Fujifilm FinePix X10 Review

4.5
November 23, 2011 | Mark Goldstein |

Your Comments

79 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 robertodiez

Excelent review Mark! Your RAW samples were very enlightening. Thanks!

5:19 pm - Wednesday, November 23, 2011

#2 joost

What’s the aspect ratio of the lcd monitor? Wish you would include that detail in all of you reviews!

5:39 pm - Wednesday, November 23, 2011

#3 Mad Hungarian

Most exciting camera coming out in years. The only thing I would add is a fold out rotating LCD and AA batteries. With those two features this would be the perfect camera. Made in Japan quality which will make this camera last a lifetime, and even future generations would inherit this with pride. Fantastic!

5:57 pm - Wednesday, November 23, 2011

#4 nomoreripoffs

I would love this camera,an excellent review as always and I’m in total agreement about the cost issue you’ve raised.
$599 equates to £385.76 at todays rates, this price inflation HAS TO STOP!!!

6:33 pm - Wednesday, November 23, 2011

#5 David

Hi
I have been using the X10 for about 1 month and the only problem I have found is that if you use the filter adapter and lens hood or even just the filter adapter the flash is unusable ecause it masks the flash.
Other than that it is a very good well made camera.

David

6:36 pm - Wednesday, November 23, 2011

#6 Rock

I have had this camera for two weeks now and I must say it is the best combination of fun, intuitive ease of use, and technical quality I have seen in a camera for many years. Once I learned to keep my thumb off the menu button while shooting it became my favorite camera. I also have the Fuji X100 which is like a granny gently swaying back and forth in a rocking chair compared to the inspiring engineering spirit of the X10. I print mostly 8x10s and I can’t tell the difference in the quality of the prints from the X10, X100 or my Canon 5D Mk II with prime lenses (after minimal processing of the images with DxO and Lightroom) I will definitely sell the X100 now and am very tempted to get rid of the Canon 5D MK II as well. All that bulk and weight and fuss, who needs it? I don’t anymore. By the way, I am not a pro photographer, just an enthusiastic amateur, but I must have spent a pro budget on buying and selling about 20 different cameras, both film and digital, over the past few years until I found the one that gave me the freedom (and courage) to forget the technology and just be creative when it counts: the X10. Yes, there are other small cameras that are probably just as good or better but for my hands and the way I take pictures the X10 is the ticket. In the end it is a very personal choice, like buying a car, I suppose. Oh, movie mode is also very nice. Shot some footage while going through a car wash (the old kind with the rotating brushes) and it looks great. I could not have done that with a big SLR in movie mode without clobbering my wife in the passenger seat with the equally big lens. Small is beautiful, I guess (and more practical). No, I don’t work for Fuji or a camera store. I am just a humble public servant who has been taking pictures for 45 years. Thanks.

9:21 pm - Wednesday, November 23, 2011

#7 andy clad

Hmm, this one looks very interesting indeed. I wonder what Canon and Panasonic have up their sleeve. Come on Santa, Ive been a good boy this year!!

11:05 pm - Wednesday, November 23, 2011

#8 Xpanded

You write: “Image Stabilisation is Fujifilm’s name for anti-shake, which in the X10 works via a sensor-shift mechanism.”

In the X10 catalogue it says: “The newly developed OIS (optical image stabilization) mechanism…” and The Fuji Guys showed a cut through lens and specifically showed the elements responsible for minimizing the shake.

To my knowledge lens based IS is more efficient than sensor based, so it does make a different to people trying to decide upon a camera.

Otherwise well written (as usual) and love the picture of the red shoes.

Regards
Xpanded

11:29 pm - Wednesday, November 23, 2011

#9 danaceb

@nomoreripoffs

Are you mad? Direct your anger at Ricoh, Nikon or Pentax for price gouging, but not Fuji. Sure the X10 is a bracket above the G12 and XZ-1 lot in price, but as you are clearly oblivious to; the X10 is many many brackets superior by every measure that matters to a camera to those inferior cameras.

First off its sensor is not nearly as small as you and many others likely think (the X10 2/3” is much bigger than the 1/2.3” in the pentax Q, and bigger than the 1/1.7 in the S95) and its lens is sublime, and the OVF and auto modes make this no fiddle just shoot camera.

1:18 am - Thursday, November 24, 2011

#10 Will

@danaceb

So why do Brits have to pay more for this camera than Americans. That’s what he’s on about!

3:57 am - Thursday, November 24, 2011

#11 Bill

Thanks for the usual excellent review. Only question I have is, some of the images (see the bridge, the 100 iso test image of the series) are out of focus…problem with autofocus, or were these possibly manually mis-focused?

4:29 am - Thursday, November 24, 2011

#12 hugh

@nomoreripoffs & @will

20% VAT, higher tax rates and an inclusive health care system… ;-)

7:08 am - Thursday, November 24, 2011

#13 KevG

Good review. What sells it for me is the manual zoom control, other manufacturers please take note!
As for the UK/US price difference thats something that has always existed - our tax rates are much higher than in the US, but we have a better welfare infrastructure.  Anyway all we have to do is wait 2 or 3 months and the price will come down.  The X100 has dropped almost £200 since it’s introduction earlier this year, and a local retailer has the Canon G12 at £399.  Just be patient.

