Fujifilm FinePix XP70 Review

August 8, 2014 | Jack Baker | |

Your Comments

12 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 Patrick

As for complaining about these cameras being useless to divers, there’s a reason they call them tough cameras, and not underwater cameras. Underwater cameras would be a different market segment aimed at a different target group. I don’t think any of the major manufacturers think it’s worthwhile to make such specialized niche cameras.

9:30 am - Saturday, August 9, 2014

#2 Mike

Got my xp70 on Saturday and had a chance to do some surf photography on Sunday in quite hectic conditions which saw me and the camera take a hammering but we both escaped unscathed . i got some great shots of the surfers as well as the breaking waves and am very pleased that i bought this camera .

10:45 am - Monday, September 22, 2014

#3 John West

The XP60 seems to have been plagued by a problem with the hdmi charging port getting easily bent, rendering the camera powerless. Is there any indication that Fuji has fixed this problem with the XP70?

4:40 pm - Friday, October 24, 2014

#4 Bill

One thing you either didn’t notice or didn’t mention was the tendency of the XP70 auto-focus to “hunt” when taking video.  No matter what the circumstances, about every four or five seconds the autofocus will shift.  This even happens when the camera is on a tripod and pointed at a stationary object!  This is completely un-acceptable, and it’s the reason I took mine back.  It also happened with the XP60. Fuji needs to fix this.

4:23 pm - Sunday, October 26, 2014

#5 BOB

I take hundreds of photos a week and found the camera to be very user friendly.  I used it to replace a Nikon s800c and this camera is very superior in all ways.  I have had it for about a month and taken over 1000 photos and have had no issues.  I bought it to get away from Nikon and Cannon and have been very satisfied.  I do not do underwater photos but wanted the tough camera feature.
rd

2:54 pm - Wednesday, November 19, 2014

#6 paul

love this camera,
but is it just mine, when I take photos indoors and use the flash I get a faint dark line across the top of the picture.

5:51 pm - Sunday, December 7, 2014

#7 Mark

I would much prefer a real manual to the 6 language POS provided.  I really should not have to go back to the dealer to set up a WIFI that shuts off after 30 seconds.

12:42 am - Friday, December 26, 2014

#8 steve

Very nice camera and photo’s however it does not handle salt water. Camera replaced after 8 months on warranty when used snorkeling in the Grenadines. Replacement camera lasted 14 months until I used when snorkeling in the Caymans this February. Great camera unless you actually want underwater use. Do not buy for ocean underwater use.

5:36 pm - Friday, March 20, 2015

#9 John

Thanks for doing such a complete review!  I wonder if the poster who had problems in salt water followed the instructions to soak it in fresh water for 10 minutes after?  I bought it for a trip to Hawaii - I’ll see!

12:48 am - Sunday, April 26, 2015

#10 Dick

Flash is difficult to set. Need instructions for using flash on this camera.

10:15 pm - Monday, November 9, 2015

#11 bonnie white

my USB port is not working

7:32 pm - Monday, December 28, 2015

#12 alex

Just got is one for a vacation in Thailand, i tried the video option but can record only between 30- 60 seconds. then the battery runs out. Is this normal ?

12:15 pm - Tuesday, March 1, 2016

Entry Tags

hd video, hd, 16 megapixel, wi-fi, wireless, wifi, 5x zoom, 2.7 inch LCD, 1080i, waterproof, shockproof, dustproof, freezeproof, hdr, 10x lens, fujifilm xp70, Fujifilm FinePix XP70 Review

Tracker Pixel for Entry