Fujifilm X20 Review

5.0
March 28, 2013 | Mark Goldstein |

Your Comments

70 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 Pavel

looks like Fuji’s leading the compact peloton now

3:54 pm - Thursday, March 28, 2013

#2 iran ramirez

I will throw fuji an extra $200 to make this camera dust/light rain proof, that would make it the perfect camera.

6:06 pm - Thursday, March 28, 2013

#3 Bruno

I own X10 and it’s fantastic camera for the money!

I would only do 2 changes on this camera for the next version:
  - faster lens (f1.4 - f2.0), in some cases f2 isn’t good enougt :)
  - put 3 AA batteries instead of NP-50 lithium battery. They have the same voltage 3.6v but 2500 mA instead of 1000mA. You only need 2mm width and they fit there. This would be perfect for adventurous people because AA batteries are everywhere and you have lithium ones also :)

6:41 pm - Thursday, March 28, 2013

#4 andyclad

Wow looks very nice. They’ve still missed the ND filter out though. Thats a shame.
But, now Jessops is back on board I can go down the high street and have a good play.
Well done Mr Jones :)

10:56 pm - Thursday, March 28, 2013

#5 JOE PRETE

This camera is clearly a work of art in itself, not to mention what can be accomplished with it. Fujifilm’s web site is comparable to a fully stocked old time candy store was to a child. It’s getting harder to pick which model you’d like to see first. I agree with Andy, a filter can be added and I’m glad to hear Jessop’s is being brought back too!  I think that Fujifilm has this priced just right.

Bruno is right, but I’m sure that Fujifilm would like a piece of the battery sales too. Some still request OEM batteries and there’s really not much to be made on AAA’s. Besides, some brands not only price their Camera very high, but then they price the required accessories even Higher (RX1). I think that Fujifilm is increasing the lead that they already have on their competition.
Clearly, they were the first ones ready with Phase Detection!
...  Joe Prete

2:33 am - Friday, March 29, 2013

#6 Anil

Doesn’t appear to be a pretty sight when zoomed in. At least in the pictures it appears to be so.

And are the pictures posted in the Introduction page becoming of a photography website?

Certainly I love photographyblog.com. It is truly good work, usually.

6:02 am - Friday, March 29, 2013

#7 Tad Davison

At Joe’s suggestion on another thread, I thought I’d take a look at this camera. 

One never gets a second chance to make a first impression, and the impression I got when I first saw it, wasn’t at all favourable. 

An owner of a camera shop once said to me, that he thought a lot of cameras were just ‘male jewellery’.  People would buy a camera for how it looked.  For a bit of ‘street cred’.  It shouldn’t be that way, but it is, and facts of life cannot be ignored in a competitive market.

Whilst this camera undoubtedly has many features that make it a very accomplished bit of kit for the discerning photographer, can we say that it conveys that immediate message to the casual onlooker?

A camera can be the best in the world, but if it doesn’t look right, people won’t take to it.  My first impression was of a worn-out forty-year-old cheapo film camera that one could pick up on eBay for pennies.  But of course, that’s just it’s looks.

Perhaps we should think of it in these terms.  Get a model T Ford, and put in a great big Chevvy engine.  It might go fast, and out-perform most other things on the road, but if it looks old fashioned, people might just prefer an up-to-date model with clean lines that does the same thing, rather than that retro look.  Get my drift?

In another capacity, I design radio-control model aircraft (amongst many other things).  There’s an old saying, ‘If it looks right, it is right.’  I will go to great lengths to achieve a certain ‘look’.  In the case of camera designers, I just don’t get those who can’t be bothered to constantly improve the feel and shape of a thing, who take ten steps back in the hope it will be seen as a bold initiative.

To sell, a camera has to capture both the photographic image, and the attention of the buyer and the onlooker.  Time will tell if this does both. 

A camera has to be an aspirational thing.  It has to be something it’s owner likes to show off and be proud of.  It must create a talking point, and generate debate, not invite ridicule.  Sorry to say, my own enthusiasm for retro-look cameras is barely lukewarm.

Tad

1:19 pm - Friday, March 29, 2013

#8 Brian

Just got mine and very pleased with it and I got a paper manual with it as well as the cd version. The Fuji raw convertor is odd to say the least and not very intuitive so I hope Adobe get their software sorted soon to convert the native RAF files the camera produces. Having said that the jpeg files do look very good and you can always convert the raws to tiffs quickly in the software provided and then open them up in ACR via Bridge.

1:54 pm - Friday, March 29, 2013

#9 Craig Atkinson

this camera seems great. The one thing I don’t like is the fact it’s a two-handed camera. Everything else is excellent. I think it’s pretty unique in the market right now so really there’s little / no competition. However, I like working fast and generally have my other hand full of bags / my kids so to have to stop to turn the camera on wouldn’t work.
Very subjective I know, just wish it had off/on like the x100 and zoom in the same place.

