Nik Color Efex Pro 3 Review

4.0
March 9, 2011 | Matt Grayson | Software Reviews |

Select Edition

Available filters for the Select edition include Bleach bypass & Film grain.  The Bleach bypass filter increases contrast and decreases saturation. According to the Nik website, it simulates a process called Skip bleaching which is a technique used in colour film processing where the bleaching process is skipped over so the silver is retained in the film. This gives the film a desaturated look which looks like a black & white image on top of a colour image. The Film grain filter is pretty simple by adding grain to the image giving it more of a look of film.

Complete Edition

Along with the two filters in the Select edition, there are an additional seven filters for the top of the range Complete edition. Many of the filters are designed to simulate film effects, which appears to be a running trend through the whole program. New filters exclusive to the Complete edition include Cross balance, Film effects, Glamour glow, High key, Low key, Polaroid transfer and Tonal contrast. Most of these are self explanatory although the Polaroid transfer mode emulates a specialist technique that involves pulling apart a half processed Polaroid film which can then be transferred onto any other surface. The result is a torn edged, low saturation, low contrast image with colours also shifting.

Nik Color Efex Pro 3

Figure 6 - Polaroid Transfer

Nik Color Efex Pro 3

Figure 7 - Midnight

Nik Color Efex Pro 3

Figure 8 - ND Grad

Nik Color Efex Pro 3

Figure 9 - Graduated Filter

Nik Color Efex Pro 3

Figure 10 - Dynamic Skin Softener

Nik Color Efex Pro 3

Figure 11 - Tonal Contrast

Entry Tags

review, software, photoshop, lightroom, aperture, filters, filter, nik software, colour, nik, color, Nik Color Efex Pro Review, color efxr pro

Tracker Pixel for Entry

Your Comments

12 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 Steven House

Quite nice review. Quite. Quite how many times can one say quite?

Surprised to this this review here. It’s not exactly new is it?

7:06 am - Thursday, March 10, 2011

#2 canvas art

I am also surprised to this this on the front page - i’ve been using it to edit my images for ages.. it is good though!

3:02 pm - Thursday, March 10, 2011

#3 Matt Grayson

twiceaccording to my search. Unless you saw something I missed..?

12:49 pm - Saturday, March 12, 2011

#4 Steven House

Quite enough though eh?

Color Efex Pro 3 has been around for at least 4 years.

Can we look forward to a review of Silver Efex Pro 2 in say about 2015? I look forward to it.

Only kidding of course.

12:54 pm - Saturday, March 12, 2011

#5 Matt Grayson

Luckily for PBlog, I don’t make the decisions. =;O)
It hasn’t been reviewed before and it’s all content, isn’t it?
No-one batted an eyelid when James May gave his first review on Top Gear of a Bentley T2..?

9:49 am - Sunday, March 13, 2011

#6 Steven House

It’s been reviewed in plenty of places before.

“It’s all content”? That implies that the review is just filler. Which does however coincide with my view of it.

Comparing yourself to Top Gear? A program denigrated for it’s lazy journalism and racial stereotyping.

10:09 am - Sunday, March 13, 2011

#7 Matt Grayson

All equipment is reviewed in many places. The review isn’t just a filler, it’s something that’s not been reviewed before here and someone on here won’t have read it anywhere else. That’s what I mean by saying it’s all content.
I never compared myself to Top Gear at all, I was illustrating that just because something isn’t brand new, doesn’t mean it can’t get reviewed.

12:04 am - Monday, March 14, 2011

#8 Steven House

“Brand new” means “new”. This is what I was originally getting at. Your use of language. The use of “quite” is not really telling us anything. Either a thing is fit for purpose or it isn’t in which case you could explain where it fails. Telling us it’s quite this or quite that is meaningless in a review.

I have no idea what a Bentley T2 is. Neither is it relevant.

11:22 am - Monday, March 14, 2011

#9 Matt Grayson

The context that I used them in were the same as going into a restaurant that’s quite nice. It doesn’t mean it fails anywhere, you may have thought it was going to be rubbish and it actually turned out to be quite nice. It’s a word that, like OK, can mean something good. In the first use of the word, I can see what you mean but I’m sorry, I think you’re looking too far into it.

12:10 am - Thursday, March 17, 2011

#10 Steven House

OK fair enough and seriously look forward to a review of Silver Efex Pro 2.

7:59 pm - Thursday, March 17, 2011

#11 Lloyd Barnes

I tried the 2 week demo and liked the dynamic skin softening filter and the U Point feature, which gave great control. However, I use Lightroom 3 and Photoshop CS5 and didn’t find anything in Nik Efex that I couldn’t do already with Lightroom + Photoshop. I found Nik Efex was quicker to use for skin softening, which might justify the price. Unfortunately, that filter is only available in the complete addition for $299.

11:46 pm - Thursday, March 24, 2011

#12 deepakv

looks good , but can we have more examples with other filters also. as the price seems to be too much for this one. Anyways nice review PB. :)

10:41 am - Friday, August 5, 2011