Fujifilm FinePix SL1000 Review

4.0
March 5, 2013 | Matt Grayson |

Your Comments

31 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 Warren Lyons

Hey Matt, if you had to choose, would you take this Fuji or the Canon SX50?  They are close enough in price so that should not be a major factor in deciding. Also, Sony should be coming out with their HX300 with the same 50X zoom.  How about doing a three way shootout between these “nifty fifties”?

2:21 pm - Thursday, March 7, 2013

#2 Dabs

Of what I have read and since the Fuji SL1000 isn’t out yet I think it is the best one of the 3..  I have held the Canon SX50 in my hand and it has a slick grip on it as far as I am concerned.  It also doesn’t have the lens the Canon has.  And the Sony is yet to be looked at and it only has the F2.8 compared to the Fuji with a F2.9 lens..  The Fuji also has quit a few or features compared with the other two.  Just my opinion.  Dabs…..

10:05 pm - Sunday, March 17, 2013

#3 Antonio

I like this camera, it has a good quality, good assembly, tilt screen, F2.9, the only “negative” is the video to 60i instead of 60p, so look forward to the sony hx300v for his video at 60p. then decide my purchase

10:02 am - Monday, March 25, 2013

#4 Dominic

I have the new Sony DSC-HX300 and the Canon SX50. Amazing features and effects in Sony, very easy to kick in compared to Canon. Panorama so easy on Sony.Took shots on birds and moon at 50x,100x and 200X, Canon was incredible. Regular photos on both excellent. Looking at this and hope it combines them. Great job on your review.

4:48 am - Wednesday, March 27, 2013

#5 Dabs

Well of all the Bridge cameras, only 3or4 have 50X Optical zoom. If what I have read on the internet the Canon seems to have the best quality photos but the Fuji SL1000 is very very close if not the same. But the Canons Vew finder and screen only have 202 thousand dots and the LCD monitor had 461 thousand compared to the Fuji which has 921,000 dots, much much better.  I wish the Fuji had manual focus I know the Fuji HS50 does but the picture quality isn’t suppose to be very good plus it is only 44X Optical zoom..  that’s all folks.  Dabs….

12:25 pm - Thursday, May 9, 2013

#6 Dabs

Does anyone know if there will be an upgrade of these Bridge cameras in the near future?  Or are there any new Bridge cameras due. I can’t find any information on the internet.  Just wondering if I should wait a little longer or purchase one of these now.  thanx, that’s all folks..  Dabs…

12:44 pm - Saturday, May 18, 2013

#7 nando

Voldria saber quin és el preu de la fuji finepix SL1000 a españa, i on puc comprar-la? no la trobo a les botigues de fotografia. La vaig veure a Lanzarote a un preu de 325 euros.

Tinc una samsung WB600 amb molt bon resultat però li manca zoom. També si algú pot aclarir-me el perquè no em conserva l’ordre de les fotos fetes quan les passo a lòrdinador, doncs me les barreja sense ordre.

agrairé comentaris sobre la FUJI i la SAMSUNG

9:34 pm - Thursday, May 23, 2013

#8 John Elliott

does anyone know where I can but a travel charger for my sL1000 and np-85 lith battery

6:42 pm - Monday, May 27, 2013

#9 John Elliott

does anyone know where I can buy a travel charger for my sL1000 and np-85 lith battery preferably in uk

6:44 pm - Monday, May 27, 2013

#10 alireza from iran

hi, i bought fuji sl1000 and i just can tell u it’s not bad…i like digital zoom while i’m on movie recording but there is just 100x zoom. i think sony hx300 is better for it’s quality and 200x zoom. sl1000 is the only camera with 50x and a 240-480 frames movie recording, that is Excellence

3:03 pm - Thursday, September 12, 2013

#11 Terry

Great camera, I really think I’ve bought the best in the compact big zoom class. Just one little niggle I got is that the sound play-back for video is hardly audible. Can anyone confirm this? If not my camera must be faulty.

