Fujifilm FinePix SL1000 Review

4.0
March 5, 2013 | Matt Grayson |

Your Comments

19 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 Warren Lyons

Hey Matt, if you had to choose, would you take this Fuji or the Canon SX50?  They are close enough in price so that should not be a major factor in deciding. Also, Sony should be coming out with their HX300 with the same 50X zoom.  How about doing a three way shootout between these “nifty fifties”?

2:21 pm - Thursday, March 7, 2013

#2 Dabs

Of what I have read and since the Fuji SL1000 isn’t out yet I think it is the best one of the 3..  I have held the Canon SX50 in my hand and it has a slick grip on it as far as I am concerned.  It also doesn’t have the lens the Canon has.  And the Sony is yet to be looked at and it only has the F2.8 compared to the Fuji with a F2.9 lens..  The Fuji also has quit a few or features compared with the other two.  Just my opinion.  Dabs…..

10:05 pm - Sunday, March 17, 2013

#3 Antonio

I like this camera, it has a good quality, good assembly, tilt screen, F2.9, the only “negative” is the video to 60i instead of 60p, so look forward to the sony hx300v for his video at 60p. then decide my purchase

10:02 am - Monday, March 25, 2013

#4 Dominic

I have the new Sony DSC-HX300 and the Canon SX50. Amazing features and effects in Sony, very easy to kick in compared to Canon. Panorama so easy on Sony.Took shots on birds and moon at 50x,100x and 200X, Canon was incredible. Regular photos on both excellent. Looking at this and hope it combines them. Great job on your review.

4:48 am - Wednesday, March 27, 2013

#5 Dabs

Well of all the Bridge cameras, only 3or4 have 50X Optical zoom. If what I have read on the internet the Canon seems to have the best quality photos but the Fuji SL1000 is very very close if not the same. But the Canons Vew finder and screen only have 202 thousand dots and the LCD monitor had 461 thousand compared to the Fuji which has 921,000 dots, much much better.  I wish the Fuji had manual focus I know the Fuji HS50 does but the picture quality isn’t suppose to be very good plus it is only 44X Optical zoom..  that’s all folks.  Dabs….

12:25 pm - Thursday, May 9, 2013

#6 Dabs

Does anyone know if there will be an upgrade of these Bridge cameras in the near future?  Or are there any new Bridge cameras due. I can’t find any information on the internet.  Just wondering if I should wait a little longer or purchase one of these now.  thanx, that’s all folks..  Dabs…

12:44 pm - Saturday, May 18, 2013

#7 nando

Voldria saber quin és el preu de la fuji finepix SL1000 a españa, i on puc comprar-la? no la trobo a les botigues de fotografia. La vaig veure a Lanzarote a un preu de 325 euros.

Tinc una samsung WB600 amb molt bon resultat però li manca zoom. També si algú pot aclarir-me el perquè no em conserva l’ordre de les fotos fetes quan les passo a lòrdinador, doncs me les barreja sense ordre.

agrairé comentaris sobre la FUJI i la SAMSUNG

9:34 pm - Thursday, May 23, 2013

#8 John Elliott

does anyone know where I can but a travel charger for my sL1000 and np-85 lith battery

6:42 pm - Monday, May 27, 2013

#9 John Elliott

does anyone know where I can buy a travel charger for my sL1000 and np-85 lith battery preferably in uk

6:44 pm - Monday, May 27, 2013

#10 alireza from iran

hi, i bought fuji sl1000 and i just can tell u it’s not bad…i like digital zoom while i’m on movie recording but there is just 100x zoom. i think sony hx300 is better for it’s quality and 200x zoom. sl1000 is the only camera with 50x and a 240-480 frames movie recording, that is Excellence

3:03 pm - Thursday, September 12, 2013

#11 Terry

Great camera, I really think I’ve bought the best in the compact big zoom class. Just one little niggle I got is that the sound play-back for video is hardly audible. Can anyone confirm this? If not my camera must be faulty.

5:44 pm - Thursday, October 31, 2013

#12 Stuart

Can anyone confirm if when using the optical zoom of the sl1000,the subject remains in focus and can be tracked throughout

8:27 pm - Saturday, November 2, 2013

#13 Terry

I think that’s the intention, Stuart. Through the menu and zoom af options we can select continuous, but in my experience the camera can’t cope with too much information - like most camera’s in fact. Low light or too much light also tends to complicate things. I tried photographing the sun the other day - camera got very confused.

7:34 am - Sunday, November 3, 2013

#14 Kayla

Hi there, I am going on a trip soon and I am looking for a good camera the Fujifilm finepixSL1000 is in the price range I am looking for. It seems to have good reviews. Is this a good beginner’s camera?

9:31 pm - Saturday, November 9, 2013

#15 alireza from iran

I would recommend that you buy a sony hx300 instead of Sl1000

3:38 pm - Thursday, November 14, 2013

#16 eslam mahmoud

i bought this one after having a nikon coolpix 310
this camera is very good
zooming is awesome even without tripod
it is good for amateur for its auto mode
and for beginners for its manual mode

9:25 pm - Monday, December 9, 2013

#17 Fred Woodruff

A good all rounder
Good value for money but why oh why no filter mount.Shame on you. Fuji!!

8:05 pm - Saturday, December 21, 2013

#18 Allan

I recently bought the new Fujifilm Finepix SL1000, mainly for the 50x optical zoom, having had also a Canon SX30 IS, with a 35x optical zoom, which I found to be a very nice camera, especially for the use of the zoom, which produced clear crisp shots at the full 35x zoom.
I am in the process now of testing the capabilities of the SL1000, which has disapointed me, the quality of photo, taken at the full 50x zoom, and no where near the quality of the canon SX30 IS.

8:33 am - Tuesday, January 7, 2014

#19 Allan

So am now contemplating selling the SL1000, to buy the Canon with the 50x optical zoom.
Also the fact that the SL1000 hasnt the anti shake function, like the Canon does, which makes the use of a tripod, or a place to put the camera on, when using the full 50x zoom a must, otherwise the resulting photos are blurry.

8:43 am - Tuesday, January 7, 2014

Entry Tags

hd video, hd, 3 inch LCD, 16 megapixel, hdmi, super-zoom, fujifilm, 1080i, tilting, super zoom, finepix, tilt, 50x, Fujifilm FinePix SL1000 Review, fujifilm sl1000, finepix sl1000, sl1000

Tracker Pixel for Entry