Fujifilm X-E1 Review

4.5
November 12, 2012 | Mark Goldstein |

Your Comments

31 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 nick192

That is one hell of a performer!!!!

6:33 pm - Monday, November 12, 2012

#2 Vesa V.

A very impressive review! One question concerning manual focus: is it possible to focus the camera into infinity, without seeing the object? And can the focus to be locked to infinity when shooting successive bulb-mode images? This has been a problem in Fujifilm cameras and has limited the use of them in star photography.

7:38 pm - Monday, November 12, 2012

#3 david

how’s the focus speed with the kit zoom? is it alot faster then the 35mm

8:45 pm - Monday, November 12, 2012

#4 Marko

I think there is something wrong at page 2 at Focal range. The two images for 27 mm and 83 mm are the same…

10:40 pm - Monday, November 12, 2012

#5 Jose kerginaldo de paula

Good camera, but still does not beat the Panasonic tz30, the pocket invincible.

12:19 am - Tuesday, November 13, 2012

#6 Dave

I have this camera (love it), but on my copy the Auto ISO mode goes to 6400, not 3200 as in the review page 1:

“The clever ISO Auto Control setting allows you to set a maximum sensitivity (up to 3200) and a minimum shutter speed (1/30th is a good starting point)...”

Also, I can’t see how to incorporate the minimum shutter speed into the Auto ISO, but might have missed it?

1:46 am - Tuesday, November 13, 2012

#7 Wildspin

I have had this camera for almost 3 weeks already and I also can’t figure out how to set the minimum shutter speed when using auto ISO, can you shed a light on that?

Thanks!

2:38 am - Tuesday, November 13, 2012

#8 Matthew Richards

What lens was used to achieve the 83mm sample shots? The review seemed to indicate that a kit zoom lens XF18-55mm F2.8-4 R LM OIS was used.

8:56 am - Tuesday, November 13, 2012

#9 Daymon

The indicated range is FF equivalent: 18-55mm => 27-84mm

10:43 am - Tuesday, November 13, 2012

#10 krasitsky

83mm is 55mm equivalent =)
Photos are very bad, that’s sad. It’s not camera fault

11:20 am - Tuesday, November 13, 2012

#11 Pixelarte

Jose kerginaldo de paula said:

“Good camera, but still does not beat the Panasonic tz30, the pocket invincible.”

Is that meant to be a joke?

11:34 am - Tuesday, November 13, 2012

#12 Matthew Richards

@Daymon

if that’s the case, (and I think it needs adding to the review) then assuming this a 1.5 crop factor, we’re looking at a 27-82.5mm Equiv

11:52 am - Tuesday, November 13, 2012

#13 Dave

Crop factor is 1.53, so 55mm *1.53 = 84.15mm.

12:08 pm - Tuesday, November 13, 2012

#14 VisualFX

Jose kerginaldo de paula, keep dreaming! This Fuji runs circles around your Panasonic P&S.

1:55 am - Wednesday, November 14, 2012

#15 Tina Wang

What are the dimensions of the rear LCD panel for a screen protector?

3:16 am - Wednesday, November 14, 2012

#16 dj

Awesome camera!—well done fuji and a excellent review. Its amazing how Sony, Olympus , Panasonic and Fuji have done it right while Canon and Nikon have not.

7:05 am - Wednesday, November 14, 2012

#17 Dougbm

No minimum shutter speed setting in auto ISO. No ND filter. The X100 has both. WIthout these, especially the first I think Fuji has made a misstep. Why can’t they be consistent eg X100 has eye diopter but not the X Pro-1 (fail for me and many middle aged people). Now this stuff. So far X100 is the original and the best.
Hopefully a firmware tweak ( a Fuji specialty) can address the min shutter speed issue at least. The lens roadmap looks very good.

9:22 pm - Monday, November 19, 2012

#18 Dave

@Dougbm As I understand it, the X100 lacks interchangeable lenses, which means it cannot be the best—- for me.

As for image quality, I believe the superlative X-trans sensor in the X-E1/X-Pro1 will have the advantage, your mileage may vary, of course.

I have yet to experience any issue with shutter speed when using the Auto ISO—- I have taken a couple of thousand photos with it at this time.

11:59 pm - Monday, November 19, 2012

#19 Dougbm

@Dave.  Fair points. What I meant was that the X100 is a complete package. No missing diopter or min shutter speed (auto ISO) or ND filter. It has it all. I just wish Fuji would not take away these useful functions from the new X models. It made a great start then improved it a lot with firmware. The X-Pro 1 is unfixable because of the lack of a diopter. Also the X100 has a built in flash - not so the others. The X-E1 is mostly fixable but why don’t they get it right to begin with?
I do believe Fuji have implemented a min auto shutter speed based on the 35mm equivalent focal length of the lens ie 50 sec for the 35mm lens. This would give 30 sec for the 18mm which is as low as you want it. What happens when they introduce wider lenses?

Pos and cons of the shutter.
The X-Pro1 utilises a focal-plane shutter rather than the leaf shutter that the X100 has, much like a regular DSLR camera. This results in slightly noisier operation and a much slower flash-sync speed of 1/180th second (versus the X100’s 1/4000th second).

As I said X100 the first and the best (in many ways). By the way you can get a wide add on lens (18mm vs 23mm) not that I would bother. A longer (3 x) add on would be more useful but then you may as well get an interchangeable X camera. Maybe the next ASP-C X camera will be a fixed lens 25-100 zoom (X-Z100? Who knows.