5:44 pm - Thursday, October 31, 2013

#12 Stuart

Can anyone confirm if when using the optical zoom of the sl1000,the subject remains in focus and can be tracked throughout

8:27 pm - Saturday, November 2, 2013

#13 Terry

I think that’s the intention, Stuart. Through the menu and zoom af options we can select continuous, but in my experience the camera can’t cope with too much information - like most camera’s in fact. Low light or too much light also tends to complicate things. I tried photographing the sun the other day - camera got very confused.

7:34 am - Sunday, November 3, 2013

#14 Kayla

Hi there, I am going on a trip soon and I am looking for a good camera the Fujifilm finepixSL1000 is in the price range I am looking for. It seems to have good reviews. Is this a good beginner’s camera?

9:31 pm - Saturday, November 9, 2013

#15 alireza from iran

I would recommend that you buy a sony hx300 instead of Sl1000

3:38 pm - Thursday, November 14, 2013

#16 eslam mahmoud

i bought this one after having a nikon coolpix 310
this camera is very good
zooming is awesome even without tripod
it is good for amateur for its auto mode
and for beginners for its manual mode

9:25 pm - Monday, December 9, 2013

#17 Fred Woodruff

A good all rounder
Good value for money but why oh why no filter mount.Shame on you. Fuji!!

8:05 pm - Saturday, December 21, 2013

#18 Allan

I recently bought the new Fujifilm Finepix SL1000, mainly for the 50x optical zoom, having had also a Canon SX30 IS, with a 35x optical zoom, which I found to be a very nice camera, especially for the use of the zoom, which produced clear crisp shots at the full 35x zoom.
I am in the process now of testing the capabilities of the SL1000, which has disapointed me, the quality of photo, taken at the full 50x zoom, and no where near the quality of the canon SX30 IS.

8:33 am - Tuesday, January 7, 2014

#19 Allan

So am now contemplating selling the SL1000, to buy the Canon with the 50x optical zoom.
Also the fact that the SL1000 hasnt the anti shake function, like the Canon does, which makes the use of a tripod, or a place to put the camera on, when using the full 50x zoom a must, otherwise the resulting photos are blurry.

8:43 am - Tuesday, January 7, 2014

#20 Duncan

My S7000 which I have been very happy with for many years was stolen recently in a housebreaking. I am looking for a successor when the insurance payment finally comes through and am very attracted to the
SL1000.  What does however put me off is the lack of capability to attach filters, this may send me to my next preference, the Nikon D3200.

7:19 pm - Wednesday, June 18, 2014

#21 allan

Hi, I recently purchased the Fujifilm SL 1000, mainly for the 50xzoom, to replace the 35xzoom that the Canon I had used, and enjoyed for 2 years. But I`m disappointed with the SL1000, especially at the 50xzoom, which doesn’t compare in quality and sharpness on the 35xzoom of the Canon, plus the fact that a filter cant be attached to the SL1000. The camera is ok for the smaller zoom settings, but dismal at the larger setting.
I wonder how the Canon 50xzoom would compare with the Fuji SL1000? Any comments??

11:13 pm - Wednesday, June 18, 2014

#22 Richard

Re the lack of ability to attach filters etc, go to E-Bay and buy an adapter for £7-99

10:31 am - Monday, June 23, 2014

#23 Lee

I’m considering buying either the Fuji l1000 or the Sony Hx300. Which one in your opinion is the better camera? Thanks Lee

10:33 am - Sunday, June 29, 2014

#24 Dave

PRICE

Package on Amazon UK from (MegaDeals UK) with 32GB card PLUS case for £199.99.#

12:48 pm - Tuesday, July 8, 2014

#25 Lord John Alldis

Just bought one amazing Camera totally blown away with it

4:06 pm - Tuesday, July 8, 2014

#26 Lord John Alldis

Recently purchased one blown away by the features sturdy easy to use great camera easy to use great buy would highly recommend this product to All

