Fujifilm FinePix SL300 Review

3.5
May 30, 2012 | Mark Goldstein |

Your Comments

33 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 JS

I think it deserves more stars for IQ…

3:16 pm - Wednesday, May 30, 2012

#2 CHFels

I agree with JS - I’ve seen a number of cameras with worse images get 4 stars here on PB.  As I’ve commented before, when you see a large number of higher-than-200 ISO photos in the sample images, you can infer that PB wants to justify a low IQ rating.  The present review can only be characterized as sabotage in this respect; why the heck are we getting ISO 800 photos taken outdoors in broad (albeit English) daylight? 

Notice that there is essentially no chromatic aberration, and that corner sharpness seems quite good even on the full-telephoto shots… sure, it’s an imperfect compact camera, but there are some things this camera is doing right that even Fuji’s high-priced EXR models have been failing at lately.

6:59 pm - Wednesday, May 30, 2012

#3 zebarnabe

At ISO 800 it gives up… it really gives up, I never seen so steep degradation on image quality when increasing the ISO from 400 to 800….

7:08 pm - Wednesday, May 30, 2012

#4 shd

@ JS and @CHFels

you guys are right, the outdoor shots are taken at ISO 800 which is not at all correct, i see some bias-ness in the review

if you want to give good rating-(click pics with lower ISO) ...........see review of nikon coolpix s9300 and pannny TZ-30

if you want to give bad rating-(click pics with Higher ISO)

SL300 does well at the lower end of the ISO but fails miserable at ISO 800.
a mediocre camera.

10:15 am - Thursday, May 31, 2012

#5 George Durie

I like the sound of this camera but I just don’t like the design of it. I prefer Canon’s model style.

10:42 am - Thursday, May 31, 2012

#6 Donnie Biggs

The Image Quality is just disgusting, worse than a regular cellphone. What a waste of money for that 300 bucks!!!

7:44 am - Friday, June 1, 2012

#7 Hristo

If the pictures coming from this camera look like a painting, what should we call the ones from Sony HX200V? Abstract art? The pictures from the Sony are a mess of blotches even at ISO100! However it got 4 for image quality. Maybe because Sony is a big name and should never be criticized?

I have been a keen reader of this site for years, but reviews like this could only make me doubt its credibility.

8:11 am - Friday, June 1, 2012

#8 tikihousebum

Nothing wrong with these pictures. Whoever said they look worst than a cell phone must be blind or works for the competition.

2:51 pm - Friday, June 1, 2012

#9 Peter Barton

I have owned many digital cameras. If you want the best then an SLR will do the business. I still have one but it is such a pain having to carry it around with the lenses ; and time changing them means losing pictures.This camera produces excellent prints at A4 size at ISOs up to 400 ; far better than could be achieved in the old film days. It also has sensor stabilisation which gives you a further 3 stops equivalent. I do wish that that camera reviewers would not base a lot of their findings on the habit of expanding pictures on a computer screen having used unrealistic camera settings. Please use realistic settings and then print pictures out and compare with pictures taken with’superior’ cameras.There will be a difference but not noticed by most people.

4:55 pm - Sunday, June 3, 2012

#10 bambam

I have the s1500 and i love it. Fuji is one of the few mkers out there that makes cameras open, fully manual controls at a reasonable price. I wouldnt mind getting this one for the lithium batt and more zoom plus the panoramic upgrade…people complaint about IQ but its all bout settings and the photographer context of photographing. Go to flickr and you will see a bunch of lousy pics taken with dslr..yes, good quality images but lousy compositions and context.

7:04 pm - Sunday, June 3, 2012

#11 ElementElectronics

This looks like a fantastic camera & one that is Eye-Fi compatible as well. Please have a look at our site for all flavors of these memory cards & other photo accessories!

10:19 pm - Monday, June 4, 2012

#12 rikr

Why Fuji cameras are so bad lastly?

