Leica D-Lux 5 Titanium Review

4.0
December 21, 2011 | Gavin Stoker |

Your Comments

13 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 Ian

Good review, but I am still not sure whether Leica’s image quality (and that goes for the “regular” Leica D-Lux5) is superior to Panasonic lx5. As we all know it is a luxury item, the review could note that at the beginning and then more objectively analyse its strength and weaknesses. Is there any IQ advantage over panasonic?

8:15 pm - Wednesday, December 21, 2011

#2 Jim McDermott

Well, as long as people have more money than sense, there’ll always be Leica. They should bring out a black dot version in a run of, say, 500 units, and double the price again. It’ll sell, no doubt.

1:16 pm - Thursday, December 22, 2011

#3 Phil

This is almost £500 more than the LX5. Stick whatever badge you want on it I’d still take the LX5.

5:33 pm - Thursday, December 22, 2011

#4 Warren Lyons

The relationship between the low end Leica products and its partner, Panasonic, mirror that of Toyota and its luxury brand Lexus.  In both cases, the entry level luxury models are basically pimped out versions of their commoner equivalent.  In the case of Toyota/Lexus, they are sold in different showrooms so the buyer won’t see the obvious similarites.  I wonder how Leica deals with this as both brands may be sold under the same roof

8:05 pm - Thursday, December 22, 2011

#5 Dante

Even if I should become a billionaire and want a very nice compact camera, I would not buy this camera.  I don’t want to be seen as being a brand name sucker or even dumb.

1:02 pm - Friday, December 23, 2011

#6 Charlie

Nice review, thorough and fair.  What is the shutter lag for still photos?  (You mention a slight pause for video, but I didn’t read anything about stills.)  For action, even baby smiles, it matters to me.

Second, are there any practical advantages to the titanium?  Is it scratch-proof?  Would the camera fit in a jeans pocket?  Or a trouser pocket?  Would it be stupid to put it in your pocket - would the lens cap stay on?

4:35 pm - Saturday, December 31, 2011

#7 Guess

A Nokia N8 takes better pictures than this camera. Guess this is for people who wants a Leica for the sake of having a Leica. Pros n serious amateur photographers are mostly likely to get an LX5 or an X100 for their pocket cam.

12:11 pm - Thursday, January 26, 2012

#8 Phil

Have always wanted a Leica but this little gem was not the one.  I agonized over this camera for about 6 months.  With the exception of the upgraded software bundle & firmware differences I could’nt justify the price.  I purchased a micro 4/3 unit with IQ far superior to this format but sacrificed the pocketability the D-Lux 5 offers.

12:09 pm - Wednesday, February 1, 2012

#9 Pierre

Why pay 1200 dollar for made in Japan, the casing looks like plastic instead titanium, so I definitely prefer its Panasonic sibling

10:58 am - Friday, February 24, 2012

#10 Marc

Guess wrote: ‘A Nokia N8 takes better pictures than this camera’...!!! I have tested extensively the d-Lux 5 against my old Nikon D90 (with its 3 lenses, 2 Sigma and 1 Nikon)and the conclusion is that the extra bulk and weight of the Nikon is not worth the tiny difference in quality (I sold the Nikon). Of course the Nikon has more options and can do more but the quality difference is really insignificant. Of course Leicas are extremely over priced, but the design and build quality are superb, and the D-Lux 5 had full manual controls.

6:15 pm - Friday, May 4, 2012

#11 RON

“OVER-RATED…OVER-PRICED…& STILL-UNDERPERFORMING”... IN THIS DIGITAL AGE OF PHOTOGRAPHY, WHICH LEICA HAS YET TO “EFFECTIVELY-ADAPT AT BEING IMAGE-QUALITY ADEPT”


“ERRATIC…INCONSISTENT…AND SADLY, EVEN INFERIOR” COMPARED TO MOST ANY OF THE PTHERS AT SUCH LOFTY PRICE-POINTS IN TODAYS EVER ACCELERATING MARKET-PLACE.

IT SEEM LEICA HAS TO BOW THEIR HEAD IN SHAME TO THE IMAGE-QUALITY-VALUES OF EVEN STILL-PHOTOGRAPHY NEWCOMERS, LIKE SONY, AND EVEN DEFER TO OLYMPUS.

LIKE AN AGING WOMAN: GLORY REMAINS AS THE BEAUTY FADES

2:50 pm - Wednesday, September 5, 2012

#12 Ron

“So Over-Priced…so Over-Valued…and…so Under-Performing”

Both Sony & Olympus provide better IMAGE-QUALITY than Leica!

But, like an Aging-Star from some long ago “Silent-FILM-Era”... whose Beauty, Fame and Image keeps fading with passing days
…“The Glory of The Past” does linger ever so much stronger any of it’s Current-Performances, from this Gracious Name of Fame.

3:05 pm - Wednesday, September 5, 2012

#13 Dale

I read a lot of envy-angry off some comments above, I “translate it” in lack of money. This jewel designed in Solms is not definitely for everyone.

6:42 am - Tuesday, December 10, 2013

Entry Tags

hd video, hd, 3 inch LCD, compact, wide-angle, 720p, hdmi, manual, RAW, 10 megapixel, prosumer, lightroom, leica, 3.8x zoom, special edition, d-lux 5 review, d-lux 5, Leica D-Lux 5 Review, titanium

Tracker Pixel for Entry