9:35 am - Thursday, November 24, 2011

#14 Dan

A mate picked one up last week for £430. Pretty reasonable.

9:51 am - Thursday, November 24, 2011

#15 PDE

I got my X10 directly from Amazon UK for 428 pounds, or roughly USD 665 - a tiny bit more than the US price with state tax. Wonderful camera in every way! When they add an EVF and a larger sensor, this will be the perfect camera. As it is, it’s merely the best compact available on the market.. :-)

12:31 pm - Thursday, November 24, 2011

#16 joyreggae

why the price is not stable? as for information, i bought x10 $850 here in indonesia. that’s huge different price..

3:54 am - Friday, November 25, 2011

#17 Peter Foot

The best camera review I’ve come across - very detailed and informative, thank you. I don’t own the X10, but plan to soon. These days, the vast majority of digital cameras produce great quality. For more serious photography, you need to want to use the equipment and get pleasure from that…as well as the output….I get this with Apple products and I think I’ll find the same with the X10, beautifully designed and quality feel - that’s worth paying for :-)

9:47 am - Friday, November 25, 2011

#18 David Clarke

Very good revue. There is also a lot more quality to be gained in post processing if you shoot in EXR mode. I’ve had mine for a couple of weeks and can’t sing its praises loud enough.

2:43 pm - Saturday, November 26, 2011

#19 Mr Clicky

The macro test shot indicates a pronounced softness at the edges but there isn’t a full size pic to inspect, just the thumbnail. Has any owner experienced an inordinate amount of softening at the edges?

I’m keen to but but I live in a remote place and have to take a punt based on online reviews rater than hands-on testing.

thanks!

Mr C.

10:18 am - Sunday, November 27, 2011

#20 Mr Clicky

Has any owner seen a marked softening at the edges in macro mode? The thumbnail test image in the review isn’t linked to a larger shot so its hard too tell…

I live in a remote area so have to take a punt on online reviews rather than getting to play up close so any comments on the macro quality at 1cm would be most appreciated!

Mr C.

10:23 am - Sunday, November 27, 2011

#21 joe

not a techie, but years ago I got tired up upgrading my point and shoot 2/3/4/5 mp P & S and went to my local real camera store asking for a legacy camera - a leica, or some other high end digital camera that I could use, love, and hand down to my kids.
Well, I walked out with a fujifilm F30.  Since then I have had a Panasonic fz-28, canon G10, nikon d40, olympus e-pL1, and Canon S95.  Love em all.
HOwever, when I saw the X100 i started to drool, and when i found out about the X10, well, i’ve been spending weeks online researching this.
No camera is perfect, but when I go back over the 10,000 travel pics i’ve taken over the past half decade, those from Croatia with my 6mp F30 are as good and riveting as any since, and perhaps a little more so.  Maybe it was Croatia, maybe the camera, but if this X10 is better than the F30 and my G10….well…..

9:32 pm - Sunday, November 27, 2011

#22 Howard

I have not seen any with the macro shot taken by hand or tripod.  Great camera. It works for me jus t the other poster, Rock.  I wouldn’t pay over $599. U.S. because the X100 is available.

Good luck

3:35 am - Monday, November 28, 2011

#23 Shanti

Yes it has alot of good features and probably the best high end compact at the moment,only problem is the White Dot/Blob/Orb syndrome..specular highlights turn into a 255 circular disk that totally detracts from the image..see dpreview fujitalk forum for examples..100’s of them…Fuji knows about this and hopefully will give us a fix soon,as this is unacceptable in a camera at this price point—shoot a metal/glass/water reflective surface with flash or strong lighting and you can see the orbs…

2:45 am - Friday, December 2, 2011

#24 Rick

Update: after nearly 4 weeks of use I found dust inside the lens. Not just dust but a 2mm strand of something that can be moved inside the lens with gentle tapping. Mt previous review, under the name “Rock” (typo, sorry) still stands as far as image quality and handling are concerned but the quality parameter has definitely taken a hit. I am returning the camera, hoping to buy an improved version in the near future.

11:28 pm - Sunday, December 4, 2011

#25 op204

http://www.dpreview.com/news/2011/12/07/fujifilmplansfirmware

5:48 am - Wednesday, December 7, 2011

#26 widey

I wish this lens started at 24mm equiv - to match Pansonic LX5 but with better Fuji sensor and handling. That would have been perfect.

2:15 pm - Saturday, December 10, 2011

#27 Michael McKee

Great review in general. I’m a bit surprised by your statement that 6fps somewhat limits the camera. Really? 6 frames per second for a point and shoot? In raw? It might take two hands to count the total number of point and shoots that even offer raw shooting. A year ago, that would have been excellent for a dSLR. Has frames per second become the new megapixel race?

10:43 pm - Saturday, December 10, 2011

#28 Eddie Bray

I’m pretty sure the following quote is incorrect:

We ran into some issues in bright sunlight when shooting in aperture and shutter priority modes, where the top shutter-speed limit of 1/1000th second at f/2 or f/2.8 often caused under-exposure.

Surely it would have caused over exposure otherwise why would you mention the built in neutral density filter that the x100 has?

2:41 pm - Saturday, December 17, 2011

#29 Shreeharsha

Hi,

Is it available in the Indian market currently??If so what’s the Indian price??