7:57 am - Saturday, March 30, 2013

#10 José Oliveira

Just received mine a week ago and already decided to sell my walkaround lens (canon ef-s 18-135 STM IS). It’s just that good.

If fuji continues this quality standard I guess I have no choice but to sell all my canon gear. Gladly.

2:05 pm - Saturday, March 30, 2013

#11 Willi Nemski

Well done, Fuji.
The longer I use the small camera the more I like it and get used to it.

This ist the best compact “Leica” I’ve ever seen. (I had the Leica Digilux 2 years ago – the Fuji X20 ist just the camera the Digilux should have been …).

I will be fully satisfied when the RAF files will be fully supported by my mac system (i.e. used in Apple Aperture)

2:35 pm - Saturday, March 30, 2013

#12 Nick

Thanks for an informative review. There is some very strange thinking going on in your intro/ease of use section though. You suggest that the X-20 is prone to UNDERexposure due to the /
1/1000 sec max shutter speed limitation at f2 in Aperture and shutter priority. The danger at these settings is OVERexposure, not UNDERexposure -  a trait is shares with the X-10, and definitely a nasty trap for young players. Secondly you suggest that correcting this requires you to stop down the aperture and “sacrifice” some depth of field. Stopping down the aperture is the right avice, but this will of course INCREASE, not sacrifice,  DOF. You might “sacrifice” background refocus though :-)
Lastly those bookcase pics continue to be of rather limited use whilst the books remain out of alignment and therefore in different focal planes.

1:23 am - Sunday, March 31, 2013

#13 Chopper Head

Well, I bought the ‘silver’ one.
The camera is a very mixed bag: some nice features and speedy focus are outweighed by buggy firmware and problematic image quality.

- finest details are smeared by obtrusive noise reduction. You can’t turn it off and it kicks on at all times, even at the lowest ISO setting.
Landscapes with lots of fine details look horrible.
Raw is the only way to go and it has it’s own quirks.

- “Film simulation” as implemented is a sheer stupidity: there’s no “neutral” tonal curve nor it is possible to adjust contrast for your JPG.
Giving so much manual controls and yet, forcing the photographer to use some automatic tonal curves - is a huge no-no.

- Battery is lousy at best
- Flash is lausy at best

- otherwise pretty nice viewfinder shifts dioptric
correction while zooming.

- oterwise pretty nice stabilizer frequently blurs both sides of the frame.

- no built-in ND filter is very noticeable by its absence.

- The camera wouldn’t turn on on occasion

- some annoying user interface bugs

In short: if it isn’t buggy, it isn’t Fuji.
The camera simply can’t live up to the huge hype created around it by FujiFilm.

1:25 pm - Monday, April 1, 2013

#14 JOE PRETE

Chopper,
Your post doesn’t sound right. You spent your “Camera fund” and you won’t be buying another one for quite a while. Before you “give in” to these little annoyances, why don’t you go back and “Make it Right”. Right for you, not what you’ve read. These little “issues” will not be going away, but too many times people just give in. You don’t need a camera that you have to make excuses for, you need a camera that inspires you to shoot more Photographs. Not snapshots, but real Photographs. You should be very happy with it and you already sound down. Don’t get me wrong, I love Fuji’s, but maybe this isn’t the right camera for you. Go back to the drawing board and see the other camera(s) you were considering and do it now, before it’s too late! Read your post, like it was someone you were trying to advise. While the camera “for you” may be the same brand, it may be a different model. Make yourself Happy! You should be satisfied!!
... Joe Prete

5:06 pm - Monday, April 1, 2013

#15 Tad Davison

Joe,

As ever, you talk a lot of sense.  People need to be absolutely sure about their choice of camera before they buy it.  I have read numerous accounts where people sent their cameras back after just a day or two, bitching about what it will or won’t do, when they should have researched it properly in the first place.

My Fuji HS30EXR is a case in point.  I didn’t part with my money until I knew it inside out, and even had a play with one in the shop.  By the time I reached that point, I knew more about that camera than the salesman did!

Yes, it’s possible that some unforseen event still might happen, but with a good knowledge of the product beforehand, it makes that far less likely.  So to all prospective buyers, regardless of the make they might lean towards or prefer, please do your homework first.

I could have bought any one of fifty cameras instead of my Fuji, and I dare say they all would have done a reasonable job, but I took some macro shots earlier, and some portraits of my dogs, and the images are simply amazing, yet some people who bought the same camera, were disappointed with their own results.

