Fujifilm FinePix Z900EXR Review

4.5
July 11, 2011 | Matt Grayson |

Your Comments

14 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 Luke

I don’t own a fuji camera, but…
I find quite strange that the F550EXR has just an image quality of 3,5, whereas the Z900EXR, with the SAME sensor has 4,5..
strange, very very strange..
maybe the reviewer forgot to use the F550EXR in the 8mb mode but used it for the Z900EXR??
sorry photographyblog, hate to criticize but i can’t believe that between the 2 models there is such a big quality difference..

10:57 am - Tuesday, July 12, 2011

#2 Warren Lyons

To me, this camera is the Photographic equivalent of the Bose Wave Radio, a tabletop FM/AM radio that sells in the USA for around $500.00.  Compared to anything its SIZE, it sounds incredible, but for the same money, one can get much better sound with a larger unit.  Compared to anything else so small and simple, its images are amazing.  It would be a great snapshooter for someone with one or more “serious” cameras.  As an only camera, for about the same, or a little more cash, any number of travel zoom models would be far more versatile and satisfying, while being nearly as portable and inconspicuous

8:13 pm - Tuesday, July 12, 2011

#3 Bill

Does anyone know when it will be available? As of 7/13/2011 at 8am, it’s not showing up either at Adorama or B&H…

1:26 pm - Wednesday, July 13, 2011

#4 Amy

Never used a Fujifilm. I haven’t been brave enough to try anything other than Nikkon or Canon even for the point and shoots. Can anyone comment on the quality of Fujifilm vs. Nikkon for the point and shoots?

9:24 pm - Wednesday, July 13, 2011

#5 Ino Budiman

I don’t see any close to 4.5 on Image Quality with such small sensor with yestermillenium technology (CCD sensor
1/2-inch EXR CMOS with primary color filter) to match even over DSLR sensor. (???). It must have been mis-judge or simply mistyping on it.
Based on what you have on your Sample Images comparisons to other product previously display/review,
It is simply ugly. Sorry. But that’s what I’ve seen, otherwise I got my eyes blind.

1:45 am - Thursday, July 14, 2011

#6 mattgrayson

I didn’t review the F550 EXR which is where the differences come from. My view on how good the image quality is differs from the reviewer of the F550 EXR. When I think about the image quality, I consider the technology involved and the cost of the camera.
For a camera at this price point, the pictures are worth that scoring. If the camera was £100 more, I would mark it down but seeing as £200 is a reasonable amount for a point and shooter to spend on a camera, I think the image quality is in excess of that, maybe a camera around the £250 mark. Manufacturers will and have put lower grade sensors in cheaper cameras, so to retain the same sensor as a more expensive camera shows a decent mind-set thinking about the customer.

At least that’s what I think.

5:12 pm - Thursday, July 14, 2011

#7 ff

This is what I thought too, when I first read the review… Great score, but rather related to category and pricing level. But how many readers will understand it this way?

It would be good if PB could think of a different method for more transparency and better understanding of the results. 

How should one understand the 2nd place of Z900exr behind the X100, if sorted according to PB rating? Pay just a fifth of price with only very minor loss in quality? FujiFilm would be crazy not selling the Z900exr just a bit below X100 :-)

It’s fun reading PB and I like the… “directional” :-) reviews a lot, but I’d welcome rating comparison improvements or a hint for new readers, that ratings are not comparable between each other.

At least that’s what I think.

8:27 pm - Thursday, July 14, 2011

#8 Kam

Hi All,

My first post on pblog, but always come here for tip and reviews.

Need a bit advice, so any assistance with conumdrum would be great.

I’m in the market for a new camera after recently selling my trusty old Fuji F70exr….it really served well.

So I need a new camera and like alot of consumers really don’t wanna spend to much. Look to spend mush less then £200….

I can own the Z900exr comment from a well known UK high street for a brill £139 but I’m two minds as I want a great point and shoot but really so not want to miss the great zoom of the F70exr….

To that extent I’ve also been looking at the Fuji F300exr which I can ourchase for £134….

Taking into account that the Z900exr has been great reviews so far and the F300exr recieved on the most part very good reviews, which would be the best option for me.

I know these are quite different cameras but taking into account the differing mega pixal count, HD recording output, Size, Screen Size, UI, CMOS vs CCD, updated exr chip and the rest…..I suppose I need to know which would serve me the best and produce the BEST pictures with with minimal fuss….

Really hope someone can advise as I am finding hard to chose between these teo great cameras.

Cheers for your help and advices in advance :)

5:13 pm - Saturday, July 23, 2011

#9 Brett

I just bought one of these cameras from our NEX as a bundle with a few accessories. I immediately went home and started taking pictures of random objects in different distances, lights and movements. After uploading and reviewing all of the images I took (around 30) Every single one of them was terrible. Grainy, out of focus and just poor quality. I tried taking a picture of a Ferrari at night from no more than 6 feet away with a few overhead lights from the hotel. After several attempts that look like double images I gave up and went home. This camera on auto settings couldn’t handle basic photography of a still image in sunlight. From seeing the other reviews I had hoped this camera would perfrom more admirably but sadly that is not the case. This is the worst camera I have had the displeasure of owning and I sincerely hope that this is a faulty model. Regardless I am returning it for a full refund and buying another make and model camera.

12:36 pm - Saturday, April 21, 2012

#10 vito

Brett

What do you mean by :
“I just bought one of these cameras” ????
Here’s review of only one; Z900 EXR .
I own this and picture quality is suoperb!
In sunlihgt but even at dark,in the street or at home,better then good.
I don’t see any bad points.
vito

6:21 pm - Sunday, June 10, 2012

#11 Ole

I bought this camera as a pocket friendly to carry any where. I agree with Brett, it takes some pretty useless pictures, noisy, unsharp, how it got a 4,5 score on image quality is a mystery to me.

9:02 pm - Tuesday, September 25, 2012

#12 indysteve

images are very soft more like blurry

10:55 am - Saturday, September 14, 2013

#13 Ole

Ya, here almost 2 years later, mine is collecting dust in the drawer, my LG G2 takes far better pictures than this camera. Oh, well thats life…..

7:19 pm - Sunday, July 27, 2014

#14 spiritgirl

I am not a photography buff, just wanted a new easy to use camera…. However, I Cannot retrieve pics from this camera at all, either from the internal memory, and it refuses to download my pics from the memory card saying it needed formatting,
to add to the frustration we cannot get CD to load for info.
Help!

7:04 am - Thursday, August 14, 2014

Entry Tags

hd video, hd, 720p, 16 megapixel, 5x zoom, touch-screen, fujifilm, touchscreen, finepix, 3.5 inch LCD, 5x, Fujifilm FinePix Z900EXR Review, z900 exr, z900exr, Fujifilm FinePix Z900EXR