Fujifilm XF 18-55mm F2.8-4 R LM OIS Review

4.5
November 16, 2012 | Mark Goldstein |

Your Comments

19 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 Bob Copeland

I love reading your blog but if you want your lens reviews to be taken seriously please at least get the pictures of the product sharp. You are supposed to be the experts.

9:18 pm - Friday, November 16, 2012

#2 krasitsky

I had keep silence too much… why don’t find good photographer to make photos?! Out of focus, shitty pictures! And why did you take high ISO images for testing lens?!

I really loved that blog, but now it’s a shame

10:12 pm - Friday, November 16, 2012

#3 david

Thanks for the review.
I am wondering at 23mm it is possible to use f2.8?

12:47 am - Saturday, November 17, 2012

#4 webber

Bob,Krasitsky-you either have crap in your eyes or you have problems with your screens…the images are sharp…stop posting crap…

1:34 am - Saturday, November 17, 2012

#5 krasitsky

webber, forgot to re-login as pb worker?

9:41 am - Saturday, November 17, 2012

#6 Drew Reese

As usual, people tend to ‘focus’ on minutiae. I see this lens as an incredible tool, with the ability to capture a large number of photos, you couldn’t get with a simple prime lens. It’s the best ‘kit’ lens ever made and worth the price, particularly with the X-E1 package.

8:15 pm - Saturday, November 17, 2012

#7 Phil G.

Looks the good to me,I`ve been using a Canon 24-105 f/4 for the last 4 years. Will be interesting to see how they stack up.

10:32 pm - Saturday, November 17, 2012

#8 Lebowski

Bob and Krasitsky don’t understand, that 100 or 200% crops are never fully sharp, because they show us the edge of sharpness of a certain lens. That’s why they are used. The sample images of the test, on the other hand, are sharp.
So, sometimes it’s better to think before accusating people…

10:38 am - Sunday, November 18, 2012

#9 albert

nice review. I’ll buy it when I’ve got my salary next month.

1:14 pm - Sunday, November 18, 2012

#10 Ron Scubadiver

It might perform well, but it is very large which kind of defeats the purpose of going mirrorless in the first place.  I suppose it is better to have a few good lenses that are not cheap than many mediocre ones.  The other big deal is poor raw processing in Adobe software.

12:24 am - Monday, November 19, 2012

#11 Hakan

A little correction; in Macro section it might be 30cm instead of 30mm. Thanks for your effort to bring reviews live as soon as possible. It gives a reasonable idea about the product.

11:16 am - Monday, November 19, 2012

#12 Me

Sorry, but is every one of your reviews 4.5 stars?

6:54 pm - Monday, November 19, 2012

#13 MONa

Works like a dream. Stabiliser turns a bit noisy at -25C, should probably have turned it off, but what the heck, it’s meant to be a pro tool ;-)

1:15 pm - Monday, January 28, 2013

#14 mike werkhoven

Thanks for publishing, helps me to decide in the unlimited possibilities. I was very pleased with your choise of experimenting with high iso. One of the qualities I am interested in. Maybe, high contrast indoor would have been nice to ad for my interest, I do a lot of stage photografy. Wel, that I have to find out my self ;)
Thanks, Mike

9:48 pm - Monday, February 4, 2013

#15 bao

I have XP1 with 18, 35 and 60mm primes
Got the 18-55mm to have in one piec of gear a compact all rounder very high IQ cam
Not disppointed at all
The 18mm focal lenghth is remarkable
The 55mm is probably the weakest focal lenght but still very good
As far as contarst is concerned, it’s a bit soft at 55mmbut this is just a comment based on the comparison with my stellar 60mmm
Absolutely excellent zoom with a very effective IS that allows 1/8 sec without problem at 18mm and 1/15 at 55mm

4:02 pm - Saturday, February 16, 2013

#16 Giorgio

As professional photographer for over 30 years I think Fuji X-E1 gives me the rare opportunity to continue a kind of traditional, analogic way of taking pictures in this sometimes crazy digital era. The 18-55mmm is a very fine all day purpose lens. A perfect exposure and and a perfect focus was and still is the only way to have a fine picture.  If you shoot like that,  out of camera jpegs are just perfect, nothing to do afterwards, only sometimes a very subtle sharpening. Raw in camera converter gives you the best conversion and the opportunity to correct some little mistakes in a few seconds, much better and 100 times faster than any other raw converter. If you are NOT a photographer and you like to spend half of your life tweaking raws and killing your pictures with a Raw converter software, in that case Fuji cameras are NOT for you.

6:59 am - Friday, May 17, 2013

#17 SD

Bob, Krasitsky… Done taking it out on your wife and kids? Now its this website’s turn?

People who cannot find anything positive and gloat only on negatives, tend to be horrible people to hang out next to. Worse, they have negative outlook on life in general.

Krasitsky… Get a life and learn some English while you are at it.
The 18-55 is a zoom KIT lens, not a prime. It does AMAZINGLY well for what it is.

1:48 pm - Friday, August 16, 2013

#18 Phil

I`ve been using this lens since Nov after using Canon 24-105 for a few years.
The Fuji 18-55 is a beautifully sharp lens,easily as good as the Canon 24-105 in my opinion.

3:13 pm - Friday, August 16, 2013

#19 Richard Craze

Come on guys, if your going to review a lens at lest use a tripod!  A lot of your pictures are suffering with camera shake, while some of the pictures are just out of focus. You have a great site but you need to up your game if you want to be taken at all seriously by the people who visit your site.

11:29 am - Friday, February 14, 2014

Entry Tags

review, lens, fujifilm, zoom, fuji, f2.8, standard, 35mm, x-e1, f4, image stabilisation, x-pro1, xf, 18mm, 23mm, x, 55mm, vibration compensation, anti-shake, 18-55mm, ois, 18-55, Fujifilm XF 18-55mm F2.8-4 R LM OIS, 27-84, 27-84mm

Tracker Pixel for Entry