Nikon 1 J4 Review

July 11, 2014 | Mark Goldstein | |

Your Comments

8 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 dan

“Unless you really need the V3’s mechanical shutter, tilting screen, more refined user interface or accessory port for the optional EVF, there’s little reason not to choose the J4 instead.”

How about the shockingly bad control interface, Lack of PSAM or direct ISO!

2:08 pm - Friday, July 11, 2014

#2 djmuzi

OMG image quality is just horrible o_O
In the 4th generation I thought that they can fix iq… there is IMO no need for such camera! If you want 1” sensor - buy a RX100…

11:42 am - Wednesday, July 30, 2014

#3 handzstudioeditor

In your opinion, should I get this camera to review?  I’ve been waiting for it to come out, and it’s currently on sale; I run a tech website and I thought it would be a cool item to review.

I just released Part 1 of an unbiased, in-depth iOS 8 review.  Please check out my site and consider following!


http://handzstudio.wordpress.com/
“Handz-on discussion on electronics and more”

3:23 pm - Tuesday, September 23, 2014

#4 John

I tested the camera for some days and gave it back. While the IQ isn´t that bad it still sucks that it don´t has PASM on the dial, but only hidden in the clunky menu. The PD-Zoom feels strange - not really precise. I´d rather had a new version of the old 10-30mm with manual zoom.
Touchscreen doesn´t make much sense.

Overall a not very pleasing shooting experience. This camera is now in the same price range as the Sony RX100(first one), even a bit cheaper, but the Sony is still a better pick. Faster lens with about the same range, way better usability.

8:09 pm - Tuesday, March 31, 2015

#5 Alfmeister

A camera is a tool. A photographer can create art with any camera. In my experience this camera is capable if great results. It’s faster (phase detection focusing vs contrast detection) and offers many more photo opportunities than the Sony RX100 series because it’s a compact system camera. You won’t get close with the Sony because it’s got a fixed lens. Since I use Android devices I find the interface easy to use. The touch screen is very responsive and easy to adjust the aperture, shutter speed, ISO, etc right from the function screen. No need for extra controls on the dial. This is a great camera to grab instant shots when you don’t have time to make adjustments. The automatic setting works wonderfully and can even shoot 20 frames per second with full auto focus. I recommend that you buy the 30-110 lens in addition to the 10-30 lens to give you greater creative control. The power zoom works very well. Lots of pro photographers grab this camera as their go everywhere device when a DSLR is too much. Candid shots are easy with the silent photography mode. The images I’ve created with the J4 have been stellar. You should read the (included) paper manual to learn how to use all of its features.

9:54 am - Sunday, April 26, 2015

#6 Scott

I just picked up one of these cameras for $199 and the 30-110 lens for $99. I can’t imagine a better kit for $300 than this. I consider it quite a value, and I’ll deal with the minor issues of learning it’s byzantine OS.

4:37 am - Tuesday, June 30, 2015

#7 Drake

I purchased my J4 with the Nikon 18.5mm f/1.8 and 10mm f/2.8 primes. Now this is a very capable kit! I love the clean and simple button layout. The camera is very responsive and it focusses blazingly fast and super accurate. The 20 or even 60 frames per second full resolution burst rate is nothing short of amazing. The image quality is fine up to ISO800 for street photography. ISO1600 definitively is an option. The J4 is a tiny camera but the all metal body feels well build. The controls feel right too. It doesn’t have an EVF, but I guess you know that when you buy a camera like this. This camera will be my everyday carry everywhere camera until Nikon announces the Nikon V4 (probably later this year). People will try to quickly dump their V3 cameras. Then I’ll pick up a cheap V3. But for now, this camera is a fine companion on the streets.

1:44 pm - Monday, July 20, 2015

#8 Kassi Putman

I honestly love mine it takes wonderful pictures!The one downfall about it I can not get it to flash at all times like I wont it to. Because when im fighting sun sets and need that extra light but my camera don’t think so they don’t turn out great but other than that me and my husband both love the camera can not wait to get lens for it!

4:30 am - Saturday, December 5, 2015

Entry Tags

hd video, hd, 3 inch LCD, 1080p, compact system camera, nikon, hdmi, mirrorless, csc, RAW, touchscreen, touch, 18 megapixel, 60fps, NEF, 20fps, nikon j4, 1 J4 Review, Nikon 1 J4 Review, nikon j4 review

Tracker Pixel for Entry