Nikon 1 V3 Review

June 9, 2014 | Mark Goldstein | |

Your Comments

12 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 dan

Too expensive! Way too expensive!
It looks nice, nut ill take the V2 over it.

11:23 am - Monday, June 9, 2014

#2 dan

but not nut, than again you’ll have to be a nut to pay that much for it :)

11:24 am - Monday, June 9, 2014

#3 Eddie

The use of this camera with an adapter could be beneficial for people wanting to take photo’s of birds. It’ll be like having this huge telephoto lens but without the bulk and the costs, and good IQ at low to moderate ISO.

11:36 am - Monday, June 9, 2014

#4 Ben

Eddie, I have heard a lot of positive things about using the 1 cameras for shooting birds.
Another alternative is the Pentax Q7, not quite as fast but a smaller sensor with huge 4.6 crop factor!

1:05 pm - Monday, June 9, 2014

#5 IP Maesstro

Average camera with a ridiculous price.

3:11 pm - Monday, June 9, 2014

#6 Andrew

So the camera offers 20fps burst mode with full AF using the electronic shutter as I understand. What then is the advantage of the mechanical shutter at 6fps? Are there still issues with artefacts using an electronic shutter?

4:01 pm - Monday, June 9, 2014

#7 John Doe

@Andrew AFAIK with the V1 the electronic shutter could only flash sync to 1/60 shutter speed, the mechanical to 1/250 so that is the only reason I use the mechanical

4:47 pm - Monday, June 9, 2014

#8 tht

I’d love to have it, but what can I use at sea Dasat ... because I wanted to swim once in photos

4:11 am - Tuesday, June 10, 2014

#9 dan

Andrew - I might be wrong, but I think when you use an electronic shutter it can cause the ‘Rolling Shutter Jelly effect’........That may not be the technical term! 
Basicly when you pan the camera too fast it can cause the image to distort, it happens when shooting movies, but I think it also happens for stills.

7:50 am - Tuesday, June 10, 2014

#10 jake

Nikon One shit , size matters.  this mast be the worst camera of the year.

3:03 pm - Wednesday, June 11, 2014

#11 George Lee

I would buy one, but will wait for a better price. I still have my 1v1 and despite much negative press, in practice it is a fine camera.
I don’t see the point of making unfavourable comparisons with other cameras, the 1 series is what it is and if that suits you then great,. I use mine alongside my em5 and fuji xpro1, the fact I get better IQ out of the other cameras does not prevent my using the 1v1. It’s quite a fun camera if you don’t take yourself too seriously, save that for the photography.

9:29 am - Monday, June 16, 2014

#12 macroFan

I have been doing macros of butterflies etc… with Nikon SLR’s for 55 years, and now try to use a Nikon 1 J3 to keep using my old lenses, microscope, telescope, etc with the ( costly ) Nikon adapter .
Its kit lens ( 10-30mm ) provides about 4x6m cm of minimal field , at the minimal distance 20cm and max zoom .  Which is valuable for shooting large insects, then not requiring the bulky old macro lenses .
  But such macro absolutely requires manual focusing, typically achieved by presetting the distance (when a focus ring exists), and then moving the camera back and forth while observing the insect’s sharpness in the image. 
This is in principle feasible with the Nikon 1 and its kit lens ,  in manual focus mode.  But it is very unpractical to set,  and the manual setting suddenly vanishes, reversing to autofocus, when pressing the video record button !  Trying to record video in macro is thus a disaster since the autofocus tends to lock on the remote background and blur the foreground butterfly which required so much effort to approach by crawling without scaring it away. 

Thanks for suggestions ( other than discarding the kit lens ).

8:44 am - Wednesday, April 29, 2015

Entry Tags

hd video, hd, 3 inch LCD, 1080p, compact system camera, nikon, hdmi, wi-fi, mirrorless, csc, wireless, wifi, RAW, touchscreen, tilting, touch, tilt, 18 megapixel, 60fps, viewfinder, tiltable, stereo sound, NEF, 20fps, nikon v3, Nikon 1 V3 Review, nikon v3 review, 1 V3 Review

Tracker Pixel for Entry