8:30 am - Saturday, December 31, 2011

#30 Andreas

It sounds very promising. I’ve got a Panasonic GF1 & I’m thinking of buying a 45mm f2.8 macro for close up shots. Would the x10 be a viable alternative in the macro department? Please let me know. Thanks.

4:15 am - Tuesday, January 3, 2012

#31 Fabio

Already ordered the Fuji X10 and the Nikon P7100, the white orbs problem seems to be exagerated but it’s important that users show Fuji that they are not happy about it and demand a fix . I think that a lot of people are trying to decide between these 2 cameras and I could’nt resist to have a personal test and see if the Fuji is worth the extra US$200,00 . I will post my opinion next week.

9:37 pm - Tuesday, January 17, 2012

#32 Adrian

Hi Fabio, I’ve got for 3 or 4 years the Nikon P6000 and I want to buy a better camera. I’m not sure which one should I buy between the Nikon P7100 and the Fujifilm X10.
Which one would you reccomend me? Please answer soon.
Thanks and sorry for my bad english, I normally speak Spanish or French.

6:16 pm - Wednesday, January 18, 2012

#33 Denver Wedding Photography

Excellent and down to earth review. We are panning on purchasing this in the near future and this review really helps cement that decision.

Best, D.

5:32 am - Friday, January 20, 2012

#34 Fabio

To Adrian

Today was my first day with both cameras and most of my time I spent in the machine shop making a filter adapter for the X10 , for protection and also to be able to use a comom lens cap with strap, the original lens cap is a work of art ( like the rest of the camera) but too easy to loose. had to use a 52mm filter ( like Fuji original filter adapter) but it blocks part of the viewfinder and the flash casts a shadow with it, Will try a 46mm filter. My adaptor is perfect !
  The Nikon is very intuitive and the controls are amazing but I’m a bit disappointed with high ISO quality ( above 400). Cameras like Nikon P500, S8100, S9100 not to mention Sony have a lot of multi burst modes that uses 3 or more shots taken very fast in order to improve quality in low light, why Nikon P7100 doesn’t ? Fuji has that feature but is a little bit slow in the process and camera must stand still, my HX9V does that very fast and you can take a very good low light picture without tripod.
  Non DSLR cameras doesnt depend on slow mirror mechanisms to take a picture and should use multi burst modes extensively, it’s the most important creation in the field of photography in recent times (my opinion) and helps overcome small sensor problems in low light.
  The OVF of the X10 is excellent, no information at all but is big and well placed in the left upper corner of the camera, you don’t need to press your nose to the LCD, like you do with the tiny P7100 OVF.
  Manage to create the white orbs shooting chrome plated parts of my car with the flash, very small and they disappeared as soon as ISO was increased, since ISO performance of the X10 is so good I don’t see any problem, shot the sun behind some trees and no white orbs at all. Collors and DOF are very nice in the FUJI.
  I love the fact that the lens of the Nikon P7100 are fully retracted inside the body, it’s possible to keep it in a large pocket, not with the Fuji. I also prefer the “cheap and plastic ” feel of the NIkon, the Fuji makes me feel like I’m holding a ancient china, ( that’s why I spend the afternoon in the machine shop) it’s a jewel, but with time that feeling may disapear.
  It is still too early for a veredict but so far the Fuji pleases me more, this will be a funny weekend !

12:46 am - Saturday, January 21, 2012

#35 Mark

Fabio,

I’m struggle with the same problem, so please do not hesitate to share your findings.
In a week, I’m planning a month trip to Asia, so please don’t put it on a side too long! :P

Thx

12:51 am - Saturday, January 21, 2012

#36 bobcov

Fabio,
  What did you fabricate for a filter holder? Can you explain more what you did and how it works?
  Also, thanks for the comparison between P7100 and X10. I was also trying to choose between those two. Based on your comments, I think I’ll go X10.
  Somebody else on another forum wrote that the X10 took 8 seconds to power up and that it had something to do with either the type or size of SD card.  Anybody else confirm that?

