Fujifilm XF 23mm F1.4 R Review

4.5
November 1, 2013 | Mark Goldstein |

Your Comments

7 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 Frank

“In summary the Fujifilm XF 14mm F2.8 R is another very high-quality optic in the XF lens range and definitely worthy of our Highly Recommended award.”
Nice.
So how about the XF 23mm F1.4R?

7:19 pm - Saturday, November 2, 2013

#2 engagement photographer

Iv’e used the Fujifilm XF 14mm and was satisfied with the quality of pics I got

1:35 am - Monday, November 4, 2013

#3 Eric

I enjoy your site, and I think your reviews are genuinely fair. However, I offer the following critique with the best intentions in hopes of improving your site. Can you guys please start spending more time on your sample photos? I hate to be rude, but your sample photos are, in a word, awful. I know some photographers that could do a one our photo-walk, and come back with 20 sample photos that are far better than what you guys regularly attach at the end of your reviews. In-fact, I’d go so far as to say that your sample photos are so bad, that they discredit your written reviews. I get the feeling you guys aren’t putting a lot of effort into your samples, so I hope you don’t take too much offense to that.

4:47 pm - Monday, November 4, 2013

#4 jeff

I don’t think samples need to be compelling photographs, after all, we aren’t judging the photographer, merely looking at the performance of the lens.

If anything, mundane shots help keep things objective, assuming of course the shots are technically well done, ie; shutter speed etc

8:38 pm - Monday, November 4, 2013

#5 Bert

Nope _ rely on the consistency of the review walk to get the same images - varying light etc forgiven. I want technical - not beautiful - I can just tools from the technical results - i can create my own beauty with them thereafter.

1:09 pm - Tuesday, November 5, 2013

#6 jon

I am in agreement with this concerning sample images on most all sites. If I were to decide on the images usually posted,I don’t think I would have purchased a lens in a while. I don’t know if it is the processing or the software used but most pics don’t look sharp. I have even seen review images from the Zuiko 75mm f1.8 that aren’t sharp and that takes some talent to screw up those pics. DPreview is by far the worst offender. Then again I have seen images that were acceptable only to find not a single owner ever got a good pic out of a certain lens. Try it and like it or send it back.

1:25 am - Friday, November 22, 2013

#7 jim

Not a comment on the artistic merit of the photos, but nearly all these images are soft, not in focus, underexposed, and have nothing in common with most everything written about this lens. My samsung phone takes sharper photos.

7:11 pm - Tuesday, March 4, 2014

Entry Tags

review, photos, samples, images, wide-angle, test, lens, sample images, fujifilm, fuji, wide angle, prime, f1.4, x-e1, xf, x-pro1, x-m1, 23mm, x, x-a1, 23, Fujifilm XF 23mm f1.4 R

Tracker Pixel for Entry