Leica V-LUX 40 Review

4.0
October 30, 2012 | Gavin Stoker |

Your Comments

12 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 Rokbourn

Oh come on Photography Blog now you really are taking the mick. Its a overpriced Panasonic!
How can you give it such a high score?
The Panasonic deserves the high score its a great camera, but you can’t be serious!
You could have at least compared the two, there may be people who don’t know its a Panny and end up buying this thinking its worth the money.

3:53 pm - Tuesday, October 30, 2012

#2 BlackBox

“the boxy yet elegant V-Lux 40 will continue to win a select user base among Leica fanatics and those who want to stand apart from the crowd.”

Leica can sure rely on all of those eight people.

9:08 pm - Tuesday, October 30, 2012

#3 Ben

Do people still buy Leica?

10:58 pm - Tuesday, October 30, 2012

#4 Pete

This is like buying a BMW that looks like a Kia. I’d love a Leica but not one that has been knocked up to cash in one the TZ30’s success.

8:41 am - Wednesday, October 31, 2012

#5 fotoartysta

nice camera , but image quality
nikon p 7700 = best image quality all compact cameras - p 7700 is my favorite cameras image quality are great best images

2 place - canon g 15
3 place - canon s 110

3:00 pm - Thursday, November 1, 2012

#6 radissimo

@ fotoartysta:

...only if you live in CaNikon world…

9:36 pm - Thursday, November 1, 2012

#7 WAL

Leitz should be embarrassed pulling off this scam. It isn’t a leica, they never touched it.  If I where to see some one with this camera I’d be seeing a fool. It Makes one wonder how much of the real Leica’s price is for the prestige of the name. I don’t think I could find one of these for sale in the NE area.

1:13 am - Tuesday, November 6, 2012

#8 Henk

Panasonic has the same model but the lens has not the same quality.

11:53 pm - Friday, January 4, 2013

#9 jamieboy32

@ Ben 1000’s buy Leica’s thats how many are made and sold every month
@ Wal no such company as Leitz now-Wild Leitz Holding AG was taken over in 1990 by Leica Holding BV then they were bought out and now known as Leica Camera AG, so Leitz embarrass no one.

Many people who read reviews of cameras on the internet naturally compare the Japanese made Leica’s with the “sister” Panasonic model and fail to understand why the Leica’s cost a lot more, there are many reasons here are the main and most important reasons
(a)  The lenses take 40 minutes for each element to be individually ground, polished and tested made on German made imported machines to Leica tolerances and use Leica lens coatings.
(b)  The CCD’s are individually tested to Leica manufacturing tolerances.
(c)  They are all sent in to Leica AG Solms to be inspected by hand/eye then wired to a computer to have the firmware (digital only) added so each image gives the “Leica look” European skintones and other colour rendition and LCD menu changes, then tested again.
(d)  Boxed and packaged in Germany.
(e)  Appropriate Adobe® /Photoshop®/ Lightroom® / Premiere®/ Elements® software added
(f)  2 year unconditional guarentee and Leica Passport (covers accidental damage) instructions and other documents added.
(g)  The distinct RED Leica badge is added.
(h)  Many models have different outer bodies often made of aluminium or even titanium and different switches/dials and buttons.
You can tell its a Leica by the way it takes pictures and the pictures it takes.

Why a “Leica” people would ask as now there are many similar cameras on the market, Leica cameras produce a “special” “Leica look” to images, very high optical quality, plus typical very high German engineering, sure one can buy a Steinway or an electronic keyboard, both have 88 keys, 56 white, 32 black, one isn’t wrong and the other right, they both do the similar job but usually the more expensive one is “special”, collectable or outstanding.

10:46 pm - Friday, March 29, 2013

#10 Claude B.

No electronic viewfinder!

I owned Leica M3, M4 for years with great pleasure and superb quality. But now, in the electronic age of cameras, Leica is not a leader at all, they are just late follower of the camera market fashion and needed.
I’m not looking for a red tag. In fact, I would hide that red tag under a black tape. (for security reason I prefer to discreet). 

2:24 pm - Thursday, July 4, 2013

#11 Robert

take a picture with a Canon, Nikon, along side with a Lecia. I did, I have to say, they look different and the quality can be found in the details! you just to have to see it in person to believe the differences! I tested the same model of Panasonic and Lecia together, and yes, the pictures are different!

2:06 pm - Sunday, August 11, 2013

#12 Customised deluxe travel in India

I have subscribed the feed and looking forward for the followup subscriptions.

9:51 am - Wednesday, November 6, 2013

Entry Tags

hd video, hd, 3 inch LCD, 1080p, wide-angle, beginner, 14 megapixel, manual, touch-screen, travel-zoom, travel, touchscreen, touch screen, 24mm, prosumer, GPS, 20x zoom, 3D, full HD, VLUX40, V-LUX40, V LUX 40, VLUX 40, V-LUX 40, Leica V-LUX 40 Review

Tracker Pixel for Entry