Homework saves a lot of hassle, but perseverence and experimentation also pays dividends thereafter.

Tad Davison

8:15 pm - Monday, April 1, 2013

#16 Chopper Head

JOE PRETE, thank you for your kind words.

Unfortunately, my post may not “sound right” to you, but this wouldn’t change the situation.
I have over 40 years of professional photography background, so there’s no need at all to preach me about “finding my way” or “spending the funds”.

This camera was purchased purely to satisfy my curiosity if it can “put the picture where the hype is”. It hardly can.

I own X100s and some high-end Nikon bodies, so I am not depending on the x20, thanks GOD.

The camera is buggy. The noise reduction is very obtrusive (in JPGs)and smears fine details even at the lowest ISO. The film simulation is not the best implementation one can hope for. The viewfinder does shift dioptric adjustment. The stabilizer does blur frame sides. and so on. The biggest problem are landscape scenes with lots of fine details.

Camera JPG’s are almost totally unusable with regard to landscapes, but RAFs can cure a lot.
Just wonder who may want to practice dSLR workflow with x20.

No need to take my world for it. Take a look at ANY landscape picture, taken with x20 - viewed at 100% magnification, the fine detail smearing is very noticeable and very ugly, even at the lowest ISO setting. Sh*t happens.

Take care and enjoy your x20, if you own one.

12:15 am - Tuesday, April 2, 2013

#17 Craig Atkinson

Just quickly, in answer to some comments coming by email which aren’t published here yet. The X20 I imagine is very smeary in jpeg. It’s the first thing I showed someone of the X100s - jpegs are over smeared in some situations / light.

9:31 am - Tuesday, April 2, 2013

#18 Rick Pretsel

Another pretty baby from the Fuji womb. It looks good, it feels good and it might even smell good, but the image quality makes me want to quickly put this baby up for adoption. No match for a camera like the Nikon 1 J1 or V1 or anyone. I thought about getting an X20, but I’m glad I bought a second hand (like new) Nikon 1 V1 kit for only 200 euros. I paired it with two primes and the petite 11-27.5mm f3.5-5.6 zoom (very good optics) and I couldn’t be happier. No Fuji for me, until they equip it with a larger sensor (and drastically lower the price).

4:35 pm - Friday, April 5, 2013

#19 coollong

whether this camera shine or not, worth or not, I believe it is up to a person thought.
What u think u like or accept the way is it, that is the right camera for you.
I own a X10, and D7000 with 17-55 F2.8G which is not high end and only couples year of photography.
I never act my X10 to be D7000 as the spec and capability are way different thing to compare nor the detail of the photo. What could you expect from small sensor but delivery detail as Big sensor in same light condition. As long you happy with the photo you took, it will be just fine and if you ask for more, I sure out there got alot of gear may suit you.

So is X20 a better camera? No.
because the people behind it determine whether is a good or bad camera by the photo he/she produced.

3:32 pm - Tuesday, April 9, 2013

#20 Zelph

Why 28mm instead of 24? I’ll stay with the little Panasonic Lumix specifically for the wider lens equivalent.

9:19 am - Saturday, April 13, 2013

#21 Fred Shawn

To : Mr. Joe Prete
I like to express my appreciation for a prompt and
good review of Fuji X20 which shows PB mission to
be prompt and accurate in reviewing new cameras
ahead of many other photography sites and/or blogs.
Having said that,I am wondering about a choice ,
namely Sony RX100 ( now can be bought about $575 )
and Fuji X20 ( now about $599 ).
I have to make a decision shortly for a lovely
lady’s birthday present ( My DEAR WIFE ).
I’ll highly appreciate any constructive advice.

1:22 am - Sunday, April 14, 2013

#22 Rozen

Hello, thank you for your review :) I’m between 2 cameras, the Fuji x20 and the Olympus xz2. I need a good camera for shooting under the sun of India, and if I choose the xz2, I will probably buy the eye viewer, but that will add to the bill, so I like to know if it’s a good one, as the one on the Fuji? Also I will like to know if the xz2 make panoramic photo, and if both have a nd filter, and if the ring on the Olympus can be use as a manuel zoom.. I also enjoy to do night shoots, concerts, architecture, portraits.. pictures. I looked in a shop for those 2 cameras, and both felt good in my hand, but from my first feeling, the colors on the fuji looked nicer in term of respect and softness. I also notice on the xz2 that we can add a “telefocus”, are they good? I hope you can help me to choose the best camera for me before my departure to India. Even if I’m not a beginner, I’m far of been a professional photographer, but I enjoy playing with it to learn more… PS sorry for my english, hope it’s clear enough for you to understand my questions… In advance, thank you for your help, as also some posted comments on the fuji x20 were not very good, but no much comments on the Olympus xz2, so… and it’s difficult to judge which camera come closer to colors reality and make lower noice ...
PPS As I used to leave in Brixton many years ago, I enjoyed even more your pictures, I had so great times there… ;)

