4000.  I have had the same problems that Seismic Guy reports; blurry focus - left side of photo.  Sent camera back to Fuji 3 weeks ago.  Phoned them today.  Camera on techie’s desk right then (what a coincidence!).  Will try out camera when it comes back and post results here. If no improvement, I just hope I can get a refund of my money. Camera cost close to $500 here in New Zealand.  Don’t think I would risk another Fuji altho’ I had one years ago and it was very good.

11:00 am - Wednesday, February 8, 2012

#130 quimantu

The review concludes is very good and clear for whom it is addressed this machine. For photography enthusiasts who want a similar experience to that of an SLR for a low cost. The lens has a macro excelnte and 30x zoom lets you great versatility. Very good colors and details very acceptable. The question is in the paint effect is detected on your PC when you zoom in the picture, ... but in print or online is not noticed. However, this effect is minimized if you use much sharpness in low (in the manual gives you a clue).
Personally I have given much fun and I’m very happy with the manual mode that lets you do your personal photo.
Before you buy the Fuji S4000 I read this review, and after much dig inside the web I found many examples on Flickr, especially a photographer, which made ??me think that if he can do all that with this machine, I have the challenge to make the most and best I can do with this Fuji S4000.
Conclusion, price / product / type of user, .... very good.
This text was originally written in Spanish and translated by google, sorry English.

2:35 pm - Thursday, February 9, 2012

#131 SeismicGuy

Norman,

I would be interested on hearing how much improvement Fuji is able to do for you.  The replacement lens that they presumably fitted to my S4000 is still not perfect but probably acceptable.

The more I think about it though the more I would have to give a strong thumbs-down on this model, primarily due to the unpredictable weird painted effect that shows up to a greater or lesser extent on almost all images.

Even the much more entry-level Canon and Nikon point-and-shoots that fit in your shirt pocket have never added weirdness to the images.  There is definitely something flakey with the image processing that is going on internally with the S4000.

Doug

10:55 pm - Thursday, February 9, 2012

#132 Emma

As I’ve just ordered the new s4500 and there being no reviews yet, I thought I’d find out about its predecessor - s4000. I’m beginning to get worried as I feel that these ‘blurry’ problems etc might not have been ironed out on this new one. It all sounds so complicated this business of taking good photos that I’m beginning to think I have bitten off more than I can chew. Mental note to myself….must read the entire full manual..

9:56 pm - Saturday, February 11, 2012

#133 Brian

Just bought a S4000 in Indonesia. Priceless ranged from Rp4.800.000 to the one I bought after Xmas at Rp2.300.000. No tax of course!
As many people have commented ...read the manual AND have basic understanding of photography. Mine began at 14yrs old in the UK with a Kershaw Bellows and B&W film together with a hand held dial-up disc to determine…film speed, distance to object, aperture, shutter speed, all matched (hopefully) to the weather. If unsure I would bracket a few shots.My S4000 impression… a great camera!

2:51 am - Wednesday, February 15, 2012

#134 Abhi

is there manual focusing for this model???

11:27 am - Tuesday, February 28, 2012

#135 ollie

There is no manual focus on this model. Wonder if they corrected the “painted effect” on the S4500. So far have not seen any reviews yet. It would be a great price/performance camera if they corrected that IQ problem.

7:24 pm - Sunday, March 4, 2012

#136 Jennifer M

Seismic Guy /Doug

I have had the same service issue with Fuji, they have had my camera since January and I just finally find out they cannot fix it so “can they send me a refurb”  I sent it in Jan 10th they returned it with having nothing done I sent it right back the same day, now if I didnt call to constantly check on it I would not have found anything out.  I have left 3 messages and sent 3 emails to Dan Scarola with no reply.  At this point I do not want the S4000 (which was NEW when I sent it in over 30 days but it was a gift so couldnt be returned to the store)  I want an HS series if not a refund.  I am so disappointed in this camera, to say the least. 

If I do not hear anything back by Friday I am driving over to their office, only 15 minutes away, on Monday.  Cant ignore me in person.  :)  This will be my last Fuji camera Im sure.

3:25 pm - Wednesday, March 14, 2012

#137 SeismicGuy

Jennifer—what were the characteristics of the problem you were having (i.e., blurry image?) The local Costco where I originally bought mine last August now has a great deal on the S4500.  I am almost tempted to return my S4000 to Costco explaining the Fuji could not satisfactorily repair and try the S4500.  Except that I am guessing the S4500 would be no better.

