Nikon AF-S DX Nikkor 55-300mm f/4.5-5.6G ED VR Review

4.0
February 7, 2012 | Zoltan Arva-Toth |

Your Comments

32 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 Essex boy

Should I get this for the D800 0r what would you recommend?

11:49 am - Thursday, February 9, 2012

#2 Essex Boy

Should I buy this for my pre ordered D800, or what would you recommend?

12:17 pm - Thursday, February 9, 2012

#3 Zoltan Arva-Toth

No - this is a DX lens whose image circle does not cover the full FX frame. There are many Nikon FX telezooms and telephoto prime lenses available but how many of them can match the resolution of the D800’s 36-megapixel sensor remains to be seen. The 70-200mm f/2.8 VR II is one candidate but we haven’t tested that lens yet. The slower 70-300mm VR is more versatile than the 70-200 in terms of zoom range but less highly regarded than the pro lens. For even more telephoto reach, check out the 80-400mm f/4.5-5.6D ED VR - this is an older lens, apparently very sharp up to ~300mm, but reported to suffer from a slow AF.

1:19 pm - Monday, February 13, 2012

#4 D Dash

Should I go for this for my Nikon D5100?? Please reply

6:59 pm - Saturday, March 3, 2012

#5 SAMIRAN GHOSE

SIMPLE QUESTION,
CAN I USE Nikon AF-S DX Nikkor 55-300mm f/4.5-5.6G ED VR IN D800, IF NOT WHY, IT HAS DX AND FX SETTING.
AN HONEST ANSWER REQUIRE.

ANY ONE THERE ???

1:51 pm - Friday, April 13, 2012

#6 Darvin

SAMIRAN GHOSE: Hi there, just to clarify with you that you can use the lens if you set your D800 to DX mode.
If you use this lens on a D800 under FX settings, you will get serious vignetting(black corners).

So if you notice there’s a ‘DX’ name on the lens, it is not advisable for you to buy it and use it on a D800.

Nikon 70-300mm VR is a very good choice if you are under a budget and seeking a decent lens for your D800. It can work in BOTH DX and FX settings in your camera therefore it is more flexible for you.
Not forgetting that 70-300 VR has a very much faster autofocus than 55-300.

Hope this helped.
Cheers and have fun with the mighty D800.

6:25 pm - Friday, April 20, 2012

#7 Darvin

SAMIRAN GHOSE: Hi there, just to clarify with you that you can use the lens if you set your D800 to DX mode.
If you use this lens on a D800 under FX settings, you will get serious vignetting(black corners).

So if you notice there’s a ‘DX’ name on the lens, it is not advisable for you to buy it and use it on a D800.

6:27 pm - Friday, April 20, 2012

#8 Dave

Hi There
This lens looks just the ticket for me but can I use it on my Nikon D3000?

4:30 pm - Saturday, June 23, 2012

#9 David Watson

Could I use this lens for wild bird photography on my D3100 at the 300mm end of the zoom?

9:24 pm - Tuesday, July 24, 2012

#10 Alaska Phil

Thankyou for the excellent review, especially example photos.  Very helpful.  Mine should be arriving tomorrow for my D5100.  I’ll be taking it straight to a nearby field where the cranes and geese are preparing for their winter migration.

1:03 am - Wednesday, September 5, 2012

#11 Alaska Phil

My lens arrived yesterday as hoped.  I bought a factory refurbished one and I’ve very pleased with it for the price.  The shots I took came out very sharp, even at 300mm.  Here’s an example, taken at 300mm ISO 400 and f/8 http://i1147.photobucket.com/albums/o556/Phil_Schaefer/Wildlife/CAgoose.jpg

And a crop from the same photo http://i1147.photobucket.com/albums/o556/Phil_Schaefer/Wildlife/goosehead.jpg

This was taken free hand without a tripod.

11:34 pm - Thursday, September 6, 2012

#12 Valter

Here at http://www.3foto.ro  all pictures made over 55mm , are made with this lens.Great lens for portraits.

4:08 am - Monday, January 21, 2013

#13 Martin

I am thinking about purchasing a telezoom lens for my Nikon D5100 and I am thinking about 2 in particular.
The here reviewed Nikkor 55-300mm which I can get for some 270€ or Tamron 70-300mm F/4-5.6 which is twice that cheap and I could get it for some 140€ http://www.tamron.com/en/photolens/di_telephoto/a17.html

I’ve read a couple of reviews which made me believe that this Tamron lens might be a better purchase, but any input will be highly appreciated. Thanks.

10:39 pm - Sunday, February 10, 2013

#14 Martin

I am thinking of purchasing some telezoom lens for my Nikon D5100.

