Fujifilm X-A1 Review

4.5
October 3, 2013 | Mark Goldstein |

Your Comments

8 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 Dan

I think my only problem with choosing Fuji if your on a budget is yes you can buy the camera, but the fuji lenses are on the experience side so you may never afford to buy anything other than the kit lens!

3:00 pm - Thursday, October 3, 2013

#2 Rick

I agree, its the lenses where they get you. I think I would rather have a used X100 with the newest firmware installed (which is supposed to come out in October). Pricewise they are about the same.

5:09 pm - Thursday, October 3, 2013

#3 Joe

Fuji lenses are pricey, but their XF lenses are premium quality with great optics and nice metal builds.  The key is to buy when they have their promotions.  You can get from $150 to $300 off each lens.  At that price, they are a bargain.

9:39 pm - Thursday, October 3, 2013

#4 Mad Hungarian

Incredible achievement by Fuji. Fantastic camera.

7:36 pm - Monday, October 7, 2013

#5 Jonas

I second the comments on the Fujifilm lens pricing. Yes, they are of premium quality, but I think this also illustrates the problem with Fujifilm X cameras like this one. If you are a user looking for premium lenses, the XF system is there waiting for you. If you are just a “happy amateur” perfectly fine with a camera with the X-A1 feature set and e.g. lacking a viewfinder, well, then the XF system is NOT there for you. So I think this is a problem with the budget Fujifilm cameras. They’re likely to disappoint a user trying to expand the range of lenses.

I’d only recommend Fujifilm cameras to those who can afford a Fujifilm X-E2 or X-Pro since then at least the expectations and budget is set straight. It hink those wanting to get introduced to budget interchangeable cameras should look for something like an Olympus E-PL5.

11:14 am - Friday, November 15, 2013

#6 Dave

Just bought this camera! Did some playing around. Normally I use a Canon 5DMKII and mainly shoot in dawn (blue hours) city landscapes. Bought this one for creativity photography and can only say incredible images come out. Tonight tested the cam in low light settings, both JPEGS and RAW files and have to say that there is more noise visible @ISO200 as I thought when using Long Exposure. But since I am new to the Fuji setup I keep experimenting….have to say the SR+ mode is fun using and the quality of high ISO JPEGS satisfies me….

7:12 pm - Friday, January 31, 2014

#7 Dave

Some test shots! I used one of your product images.
http://www.flickr.com/photos/nldazuu/12239953233/

7:27 pm - Friday, January 31, 2014

#8 Dave

Some test images, I used one of your product images.

http://www.flickr.com/photos/nldazuu/12239953233/

7:28 pm - Friday, January 31, 2014

Entry Tags

3 inch LCD, 1080p, 16 megapixel, lens, video, camera, wi-fi, wireless, full hd, mirrorless, csc, wifi, zoom, retro, compact system, 50mm, gps, digital, rangefinder, x-m1, 16-50mm, 16mm, x-m1 review, Fujifilm X-A1, Fujifilm X-A1 Review, fujifilm x-a1 review, fujifilm x-a1

Tracker Pixel for Entry