Doug

5:10 pm - Wednesday, March 14, 2012

#138 Cool Dude

I got myseslf one of these not long ago.  Absolutely love it!!Picture problems seem to be with website reproduction, not the camera. Easy to use.  For prints up to A4 it compares well with my Canon DSLR. I paid £169 at Argos.  What else competes at the price?

Come on commenters - get real.  Stop trying to compare this with a high end DSLR.  If I showed you my best prints from both, you could not pick them.

regards

Cool D

9:23 am - Thursday, March 22, 2012

#139 SeismicGuy

Hey Cool,

Assuming you are not a shill for Fuji, I beg to differ.  While the FEATURES are certainly there (long zoom range, huge megapixels, relatively convenient sized package) the flaws I have posted are definitely NOT anything to do with website reproduction.  They are clearly visible with even the most casual viewing on my home monitor and there are enough other posts and reviews around the web to confirm that the deficiencies of this model are not isolated quirks but, rather, fairly widespread.  Even the most basic early shirt-pocket one or two megapixel point-and-shoot digital cameras I have owned never gave me out-of-focus and weird over-processed results like the S4000. 

Doug

5:26 pm - Thursday, March 22, 2012

#140 Ro

I had much hopes about this model.. but the pic quality is just horrible.. Focusing also is not very steady. Very unhappy. I have better pictures taken from my old Fuji which is just 10MP

7:30 pm - Thursday, March 22, 2012

#141 SeismicGuy

Ro,

Yes—the older Fuji’s seemed to be of a much more consistent quality than the recent offerings.  I am not sure that it has anything to do with megapixels as I have gotten fantastic results from my old 6mp S7000 that I have easily blown up to 16x20 and still look good.  The problem with the current S4000 looks more like lens problem, quality control, sensor problem, image processing or some combination of all of these.

Doug

10:53 pm - Thursday, March 22, 2012

#142 Jennifer M

Doug,

My problems were the pictures were streaky looked like they were printed on a crappy printer- white lines in all darker colors.  My old 4 MP took better pictures.  I was so disappointed, missed my daughters Halloween, Birthday and Christmas with only having my little z4 point and shoot or my cell phone as a camera.  I was between the S4000 and the HS20/30 but went with the S4000 for now since I want a DSLR and this would be a good mid range at a low price.  Oh well, bad choice on my part (well my husbands part he picked it for me for my birthday) 

I finally got my camera back(they have had it since January 10th)  and they actually fixed it! the pictures are great.  Considering I was told they cant fix it and they cannot get the part they need they sent back my camera - not a refurb all fixed.  My take they forgot about my camera and tried to give me a refurb but I said no then they had to actually work and fix mine.  So Im happy its back and works but their service is absolutely horrible.  It really soured me on the Fuji brand.

3:32 am - Saturday, March 24, 2012

#143 Paul Tuszynski

I’ve just ordered mine and can’t wait to get it! I’ve looked through a number of review sites and all of them give this camera a rating of 4 to 5 out of 5. Given the price, that’s good enough for me.

11:22 pm - Thursday, April 5, 2012

#144 Joe M

Well…. what an interesting read!

I’ve just ordered my S4000 and am looking forward to it being delivered. Just wanted to say thanks to #145 BetaSchmitz for posting the pics up. They gave me a good idea on what to expect. I’m just starting to build an interest in photography and have only ever used my smart phone to take pics. I’ve been told I take a pretty good pic so thought I’d get myself a decent camera. I got the camera, a bag, an 8gb SD card, a battery charger and rechargeable batteries for £170 from amazon which I thought was a decent deal. As soon as I’ve got the camera and had a play I’ll post up my findings. :)

1:35 pm - Wednesday, April 11, 2012

#145 Aaron

I used to have a FujiFilm S3000 but the CCD failed on it, now i have purchased the S4000 and have been using it for several weeks now and to be honest with you guys n gals this camera is the DB, i am a professional photographer and i have used every setting on this camera from auto mode to custom mode, i have found no fault with any images produced at any size. The images are crisp, vivid and striking even at the full 30X zoom without a tripod. I agree with most of the people on here that a few lessons in photgraphy may be needed as this camera does the job but you also have to put the effort in to get a good result. 9.9 out of 10 for this camera i think.

