Nikon 1 V2 Review

4.0
November 30, 2012 | Mark Goldstein |

Your Comments

38 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 Wildspin

The 1 system is a disgrace for Nikon’s reputation. These samples are horrible even by point shooter standard for today.

5:03 pm - Friday, November 30, 2012

#2 JS

Obviously they don’t care, the whole concept is ridiculous and is damaging Nikon, so is D600 dust sucking “vacuum cleaner…”

6:02 pm - Friday, November 30, 2012

#3 Xpanded

PLEASE READ:

The Nikon One series is a two faced creature. It is perfect for the absolute beginner (family photos) and a joy for the experienced photographer. No other mirrorless camera packs as much punch as the V1 (and now the V2) does. There is a reason why people, who have actually used the camera, love it to bits.

The V2 looses the good looks of the V1, rectifies the missing built-in flash, does not correct the biggest mistake (the proprietary flash shoe) and looses the big battery.

Nikon could easily gain a significant market share at a lower price point. There is probably no other mirrorless camera that costs so little to make – smaller sensor, fewer parts, made in low cost China. Like the V1 at launch the V2 is also too highly priced in the minds of the buyers.

The naysayers have probably not used the V1/V2 cameras and thus not experienced that the Nikon One series is Nikon quality through and through.

If you want to catch your child running forget the other mirrorless cameras – only the Nikon One series allows you that. If you know your photography and is only concerned about getting the picture (fast and precise AF) and composition (wonderful EVF and screen) look no further. Look at the sites where professional photographers use it before you negate the IQ.

Conclusion: do not listen to wild spin or naysayers with no hands on experience. Doubtful? Pick up a V1 – it will cost you less than the alimony to your second wife ;-)

8:45 pm - Friday, November 30, 2012

#4 kona_moon

Actually, I like the look of V2 much better than V1.  It reminds me of Nikon F3 with HP finder or the action finder.  The ergonomics look to be much improved also.  If the price is a bit lower, I would definitely consider buying one.

9:48 pm - Friday, November 30, 2012

#5 Dik van Baren

I have been using the V1 for a year now amongst many othr Nikon and non-Nikon cameras and lenses, mainly for high quality bird photography wich requires top equipment. The V1 is something you start to love an love more. Stirdy, nice, clever and fast focussing. I Only missed a bit of Image quality. Was hoping the V2 would give it to me. Not so sure yet. I use V1 for digiscoping in combination with a Svarovski telescoop and with V1’s FT-1 adapter + Nikon 70-200mm/f2.8 VR AF-S optional TC 2.0 III converter dream of a lens for bird photography. V1 then gives me good quality pictures converting the 200mm in a 540mm/2.8 (YES 2.8!!!)telelens wich I easily carry around and shoot handheld. Wonderful, just wonderful. Like Xpanded said: use V1 before you talk albout it. I know several photographers who are saying this. I will certainly try the V2 and see what it can do for me. PS Thanks for the review AND the comments. Dik
PS Site is iber construction but usually operaional. V1 pictures in albun Tests and Examples

10:00 pm - Friday, November 30, 2012

#6 Ben

It might just be me but why the hell does Nikon never give us an ISO button on a lot of their cameras? am i the only person who changes ISO a lot?

11:10 pm - Friday, November 30, 2012

#7 peter drijver

c’mon, the V2 reminds us to the great days of the ultimate Nikon, the F with the Photomic-hump. the clean lines of the Nikkormat were meant to be for shooters with thin wallets.

11:37 pm - Friday, November 30, 2012

#8 fotabug

I have the V1 and really love it, even though I am not one of your typical compact camera users.  I also own and love a D3 and D7000.  The V1 and now the V2 are not designed to compete with a DSLR.  Those of you who badmouth the Series 1 cameras likely have never used one.  The V1 is a quality compact with great lenses, and the V2 is a worthy update.  I want the V2 for the new mode dial on the top.  The large viewfinder houses a new feature, a built-in flash.  Actually, I don’t mind the looks at all.  Some who are loudly condemning the looks may instead tout the Sony NEX cameras, which are truly ugly to me.

Also, the small sensor is the beauty of the design, making possible lenses that match the camera in size, very compact.  If you use the NEX camearas or others like them you will be using lenses that are monstrous in comparison, lenses designed for larger cameras that those.

All in all, I am pleased with Nikon’s upgrade adn look forward to more int the future, as they refine this fine little camera.  By the way, the Series 1 cameras are best sellers in Europe.

3:39 am - Saturday, December 1, 2012

#9 kita

Well, well, if they want, they can. JPEGs looks great, bright shadows and visible clouds on the sky, that’s what the most important for me.

11:51 am - Saturday, December 1, 2012

#10 Ellen Mansour

but… the camera is so ugly… WHY NIKON????

2:53 am - Sunday, December 2, 2012

#11 fotabug

Some of the most popular cameras right now are much uglier than the V2, which I don’t consider that bad personally.  I kind of like it.  One person’s ugly can be another person’s treasure.  As one reviewer said, the camera is much better looking in real life than it is in pictures, which I assume is all you are basing your judgment on.  Holding one and using it is where the rubber meets the road.

