Nikon 1 J1 Review

4.0
October 18, 2011 | Mark Goldstein |

Your Comments

27 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 dj

Sony NEX-C3, Olympus E-PM1 PEN Mini and the Panasonic Lumix DMC-GF3 are all cheaper and better. AF is more than fast enough on all these cameras so the Nikon isnt a good choice

3:13 am - Friday, October 21, 2011

#2 TR

Bold move on Nikons part as ther’es nothing really else in the market at this price range. Looks like a well built machine but combined with some quirky features like a non-standard mode dial and lack of hotshoe I don’t see large quantities of these moving off the shelves when there are some excellent choices for hundreds less and some very reasonable pro-sumer DSLR’s available which ship with better optics and more features for the same price.

6:24 pm - Friday, November 18, 2011

#3 david

You cannot purcahse this camera with only the f2.8 10mm lens. Nikon packaged as a unit with either of the zoom lenses with the 10mm f2.8 lens which appeard to be the best lens.

6:39 pm - Tuesday, December 13, 2011

#4 John

Before anyone gets carried away with the slow motion video capability, it’s worth bearing in mind that the camera is only capable of filming for 5 seconds (4gb).  When played back, at the x13 reduction in speed, the film lasts for around a minute.  I suppose it’s what you make of it.  As an owner, I’m enjoying the camera.  I’m testing it alongside a GH2 and an LX5 and so far, still image quality is very good.

5:36 pm - Friday, December 23, 2011

#5 Vladimir

As an owner of Sony NEX 5N I downloaded a couple of RAW files shot at ISO 800 for a quick test. The result - unpleasantly soft and flat images not even close to that of NEX at ISO 3200. I really can’t think of a potential buyer of this camera except for die-hard Nikonians…

6:15 pm - Tuesday, January 3, 2012

#6 mike

so dj…do you own the nikon j1? if so, please provide some real use information not just opinion with no substance.  I own this camera and the gf3, and the nikon is smaller, lighter, faster focusing, and is a joy to use. The new layout and menu’s are neither good nor bad…they are easy to understand and offer a good selection of options.  The main thing is, like with any camera, take it out and use it for few days and I am sure you will give it another chance

1:47 am - Thursday, January 5, 2012

#7 Luke

ive been using nikon J1..so almost 1 week..i have no complaints and it is really satisfying… i bought twin lenses package..10mm and 10-30mm…it is worth to buy the twin lenses package

6:55 am - Wednesday, January 18, 2012

#8 Faisal

I am using J1 for more than 2 weeks. In Japan it (with 10-30mm lens only) costs 32,000JPY (USD 380 apprx.), that is an amazing price compared to other rivals. It is a superb fun so far…  especially snapshot and super slow motion video. Photo quality is enough good (in RAW). In night photography, noise reduction and vibration reduction works enough good. But sometimes in low light, auto focus (and auto settings) performance is not very good.

9:51 pm - Wednesday, March 21, 2012

#9 Jeanna Qvarnström

I was on the way to buy this camera but after plenty of reading about it I decided not to buy because I think this is a camera with just fast shots, the other qualities are the same or rater less than all other in the same cathegory ... So I went in another direction and bought a Canon EOS D600 ... with a more interesting photo future for me (serious amateur). I think Nikon 1J1 can be good to make mode and model pictures .. Excuse my english ..

8:38 am - Wednesday, April 11, 2012

#10 Frank C

Review is quite good but would benefit from more info regarding the sample pictures, i.e it would seem three different lenses may have been used but no clues as to which picture taken with which lens.

4:23 am - Thursday, April 19, 2012

#11 Simon T

I Absolutely love this camera. Easy to use if you are a start up amateur or more interested in the cameras more advanced modes and options. In all honestly I’ve had an NEX 5N and I wasnt impressed at all. Alot slower and images were less colourful and flat. The J1 is a joy to use and produces great images. I have the 10mm-30mm lens and the 10mm-100mm lens. Both produce startling results when used properly and I dont understand the haters commenting. Shooting in artificial light needs a little effort but when you are used to the cameras features its easy. I would recommend anyone to buy this camera.