1:58 am - Sunday, April 14, 2013

#23 JOE PRETE

Mr Fred Shawn,
Just to be clear, Mark Goldstein did the review, I will be sure he reads your post. I have seen both cameras, you may want to handle them yourself. The Sony, felt very unbalanced, the lightweight body and the heavy lens made for a very uncomfortable and difficult to handle experience. It also had a very cheap feel to it. Fit and finish were a bit rough too. I got the feeling that the camera was a rushed build. I thought maybe they had a deadline. Their RX1 is completely opposite, but I know that kit can easily cost 5K. The Fujifilm X20 felt like a more refined X10, this is the second edition, however like all the recent Fujifilm cameras, they appear to be a collectors item as well as a finely tuned instrument. Fit, finish and function are perfect. The optical viewfinder is part of the camera, not an add on accessory, and it was clearly engineered. The camera handles very comfortable and is well balanced. It also has the CMOS II Sensor with Phase Detection. By the end of the year, all the better cameras produced will have Phase Detection sensors. The new Canons that were just announced (ie. the 100D/SL1 has it, the best recent DSLR I’ve seen) The point is, this is the newest technology and passing on that, will set one back to the prior generation, I believe one should get the newest technology that is available, especially if there is no cost difference. Remember that the X20 is the refined 2ND Edition and the viewfinder & sensor were designed just for this camera. Guide book is incl.
... Joe Prete

11:35 am - Sunday, April 14, 2013

#24 Rozen

Please, Could somebody answer my previous questions to help me? (my post is just before the last one). THank you so much. Rozen

3:39 pm - Tuesday, April 16, 2013

#25 Sergio

Hello Rozen. I have a Panasonic LX-3 that is very good for night shots. Panasonic LX-7 should be better. Now I will buy a X20. X20 has no ND filter, but Olympus has. XZ-2 lens ring can control zoom or focus. I don’t know about tele lens, as it does not appear on BH XZ2 acessories. I choose X20 due to ergonomics, lens quality and optical tunnel viewfinder, with some information in a layer. Sergio

8:34 pm - Wednesday, April 17, 2013

#26 JOE PRETE

Rozen,
Please don’t think that we’re avoiding you, it has been very hard to get entries posted. There maybe a glitch in the spam filter. I’m sure Mark is working on it. I know about the Fujifilm cameras, but not enough about the Olympus to advise you. I was waiting for someone with actual usage experience to get through to you. I’m sure they are trying to get through. Hang in there, okay.
... Joe Prete

10:30 pm - Wednesday, April 17, 2013

#27 Rozen

Thank you Joe, it’s very nice of you to say that. Hope it get fix up soon for you all. Roz

11:55 pm - Wednesday, April 17, 2013

#28 Rozen

Hello Sergio, I posted this last night, but as I can’t see it here, obviously it didn’t entries…
I haven’t check the Pana LX-7 in the shop, but from what I have very quietly read last night about it, I think the Fuji x20 or the Olympus XZ2 look better..
Since my very first post, I read both Fuji and Olympus had an ND filter, but maybe it was an error in the review?
Yesterday I checked again the Olympus and fuji in the shop, and noticed the ring on the fuji can’t control the focus, but on this small camera it’s maybe not so important. But I didn’t really like the little ring that we find on the right of the screen of both cameras that we need to turn for manuel focusing - also the focus we can do on the Olympus’ big ring, is not very pleasant as its running is too long, but again there is a nice auto focus in manuel..
I also noticed the very nice optical viewfinder on the fuji but it only covers 80% of the scene, some people says it’s better than an electronic one, even if they cover 100% ? On the Olympus we can add an electronic viewfinder with all the informations in, it’s seems very good too, but even if I can afford it, it’s a supply on price and carry away. I think I prefer the Fuji’s colors, but again the Olympus good too, and it has an directional touch screen, pretty good for concerts…
Some reviews says that the Olympus has panoramic scene, when some other say no…? I know for sure, the Fuji has one. Also some says the mode raw is slightly better on Olympus but that maybe not so important, and about video it seems also pretty the same quality, but we can take photo when filming on the Fuji.
The tele lens convertor (TCON-17X) for olympus seems nice on the paper, but in reality I’m not sure it doesn’t looses images quality…?
For now, I think my heart goes more toward the Fuji, but comparing to the xz2, I also read the fuji tend to smooth too much the picture after 800 iso, so I still can’t totally manage to decide which will be the best, and in term of quality images for day and night shoots, and in term of capacities to be creative… Maybe the ergonomic and conviviality to make the best pictures when learning more about photography as I wish to do.. !?
So I hope Mark or some one else who know well both those 2 cameras will be able to help me to make my final decision before my departure to Indian :) Again thank you for your post and help. Roz

10:56 pm - Thursday, April 18, 2013

#29 JOE PRETE

Friends,
If you posted yesterday 4/17/13 and you haven’t seen your post in the “Comments” section by now, it will need to be entered again into the new format.

