Fujifilm XF 18-135mm F3.5-5.6 R LM OIS WR Review

July 9, 2014 | Mark Goldstein | |

Your Comments

9 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 BE

I have an xt1 and the 18-55 ‘kit’ zoom - your review of that 2 years ago gave it a ‘highly recommended’.  This lens 1(18-135) will give that much more reach and be excellent as a travel lense but will I loose picture quality that I am getting from my current zoom ?  How do the 2 rate against each other in the 18-55 range (other than difference in max f stop) ?  I would greatly appreciate your comments.

12:40 pm - Wednesday, July 9, 2014

#2 Dustin

I would love to have the extra zoom that comes with this lens for those situation where you need just a little more but dont feel like swapping lenses

5:00 pm - Wednesday, July 9, 2014

#3 Swagon

Did you update the firmware in your camera?  I would have expected the firmware to correct the lens’s barrel distortion.  Also, when I look closely at some if your gallery images, I see signs of camera shake, I think.  But this lens is supposed to have exceptional image stabilization. If the firmware isn’t updated, then the stabilization won’t work correctly.  Maybe I’m wrong, but I’m just wondering.  If I’m correct, then you should correct your post and upload all new gallery shots.

8:56 am - Sunday, July 13, 2014

#4 David Thomas

Mine arrived in the post yesterday morning.
From my limited time with this lens I am amazed at the picture quality. I shot RAW plus JPEG. The JPEGS were of a beautiful quality straight out of the camera. I am going on a few days holiday starting this morning and will leave my 5D mk111 and lenses behind and just see how well I get on with this single lens on my X-T1
Smiles from miles
David

8:33 am - Saturday, August 2, 2014

#5 Richard

I have a similar question to BE. I am about to buy an XT1 with kit zoom mainly for travelling. The 18-135 will obviously give me a better range but almost every picture I’ve seen taken with the longer zoom seems slightly soft and definitely softer than the 18-55. Am I imagining this or is this actually the case ? I don’t want to compromise quality and sharpness just for the sake of the longer range. Your response would be appreciated by BE as well I’m sure.

11:13 pm - Saturday, August 16, 2014

#6 David Thomas

Hi Richard

I have both the excellent 18-55 and the new 18-135. Having recently completed a short trip to a Battle Proms event at Highclere
Castle I am delighted with the sharp images produced by the 18-135 if you supply your email address to me at .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address)
I would be please to email some examples to you.

Smiles from miles
David

10:27 am - Sunday, August 17, 2014

#7 hquintas

It made in China.- Other lenses for this camera are Japanese.-

11:49 am - Sunday, November 16, 2014

#8 Matt

The gallery photos presented for this 18 -135 mm lens is full of photos labeled with focal lengths outside the range of the lens like 203 mm and 174 mm. It appears you’re labeling the photos with effective focal length which is more confusing than it is helpful. It’s not clear what he would do that and still call it in 18 to 135 lens.

I also wanted to mention that the experience on Safari under iOS is less than spectacular. Every time I scroll it seems to want to pop up ads for games within the App Store. This also happens if you’re trying to close some of the floating ad windows and miss by millimeter.

Finally if this comment form throws an error, say for a space at the end of an email address, there’s no opportunity to correct it, and the entire message is lost.

I appreciate you including this lens in your reviews.

7:51 am - Wednesday, February 11, 2015

#9 david pratt

Ok -
What does the ‘R’ and ‘LM’ stand for ???

8:41 am - Saturday, April 2, 2016

Entry Tags

review, samples, photos, test, images, jpeg, compact system camera, preview, mirrorless, jpg, fujifilm, fuji, f3.5, f5.6, x-t1, xt1, x t1, fuji 18-135mm, fujifilm 18-135mm, Fujifilm XF 18-135mm F3.5-5.6 R LM OIS WR

Tracker Pixel for Entry