7:06 pm - Wednesday, April 11, 2012

#146 Rob Mac

Many folks have complained about the “painted and over sharpened’ look on pics zoomed in on this camera. I’m not surprised! Most small sensor cams today (12-16 mp on 1/2.3”) have too many photosites (ie pixels) crammed onto tiny sensors. This can mean more noise so they apply lots of digital noise reduction in the camera’s jpeg engine. It seems most of the latest budget Fujis use too much. My old S5700 (S700)zoom Fuji is only 7mp and does a great job in decent light with lots of detail and no smearing. My Fuji F20 (only 6mp altho with a Super CCD) has brilliant resolution even in low light.I have a little inexpensive pocket Fuji 5x zoom JX350 16mp. Works well but has the same overzealous noise reduction. I believe the pixel race on small cameras is just a marketing ploy (more is better). My new Olympus XZ1 has a larger sensor and only 10mp and the IQ is excellent.

6:30 am - Thursday, April 19, 2012

#147 Disp

BIG BIG DISAPPOINTMENT!

The “painted” effect on the pictures is impossible to be avoided (event with Fine + Low Sharpness). Most of the pictures are ok, if you’re watching them on a LCD 24”. But that’s because you aren’t able to see the artefacts. Try to zoom to 100% and they are just CRAP.

I know it’s a budget camera, with too many megapixels crowded on a 1/2.3” CCD sensor. But there’s not excuse for the really low quality of the images.

Fuji seems deaf to a firmware update (belief to fix the issue) or to any other assistance.

And probably the only people here who praised this model are the one who try to sell it (aka. get rid of it).

11:01 am - Friday, April 20, 2012

#148 ollie

Although it’s a small sensor, I suspect it has more to do with the image processing. Unlikely to get any firmware update since the newer S4500 with identical features is out. So far haven’t read any reviews in regards to image quality on the newer model.

12:30 pm - Friday, April 20, 2012

#149 Rob Mac

Exactly my point. Small sensors with too many pixels need noise reduction, but some of the Fujis inc this model are using excessive amounts. Either Fuji need to alter the firmware (unlikely) to reduce the excessive amount of noise reduction and sharpening, or reduce the number of pixels. I guess they wont do the latter as more pixels sells more cameras. The S4000 has many good features for the price, but the IQ is poor, especially compared to many older digicams. If I wanted that much zoom and a Fuji, I’d get the HS20 or 30 with their superior sensors and image processing. I think Fuji should try one of the new BSI CMOS sensors in the successors to the S4000, and reduce the amount of noise reduction in the image processor. I guess it’s always a compromise as an ultrazoom with a larger sensor means a much larger lens and camera as well as more $$$. I’ve always liked Fujicams, and was considering the X10 as a premium compact, but besides being more expensive, it had the dreaded ‘orb’ problem and they now have to replace all the special sensors. They seem to have lost their touch in innovative cameras. I bought the Olympus XZ1 and it’s just great.

1:19 pm - Friday, April 20, 2012

#150 Phil

My Fuji S4000 knocks batteries over even when it’s turned off…........ Got it for Xmas, taken approx 30 pictures, done 3 lots of Duracell batteries!!!!! is it faulty or am I being stupid??? HELP, cant afford to keep the thing!!!

7:08 pm - Wednesday, May 9, 2012

#151 Vambo

The camera’s OK for $160, but I don’t like the rinky-dink software. I’m forced to use it every time I want to upload pictures to my computer. Eventually I’ll figure a way around it so that the USB will show up as an external drive and I can just use Windows. As for now, it remains hidden. Any suggestions?

12:57 am - Thursday, May 10, 2012

#152 Laurie

@Vambo…most people use a card reader to move the images onto the computer.  It is much more efficient, quicker, and saves on batteries than connecting the camera to the computer. Not to mention you don’t have to deal with the awful silkypix software.

1:06 am - Thursday, May 10, 2012

#153 Craig

I am not a professional, but a keen amateur and pretty sharp with Photoshop.

I currently have a tired old Fuji S5500 that has served me incredibly well over the years - so my question is…

Am I going to be as happy with the 4000 and it is only £140!!!

11:13 am - Thursday, May 10, 2012

#154 Vambo

Thanks Laurie for a very USEFUL comment!