-Bob

6:24 pm - Monday, January 30, 2012

#37 Fabio

The filter holder is made of plastic and has no threads, it snaps on the lens thread and the filter just snaps on the adaptor.
  I think that the Nikon P7100 is a great camera for stills and movies, but is not meant to be used in low light situations, if Nikon had implemented a multi burst feature like that on Fuji and many other cameras it would be a different story. The size is perfect for me and movies are very good but flash is a must for low light, there’s a low light mode but pictures are limited to 3 mp !!
  The Fuji X10 is a great camera for low light situations and portraits, in my opinion the quality is as good as an entry level DSLR if not better. I took a lot of pictures in a party (low light) and as long as the object stands still it will perform very well. But the main problem is focus speed, I had to ask children to stand still , and they did it for about half a second, not enough time. Well that was a low light situation, and I can understand that it’s hard to focus in that situation. Next day I went of to my regular bike ride and I could’nt fit it in my bike saddle as I could with the P7100, had to carry it in a backpack, I did mostly macro shooting of flowers and bugs, my ultimate macro test is shooting bees, they won’t stand still and are constantly flying from one flower to another. The Fuji couldn’t focus in 90% of the pictures even in aperture mode, on the other day I took my HX100v and almost every single picture of bees are sharp and focus is perfect, my HX9 does that, my former Nikon S8100 and Casio FH100 did that too, so in my opinion macro is not that good, but that happens too with DSLR,  shallow DOF makes macro very hard.
  I managed to creat black orbs with the Fuji, highlights appear as white or black orbs , but that is easy to solve , Velvia film tends to create them more often, change to other film simulation and the problem is gone, EXR modes may work too if P mode creates them, so my veredict is that white or black orbs are not a problem at all.
  Today I went to a historic building to compare the Fuji X10 and (forgive the nonsense) a Sony HX100V, what may seems ridiculous was in fact very interesting. Amazing photos from both cameras, bokeh is beautifull in Fuji’s images, hard to get with Sony, but auto HDR is very nice. Movies are very good in both cameras but Fuji hunts focus.
  The more I use a lot of cameras including DSLRs and top compacts the more I like the Sony HX100V and its small sister the HX9v , they are a do it all cameras with the exception of portraits, that is an area where the Fuji X10 is really good at, the flash TTL metering is perfect, lens are very good and bright, there’s a multi burst low light mode that works really well even handheld, OVF is very good an big but I don’t know why I just don’t use it, today I used the Sony’s EVF a lot but not once in the Fuji, maybe the LCD is very good even under strong sunlight.
  My conclusion is that the Fuji X10 is a smaller (but not very portable) version of a DSLR with bright lens with reasonable zoom range, there’s a lot you can do with it and there’s a lot you can’t , I have paid as much as it costs for a single prime lens that was meant for a very specific purpose, so I’m happy to carry it in my camera bag.

5:41 am - Tuesday, January 31, 2012

#38 Fabio

To bobcov
  I just did a extense evaluation of both cameras but it may take some days till it clears the blog censorship, but I missed the power up question ,  the Fuji X10 powers up as soon as you turn the lens zoom ring, I’m using a 8gb class 10 kingmax SD card.

5:58 am - Tuesday, January 31, 2012

#39 Chris Rusbridge

I’m very interested in the X10 and the X100 (I’d really like a X100 with zoom, but that would probably change everything). Comparing the sample images on PBlog for both cameras, and in particular the picture of London’s “gherkin” office building across the Thames, The X10 image seems to be the *ONLY* one where a building is completely blown by sun reflection (on the skyline just left of the “gherkin” building). Is this a massive example of the specular problem (white orbs), or simply an unfortunate reflection that would have hammered any camera?

12:28 pm - Wednesday, February 1, 2012

#40 Alix Frick

I have a MAC with the current OSX that is LION 10.7.3, and is NOT compatible with the Finepix software program (which is good for no OS higher than the outdated OSX 10.6). Is this crazy? The Manual says DO NOT DOWNLOAD PHOTOS INTO COMPUTER BEFORE INSTALLING PROGRAM! So, since I store, edit and view photos on my computer, I guess I have to return the camera. Any suggestions?

7:18 am - Saturday, February 4, 2012

#41 Chris Rusbridge

Alix, assuming you’ve got iPhoto or Aperture on your Mac, and have been shooting in JPEG, why don’t you give it a try? I can’t see what harm it can do to connect the camera and download the photos…

9:20 am - Saturday, February 4, 2012

#42 Alix Frick

Thank you Chris—I keep thinking I should try that, and then i worry i might break the camera and be unable to return it to Amazon, which has said it will take back the camera if I want.

2:40 pm - Saturday, February 4, 2012

#43 Alix Frick

This is Alix again: I downloaded directly into Photo, and everything is looking quite good! Thanks, Chris.

3:38 pm - Saturday, February 4, 2012

#44 Fabio

This weekend I took 3 cameras to a trip to the beach, the Canon G12 , Fuji X10 and the Sony HX100V for the extended zoom.
  The Fuji X10 is in another category of cameras, Canon G12 sometimes can get almost there but can’t match the details that Fuji captures, portraits are perfect like those with DSLR, bokeh is very good like DSLR’s do , you can see skin pores perfectly, water drops and hair are wonderfull.
  The Nikon P7100 and the Canon G12 can’t compete with the much better and brighter lens of the Fuji, but are much more portable. In my opinion the Canon is superior to the new P7100.
  The camera is elegant and a pleasure to use, panoramas are the best I’ve seen , just pan the camera to the point that you want and the camera creates the panorama , there’s no preset angle, move it from 60 to 360 degrees and it’s done.
  Low light is great, flash is excellent, took pictures in almost complete darkness and they are very usable, I even forgot to use the multi burst mode (pro low light) that reduces noise and increases speed. Battery life is not the best, took 2 batteries for the weekend and by the end of sunday with a wonderfull sunset I had no more power, but truth be said I took most of my pictures with flash and I was constantly reviewing the pictures, the LCD is a pleasure to look at. Total 298 shots with 2 batteries.
  What else can I say ? You probably know someone that has charisma, that intangible quality that makes you want to be close to that person, this camera has that, it’s always my first choice.

