Nikon AF-S Nikkor 16-35mm f/4G ED VR Review

4.5
August 4, 2010 | Zoltan Arva-Toth |

Your Comments

11 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 Paul

Many thanks for posting the sample images and using a tripod. This had helped me with my next lens purchase decision. I downloaded the DxO module for this lens/D700 combo and it eliminates the distortion, vignetting etc on your samples.

10:55 pm - Wednesday, August 4, 2010

#2 Dr. Samuel Evenstein

This is my third copy of this lens.  The other two had focusing issues of back focusing and centering problem.  I was a bit surprised at Nikon with their (lack) quality control.  I would expect that from third party lens makers but not from Nikon. On my D3s this 16-35mm performs well.  Good colors, contrast, and fairly good sharpness.  The distortion at 16mm, to me is not a big issue. At 19mm -35mm its manageble in post-processing.  Otherwise it is on my camera 85% of the time, the other I use the 70-200 VRII lens.

5:16 pm - Wednesday, August 11, 2010

#3 Alan

I have just looked at your review of the Nikon 16-35mm zoom. Under “main rivals”  you say “Listed below are some of the rivals of the Nikon AF-S Nikkor 16-35mm f/4G ED VR:” and then briefly comment on a Nikon DX standard lens and an Olympus fast standard zoom, neither of which could be considered a rival to the Nikon FX wide-angle zoom, but both refer to your previous reviews of these unrelated lenses.  This doesn’t really enhance the credibility of your site, however good or bad the reviews may actually be!

1:20 pm - Friday, August 13, 2010

#4 VanillaSeven

I rather use the f2.8 version. f4 are too slow.

7:28 am - Tuesday, August 31, 2010

#5 Adam Weisblatt

Great lens which I use often for my underwater photography.

1:27 am - Wednesday, October 5, 2011

#6 Jamie

Great review but why test this lens on a Tripod and omit any tests utilizing the VR, after all this must be the reason for Nikon bringing out this lens, it surely must be better than current offerings without VR Why VR? possibly for hand holding at faster shutter speeds, night photography? please please please test the lens and report on all it’s functionality instead of repeating what everyone else says albeit in a different format it says a lot but tells us nothing

1:16 am - Sunday, December 18, 2011

#7 JaYKaY

I Used this 16-35mm in a dark church burning all kinds of mixed lights it was a nightmare regarding white balance, the 16-35 produced outstanding clarity at f4 almost an hd like depth IQ is outstanding this is my first copy of the lens my reasons for buying it were for dark interiors and all i can say is it delivers it’s promise in spadeloads on a d700

10:02 am - Wednesday, August 22, 2012

#8 Peter

I have just moved from DX to FX cameras and will almost certainly make this my next lens, having just sold my much loved 17-55mm f2.8 DX lens. While I was originally put off by the thought of buying an f4 lens, upon trying my newly aquired D700, its high ISO performance is so good that I think f4 is no longer really all that much of a constraint. Moreover considering that the lens has VR and this gives at least a couple of stops advantage AND the lens is in any event regarded as being sharper than the 17-45mm f2.8, I find it hard to go past it. I am off to Hong Kong in a couple of weeks and be looking very closely at this option.

2:52 am - Thursday, September 27, 2012

#9 John

I’ve benn really impressed with this lens, and I have to say I’m not so easily impressed. I’ve been using it on my D600 and I’m getting outstanding results hand-held. I’ve even tried unsuccessfully to provoke some bad behaviour - like flare - but it just shoots like a great lens should. It’s much better in the 24-35 range than my 24-85 VR and the D600 basically eliminates any distortion. I know technically the 14-24 might have the edge, but the VR system and internal focus / fixed barrel were BIG considerations, and the weight and price of this one sealed the deal

9:41 am - Thursday, November 22, 2012

#10 Robert, Brussels

Sorry for my bad english, i am french talking ;o)

  I work in museum , very bad ligth , no tripod or flash may be used ; fantastique résult with the D600 , Sharp, no flare, color (painting) just ...

3:21 pm - Wednesday, December 5, 2012

#11 Peter

I have already posted here indicating my intention to buy this lens. I recently did so on a trip to Hong Kong. At first I was a bit disappointed because of the more plastic feel the lens has by comparison with the 17-55mm f2.8 DX lens. But results allowed me to overomce this - wow it performs brilliantly. The much discussed distortion at the widest setting is easily corrected in Photoshop and the lens is extremely sharp at most settings - a bit less so at 35mm wide open but this changes when stopped down. In any event it is still good by comparison with other lenses. The VR works brilliantly. Here is a shot taken in low light at night time. Pin sharp and hand held at around 1/10 of a second.

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8480/8153056510_e04281e419_o.jpg
Tall, dark…....and handheld? by yoyomaoz, on Flickr

1:02 am - Thursday, December 6, 2012

Entry Tags

wide-angle, lens, nikon, wide angle, landscape, nikkor, f4, 16-35mm, 16-35 mm, Nikon AF-S Nikkor 16-35mm f4G ED VR Review

Tracker Pixel for Entry