6:39 am - Sunday, December 2, 2012

#12 dj

its amazing that Nikon can design a camera that looks this bad. IQ is OK but the Competition is so much better.

7:40 am - Sunday, December 2, 2012

#13 georg

I like the concept. Could be a nice backup camera ...

12:04 pm - Sunday, December 2, 2012

#14 fotabug

Have you shot with one, dj, or just repeating what you heard?  I am constantly amazed at how many “experts” there are how begin making judgments on products before they have even seen one, many times before they are even released!  I appreciated ths review which was based on some facts available.  On the other hand, few comments are worth any efforts.  It’s refreshing when someone does pop in with some worthwhile observations too.  Some people are negative about everything.  Don’t believe it?  Read the forums!

12:36 pm - Sunday, December 2, 2012

#15 ajc photographic

Still don’t like cameras without decent viewfinders!

5:24 pm - Sunday, December 2, 2012

#16 Joshua B. Amahit

I actually like the design. but still Im unimpressed with what the nikon 1 really has to offer. got to love the shutter speed and sequuential shooting speed though. I doubt the photos are any good with these modes enabled to their highest. still kudos to nikon for thinking out of the box.

1:22 am - Monday, December 3, 2012

#17 ertan

Excellent camera with a ridicilous high price tag. Get V1 now, and get V2 next November when it’ll be less than half price.

4:15 am - Monday, December 3, 2012

#18 dj

fotabug : yah sorry you’re right there is a lot of negativity out there. When it comes to looks its just my opinion but i find it a wee bit ugly..As a compact mirrorless camera that you’d like to shoot movies to photograph the kids playing soccar there is no better camera. But when it comes to IQ OLY, PAN, Sony have the Nikon beat. I sell cameras for a living and most people ask for nikon or canon but when they see the competition they find that Fiju , OLympus, Panasonic , Pentax etc all make some fabulous cameras and sometimes better. People should research more and have and open mind -brand loyalty is just silly.

5:59 am - Monday, December 3, 2012

#19 dj

Did some thinking: If Mirrorless cameras do somehow take over DLSRs then would the Nikon 1 system be strong enough to hold its own against Sony, Olympus ,Fuji or Panasonic’s offerings? Nikon would have to get serious if it has to take on the M4/3 system which is quite potent already.

6:08 am - Monday, December 3, 2012

#20 Tord S Eriksson

I have had the V1 for much of the year, and as someone commented, it is the ideal camera for beginners and enthusiasts, but maybe not for those inbetween, just as the D600 is ideal for the enthusiast, but maybe not for the pro!

What I found irritating with the V1 at first was the strange arrangement of the buttons (and the lack of an ISO button - you can’t even configure on to do its work!). And the mode thumb-wheel is just totally nuts - in every way!

Picture quality, if you plan to do landscapes, and such, is not the best, while in strong sunlight it is one of the very best around to take shots of quick actions, like a bird taking-off, sports, as the camera can take 15 fps, while constantly adjusting focus!

I think this camera is going to please a lot of consumers, if not all, and you can bet it is the first move towards a big-sensor mirror-less camera, with a built-in F Mount adapter, detachable for those wanting to use other, better, lenses ;-)!

7:24 am - Monday, December 3, 2012

#21 Tord S Eriksson

Ellen,

In my book it is a statement of design, and seems to be proud of being small ,-)!

I could mention a lot of ugly cameras, not least the K-01, that some just love (not me!), but I think it looks like a mix of the classic Nikon F-1 cameras, and the NEX-7 (or -6).

7:29 am - Monday, December 3, 2012

#22 JS

OK Nikon lovers, I guess it’s not so bad. But why drive Suzuki Swift for the price of Mercedes? Got it?

8:51 am - Monday, December 3, 2012

#23 Xpanded

@22

Because you live in Denmark? ;-)

10:58 am - Monday, December 3, 2012

#24 Nir

I prefer a Pentax Q.

4:18 pm - Monday, December 3, 2012

#25 zebarnabe

“Excellent camera with a ridiculous high price tag.”
Yep, wondering how they want to sell it if micro four thirds cameras deliver more for less, not to mention the available lens.

At least it is more acceptable than Pentax toy camera (that does quite well for such a small package, but not so for the price)...

8:17 pm - Monday, December 3, 2012

#26 Edward Rawlinson

Having had SLR Nikon cameras for many, many years and still keep up with new replacements.  As a novelty I bought a Powershot SX100IS,  six years ago. It amazed me that such a small compact inexpensive camera had such punch. Having retired with nearly seventy years in photography the old Powershot has beome my main source of taking photographs now. I read about the Nikon 1 V2 yet nothing about the lenses available other than the two mentioned. Maybe someone could inform me about the lenses available other than those.

9:22 pm - Monday, December 3, 2012

#27 dj

hello Edward: the Nikon has 6 lenses now: 10, 18.5, 10-30,11-27.5, 30-110 and 10-100. The 18.5 looks promising but then again micro four thirds (panasonic and olympus) have over 40 lenses to choose from!)-not to mention over 20 different bodies have been made so far. Samsung and Sony are building a good system of lenses as well.
- Have a good one eh?