8:46 pm - Wednesday, February 8, 2012

#45 BobCov

Fabio,
  And everybody else interested in the X10: What do you think of this filter arrangement? I don’t know about the quality, but it seems the concept is sound and does not appear to result in blocking the flash or viewfinder.  http://www.ebay.com/itm/ACMAXX-Multi-Coated-LENS-ARMOR-attached-UV-FILTER-Fujifilm-X10-/230730771511?pt=Camera_Filters&hash=item35b8a02c37

5:35 pm - Thursday, February 9, 2012

#46 Fabio

To BObCov

  It’s glued, and you can use the original lens cap, won’t cast a shadow with flash, quality of filter unknown.
  The original filter adapter uses 52mm filter and I made one that uses 52 mm filters too because they are easy to find, it casts a shadow at wide angles with flash BUT you can use any filter you want, I’m using Hoya Pro 1 digital UV and polarizer and a commom 52 mm lens cap, I would hate to lose the original cap or scratch it,  it’s metal made, just too fancy to be handling many times a day, it will fall eventually or be lost when you turn the camera on and it pops out in a lake or from high places.
  When I need flash I just zoom in a little or remove the filter adapter, but of course I wish I could use a regular filter and generic lens cap directly on the lens thread.

3:08 pm - Friday, February 10, 2012

#47 Fabio

Forgot to mention, new firmware available !! Thanks Fuji.

3:11 pm - Friday, February 10, 2012

#48 bobcov

I’m waiting to hear back from ACMAXX on non-ebay sites I can get that from. I’ve read elsewhere that the adhesive is easily removed if you deinstall later. For the original lens cap, I’ll just get some kind of small looped tether to anchor the lens cap to the camera strap ring. I can either let it dangle or I can rig up something to attach it to the camera strap.

6:58 pm - Friday, February 10, 2012

#49 Chris Rusbridge

@bobcov I’ve been wondering about a Nice Clip (http://www.nice-industries.com/) to help keep the lens cap safe (not affiliated with them). Looks neat, but wondered if it would catch when you actually wanted to put the lens cap in a pocket, instread of hooking over the edge…

11:24 am - Monday, February 13, 2012

#50 John

For a few dollars more, the NEX-5n crushes the X-10.  Why anyone would buy this camera with its puny little sensor at the current price is a mystery beyond comprehension.  Must be the endearing attachment to orbs.

8:20 am - Tuesday, February 21, 2012

#51 Fabio

To john
  I love Sony cameras, I do have 2 Sonys that are great, but I couldn’t really like the NEX cameras, the lack of controls, OVF or EVF and the big size made it always a second or third choice, even with very good image quality. the Sony A35 has everything a real camera has and the size is not really that different (unless you use only a pancake), price is the same, so for me it makes more sense if you want to carry extra lenses.
  Fuji’s outstanding lens is hard to beat and ISO performance is about the same of an entry level DSLR if not better. The lens alone are worth the price very sharp and can reach 228 mm at f:2.8

2:23 am - Wednesday, February 22, 2012

#52 John

To Fabio,

Yeah, I thought the lack of controls and the absence of a VF would be a deal breaker too.  But I really like how the camera handles and the IQ - even with the kit lens - is fabulous, right up there with the best DSLRs!  Moreover with all the available adapters, you can attach just about any lens to it.  The uber high quality flip out screen opens a world of composition possibilities, not so easy - if not impossible to do with a VF.  You have to experience it to understand it.  I’ve seen enough samples from the X-10 to know that I’m not missing anything.

7:04 am - Thursday, February 23, 2012

#53 Ed Bray

To John,

if you are not enamoured with the X10 why post on it’s review? If as you say you are not missing anything why bother posting just to diss the X10,just be happy in your choice and go out and take some photographs with whatever you decide you like. I and many others are more than happy with their X10 (orbs and all), just live and let live.

2:01 pm - Thursday, February 23, 2012

#54 Bruce Desjardins

I have had this camera for about a month and a half, based on your reviews.  After using your excellent website for my research, and picking my four contenders up and playing with them at a camera shop, this was my choice.  I am 99% thrilled with the X-10.  When shooting indoors, if the camera selects f2.0 with a shutter speed of 1/20th of a second, I would elect to not shoot hand-held and pop the flash up.  It still uses 1/20th for the flash shot, and I am consequently getting blurred shots with flash.  The only remedy is to always use shutter speed priority mode, and select something at or above 1/60th of a second.  Any other shooting mode indoors with flash gives you unacceptable hand-held shutter speeds.
If you remember this, I would say this is a terrific camera.

2:33 pm - Tuesday, February 28, 2012

#55 Fabio

What a great camera ! Very complex , with so many adjustments that I’m sure that almost all professional reviewers could’nt have time to really know it.
  Everytime I find a situation where the performance was not what I wanted , there’s also a solution. Now I’m playing a lot with the Highlights and shadows settings with dramatic results and I encourage all X10 owners to try it.
  Fuji will replace the sensor next month to solve the orbs problem, just hope that the new one have the same low light performance.

1:17 am - Friday, April 6, 2012

#56 Joey Wilson

I owned my X10 for about a month.

I looked for a VERY long time for a small camera along the lines of a Canonet, Electro35, Auto S2, Hexar, etc.  Nothing out there.  Close calls like the G Powershots just left me flat:  Plastic-y, high masimum apertures, same with P Nikons, etc.  Good cameras, just didn’t fit me.

The X100 was a revelation, but I hoped for a zoom along those lines.  I bought the X10 without ever seeing one, and I’m delighted.  Metal body.  Zoom ring on the lens.  Knobs.

Using it, and the photos I’ve got from it, just delight me.  I wish the viewfinder had info, but it’s just fine, very bright, and I’m used to the picture including a bit more than I’m seeing.  I’ve bought my Hoya filters to use with the shade/adapter.  The EF42 continues the wonderful flash integration seen from the integral unit.