If you are looking for comments on a certain camera, first go to “Camera reviews” and pick the camera. While at the review,  go to the “Comments” link across the black bar, at the right (it will turn Red). Click on “Comments” and the comments for the camera you’ve just viewed will show up. You can enter your comments for that camera right there. 
... Joe Prete

12:49 am - Friday, April 19, 2013

#30 Rozen

HELLO,
JUST TO SAY THAT I JUST ORDERED MY FUJI X20 :) I’M SURE I’M GOING TO BE VERY PLEASE WITH IT, AND CAN’T WAIT TO TEST IT UNDER THE GREAT LIGHT OF INDIA…
AGAIN THANK YOU FOR YOUR GREAT TESTS… I WILL DEFINITELY KEEP MY EYES OPEN ON YOUR FUTUR REVIEWS.
TAKE CARE AND GOOD SPRING TIME TO ALL :)

4:26 pm - Thursday, April 25, 2013

#31 JOE PRETE

Rozen,
Congratulations! And good Luck with your X20
I’m sure that you are very happy, but using all upper case letters is the keyboards equivalent of yelling, so please be considerate and don’t yell at us. We are very happy for you, and maybe even envious Please let us know how you like it, once you start using it too.
Best Regards,
... Joe Prete

9:32 pm - Thursday, April 25, 2013

#32 JOE PRETE

Rozen,
If you want to get a head start, the X20 Owners Manual is on line at http://www.Fujifilm.com go to support> Manuals> X models >X20 you will find the PDF right there, so when it comes you will be all ready.
I’m sure you’re going to love it. Btw Fuji is the only co. giving actual paper copies of the Owners Manual. Setting themselves apart from the competition right from the start.
... Joe Prete

2:17 am - Friday, April 26, 2013

#33 Laffer

Can anybody comment if this is a great point and shoot camera in full auto mode?  I want the flexibility of manual control but for the most part a point and shoot that takes in focus, nicely exposed, high quality images.

I’m sort of done with travel super zooms, my last one (a top of the range Nikon) took very bad pictures most of the time, no matter the settings.  My previous two travel Fuji’s took great pictures most of the time.

Thanks in advance for any guidance.

2:06 pm - Wednesday, May 1, 2013

#34 GeekyGal

@ Laffer:

A great camera for travel and street photography would be the x100s. It has a higher resolution than the x20, and captures more detail with its significantly larger sensor.

That being said, if your ‘travel shots’ consists mostly of candid moments where you just snap,snap, snap, then the x20 is better with its faster autofocus and continuous shooting.

However, if you’re keen in comparing the x20 to its closest competitors like RX100, Canon G15 and Sony Nex5, then take a look at the comparison chart on this page: http://www.squidoo.com/fujifilm-x20-review-sample-images

You’ll also get to see sample images taken using the x20.

9:23 pm - Friday, May 3, 2013

#35 philippe

Hi,

I am thinking buying a fuji x20, olympus xz-2 or a sony rx100. Which one is the best. IQ is important as well as handling, video quality and zoom options/quality. I will mainly take pics/vids of my family. Maybe you recommend some other camera, or should I wait for the RX-200?
Thanks for your advice

2:59 pm - Wednesday, May 22, 2013

#36 Lee

Under “Ease of Use” it says that u must use an adapter to use filters. This is not true! The lens has a 40mm filter thread to which I attach my UV, polarizer and ND filters. The armchair experts can bitch all they like about “smearing” in images but using it for shooting from the hip in the urban environment it can’t be beat! It’s a truly stunning little camera and the optical view finder makes it genuinely usable & discreet. The above complaints are nothing more than unimportant details from never-happy individuals!

7:50 am - Friday, June 7, 2013

#37 Jonathan C

Nice camera but possible reliability issues.

I have the X10 and it has been a solid workable camera and useful for exploring using manual controls.

However I tried the manual focus for the first time the other day (after 1 year 3 months) and it won’t switch back.

Is this me, or have others had similar reliability issues?  BTW Fujifilm want £98 to repair an essentially superfluous part.

Jonathan

1:53 pm - Monday, June 10, 2013

#38 liam smith

the design is so elegant, i want one.

