Leica X Vario Review

4.0
April 16, 2014 | Mark Goldstein |

Your Comments

11 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 dan

Two things, one you mention it has image stabilisation, I am not sure it does.

And two bit unfair calling it a compact camera as it’s not really that small!

4:44 pm - Wednesday, April 16, 2014

#2 zenon (zen) billings

no question, a quality built product by leica,but the lens is a real disappointment for the very reasons you mention in the review. this is really quite unforgivable for a leica.

6:18 pm - Wednesday, April 16, 2014

#3 zenon (zen) billings

no question,

6:26 pm - Wednesday, April 16, 2014

#4 Fred

Yawnnnnnn,
why did you bother even to denigrate your web site with a totally bullshit review of that POS. Simply a rebadged unit that adds $$$$$ to a mediocre product.

http://www.photographyblog.com/ just became another site to never bother visiting again.

8:29 am - Thursday, April 17, 2014

#5 Dannybouy

Yawnnn. Boring comment is boring. It’s a photography blog. It reports and reviews stuff related to photography. If you don’t like the camera why did you read the review. It’s not a camera for me but it will be for some. It’s not a PAS camera anyway.

3:53 pm - Thursday, April 17, 2014

#6 Dannybouy

Oh. POS? Why does this camera enrage you so much? You’re showing a bit of trollishness I’d say

3:54 pm - Thursday, April 17, 2014

#7 Patrick

@dan

‘Compact camera’ means fixed-lens camera, as opposed to interchangeable lens camera. It’s a marketing label that is widely used in the industry. It has nothing to do with size, so it shouldn’t be read literally.

@Fred

You make the common mistake of thinking that all Leica cameras are rebadged products. The X, M and S series are in fact designed and manufactured by Leica in Europe, including the X Vario. It’s not a rebadged Panasonic, like the D-Lux and V-Lux series are. If you think otherwise, please provide a link to the original product.

9:42 am - Tuesday, April 22, 2014

#8 Steve

It is silly to judge this by non-Leica standards. In the Leica world, you will pay five grand for a body with no AF and mediocre technical stats, a rear LCD from the noughties and lenses which cost as much as many pro bodies. People still love them.
By Leica standards this is a budget model and the limitations imposed on the design to meet size and retail price is just the way it goes.
You take it or leave it. We all know what you lose, specs-wise, few realise what you gain in lens and build quality. I wouldn’t fault anyone for buyinf one or rejecting one. But this is most definitely NOT a rebadged anything.

1:21 pm - Monday, June 2, 2014

#9 Paul

Great review. I own this camera and it’s brilliant. F3.5 at 28mm isn’t great but in the right light it knocks out amazing images. In not the right light you need to play with the iso a bit for hand held shots. It has a dedicated iso button so this isn’t a hassle. I own some pretty expensive cameras both DSLRs and compacts which cost more than this but the output and the pleasure of using the Leica means it’s the one that is always with me.

5:18 pm - Sunday, July 20, 2014

#10 david

I have had this camera for a year now.
It is indeed a pleasure to use and takes beautiful shots, but it has some flaws Leica need to fix:
1. I have had some wierd green screens come up on the LCD and need to reset
2. The screw on hand grip overlaps the strap clips so you can inadvertantly tighten over the clip
3. The EVF doesnt connect securely - I have already ‘lost’ one
4. The supplied battery charger keeps blowing (am on my third)
5. The battery can go in both ways (no dominant entry)
6. I have the SF58 flash and its display shows a TTL error
7. Sometimes the flash menu just refuses to appear from the metal controller and I need to reset the camera
All of above confirmed by local Leica boutique but no fixes - I hope the Leica engineers read this! If you know one send them this list.

8:38 pm - Monday, September 15, 2014

#11 Andrew

I’ev had mine (purchased used) for about four months.  Yesterday’s (9/15/14) firmware fix really improved the UI by allowing exposure compensation directly from the thumbwheel and auto ISO in manual mode.  The flash menu is also disabled unless there is a flash attached or the built-in flash is open.

Image quality was and remains outstanding, as are the build quality and basic control layout.  The ONLY complaint I have is the slow maximum aperture on the lens, but this is understandable when you consider the range, size and incredible quality.  To make it faster would have either doubled the size, the price or reduced image quality.

This isn’t my primary camera, but it is one that I really enjoy using when not on actual photography trips.

8:50 pm - Tuesday, September 16, 2014

Entry Tags

3 inch LCD, compact, 1080p, 16 megapixel, movie, manual, RAW, zoom, movies, APS-C, CMOS, 5fps, leica, DNG, mp4, leica x vario, x vario, Leica X Vario Review, 28-70mm

Tracker Pixel for Entry