Kodak EasyShare Z980 Review

3.5
June 15, 2009 | Mark Goldstein |

Your Comments

18 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 Danie Polley

After reading your review, the numerical ratings and overall rating of above average are a joke.

4:12 pm - Monday, June 15, 2009

#2 George Serdes

If I had based my decision to purchase on this review I would never have had the satisfaction of owning this wonderful camera. I truly enjoy every aspect of this camera.

6:22 am - Tuesday, June 16, 2009

#3 Shiv

If you are a normal consumer, take all these expert reviews with a grain of salt.
They will criticise things which we dont care about.
So in the end, expert reviews are only useful for SLR cameras which will be used by real enthusiasts who will fuss about every little thing.
I have seen some of the best bridge cameras get thousands of 5 star ratings from happy customers and yet on expert review websites they get low marks.
So the best thing to do for customers is to read customer reviews. The more the merrier. Amazon is a good place for this.

12:50 pm - Tuesday, June 16, 2009

#4 gide

I disagree with some opinion above.. I bought TZ5 based on review but I often see the other user comments.. basically, I used TZ5 for point n shot..
I agree with Danie, photographyblog usually gave the score so kind! sometimes I didnt know whether this camera good enough or not.. because the score is almost same like the other camera review.. there is a gray area between good camera or bad camera.. although I enjoyed read the review but not the score rating..

2:43 pm - Tuesday, June 16, 2009

#5 DICK

I THINK MARK GOLDSTEIN NEEDS GLASSES OR HE IS BIASED AGAINST KODAK I TOOK PICTURES WITH A NIKON SLR SAME PICTURES UNDER THE SAME CONDITIONS AND THE KODAK Z980 PICTURES WERE A HECK OF A LOT SHARPER THAN THE NIKON IN FACT MOST OF THE PICTURS WITH THE Z980 WERE EXCELLENT

2:48 pm - Tuesday, June 16, 2009

#6 Tom W

The Anti- Kodak bias of Kodak by Mark Goldstein is outrageous.  It shows through even behind his detail assessments. Failure to list it in comparison studies etc is shameful. With a great 26-624 lens and very fast f2.8-5.0 (matched only by Nikon), and every feature of the other cameras, the knocks were an unwarranted hammering. I love every aspect of mine. !

11:19 pm - Monday, June 29, 2009

#7 valentim99

I do agree with most of comments above it seems for some people the world of photography resumes only to two makers NIKON and CANON and all the rest it is rubbish and unworthy to be mentioned and if it is , making hem appear bad.Any way I had too kodaks in the past z7590 and p880 and im looking to buy the z980 after id seen some photos taken with my friends camera and a can tell they are much better than some canons photos have seen with proper rich color and detail not grey like canons and sonys .

7:58 pm - Sunday, July 5, 2009

#8 Roland

I appreciate the critical review because even though it’s biased against Kodak, frankly I think Kodak deserves a bit of negative review. I bought a P880 in 2006 and if you check on forums now these cameras with high quality components are essentially throw-aways, not being supported by Kodak anymore. Not even for under warranty but they are still being sold new. They are defective, yet Kodak does not repair them, they simply replace with another model. And for those with camera out of warranty, Kodak does not offer any help. Repair shop cannot get parts either. So all this money wasted. I am still thinking about P980 now because of price, but very skeptical that will turn out to be cheap throw-away garbage too. Don’t believe me just look on the web. Do google search for P880 problems or look on dpreview.com and other forums.  My point is if you like Kodak OK for you but be careful. They are not the same quality.  I got burned and don’t want to get burned twice. Maybe I will gamble on Z980, we’ll see.

8:51 am - Sunday, July 19, 2009

#9 bob p.

I have owned the kodak z980 since St. Patties day when kodak ran the 30% special, I was looking for a replacement for my p880 which I really love and it still works great. I took it on a trip to mystic seaport and found the results to be quite impressive. the zoom was very sharp as I shot frogs at the aquarium and the color is just beautiful. The 26 mm wide angle was excellent for landscape shots and below deck. The camera is very light and you don’t feel neck pain even after 3-4 hrs. Yes it could have used a diopter in the viewfinder hopefully they will improve this on the next model. Overall a nice camera and the p-20 flash works great with the camera for some nice indoor group shots. Look for a discount and you won’t be disappointed.