12:56 pm - Sunday, July 7, 2013

#39 jon barnard

You write:  “aperture and shutter priority modes, where the top shutter-speed limit of 1/1000th second at f/2”  This appears to be a common error with reviewers of this camera.  I think this limitation is true for Aperture Priority Mode, but not true for Shutter Priority mode.  I have often shot at F2 and 1/4000 sec. I’m not sure why the X20 will not use the electronic shutter at in A mode, but it appears that it is limited to the mechanical shutter and 1000 sec. in that mode.  However, this is not the case in S mode, where the electronic shutter will kick in and allow speeds to 1/4000 sec. at any aperture.

6:41 pm - Sunday, July 7, 2013

#40 miles

Thinking about buying this camera,would like feed back before I buy?

6:17 am - Sunday, July 14, 2013

#41 Joe Prete

Hey Jon,
You can’t always believe every thing that you read!
... Joe Prete

6:31 am - Sunday, July 14, 2013

#42 miles brunskill

hi,  buying this   camera   tomorrow,  seems expensive?  a lot of money for this camera.

7:18 pm - Sunday, July 14, 2013

#43 Joe Prete

Miles,
You are kidding right? Try to find another camera that matches it’s specs. Be sure to include a second generation 2/3 inch CMOS Sensor, an F2.0-2.8 4X Lens of this quality, a pop up Flash, Hot Shoe, and most of all a “Built in” Optical Viewfinder with Sensor and Diopter adjustment. In case you didn’t notice, (OVF) Optical ViewFinders have become an expensive accessory. Not even considering the build quality (which is the finest) You won’t find anything to match this camera. Maybe, this isn’t the type of camera that you need. That I don’t know, obviously if you’re looking for a Super Zoom, then this isn’t for you. But only you can answer that question go to http://www.Fujifilm.com to look it over, and watch their Promo Video to be sure it’s what “you need”
... Joe Prete

9:14 pm - Sunday, July 14, 2013

#44 Joe Prete

Miles,
One thing you should consider if this is the right camera for you, is
Silver or Black on top. To get some opinions, this close to buying it
go to http://www.dpreview.com and look before asking, I’m sure that this won’t be the first time someone’s asking this question.
... Joe Prete

9:25 pm - Sunday, July 14, 2013

#45 Richard

This is a very good camera. I own one. I think it’s good for a number of reasons, not least the handling, which is immeasurably enhanced by the “old fashioned” size, weight, and easily accessible controls. Although the (relatively small) sensor compared with my Sony RX 100’s, for example, produces apparently noisier images, once they are printed they look great: sharp, contrasty, colourful, helped along by super quick focussing speeds, silent shutter release, and good looks that attract the attention of those being photographed. All-in-all, highly recommended!

11:10 am - Monday, July 15, 2013

#46 Joe Prete

Miles,
DID YOU GET IT??

... Joe Prete

4:09 am - Tuesday, July 16, 2013

#47 miles

yes joe and it is just great.

2:28 am - Friday, July 19, 2013

#48 miles

oh,  and I got a black one, wanted the silver one but could not wait.  Thanks for your feedback.

2:33 am - Friday, July 19, 2013

#49 Joe Prete

Miles,
Congratulations, and good luck with it. I would have chosen the black myself just out of habit, but years ago Black was the choice of most Pro’s. Its a very conventional camera and anyone who knows Photography would have a very easy time learning it.

Be sure to attach and always use the Neck Strap, and adjust the diopter to maximum sharpness for your own vision. Don’t forget to register it, and get yourself a good case to keep it safe.
Good Luck Miles,
... Joe Prete

4:17 am - Friday, July 19, 2013

#50 miles

thanks joe,  I am a learner but really like this camera,  have a Canon EOS450D which is a very well made camera,  this fuji is just in a different class,  thanks for your feedback.

11:40 am - Friday, July 19, 2013

#51 miles

thanks joe,  just a great camera, just a learner so I even couldn’t turn it on at first looking for the on button,  have a Canon EOS450D which is very well made, but this fuji is just great.

11:43 am - Friday, July 19, 2013

#52 miles

hi joe haven’t a clue what diopter is?

12:13 pm - Friday, July 19, 2013

#53 miles

takes great pics,almost as fast an SLR!  Great camera.

12:43 pm - Friday, July 19, 2013

#54 Joe Prete

Miles,
The diopter control custom adjusts the Optical View Finder (OVF) to your own vision. When it’s as clear as can be, it’s right for you. Someone else may look through it and it could be blurry. This is just one difference between a High Optical Quality instrument and a Plastic Molded Camera. The Dial is on the Finder itself.