Is it perfect?  No.  It will eat batteries if you leave it on continuous focus, along with a few other settings.  What orbs I’ve seen remind me of burnt highlights in night shots I used to see with film, no big deal for me.

It just fits me.  I think Fuji has discovered there are lots of us that want cameras that feel and look like cameras.  I can’t wait to get the XS-1 to go with this for its long range zoom.

Metal bodies with knobs, what a hoot !

7:37 am - Thursday, April 12, 2012

#57 KevG

Well, I eventually waited 5 months and finally took the plunge this week.  Local camera store, 1 penny short of £400.  The wait was definitely worthwhile.  This is one luscious camera, and if you can ignore the web hysteria about the “white orb phenomenon” you’ll find that you’ve got a fantastic camera.  It puts me in mind of the Leica/Minolta CLE from the 70s.

My advice, get one and ENJOY.

9:00 pm - Friday, April 13, 2012

#58 tonycrake

I got really excited when I saw this camera BUT when I took it out for some reason I found it very difficult to use! I have gone back to my Sony HX5 which to be makes brighter, sharper, nicer images! Seems ‘something’ lacking in the pictures. I try to run in P mode but struggle to stop it over exposing even when holding it down to low ISO settings. I put some shots on Flikr but needed a lot of Photoshopping.. like I say back to the Sonys!!

12:16 am - Wednesday, May 9, 2012

#59 andy clad

Well i finally went and bought one of these. I thought it would be better than my oly xz-1. I was so wrong. The fuji,looks good, feels good and has all the buttons in all the right places.
But the images produced are not natural enough for me. Loads of CA and poor images all round. The video wobbles like an old camera phone and the audio picks up the sensor correcting itself. But I didnt buy it for the video quality.
I could’nt get the results I wanted with all the settings on offer and all the countless internet advice. For me it just doesn’t come close to the xz-1. The x10 can’t be used using a wide apature on a sunny day. It runs out of shutter speed.
The xz-1 with its inbuilt ND filter is more than happy being used in bright sunlight at fully open at F1.8 1/250sec.
The x10 produces images that require a lot of post production. The xz-1 produces images that I dont have to tinker with.

Have a look at this, http://forums.steves-digicams.com/olympus/190772-new-xz-1-user-2.html 

Moose69 is me.

This is only my opinion when using both cameras side by side for 2 weeks.

10:38 pm - Wednesday, June 27, 2012

#60 Phil

Hi,

Finally I’ve found a filter that fits the x10 without using the lens hood.
A NISI DW1 wide band pro MC UV filter (40mm) Only fits the x10.
Made in Japan A great find. Got it on ebay.

Cheers

2:05 pm - Thursday, July 19, 2012

#61 Paul

Just sold my DSLR and bought the Fuji X10.I got fed up with lunking around all that kit and losing the shot by the time I had set everything up. I went to a bird of prey show the other day and one guy looked as though he needed a wheelbarrow to carry his lenses around. Didn’t envy him with my snug little X10 on my hip!  Great decision! God I love this camera. After the 1 hour it takes to get to understand it (And I am really non techy) it is a DREAM. If like me you end up pressing lots of buttons and losing where you are you have a reset feature so fear not. Who said it struggles in low light!!?? My images in night mode are awesome and I dont know an ISO from a hole in the ground.In fact I now very often forget to pop the flash and the quality is superb. The macro feature is a dream but it does sometimes take a while to focus and you must remember to be on wide shot when you want to use it. I didn’t think I would ever get used to having to turn the focus ring to turn the camera on but now after a few times using it seems natural. Sometimes gets a little annoying when I am focusing that I turn it off but maybe thats just me. Startup time is virtually non existant as well.( I would guess around half a second?D
The burst shot feature is fantastic and it now only takes me 2 seconds to engage it and I have taken some wicked shots of birds of prey with it.
Love it Love it Love it. I am a convert. The ‘fn’ button top right can be programmed to whatever you like. Despite me being really stupid it took me about 5 minutes to set it so that when I press it I can now choose film simulation such as sepia or black and white in a second. How cool is that?

This bit of kit looks very low tech but boy are you in for a surprise. Clever clever Fuji people. Oh and the white orb thingy people go on about - Ive shot off about 300 pics so far and haven’t seen it once so don’t let it bother you.
Adios Nikon DSLR Ola Fuji X10.
(PS The battery life is pretty bad so carry two batteries I killed a battery after about 120 pictures and 3 minutes of video over a 4 hour period).
PS - Video quality is better than my dedicated video camera so thats another thing I can leave at home.

PPS By nature I am a very depressing and picky individual so this review is even surprising me!

12:25 am - Sunday, July 29, 2012

#62 Dave Truscott

I have had my X10 for about 5 weeks now having bought an almost new model off Amazon, for which I paid £270.00. The camera came in perfect order but not with all the accessories, so after some bartering I got another £35.00 off the price, which it has cost me to get the basic accessories and software etc. I sent the camera off to Fuji for the free processor upgrade which was all completed in less than 6 days, so any potential issue with “discs” has been dealt with and the lense checked and cleaned at the same time.
The camera looks great and handles easily, if the batteries are fully charged it will easily shoot for a day or more, but with replacement batteries being so cheap having a back-up is simple and easy.
One of the draws was the X10’s macro abilities and it delivers this in spades, excellent results and with the rapid shooting mode switched on it is very easy to take a series of shots to overcome any effects of a breeze that might be about. Also I was looking for a simple portrait camera over my larger DSLR, and with the zoom set at 85mm its perfect for high quality pictures.
I’m still learning to use all the various set-ups between both the manual and automatic systems, but it’s great fun and fairly intuitive.
I would highly recommend it to any enthusiast or beginner looking for a highly portable great looking camera, well done Fuji.