11:00 am - Sunday, July 13, 2014

#27 joel labbe

Hi,
I purchased this lovely SL1000, and i won’t part with it, because i found the ideal tool to make more with less.What makes it valuable is its compactness et richness of features.I was fed up with carrying two bulky Canon, one for landscape and one for close-ups.  It is a pleasure to go from 24mm to 1200 mm in a blink of an eye, with excellent to good results.For street photography, it is more than enough, and discretion is assured with silent mode. True, sometimes, light is too low for it to capture fast action.  Actually i don’t use it for fast action, i use Canon 60D.  ISO is sometimes to high to my taste, but it is very well dealt with by the camera. I don’t venture behond ISO 3200, because quality isn’t there.  Moreover, features such as low light pro, HDR, high Key are very useful in all sorts of settings.Just don’t expect it to capture fast action, that’s all, and you will be happy with it.  A very well done camera.  It’s worth it.

6:27 pm - Thursday, July 24, 2014

#28 maggie

I go to a lot of very loud rock concerts so I am looking for a good camera to capture good Images while a band Is in motion and also can handle clearly recording at loud volumes. My current camera is a sony cybershot dsc h10 and I love it. Every video from all the concerts comes out crystal clear, unlike a lot of other cameras. Plus the pictures turn out very good too. But it is time to update. Need more of a zoom. Does anyone have experience with this camera at concerts and know if it can handle such volumes? Or have any suggestions to any other camers?

5:29 pm - Saturday, August 16, 2014

#29 latte boyz

Nonsense all.

4:25 am - Monday, September 8, 2014

#30 jayne

hi all. i am looking into purchasing this model of camera, read some of the reviews, but i am in a camera club and shoot models, subjects, bits of everything. ive been told about shooting in raw etc. so…............has anyone actually used this and are happy with it? i am a novice, but improving, as the camera i currently have (Fujifilm finepix s4500) is neither use nor ornament when shooting studio shots. the settings are horrible and the class is over by the time i have figured out the settings. i want a camera that is Jayne understandable :) is this the one?

9:52 pm - Wednesday, October 15, 2014

#31 Sam

Jayne,  I’m not sure by “this” you mean this camera or you mean raw mode. I just found out about RAW not too long ago and I’m trying to learn how to use it especially that I’ve just bought the SL1000. Some reviewers say that RAW mode is useless in bridge cameras but I’m not sure about that. I’ve taken some RAW pics with this camera just to try and see what adjustments can be done to the pic and I think you can do a lot of things to change the final result IF YOU KNOW WHAT YOU’RE DOING. Unfortunately like I said I’m new to this RAW thing and I didn’t really know what I was doing as there are tons of settings and controls most of which I didn’t understand (I downloaded a software called rawtherapee which is way more complicated than the silkypix software that came with the camera). I have no doubt someone who knows what he’s doing can get better results using RAW than the in-camera processing. If you’re asking if this is a good camera, well, I’m new to photography and still have a lot of learning to do and I still haven’t actually used the camera much or tried its manual controls but from reading literally 100’s of reviews (by both professionals and consumers) this seems the best camera for the money and I think it offers more than any of the competitors and that’s why I picked it. It’s supposed to be a good beginner’s/novice camera. Some say the canon SX50 gives better image quality but many say not by much and they say the SL1000 performs better in low light. However, for someone who is going to do a lot of low light shooting I heard that Panasonic lumix fz200 is the best choice and it beats all the other bridge cameras but it also cost more and it has a smaller zoom (only 24X). The other thing, if you want to get into photography there’s NO way around having to learn some basic stuff. You can NOT take good photos without learning how to use a camera and understanding its controls.

12:15 pm - Friday, October 17, 2014

Entry Tags

hd video, hd, 3 inch LCD, 16 megapixel, hdmi, super-zoom, fujifilm, tilting, 1080i, super zoom, finepix, tilt, 50x, sl1000, Fujifilm FinePix SL1000 Review, fujifilm sl1000, finepix sl1000

Tracker Pixel for Entry