Miles didn’t you read the Guide? Tell you what, Pack it back up, read the GUIDE, and then if you have any questions write to me http://www.exaktavx1000@yahoo.com

Usually only people who Know their Photography well, will buy a camera like this,it always proves to be a waste for beginners. What made you start with a camera like this if you weren’t a Professional or at least, an advanced amateur? I would never recommend a camera like this for someone with little or no experience. Why didn’t you explain that first, not knowing what a Diopter adjustment is? REALLY, MILES? Say it isn’t so!!!

Everyone writes in here, either stating their experience, or saying what camera they had before. When you said it was expensive, I thought you were a very “thrifty” person, or maybe unemployed.
Bad questions, lead to bad buys, and the price being your only concern, How were we to know, you did say you had a 450D.

Treat it very carefully, as it may soon be a return, the features of this camera are for creative Photographers, using it in AUTO mode all the time may leave you with a feeling that something is missing, and it is! Experience! Did you not go to the site that I mentioned several messages back? Take my advice at this point,
put it away, and start reading before going any further. I guess it was bound to happen sooner or later, but we can only know what you tell us, we are not Mind Readers!  Oh, so disappointing!!!
... Joe Prete

7:30 pm - Friday, July 19, 2013

#55 miles

thanks joe,  not a total beginner, been doing digital photography in College for the last two years, doing advanced in Sept.  Getting my head around the x20,used to point and shoot cameras,bridge cameras, but now take all my cameras off auto mode, my Dad had some great old cameras,now
I have a great little camera, we are all learners,even you! Cheers Miles.

7:42 am - Saturday, July 20, 2013

#56 miles

oh and joe, don’t be   disapointed, I have enjoyed
your feedback and yes I have taken your advice,  I am not unemployed just recovering after stroke. Photography has helped. Thanks for your help.  miles.

8:00 am - Saturday, July 20, 2013

#57 miles

joe   you were right, just watched Ralf from Bude on youtube.  didn’t understand most of it but,
I know a little more.  love my new camera would like to know how to use it. thanks for your help,  miles.

9:22 am - Saturday, July 20, 2013

#58 miles

have you ever been called a photography   geek joe, why don’t you just buy smart camera,  Samsung do a few,like photoshop out of date,  I have a WB850F or any Samsung Galaxy smart camera,  I was a hot metal printer on Heidelburgs,  ‘till technology threw me out of my job.  still like your feedback,  sounds like you know what you are doing?  but do you? we are all learners joe.

9:42 pm - Saturday, July 20, 2013

#59 miles

hi, joe,  enjoyed your feedback,  but have you tried the Samsung smart cameras, I have a WB850F
it does everything but make the tea, joe please don’t be a photo geek. thanks again. miles. 

9:48 pm - Saturday, July 20, 2013

#60 Joe Prete

Miles,
It’s spelled HEIDELBERG, and I worked for the manufacturer in the early 1980’s when they had a facility in NY. I tried to advise you the best that I could, but you can stop commenting now, before the moderator removes all of your posts.

It’s better to leave them so that maybe others will be better informed. I’m glad you’re happy with your new camera, so go enjoy it now okay. Any other questions you may have should be directed to the Fujifilm customer service, assuming you’ve registered the product. We do monitor by IP address not screen name, just so you know. Again, Good Luck and have fun!
... Joe Prete

11:12 pm - Saturday, July 20, 2013

#61 miles

thanks joe but a stroke really messes up my spelling,  reading guide now,  wont bother you again.  thanks miles.

7:04 am - Sunday, July 21, 2013

#62 zoky

Hey guys, Sony RX100 vs Fuji x20?
In general, which is better?
tnx

9:50 am - Monday, August 19, 2013

#63 Keith

Hi ,

I’ve been using a x20 for 6 months and I just say despite its quirkiness and the release of the Sony Rx100 MKII , I’m still sticking to my x20.

It’s a fact that the Sony has a larger sensor and produces excellent photos ; but somehow something’s missing in the photos it produces which the X20 produces. Glance at the BW photos and the Fuji speaks to me.

Of course ,a manual operated Zoom and OVF had me staying with Fuji instead of Sony. If the Sony came with a manual operated zoom and VF , yes , then I might seriously consider selling the x20 for a RX100 MK II.

11:43 am - Sunday, September 8, 2013

#64 Mike M

It’s always interesting to read peoples expectations in comment treads. There is always a big mixture, which is both useful, and somewhat confusing. I will add to the confusion, but then maybe someone will find my views useful.

I have had my X20 for about 3 weeks now. I was looking for a compact camera, with an optical view finder, that was advanced enough to give me full control over my photography. Simply put I found it. For less than NZD930.00 I have a camera that is small easy to carry with me, gives me full creative control and is simply great fun to use. If you have any doubt over what can be achieved with this camera take a look at the X20 photo pool on Flickr….. the camera is not the limiting factor.  I love the film emulation modes. As a long time landscape shooter, Velvia was my favourite film. Now I know the replication is not perfect, but in Velvia mode the X20 is stunning - same can be said for the B&W filter modes.