11:45 pm - Monday, December 3, 2012

#28 clippingimages

Its a nice site thanks to share for your nice blog, I like it…...

6:05 am - Wednesday, December 5, 2012

#29 Kharn

I’ll tell you 1 thing that makes the Nikon 1 (v1 & v2) stand out from the rest of the crowd and it may not mean much to other people but it means the world to me and is the sole purpose of me looking into purchasing one…

High Speed Filming

Find me another camera that can match or improve on the High Speed Filming that the N1 V1/2 can do…because I cannot find anything under $10,000…

The mere fact that Nikon has put High Speed Filming into their camera and the other competitors have NOT is just a clear sign of WIN to me!

Competitor cameras at best get to 240FPS with around 320x240 res the N1 V1/2 gets up to 400FPS at 640x240 res.

As far as High Speed Filming for average home users…this is the BEST camera on the market that I can find that is of a ‘public’ price (not 10’s of thousands of dollars).

Correct me if I’m wrong…please

2:21 pm - Wednesday, December 5, 2012

#30 Eric

V1 was great, V2 is better than that, nothing more to say, just waiting for the new lens come out… 6.7-13mm is great Lens

11:33 am - Sunday, December 23, 2012

#31 Jack F

The V1 is a great piece of engineering let down by bean counters. The spinning wheel in the rear just sucks. But the speed of the camera is pretty astonishing and I find the i.q. To be very good. It looks like the interface issues have been fixed with the V2, but alas, yet another charger. Whhhyyy?

4:32 pm - Sunday, December 23, 2012

#32 Andrew

I have used the V1 as a professional tool shooting commissions, more in a unobtrusive way on fashion and weddings. I find that it really holds up well especially in good to reasonable light and it does retain detail in dresses quite well. I sometimes find that the focus needs to be precise from the user esp singe centre AF point otherwise you get back or front focus, but I have no problems using the V1 and the 10mm on jobs that require discretion. Having a viewfinder makes a great deal of difference. Also you have to understand how the camera excels. Keep you F stops wide open or stopped down one to avoid diffraction and shoot in shutter P mode to cancel out blurry images.

2:37 am - Sunday, December 30, 2012

#33 Tord S Eriksson

Andrew’s advice is right on the spot, even if I prefer to use A as much as I can. It isn’t as good a camera as a Sony RX-1, for sure, but it has a friendly price, compared to the V2.

Two examples of what a V1 can do can be found here - the female mallard totally un-processed, in low light, just at sunset:

http://forums.dpreview.com/forums/post/50557684

The scene with the snowing was taken with the little flash, not bad at all!

1:07 am - Monday, December 31, 2012

#34 Charles

I would consider this camera, if it wasn’t so bloody overpriced.
WHY NIKON?
BTW I love the looks of this one.

2:45 am - Thursday, January 31, 2013

#35 dimitryushakov

hello   folks, nikon v1 and v2 are pretty
small for my big hands,mirrorlescameras use a
lot of battery power, i’m more used to dslr
system, besides in brazil it’s difficult to get
photograpy equipment, even in sao paulo
a lot of photographers buy in usa,or in great
britain, me i use a kodakeasyshare z740 camerfa
bought about 6 years ago, i get good shots
that’s enough for me
dimitry
brazil,goiania,goias
dushakov96Agmail.com

6:07 am - Monday, March 4, 2013

#36 Clipping Path Outsource

I like Nikon Camera whatever the cost is, because the quality of pictures are really good to me.

7:14 pm - Monday, August 5, 2013

#37 Tord S Eriksson

Still love my V1, and have by now a number a lenses for it, and hope to get the 32/1.2 before the end of the year. My APS-C cameras are by now dormant, but I have a D600 as complement! Superb combo, and one I’ll live with for years to come - unless there will be a V3 soon!

8:42 pm - Monday, August 5, 2013

#38 Grimbot

I have a Nikon 1 V2 which I use for bird photography with a TC-17E II and the Nikkor 70-200 f/4. It gives me an efov of 918mm that I can easily handhold and get great shots at 1/200th of perched birds. There is simply nothing on the market that gives the performance and value of the V2 for bird photography. That’s why pros like Moose Peterson and Thom Hogan take them as part of their kit. If you haven’t shot with one you have no idea how good this little gem of a camera really is….the 2.7X crop factor is a huge plus for this camera. As long as you shoot at ISO800 and under and keep your aperture at f/5.6 or less the quality of the shots it produces will surprise you.

4:12 am - Saturday, January 18, 2014

Entry Tags

hd video, hd, 3 inch LCD, 1080p, compact system camera, hdmi, nikon, mirrorless, csc, 14 megapixel, RAW, 60fps, viewfinder, stereo sound, NEF, 15fps, nikon v2, nikon v2 review, 1 V2 Review, Nikon 1 V2 Review

Tracker Pixel for Entry