5:21 am - Friday, May 11, 2012

#155 Vambo

Craig, my friend paid $700 for his S5500 and extremely envious that I paid only $160 for my S4000. I don’t think he adores his camera the way he used to, and was very unhelpful when I asked for advice on how to use mine. But then, he’s an extremely competitive person.

5:24 am - Friday, May 11, 2012

#156 Vambo

@Rob Mac “The S4000 has many good features for the price, but the IQ is poor, especially compared to many older digicams.”

IQ as in intelligence quotient, or is this some other technical term I’m not aware of?

4:39 pm - Friday, May 11, 2012

#157 ollie

I think it is Image Quality.

12:47 am - Saturday, May 12, 2012

#158 Craig

Vambo - thanks for your feedback. I do think that despite some of the S4000 short comings, for the price you are getting a helluva good camera.

Whilst everyone is entitled to their own opinions and expectations I think some of the comments on here lose some perspective. It is not a DSLR and not everyone has £3-500 to spend, but for a £140 bridge camera it is going to do a fair job.

I shall be ordering mine shortly I think! :)

10:15 am - Monday, May 14, 2012

#159 dude

Hi,
Has anyone experience with this camera in shooting fast moving objects in very bright conditions? I need fast serial pictures and a camera that can deal with very bright light settings on the beach to shoot surfing pictures. Reflections from the water usually overexpose pictures on my actual cam. The s4000 has an auto scene mode called “beach”, but I am not sure if that is available with high speed serial pictures and if it works well. Are settings available in high speed mode to adjust for producing decent surfing pictures in very bright light?
thanks in advance for your comments!

2:55 am - Sunday, June 3, 2012

#160 Krista

I am completely satisfied, this is a camera I can take on vacation and if it broken, lost, or stolen I wouldn’t lose any sleep at night. The previous version I took to Europe a couple of years ago and the pictures were fabulous! I am no professional, my friend who is thought some of the pictures I have taken were not with this model, but after taking thousands of pictures with it I have learned how to transform the settings rather quickly to capture the right moment. Don’t get me wrong there are moments I wish it had better features but overall it’s the camera I was looking for and not a bit regretting my purchase.

2:49 pm - Saturday, June 23, 2012

#161 Frank Preston

I have had this camera for a year.  I bought it to learn photography….........I take about 1000 pictures a week.  THIS CAMERA is very good to amazing with the right settings and conditions.  It is a bear to learn and has some strengths and weaknesses just like us.  For $200 YOU WILL be happy.  I know I am and it convinced me I like photography and am ready to upgrade…....just what I wanted out of my $200 toy.  I will keep it and not be afraid to bang it up a bit as compared to $1000-2000 worth of the good stuff…...open your minds and be your own person.  If it was that bad I would not be getting rave reviews on Photography Forums nationwide.  Some of the High Dollar equipment owners are telling me they think they wasted lots of $$$.  Photography is not all in the camera….......I say it might be 50% of the equation.

9:38 pm - Sunday, June 24, 2012

#162 Vikki

Wow. This camera is the camera that introduced me into the beautiful world of photography. Guys, you can make magic with any camera as long as you get to know the camera like a friend, treat it like a friend. Its a great camera for beginning photography. I love this camera, it’s my baby. You can have a crappy camera and still create beautiful photos.

6:32 am - Saturday, June 30, 2012

#163 Joe Rotheray

Just bought S4000 and struggling to access setup menu for time/date and the rest. Can someone please advise.

9:07 am - Saturday, July 7, 2012

#164 Danish Kapadia

hi there,
        can anyone please help me out!
i just wana know how to pause while doin a video shoot?

9:23 am - Tuesday, July 10, 2012

#165 manu

Many good things can be done with this camera.
Here a small example: http://www.flickr.com/photos/quimantu/6958641381/in/photostream

3:02 pm - Tuesday, August 7, 2012

#166 Elaine Brown

Well After buying the FUJI S4000, I am still impressed by the standards of this camera! It is still amazing! I am a Pro Photographer, still swear by 35mm, develope my own, both colour and 35mm. I have bought the top of the range Nikon, Fuji and Sony Minolta? The lenses are amazing I have, But still I revert to my Fuji for easy shots and excellent quality!!!! The lense on this ‘is’ amazing especially in HD! If you are a Pro-photographer and that means hard slog to get where you are. Then you don’t need photoshop, or any crap like that, you will know how to take a photo unlike Chris and Laurie! A Pair of bullshitters! And personal Crap photographers compaired to me!