I have a Nikon D7000, and a F100, and if I was allowed only one camera it would be the X20. I seriously looked at others such as the X-PRO1, but they were either too big, or expensive to fit the gap I was trying to fill.

The X20 is an advanced compact camera, not a pro-spec SLR, so expecting it to have all the performance and the feature set of one is optimistic at best. The fact that most reviews compare it to SLR’s speaks magnitudes.

If you consistently take better photos than the 1,000’s posted in the flickr user group then you need a different camera. However, for the other 99% of us you just need this camera, and a lot more practice!

10:19 pm - Monday, September 9, 2013

#65 Julia

The X20 has made me a believer in the ‘art of photography’ again!  Bought it for a trip to Europe because my SLR ended up in the repair shop two days before leaving.

As a die hard SLR fan, I was VERY skeptical about the quality of the pictures and the ‘automatic’ feel of a point and shoot.  But, I could not afford to buy a new DSLR and pay for the repairs to my Nikon.  So, I opted to buy this little compact. 

Needless to say…I haven’t had this much fun taking photos since my film days!  I LOVE this camera! From the built in filters to the super macro to the manual setting, the camera did not fail me.  The X20 allowed me the freedom to snap, snap, snap.  I could choose to use ‘manual’ and set absolutely everything, or use one of the many pre-sets available for those on the spot shots.  I thoroughly enjoyed the versatility it offered. It’s lightweight and retro design were also a seller for me, and reminded me of the good ole days using my very first camera “Praktica ML5”.  Side by side they look almost identical! 

I could go on about the negatives…yes the noise was an issue and the landscapes aren’t as detailed as I would like, and I would have liked the F stop to go higher than 11, but in the end it is by far one of the best compact cameras I have used.  I definately cannot compare all the features with a DSLR and therefore don’t expect the same results.  You get what you pay for.  I believe however, that I got more than what I paid for…the trip of a lifetime saved by the X20!

Fantastic camera!

1:19 am - Tuesday, October 22, 2013

#66 Robby

i got confused to choose this one or sony nex-5R. anyone can help me ?

i mean in image quality, so leave aside that sony nex-5R is interchangeable lens.

9:06 pm - Wednesday, October 23, 2013

#67 Bruce

I concur with chopper about Fuji bugs. My camera is the predecessor X10. Sometimes it doesn’t turn on. You keep turning the lens ring repeatedly and EVENTUALLY it decides to arc up. Completely random. Not good for a quick photo op. A similar issue (that also loses vital opportunities for you) is that often when you press the shutter it doesn’t execute. What happens is the mode you are in comes up on the screen to remind you, but the picture is missed. I would rather have the shot than be reminded - as my short term memory is not that bad. (I generally only use EXR Hi-res mode anyway). This glitch will only go away if you turn the mode dial & go back to the mode you want. Very annoying. I’m disappointed to hear from Chopper that Fuji hasn’t resolved at least the former issue. That said, I still love the x10 - because of its design, solidity & the great pics it takes given the right settings. I stopped using my Pentax SLR not long after getting the X10. I just wished that Fuji could eliminate the significant bugs.

2:03 am - Monday, October 28, 2013

#68 William

Love this camera,Speed of focus, set mine to program mode,auto ISO 100-1600, white balance to auto,dynamic range to auto as well.,increased sharpness to +1 and that’s it.Colours jump out at you, not sure what it is they just do.
No need to use flash, if shutter speed gets too slow set timer to 2 seconds.
Christmas will be fun, to catch that expression ,
So excited , just place camera in silent mode
You just know this is the right camera for you. When you View photo’s on the computer and your wife asks you why you have tears in your eyes. Wow . Well done Fuji. X20 10/10 :-)

11:41 pm - Tuesday, December 17, 2013

#69 Joe Prete

Excellent choice for compact camera of the year! ... Joe Prete

7:41 am - Sunday, January 19, 2014

#70 Eric Nessel

Just got the X20 and so far I’m in love with it. Does anyone use an Eye-Fi card with it and have you noticed if it kills the battery any faster/

8:15 pm - Wednesday, February 12, 2014

Entry Tags

compact, 1080p, 12 megapixel, camera, 28mm, 4x zoom, zoom, f2.8, retro, 2.8 inch LCD, digital, 60fps, 4x, f2, 12fps, x20, Fujifilm FinePix X20, Fujifilm FinePix X20 Review, x20 review, fujifilm x20, fujifilm x20 review

Tracker Pixel for Entry