12:00 pm - Friday, June 8, 2012

#13 antoniodecapri

this web site is too good for clear the doubts about camera,before buying..
thanks

5:39 pm - Sunday, June 17, 2012

#14 Ace

This is another good Camera from Fujifilm!

The price has come down as well on this….

http://amzn.to/L43oPT

Happy Snapping!

1:38 pm - Wednesday, June 20, 2012

#15 thelion

i will be heading to Africa soon and i am wondering if this is the right camera for capturing all of the wildlife i will see when i am safari, i am a little worried about the shutter speed lag, how much will this effect the picture quantity and quality of wildlife?

8:46 am - Thursday, June 21, 2012

#16 zebarnabe

Hmmm, my choice on cheap bridges is with Kodak Z990 ... old, a bit slugish and with over expose tendencies, but a bit cheaper, featured packed and delivers better quality on most situations (at least more consistent when the light is not so perfect)

A sad note on the K990 review here in PB is that they shot most of the samples well beyond the diffraction limit… Like they did on this one with high ISO…

There is no perfect camera though… as the saying goes, the best camera is the one you have with you, still ... a Travel Zoom camera looks like a better deal :/

9:49 am - Thursday, June 21, 2012

#17 vizc

thelion. Africa, that sounds like a trip of a lifetime! Although I would get this camera if I had the money (I currently own the s1500), I would spend a 100 more bucks and get the HS25. Granted, the HS25 does not come with lithium batteries but still worth it. In Canada they are selling the HS25 for $299, not a bad pick. cheers

7:58 pm - Thursday, June 21, 2012

#18 Mushafiq

i bought this cam with lower zoom (sl260) this is an awesome cam it produces great image quality and it captures fantistic shots in slow shutter

4:05 am - Monday, July 2, 2012

#19 Anoop

Who is going to buy this camera…
1/2.3 CCD—> No CMOS
No Full HD Video
Min Aperture 3.1
Macro 7cm
Poor battery: 300 shots
This camera is totally disappointing…

Adding few more bucks one can easily get SX40/HX100v

10:33 am - Wednesday, July 11, 2012

#20 zebarnabe

Anoop,

While I don’t look at sl300 with good eyes, 300 shots isn’t that bad (if they are measured according to CIPA measurement standard), my camera says 350 shots, and I took more than 1000 with a single charge (filled an 8GB card)

With SX220 HS being found at less than 200€, this camera has no chance with an informed buyer….

3:48 pm - Wednesday, July 11, 2012

#21 CL

I have mixed feelings about this camera. At times it does amazing work and at times it completely lets me down. I photograph wildlife mainly. Bald Eagles in particular and at 1/800s at F5.9 and 400ISO with me holding the button down to focus it doesn’t always take a focused shot.

For instance, the above settings and an juvenile eagle jumps a few feet the image is out of focus! I had the button down, it was focused before the jump but during it didn’t take a focused shot where 1/800s SHOULD HAVE frozen the bird and remained focused.

IF I am doing something wrong PLEASE let me know. Otherwise the camera does decent work at ISO 400 and lower.

8:42 am - Thursday, July 26, 2012

#22 fkrid

Only one adivice: don’t go more than ISO400 otherwise you’ll get bad photos. In consequence to have nice prctures by night you need a tripod.

10:38 am - Tuesday, August 28, 2012

#23 Rob Mac

I picked up the SL300 at a sale and am pleased with it. I sometimes get annoyed at comments rubbishing this type of camera in spite of its good features and low price etc. It’s often compared to more expensive Canon or Nikon bridge cameras which are better in some areas but you get what you pay for. I also own a Canon SX220HS 14x zoom travel cam. Yes, it does have better low light IQ mainly due to the Back Illuminated CMOS sensor and image processor and it does have full HD movies etc,  so why buy the Fuji?  When I am outside in bright sunlight especially using a long focal length, I find the camera body grip and EVF (with diopter -I wear glasses) so much better than the LCD on the smaller bodied slippery Canon. The focal range of the Fuji is much bigger at both ends, too. The Canon battery life is much poorer. Also, in spite of the better high ISO performance of the Canon, it tends to blow highlights very easily. The Fuji does tend to use excessive amounts of noise reduction giving a ‘painted’ look but who views pics all the time at pixel level? My point is in spite of “better” cams out there for ‘not much more money’ each camera has it’s strengths and weakness. For everyday versatility and compactness, I choose my Canon. For outdoor long zoom scenery etc shooting, I choose the Fuji. Both great digicams for the money.