1:19 am - Tuesday, November 20, 2012

#20 Dave

@Dougbm. The X-E1 has a built-in flash. I think it is better than the one in the X100 because on the X-E1 it can be tilted to flash through a 90 degree arc, allowing easy bouncing of the light to achieve a result.

For me, the X-E1 works superbly in real life and encourages me to use it to achieve a creative result. It is certainly not perfect, but as you point out, no camera is perfect.

2:40 am - Tuesday, November 20, 2012

#21 Dougbm

@Dave. Doh! So it does. That’s good then.

I like the idea of the X-E1. I use the EVF on my X100 a lot so I can compose accurately and use the optical finder when I really need to see the details or when I am shooting more casually. Hard to believe I have had the X100 for 20 months now! It’ great that Fuji have really gone for it in this segment. I think largely they have done well and the lens roadmap looks great - even the zooms.

3:36 am - Tuesday, November 20, 2012

#22 John

How does this compare with the Sony NEX-6 with 16-50mm?

3:43 am - Tuesday, November 20, 2012

#23 Dave

@Dougbm Yes, the forthcoming lens selection looks great.

The X-E1, body with battery and card, weighs 100g less than the X100, but is the same size. With the pancake 41mm equivalent it will be less deep than the X100 and almost pocketable. Great for street.

And the wide zoom (15 to 36mm equiv)  is going to be handy.

4:01 am - Tuesday, November 20, 2012

#24 Ken Villeneuve

I’ve seen nothing about ‘silent mode’on the X-E1. While I like the camera, why is there a silent mode when it sounds exactly the same as regular mode.
Anybody?

6:22 pm - Tuesday, December 11, 2012

#25 Kiw

#5 Jose kerginaldo de paula :

“Good camera, but still does not beat the Panasonic tz30, the pocket invincible.”

This must be a joke!!!
- or this is telling something about Your (Jose) skills when we are talking about photo…
- or that You (Jose) never had used Fuji X!

12:09 pm - Saturday, December 15, 2012

#26 andy clad

WOW…The high ISO on this is fab. The alley shot at 6400 is so much better than many a compact at ISO 100 (even the TZ30).
The price is coming down as well. With the new x20 being released for around £500. For another £130 you get this baby. With a far better bit of glass too.
Before I get jumped on. Forget about the 18-55 kit lens tag and look at the image quality it produces. Ive heard that the x20 is going to use the same lens from the x10. Well I put the x10 up against an xz-1 last year and its a poor piece of glass compared to the xz-1.

10:59 am - Monday, February 4, 2013

#27 Michael Roberts

I’m not sure what drug the guy is on that compared this Fuji X-E1 with a compact camera, fool.  Anyway, the Fuji rocks. It not only runs circles around all compact camera’s (obviously), but it also beats all micro 4/3 camera’s and many SLR’s when it comes to image quality. Yeah, the Olympus thingies are fast focussing and full of bells and whistles, but in the end it’s all about image quality baby. So I say bye, bye micro 4/3 camera and hello Fuji APSC low light master! The Fuji ‘kit’ lens is really good. Super sharp at most if the zoom range and contrast and bokeh are nice too. Well, it’s not really a cheap kit lens is it. It’s comparable with the Panasonic 12-35mm f/2.8 I think. The photos in this review are not very good and they don’t do the Fuji’s amazing image quality justice.

10:39 pm - Saturday, February 9, 2013

#28 Mary

The reviews will go on and on. The cameras will be produced, and each will do something we either appreciate or loath. But Kids, this camera is so beautiful. It is refined! When shooting, I pretend I it is 1968 and I am shooting w/ my Dad’s
camera. Seriously, it is a joy to work with. The color is sharp and the controls are so fun to use.
Sometimes you just fall in love w/ a camera. My pocket camera/Lumix D Lux 3 is such a camera, and so is this one. If I had one correction = DUMP THE VIDEO….NEVER USE IT.

11:16 pm - Thursday, March 14, 2013

#29 Arni

Can you turn off the LCD screen when recording video and use the electronic viewfinder instead?

8:50 pm - Sunday, March 24, 2013

#30 Drew

I would have bought the X100 on looks alone, but the 35MM fixed lens put me off. I came from a Panasonic p&s that went down to 23mm and that kind of focal length will change your life!

My big question is there a big enough difference to tell between 23mm and 27mm, as the kit lens is on this camera?

9:41 pm - Monday, June 24, 2013

#31 Andy Clad

Hi. I bought the XE-1 last month and haven’t looked back. It’s an absolutely stunning camera.
The lit lens is not just a through away bit of glass. It’s far sharper than many specialist lenses.
I have replaced my Pentax K5 kit and numerous lenses for the XE-1.
It’s well worth it.
See if you can trial one. I’ve also found the battery life to be surprisingly good. 400+ shots.

10:09 pm - Monday, June 24, 2013

Entry Tags

1080p, 16 megapixel, lens, video, camera, full hd, mirrorless, csc, zoom, compact system, retro, 2.8 inch LCD, digital, x-e1, 18mm, 55mm, rangefinder, Fujifilm X-E1, x-e1 review, Fujifilm X-E1 Review, fujifilm x-e1 review, fujifilm x-e1

Tracker Pixel for Entry