3:14 pm - Tuesday, August 14, 2012

#63 Fabio

Went to a camera show where I had the chance to try many cameras, I’m glad to say that the Fuji X10 was a great surprise. I didn’t expect it to perform as well as a micro 4/3 or the new entry level DSLRs, but I could’nt reproduce the quality of the Fuji X10 with any of them, of course I had to rely on the LCDs to compare, pictures may look much better in a monitor, but that means the LCDs are low quality.
    I even talked to the Nikon guys trying to find out what was wrong with the new 24mp D3200, their booth had some models that we could shoot and try some Nikon cameras, light was not the best,, their conclusion , my X10 was really a better camera. Of course the Nikon had the kit lens, but the sensor is much bigger, same conclusion with micro 4/3, only when using a 20mm 1.7 pancake I could get something close, but it’s a fixed lens.  Sharpness, color, details, all was better in the Fuji.
    The lens on the Fuji X10 is really extraordinary and is worth the price of the camera and along with the EXR sensor and Fuji firmware makes a package that is much better than an entry level DSLR, one must spend a lot of money in lenses to get close to what this Fuji can do. I had that feeling when I quit using DSLRs in favor of the Fuji, but I’m much more confident now .
    A Fuji guy told me they are not going to change the sensor, they will give a new camera, impressive.

6:37 am - Friday, August 17, 2012

#64 IK

Hi,

well, it’s difficult for me to compare because I’m not used to quality photo equipment and I’m really a beginner in this, but this camera delivered what I wanted and what I chose it for - and that was decend low light performance. Bonus is powerful (yet complicated) options.

As I see it, this camera has some flaws but also many virtues. It was mentioned in various reviews that best results were made with auto and especially EXR modes. While this seems true to some extent, there are cases where you want to use manual settings for the best results. I loved using manual white balance settings when taking shots in nature, as I was able to get result photos that are closer to reality and with very good dynamics.

All in all, worth the price paid for (630 USD in Croatian shop). warranty…

3:44 pm - Thursday, September 6, 2012

#65 gorpalm

Well have just taken the plunge and ordered it from jessops online - I’ve got all fingers and toes crossed that it’s new stock w the new sensor, I understood Fuji will replace the existing sensor under warranty but it seems such a hassle (nevermind a week of waiting).

A lot of online raving about great IQ has me convinced, despite the major issue of “orbgate”...and now there’s a real fix for this problem it seems now is a good a time as any…

11:03 pm - Wednesday, October 3, 2012

#66 KevG

I’ve now had my X10 for six months.  First serious pics were taken on a trip to London in May.  I was distinctly underwhelmed with the results, and began to doubt the wisdom of having spent £400 on this camera.  However like almost all high-end cameras it can be set up in several ways to suit your particular style of photography. 
I found the Velvia film setting gives too much saturation for my taste, so I reverted to Standard setting.  I use aperture priority and ISO200, and with a little perseverance and a lot of concentration my results began to improve.  I can vouch for the fact that there is a fairly steep learning curve with the X10.
I did find that the supplied instruction manual was OK as far as it went, but it left me wanting more.  So I got the Photographer’s Guide To The Fujifilm X10, by Alexander S White (ISBN978-937986-03-2) which goes into much more detail than the instruction book.  Highly recommended.
As for the infamous “White Orbs” I’d never been bothered by this phenomenon, until I took some photos of The Sage in Gateshead on a bright, sunny morning.  And lo and behold there was one of the dreaded Orbs, a reflected highlight rendered as a solid white disc.
To cut a long story short I e-mailed Fuji UK and queried the problem with them (my camera was running firmware V1.03) They e-mailed me back asking for my camera details and my home address.  They subsequently sent me some prepaid packaging to return the camera to their UK Service Centre.  They retrofitted the camera with the new revised sensor and returned the camera to me within 12 days.  All free of charge.
Since then there has been another firmware upgrade to V2.0.  I’ve not experienced any further problems with the Orbs, so I guess the new sensor has done the trick.
To sum up, I was initially disappointed, but with perseverance (not to mention a new sensor) I’m now getting the results I wanted.

11:56 pm - Thursday, October 11, 2012

#67 gorpalm

Am having a great honeymoon period with the X10 - It’s the best compact I’ve owned bar none, and for me matches real world photos from my e-pl1 - relative sensor size deficit made up for by the obviously amazing capabilities of fuji’s processor, and that truly stunning lens.

Quirky and sometimes obscure UI (some options are available only under some circumstances etc, and etc, and etc…all well documented elsewhere) doesn’t make it easy for non-fuji users at first…ok for the first couple hours of investigating the menus I thought I had a defective unit - Yep, it’s not quite a quick plunge into the menus and let your intuition guide you through (like on a Nikon or Samsung in my experience).