12:52 am - Thursday, August 16, 2012

#167 Betty J

I am curious to see examples of Chris and Laurie’s photography. I see no links and no examples to “prove” their expertise.  Does anyone know where I can view their work?  Can I see a link to their portfolios or websites if they have any?  Put your money where your mouth is Laurie and Chris!  Elaine you must know their links since you know their work. But to be fair Elaine you could provide links to your work too. 

With regards to the now discontinues S4000 it was a capable very inexpensive entry level compact super-zoom.  It, like the other Fuji “S” series cameras though does have limitations.  The lack of a real physical aperture diaphragm and the small sensor seriously limits the ability to take truly artistic images.  Instead it uses an ND filter to mimic wider apertures.  This makes getting those wonderful artistic images with shallow depth of field and soft non-distracting backgrounds that is usually desired for formal portraits and other types of artistic images very difficult at best. 

I am not a pro just an avid long time hobbyist.  I have no public gallery and no website I just take photos for myself, my family and friends.

12:48 am - Friday, August 17, 2012

#168 Laurie

Betty with all due respect. I don’t have to prove myself however since you asked I have now included my link back to my photography blog: http://www.capturethisphotography.com/ So there it is if anyone really cares to look.

Elaine…or is it Louise? For the record I do not do photoshop very often…most of my images do not ever touch photoshop and are simple RAW conversions done in Lightroom 2…I don’t even have the latest software…I have CS2 and I think they are up to CS6 and I have LR2 and I think they are up to version 4.  I spend less than 30 seconds processing images on the computer.

I am not now nor was I ever a full on pro nor have I claimed to be one.  Yes I have been paid for several assignments but I do not advertise and I do not actively market myself out as a photographer.

As for Chris he doesn’t need me to defend him but I do know that he is a better photographer than I am.

4:19 am - Friday, August 17, 2012

#169 Laurie

Hi Betty,

I saw your comment on my site.  Thank you.  I am not offended so don’t worry about it.  Under the circumstances it was a reasonable request for me to “put my money where my mouth is”. 

I’m glad you took the time to look at my blog and give me the benefit of the doubt.  It was sweet of you to apologize but it wasn’t really necessary. :~)

Laurie

5:34 am - Friday, August 17, 2012

#170 Laurie

PS Betty…I should apologize for being short with you in my first reply to your request for links.  I was reacting more to what “Elaine” said than what you said and that set my tone on edge.

Laurie

5:41 am - Friday, August 17, 2012

#171 Chris Hodgson

Interesting comments there Betty j and Elaine Brown
http://www.professionalphotographer.co.uk/memberinfo/gallery?userid=3649
No point linking to my photography website, as it is having a re-fit. But you are free to browse the above link on “Professional Photographer” magazine. Some have featured in the mag, and there has been a full page spread of an equestrian shot, in April edition, if you care to go buy it.

You can also visit my photography chat site if you wish too http://chat-photography.com

I personally think Elaine Brown is some kind of internet troll, trying to stir up trouble.

Chris

2:37 pm - Thursday, September 20, 2012

#172 excillink

You can’t get blood from a turnip, but you can get something very much like it from a beet.

The Fujifilm S4000 is a beet. You get $160 worth of camera, but you can never get rid of the ‘paint’ smudge effect even if you set it to Fine at Large. This camera is only good for 4 x 6 pictures, and that’s it. The movie option is nice, but I’ve decided to finally fork out the money for something really fine, and that is the Nikon d7000. You can say, oh yeah, then why didn’t you go for the D600, well because you get 25% more definition for twice the price.

12:13 pm - Sunday, September 23, 2012

#173 George Georgiou

PROS
> Good value for money
> Excellent ZOOM - no need to carry any other ZOOM lenses
> GOOD range of products - somewhat confusing (too many.. doing roughly the same thing)
> Very good quality up to 400 ASA
> Excellent photos if you use the camera in MANUAL mode (A,S, ISO up to 400 ASA)
> 4 batteries (recharchable) means you can have lots of shots
> AUTOFOCUS… (is this good or bad??) could be better with manual focus option.