7:26 am - Saturday, September 15, 2012

#24 rich

why is it the battery monitor not appearing in the screen of my fujifil Sl 300??? please help me, what to do…

3:10 pm - Saturday, December 1, 2012

#25 lalcot

Rich.. I believe it might be due to your firmware version being 1.0.. you need to flash it to 1.01 . Get the flash file from fujifilm site.

1:54 pm - Friday, December 7, 2012

#26 Jinksy

Thanks for the detailed review and the helpful comments above.
Everyone has different priorities with there camera so you always get a mix of views which is good.
However it does annoy me when people say get the so so camera instead because its better, when it costs £70-£100 more! Of course its better and if I had £100 more to spend then I’d be buying that camera and not even reading a review for a lower spec camera!

10:55 pm - Wednesday, January 2, 2013

#27 Jim Lucas

I just purchased the SL300 (red) and find it does take excellent pix if used properly. The one problem I find is that when the lens is zoomed out there is a lot of “slop”. It does not appear to be snug fitting in the outer barrel. Is this normal or a defect? Thanks for any help.

5:49 pm - Saturday, March 23, 2013

#28 SuGu Illustration

Thanks for providing such an in-depth review of this camera. I have been looking for a modestly priced camera for some time to use as a tool for documenting my artwork, so this review was the selling point for my needs.

Again, thank you.

11:27 pm - Monday, March 25, 2013

#29 DiscoKid

So far, disappointed with colour rendering ..

Brilliant red sunset came out yellow!

Liked my old S7000 better

11:09 am - Friday, April 26, 2013

#30 Sharon W

I bought an SL300 a few months ago and I’m very unhappy with the quality of pictures that it’s giving me. Anything still is fine, but I wanted it to take photos of my dogs running and playing and it just can’t handle action shots. It doesn’t seem to be the shutter speed that’s the problem, I think it’s the the focusing speed or maybe the shutter delay (does it focus, then wait before it takes the shot?)  I have e-mailed Fuji and sent some examples because my Canon G12 takes far better photos and I’m wondering if it’s faulty.  Anyone else having problems with fast moving shots, even on the sports setting?

6:06 am - Thursday, June 6, 2013

#31 Orla Murphy

I’m looking to buy my first camera for food photography. I’m currently just using my iphone (don’t judge me! This was just a hobby but I want to up my game now!) My photos will be almost all of food and in medium-low light. I have a Groupon offer to buy this camera for €142 so I’m tempted! Any advice would be brilliant! Thanks!

12:12 pm - Saturday, July 6, 2013

#32 MIKE COOPER

Does the SL300 accept a remote shutter switch? (and which one?).  I want to “patch” a tongue-operated model, because of paralysis, on to a standard shutter switch, and can’t find confirmation in any specs.  Thanks.

8:00 pm - Monday, August 12, 2013

#33 rash

i just bought this model sl300, n still do a lot of experiment,my question is.. the picture that show on the screen look darker..but when i transfer the images to the laptop or PC, the images so much better than the displayed from the camera.. so its give me problem to now the quality of the images when i take photo.. how can this happen? anybody help?? (image in picture screen is worse than image at the laptop)

9:43 am - Tuesday, October 22, 2013

Entry Tags

hd video, hd, 3 inch LCD, 720p, hdmi, 14 megapixel, super-zoom, fujifilm, super zoom, finepix, 30x, fujifilm sl300, finepix sl300, sl300, Fujifilm FinePix SL300 Review

Tracker Pixel for Entry