7:46 am - Tuesday, July 21, 2009

#10 anonymous345

I have to disagree with some of the above comments. Look at the sample images- way above average for a camera in this class. Even a blue sky at ISO 100- NOISE NOISE NOISE. Look at the portrait shots in the image quality part of the review- did you ever see such distorted bricks in real life? Personally, I take customer reviews with a grain of salt, unless the customer is knowlegeable about the product. I do think the 4.5 star rating is a little high though.

7:39 am - Sunday, August 2, 2009

#11 frank

I have to say i had high hopes for this camera, but pretty disappointed for a 12mp camera. There is so much noise in this camera’s pictures its just eating me inside. I love to zoom in on pictures but when i do with the Kodak z980 there is nothing but noise and saturated picture quality. I think they should of put more quality in this camera instead of focusing on the side shutter button witch i don’t use. This camera does have very nice color in its photo’s i do give it that and i did have some nice shots with it but still very disappointed i wasted almost $500 on it when i should of put $200 more and get a good DSLR .

8:01 am - Monday, August 10, 2009

#12 frank

Oh one more thing, the photo’s do look nice until you start zooming in on the photo then they start to look like crap. I like to see the detail on photo’s but when you zoom in on the z980 photo’s it gets very disappointing.

8:12 am - Monday, August 10, 2009

#13 Gridbald

I’ve seen some very nice images from this camera on the forums and it seems to produce beautifully sharp macros. The price will have to drop a lot more though before I’ll consider it.

12:21 pm - Monday, October 12, 2009

#14 salvador

Your review bears out my own experience with Kodak digital cameras. Decent images at low ISOs in bright sunlight but too much noise in shadow above ISO100. I suspect part of the problem is too much in-camera processing. People should not expect this camera to compete with even a budget DSLR for picture quality above ISO200 when it is trying to fit 12 megapixels into such a small sensor.

1:47 am - Saturday, December 5, 2009

#15 suvendu rudra

mark!your rivew is very straight forward..as a user of z980 i agree with you.image quality is the main issuue for any camera.general picture(<200 iso),night shots(<100 iso with long shutter speed) are acceptable but not too much immpressing.noise & softness are main culprit for every images .you can’t expect from higly rated(on paper) 12 mp camera which it produce

12:35 pm - Thursday, December 10, 2009

#16 Tracey Taberer

I have read a few reviews on the Z980 but knew from the get go that this one was going to slate what appears to be an all-singing all-dancing great 1st or upgrade high zoom, high MP digital camera - certainly hasn’t managed to stop me making my purchase and i’m looking forward to proving that Mr Goldstein is talking out of his bottom.

12:49 pm - Monday, May 3, 2010

#17 VERONICA

WHAT??????is this camera so bad? its like 190 new online. i see they rated 2.5 picture quality. is it really bad? can somebody tell me . thanks

9:05 pm - Sunday, August 29, 2010

#18 Mark Gray

I have been using this camera for a year and a half now despite the Image quality at 100 % is noisy, but using the RAW Format reduces it a bit, and if you keep the ISO settings to a minimum it is not to bad

as for editing I am a Linux user and i find the Digikam Program (also available as a windows Download although quite slow) does a great job of editing the RAW format and Importing it into JPEG
in my opinion it does a Better job

the Images on my site are taken on the Z980 and most edited on Digikam, and I am still using the original Kodak rechargeables that come with the Camera, plus I was so happy with them I Bought a second set after 16000 Photos the Camera is still going strong, Faultless so far

It takes a while to get used to the lesser quality images if you can accept it and the Manual Focus does need work, apart from that i think it has been a reasonable buy

2:56 pm - Monday, March 28, 2011

Entry Tags

hd video, 3 inch LCD, 720p, 12 megapixel, RAW, ultra-zoom, 24x zoom, Z980, Kodak, Kodak EasyShare Z980

Tracker Pixel for Entry