Nikon 1 AW1 Review

4.0
November 21, 2013 | Gavin Stoker |

Your Comments

9 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 roter

The dual-variable bracketing function allows the camera to shoot nine bracketed shots in rapid succession, varying 000-453 two exposure variables. The Casio EX-10 will be launched on 29th November, 000-453 examcollection at a price of approximately 80,000 yen.

 

11:55 am - Friday, November 22, 2013

#2 Frans

What amazes me is that camera makers will slap the tripod mount onto the body at any random position these days. The position on this Nikon will not give optimal stability on a tripod or help when making panorama’s. What happened to centering it on the centre of lens and focal plane? And what happenend to reviewers commenting on this defect?

2:57 pm - Sunday, November 24, 2013

#3 M

Great in depth review - I’ve got the smaller (& older) Nikon AW100 which use for underwater video - the video is great from it but the photographs are terrible so I’m really excited by the AW1 - I’ll definitely buy one.

The one thing I noticed was that the video quality of the sample (especially when panning) was downright awful - it looked more like it was shot on a mobile phone than a £750 camera… I’m guessing that it’s not meant to look like that…?

10:48 am - Friday, November 29, 2013

#4 anon

A few comments: First the minimum ISO is 160 not 100 as stated in the review.  All Nikon 1 lenses in the USA are available in multiple colors.  And a printed manual is included in USA market (two actually—English and Spanish).  However, the manual is incomplete and did not mention histogram or the “picture controls” you mention in your review which was news to me, but I’m glad as I prefer shooting with enhanced color saturation turned on.  The bulb mode isn’t very useful as it requires you to hold your finger down on the shutter, which would be silly for >30 sec exposures.  I own the white model and love it although battery life and low light quality are both poor.  Have not yet tested underwater.  I am surprised at the visual difference in JPEG vs RAW in your review and wonder if there is that much difference in real world usage.

4:14 pm - Monday, December 2, 2013

#5 Jan Toude

Nikon 1 AW1 has an electronic shutter only. Rolling shutter. No mechanical shutter at all. See http://imaging.nikon.com/lineup/acil/bodies/aw1/

6:18 pm - Thursday, December 5, 2013

#6 Alejo

I’m thinking on buying this camera but I have a few doubts. I am a sport enthusiastic, surfer, wake boarder, ski, mountain trekking, etc. for which this camera seems to suite me well. Now I usually tend to do videos and I have the following questions if someone can help me out.

1- Can I do time-lapse videos buy taking pictures with this camera? Is there a time-lapse option to avoid flicker images?

2- Will a manual focus lens with an adapter work out fine while shooting videos? Specially on close ups.

Cheers and thanks in advance.

3:05 pm - Thursday, January 23, 2014

#7 Ronald C Krause Jr

I believe that this camera isn’t really panning out for Nikon. There were a very few of them released for about one week, numbering a few hundred. But ever since that time period about three months ago, none have been released or available. No retailers out there seem to have any idea if it will ever hit the retail shelves again.

It almost makes one wonder if Nikon ran into some manufacturing difficulties or a major issue beyond the scope of reasonable repair?

3:22 pm - Sunday, February 2, 2014

#8 Elicia

Bought one and failed after first time use in less than
1m of water. Sent it off to nikon for assessment and they
Are replacing a few seals, which I am not pleased about
Instead of the whole unit. It’s not as durable as it sounds and have heard of a few issues of the camera flooding. When I turned mine on it had a dead pixels. Every seal leaked and the
Lens release button came off. Nikon probably ran into some difficulties with the product to meeting it’s standard.

6:07 am - Friday, February 7, 2014

#9 Andrew

Can vouch for the ruggedness and cold performance of this camera after using it for 2 weeks in the Himalayas ski touring and heliskiing. Some excellent shots and no performance issues. It is a little large to put in the jacket of a ski pocket and so I wore it around my neck and under my ski jacket at the front.  This worked well for quick shots, but also meant that I fell on the camera a few times. Neither it, nor I suffered any damage. LCDs are not ideal in bright conditions in the mountains.  Had to resort to pointing the camera and taking several blind shots in some situations, hoping for the best.  In this respect though, it is no different from other adventure cameras and mostly I got the pictures I wanted. Only fogged up lens once, after all day skinning in heavy snow and stopping for food at a warm hotel. Was only external and not under the glass as reported above.  All in all a good camera to look at for skiing/mountaineering.

2:04 am - Tuesday, March 4, 2014

Entry Tags

hd video, hd, 3 inch LCD, hdmi, compact system camera, nikon, 14 megapixel, mirrorless, csc, RAW, 1080i, waterproof, dustproof, shockproof, freezeproof, 60fps, stereo sound, NEF, 15fps, nikon aw1, 1 AW1 Review, Nikon 1 AW1 Review, nikon aw1 review

Tracker Pixel for Entry