Nikon AF-S DX Nikkor 18-300mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR Review

4.0
March 1, 2013 | Zoltan Arva-Toth |

Your Comments

7 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 ktvauve

I don’t understand? You gave to Tamron 18-270 PZD final rating 4 of image quality. And only 3,5 for this Nikkor. I sold my Tamron due to very blurred images at 270mm. And I purchased Nikkor 18-300mm. According to my experience, this Nikkor lens has much, much better IQ at all focal lenghts. And all other forums have ranked Nikkor to be better (e.g. Photozone.de).(Sorry for my bad English).

1:24 pm - Saturday, March 2, 2013

#2 Frank Stanton

Thanks for the review. Regarding the suggested retail price you put in the review, here in the U.S., the price has been around $650 -$7oo for a long time at places like B&H, Adorama and Amazon. So it is much cheaper than your review price suggests, making it a real bargain and a genuine alternative to Nikon’s 18-200mm which has always been over-priced and so-so as a lens.

8:49 pm - Saturday, March 2, 2013

#3 Rienzphotoz

I have always been a Canon user and my main body is 5D MK III and several L lenses ... I always wanted a super zoom without the weight and price of the EF 28-300L IS lens (which costs around $2500)...for this reason I had bought a Tamron 28-300 VC lens, but lens was horrible on a full frame body - hence it was sold in a jiffy. Recently I bought a Nikon D7000 refurbished body just so that I can use the 18-300 VR lens. This lens is awesome, granted that it is no where near the Canon’s L zoom lens quality but it hold its own. It is much better than Tamron 18-270 or even Canon’s 18-200mm lens ... for any one who is looking to a one lens solution, I would suggest Nikon D7000 + 18-300 VR combo. By the way currently a brand new 18-300 VR lens costs $696.95

3:19 pm - Monday, March 4, 2013

#4 Steve

There were a number of references made to the contrast being a little weak.  Is this the kind of thing that can be made up for in PP?

8:08 pm - Thursday, March 7, 2013

#5 Ferruccio

It will be interesteing to get comments on lens utilization with D3100 camera

3:00 pm - Tuesday, April 2, 2013

#6 Nik

I have bought it for my Nikon D7100 and very happy with results! Be sure that you are ok with its weight (during a long walk in can feel very, very heavy), especially if you carry your camera on the neck.

6:10 pm - Sunday, August 25, 2013

#7 Snehasish Lahiri

Would like to see a review of Nikon 18-300 on Nikon D90…someone can please help.

6:29 pm - Wednesday, November 13, 2013

Entry Tags

review, lens, nikon, super-zoom, dslr, super zoom, nikkor, aps-c, 18mm, 300mm, vibration reduction, vr, 18-300mm, 18-300, Nikon AF-S DX Nikkor 18-300mm f3.5-5.6G ED VR, Nikon 18-300mm

Tracker Pixel for Entry