CONS
> Would prefer LESS image processing
> Would prefer a better MICROPHONE (very bad audio quality… but you can tell me this is a camera and NOT a video camera)
> audible noise from ZOOM (while in VIDEO mode)
> Not able to have a MANUAL FOCUS MODE…
> Not very good quality for ASA> 800
> would prefer if it was faster (sequential photos) (3?? frames/second) but its ok.
> The DEFAULT PROGRAMS COULD BE BETTER (not very clever algorithms)

GENERAL PROBLEM (with ALL CAMERAS..)
Lots of other responsibilities.. NO TIME TO ENJOY MY HOBBY…


My experience..  mostly MANUAL.
> LUBITEL 2 (TWIN LENS…)(120 FILM) (got it in 1980 as a present)
> ZENIT 35 mm SLR
> SIGMA CAMERA (SLR)
> other cameras (point and shoot)
> Lots of lenses 135mm, 200mm, 400mm 2x etc
> Lots of filters (COKIN etc)(we did’t had any PHOTOSHOP at that time)

9:25 am - Thursday, September 27, 2012

#174 Mo

Had this camera for a while. Was decent at first but the image quality at 100% crop was horrendous. Even at ISO100 in bright daylight, the noise was abysmal. The images are also left with a strange effect akin to brushstrokes. That along with a lack of RAW mode meant I couldn’t use this camera after a while. Decided to upgrade instead.

7:35 pm - Tuesday, April 2, 2013

#175 Jackie Girl

Hi!May I have some advise on what type of camera to buy? I am looking for a long zoom camera something above 20x Optical zoom with something above 14.00 megapixels. I have been using a Canon Powershot. It has 12.00 megapixels and 20x Optical zoom. One thing I LOVED about the Canon Powershot is that it had a LED switch screen. And I would love to find something with that type of screen. I am looking to up grade to something more professional, longer zoom, and better picture. I am new to the world of Photography and I need something easy to handle, and because I will be taking pictures of kids and animals, I would like something that does good with fast movement. My budget limit is $400.00 . Thanks and feel free to make suggestions! :D

11:42 pm - Sunday, May 26, 2013

#176 Alecs

some of those 64 iso photos are taken way under the shutter speed they should be at , dunno what settings you used on those samples , i am no professional but i know for sure that the pictures i take with this camera come out way better than what you have here , not all the shots were on a bright light situation , i think using a 200 or 400 iso on them would of worked better and just cranking up that shutter speed would of made a better shot without that distortion and blur effect, as price and quality goes i am very pleased with it doing macros , landscapes and even portraits with it , it seems a good option as a compact for those who want to start using a dslr

2:29 am - Wednesday, August 14, 2013

#177 JOHNNY inside

SIMPLY PUT: DON’T BUY THIS CAMERA!

WHY?: Because everything is a factory problem. The thing is that they were playing with a big zoom and they found that a long pipe makes everything darker and darkness creates noise… so, they planned how to remove that noise. And they end up with a simple formula. You take a bunch of pixels and if one of them is different from the rest, then you just replace that pixel by the surrounded color and the noise is gone.

The only problem is that this procedure SHOULD BE OPTIONAL. The photographer should select whether s/he wants this procedure ran on the pictures or not.

I LOVE THIS CAMERA: The zoom is wild! And the image stabilizer works like no other. Colors are also pretty nice for its price. Nice flash for a flip up built-in one. Digital + optical zoom + tripod can help you take pictures of the Moon and its crates.

I HATE THIS CAMERA: A white vertical 1-pixel-line appeard on its display (furtunally not on the picture) after 2 months of use. At 6 months the text on the buttons at the back of the camera is gone. The glue used to hold the rubber grap could not hold the hot sunny days from the Caribbean. This camera takes up to 3 seconds between shots to focus. The display is becoming white on borders after 2 years (like a vignette). The pictures seems to be taken with a cell phone (not even a smart phone) and then they are resized to reach the publicity on the camera that reads 14 Megapixels. The video records the motor sound when you zoom. No firmware update is available, instead they produced the S4000A and even published an update for this new model. As I am in Cuba, I won’t have the chance to ask for a refund, replace or alike. So, I’ll be lucky enough if I can sell it for half price.

Sorry, Fujifilm… but after this experience… you are not a brand I could trust for the next 30 years.

2:45 pm - Friday, April 8, 2016

Entry Tags

hd video, hd, 3 inch LCD, 720p, hdmi, fujifilm, super-zoom, 14 megapixel, super zoom, finepix, 30x, s4000, Fujifilm FinePix S4000 Review, fujifilm s4000, finepix s4000