Fujifilm X-M1 Review

4.5
July 17, 2013 | Mark Goldstein |

Your Comments

18 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 jure

Why don’t you publish prices also in €? It is funny that anybody from EU who read tests of yours, must look for prices elsewhere. Is it so difficult to get prices in € from http://www.ebay.de ?

9:26 am - Wednesday, July 17, 2013

#2 cynic

@jure
It’s funny that you can’t find a price closer to your home. I reside in Australia. Should PhotographyBlog post Australian prices too?

10:54 am - Wednesday, July 17, 2013

#3 Pavel

sample images look really promising overall

1:19 pm - Wednesday, July 17, 2013

#4 the world in pictures

hello everyone
can you visit my new site !
http://twipi.net/

8:06 pm - Wednesday, July 17, 2013

#5 Joe Bloggs

Doesn’t seem to be that much cheaper than X-E1, I’d go for that just for extra features

11:13 pm - Wednesday, July 17, 2013

#6 Vladislav

It is incorrect to say: “...if you prefer to compose your images at arms length…”. Tilting rear screen allows one to use a camera at waist level, close to your body, in a similar way to old style waist level cameras. It is fixed rear screen which forces one to compose at arms length, or to use a view finder. It is also worth noting that there are many optical finders which are perfect for X-M1 with a prime lens (not for zoom lens, of course).

11:49 pm - Wednesday, July 17, 2013

#7 Jeff

The absence of a VF “prevent[s] us from recommending the X-M1 even more highly to more advanced photographers”.

I am an advanced photographer, brought up in the MF tradition. I only ever use rear screen for waist level shooting. What am I to make of your statement?

Vladislav +1

7:52 am - Thursday, July 18, 2013

#8 Simon

If you are going to consider publishing prices in euro (reasonable request), would you also please forward plan for publishing in Scottish Pounds as well as English Pounds. I live in Inververryshitplace just north of Loch Sporren, and we are sure Scotland will be independent soon.

2:04 pm - Thursday, July 18, 2013

#9 Khanh Dao

What len is used for the sample image??

5:53 pm - Thursday, July 18, 2013

#10 jure

@Cynic - great idea .. why not?

How is the Australian weather at the moment?

And kangaroos .. do you take photos of kangaroos?

It must be funny to celebrate the Christmans when summer is in the air.

best regards

11:12 am - Friday, July 19, 2013

#11 Cynic

@ Jure. Dont be a smartass, and STFU.

12:55 pm - Saturday, July 20, 2013

#12 kurnia

Also price in IDR too :p
@Jure it’s simple, go to review site written by European blogger, they should place the price in Euro

6:03 pm - Tuesday, July 23, 2013

#13 Fujifilm X-M1

I would like to know what the life of the gate in this model Fujifilm X-M1

1:41 pm - Friday, July 26, 2013

#14 MJ

Can’t really compare the sample images with those made by other cameras if most of these are at ISO400 and above..

8:51 pm - Sunday, August 18, 2013

#15 m.allis

in your review of the Fuji x-m1you state that you would need to compose your images at arms length. why would you need to do that when it has a tilting screen. I would have thought that was obvious. any comments thanks mike.

6:41 pm - Tuesday, August 20, 2013

#16 Lomomentim

The review is incorrect where it reports that you can turn off the artificial sound of the electronic shutter. This camera has a mechanical shutter like the XE2 and will not silence, like the X100S does.

7:09 pm - Friday, January 10, 2014

#17 Eric

I like to compare bokeh effect of XM1 with XA1 . when the official Fuji page says XA1 is the bokeh master , I really prefer the warm and natural bokeh of XM1 . did anyone compare them ?

12:05 pm - Tuesday, September 16, 2014

#18 morgan

how is the battery life on it?

9:26 pm - Sunday, October 5, 2014

Entry Tags

3 inch LCD, 1080p, 16 megapixel, lens, video, camera, wi-fi, wireless, full hd, mirrorless, csc, wifi, zoom, retro, compact system, 50mm, gps, digital, rangefinder, 16-50mm, x-m1, 16mm, Fujifilm X-M1, x-m1 review, fujifilm x-m1, Fujifilm X-M1 Review, fujifilm x-m1 review

Tracker Pixel for Entry