Actually I am thinking between this Nikkor 55-300mm or Tamron 70-300mm http://www.tamron.com/en/photolens/di_telephoto/a17.html which recieved quite nice reviews and its price is only 140€. Any advice on which one to choose is greatly appreciated.

11:06 pm - Sunday, February 10, 2013

#15 og

can i use it for my nikon D90….tq

9:09 am - Thursday, March 14, 2013

#16 C B

Can I use this for my Nikon D5000? or is the Tamron AF70-300mm F/4-5.6 Di a better buy?

9:55 am - Wednesday, March 20, 2013

#17 John Portelli

Iused the 55-300mm lens on nikon D800. and the result is in, very sharp pictures.The most important think is to pay attention for image crop.

8:58 am - Friday, April 19, 2013

#18 Alan Pardoe

To og, yes I have one that fits and operates satisfactorily on my Nikon D90

1:39 pm - Friday, April 19, 2013

#19 ian emlyn rees

I have just bought this lens for £155 from bargain basement

1:35 pm - Sunday, April 21, 2013

#20 Alaska_Phil

I’ve been using mine for a while now on my D5100.  I’ve happy with the sharpness, in fact, my only gripe would be that the auto focus is painfully slow when shooting a moving subject.  It also tends to hunt around a lot more than my Nikkor 18-55.  However, I’ve never used any comparable length lenses, so I don’t know if that’s something unique to this lens, or simply a result of the length.

6:30 pm - Sunday, April 21, 2013

#21 rpasi

i am a new user of a D3100. is the AF-S DX Nikkor 55-300mm f/4.5-5.6G ED VR a good combo for it? thanks!

5:32 am - Sunday, April 28, 2013

#22 John Portelli

Yes Ithink so.If the D3100 is A DX. ithink its Ok.

7:30 am - Sunday, April 28, 2013

#23 Jason

The 55-300 VR works great with D3100, just upgraded and its a perfect fit for any DX Camera D3100, D5100 and D7000.  If you have full frame go for the 70-300

The Tameron 70-300 does not support AF-S so autofocus will not work with D3100 or D5100.  You will need a D7000 with built in autofocus in body.

6:35 pm - Wednesday, May 8, 2013

#24 Ashok

Hi everyone, can i use it on Nikon D80, can this improve the image quality. Which will be better the stock lens, 18-135mm or this one?

1:52 am - Wednesday, July 10, 2013

#25 Milan Sindhav

I am a new user of a Nikon D3200. is the AF-S DX Nikkor 55-300mm f/4.5-5.6G ED VR a good for it? pls. reply. Thanx.

7:02 pm - Wednesday, September 18, 2013

#26 Partha Chatterjee

hi,
am a new user with Nikon D5100. I have Nikkor AF VR 18-105mm. what should i buy next (zoom lens)?
Nikon AF-S DX Nikkor 55-300 mm f/4.5-5.6G ED or Nikon AF Zoom-Nikkor 70-300mm f/4-5.6G (4.3x) Lens??

8:31 am - Tuesday, September 24, 2013

#27 Partha Chatterjee

basically am looing for a zoom lens like 55-300 or 70-300 or 100 - 300mm if any for my Nikon D5100.
Pl advise..

8:44 am - Tuesday, September 24, 2013

#28 Mohamed elsayed

I have Nikon D 7000 and Nikon D 7100 ( Nikon AF-S DX Nikkor 55-300mm f/4.5-5.6G ED VR ) is very good lens for two Camera

7:32 pm - Saturday, November 9, 2013

#29 Kev Mull

Does the Nilon 55-200mm VR have better, fatser auto focus?

11:20 am - Monday, November 18, 2013

#30 sudha dittakavi

Hi, I’m planning to buy lens for my Nikon D3100. could any one suggest me. 55-200mm or 55-300mm. VR or without VR?

8:14 am - Monday, December 2, 2013

#31 Abhishek Kar

Hi,
I have Nikon 3200.I want to buy telezoom lens.Which one is good for Nikon 3200? Nikon 55-300 vr or Tamron 70-300 id ld macro.

12:55 pm - Sunday, January 26, 2014

#32 Andrew

Hi,  Would this lens fit my old D40?  I wish to use it for taking photos of in flight planes at an air show, would you consider buying it for this, considering I am on a budjet?

10:09 pm - Sunday, May 4, 2014

Entry Tags

review, lens, test, nikon, zoom, telephoto, nikkor, vibration reduction, Nikon AF-S DX Nikkor 55-300mm f4.5-5.6G ED VR, 55-300mm

Tracker Pixel for Entry