The three auto options should not be neglected by anyone, no matter what their skill level, as they have some brilliant tricks up their sleeves - there’s a Lot of technology built-in and investigation is key to finding and unlocking them all. 

I have many “favourite” bits including one or two of the auto shooting modes, however top of the list has to be the two customisable settings C1 and C2 on the mode dial, letting you switch to your favourite settings in a second.     

A worthwhile investment for me, wouldn’t swap it out for any other premium compact on the market at the moment on balance of sensor/capabilities and PRICE.  For those who worry less about the last point, there’s of course always the G1X or RX100.

4:06 pm - Sunday, October 14, 2012

#68 Fabio

Just some shots to compare low light performance of the Fuji and DSLR cameras, Canon and Nikon

http://www.flickr.com/photos/domfiori/7798856054/

http://www.flickr.com/photos/domfiori/7798849822/

http://www.flickr.com/photos/ivamoliveira/7801752868/

http://www.flickr.com/photos/ivamoliveira/7801854394/

http://www.flickr.com/photos/adarrodrigues/7790494972/lightbox/      This one with flash

And now Fuji X10, note that no flash was used and that the images are cropped

http://www.flickr.com/photos/53212405@N08/7797207064/

http://www.flickr.com/photos/53212405@N08/7798620644/

  I’m not sure If I’m being fair , but to me Fuji photos look better, I would appreciate some unbiased comments.

5:37 pm - Sunday, October 14, 2012

#69 gorpalm

I prefer those Fuji shots to the dslr shots, but could be biased ;-)

The test is asking the same question to other owners of canon/nikon dslrs…

What I would say is that the output from the X10 is pretty darned brilliant even when you stack it up against those big-sensor cams.

7:58 pm - Sunday, October 14, 2012

#70 Bruno

Just got it yesterday (used 1 month) for 300 Euro including 45 MB/s 16 Go SDHC, good deal, impressive night shots, reactivity, design, 1 cm macro at 800 ASA is amazing with no flash and just a room light…

8:13 am - Friday, November 9, 2012

#71 David Truscott

I have now had the camera for over 3 months and it continues to deliver superb photos in all conditions.
I agree as others have noted it is very capable of taking fantastic shots in poor light conditions even without the flash. Though it is annoying that you have to switch back to single shot to get the flash to work, as I thought it would have been able to take and control the flash for a series of shots.
Managed to find an excellent 40mm NISI DW1 WIDE BAND PRO MC UV Filter Multi Coated filter on my second attempt for £13.00. Now I have this I feel far more confident with the camera as I not so worried about scratching the lense.
Has anyone upgraded to the new firmware 1.04, I am currently on 1.02 is this worth doing?

10:19 am - Friday, November 9, 2012

#72 Oliver

Thanks so much. I bought the x10 largely on account of this review, and it’s absolutely marvelous. The macro and film simulation functions are just brilliant. As someone who has had a few rather awful point and shoot cameras but is quite new to manual/slr functions, this camera is incredibly intuitive. The aperture, shutter speed, focusing, etc, are all very easy to use.
And the build quality!
Thanks!

3:47 am - Tuesday, November 27, 2012

#73 Oliver

David Truscott, where did you buy the lens from?
Cheers

3:52 am - Tuesday, November 27, 2012

#74 David Truscott

You can purchase the UV filter on e-bay, current item ID: 260993504412
Have now uploaded firmware upgrade 2.0, which has proved very worth while providing many alternative advanced settings. Different B&W filters, forced colours etc. they are great fun.

6:40 pm - Tuesday, November 27, 2012

#75 jimmy

bought it, it knocked my socks off ! where did you find the leathercase, makes it look even more awesomer !

4:07 am - Tuesday, March 5, 2013

#76 David Truscott

Hi Jimmy,

I bought the soft leather case from Amazon this being the Fujifilm Softcase SC-X 10 in dark brown.
I see that this is currently showing as being unavailable, it did cost £64.00 but i think it was worth it to match with such a good looking camera.
That said when I am using the camera extensively I take it completly out of its case and use a leash strap to ensure there are no mishaps as a dropped camera would be too much grief.
Has anyone looked at or bought the new X20 what are peoples thoughts on the upgrades being offered?

9:41 am - Tuesday, March 5, 2013

#77 andy clad

Hi all. I’m really looking forward to the x20 and the 900. Both with the new sensor. But the x20 still has the same lens (really poor CA) and no in built ND filter, so it will get a bit tricky to use the lens wide open on bright days without running out of shutter speed. Still, we will have to wait and see :)

10:23 am - Tuesday, March 5, 2013

#78 Harry Joseph

No mention on the shutter speed lag which can be a big problem when it comes to sports or fast moving objects. This is why I will not order a compact camera online, until I tested the shutter lag.

8:48 am - Wednesday, May 29, 2013

#79 Michael

Great review! Picking one up used tomorrow, and really excited for it now!

1:59 am - Thursday, January 30, 2014

Entry Tags

compact, 1080p, 12 megapixel, camera, 28mm, zoom, 4x zoom, f2.8, 7fps, retro, 2.8 inch LCD, digital, 4x, f2, EXR, x10, fujifilm x10 review, fujifilm x10, x10 review, Fujifilm FinePix X10, Fujifilm FinePix X10 Review

Tracker Pixel for Entry