Leica X2 Review

4.0
April 2, 2013 | Gavin Stoker |

Your Comments

14 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 Florin

Poor review. All photos are taken at ISO 100. :(

12:31 pm - Tuesday, April 2, 2013

#2 Jay

@Florin—


There are raws at various ISOs, though not 800. No one seriously considering this camera is likely to only shoot jpeg with it.

2:21 pm - Tuesday, April 2, 2013

#3 Rudy

I stopped reading after the first paragraph.  Seems this is still a review of the X1.  If the author/editor is not careful about what is in print, how do I know they are careful about the testing that is being done.  First paragraph mentions the Leica X1 four times.  I must admit a bit of confusion… is this a review of the X1 or X2?

2:33 pm - Tuesday, April 2, 2013

#4 Ben

Unless I missed it, you failed to mention that the electronic viewfinder is just a re-baged Olympus VF2 but they charge 3x as much! Its an old design! In fact you can use the Olympus VF2 with it no problem. The image quality is as good as the competition but no better, but the price difference is huge. Don’t get me wrong it’s a nice looking camera and I am sure it can take a good picture but bit of a rip off.

3:06 pm - Tuesday, April 2, 2013

#5 Vladimir

If I have this amount to spend I would buy 2 Sigmas Merrill: DP2 & DP1.

5:50 pm - Tuesday, April 2, 2013

#6 vauve

My Canon S100 takes better images.

5:57 pm - Tuesday, April 2, 2013

#7 Jay

@Vladimir:


And you can’t use either of those Sigmas above ISO 400.


vauve:

That’s very unlikely, and then there’s the high ISO limitation of the small sensored Canon that this Leica simply doesn’t have.

6:34 pm - Tuesday, April 2, 2013

#8 Vladimir

@Jay

And I will be able to shoot up to ISO800 included easily and up to ISO1600 with some PP.

9:55 pm - Tuesday, April 2, 2013

#9 Raoul

I very like the quality and sharpness of these raw images, which have a deepness of 12 bits.

When will Leica switch to 14 bits like come Nikon’s and Canon’s ? Actually, the difference of cost between a 12- and a 14-bits ADC converters is very marginal wrt the cost the the camera !

10:47 pm - Tuesday, April 2, 2013

#10 Jay

@Vladimir:


Not even close, there are huge banding problems with that sensor much above ISO400.


I guess you could do say 3” X 4” prints.


While this Leica is perfectly useable at ISO 6400 printing at 300dpi. That’s amazing for almost any APSC sensored camera—save the Sony Nex 5N.

Those Sigmas are really interesting cameras, but only in bright daylight.


It’s okay, a lot of people don’t get how special Leica lenses are. However in this case, unlike the M9, one can shoot indoors sans flash much of the time.

11:24 pm - Tuesday, April 2, 2013

#11 htree1

This is way to expensive for what you going to get.  For the rich… for sure.  Really.. is the image quality worth it or is it the just the right to own the Leica badge?

H

4:44 am - Saturday, April 6, 2013

#12 vilo

I would choose Nikon Coolpix A any day over the leica and spent another half of money for nice holiday instead.

10:23 pm - Saturday, April 6, 2013

#13 helmut barnack

Excellent machine, superb optics und if you’re an honestly experienced photographer, you’ll recognize it as a sound value.

9:28 pm - Saturday, December 7, 2013

#14 Andrew

X2 is a fantastic camera and was priced correctly when released in 2012.  Those days it no longer justifies its unchanged price as a 2-year-old model, especially with the superb X-Vario selling new at B&H and the like for only $100 more.

Still, the X2 has advantages over the X-Vario and everything else on the market.  It remains impossible to get better image quality from anything else as small.  It also remains one of the very best compacts out there for serious photographers.

I bought one used with the Olympus version of the EVF and love it for travel, everyday casual carry and even even take it with me when out on serious outings with my M kit.

3:41 pm - Thursday, June 5, 2014

Entry Tags

compact, 16 megapixel, 2.7 inch LCD, manual, RAW, APS-C, CMOS, 5fps, leica, DNG, 36mm, x2, Leica X2 Review, leica x2

Tracker Pixel for Entry