10:08 am - Thursday, April 26, 2012

#12 Sunshine

I saw this camera in the store and automatically fell in love with its design. After shooting some pictures, especially of my daughters, I knew I wanted to buy it. I’m not a serious photographer, I just want a real good and decent camera so that I can capture my two baby girls development. I want the images to last and be clear. After reading several reviews I noticed I hardly understood any of what was being said, mainly because I’m not real knowledgeable when its come to electronics especially cameras, so I guess what I’m asking is if this would be a good camera for what I want to do with it.

9:08 pm - Tuesday, May 15, 2012

#13 Cody C

What excited me, and excites me, most about this camera is the ability to use my F mount nikon glass with its external mount adapter. This gives me a 2.7x crop factor without adding any extra bumps to my apeture rating. So when we dissect what this means for wildlife photography - I can shoot ridiculous fast amounts of photographs of birds in flight, dancing, or doing breeding rituals, while using the adapter on a 70-200mm F2.8 VR lens, and effective focal length achieved will be sitting at 540mm @ f/2.8. No, still not satisifed? Ok, let’s take a good hand holdable lens that is primed at f/4, say the 300mm f/4 (non-VR obviously). Now we’re looking at 810mm of EFL at F4 rating, even in just decent lighting this will be a powerful tool. Sure the downside of no viewfinder on the J1 is a bust for trying to hand hold this set up easily, but with the right tripod setup, this will be a cheap way for many people to jump into wildlife photography, and get better images than they would spending similiar prices points on just a Canon 7D and a cheap lens, or heck even a Rebel and a nicer lens. Unless you’re shooting for HQ image use, this is a powerhouse set up, and why I now have one in my camera bag. Kudos!

9:35 pm - Tuesday, May 15, 2012

#14 Faisal

@Sunshine, for your purpose, I don’t think there are another camera available in market better than Nikon J1. Fast focus, nice continuous shooting, motion snapshot, smart photo selector, high speed shooting, slow motion and HD movie capabilities. Even auto scene mode is good too.

3:22 am - Wednesday, May 16, 2012

#15 SirArfurDaley

I’ve only just ordered the J1 plus 10mm, 10-30mm and 30-110mm, but will report back on my findings.

I was an avid DSLR user a few years back, using a D200 and a lot of serious glass that I soon hated dragging around behind me in a Peli Case.

Moving from a fairly serious photographer, I will now just take images for pleasure, and also avoid a bad back in the process.

Less can sometimes mean more in my humble opinion.

7:02 pm - Thursday, May 17, 2012

#16 Rebecca

I have purchased 2 of these cameras (Nikon 1 J1)in the past 2 days because of an issue I am having with it and I’m wondering if it is just me.
After getting the first one home I started playing with it and noticed a bright blue pixel as well as a green one which showed up after the camera was on for more than 5 minutes. This was not only just on the LCD screen but transposed to the actual pictures when I downloaded them to the computer. I returned it the next day hoping it was just a default and exchanged for the exact same one. Needless to say this new one actual is showing up with more of these pixels, mostly blue ones and there are about 10 of them which mostly will show up in low light but they do transpose to the photograph and make them look really low quality.
I am wondering if it is a setting I have it on or whether there is just a default with these cameras? Would love some input on this before I return the 2nd one!

3:12 pm - Wednesday, June 6, 2012

#17 buck

this camera is not a thousand plus dslr. For the size and price of this camera it’s perfect. If you want more go buy a five thousand dollar high end dslr.

3:25 pm - Thursday, August 16, 2012

#18 John Sandland

I just bought a Nikon 1j1 at a very favourable price, maybe because 1j2 has arrived.

My question is: Anybody used 1j1 with 3rd party battery? Does it work ok without any error messages or other spooky reactions from the camera?

Many thanxx for answer in advance :)

John

5:40 pm - Thursday, December 6, 2012

#19 Rick Stanfold

The year is almost over and the Nikon 1 J1 in combination with the very good 10mm f/2.8 (or the 10-30mm) can now be had in Europe for only 229 euro. And I mean brand spanking new! The image quality is not as good as camera’s with a larger sensor, but it certainly is not bad. Actually, I think the modest ten megapixels on the excellent little sensor are more then enough for most of us. The camera’s metering is very accurate and focussing is lightning quick. Of course this is personal, but I actually like the minimalist looks of this camera too. Very clean design and solidly build. When you hold the camera, it has a high quality and sturdy feel. Unlike flimsy camera’s like the Sony RX100. For the current price, the J1 is a steal. Get one and shoot away!

4:02 pm - Thursday, December 27, 2012

#20 Danielle

I have this camera with the 10-30mm lens and I like it so far.  However, I find that when I capture any movement in a picture it blurs. I have the vibration set to active.  I know I can use the motion snapshot mode but i find the quality to be less bright and crisp than the single shot mode.  Any suggestions?

11:09 pm - Friday, December 28, 2012

#21 Gabriella

LOVE THIS CAMERA!
I am 18 years old and not a major photo expert, but I do have experience taking photos and editing them with photoshop.
The still images come out amazing (you can see some examples on my photoblog- http://www.queenfawn.tumblr.com) and the camera performs outstanding in natural light as well as low light(as long as you keep it EXTREMLY still) haha

The flash is a little dissapointing because it takes forever to even let you take a picture while it searches for something to focus on, and for close-up flash pictures, the shadow from the camera’s lens appears in the bottom of the photo almost always.
Video is pretty dreamy, the speakers on the camera are terrible, but playing the video on the computer you will be pleasantly suprised to see how greatly it picks up sound.
One mini low point is the grip on it is kind of awkward (there isn’t much of a grip)

I got this camera primarily to take photos of people and daily life and it is perfect for that. It fits perfectly in a backpack or purse, isn’t heavy, and looks stylish and fun, espeically in white.
I also think it’s great because it can give you really beautiful proffesional-like photos if you set it up for that, but can also be a fun casual camera for family events and such that doesn’t look so overwhelming and show-offy.

I have also used this camera to do up-close photography of jewelry. At first it was dissapointing but once I put it on manual setting the photos came out gorgeous and proffessional and very usable. I am still learning about the best settings but all in all I am very pelased with this camera and still learn new ways to make my pictures look better and better.

10:09 pm - Thursday, January 24, 2013

#22 Brittany

I have the Nikon 1 J1 with the stock lens.  I am wanting to look into a better lens that will do better with distance and portrait (still) images.  What do you guys recommend for a lens that is compatible and doesn’t cost too much?  Thanks in advance!

10:25 am - Wednesday, March 6, 2013

#23 Sorin

Brittany: the kit 10-30mm lens is an OK portrait lens at 30mm. If you want a longer lens, the 1 Nikkor 30-110mm is a reasonable choice, both as a portrait lens (30-50mm range) as well as a medium telephoto.

The one issue with these lenses is that they are quite slow. If you are looking for fast, large aperture lenses (low light or shallow depth of field) you have two options:

- the 1 Nikkor 18.5 f/1.8 is a “normal”, all purpose lens (a very good one, btw)
- using the FT1 adapter you can mount any Nikkor AF-S lens; this gives you a very wide range of options; I frequently use the 35mm f/1.8, 85mm f/1.8, Micro 105mm f/2.8 and 70-300mm VR lenses (autofocus will work well with AF-S lenses, however it is restricted to AF-S [single servo] using the central sensor only; in other words, AF-C [continuous servo) and subject tracking are NOT available when using the FT1 adapter)

6:47 pm - Sunday, March 31, 2013

#24 Rob

Hi I have the J1 7 most shots are blury.. why?
NO, It’s not me moving the camera.

When it’s in focus the shot looks great but most of the time its blury!

11:28 am - Sunday, August 18, 2013

#25 Rob

Hi I have the J1 AND most shots are blury.. why?
NO, It’s not me moving the camera.

When it’s in focus the shot looks great but most of the time its blury!

11:29 am - Sunday, August 18, 2013

#26 gaurav

please help mee.. m confused between nicon p520 & nicon j1.. please suggest me one

2:43 pm - Sunday, September 29, 2013

#27 sharon

Nikon 1 J1 Battery Door Latch Broken:

Anyone have this problem, if so how did you get it fixed, short of sending back to Nikon?

If sent to Nikon, out of warranty how did they respond? Cost? any helpful hints?

Thank you, Sharon

8:43 pm - Thursday, February 20, 2014

Entry Tags

hd video, hd, 3 inch LCD, compact system camera, hdmi, nikon, mirrorless, csc, RAW, 1080i, 10fps, 10 megapixel, 60fps, stereo sound, NEF, nikon j1, nikon j1 review, 1 J1 Review, Nikon 1 J1 Review

Tracker Pixel for Entry